Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Please not RM20, but RM50

Please not RM20, but RM50 PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 04 September 2008 09:48

KUCHING: If you have a refrigerator running 24 hours daily at home you can forget about enjoying the RM20 electricity monthly exemption.

A source in Sesco, when asked what kind of household uses less than RM20 in electricity monthly, said: “Most probably one that uses a few bulbs for lighting and has a tiny TV.”

The Borneo Post posed that question after receiving mixed reaction to the move with some describing it as “a bit illogical”.

Government officials and ministers had defended the move, insisting that it was aimed at helping the poor. But most laymen felt the move unreasonable, saying it would only benefit those from the very hardcore poor as well as owners of unoccupied houses.

The exemption should have included a wider section of the Malaysian society, many said.

They felt that if the amount had been RM50 instead of RM20, many would be encouraged to use less power in order to enjoy the privilege.

But Santubong MP Datuk Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar said the budget tabled by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi last Friday was not the end of the matter because it was just a proposal.

Junaidi, who is Parliament Deputy Speaker, told The Borneo Post yesterday that if people felt that figures and facts were illogical or unreasonable, the MPs would be debating them, especially during the question-and-answer time.

He said another parliament session will start on Sept 13 and it may last for at least 15 days.

“Only after parliament debate would we know whether the RM20 figure will be revised upward or not. So if the figure appears to be illogical or unreasonable, the government must be ready with its response,” he explained.

He assured: “Wait until the budget (debate) is over. As it is a matter of policy, the figure may be increased if found to be illogical. The MPs will surely talk strongly about it in the parliament.”

He said personally he believed not many people would be enjoying the benefit of the exemption.

“I am not certain who the target group is. Maybe the very hardcore poor will enjoy it. But certainly they do not have TV, Astro or refrigerator.

“Things will be clearer after the parliament session. The figure may be adjusted or increased.

“The RM20 may be a little bit too little. How many people will be entitled to the exemption when most have bills of over RM20? Although the measure is very noble but will it connect the proper target?

“Have they done enough research? As far as I know, the PM had a dialogue with more than 20 stakeholders who may have advised him on the matter. I do not know if they had advised him correctly on the figure,” Junaidi said.

When told that the measure would benefit about 1.1 million households, Junaidi said the measure might have been drawn up out of ignorance since most people, especially politicians, are in the middle class group.

When tabling the National Budget 2009 last Friday, Abdullah said: “As part of the government’s effort to further reduce the financial burden of the lower income group, households which incur monthly electricity bills of RM20 or less, will not have to pay for electricity for the period from Oct 1, 2008 to the end of 2009.”

“The government will bear the cost of such bills, amounting to RM170 million for the period. A total of 1.1 million households will benefit from this measure,” said Abdullah, who is Finance Minister.

The government has, through various measures, successfully reduced the incidence of poverty from 5.7 per cent in 2004 to 3.6 per cent in 2007.

The number of hardcore poor households has declined by 43 per cent from 67,300 in 2004 to 38,400 in 2007.

The government is confident that the incidence of hardcore poverty will be eradicated by 2010. The exemption from paying electricity bill of less than RM20 is one such move.

The Borneo Post has been made to understand that the Sarawak Electricity Supply Corporation (Sesco) has yet to make public the exact number of consumers who will benefit from the exemption as well as the amount it would have to absorb in order to complement the federal government’s move.

Yesterday Kedup assemblyman Frederick Bayoi Manggie told The Borneo Post that he accepted the move, saying: “Anything that can help the needy or the very unfortunate is most welcome as far as I am concerned. The RM20 Sesco bill exemption is meant for them. I thank the government for the good gesture.

“But I do not think many people in my constituency will benefit from it because most have monthly bills of above RM30,” said Bayoi who is also Walikota of Kota Samarahan and Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) supreme council member.

Mas Gading MP Datuk Dr Tiki Lafe said the exemption was aimed at reducing the burden of the hardcore poor.

“But the others who will benefit from it are owners of houses without occupants like mine in Bau and village houses occupied by elderly persons.

“I suppose in Sarawak, very few households pay monthly bill of RM20 or less because our tariffs are already high. You can try and get the actual figure from Sesco,” said Dr Tiki who is also Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party (SPDP) vice president.

Pelagus assemblyman Larry Sng defended the Prime Minister by saying that Abdullah had taken a nationwide perspective before drawing up the measure.

“The prime minister may have drawn the exemption, being part of his eradication of poverty programme, after taking into account a nationwide perspective. I am sure it will benefit many people,” he said yesterday.

“But what is equally important is the provision of a stable supply of electricity through Sesco, to the longhouses and rural villages which have yet to be connected.

“Another equally important issue to the rural people is, the expenditure incurred by using generator sets to produce electricity compared to the electricity generated from the grid,” said Sng who holds two cabinet portfolios namely Assistant Minister of Economic Planning and Assistant Minister of Industrial Development.

Deputy Minister of Science, Technology and Innovations Fadillah Yusof said he was aware of the grouses and doubts from the general public ever since the move was announced.

