Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow SKMM: Malaysia Today block order stands, probe underway

SKMM: Malaysia Today block order stands, probe underway PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 04 September 2008 13:25

By JANE RITIKOS, The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: The Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission's (SKMM) directive to Internet service providers (ISPs) to block access to the Malaysia Today portal still stands pending an investigation to determine if its editor should be charged.

SKMM chief operating officer Mohamed Sharil Tarmizi, when contacted Wednesday, said an investigation was underway to determine whether or not to charge the portal's editor Raja Petra Kamaruddin under Section 211 or 233 of the Communications and Multimedia Act.

Section 211 states that no content applications service provider, or other person using a content applications service, shall provide content which is indecent, obscene, false, menacing, or offensive in character with intent to annoy, abuse, threaten or harass any person.

Mohamed Sharil Tarmizi - Filepic

A person who contravenes this is liable to a fine of not more than RM50,000 or imprisonment for a term not exceeding one year or both, and shall also be liable to a further fine of RM1,000 for every day or part of a day during which the offence is continued after conviction.

Section 233 is on improper use of network facilities or network service and related to communication that is obscene, indecent, false, menacing of offensive with intent to annoy, abuse, threaten or harass another person.

The offender is liable to a fine not more than RM50,000 or not more than one year's jail or both, and shall be liable to a further fine of RM1,000 for every day during which the offence is continued after conviction.

Mohamed Sharil said that access to website was blocked after the Commission deemed the postings had contravened the Act for inciting and being insulting against Islam.

He claimed the commission had received several complaints from the public, adding that the preventive measure was taken under Section 263 of the Act.

On criticisms that blocking access to the website was against freedom of the Internet, he said that SKMM was merely “doing its job."

We want to promote ethical and responsible blogging. We want to make the online space better still, with fervent debates, but in a civil and responsible manner."

Raja Petra has said that blocking access to his portal was a breach of the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) charter and that he would turn it into "a big issue."

Under MSC Malaysia's 10-Point Bill of Guarantees, it is stated that that Government promised to “ensure no Internet censorship” as part of its commitment to ensuring the success of MSC status companies.

Section 3 of the Act states quite explicitly, "Nothing in this Act shall be construed as permitting the censorship of the Internet.”

It is understood that only TMnet, the No 1 ISP in the country, has complied with SKMM's directive. Malaysia Today meanwhile has set up an alternate site that can still be accessed by TMnet users.

Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar, while denying that the Government had instructed SKMM to issue the block order, claimed the site was being blocked because it had posted articles deemed insulting to Islam.

Mohamed Sharil meanwhile said that the Commission strongly advised members of the public not to forget that the law also applied in cyberspace.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Naha, September 04, 2008 13:37:40
On criticisms that blocking access to the website was against freedom of the Internet, he said that SKMM was merely “doing its job."

Wag wag tail. Tongue lolling. Woof woof. Good boy. Obedient slave of the feudal master, even though his master is about to get the kick in the gonads of the century.
written by islandjoe, September 04, 2008 13:39:02
Blah blah blah. No one is listening to your crap anymore. So the act while censoring the internet has a clause saying that this is not censorship. And who wrote the Act? It's like Hitler refering to something written in Mein Kampf as a point of reference.

BN, you are STUPID. Sharil, go back to being a marketing manager. Moron.
written by Engineer, September 04, 2008 13:39:12
In Bolihland a person is guilty until proven innocent.
written by jchew, September 04, 2008 13:40:05
Without freedom of information; Malaysia will be continued to rule by the law of the jungle!The truth will be covered up. Memali incident is still being unknown to the young rakyat of Malaysia! Who was/were behind the order of massacre?!
written by Ken Liew, September 04, 2008 13:41:16
he said that SKMM was merely “doing its job."

A Job for who??? THere are all sort of limit and control in the local media, NOW you want to block to the internet media??? you are asking too much, bloody fool!!!

