Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah's letter to rais Yatim

Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah's letter to rais Yatim PDF Print
Thursday, 04 September 2008 14:33

Perhaps I should point out to you that Malaysia is a Federation of sovereign states and Johor retains territorial jurisdiction on some matters, including its territorial seas. This interest is paramount.

TRH/U/Phb/Kel/36
3rd September, 2008
3hb Ramadhan, 1429

YB. Datuk Seri Utama Dr. Rais Yatim,
Menteri Luar Negeri,
Kementerian Luar Negeri,
No. 1, Jalan Wisma Putra,
Presint 2,
Pusat Pentadbiran Kerajaan Persekutuan
62602 PUTRAJAYA                     Post & Fax No. 8889 2855

I read in today’s newspapers that you have issued a statement that you will respect the decision of the ICJ and that Malaysia will be engaging in technical discussions on various aspects of Singapore’s claim to territorial waters and their Economic Zone. No doubt this has been done with the approval of the Prime Minister and the Cabinet.

I wish to state that I am unhappy and concerned with the outcome of the international arbitration on the state of Batu Putih.

I am deeply dismayed that the interests of the state of Johor were never brought to the attention of the Court.

Perhaps I should point out to you that Malaysia is a Federation of sovereign states and Johor retains territorial jurisdiction on some matters, including its territorial seas. This interest is paramount.

It is for this reason that I think that the arbitration proceedings are still incomplete. Johor has a right to be a party to these proceedings and to seek the necessary variations, particularly in relation to sovereignty over the seas surrounding Batu Putih, which has always been in the hands of Johor and never surrendered to the British Government nor to Singapore.

By stating that you accept the ICJ’s decision without any reservation, and  participating in technical discussions with Singapore on matters that involve the sovereignty of Johor, the Government has committed a serious infringement of the Constitutional rights of the state of Johor.

I hope the Government will refrain from making any further statement or participating in technical discussions with Singapore on these matters.

I want to record my disappointment and disapproval of the manner in which the Government has conducted the case in the ICJ and acted subsequently.

These are serious matters of sovereignty and there are grave repercussions if the present conduct continues.

Yang ikhlas,

(Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah)

Batu Putih

Batu Putih

Comments (33)Add Comment
written by YSL, September 04, 2008 14:40:59
Alamak!

Kuli Rice Anak Yatim in such a way? I thought that they can communicate in the spirit of Malay Unity?
written by cheekhiaw, September 04, 2008 14:46:58
Hi Kuli,

May be you should have brought Ahmad Ismail along to the ICJ and let him declare that he is the owner of that island and the others were just pendatangs.

That idiot would have won the case hands down for you.

agree 227
written by karenleehs, September 04, 2008 14:51:06
When you have half hearted lawyers doing half hearted jobs, you'll get half satisfied results.

Ask yourself, MR. Rais, were all members of your legal teams real experts in their field when they present their case in IJC???? Did they do more than sufficient research???? If so, why did they overlook such an important document? Did anyone pay the lawyers to 'overlook' some points? Did your lawyers fight their case as if they are protecting their manhood? Their nation? Their pride?

If countries like Vietnam and Myanmar and other third world nations send their best legal team(all experts and all have done their homework), their best men forward towards territorial issues like this (the latest being the issue in Cambodia), What about us, Malaysia?
written by Krepot, September 04, 2008 15:03:24
Oxford brains don't guarantee anything! Just look at the damage the 4th floor boys have done to this country in the last 5 years! Pea-brained idiots, is all I can call them!

Don't forget our former foreign minister, with a degree in law - yet he could not lead basic negotiations and instead picked a half-baked team to defend our sovereignty. And as Kuli points out here, left it in the hands of ICJ!
written by SimpleSoul, September 04, 2008 15:08:56
Hmmmm UMNO pun need the help of Malaysia today to publise this matter? Why not in pemuda umno website? NST? TV3? apa sudah jadi?
written by FFT, September 04, 2008 15:13:08
While I would like nothing better than to heap as much blame on Badawi for this, the fact remains that the Pedra Branca (that's right, ain't Pulau Batu Putih no more!) issue dates as far back as Tun Hussein Onn's time (father of the present-day keris-wielding monyet).

