Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Is UMNO Racist?

Is UMNO Racist? PDF Print
Thursday, 04 September 2008 23:19
Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah argues that UMNO is not racist and he accuses its critics of manipulating the liberties afforded by democracy by making unfounded accusations against his party. To Tengku Razaleigh, where UMNO has failed, it is in its inability to intellectually demolish the criticism of its detractors.

According to reports, Tengku Razaleigh defines racism as ‘where one race advocates hatred against the other and its actions underpin it’. His example of racism is the likes of the Nazis who executed the Jews. Typical of politicians who are thrifty with the truth, Tengku Razaleigh is only partially right as the Nazis were indeed racists who were but the most dangerous of a kind that indulged in ethnic cleansing. Tengku Razaleigh and his fellow supporters should take heed from the lessons of the last two elections in Malaysia this year that Malaysians today are a lot more enlightened and responsible such that we will never allow any politician to take this country anywhere near Hitler’s Nazi Germany.

Indeed, as Tengku Razaleigh acknowledges, were it not for UMNO’s short of intellect in  analysing issues, UMNO would realize that the subsequent actions of Jews colonising  Palestine and creating the state of Israel to create havoc and inflict suffering of the most brutal kind on Palestinians is a direct consequence of Hitler’s actions against the Jews in Europe. Tragically, today we Muslims and Palestinians in particular are paying the price for Hitler’s vengeance. Such is the disastrous consequences of racism as it breeds retribution where the subsequent victims will not necessarily be the original perpetrators such as is being witnessed today in Zimbabwe through Mugabe’s politics.  

So can Tengku Razaleigh deny that UMNO, if not through policy but at least through the actions of its leaders and members advocates hatred against others? One could right chapter and verse on all sorts of actions by UMNO folk, from its President to ordinary members of countless instances of  reported intimidations and insults of the non-Malays in this country in all sorts of forums be it parliament, the UMNO general assembly, UMNO local meetings and just about in any other daily interaction with people. And that is just reported instances and it does not take much imagination to surmise that the actual extent of this violation of the dignity of non- Malays by UMNO is much more widespread.

In fact it appears that one could get away with all sorts of seditious statements in this country so long as it is preached in the context of upholding ketuanan Melayu. And our incumbent prime minister can so irresponsibly dismiss all these sort of statements as something not coming from the heart and souls of the assailants but rather an outburst in the heat of the moment like kids fighting in the playground.  To the prime minister, these assailants do not deserve the might of the law on them but a gentle reminder over a cup of tea is all that the crime deserves. The belated apology by the deputy prime minister is an after thought as it has come after much clamour from the public, something which should not have been necessary in the first instance if only UMNO has a culture where any member who crosses the red line on inciting racial hatred is dealt with promptly. It appears that there are more important matters of state for the prime minister and his cabinet to attend to, such as how to deal with the likes of Raja Petra.

The preaching of hatred in UMNO is not the monopoly of village bumpkins in some far flung kampong who could be at least forgiven for their inability to grasp the social graces of living in a multi racial community and respecting the rights of others. What is alarming is that it prevails across UMNO right down from the supreme council to its ordinary members. In fact, one can even say that it has come to the dangerous situation where it is acceptable for significant number of people in Malaysia, irrespective of political affiliation to hurl racist remarks and treat others as second class citizens. The case of the school teacher abusing her Indian students is unfortunately just the tip of the iceberg as there are countless cases that just go unreported as the victims are so powerless to act and seem destined to accept the reality that getting abused is part and parcel of the imagined social contract.

I have no doubt that the founding fathers of UMNO had any intentions of creating a party that would be so blatantly contemptuous of other communities in Malaysia. Neither is it the nature of Malays to be intolerant and abusive of others. Rather it is the current leaders of UMNO who through selfishness and dereliction of duty have enabled the spread of racism which is growing roots and tentacles in Malaysia rapidly.

- By Sheperd

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by michael chick, September 04, 2008 23:23:32
agree 193
written by naturelive, September 04, 2008 23:25:33
Ahmad Ismail better apologize with what he said... don't let us see you in Penang again or else we will teach you since your really "kurang ajar". We will send you to hell with all your corrupted UMNO...
written by sjs, September 04, 2008 23:28:55
The problem with Tengku Razaleigh and UMNO is constantly misleading the population, with wrong definition of racism and racial supremacy!