SO?? SKMM, do you know what Multimedia is??? or you are just another money can buy person???
written by sjs, September 04, 2008 13:57:00
JOKE OF THE DAY

A little boy wanted RM100 badly and prayed for two weeks but nothing happened.

Then he decided to write GOD a letter requesting the RM100.

When Pos Malaysia received the letter addressed to GOD, they decided to send it to the Prime Minister - Pak Lah.

The PM was so impressed, touched,and amused that he instructed his secretary to send the little boy a RM5.00 bill.
Pak Lah thought this would appear to be a lot of money to a little boy.

The little boy was delighted with the RM5.00 and sat down to write a thank you note to GOD, which read: 'Dear GOD, Thank you very much for sending the money, however, I noticed that for some reason you had to send it through PutraJaya and, as usual, those employees there took away RM95.00.'
written by capcomangel, September 04, 2008 13:57:17
Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar, while denying that the Government had instructed SKMM to issue the block order

second time deny. last time deny Waytha Moorthy passport been terminated by gov.
written by Engineer, September 04, 2008 14:27:48
Another Joke of the Day:

TDM and Semi Value were in a airplane with the pilot and the pilot's 10 yrs old son.

They were the only four on the plane. Unluckily the plane developed engine trouble and the pilot said everybody has to jump.

Unfortunately, he he announced that there were only three parachutes.

TDM being selfish and uncaring took one and jumped.

On seeing this Semi Value, being sly and cynical, took one too and jumped.

The pilot being caring and considerate told his son.

"Son, you are young and have lots of future. Take the remaining parachute and jump."

But his son said " papa, we both don't have to die."

Pilot asked why.

Son said " just now the black black uncle took my school bag and jumped".
written by teo siew chin, September 04, 2008 14:35:27
"..amar maaruf, nahi munkar; is mandatory in Islam..."
written by Kent Tory, September 04, 2008 14:42:48
Only in Malaysia, anyone (including children) can get onto the internet and access anything at all, including hard-core sex/pornographic site, sites that degrades Islam and other religions. Basically any site is accessible in Malaysia...... except for websites that try to expose the truth about the Government !!

So the message here is :

It is more important to the BN Govt to maintain its grip on power than to address the insults to ISLAM and The Corruption of Childrens Minds.
written by ksauyong, September 04, 2008 14:56:34
SKMM Mohamed Sharil Tarmizi, who are you to decide the postings had contravened the Act for inciting and being insulting against Islam.
written by alberttan, September 04, 2008 14:58:04
Another half botak (or bo-otak in Hokkien, unlike YM RPK who is bo-moh) speaking through his arse becoz all we got is shit logic. SKMM chief operating officer Mohamed Sharil Tarmizi, are you THE judge, jury and executioner by blocking M2D BEFORE M2D is even charged in court with Section 211 or 233?

Looks like another oppresive fascist use of CMA, like the ISA and PPPA. Where is Gerakan Mansuhkan ISA, they should PREVENT laws such as these from being abused BEFORE the ABUSE becomes PRACTICE like ISA, OSA and PPPA.
written by cubi76, September 04, 2008 14:58:05
Please ban every UMNO sites. I feel annoyed, threatened, harassed seeing their blogs and websites.

Shit... who's this dickhead acting above the law? Who's he to judge what's right and what's wrong in the face of law? Is he a judge or something?

written by budakindia, September 04, 2008 15:04:40
Excuse me, the law only applies to servers which are placed on Malaysian soil lar! Just because Pete is a Malaysian citizen,he's been charged under Malaysian law? If that ruling applies, why didn't MuhdX2 be charged under Malaysia court for bring substantial amount of money to Australia? smilies/angry.gif SKMM or MCMC please don't be stupid. The whole world will laugh at you! smilies/cheesy.gif If you still want to be silly, try investigating and charge all the porno sites in the Internet! I'm sure they will have “nice words” for you! smilies/grin.gif
written by Tompios, September 04, 2008 15:42:41
Funny! RPK website was blocked but the pornographic site is available!! Funny, this one may be not insulting Islam!
written by fireduck, September 04, 2008 16:07:17
If SKMM is just doing its job and Section 233 is on improper use of network facilities or network service and related to communication that is obscene, indecent, false, menacing of offensive with intent to annoy, abuse, threaten or harass another person., then don't lah just target MT. Half the website carrying the bloggers' postings should be blocked too.

