Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Swirling rumours as September 16 looms

Swirling rumours as September 16 looms PDF Print
Wednesday, 03 September 2008 15:32

By Shannon Teoh and Adib Zalkapli, The Malaysian Insider

An anonymous text message purporting to highlight key dates leading up to the plans by the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) alliance to take power by Sept 16 , has begun making the rounds, but opposition leaders have denied being responsible for the message.

Ending with the words "from pkr", the message claims that some Barisan Nasional (BN) component parties from Sabah and Sarawak will begin an exodus from the ruling coalition by Friday.

And by Saturday, BN parties from Peninsular Malaysia , with the exception of MCA and MIC, will also signal their exit from the coalition, the message alleges.

The text message goes on to state that 10 unnamed BN MPs will then join PR parties by Sept 7.

By Sept 10, which is next Wednesday, the Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi will have resigned, paving the way for Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to fulfil his pledge to take over the Federal Government by Sept 16.

PKR vice-president R. Sivarasa disclaimed responsibility for the message, pointing out that "anonymous SMSes shouldn't be taken seriously," and that the details and the sort of ideas listed in the message did not give it any credibility.

"People have been enthusiastic about Sept 16, so maybe this is born out of someone's exuberance, but I wouldn't treat it with any credence. It's not like there's been an avalanche of such messages," he added.

Influential Sabah Umno MP Datuk Anifah Aman, who has been continuously mentioned in crossover speculation, called the text message "fictitious" and said that "anybody can have a dream but they are dreaming too far."

He said that among East Malaysian MPs, "nobody really cares about Sept 16 because we are busy visiting our respective constituencies during the fasting month and preparing our debates for the budget."

Anifah also poured scorn on the takeover plans.

"They are always crying out for democracy, transparency and justice, but is this the way?  What will people think of them going through the backdoor?  That's not democratic anymore."

Anwar, PKR's presumptive candidate for prime minister, has continuously asserted his plans to form the federal government by Sept 16 and there has been recent talk of entire BN component parties crossing over.

There has also been speculation that Anwar is seeking an audience with the King, although he has responded to this by saying "not yet."

"It is a good guideline for us.  We will try to follow," quipped PKR information chief  Tian Chua, who also denied the message was from the party.

"Obviously, we cannot reveal our plans," he told The Malaysian Insider.

Umno's Jerlun MP, Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir described the message as humorous.

"It is typical Anwar Ibrahim delusions of grandeur," said the Umno youth exco member, adding that he too had  received the message.

"I don't see it happening. I have been very vocal against the government, but I personally have no plans to defect," said the son of former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

Gerakan information chief Chua Chong An said he does not take the message seriously.

"I have been receiving a lot of messages regarding 916, but I don't take them seriously," he told The Malaysian Insider.

On whether Gerakan will leave BN on Sept 6, he said: "No such thing. Just ignore the rumours."

With Sept 16 looming, there has also been intense speculation about who would be members of an Anwar Ibrahim Cabinet.

DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng touched off a round of speculation this week when he said in an interview with a Chinese-language newspaper that his father, Kit Siang, would get a senior appointment.

This resulted in speculation that Kit Siang would be appointed deputy prime minister in an Anwar Cabinet.

written by Rundukon, September 03, 2008 15:41:18
It may be a dream but 'a sweet dream' to the rakyat as opposed to 'a nightmare' to those in power.
written by wannabepatriotic, September 03, 2008 15:47:14
Only time will tell - im sure be it truth or not, the BN camps are sh!ting in their pampers, uncertain of their future in the next few weeks. Siapa makana chili rasa pedas... dah la bulan puasa, want to drink water also cannot...

This is a sign to all our 'Muslim' leaders... lie & cheat during this holy month... muahaha... 1st class ticket to hell...
written by rayfire, September 03, 2008 15:54:03
Let us not give rise to false expectation via false sms and undermine the importance of the impending change on 916. It is to date the most crucial and well anticipated event over the 5 decades and we hope no one goes on to be over enthusiastic about it and break the bubble!
Let us work together, let us pray and make it a definite event that would alter the course of this nation to move towards glory in its true sense!

I think it is about time we stand united and reject the (mis)leaders who don't share the aspiration of the rakyat in seeing a united Malaysia for all Malaysians alike.

Please visit http://rayfire-viewpoint.********.com and read
"The Final Moments and the Hurdle!"
smilies/wink.gif
written by sonofman0, September 03, 2008 16:00:47
"Umno's Jerlun MP, Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir described the message as humorous."

""It is typical Anwar Ibrahim delusions of grandeur," said the Umno youth exco member, adding that he too had received the message."

Was Permatang Pauh a "delusion of grandeur"?
written by sambal muncha, September 03, 2008 16:03:29
Rakyat Bangsa Malaysia in unison:

"We have a dream...."
written by DXB2008, September 03, 2008 16:07:54
Kabar angin boleh jadi betul...tetapi bolehkah melayu UMNO menerima hakikat yang UMNO bukan lagi pendukung politik utama? http://1426.********.com/2008/...rasis.html
written by ahmadneil, September 03, 2008 16:13:21
Yes,there is nothing wrong to have dreams.I myself have receive constant sms.I believe that 916 will be true.It may not be true this month but we still have so many 16th.916 is a vision that we all hope it will be accomplished.Latest.....Anwar will join the breaking of fast in Kuching Holiday Inn with some local Iban MPs.
written by SocratesI, September 03, 2008 16:19:11

"I Believe I Can Fly ... I Believe I Can Touch The Sky ..." There is no smoke without fire, and there is bound to be some truth in there somewhere
Where is the best place to hide your darkest secrets ?? Out in the vast open and public places where everyone can see it but don't know it for what it really is !!