Therefore, the timeframe to prepare for this court case spans at least a couple of decades, the bulk of which includes Mahathir's administration.

But unfortunately, UMNO was too busy robbing the nation blind, fixing up sodomy cases, and on the part of Kuli, betraying his friends in PAS "demi perpaduan Melayu", that you were all had scarce time to prepare for the case beyond the last-minute plagiarizing of doctored images from a shifty blog.

Keep up your feudal politicking, and one day you will wake up to an occupied country. Hey wait a minute...isn't that how Malaya was occupied by European colonialists in the first place? I guess some nimrods don't learn from history.
written by Biztrack, September 04, 2008 15:23:20

Do you know the then Singapore AG who lead the team arguing Singapore's case is a former Malaysian, as is many other senior members of that team?

written by malsia1206, September 04, 2008 15:24:54
Tengku Razaleigh, where were you when it was made known both countries had agreed to submit the matter for hearing at the International Court? Is it not a little too convenient to press your reminder at this time, after the ruling had been announced? Were you not aware or did you ever get yourself abreast with current affairs of the Nation at that time? Were you in hibernation until the post of the Presidency in UMNO is up for grabs?
written by shamadz72, September 04, 2008 15:34:03
Under this half past six government, I won't be surprised if soon we will be discussing with the Singaporean Government on our territorial right at Wilayah Pembangunan Iskandar smilies/smiley.gif

written by SamSan, September 04, 2008 15:34:38
Somebody should catch Botak Hamid Albar by the scruff of his collar as suggested by Che Det to answer what shit he did during his tenure as Foreign Minister that lead our beloved country to loose Pulau Batu Putih and now the impending loss of the territorial waters around it. I hold Botak personally responsible. To the bloggers out there, can someone find out what kind or class of degree in law this clown graduated in the UK and which third class University in UK. When Keadilan comes to power, the rakyat should strictly make sure that only well educated and distinguished rakyat malaysia like Dr. Azly, Dr. Bakri Musa, and other distinguished anak Malaysia hold cabinet and ministerial positions. Otherwise Malaysia will continue to slide to the dogs.
written by 1st2stay, September 04, 2008 16:40:19
I am a tad disappointed by Razaleigh here.
What is the whole thing supposed to deliver? In International Law Johor is part of Malaysia, and Malaysia had declared to respect the outcome whichever it might be. In short, it is a lost cause, except Johor declares its independence from Malaysia, and that it had been annexed against its own wishes. Since it wasn't, and hasn't declared itself as an independent nation, the ICJ will not entertain any submission. The ICJ only deals with matters among independent countries; Malaysia and Singapore are independent countries, and at one moment in time, they both asked the ICJ to rule on Pulau Batu Putih. And they have ruled, and they have ruled that it is an island (Pulau). And I fail to see why Razaleigh drops this indication, and talks about Batu Putih as if it was a piece of land surrounded by Malaysian territory, like Gua Musang.
I can't understand, why when people gamble, and lose, later only they try to find a good reason to question the legality of their gamble. They'd never done that, had they won.
Razaleigh, what's all this about? Does the country not have more relevant questions to sort out, than the one if Johor had, earlier, had some sovereignty on Pulau Batu Putih?
written by SocratesI, September 04, 2008 16:47:00

This will be the Barisan NAJIS reply:-

But we sent our best team to the ICJ and they were all TOP TOP graduates of UiTM, Universiti Tun Hussein Onn, and Biro Tata Negara, while the Singapore team was led by a discarded former Malaysian "pendatang" with inferior brain, plus some "kiasu" Singaporeans !

We should have won, and we did win ... some rocky outcrop (Middle Rocks) that is even better placed than Pulau Batu Putih.

Anyway, Mentor Minister Lee was saying to Singaporeans that if Singapore failed, they will have to re-join Malaysia, then we can possess back Pulau Batu Putih, PLUS ALL of Singapore-lah, so what is the hurry ??