Block CNN, Al Jazeera and BBC too. Block Google and all the search engines sites too. Then only we, the rakyat will not be able to read all those 'offending' statements. Then only you can be the real watchDOG over our morality!
written by ahmadneil, September 04, 2008 16:32:33
Sharil aren't you all a bad loser.
written by KetamPadang, September 04, 2008 16:50:55
TV3 is as well guilty under Communications and Multimedia Act Section 211 & 233 ....no content applications service provider, or other person using a content applications service, shall provide content which is indecent, obscene, false, menacing, or offensive in character with intent to annoy, abuse, threaten or harass any person....

TV3 lies a lot and offend too much viewers.
written by Anti Jihadist, September 04, 2008 17:32:05
"We're blocking the net, not censoring it."--Malaysian doublespeak at its finest.

Malaysian law promises a lot of things, like freedom from censorship on the net, freedom of religion, movement, assembly, association, speech. In reality, Malaysians have NONE of these freedoms. All promises and talk, no action. Empty words, meaningless promises. The Federal Constitution and other laws that promise these freedoms are a sham. Malaysians might as well use the Constitution as toilet paper for all the relevance it has on their daily lives.

The truth is that, 51 years ago, Malaysians switched from being colonial subjects of the British to being occupants of a Malaysian-run fascist dictatorship. It's an ugly reality and no wonder so many Malaysians would rather just ignore it all as best they can and stick their heads in the proverbial sand.

And with BN solidly entrenched, it's not going to get any better. The best that can be said about this sad situation is, we've all been warned.

Anti Jihadist
http://pedestrianinfidel.blogspot.com
written by dr michael chick, September 04, 2008 17:38:40
written by SocratesI, September 04, 2008 17:44:28

What is the picture of such a Fat Babihutan doing at the top of the page ??!! SKMM to continue blocking MT site ... eh ... how come I can still write comments here, ah ??

Very SAD to see that the Barisan NAJIS politicians have actually REGRESSED back to being IGNORANT BabiHutan, from being human at some point 20 years back !

That's the Barisan NAJIS Govt. for you ... always trying to MUZZLE the RAKYAT's VOICE & PREVENT non-Barisan NAJIS views from being aired and heard ! And of course, RAKYAT who don't work with the Barisan NAJIS Govt. are always considered GUILTY first, and have action taken against them (like RPK's beating at the hands of the polis) before even bothering to charge them in Court !!

That is the standard of Barisan NAJIS JUSTICE, and the standard of their counsel, S*IT Hamid All-Bare, Rice Orphan, Nasty, and Shaftee Abdullah !! So low, we can wipe the floor with it !!

written by ahmadneil, September 04, 2008 17:49:54
RPK say block as long as you like.Infact he really don't care.Yap! that the way it is.We all support RPK.
written by ganbing, September 04, 2008 21:58:01
This Sharil must be the dumbest moron in the world. He must be the only one who is unaware the block is totally ineffective. Anybody who want to access MT can access its mirror site.

This is what happen when you appoint imbeciles and expect them to do a proper job.
written by Tokyobanker, September 04, 2008 22:44:01
New Decree!

In order to prevent every viewer from accessing Malaysia Today website, all PC and laptops will be destroyed, including those of RPK! Well, if they go that far, then truly nobody can access Malaysia Today!!

Malaysia will truly be put back at least 50 years to be in the same league as Zimbabwe!
written by mikewang, September 05, 2008 09:00:24
SKMM chief operating officer Mohamed Sharil Tarmizi,

What you want is pretty clear.
You want blogging to be an extension of the MSM.
Pliant and ass-licking.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009