Tengku Razaleigh, Racial superiority is a mere pigment of the imagination.

This is an example of racism, and please check whether it exists in your country, especially your behaviour towards the Indian race!

"If a white man falls off a chair drunk, it's just a drunk. If a Negro does, it's the whole damn Negro race. ~ Bill Cosby
written by HamChak, September 04, 2008 23:37:13
Come on la, Kuli, Majority of current UMNO members are racist. Najis a Racist, Krisimuddin a Racist, Ahmad Ismail a Bloody Racist, Former TehTarik a typical half baked Racist, Melacca MB a Racist. MonyetK also a Racist. Aiyoo, looks like you got more Racists than normal people in UMNO. Just ask those who migrated as to
whether UNMO stand for RACISM or not. My children all are overseas as Professional.
written by denkoh, September 04, 2008 23:38:57
orh...you guys are not racist...you guys are just businessmen... where the country is your client.
Umno prosper at the expense of the people..
have you seen an umno-linked businessmen??? Damn kau lansi and damn kau show off...one even told me, he don't need to sell off property to buy another one..he is collecting property. he forgot that what he takes thru Umno is at the expense of the people.. ma chow hai
written by samesamemam, September 04, 2008 23:46:57
According to UN International Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Racial Discrimination, "the term "racial discrimination" shall mean any distinction, exclusion, restriction or preference based on race, color, descent, or national or ethnic origin which has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life."

So, is UMNO racist - YES.
Is it intellectually disabled - YES.
written by jchew, September 04, 2008 23:47:12
The problem with UMNO is race supremancy againgst other races in Malaysia. It is racist!
written by jchew, September 04, 2008 23:56:08
http://www.muslimedia.com/arch...memali.htm

Memali, the massacred village, revisited
written by allmenarebrothers, September 05, 2008 00:17:29
Looks who is talking? Razaleigh is a great RACIST. He never looked at himself in the mirror to see how RACIST he is. His extreme RACISM was manifested by his actions & decisions made by him when he was the Chairman of Fleet Holdings Sdn Bhd, Bank Bumi, Petronas, London Time Group & also when he was the Finance Minister. He is suffering from selective amnesia! Shame! Shame! Shame. Hypocrite! Hypocrite! Hypocrite!
written by alberttan, September 05, 2008 00:20:15
UMNO is racist; so are most of our political parties which are race or religion based. UMNO is much much worse, UMNO became openly FASCIST after Tun Razak took over, read http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fascism. Fascists always self destruct as the fascists kept themselves in power by suppressing the advancement of its own race against human nature.
written by islandjoe, September 05, 2008 00:38:51
Racial superiority? I see no evidence of it in UMNO. They are a race of their own, and frankly, they are so inferior it's not funny. Look at the all star cast and talent at hand. Where was that article that compared our cabinet to that of Singapore again??

The only thing they have been superior at doing is wasting the nations resources and mismanagement. THAT is what they are better at it than me.
written by FFT, September 05, 2008 00:46:49
How many times must I say this?

UMNO is not racist. Racism is a state of mind.

UMNO is driven by something 'higher' than just a state of mind. UMNO is one of the descendants of Hitler's Nazi Party. UMNO's Nazism is a state of mind and state of being. Like most religions have their pillars of faith or core principles, UMNO's religion of Nazism also has it's pillars.

And here is one pillar of UMNO's Nazism being demonstrated:

http://www.malaysiakini.com/news/89112

Ahmad Ismail: I'll not apologise
Athi Veeranggan | Sep 4, 08 6:14pm
The elusive Ahmad Ismail, the man at the centre of a 'racial slur' controversy, said today he would not apologise even after the deputy prime minister has already done so on his behalf.
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 05, 2008 00:54:14
According to reports, Tengku Razaleigh defines racism as ‘where one race advocates hatred against the other and its actions underpin it’.His example of racism is the likes of the Nazis who executed the Jews.

yes you are right...UMNO executed the Chinese during May13 and the Indians in Kampung Medan.

no you don't have to kill or slaughter the other races..you just take away ..
and slowly choke them to die...no need gas chambers..
written by ganbing, September 05, 2008 00:58:52
Yes, Umno is RACIST. UMNO stand for United Malay Nazi Organization.
written by chanatak, September 05, 2008 01:08:16
OKAY okay. UMNO is not racist. UMNO is just Malayist. Just like MCMC did not censor MT. They just block MT. UMNO muslims are also open minded. They just do not allow criticism.