Then again, if Malaysia fail, Malaysia can join back Singapore on their terms, and its still all in the family, mah !! Kool !!

written by ahmadneil, September 04, 2008 16:48:48
Hey, Kuli ask saiful to handle this claim,I think the singapore gov't will be most happy to return Batu Putih to johor.
written by densemy, September 04, 2008 16:56:59
Had Malaysia not been Racist...this would have been a non Issue. Singapore still part of Malaysia. LKY also selfish to want to be THE MAN....You can expel Singapore You can also BEG it to come back. But looking at the state of Malaysia...any Singaporean would say...no thanks and thank God we left.

Now Malaysia have a choice to Rid Racism. Otherwise Get a life Ku Li and all You no Otak UMNO Udang Racist!! Just like in Malaysia not knowing how to progress further?

Go improve Langkawi First then talk of Batu Putih....UMNO Memang Bodoh lagi tak bermaruah!!
written by Awang Hitam, September 04, 2008 16:57:39
These UMno clowns can't stand losing to Singapore! Singapore has becomed developed despite their lack of natural resources!
Ever since LKY hentam by saying JB is a city filled with "muggers"; murderers and thieves, UMno got very angry more.
They always look for small issue with Singapore to sensationalizes it!
Shit heads will only get shit in the face when they throw shit to the fan blowing at them!
written by KKchan, September 04, 2008 17:49:33
KU Li is just trying to fish for Johore's support. Foreign affairs is clearly a Federal matter. Territorial disputes with Singapore is a matter of foreign affairs. When Singapore won the case, it got the isalnd as well as the seas surrounding it, at least 3 miles if not 200 miles of EEZ. We didn't do home work and we lost. Soon Singapore will strike oil off Pedra Branca!
written by sonofman0, September 04, 2008 18:02:19
written by Awang Hitam, September 04, 2008 | 16:57:39
These UMno clowns can't stand losing to Singapore! Singapore has becomed developed despite their lack of natural resources!

Dear Awang Hitam,
Singapore has the best of natural resources: all its people, the Singapore race!
Together they have developed Singapore into what it is today.
written by alberttan, September 04, 2008 18:51:21
Think of Malaysia as a company, to maximise the company. In Malaysia, our corrupt CEOs, so what result can we Malaysians expect to achieve? Sack the CEO and UMNO, I say.

As for Rais Yatim, Ku Li, what do you expect? This is the same Rais Yatim that lost Pulau Batu Putih and tell that we lost only 'Batu Putih'. Not only Malaysia lost face, we ALSO lost credibility as a rational country.
written by omarkhayyam, September 04, 2008 19:24:58
dear Kuli,

the UMNO that u knew is long dead, to revive it needs God the Almighty's permission which i doubt would ever happen.

my suggestion is to work it out with DSAI and forge a new generation of bangsa Malaysia.

u were wiped out once by this UMNO and so was DSAI .... now together unite and create a fusion of hurricane to storm UMNO into political wilderness

written by Lembing, September 04, 2008 19:47:46
you select your legal team based on race and not on merits or ability. And from the pool of lawyers in Malaysia, when you have sub-standard graduates from sub-standard Universities, you have no choice but to pick sub-standard lawyers to represent Malaysia. Maybe the weakness of the team of sub-standard lawyers will be not be revealed in the Malaysian courts. As we now noticed the MALAYSIAN team of sub-standard lawyers clearly is no match against the Singaporean team.

That is what you get when you have a team of lawyers fighting in the international court of law.

At last the government has recognised that local universities all below par. As part of the new project, with better terms and salaries (I presumed as compared to the local deans and lecturers) and to improve the standard.

This is a very big and tight slap to the faces of the Vice Chancellor and Deans of the local universities.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, September 04, 2008 20:04:15
Hello KuLi,

Dont tell me you're another mangkok berayun from UMNO. Masa kes ni tengah hangat dibincangkan ke manakah kamu pergi? Sudahlah ini you punya saja je for your own pilitical mileage... you nak pikat undi from perwakilan UMNO Johor.

All these are just your political 'auta'
written by JaguhKampung, September 04, 2008 20:16:56
Why now Kuli, why didn't you mention this earlier?

Another thing, the M'sian team could have just swore on the book, S'pore cold not have won...
written by mikewang, September 04, 2008 20:42:28
Dear TR,

I bet to differ.
When Malaya was formed (subsequently Malaysia), individual states transferred their sovereignty to the federal government.

