Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Cloud of despair over BN and Malaysia

Cloud of despair over BN and Malaysia PDF Print
Thursday, 04 September 2008 13:45

This is what the former prime minister said on his blog yesterday: “The BN is in a sorry state… I hate to say it but the Permatang Pauh victory by PKR probably sounded the death knell of all the BN parties and the BN.”

The Malaysian Insider Commentary

This is the season of despair for Malaysia’s once proud Barisan Nasional — of uncertainty, indecision, broken promises and a credibility deficit.

Just listen to the once strong and commanding voices of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Tun Dr Lim Keng Yaik. They now have the timbre of beaten men; of politicians who despite their rich experience are at a loss to point the way forward for their supporters and countrymen.

Just listen to Cabinet ministers and senior politicians in their private moments. They are in unfamiliar territory; not knowing how to regain the trust of their constituents; wondering why their announcements are greeted with cynicism; troubled that the arch enemy Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim is Mr Teflon — nothing sticks on him.

Dr Mahathir, Dr Lim, the ministers and politicians know that if the mood of despair does not lift, this could be the last time the BN governs Malaysia, the end of one of the world’s longest ruling regimes.

This is what the former prime minister said on his blog yesterday: “The BN is in a sorry state… I hate to say it but the Permatang Pauh victory by PKR probably sounded the death knell of all the BN parties and the BN.”

To be sure, the despair began long before the night of March 8 when news filtered through that the alliance of DAP-PKR-Pas had not only denied the BN its two-thirds majority in Parliament but also surrendered control of Kedah, Penang, Selangor and Perak.

For non-Malays, it started in 2005, when it became clear that Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi was reneging on his promise of being the leader of all Malaysians. He stood and watched as his party members flaunted their political muscle and questioned the status of Chinese and Indians. He was a bystander as Hindus and Christians faced challenges in practising their religions. He tolerated the unlawful behaviour of Umno warlords like the late Zakaria Deros in the name of political expediency.

All these omissions and actions only deepened the sense of despair about the country among Chinese and Indians, and hammered home the message that the interests of minorities will not be protected under the Umno-led BN.

For many Malays, the umbilical cord with Umno and the BN was cut 10 years ago, when Dr Mahathir dumped Anwar unceremoniously from government and when for the first time, many in the community wondered whether the New Economic Policy really benefited them. Along the way, they reached the conclusion that the politicians entrusted to look after their interest have grown fat and rich on government largesse. In the back of beyond, Umno is still strong. But in urban centres, many Malays no longer call Umno their party of choice.

Can Umno stop the rot? Can Umno galvanise a listless BN? Can Umno reconnect with the ground? Gerakan’s Dr Lim, a politician who has worked with the likes of Tun Abdul Razak, Tun Dr Ismail, Tun Hussein Onn, Dr Mahathir, did not think so.

He did not believe that any current or future Umno leader has the vision or the will to shake the ruling party out of its stupor and make the necessary reforms which Malaysians want done. In an interview with Off the Edge, he sounded defeated, fed-up with the arrogance and money culture in Umno.

Not once did he blame Abdullah directly but reading in between the lines, it is clear that he assigns much of the BN’s problems to the weak leadership of Umno. Does he have a silver bullet for the BN? Dr Lim offers a fountain of rhetoric but little else.

It seems even the man with all the answers is giving up. Dr Mahathir noted that some readers on his blog had asked him to do something about the country.

His response was short: he had done everything. He had openly criticised Abdullah; asked him to step down as prime minister and Umno president; accused him of corruption; resigned from Umno; spoken about corruption and the fate awaiting Malays and started a blog.

Privately many said they support me and they want Abdullah to step down. But they are not prepared to say it openly. That was why I started my blog. About six million had visited my blog site and tens of thousands have commented and supported me.

But most appear to be worried and would not give their names. They are usually anonymous. So the support is not effective.

I cannot do everything all by myself. I need support. I cannot just go to Dato Seri Abdullah, catch him by the scruff of his neck and throw him out,”' he said.

Getting rid of Abdullah may not be enough to lift the cloud of despair hanging over the BN and Malaysia. A recent survey commissioned by a government agency showed that many Malaysians seemed dissatisfied in the manner the BN operates.

More than 60 per cent of Chinese and Indians polled wanted the BN to become one single multiracial political party. Surprisingly, 71 per cent of Malays, Indians and Chinese polled said that BN race-based affirmative action policy is obsolete and must be replaced with a merit-based system.