Awwwwwwwww. quit playing with words. We are not stupid like you are dumb.

written by malsia1206, September 05, 2008 01:09:30
If not for the graciousness of the Chinese, Indians and the natives of Sabah and Sarawak, a repeat of May 13 would have had been in the Malaysian history books between 1969 and now. UMNO and the racists had taken the others for granted far too long. As in everything else, there's always a fine thin line when the limits are breached. Never never assume the improbable would not happen. That's a mighty high risk we all cannot afford to even think about it.
written by mikewang, September 05, 2008 01:14:30
"Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah argues that UMNO is not racist and he accuses its critics of manipulating the liberties afforded by democracy by making unfounded accusations against his party. To Tengku Razaleigh, where UMNO has failed, it is in its inability to intellectually demolish the criticism of its detractors."

With almost total and absolute control of the MSM, if UMNO cannot convincingly defend itself, it just means its position is indefensible.
written by PAKRAK, September 05, 2008 01:30:27
Kuli, where have you been all this while? After your defeat by mamakutty you went into hibernation in the jungles of Gua Musang. After hearing that the UMNO Presidency is up for grabs you just want your voice to be heard. Friend, I told you many times to do your homework and research first before you open your flipping tongue.
written by ralverd, September 05, 2008 03:27:59
Asking 'Is UMNO racist?' is like asking 'Is Michael Jackson white?'.

http://www.ralverd.com
written by Vasily, September 05, 2008 03:39:42
look at this simple real situatian examples laa...
kalau kat kampung melayu org parti lain buat kenduri, semelih lembu kebau...kebanyakan org UMNO tak datang, lauk tak abis, membazir...wahal sesama Melayu tu...apalah dosa kenduri tu sampai kena pulau oleh hardcore2 UMNO nie..sama Melayu tu..seagama
Pastu kalau kat lagi lain jer sikit aliran dr BN, anak tak dapat pinjaman, buku teks etc.....apalah dosa budak tu nak belajar kan...sama Melayu tuh...seagama
Sekadar beberapa contoh jer lah...Pemimpin2 UMNO sendiri yg menanamkan sifat RACIST, berpecah belah sesama Bangsa...apatah lagi dengan berlainan bangsa...org kampung bodoh2 macam lembu...janji dapat duit sudah....prinsip hidup tak'de...sembahyang tungang terbalik ttp yg sebenar di sembah DUIT!!!..inipun budaya UMNO gak nie...
written by Nice n Simple, September 05, 2008 04:54:53
Send Badabi to the Switzerland and if he can successfully set up an UMNO party there, I'll agree that UNMO is not racist.
written by binarytan, September 05, 2008 07:17:24
If UMNO were not racist then

What happen to BMC issue?
What happen to bar council?
What happen to temple demolishing?
What happen to the kerismuddin & najis swaying keris?
What happen to our educatin system especially primary school?
What happen to UiTM and MARA?
What happen to the Ahmad refusal to apologize? This is classic example i believe.

I could only say PR is not racist, UMNO just racist to core.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by ganbing, September 05, 2008 07:47:49
Goto Lim KIt Siang blog http://blog.limkitsiang.com/20...n-courses/

where he exposes the Biro Tatanegara indoctrination courses and you decide whether Umno is racist or not.
written by penangboi, September 05, 2008 07:58:20
'IS UMNO RACIST?'

What a stupid question to ask????

Is my mother a woman?

Does fire burn?

Is the world round?

Is UMNO racist?

Is AB a good PM?

Is Najis innocent of the Mongolian murder?

Is BN good in handling the country's economy?

Did the government lose Batu Putih?

Did the government lost millions of ringgit in stupid investments?

Does the government bugger the rakyat all the time?

Duuuhhhhhhh!
written by oct, September 05, 2008 08:19:12
Most of UMNO leaders have portrayed racism before they get to where they are today. So if the leaders have such racist characters, what can we expect their followers do? Follow the leaders and be a racist and then you will become UMNO leader.

The other point is that if UMNO leaders are racist, then how can they penalise the followers if they become racist? How can a bad leader advocates his followers when he is practising such racist method?
So without any sanctions and/or reprimand, these racism will grow and get out of hand like now.

