Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysian Ringgit Will Be a `Washout' This Year, Institute Says

Malaysian Ringgit Will Be a `Washout' This Year, Institute Says PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 04 September 2008 10:37

By David Yong , Bloomberg

Malaysia's ringgit will be ``almost a washout'' for the rest of this year as a growing fiscal deficit, political turmoil and policy inaction on inflation turn investors away, the nation's biggest economic think-tank said.

The ringgit will probably weaken to 3.5 per dollar by year end, Ariff Kareem, executive director of the Malaysian Institute of Economic Research, said in an interview in Kuala Lumpur yesterday. The partially government-funded think tank had previously forecast the ringgit would strengthen to 3 per dollar by the end of 2008.

Malaysia on Aug. 29 said its budget deficit will widen to 34.5 billion ringgit ($10.1 billion) this year, or a five-year high of 4.8 percent of gross domestic product, because of a trebling in food and oil subsidies. The ringgit fell this week to near the lowest in a year.

``The deficit is enormous and doesn't speak well for fiscal management,'' Ariff said. ``The ringgit is almost a washout. It's partly a verdict on how the country is being governed. This budget doesn't help, it worsens the currency position.''

The ringgit may take another three years, instead of two, to reach its ``fair value'' of 2.8 against the U.S. currency, Ariff said.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is counting on oil prices to average $125 a barrel in 2009, unchanged from 2008, to lift revenue by 9.1 percent to 176.2 billion ringgit and narrow the deficit to 3.6 percent of GDP.

`Obsessed'

The ringgit traded at 3.4215 against the dollar as at 9:20 a.m. in Kuala Lumpur today, down from 3.3875 on Aug. 28, the day before the budget announcement that included tax cuts, a bonus for government employees, and free electricity to the poor.

The currency slumped 4.2 percent in August, the worst month since Bank Negara Malaysia scrapped a dollar link in July 2005, amid concern opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim will grab power by Sept. 16 via defections by lawmakers from Abdullah's ruling coalition.

``Political uncertainty, perception about the country's leadership, all these don't augur well for investor perception,'' Ariff said. ``The sovereign rating could be affected.''

Malaysia's gross domestic product grew 6.3 percent in the second quarter, the slowest pace in a year. Annual growth will ease to 5.7 percent in 2008 and 5.4 percent in 2009, from 6.3 percent in 2007, the government said last week.

``We are too obsessed with growth,'' Ariff said. ``There's no way we can get back to the growth rate of the late 1980s and it's not in our interest to get back on track when we grew too fast for our own good.''

`Out of Sync'

The government may be overreacting in its attempt to pump- prime the economy, depleting its resources before a further slowdown in 2009, Ariff said. The institute will probably lower its 5 percent growth forecast for 2009 at a later date, he said.

Fiscal measures to boost the purchasing power of consumers will ``unwittingly'' fuel inflation, while a ``laid back'' interest-rate policy will push inflation-adjusted interest rates deeper into negative territory and spur capital flight, he said.

The central bank has kept its overnight policy rate at 3.5 percent in 19 straight meetings since April 2006, even as other Asian nations raised borrowing costs this year to cool soaring prices. Ariff predicts inflation will accelerate from a 26-year high of 8.5 percent in July in the months ahead.

``Local interest rates are artificially low and they are out of sync with what we see in the region,'' Ariff said. ``Some marginal adjustments are required to send the right message that we are doing something, or else the credibility issue sets in.''

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by Mangan, September 04, 2008 10:43:19
It’s high inflation (again) and our money got no value at all! Dah lah paperless, and yet it’s worthless!

RM50 (kini) = RM10 (dulu dan selamanya…).

Trima kaseh UMNO, trima kaseh BN…

Tima kaseh Pak Lah dan kroni... sebab kita orang makan megi kari hari-hari, you orang plak makan kari sapi...

Trima kaseh skali lagi!!! D smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
agree 135
written by SocratesI, September 04, 2008 10:47:37

MIER is very optimistic and perhaps a bit out of touch with REALITY ! Today, the RM is already 3.44 to the US$, and at the rate it is going, THANKS TO THE IMBECILIC Bodohwi 2009 Budget, it will be 3.50 by October ... and maybe RM3.80 to USD$1.00 by year end !

Are we going to have to PEG the RM again with capital controls this time round, due to TOTAL MISMANAGEMENT of the Malaysian economy by Barisan NAJIS, or do you even have the B*LLS to make the call on a decision of this MAGNITUDE, Bodohwi ??