Taken individually, 63 per cent of Malays support this change in policy, 83 per cent Chinese and 85 per cent Indians and 63 per cent non-Muslim Bumiputeras.

These findings make nonsense of some of the assumptions Umno politicians have relied on even after Election 2008.

written by krising1, September 04, 2008 13:52:37
Does it mean that the ma-mak now agrees that Anwar will PM of Malaysia? HaHa. Ma-mak you can start preparations to migrate. Mugabe still has a palce for you in his heart and in Mugabeland.
written by shan, September 04, 2008 13:53:07

Once UMNO is done with,we can be asured of some dignity
agree 155
written by Jit Dharma, September 04, 2008 13:53:41
I say, Tun, don't be so modest. You are the biggest contributor to the death
of BN.
agree 156
written by SocratesI, September 04, 2008 14:10:08

Indeed, Maha-ShitHead is our hero in the defeat and dismantling of the Barisan NAJIS, and must take almost FULL CREDIT for Barisan NAJIS' transformation from Homo sapiens to Neanderthal to Ape, over a span of 23 - 27 years !!

Our new hero is PAKATAN RAKYAT with DSAI as the LEADER, for CIVIL RIGHTS and a CIVIL SOCIETY without Corruption !! From Neanderthal to Cro-Magnon to Modern MAN !!

written by Engineer, September 04, 2008 14:11:47
British navy wore red so their blood in battles is not obvious.

Old man Mahai should now wear brown pants and lots of perfume so when he shits on his pants on Sept 16 the shit is not obvious.
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 04, 2008 14:34:02
Dr Mahathir, Dr Lim, the ministers and politicians know that if the mood of despair does not lift, this could be the last time the BN governs Malaysia, the end of one of the world’s longest ruling regimes.

AREN'T WE ALL GLAD ITS GOING TO BE OVER SOON?? WE CAN NOW GLIMPSE A NEW HORIZON,
A NEW BEGINNING WHERE WE CAN BE PROUD TO BE KNOWN AS MALAYSIANS FOR ONCE.
SO, PLS DONT STAND IN THE WAY OF THE PEOPLE'S TSUNAMI WAVE.
written by SamSan, September 04, 2008 14:35:24
Hi Shan,

Your picture depicting the evolution of UMNO from primates or apes to homsapiens and back to monkeys / apes is very apt but what is missing is how Khairy Jamaluddin is hearalding the coming back of the Age of the New Area of Apes/ Monkeys/Babbons/Gorillas in UMNO.
written by chanatak, September 04, 2008 14:52:41

Mahathir Muhammad is the first cause of the collapse of BN, and UMNO.

He unravelled the first strand of the BN rope by his underhanded removal of DSAI 10 years ago.

From that first unravelled strand, he speeded up the process by his high handed manner of manipulating his deputies, and finally put Abdullah Badawi there to finish it off.

Cheers
written by Sam W, September 04, 2008 14:56:15
Why do we need UMNO or BN to continue? When something's obsolete throw it out la. New technology is cheaper and more efficient. And certainly Mahatir is not going to do any good either. Can old technology be employed to produce new hi-tech products? You need to re-tool right? Get Mahatir in and the rot will extend another ten years. Frightening.
smilies/cry.gif
written by Malaysiaku, September 04, 2008 14:59:51
UMNO has single-handedly killed MCA, Gerakan, MIC and themselves with their racial slurs. They have never learn and will never learn their lesson as evidenced in the racist remarks of Ahmad. Anyway, it is too late to trust UMNO now since they will renegade what they say once they are back in power.

If those members of UMNO still love Malaysia, forget about UMNO - it is a no hope party that will never rise again from the ashes they created themselves. Better option is to abandon UMNO and turn to a new leaf of joining a non-corrupted and clean govt in Pakatan Rakyat. At least, get back some dignity of being a good politician. The perception many gets of a UMNO or even BN politician is one of disdain and corruption.

To the likes of Ahmad the racists (he is also being investigated for corruption, yes?), thank you so much for continuing to show and remind us Malaysians the kind of party UMNO truly is :-). Thank You!