“For some of us, RM20 is a small amount. But for others, RM20 can mean a lot, especially the lower income group as that amount will be enough to last them several days in a week unlike many of us who may spend RM20 or more per day,” Fadillah, who is also Petra Jaya MP cum PBB Youth chief said after the launch of Sukma Ria Ramadan Bazaar in Semariang on Monday.

But PKR state liaison chief Dominique Ng said he was disappointed with the move, saying it would not help a wider section of Sesco consumers.

“Only very few families from the lowest income group will benefit from the exemption. Most of the average and even economical households will be charged at least RM50 plus per month,” he pointed out.

“My bill, without the air-condition but having fridge, TV, PC, washing machine among other things, is already more than RM100 monthly,” he said.

He said to him, the measure was only a “micro” sort of service when the government should be concerned about macro economy.

Sarawak Dayak National Union (SDNU) publicity chief Dr John Brian Anthony said the exemption would only benefit a few.

“Perhaps some doors in the longhouses close to town and low-cost flats may benefit from the exemption. I don’t think there will be many people who would benefit from it,” he said.

Former Malaysian Ranger Captain (Rtd) Mohd Johari Ibrahim said: “Those who will benefit may possibly be those living in coastal villages and longhouses with only 12-hour supply of electricity daily.”

A self-employed Bob Kedeni described the move as just a political gimmick. “Only my sister benefits from the exemption. Her house is unoccupied. Sesco charges her RM5 plus per month,” he stressed.

“But this issue (exemption) is minor and just a “gula-gula politik” (political gimmick). I think the government should be more concerned about the impact of oil price hike on people. Why can’t our leaders see this?” he asked.

When contacted on Monday, Malaysian Trades Union Congress (MTUC) Sarawak secretary cum Sarawak Bank Employees Union CEO Andrew Lo said those who will benefit are “… only Indonesian workers at the construction sites!”

Minister of Public Utilities and Second Minister of Planning and Resource Management Dato Sri Awang Tengah Ali Hassan has confirmed that Sesco will implement the measure and it will be at the same time as its implementation in the Peninsular Malaysia by Tenaga Nasional Berhad.

- Churchill Edward, The Borneo Post

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, September 04, 2008 09:51:17
Make it RM 100,since the gov't hasn't lower the fuel price.
written by binarytan, September 04, 2008 09:57:00
Just to be fair, gomen should slash the TNB profit which is burden for the rakyat.

20 years ago, my electricity bill also more than RM20. What the hell is now.

They should make it like Selangor state which subsidize the rate irregardless who is the user.

RM20 is buying nobody vote, idiot PM.

written by Frankfurtguy, September 04, 2008 10:02:45
it is totally illogical by common sense

the new budget is illogical!
written by Xpax, September 04, 2008 10:14:53
I have a refrigerator running 24hrs, 2 - 3 ceiling fan running everynight, some light, TV & some time PC at the night and it cost me Rm32-35/mth. Now we are turning off the fan most of the time and may install Capacital bank to see if it can reduce to Rm20/mth.
written by Wisdom above, September 04, 2008 10:18:19
With Crude oil at US$105.32, how come Tenaga tariffs was not reduced ?

Price of Petrol should be reduced to 2.20 per litre by now ?

Domestic Trade & consumer affairs Ministry sleeping ?

Price recalibration formula not working ?

Syabas Barisan Rakyat
written by Mangan, September 04, 2008 10:24:25
When contacted on Monday, Malaysian Trades Union Congress (MTUC) Sarawak secretary cum Sarawak Bank Employees Union CEO Andrew Lo said those who will benefit are “… only Indonesian workers at the construction sites!

I agree!
written by RumahPanjai, September 04, 2008 10:31:27
Illegal immigrants can now enjoy the generosity of the Malaysian Government by having free electricity? Welcome to Malaysia.
written by SocratesI, September 04, 2008 10:37:15

The term "unreasonable" does not begin to describe SleepyHead's IMBECILIC Budget 1959, oops sorry, is it 2009 next year ??

The term should be "INSINCERE" 'cos that is what it is. If he was sincere in helping the poor, he could say the first RM20.00 consumed by households is free.

Even a State Govt. can afford to give FREE WATER ACROSS THE BOARD, why can't we get RM20.00 FREE ELECTRICITY across the Board ??

This RM20 is NONSENSE and the Govt. is not going to spend any money subsidising such fictitious households, so it can only mean INSINCERITY on the part of the OLD FART SLEEPYHEAD PM !!

Why don't you follow the Japanese PM example, and UNDUR-LAH, Bodohwi, you most USELESS & SPINELESS of all our PMs ??!!

written by slash n burn, September 04, 2008 10:47:03
Our PM is indeed dumb stupid.
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 04, 2008 10:55:19
RM20 a month for electricity?? This very clearly demonstrate how far the Government is from the reality of Malaysian life! So how can we Malaysians in “Malaysia Today” be wrong in calling our government all those “four letter words” and other words to describe our feelings of frustration and anger towards our corrupted and unjust government?
written by LPN, September 04, 2008 10:56:59
It should be first RM100 FREE... then pay the difference IF more and GET refund IF less... this should help the poor.
written by Engineer, September 04, 2008 11:07:32
It is giving without giving.