Why don't you just LEAVE and place us in the hands of someone MUCH MORE CAPABLE than yourself, like DSAI, and PAKATAN RAKYAT ??!! UNDUR-LAH, BODOHWI !!

written by Rundukon, September 04, 2008 10:57:10
With Maggi Mee costing 0.90cts per packet, the Ringgit is clearly a washout.
written by Rundukon, September 04, 2008 11:00:58
Bodohwi's announcement of 1 month bonus to civil servants will skyrocketing Maggi Mee price to RM1.00 by October. Mark my word.

I dont quite understand why Bodohwi is so kind to civil servants. Perhaps he likes them because most of them sleep in their work just like him.
written by kislean, September 04, 2008 11:05:04
Mahathir said “People deserve the government they get. If they get a bad government it is because they are unwilling to fight against it, unwilling to take any risk,”

He gave the people the bad government ? Now he's asking Badawi to go and wants Najib in his (Badawi's) place. Do the UMNO members (the grassroots) have anything to say on who should be their president ? The RM will eventually be like Indonesian Rupiah or the Pesos. BN had and are still mismanaging the nation's finances. By right, the RM should be at least at par with the Singapore Dollars if not more than it. With the Finance Ministry taken over by Mahathir and then Badawi and creating budgets meant for their families and cronies, it's a wonder that the Ringgit is still holding on. The nation has been plundered by these two and it's high time the people get rid of the present president, the deputy president and ALL the ahli of MT. It's time for the ordinary grassroot members to get rid of them. The people has shown their People Power. It's now for you to show your Member Power.
written by kislean, September 04, 2008 11:07:16
And as an after thought, get rid of this 'passing the president' shit.
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 04, 2008 11:08:56
This is indeed cause for celebration as soon all Malaysians, regardless of race & religion, will be MILLIONAIRS and BILLIONAIRS!! Sybas to the UMNO lead government!

....unless, of course, DSAI get his ass off the ground and get those necessary MPs to form the new government!
written by ahmadneil, September 04, 2008 11:19:10
With all corruption going on I won't be surprise the Ringgit will be call Banana money.
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 04, 2008 11:19:11
``The deficit is enormous and doesn't speak well for fiscal management,'' Ariff said. ``The ringgit is almost a washout. It's partly a verdict on how the country is being governed. This budget doesn't help, it worsens the currency position.''
The ringgit may take another three years, instead of two, to reach its ``fair value'' of 2.8 against the U.S. currency, Ariff said.

SO TO ALL THE BN FROGS, U NEED TO BRING FORWARD THE DATELINE FOR THE CHANGE AND JUMP BEFORE SEP 16 THIS YEAR!! THERE IS NO TIME LEFT IF U WANT TO BE OF ANY MORE RELEVANCE TO THE COUNTRY

written by Susanna, September 04, 2008 11:19:17
If present gomen cannot do the job, competency level proven low... time to let other people do it... The fabric of Malaysia is breaking up over years of years of retention of politically connected mediocre people at the top. Time now to let go and give the jobs to people who can make a difference and steer us away from troubled waters
written by Mr Smith, September 04, 2008 11:34:32
Mahathir said “People deserve the government they get. If they get a bad government it is because they are unwilling to fight against it, unwilling to take any risk".
==========
But we we don't deserve this BN government because we DID NOT vote for them. We were cheated of a victory by the EC, postal voters and the self serving politicians from East Malaysia.

51% of us in the Peninsular voted against BN!

Anyway the East Malasian MPs have one more chance to make amends by crossing over to Pakatan within the next 10 days. Amen. Only then we deserve the government we get and Mahathir can flee to Zimbabwe.
written by cwy, September 04, 2008 11:41:36
The 'ringgit' now is just like Japanese notes during Japanese occupation in Malaya.
written by arazak, September 04, 2008 11:49:23
Written by Rundokon
Bodohwi's announcement of 1 month bonus to civil servants will skyrocketing Maggi Mee price to RM1.00 by October. Mark my word!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I once had a friend working as a teller with a bank at Jalan Melaka/ Lebuh Pasar. During hard times he went out to lunch to buy “vardeh” (a kind of Indian food, deep fried dough of lentils mixed with flour) at a vendor in Jalan Masjid India. He usually bought 3 pieces for RM1-00 (I do not know what is the price now?). That would be his lunch. I asked him why not eat rice? He told me “nasi campur” would be too expensive around that area, it would be at least RM5-00 a plate. He had stopped using his car and is now riding the unreliable KL Rapid or the LRT.

