Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Renaissance of Anwar’s budget

Renaissance of Anwar’s budget PDF Print
Thursday, 04 September 2008 23:12

Anwar’s reply (See full text of his reply at http://anwaribrahimblog.com/ ) to the government national budget was powerful, precise and plausible, eliminating complacency but accentuating reform and opportunity. The first ever budget reply in Malaysian history for an opposition leader to do so comprehensively to incorporate critical challenges for long term economic prosperity into the future for Malaysia.

It is a credible and effective approach well positioned him as an alternative Prime Minister to form the next government. The reply reasserts the core plank of his Malaysian Economic Agenda’s commitment to fairness and equality for all regardless of race while embracing economic empowerment for business to grow.

The business investment initiatives outlined in Anwar’s reply is a core economic challenge for the nation; it is intended to provide business incentives to restore the competitive edge and to rebuild investors’ confidence to attract more foreign direct investments and to promote local investments to propel economy growth, this will subsequently provide better services in hospital, education, housing and transportation to the people especially the poor. With the investment initiative also focusing in quality education that the more you invest in the education, training and skills of the people, the more productive the economy becomes.

The reply reiterated the Malaysian Economic Agenda on good macroeconomic polices in banking regulation, full-disclosure, strong fundamentals and corporate governance; better social quality of life in civil liberty, judicial independence, freedom and democracy, race relations, religious tolerance, national unity, law and order; and the competency, accountability, transparency in governments.

If Pakatan Rakyat were to form the next government, Anwar promised to exercise fiscal discipline to balance the budget to reduce the fiscal deficit inherited from the current administration in the next economic cycle, he had proven track record to put budget into surplus during his tenure as finance minister. This is in sharp contrast to the government budget with deficit running at 4.8% of GDP, fiscal deficit can put upward pressure on inflation and causing more financial burden to Malaysian families already hit hard by the cost of grocery prices, fuel costs and other expenses. There are other key measures Anwar targeted to reduce deficit by cutting unnecessary expenses in attacking the culture of corruption, cronyism,  he intended to lead a government that is transparent and efficient in the award of contracts to a more open and competitive public tendering, and the issues of approval permits.

To prevent the government ‘too little, too late’ approach, Anwar offers to act immediately to fix the problems confronting the nation while there is still time for him to do so, or wait for the challenges to swamp Malaysia and be left behind. To borrow a phrase from John F. Kennedy: 'The time to fix the roof is when the sun is still shining”. So we must seize the day to get the nation in order with the Pakatan Rakyat forming the next government soon, to implement the Malaysian Economic Agenda Anwar promised and to bring a new era of just, progressive and long-term economic prosperity for Malaysia.

- Daniel Lim

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by dr michael chick, September 04, 2008 23:16:17

September 16 bye bye umno
written by alberttan, September 04, 2008 23:28:27
I think a monkey will do better than our current Finance Minister, flip flop reactive and stupid fiscal policies like Budget 2009 are a disaster for Malaysia. Budget 2009 was based on high price of oil and commodities, but prices for these have dropped or will be dropping 30% to 70%.

I am trying to highlight the impact of lowered oil and commodity prices of Budget 2009, politicking aside. If oil remains at USD105 compared to USD150 average used in Budget 2009, there will be a deficit of RM30B if spendings are not curtailed. I hope someone in power or soon to be in power read this, if our GDP goes negative due to weak ringgit and we have to borrow the RM30B overseas, Malaysia economy will go the way of Zimbabwe.

Be scared, Be very scared
The impact of lowered prices:
http://money.cnn.com/2008/09/0...2008090407
written by Tan Tan, September 04, 2008 23:28:33
Just let Anwar take over.

We cannot afford bad economy.....
written by The Mirror, September 04, 2008 23:47:16
John F. Kennedy: 'The time to fix the roof is when the sun is still shining”,

Let us repair the roof NOW before the whole roof collapses under the weight of the corruption.

But Anwar must make sure the materials he uses are of quality - otherwise any amount of repair will not solve the "problem of the roof". Sub-standard materials will make things worse and it will be back to square one.

GOD Bless Anwar. GOD Bless Malaysians. GOD Bless Malaysia.
written by ganbing, September 05, 2008 01:11:08
The budget's dependence on high oil price to keep fiscal deficit in check shows the hypocrisy of the BN govt.

It's an admission that high oil prices means more income for the govt. So why the need to raise petrol and diesel price when oil prices are high?

This immoral govt wants to keep the extra income from high oil prices (more money for corruption) but refuse to share the extra profits with the rakyat who must pay more.

If oil keeps going down, don't be surprised if these goons say they can't reduce petrol and diesel prices because the country is now earning less.

Heads I win, tails you lose!

written by PAKRAK, September 05, 2008 01:57:05
I am looking forward to Pakatan Rakyat taking over the government and YB Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as the new charismatic and dynamic Prime Minister of Malaysia will present a more meaningful Budget to the Rakyat.
DSAI: Good Luck and May Allah Bless You Abundantly and Guide You In All Your Endeavours.
written by Bigdawg, September 05, 2008 03:34:14
Sarawakians, don't miss this; especially for you:

http://sarawakheadhunter.********.com/2008/08/white-croc-of-bullshit.html
written by binarytan, September 05, 2008 07:28:19
AAB and his complete gang are not economist and they r just deadly corrupted politician.

I do not think he will even understand the simple "demand vs supply" theory.

We have seen enough over the past few years and do we still wanna to suffer?

UMNO is still playing race card and hope to be in power with Malay support, they is what they are thinking of after losing almost complete non-muslim support.

Let us face the truth, UMNO is doing more worse than good.

Let us send them out of politics soon.

DSAI is at least someone with finance experience and I hope he will manage to turn around our worsen economy situation, VERY SOON.

smilies/smiley.gif
written by rayfire, September 05, 2008 08:28:40
916 will be a golden opportunity to revive this country and set it back to the right track.
Definitely DSAI is more economically sound than the current leaders in power, I hope that would give this nation a fighting chance to be economically strengthened and wastage reduced to sustain it in long run.
I know he had made a misjudgement before in trying to engage IMF and such but that is the past, he is more politically matured and seasoned now to be a wise leader for us all.
So let's hope and pray 916 materializes!
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 05, 2008 09:01:35
To prevent the government ‘too little, too late’ approach, Anwar offers to act immediately to fix the problems confronting the nation while there is still time for him to do so, or wait for the challenges to swamp Malaysia and be left behind. To borrow a phrase from John F. Kennedy: 'The time to fix the roof is when the sun is still shining”.

WONT BE SURPRISED IF THE PM WILL INCORPORATE DSAI'S PROPOSALS AND CLAIM CREDIT.
MR PM NOW WANTS THE RAKYAT TO PRAY FOR PETROL REDUCTION. BETTER OPTION WOULD BE TO PRAY FOR A COMPLETE CHANGE OF GOMEN INSTEAD BY 916. WHAT SAY YOU?
written by SocratesI, September 05, 2008 09:02:06

Let us HOPE that Sept. 16 will be the RENAISSANCE OF MALAYSIA, and we can claim our rightful place amongst successful and developed Nations in a short, short time !