Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow KOH LAY CHIN: A love letter to my country Malaysia

KOH LAY CHIN: A love letter to my country Malaysia PDF Print
Wednesday, 03 September 2008 10:09

IT's been a mad year, to say the least. As I handed in my dissertation last week, the topic of which was (surprise, surprise) Malaysia's political scenario, I wondered what lies in the future. For me, for the country.

The dissertation I handed in was not the one I had wanted to hand in, due to some malignant last-minute IT fiasco that I shall not seethe about here. But it was nonetheless still a love story to my country.

This whole year in London, I realise, has all been about this search to understand it more. I may be a journalist and a wannabe political sociologist, but deep down I am still very much a child. Just like I am my father's only daughter, I am my country's youngest child.

I am not the eldest, like the Merdeka-era freedom-fighting generation, who faced the most pressure and expectations. I am not the middle child, like my parents' toil-and-rise generation, a little ignored and left to their own devices to do the best they could. I am the youngest, like millions of my peers, and we have been indulged, quite spoiled, and are used to getting what we want.

This is not a bad thing, if we can keep a balanced, reasoning head on our shoulders. My generation, in particular, is said to be the end of the bewildered, slightly lost Generation-X, and at the cusp of the super confident, info-dependent "Y" Generation.

Our challenge is to navigate between the practical, hard lessons of our parents, who lived through wars and a world filled with bittersweet democratisation and breakdowns, and the sweeping idealisms of the "Yes We Can", take-no-prisoners crowd now best exemplified by Ba-rack Obama's youthful supporters.

The past year preceding this Merdeka has therefore been a great lesson. Armed with information at our fingertips -- both diverse and immediate -- we have seen the good, the bad and the ugly ride on the wave of what's possible in our country.

It's an ongoing battle. Personally, it was hard to try and step back and take a neutral look at things from the outside. To try and be professionally balanced and academically analytical, and still grip your passions close to your mushy-as-mash heart -- it was a ceaselessly interesting exercise.

Not least because our country was becoming increasingly interesting as well. In terms of democratisation, Malaysia was previously thought of as one of the more "boring" countries in a seriously complex region. Among past and present democratic breakdown and reversals, we saw Suharto reinstituting the iron grip after the period of "Keterbukaan" in Indonesia, Thailand slipping in and out of military coups, Singapore increasing its civil liberties but still with a gaping hole where an opposition should be.

The Philippines and Indonesia, now old hands at people-power protests, are now working at their post-authoritarian democracies slowly and with less turbulence. Socialist Vietnam is starting to roar economically. Myanmar is still stuck in a sad time-warp.

And in the midst of it all, Malaysia's suddenly become the poster nation of "interesting". We are seeing the enhancements towards "rechtsstaat" -- a state subject to law -- and one that is fundamental in allowing citizens to exercise their political rights with full freedom and independence.

We have also seen the emergence of what scholars Almond and Verba call "The Self-Confident Citizen": one who is more active politically and believes himself to be important to his country and community's affairs.

But it is noteworthy that the civic culture theorists say once the system is in place, the ordinary citizen must turn power over to elites so that they can rule. "Thus the democratic citizen is called on to pursue contradictory goals; he must be active, yet passive; involved, yet not too involved; influential, yet deferential," they wrote in 1989.

Serious questions still need to be asked. Do we really believe in "toppling" a democratically elected government? What would we do in the event of a reversal of new-earned liberties? Some people will harp on endlessly about our country now being down in the dumps, but is it really the gloom and doom people make it out to be?

Some people will disbelieve and trounce everything the ruling government says and hold every word of anti-establishment cyber warriors as gold, but is that fair? In our quest to become "better", have we substituted one brand of elitism for another?

Post-Merdeka and into Ramadan, perhaps we have now a little breathing space for reflection, before the next round of dramatics. I guess it is okay for the cynic, idealist and adjudicator within to be constantly at loggerheads.

As Khalil Gibran once said: "Reason ruling alone is a force confining, and passion unattended is a flame that burns to its own destruction. Therefore, let your soul exalt your reason to the height of passion, that it may sing; and let it direct your passion with reason, that your passion may live through its own daily resurrection, and like the phoenix rise above its own ashes."

I am my country's child, and there are millions exactly like me. But this is not an unconditional bond of blood, it is a proof-based bond of trust. If our leaders, of whatever partisan leaning, can understand us more and keep that in mind, this family can only grow stronger.

- nst

written by cubi76, September 03, 2008 10:27:00
What's Malaysia? Peninsular - (Sabah Sarawak)= Malaysia?

What's Malaysian? Malaysian = Tuan?

What's Tuan? Bumi Malay - [(Bumi Non-Malay) (Non-Bumi)] = Tuan?

What's Independence? Britain-colony --> BN-colony = Independence?

It's time to revisit the true meaning of Merdeka and Malaysia.
written by Ken Liew, September 03, 2008 10:34:22
I LOVE MALAYSIA ALSO...