So guys, you have other alternative beside the RM1-00 kari magi mee. How about the RM1-00 3 pieces “vardeh” ?

Hmmnnn . . .,what have UMNO done to us, the ordinary rakyaat?

smilies/sad.gif
written by joeawk, September 04, 2008 11:51:59
Those *******s should not just sit tight behind their desk earning big fat pay and thus being out of touch with circumstances that affect the people.

Come out of your office and go downtown and see for yourselves how we live, instead of shuffling between your cosy bungalow and your cosy office, in between attend functions in 5 star hotels and travel overseas to developed destinations.

The real world is not like what you have in your minds as is thought by your mind guru, imagining everything bright and beautiful, everything is 5 star.
written by fairnessforall, September 04, 2008 11:59:37
arazak, the price of vadai has now gone up to RM0.50 a piece and the size gone much smaller, so i doubt even 3 vadai's will be enough for a man. Maybe a woman can fill her stomach with 3 vadai's but Im sure its not enough for a man.

At the rate things are going, if Anwar does not take over fast, even the middle income group will become low income and we will all have to live on bread and margarine, not even butter.
written by malsia1206, September 04, 2008 12:00:16
Bank Negara is pursuing a monetary policy that is not bold enough to tackle the bulls by the horn. When the cruch time comes, the central Bank's foresight would be glaringly poor and cause irreparable harm.
written by smpadayachi, September 04, 2008 12:04:55
Mr. Anwar Ibrahim, Mr. Lim Guan Eng & Prof. Ramsamy are around, and I've faith in them, and that the Malaysia's infamous horrible titanic AKA UMNO, MCA, MIC are all sinking into oblivion, and with lowering of taxes, and bringing the economy on due course, I still think Malaysia can survive, but for that hard work that's laid out for everyone to pitch in, I think everyone must work hard, not like the infamous parroting like menyubah cara kehidupan when the Ahmad Q. Public alike are really feeling the pain just to survive in Malaysia.
written by Margeemar, September 04, 2008 12:06:12
The Budget 2009 is a Desperado Budget by the Badawi regime. This Budget must be viewed with caution by the Rakyat as it is a deficit budget. The BN/Umno regime will do anything to dupe the Rakyat and cling on to power...More http://margeemar.blogspot.com
written by qwerty, September 04, 2008 12:09:32
arazak,

My ***** stall still charges the same price, only thing is that my prata has now shrunk to the size of a CD & my teh tarik many shades lighter!
written by Wisdom above, September 04, 2008 12:10:53
Is the Domestic Trade & consumer affairs Ministry sleeping ?

Price recalibration formula not working ?

Enforcement Division catch chicken sellers to get them to reduce prices last time.

Now the Enforcement Division 'not doing anything' to use their "enforcement powers" to get wholesalers and retailers to reduces consumer prices ?

With Crude oil at US$105.32, how come Tenaga tariffs was not reduced ?

Price of Petrol should be reduced to 2.20 per litre by now ?

Syabas Barisan Rakyat
written by Rundukon, September 04, 2008 12:15:41
arazak and fairnessforall, I have a few friends who now just ordered nasi kosong and kari kosong (RM3.00) for lunch (hoping that the kari kosong has with it some meat/chicken skin).
written by arazak, September 04, 2008 12:19:04
fairnessforall & qwerty,
Thank you for the enlightenment on the verde, roti canai and teh tarik. . . , in that case I will stick to my RM1-00 kari magi mee!
smilies/cry.gif
written by lamakawan, September 04, 2008 12:36:13
The sooner our political leaders decide what they want to do the better it is for our nation and its economy. If BN cannot decide on who is going to be the leader come December 2008, then all the component parties just decide to leave BN and regroup themselved under the banner of Pakatan of being under the BN banner. Every thing should remain about the same except that the leader of the nation will be changed and some other administrative shifts in critical political appointments.
written by sjs, September 04, 2008 12:43:06
Following a downward trend of the U.S. dollar's value, the ringgit depreciated against other currencies between December 2001 and May 2008, including the Singapore dollar (SGD) (2.07 to 2.39 to the MYR), the Euro (EUR) (3.40 to 5.08 to the MYR), the Australian dollar (AUD) (1.98 to 3.11 to the MYR), and the British pound (GBP) (5.42 to 6.43 to the MYR), as of June 20, 2008.
written by malaysia devil, September 04, 2008 12:46:51
MAHATHIR'S POLITICAL GAME, which led to new political scenario in Malaysia
http://malaysianindian1.blogsp...d-to.html
written by malaysia devil, September 04, 2008 12:48:04
MAHATHIR'S POLITICAL GAME, which led to new political scenario in Malaysia
http://malaysianindian1.blogspot.com/
written by chin, September 04, 2008 12:50:00
When did devaluation of the Malaysian ringgit become a bad thing? Especially if we are resource rich and a net exporter.