The Allies were trying to find out about the latest fighter aircraft developed in Germany during the World War and it was the Messerschmits being displayed at the air show, right under the Allied forces' noses !

So, looks like PR is definitely on the way to forming the new Govt., but maybe not exactly as spelt out in the SMS !!

written by Dhan, September 03, 2008 16:28:21
Sounds familiar? Check this out – A.S.A.P. (before it gone fishing, lah!) – http://barkingmagpie.********....rahim.html

Pasquale = Mukhriz’s crony???

Ignore him. This is the rantings by the other loser!
written by miwaki, September 03, 2008 16:31:21
These SMSs definitely are fron BN itself as they are more excited than Pakatan rakyat members.
written by cwy, September 03, 2008 16:34:22
Rumours or not, the UMNO leaders might suffer Insomnia!
written by apa jadi, September 03, 2008 17:08:09
Sept 16 may be true, but not the circulating SMS.

I have received the SMS too this afternoon. I just showed to my staffs and laughed it off. No person with the right mind will give the full itinerary of the who swearing in of a new PM. It is designed to irate the King, may be to getting Himself mentioned. It has an untold agenda with this message, which we don't know of.
written by AuntyG, September 03, 2008 18:00:03
On 7March, I never believed 8March could happen. Unlikely as I doubt these
swirling rumours, I will now never say never, that 9/16 can happen!
Success starts with a dream.
In Malaysia, the real thing starts with a rumour.
You still dont believe? What about the strange happenings in Bolehland which
started as m2day's "rumours or lies" ???
written by legaleagle, September 03, 2008 18:07:57
It is troubling that the PM said during his budget speech that he would "not allow" the BN government to be toppled. What do you think he has in mind to prevent that? Do you people think there is anything sinister about it or not?

Surely he couldn't be as simple minded as to think that a budget giving all those benefits to government officers would save the day? Could he be referring to something up his sleeve that he would use if it looks like at least 30 MPs from BN would support PR?

It troubles me to try and imagine what strategies he is contemplating using to prevent the democratic process. Anyone care to share their thoughts on this? We am not even sure we can discuss it here.
written by thum, September 03, 2008 18:38:39
I am praying very very hard that we will have a new govt on 16 sept 2008.
I am praying very very hard that the wednesday morning sky on 17 sept will look different and more serene.
I am praying very very hard that God and all the Angels will make it happen.
So be it!!!! smilies/smiley.gif
written by asguard, September 03, 2008 21:11:44
To BN... yes for now say whatever you want to... and when the time comes for PR to assume..power don't say never be warn about it...nor it is joke ...
written by SBennit, September 03, 2008 21:24:01
I received a message saying that Mahathir got piles and he is getting skitso.

Am i to believe or not.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by cheekhiaw, September 03, 2008 23:19:05
WE HAVE A DREAM

We have a dream that at the stroke of the midnight hour on Sept the 16th when the BN world sleeps, the rest of Malaysia shall awake to a new life of justice, freedom and equality for all. And this country shall purge itself of its darkest hour.

It is not the end. It is perhaps the beginning of the end of hardship and suffering for the most disadvantaged of all races of our nation.

Two scores and eleven years ago, our fathers brought forth on this land a new nation conceived in liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all races are created equal but you sodomised it.

Brave men, dead and alive, had fought against you. It is for us here dedicated to the great task remaining before us to resolve that they shall not have fought in vain – that this nation, under Buddha, Krishna and Allah, shall have a new birth of freedom, and that government of the rakyat by the rakyat for the rakyat shall not be again stolen by you lalats.

So thieves, liars and murderers of the Old Guard. We bid you farewell. You have sacrificed the country for your interests. You go, but we, shall continue to rebuild the nation.

written by Highway16, September 03, 2008 23:37:15
"Umno's Jerlun MP, Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir described the message as humorous."

Right now, your fellow UMNO supporters are laughing WITH you.

Very soon, everyone, including your supporters, will be laughing AT you! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 04, 2008 01:19:43
UMNO IS AS GOOD AS DEAD.............
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 04, 2008 01:21:16
WITH A WALKING MAYAT.......AS GOOD AS DEAD.......
written by SocratesI, September 04, 2008 06:50:06

The first time on March 8th 2008, when the Pakatan RAKYAT Tsunami happened, the Klang UMNO ex-MP who lost his seat, Mat Deros died from a heart attack !

DSAI was expected to win in PP so no surprises and no notable deaths there, but this time round, if Pakatan RAKYAT manages to take over the Govt. on Sept. 16th, I wonder who will get a heart attack and go ??!!

Maha-ShitHead, perhaps with his plans to migrate, or Bodohwi, the rhinocerous Hide PM who will not let go of power, or NAJIS, who may frop some C4 and ... Boom ! Maybe we can put all these UMNO goons on a slow boat to Sumatra !!

written by SocratesI, September 04, 2008 06:51:07

Drop, not frop ... typo, sorry !