The whole fault lies in UMNO leaders who cannot set good examples for its followers. They have nothing new to offer to the Rakyat to stay in power. So the only easy way out is to play on this accord. Now that the Rakyat becomes wiser, they find it to become their disadvantage and/or backfire.

NO MORE RACIST REMARKS. WE ARE MALAYSIANS!!!!!
written by Bigjoe99, September 05, 2008 08:28:35
The Malays have been betrayed by their leaders since time immemorial otherwise the story of Hang Tuah and Hang Jebat would not be one of its greatest folklore. Their leader betrayal continue today and they should not expect anything else.

Personally I don't feel that Ahmad Ismail should be charged with sedition BUT with fraud because his track record shows he is dishonest and liar. He may shout 'Pendatang' but he is all too eager to cash in what the 'pendatang' will pay him. His real moral guilt is that he is a liar and betrayer of the Malays and racism is the least of his guilt...
written by yy88, September 05, 2008 08:30:04
From what I have observed, racialism can be manifested in many forms. There real racist, pseudo racist, hipocratic racist, religious racist, passive racist, pro-active racist, hadhari racist,etc , etc. The worst form of racist is the propaganda racist. However unfortunately, we have the deadlist racialism in Malaysia which is synomynous of UMNO in the form of Hipocratic Propaganda Racialism. They pretend that they are fighting for the rights of certain community by practising racialism,executed by people not of their own race. You can find this traces in UMNO and Mamak.
written by SocratesI, September 05, 2008 09:08:58

My Fellow Malaysian Colleagues,

Something smells here and tells me that this ahMAD Ismail sorry episode is one of UMNO's ploys to whip up racial frenzy and into a confrontational state so that they can declare a STATE of EMERGENCY before Sept. 16th 2008 !!

We should simmer down and wait this issue out. After all we have waited 51 years and we should wait out the next 2 weeks, and TONE DOWN our displeasure at this SCOURGE called UMNO and wait for a CHANGE of Govt. to unfold first.

First things first, let us not lose focus and give these B*ST*RDS any excuse to declare a state of emergency and derail our "MERDEKA" plans of PAKATAN RAKYAT taking over the Govt. !!

written by lamakawan, September 05, 2008 09:18:45
".. to demolish the criticisms of its detractors." This is in effect to suppress whatever people criticises of your party. This is just as good as turning a deaf year to the outside world. So here we are seeing a leader in UMNO spitting out the truth of his party's recalcitrant stance towards the other races. No more BN. Enough of all the rubbish and sweet talk of apologising to Gerakan or swearing to the Koran.
written by asguard, September 05, 2008 09:54:34
They will never change.... unless ...they are totally drown.... into abyss..
written by daniel, September 05, 2008 10:25:32
DAMN RACISTS, definitely!
written by ganbing, September 05, 2008 11:29:33
Is Umno racist? This item from malaysiakini Vox Populi should clear things up.

Quote:

Suhaimi Said(malaysiakini): As a PKR party member, I went to Permatang Pauh 2 days prior to nomination day. I was placed with about 30 others in Rumah Pahang, hosted by PKR Kg Padang Ibu. I was soon appointed as the Co-ordinator, working closely with the local Election Committee known as JDM Guar Perahu.

JDM Guar Perahu had 8 villages under it. It was under a PAS-led election committee. Guar Perahu is the largest single village having more than 530 registered voters and Kg Kubu was the smallest having only 10 houses.

The BN issue was liwat (sodomy), sumpah (swear) and Anwar ejen Cina (Anwar is aChinese agent). Liwat and sumpah were rejected by the locals as legitimate issues as they felt the BN and Umno were not truly Islamic and their leaders did not have a good understanding of Islam.

However, the issue of Anwar as a Chinese agent working hand-in-hand with Lim Guan Eng to displace the Malays in Penang made an in-road. The BN machinery harped on it and they painted a bleak future for the Malays in Penang under an Anwar-Lim Guan Eng pro-Chinese government.

They (BN/umno) did not even want to accept that Wong Pow Nee, Dr Lim Chong Eu and Dr Koh Tsu Koon were Chinese. Yes, they were Chinese but they were Barisan Nasional members, and Barisan Chinese were not really Chinese, so they claimed. They even went as far as calling Dr Koh ‘Mohd Koh Tsu Koon bin Abdullah’.