I believe inflation will correct itself as long as the government is prudent.

A large portion of the budget is for administration of the country, we have an over bloated civil service, inefficient and incompetent. Reduce the size by giving performance related bonus and no increase across the board. The lazy and incompetent will leave the service on their own. The government needs to learn staff management from the private sector, preferably hire some private sector managers and I don't mean someone from the GLC (they are worse).
written by chin, September 04, 2008 12:54:21
And why does the government needs to spend so much on land related development, logic would dictate that the government would make money from such development.

Unless its the usual land scam, sell to cronies for RM2 per sq feet and cronies sells for RM80 per sq feet while the government foots the infra-structure cost.

Stop the corruption and development will become an income and not a cost in the budget.
written by chin, September 04, 2008 13:06:48
Close down Proton and all the other bleeding organization. Cancel all these loped sided highway concessions. All these companies are a serious burden to the nation without contributing to its productivity. Subsidized monopolies are a expense, and a cost in the budget.

Use Petronas to fund infra-structure development like transportation networks. If that idiot CEO continues to complain about Petronas being a private entity, fire the guy. Forget about all this stupid expenses like F1 team, its enough to hold the race here. Spend the money promoting local events that benefit the local economy.

The government should invest instead in private and foreign companies on the condition that they hire local employees, a higher percentage of this must be Malays. Leave private companies alone if they do not need government funds.
written by jayenjr, September 04, 2008 13:41:45
"``The deficit is enormous and doesn't speak well for fiscal management,'' Ariff said. ``The ringgit is almost a washout. It's partly a verdict on how the country is being governed. This budget doesn't help, it worsens the currency position.''
---------------------------------------------------------------------

Well my dear boy Ariff, let me offer some idiot-proof recommendations on how to quickly strengthen the economy & bring back investor confidence. I am pretty sure that if the following is applied, we can survive the downtide & move on to greater things, economically. (Other things, like whether the Malaysian football team become better than Laos, that one, I dun know la..)

1. Re-negotiate the PPA between TNB & the IPPs, & and save couple of the taxpayers billions. Why must the public continue to subsidise the rich?
2. Proton - either kill it off, or allow a rock-solid & capable investor to take over. Who's pride are we trying to protect here?
3. Re-structure all GLCs that provide public utility services, such as Telekom, TNB, IWK, by placing them back into the hands of the state & removing them from the hands of the private shareholders. THE MALAYSIAN PRIVATISATION EXERCISE IS AN EXCELLENT STUDY ON FAILED VENTURES!!
4. IMPROVE THE PROCESSES AT ALL GOV APPROVING BODIES, eg licenses.
5. Get the ACA to be answerable to P'ment, instead of to the PM's backside. If this is sincerely adhered to, you can bet your MIER-ass that item (4) will move at the speed of a bullit train.
6. Kill off the MSC (actually, this is an accronym for Mahathir's Shitty Career). Instead, allow entreprenaurial driven enterprises to acually drive the IT industry. The success of places like Silicon Valley , or brands like Google, Amazon was mainly because it was driven by the techies, & not by some horse-shit bureacrat, whihc is was Mahathir did when he established MSC, CyberJaya etc.

What needs to be done, is to actually give our IMBI Plaza/Low Yat chaps more leg room in not only selling, but to do R&D. By doing this, you create the R&D base which creates potential for future revenue earners.

Well, I can go. But I'm hogging the space. Plus, its lucn time, & I'm hungry...

Oh, for good measure, here's suggestion no.7 - Implement the proposals of the VK Lingam Royal Commission Inquiry, & throw the sorry asses of Mahathir, Lingam, Ahmad Fairuz & Vincent Tan into jail!

written by sjs, September 04, 2008 13:55:01
JOKE OF THE DAY

A little boy wanted RM100 badly and prayed for two weeks but nothing happened.

Then he decided to write GOD a letter requesting the RM100.