To MCA, Gerakan and MIC, it is time to leave the rat infested Titanic and be heroes in saving the country. Please do something right and good that your ancestors and your descendants can be proud of.
written by AntiBN, September 04, 2008 15:21:06
Lets bury UNMO and BN once and for all.
written by PASOK, September 04, 2008 15:34:44

The main principle here is Freedom of Association.
MPs are not “tied” but are free to move according to their conscience. If they no longer have confidence in their Party for whatever reasons they are “free” to leave and sit elsewhere. If they do not agree with their party on any issue, they are not obliged to stay with that party.

They do not have to resign their seats. They are not obliged to resign their seats because it can never be proved whether their constituents voted for the person or the party. It cannot be proved either way.

When people are elected to parliament they are expected to use their conscience and act in the best interests of the people as they see it. They are not “tied” to a Party or a particular leader.

Therefore there is nothing illegitimate about MPs leaving the BN and “crossing the floor” to sit with the Opposition. Nothing morally, legally or ethically wrong because at the base of it all their freedom to follow their conscience is paramount. This principle of Freedom of Association lies at the heart of parliamentary democracy.

written by PASOK, September 04, 2008 15:45:49
sorry. My post above is in the wrong thread. I have reposted in the right place. "Question of legitimacy looms as Sept 16 draws near"
written by ordinary citizen, September 04, 2008 16:49:09
I think for the sack of not getting RPK into anymore problem with the Police of MCMC, every one who puts up comments should refrain from using racist or vulgar words... lets be civilise..and human
written by JUST, September 04, 2008 16:49:48
http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/69797
written by ordinary citizen, September 04, 2008 16:56:13
A well written article that hits the nail on its head.. how accurate..If only those few UMNO and BN leaders really realise that their arrogance and in actions will one day soon bring them down bad. Just ask ordinary malay folks whether the wealth that the policies of the government were suppose to be passed to down have actually reach them. I can bet you that they will say it hasn't at all.Infact they will tll you that it has enrich only a handful of Malays (elite and cronies). That is the main problem. Not that the non malaya are grabbing the wealth.. just that the wealth had not filtered down fairly.

The ACA is catching people for alleging bribes of 2,000 or petty cash.. just to show they are doing work.. what a joke. What about millions that the elite and connected Malays get.. these are the ones that are untouched. That is the problem.
written by Awang Hitam, September 04, 2008 17:01:00
Engineer:Old man Mahai should now wear brown pants and lots of perfume so when he shits on his pants on Sept 16 the shit is not obvious.

Why not green color as he is scared stiff?
written by Awang Hitam, September 04, 2008 17:04:42
English football league has started. The buying and selling of players ended last weekend.
Malaysian political change is starting from PP bye-election with switching of political players from BN to BR.
This is the normal course
written by ahmadneil, September 04, 2008 17:12:47
The days of BN is numbered.If not on 916 then surely it will be on 13th General Election in 2010.We will wipe them clean.
written by lamakawan, September 04, 2008 18:06:39
Maybe despair is not the word. Come September 16th, DISREPAIR will be the word.
Calling all right thinking Malaysians to look forward to a just and equitable Malaysia.
written by CheGUvera, September 04, 2008 18:24:14
In Sweden, political parties eg Moderates(fight for the rights of the corporates and rich, while Social Demo. for the workers etc..)Here, UMNO "says" they fight for the Malays!! BUT question is,in what way. After 51yrs. UMNO still say the Malays has the highest % of poverty. So, how many years do they need, Do they need to be ugly rich b4 they can start helping the kampong malays. If so, where is the limit of ugly rich??
So, Malays should only vote for any party except UMNO, UMNO fights not for them BUT ONLY FOR UMNO-PUTRA.
written by HeeHaw, September 04, 2008 18:34:33
BN is finished because it has remained stuck in denial mode. The world has changed, and the Malaysian rakyat has changed, and everyone is now in touch with all the current information about current issues, but the BN fellows from the top down still talk as if knowledge flows only from the mouths of their leaders. Hence the BN is completely irrelevant to our present times and only the ignorant (as quickly dwindling number) and the corrupt beneficiaries of BN continue to sail in this very leaky boat.

