Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PM: Media should not be afraid to uphold the truth

PM: Media should not be afraid to uphold the truth PDF Print
Wednesday, 03 September 2008 17:09

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said today the media should not be afraid of or feel apologetic in upholding the truth.

He said upholding the truth was a fundamental principle towards ensuring that justice prevailed.

“Hold steadfastly to the principle of truth because the credibility of any institution depends on how strongly the institution upholds the truth,” he said.

“I would like communication technology and channels to be used constructively as instruments upholding the principles of justice by disseminating the truth based on facts,” he said when launching Bernama Web TV at the Prime Minister’s Office, here.

Abdullah reminded that communication technology and channels could be used constructively as well as destructively.

Bernama Web TV can be accessed at the www.bernama-tv.com website. The web version of the 24-hour news channel, available on Astro Channel 502, is provided free-of-charge and can be accessed from around the world.

Abdullah said content or software used to disseminate and “enrich” negative material of a slanderous nature with the motive to cause disunity would surely bring about destruction.

He said the government realised the importance of the effective communication approach in its efforts to introduce various measures to ensure continued national economic growth.

“In times such as this, an effective communication programme will help enhance understanding of the heavy burden the government has to bear and bolster the appreciation of the people towards the sincerity of the government’s efforts to ensure their well-being,” he said.

Abdullah said the introduction of the online version of Bernama TV would enable Malaysians anywhere in the world to follow news on the country real time.

- Bernama

Comments (49)Add Comment
written by Kathy, September 03, 2008 17:15:46
Don't make me laugh. Watch Bernama TV online in real time? And get nothing but govt. propaganda? When I can get the truth from Malaysia Today online in real time? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
agree 148
written by myvoice, September 03, 2008 17:17:41
Oh Yeah, then what the hack the police is investigating RPK for disclosing the truth. Maybe our apa nama Pee Am is stii sleeping that he is not aware that MT has been blocked.

Mr Pee Am, please go and find out from TV1, TV2 and TV3. Shame on you with such lie!
written by binarytan, September 03, 2008 17:20:49
Mr. Pee Am, how about your highly and deadly corrupted gang and your self?

Shall the media free to publish these as well?

How about monsoon cup? masjid kristal? PGCC?

Wonder how many choppers & bangalow you are owning right now in overseas. The budget 2009 should be a lot of alloction for you and your family.

Pak Rah, better step down lah like Japanese PM.

written by Ann Meng Sim, September 03, 2008 17:21:19
Jeanne, can you please wake your husband from his deep slumber?

He is talking in his sleep and he is sleep walking!

written by Fatcat, September 03, 2008 17:31:28
Hypocrite.
written by densemy, September 03, 2008 17:32:17
Whose version of the truth is he talking about???
written by Jivathma, September 03, 2008 17:33:16
Badawi thinks we Malaysians are a bunch of goats. He doesn't seem to care how stupid he makes himself to look when coming out with these kind of statements while the entire judicary is currently a laughing stock. What a lame duck!
written by wannabepatriotic, September 03, 2008 17:36:58
Bodowi - why do you think we are DAMN angry about you shutting down MT? As far as im concern, RPK is unholding more truth than you can even imagine. Bodowi, you should be preaching to your BN/UMNO goons to stop lying as they are they ones afraid of the truth, the whole truth...

Let the truth be told once and for all when WE BRING YOU DOWN!!!
written by takbolehtahan, September 03, 2008 17:39:35
We have an idiot for a PM and now he's also "dyslexic" when it comes to right and wrong. Every time he opens his mouth, he's spewing out shit. Please la, keep your mouth shut.

Also, AAB, you seem to mean the opposite of what you say!!
written by SocratesI, September 03, 2008 17:46:42

This is rich !! I shall remember to surf Bernama's site and any of the MSM's sites if I need a medication to clear my constipation !! Perfect remedy for bunged-up najis that needs visually stimulating laxatives to open the floodgates, and then I can use the newspaper versions to wipe up the whole mess !!

If any of us need this sort of propaganda-type medication, we shall come to visit !

written by kislean, September 03, 2008 17:48:24
Every time this guy opens his mouth, he's insulting our intelligence. I think his IQ is below 50 and Alfred E. Neumann, the Idiot Kid of MAD Magazine(What, Me Worry ?)is much, much smarter than him. The PM is a Jonah. He'll sink the BN ship eventually. smilies/angry.gif
written by sjs, September 03, 2008 18:05:35
Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, your main-stream medias have told so much untruths, that they are now frighten to tell the truths!

They have distanced themselves from truths, that it is difficult for them to report the truths now!