When Pos Malaysia received the letter addressed to GOD, they decided to send it to the Prime Minister - Pak Lah.

The PM was so impressed, touched,and amused that he instructed his secretary to send the little boy a RM5.00 bill.
Pak Lah thought this would appear to be a lot of money to a little boy.

The little boy was delighted with the RM5.00 and sat down to write a thank you note to GOD, which read: 'Dear GOD, Thank you very much for sending the money, however, I noticed that for some reason you had to send it through PutraJaya and, as usual, those employees there took away RM95.00.'
written by alberttan, September 04, 2008 14:48:13
Stagflation (stagnant economy with inflation) is A CERTAINTY with no development focus of Budget 2009 (ie focused on local spending, either in infrastructure or Civil Service which do not bring any income into Malaysia). When stagflation hits and overseas investors are spooked, Malaysia is truly screwed.

Read this inflation example AGAIN: http://money.cnn.com/2008/08/1...index.htm .

This is where Malaysia is heading by 2009 if UMNO do not fall.
written by shamadz72, September 04, 2008 16:30:01
Under Badawi, I wont be surprised if RM1 will be equivalent to 1 Zimbabwe Dollar smilies/smiley.gif

written by Old Man, September 04, 2008 21:35:03
Under the present administration we may end up as Zillionaires smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by ganbing, September 04, 2008 21:59:44

Only if PR takes over the govt, otherwise, it's all the way down.
written by Just Gan, September 04, 2008 23:04:31
What's the problem? If there is pressure on the ringgit, bring back currency control. After all, it worked when Malaysia was in a far more serious situation in 1998. Many have credited Dr. Mahathir for his genius in implementing currency control to save the ringgit. What can't this ingenuity be repeated to save the nation? Unless of course, currency control is only the tip of the iceberg on clandestine measures and deals hidden from the Malaysians.
written by anakmalaysia777, September 04, 2008 23:14:13
Fellow Anak Malaysia

Think - Abdullah Badawi throughout his career both as a civil servant and as a politician was never responsible for any economic activity. Even as Vice President or Deputy President of UMNO, Mahathir did not trust him enough to make him a Minister of Finance or Minister of Trade and Industry. So he has no clue about the economy and he has surrounded himself with goons who are no better. He took over the mantle of Finance Minister only because Mahathir held it. Many UMNO goons were vying for that lucrative position after DSAI left becasue they all wanted to outperform Daim in raping the country. Mahathir would not trust anyone else except another *****. Such is the capacity of UMNO. And do not speak about MCA, MIC and Gerakan - they are all morons - incapable of counting sens.

So Abduallh Badawi continues to retain this wonderboy Second Finance Minister - probably the only country in the whole world that has a Second Finance Minister. And the only claim to greatness this wonder ***** boy has is that he helped Mahathir loose the Rakyat's 10 billion ringgit in wild currency speculation. So upgrading him to economic advisor and then Second Finance Minister is the way to go in bolehland. In any other country or for that matter any other man with any self pride or honour would have resigned and walked away into the horizon after manayging such a huge loss. But, in Malaysia they become heroes and take the country to the brink of yet another financial disaster. The claim that he was teh master mind behind the economic recovery after the 1997 disaster is full of bunkum - considering that it was the petro dollars that really saved the country.

So is it a wonder if RM tracks towards the 4 ringgit mark against the dollar, whreas the currency of that little red dot below us continues to appreciate. Is it not a shame that a country that is self sufficient in energy and with so much other god given resources can have its currency depreciating when oil is selling at record high prices?

Can the wizard - the Second Finance Minister give a comprehensive explanation to the people and all investors on the state of the economy and where it is really headed. The budget speech was a real washout in this respect. That is why the currency is skidding.
written by Just Gan, September 04, 2008 23:34:27
anakmalaysia777, you appear to have some inside information on the currency control of 1998. Can you share it with us? Did currency control or some other "strategies" save the ringgit in 1998. Who really benefitted from the currency control? (Note: Anyone with any information on the happenings benhind the currency control, please share your information with us.) Tks
written by HamChak, September 04, 2008 23:56:31
Aiyoo, we die lorr.
We Raayat really are suffering now.
All these are the results of the Grandiose
vision of a "TehTarik" fellow.
written by temanmu, September 05, 2008 04:47:51
The faster we plug the "leakages" the better ... the corrupt, incompetent BN will run the economy to the ground.

Even with oil money our deficit grows!

Better out-source the economic management to Singapore !!!