Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Penang DAP, Pas breaking fast in show of unity

Penang DAP, Pas breaking fast in show of unity PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 04 September 2008 13:55

(The Malaysian Insider) While you might not just see Barisan Nasional leaders break bread with the current ruckus over an Umno leader’s comments still a sore point, DAP and Pas state leaders are forging ahead with a breaking of fast session later today.

In true Penang fashion, Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng will break fast with state Pas leaders with nasi kandar at the Kasim Mustaffa restaurant in Seberang Jaya, the scene of the federal opposition Pakatan Rakyat’s latest triumph against the ruling BN when Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim won the parliamentary seat with a bigger majority.

Pas Penang commissioner Ustaz Salleh Man told HarakahDaily that the buka puasa session was arranged earlier before Lim expressed interest in joining them.

It happened when Lim asked if he could break fast with the Penang Pas leadership. He might have been joking but he appeared interested when we told him that we were having a buka puasa this week,” Salleh said, adding there could be discussions on state administration and national developments.

Among state DAP leaders attending the function are Chow Kon Yeow, Chong Eng, Lim Hock Seng, Phee Boon Poh, Liew Chin Tong and Ng Wei Aik.

Despite differences in opinion about the whether Malaysia should be secular or an Islamic state, both DAP and Pas leaders have pledged to work together in the five states they rule together with Anwar’s Parti Keadilan Rakyat, which boldly predicted the coalition will take over the federal government by Sept 16.

On the other side, Chinese-based parties in the BN are angry with Umno for its Bukit Bendera division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail’s rant in calling Chinese immigrants in the recent Permatang Pauh by-election, saying that comment is seditious. Umno deputy president Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak has apologised but the comment still rankles among BN politicians.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by panca, September 04, 2008 13:59:58
We do have differences but we have our samenesss, humanity.

Wa to go.
agree 195
written by binarytan, September 04, 2008 14:07:10
Just beware the UMNO will hold the protest as Buka Puasa also Ketuanan Melayu agenda.

let us wish a very united Malaysian rather than the kucar kacir BN. They are still sleeping together with their sleepy head Pee Am.

Way to Go PR!!!! Respect each other is most important, also invite them for the mooncake festival together.
written by DXB2008, September 04, 2008 14:07:11
This is a great move by two PR parties...humility for humanity as we are moving towards a new Msia http://1426.blogspot.com/2008/...ovide.html
written by Concerned_Citizen, September 04, 2008 14:07:40
Having different faith does not mean cannot unite. Just look at BeEnd, who dominate the multi race and multi culture and multi faith coalition.

Well, at least we all eat, why not share the same table, same type of food and same timing.
written by sjs, September 04, 2008 14:10:32
The journey of a thousand miles begin with a single step!

To the DAP and PAS members, you have taken the right first step!

Please remember, the path is filled with UMNO thorns!
written by Rundukon, September 04, 2008 14:31:35
Its poles apart for Bodohwi in Kota Kinabalu. During last night's breaking of fast with BN leaders SAPP's table was conspicuously empty.
written by budakindia, September 04, 2008 15:06:29
and yet so far BN didn't do that among it's component members and parties this year! This is the "unity" they are showing to us!
written by teo siew chin, September 04, 2008 15:15:38
This is Unity.
This is Unity in Diversity.
This is it - we are truly on the way forward!
Keep up the good work and as SJS stated, careful of the thorns along the way smilies/grin.gif
written by sam65, September 04, 2008 15:54:48
NOTE: Comment deleted. Repeat posting
written by sam65, September 04, 2008 15:57:33
To all Malaysians,
Let us all be united in all our "similarities"
Let us all find the "similarities" in all our 'differences'
All religion preaches good values, love to mankind, fairness.......
Let us find all the good positive values and 'bury' those which are negative and let us all look forward to a new dawn in a truly united Malaysia.

Let us all from today treat our fellow Malaysian brothers and sisters with respect, patience, love and kindness in our day to day lives and make the difference.
written by miwaki, September 04, 2008 16:24:51
That's the way it should go,let's break fast together whenever time permits.
written by OilMan, September 04, 2008 16:46:24
My dinner time may differ from the time of berbuaka puasa but if possible I would always take the opportunity to buka puasa with my Muslim friends. Unity and tolerance should always be upheld in our diverse and multi religion country.
written by ahmadneil, September 04, 2008 16:56:01
My chinese friends not break the fast with us but they also sent us to the mosque.Can we malay visit them on Chinese New Year and sent them to temples or churches.May lots will say oh....haram or sorry too busy eh!
written by malgal, September 04, 2008 17:20:27
Good start Guan Eng.
Food is always a great unifier.
Maybe this will signal more social interaction. Discovery Channel shows more multiracial unity than our own backyard.

written by ahmadneil, September 04, 2008 18:14:03
LGE deserve to be awarded Tan Sri.
written by mrta, September 04, 2008 18:49:41
Well done PAS & DAP! Gesture like this only goes to show us that Pakatan Rakyat is definitely better choice than BN which has become irrelevant! Syabas!
written by Evol, September 04, 2008 19:34:52
Now I really learn the true meaning of MUHIBAH!
written by macakmy, September 04, 2008 21:25:25
Well done to both DAP and PAS. Two different entities with differing ideologies and political belief showing unity and solidarity. An excellent start. Let's keep on "agreeing to disagree", serving and putting the interest of the rakyat first and foremost. There's still hope for Malaysia with leaders like you guys.
written by JaguhKampung, September 04, 2008 22:06:29
Both DAP and PAS are parties with their own principles and they have been steadfast on their own ideals. I wish they can find common grounds on which both can stand together as a team.

Really I don't see why Islam and Democracy cannot mix.
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 04, 2008 22:36:25
While you might not just see Barisan Nasional leaders break bread with the current ruckus over an Umno leader’s comments still a sore point, DAP and Pas state leaders are forging ahead with a breaking of fast session later today.

LET BN EAT HUMBLE PIE. WAY TO GO PR. SHOW YR SOLIDARITY. WE ARE ALL WITH YOU.
written by OMARZ, September 04, 2008 22:47:23
....we start again to build a NEW MALAYSIA....... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Sagaladoola, September 04, 2008 23:06:40
Good ... Now, sit together talk and sort it out and give us, Malaysians a blueprint of governance.

At least PAS and DAP do not say Malaysians are "squatters" in their own land like Somebody in Permatang Pauh (not from Pakatan). Therefore, it is worthwhile to give support to parties that do not treat Malaysians as "squatters".

Do something useful and minimise the habit of hanging dirty linens in public ...

http://sagaladoola.blogspot.com
written by Daryl, September 05, 2008 00:24:10
How can you tell you are Malaysian? When overseas you are looking for nasi lemak, roti canai, chow kueh teo, tosai, rendang, nasi beryani and so on... Does it sound chinese, malay or indian to you... To me it sounds like MALAYSIAN.. oh how about those kueh muei(?) during puasa.... do you have to be a Malay Muslim to enjoy that smilies/smiley.gif
written by Vasily, September 05, 2008 03:09:03
Guan Eng, do you going to make an open house for raya??..not big onelah just simple one...me & my family wanna come lah!
That's the way we go..
written by macanhitam, September 05, 2008 03:48:54
is it true that the lone PAS assemblyman in penang still havent got a post for him? cmon LGE, its only one guy, him him a post in your exco lineup son!

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009