Under the Anwar-Guan Eng government, the Malays in Pulau Pinang will lose everything, their land, their jobs and their ketuanan. The Malays will become subservient and hamba (slaves) to the Chinese.

These were the messages transmitted by Umno party workers to the local population and voters. Voting for Anwar is a vote against the Malays, they said.

The racial issues played up by Umno are so hardened that it took one hell of an argument to convince the folk that PKR is fighting for the rakyat irrespective of race and that Anwar has promised to respect the privileges of the Malays.

We made in-roads, we managed to convince the Malays of the JDM Guar Perahu but after much deliberation and hard work.

In the first place, why did Umno party workers have to play up racial politics? This kind of politics imports divisions amongst the people of Malaysia, it is draconian, outdated and not suitable for the unity of the nation.
written by truthbespoken, September 05, 2008 11:34:18
Razaliegh, like Mahathir is already past their prime. They should just seat back and enjoy their twilight years and not continue to yearn for attention and influence through thoughts and actions of yesteryears. They now inept for modern day application. From racists' control through UMNO over the years, it is now apparent that the people at large, whether Malay, Chinese, Indians or Others, are now strongly wanting a multi-racial approach to the administration of the country. The great tide has arrived at our Malaysian shores and there is no turning back for real progress for our beloved country.

I suggest Razaleigh, Mahathir and other like minded people who still believe in UMNO Supremacy over the country to accept reality and take a back seat and watch the new nation grow, if there is still time for them..
written by OMARZ, September 05, 2008 12:51:29
Is UMNO Racist? .....absolutely YES....
written by CPY, September 05, 2008 13:00:32
IS UMNO RACIST? YES!smilies/angry.gif ALWAYS CALL THE CHINESE/INDIANS GO BACK TO CHINA/INDIA(both countries are overpopulated), they forgotten that this is tanah Org Asli/Bumiputra Borneo & Malays r originated from Yunnan Province, PR China(I don't mean to disrespect non-UMNO Malays). Thats why v think the Talibans r 1000X better than UMNO.
written by carribeanking7, September 05, 2008 18:48:30
Quote :Is UMNO Racist?

Is this a trick question ?

written by MalaysianUnited, September 05, 2008 21:40:00
CPY,

Bumiputera Sabah dan Sarawak pun dari mana asalnya CPY?..Bagaimana dengan Lembah Bujang etc?..itu apa pula tuh?..

Tolong la jangan cakap pasal asal usul ini..semua orang akan konon2nya menjadi super betul..
written by MalaysianUnited, September 05, 2008 21:47:03
Fart Fart Wah,

yes you are right...UMNO executed the Chinese during May13 and the Indians in Kampung Medan.

_______________________________________________________ _____

kalau tak ada di Kampung Medan pada kejadian itu..jangan nak pandai2 buat tafsiran pulak!!

Pada saat itu, Banyak motor di jalan2 sekitar kawasan kampung Medan, KJ, Sungai Way dinaiki bangsa apa?..yang pergi ketuk rumah2 kawasan KJ siapa?..

Jawab!!
written by Fairminded, September 06, 2008 21:54:04
Kuli is trying to justify and intellectualize discrimmation. Do you mean that you can only call UMNO racist if they start to put non Malays into gas chambers? If for the past 50 years it is not discrimmation then what is it? If Ketuanan Melayu is not racism - propagating a superior race is not racism then what is racism? Common Kuli, instead of still trying to justify the past racism you should try to reform and change the whole philosophy of UMNO. Other wise it will just join the ranks of the Dinosaurs.
written by MalaysianUnited, September 07, 2008 14:48:22
It seems Fart Fart Wah is one of those blinded followers without finding the truth..and there are about 13 people who be on the same sinking paper boat with him..

Readers of MT,

How do we want to moved into greater Malaysia and be first class nation when we are TOOOOO easy follow 'facts that didnt came with evidence'??..
written by Kaboosh, September 07, 2008 15:00:40
I believe criminals don't remember their crimes, but the victims surely do. If Kulimeets up with Hitler in hell i am sure they would empathise with each other. "We did no wrong to anybody.." they would say.
written by onnetline, September 07, 2008 16:53:18
If UMNO is not racist then it's definitely a bunch of arrogant and corrupted leaders and cronies alike !