In fact it is better for them to be untruthful, otherwise the majority of your BN leaders will be in jail!
written by kingelvis, September 03, 2008 18:12:32
Why not just link Bernama to MT for news updates!! That'll make most of us happy smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by CKLee123, September 03, 2008 18:21:12

Mumbo-jumbo - the art of talking loud but saying nothing.
written by islandjoe, September 03, 2008 18:27:30
And where did you say this, bodowi?? On BERNAMA!! Hahahahaha. You are either completely stupid, or so think skinned that you don't mind spewing out the COMPLETE opposite of what is reality in everything you comment on!! My guess is that it's BOTH.

Bernama TV?? 3rd rate plaform, with 4th rate talent behind it. If I could get rid of it on my Astro, I would.
written by latihanQ, September 03, 2008 18:32:42
Mr. Badawi would be last person capable of facing the truth. He would attempt to duck the truth if he thinks it was going to hit him in the face.
He should have been the first person to stand up and defend the Constitution. Instead he allow the ultras in his community to ride roughshod over it. This inherent weakness and cowardice displayed by him borne of a shameless desire to cling on to power despite knowing he is not up to the job betrays his hypocrisy.
No, Mr. Badawi, stop the pretense and do the only courageous thing left for you to do; that may redeem yourself at least a footnote in history. Please step down!
There are a million Malaysians who capable of doing a better job.
written by thum, September 03, 2008 18:34:37
hahaaha... who is he kidding?
Another fine example of someone who says something but does something else and shoots his own foot in the process.
what an idiot.
He earns no respect from me whatsoever.
ppppttttuuiii
written by RitchieLow, September 03, 2008 18:46:50
ABB's motto: "Do what I tell you to do, not like how I do". Or is that BN culture?
written by nothing less, September 03, 2008 18:47:34
Bro Bodolah, If your MSM was telling the truth, UMNO / BN evil would have in the ANAL of history long long time ago.
written by loosecannon, September 03, 2008 18:49:15
Is he for real? Can't even discern between truth and lies. Bernama is nothing but a government stooge and propaganda tool.
written by Kacang Tanah, September 03, 2008 18:49:16
Ha…..Ha…Ha….Ha…… What a joke!
written by panca, September 03, 2008 18:51:49
PM: Media should not be afraid to uphold the truth

Rakyat: "We think the PM didn't mean it, we will ask him not to repeat this statement again."
written by EDLYK, September 03, 2008 18:54:52
aab you talk COCK ah !!!
written by arien17, September 03, 2008 19:08:16
What????? He said that? Jeezzz ... what an *******!!!
I know for a fact from my cousin who is a reporter with a mainstream media that whenever articles are published putting UMNO or BN in a bad light, he would march into the office and scream and yell his head off at the editor....
I don't think I can stomach much more of his drivel.... smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by ahmadneil, September 03, 2008 19:14:34
zzzzzzzzz better sleeping than watching Bernama.AAB apologize for a slip of tongue.
written by educationist, September 03, 2008 20:03:36
Look at The Star now and how it was before 1988, the PM should see the effect of the government control of the media.
Yes, The star is the top English paper but only because the NST is even worse.
The Sun has come up with some pretty good investigative pieces but it's reach is limited.
So, if the govt. really wants the media to uphold the truth drop all the chains that bind them now!!
written by gctham, September 03, 2008 20:15:42
I have to visit my barber to have my ear dig clean just in case I have not hear the wrong thing.
written by nangkarajah, September 03, 2008 20:22:59
Nice to hear that target date of Sept. 16 to form Pakatan Rakyat CENTRAL Gov't is still on. Even if not by that date NEVER MIND, tak apa lah. Asal niat ada dan betul-betul berusaha dengan ikhas tulus hati untuk mencapai SECAPAT-MUNGKIN apa yang dijanjikan kepada penyokong-penyokong Pakatan Rakyat.
I often hear talk about Sabah and Sarawak BN MPs switching sides. Don't be fooled! I repeat, don't be fooled!. These parliamenterians are in politics not for a cause or a struggle in idealogy or what not. They're in politics for MONEY MONEY MONEY big big big-time. You get it? THEY'RE HAND-PICKED just to assure some party have majority to form government (BERKUASA). These parliamenterians are well and RICHLY-rewarded to a level (wealthwise) no opposition group obviously at this present moment can ever RIVAL. So how in the world can Pakatan Rakyat wrest their support away from BN?
A more sensible probablility will definitely be Pakatan Rakyat wresting support away from BN of one category of parliamentarians-----the Semananjung West Malaysian BN MPs. After March 8, the majority in Parliament enjoyed by BN comes from where? From Sabah and Sarawak, because in Semananjung West Malaysia Pakatan Rakyat and BN MPs are AT PAR in numbers. Hence balance of power have now shift to East Malaysia. Notice or not their demands. Not just speaker and deputy speakers' posts, mind you! SO THE LOGICAL STEP FOR PAKATAN RAKYAT IS TO WOO West Malaysian BN MPs (who now NO MORE decide the fate and destiny of the nation).
After March 8 general election, BN government is already destined to ICU ward. It is being kept alive by life-support-----the ON/OFF switch controlled by billionaire-powerful warlords Musa and Taib and their richly-rewarded and THEREFORE intensely loyal COMMANDOS in Parliament. Need I say more?
written by Angela Ooi, September 03, 2008 20:49:25
Bodowi lies and lies, then lies even more. Go ask Allah for forgiveness lah.
written by macakmy, September 03, 2008 20:58:38
As we all know, AAB always means the exact opposite of whatever he says. So, when he says "Media should not be afraid to uphold the truth", he means that they should be afraid.. be VERY AFRAID.....
written by Vincent, September 03, 2008 21:12:07
Mr flip-flop done it again. What a shame smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by YARRACUDA, September 03, 2008 21:28:30
cant wait to put my stick into his flippy floppy mouth!!!
written by Arubin, September 03, 2008 21:33:33
written by Enforcer, September 03, 2008 21:59:35
Need help here lah. What language is the Sleepy talking in? Wonder whether he understands what he just said? Sure must nominate Sleepy for the Oscars!
Agree or not? Can act better then the late Heath Ledger, in the Joker! ha ha ha.
written by chanatak, September 03, 2008 22:09:02