Even the "wise" BN leaders who are lamenting the present situation, e.g. Mahatir and Lim KY are blind to their own failures and how they are part of the cause of their problem. You will never see Mahatir admitting he dismantled the apparatus of state,yet you hear him crying about Malaysia becoming a Police State, as if Badawi overnight corrupted the police force? This sort of selective memory in leaders reaches its pinnacle in Badawi,where we have a leader who is "perfect" BN material: he not only says stupid things, he is also too stupid to know he's saying stupid things, and the entire BN heirachy bows and praises this "perfect" leader......while an imperfect fellow like Anwar and his imperfect team of often-squabbling PAS-DAP partners laugh all the way to the prize.

Stupid BN. They can't understand the rakyat will rather have imperfect leaders anytime, as long as the imperfections are transparent so we can kick them as they surface. (Like that ******* racist fanatic KeaDilan Kulim MP, hey brudder you are history and will NEVER ever be in public office again).

Welcome to the new Malaysia. Country belongs to the rakyat. We will kick the butt of anybody who thinks otherwise. We already know how to do it.
written by Taiping60, September 04, 2008 19:10:58
Gerakan, DAP and IPF established a multi-racial parties. But in spite of that, they are seen as a racial party. PKR did it right but in spite of their success in the March 8 election, they still have a long way to go.

To be fair,the state of affair now is not the fault of the present administration alone. Every past and present leaders of BN are equally guilty. None attempted to resolve it with exception of Jaafar Onn who unfortunately were sideline.

Malaysia is a multi-racial country and it needs to be governed by multi-racial party. The current racial politic MUST be done away. The people has voiced out what the want.

They want unity in substance and not just form.
They want to be called Malaysian and not Malay, Chinese or Indian.
They want those involve in politic to be patriotic and look after the interest of the country and not "milking" it.

So it is time to do away with racial party and merge them into single multi-racial party. All leaders should understand this is the only logical way to move forward. This applies not just to BN but also Pakatan.
written by lynn, September 04, 2008 19:19:22
This country belongs to the voters (especially). For those shit-for-brains idiots who proudly proclaimed to me & others, "hey I never voted in my life, am not registered to vote" - don't be such an arrogant fool.

That vote of yours is worth money, if you are in a hot constituency.
Your wise choice of vote is what will change the country's direction or doom the rest of us with your stupid choice of BN! When you vote, you have the right to a vote, you are not a pendatang. You have the right! Stupid.
written by Vasily, September 05, 2008 00:56:58
“I cannot do everything all by myself. I need support. I cannot just go to Dato Seri Abdullah, catch him by the scruff of his neck and throw him out,”' he said.

Fcuk you KELING!!...last time you did the same to Anwar...so why now you can't ask some favours from all those bastard anak Razak, anak Hassan, anak Patail et all to do the same....oooh that time you was the God of M'sia, you can do everything..eh??
You just a fcuking old fart shit...you said you did everything already to topple son of Bodohwi....perhaps you should run naked around Petronas Twin Towers and mastrubate in front of it!!...
written by raven1958, September 05, 2008 01:29:17
History will always remember what Tunku warned and no one listened.....this mamak was and is dangerous to UMNO.......he was a conman thru and thru.....Tunku saw it....the rest is history........only the complete destruction of the UMNO that Mahathir invented can save this country now.....
written by Bigjoe99, September 05, 2008 08:22:10
The thing to notice is that the BN advantage is overwhelming in the first place. Short of a pure dictatorship, they can pretty much do anything they want. The fact they mess up so badly is basically execution, plain and simple execution. The truth is they could have continued with their racist and unjust way for a long time if only they have executed. They just ****ed up so badly in execution, its actually ridiculous.
written by born2reign, September 05, 2008 15:53:12
Madhatter has always been a bad judge of character. He elect the rotten apples like Daim and Bodowi, Semivalue and the Lims and Ongs, but throw out the good'uns like Anwar. Madhatter was and is blinded by power hence a poor leader will never choose a leader better than himself, due to his inflated Mamak-ego. But Madhatter was sly enough to use non-Malays to help multiply his investments and execute his vision, for he could not find any good talent in his own racial pool. Therefore Madhatter had some results to show, at the heavy cost of integrity and racial unity.

I only hope that Anwar will not revert to his UMNO Youth days, he was as bad as Kera Jantan. I hope his days in jail under ISA, has taught him that he cannot trust his fellow Muslim-Malays/Mamaks anymore than he can trust non-Malays. Anwar had his fair share of Ezam and Saifool, and I pray that he seeks wisdom from God to lead Malaysia peacefully and properously, ensuring justice for all.