The money allocated will be channelled elsewhere.

But not to worry, when PR takes over government paying for electricity tariff will be the least of the rakyats concern compare to other reduced costs of living introduced by PR.
written by kislean, September 04, 2008 11:10:54
It's a JOKE ! You have to pay a minimum amount even though you don't use and electricity !
written by Tom n Jerry, September 04, 2008 11:11:33
This is what we call *good budgeting* by BN stooges;they want everyoneto light up candles and spend more on candles;perhaps buy back option for allthe refrigerators & air-conditioners!After all cold air cant sooth a painful heart trying to lay food on the table three times a day;and there is no food to keep in the refrigerator;how pathetic! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by kislean, September 04, 2008 11:11:44
Typo

t's a JOKE ! You have to pay a minimum amount even though you don't use any electricity !
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 04, 2008 11:18:02
That's why I said the corrupted & unjust government is so far removed from relity of Mlaysian life that they do not know how little RM20 is. These filthy rich UMNOputras have servants to pay for all their bills and so do not know of the minimum charge imposed on utilities services!
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 04, 2008 11:23:03
KUCHING: If you have a refrigerator running 24 hours daily at home you can forget about enjoying the RM20 electricity monthly exemption.

ITS A SANDIWARA LAH. CARE TO REVEAL WHO ARE THOSE MAKING MILLIONS???
WHEN WILL U S'WKIANS WAKE UP??
written by ChrisLim, September 04, 2008 11:51:41
Now we know that instead of eradicating the hardcore poor, our Pee M wants to maintain them. This budget is very obvious he want to continue to fatten himself and his family, he doesn't care about the rakyat!!!
written by fairnessforall, September 04, 2008 12:04:54
obviously the figures are being manipulated, I doubt there is 1.1 million people who use less than RM20 electricity, total bullshit. The amount should be increased to at least RM50.
written by cheekhiaw, September 04, 2008 12:42:28
FROZEN ON TIME?

If a household with a fridge will not qualify and the PM says 1.1 million households would benefit from this program, then perhaps 20% of our Malaysian households are still living on trees (or something not far from that)?

What a great progress the BN government had brought to the country in the last 50 years!

written by maestromind, September 04, 2008 13:00:05
before TNB increase their tariff for electricity, my house electric bill used to be below RM20 since i switch off everything except the fridge when i go out from the house. But now it's impossible. Eventhough i still do the same it cost me more than 20 bucks a month for electricity
written by roadbarra, September 04, 2008 13:52:19
Pm must be thinking that life is lived very lowly here and we don't need TV,washing machines,no ironing,etc etc What was he thinking ?
written by utuhganal, September 04, 2008 13:53:57
Have not we all heard of the word 'IMITATION'? BN is actually imitating PR in Selangor. And we all know that imitaion goods are never good. Don't expect Einstein's brain from these BN's empty tins.
written by ellyna, September 04, 2008 14:21:09
IDIOT PM describes him nicely!! I have a vacant house with the water meter switched off and yet I have to pay RM5.00!!! What a pathetic bunch of robbers!!
written by lynn, September 04, 2008 18:39:11
RM20 is an insult to low-income group. Bodowi is an A-hole and a stupid one at that. The govt gives you flers RM20 provided you are eligible. The govt knows most people will be ineligible.

Good, keep voting BN, all you 50% morons who voted BN again & again. smilies/angry.gif
written by sydput, September 04, 2008 18:44:45
during budget speech, PM said 1.1 million household will benefit from the RM20 subsidy. that means a huge proportion of the population is shorting the meter and stealing electricity. no wonder tnb cannot make decent returns.
written by onnetline, September 04, 2008 21:11:41
Dear Rakyat,

He is referring to his ' phantom voters ' of 1.1 million people !!!!
written by steviewonger, September 04, 2008 21:13:22
when i read this article, i know who will benefit the RM20 waiver.

Theorang asli in Sabah & Sarawak that are still staying in longhouses. I don't think they have freezer but only a few light bulbs.

hey , that even use less than RM10/month. To those Sabah & Sarawak MPs, sleepyhead is treating your people (those who voted you goons into parlimen)worst than beggars.
written by macakmy, September 04, 2008 21:15:51
The hardcore poor don't use electricity. They simply can't afford it. As such, very little of the 170 mil will actually be used for that purpose. The rest will end up in you know who's pocket. If he is sincere, make it 20% off the bill or RM 20, whichever is lower.
written by miwaki, September 04, 2008 21:33:23
My friend's utility bill is less than RM20.00 per month,he told me his house has no electricity supply.
written by aplus, September 04, 2008 22:49:40
4 sticks of flourescent lamps for no more than 6 hours daily, no more than 1.5 hours daily TV and the use of the rice cooker only once daily for an average family of 4 occupants. This government is a nut.
written by OilMan, September 05, 2008 05:20:30
Only a PeeAm with a tiny brain can give this tiny privilege

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009