The authority of the state government is what is prescribed in the state constitution and they must not be in conflict with the federal constitution else the latter will be held supreme.

Territories that are previously under the sovereignty of a state before Malaysia (or Merdeka) day became the territory of Malaysia(Malaya) after Malaysia (Merdeka) day.
written by bexe, September 04, 2008 21:45:15
Ku Li
What you accuse Rais of is tantamount to Treason.
I agree with you.
Now the question is what are you going to do about it?
As a defender of Malaysian sovereignty, as a ranking member of the Royal Family, as a leading politician and member of Parliament, are you going to use your powerful platform to bring this man and the Government he represents to justice? Are you going to get the authorities to charge him(them) with treason?
You should or rather, you MUST.
Otherwise you too will be looked upon as a hypocrite and a gutless leader. Show us you love this country and that you can defend it.
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 05, 2008 01:03:00
WE HAVE A WALKING MAYAT IN THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT.
WE HAVE A TALKING MAYAT GASAKING THE WALKING MAYAT.
NOW WE HAVE A SLEEPING MAYAT..GASAKING RAIS..

ONCE IN A WHILE HE WAKES UP....
written by Mirage, September 05, 2008 09:16:11
written by Awang Hitam, September 04, 2008 | 16:57:39

Dear Awang Hitam,
Singapore has the best of natural resources: all its people, the Singapore race!
Together they have developed Singapore into what it is today.

Dear All,

written by Mirage, September 05, 2008 09:25:41
Very correct to quote that.....As long as we are in denial that Singapore's capacity and capability is in their human resource, we will not take their example and improve. Similarly with Hong Kong. In actual fact Hong Kong is more efficient than Singapore. Again the mentality here is important towards development or develop country. We should not deny those countries which are good in certain area that we can learn from. We seem to want to see what we want to only. At least before we had look East policy etc. Not that it worked 100% but at very least a direction. That direction was for us to mimic the working culture.

Its not about us competing with Singapore or the rightiousness here. It about us competing with ourselves and admit where we are weak.
written by shamsul siahaan, September 05, 2008 10:07:13
Ku Li has a point there. We should be asking the Attorney General and Rais Yatim why the fact that Johore's territorial rights has been overlooked during the ICJ's proceedings. The acquisition of Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan from the states of Selangor and Sabah went through some lenghty legal procedures which signify the individual state territorial rights within the Federation. Why should Johore be ignored in this instance?
written by Jack Sparrow, September 05, 2008 10:13:08
How can anyone expect any achievements on the international platform when all these guys under a coconut shell are busy looking into arseholes, shoveling shit to the public, creating Mongoloids and fattening their bank accounts whilst the rest of the time falling asleep????
written by Jack Sparrow, September 05, 2008 10:20:13
Mirage,

Great and well said. The greatest resource of any Nation is her people regardless of race or creed but a single entity, the Nationality. The National Service of Singapore has created a disciplined and educated force whilst our National Service has resulted in high number of molestation and rape leading to an indisciplined force bent on vengeance. The service is a total shame and a waste of time and public funds.

The Caped Crusader ...... Taraaaa
written by Hope4all, September 05, 2008 11:22:59
We must not just secure our territorial integrity but also protect our citizen taxpayers of their rights. What happened through Project IC violates not just Sabahan taxpayers rights but also Malaysian taxpayers rights as a whole.

These UMNO politicians are raping the country like nobody's business in violation of the vision of our founding fathers that fought for Merdeka Malaya and later Malaysia, all in the false name of religion and race only for their monetary gains.
written by Su Dhanoa, September 05, 2008 12:58:14
There is this saying: The mortal is a barking dog, after a carcass (wealth). The earth belongs to the Holy (honest people), but it is occupied by the thieves who have become a burden to the earth. When people sit in evil company; they too get contaminated.

This is what has become of our beloved country - MALAYSIA - Gone to the evil, greedy barking dogs!! But what they forget is, that the DAY will come when all of them will have to pay a price for their evil and lies and cheat.

LET'S ALL PRAY FOR THAT DAY AND THAT MORTAL WHO WILL LEAD THIS COUNTRY OUT OF ROT !!!
AMIN