Whoa! read his lips!

Whose truth is he referring to? Raja Petra Kamaruddin's truth or UMNO's 'truth'

I have learned not to believe what this guy says. I have learned to read the other side of what he means.

Just watch what he does, not listen to what he says. Just like he described Ahmad Ismail's action, he doesn't mean what he said.

written by Dualties, September 03, 2008 22:14:07
Mr PM, AAB:

The nations wants you to realize that freedom of press doesn't mean you do filtering of news whether it is negative or positive. The Malaysian citizens have given you the mandate since 2004 to demonstrate your decisiveness in perpectuating the principle of democracy for this nation. You have disappointed us and you seem to be a manipulated politician to sell UMNO principles of democracy for Malays.

Rise up against the ordinary and be the one whom we felt and feel you could be the one! You have failed us miserably!!!
written by lobster, September 03, 2008 22:28:13
PM,one way street type of communication programme really isn't much of an effective communication programme. This kind of programme is as effective as your big ears at best. Good luck and good bye.
written by onnetline, September 03, 2008 22:37:12
Sure, we believe you.

The " truth " as how you want them to report, right ?
written by qitaro, September 03, 2008 23:10:50
Now I finally understand why half the country calls him bodohwi.

He really is.
written by optimusprime, September 04, 2008 00:05:02
Nothing they say is even close to a lie.. It's so natural, it's like second nature. They have been doing it for god-damn dunno how long, they can't even differential truth / false, yes / no, black / white... Until today, they still treat you and me like some stupid cavemen, incapable of sniffing out a blatant lie... like we will say something like, "Oh ya... MT was in fact blocked, not censored" or "Ya man... the press should uphold the truth"... Uphold my B###S.
written by asiaone, September 04, 2008 00:51:44
what? Is this the joke of the day? Whatever had been debated in the parliament on freedom of speech and the prejudism of msm since years and now look who's talking cock? This guy is really a laughing stock. i cant believe my eyes...i'm now wiping my tears off from my burst of laughter!
written by Sam W, September 04, 2008 01:04:00
Tell the truth, and lose your licence.
written by Vasily, September 04, 2008 01:11:49
Tell the truth???...ni cakap menatang babi apa nie??
written by archie, September 04, 2008 01:17:47
A compulsive liar talking about upholding the truth!
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 04, 2008 01:29:13
YAH AND THEN TELL THE Botak beaver Ali Babak HOME MINISTER TO ASK FOR SHOW CAUSE LETTERS AND ...

CANNOT USE THIS WORD AND THAT WORD...AND ALL THE BULL..AND SHUT DOWN A BLOG...

MAKE UP YOUR MIND....EITHER YOU SAY NO..OR YES...

mmmmmm what to do ..walking mayat..
written by SimpleSoul, September 04, 2008 01:44:55
When Al Jazeera reported live coverage of the Bersih Rally last year. And guess what Mr. Erection tried to doing to them.

En. 'Flop-Flip'do you know that most media such as NTV 7, TV3,Fly FM are own by Media Prima which Our national investmen arm has stakes in the company. Suruh dia orang lawan towkay ka..

This PM is no longer flip flop but must be terms as flop flip.....

written by Umno Slayer, September 04, 2008 03:39:24
Right ON People! LETS Bash up this STUPID PEE EM! smilies/shocked.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, September 04, 2008 07:17:26
badawi,your mainstream media is all lies;we the rakyay want something credible;nothing but the truth!so we read MTharapan smilies/angry.gif
written by tipletoe, September 04, 2008 08:57:51
Well, well, Jackass doesn't know the difference between Freedom of the Press and Freedom to Oppress. Let him continue to talk in his sleep.