BUT I HATE THOSE UNREASONABLE POLICY MAKING OLD GENERATION GOVERNMENT!
written by Fatcat, September 03, 2008 10:44:39
HUH?????????
written by ahmadneil, September 03, 2008 10:53:31
I hate to say it wasn't the malaysia that I dreamt of.I dream Malaysia is a paradise but now it's hell.
written by Lembing, September 03, 2008 13:04:56
KOH LAY CHIN, my my my

You sure used fanciful words to beat around the bush to get to your point.

You wrote that
"I may be a journalist and a wannabe political sociologist, but deep down I am still very much a child. Just like I am my father's only daughter, I am my country's youngest child"

I totally agreed with you that you are very much a child who has been spoilt by your parents . BUT please don't generalise that you are like millions of other Malaysians. JUST BECAUSE YOU "have been indulged, quite spoiled, and are used to getting what you want", it does NOT mean that millions of Malaysians are in the same boat as you. Maybe you and your friends are the spoilt ones. How did you arrive at this figure of millions? Did you did a survey?

WHAT? IS it only recently that Malaysian politics has turned on its neon lights that attract your attention? Now I really believe that You are the "youngest child".

Here is another quote from you "Do we really believe in "toppling" a democratically elected government? What would we do in the event of a reversal of new-earned liberties? Some people will harp on endlessly about our country now being down in the dumps, but is it really the gloom and doom people make it out to be?" NEW EARNED LIBERTIES??? THE REAL GLOOM and DOOM people make it out to be???

How long have you been residing in your luxury surroundings in UK? Or are you the product of BN's propaganda programme? How come you did not pass your comment on millions of Malaysians who have been and are living in poverty whilst billions of Malaysian's assets and funds have been wasted and pilfered by you know who. Or do I need to spell it out for you?

SURELY, you can see that you are so very naive and ignorant on Malaysian's politics. No wonder I agree with you that you are a "wannabe political sociologist". I suggest that you stick to your job as journalist who will just report and NOT attach any of your innocent and naive comments and opinions.

BY the way, are your parents in any way connected, related, or associated with any of the BN Goons?

ALSO, the title :A LOVE LETTER to my country MALAYSIA is totally inappropriate. It appear that your article is more of a PROPAGANDA assisting BN.
written by cheekhiaw, September 03, 2008 13:33:04
Relax, didn't she said she is just a 'youngest' child?

written by Lembing, September 03, 2008 13:43:09
CHEEKHLAW smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif

RELAX??? If you have the guts to write an article for the world to read, then you are mature enough to withstand any form of criticism.

If she is so young and immature, I just wonder who employed her as a journalist and on top of it, why was she sent to UK as a journalist. I am truly amazed that a journalist sent overseas to UK, can write such a naive and ignorant article. Does it makes you wonder how did she get this job???
written by ahmadneil, September 03, 2008 13:55:58
Her scholarship to study in UK was arranged by Najis.So they said she is one of his......
written by cheekhiaw, September 03, 2008 14:05:04
People with money to own a newspaper company can buy anyone they want as 'their' journalists, child journalists included...

written by temenggong, September 03, 2008 14:07:38
Some people will harp on endlessly about our country now being down in the dumps, but is it really the gloom and doom people make it out to be? Some people will disbelieve and trounce everything the ruling government says and hold every word of anti-establishment cyber warriors as gold, but is that fair?

This girl is shouting that she is not cut out to be a journalist as she is out of touch with reality. Yet her miserable piece is published by NST.

She is probably the youngest daughter of some corrupt MCA man, and who is doing her Ph D in the UK! Next she'll be back here to pontificate like Chandra. Watch out for her ass! smilies/grin.gif

Why does Raja Petra post such stuff? Ah, yes, to remind us of the sweet talking insidious 'them'.
written by mucking fuddled, September 03, 2008 14:22:25
leave it be fellas....looks to me like 'home thoughts from abroad'....a romantic and nostalgic trip for a homesick lass with a flair for fancy words....
written by Lembing, September 03, 2008 14:30:02
MUCKING FUDDLED

A ROMANTIC & NOSTALGIC trip........???????

Those FANCY WORDS in this article must have clouded your judgement or perhaps you just do not fully understand the real motive of this article. Or have you read the whole article??
written by Thinker, September 03, 2008 14:57:03
Everyone is entitled to their own opinions, even if you don't agree with it. She may have some hidden agenda or she may not. And why shouldn't RPK put the article up? Just because it doesn't agree with the views of most of the readers here? A mature audience can read and discern what is dross and what is not. Censoring or controlling what goes to the readers is just as bad as the Malaysian government. Let the readers decide if they agree with the article or not. No one should try to control what other people should or should not read.

On the issue of Anwar taking over, I think all of us have our concerns. In a perfect world, I'd like to see it done through the polls rather than through the cross-over of BN MPs. My reason is because the BN MPs have been immersed in BN culture. It's like importing cancer cells into the PR body.

However, this world is not perfect and Malaysia is currently more imperfect than other countries. There may not be anything left to take over by the next election. Or Operasi Lallang II could occur before the next GE and most of the opposition politicians ending up behind bars. I think factors like these force me to accept that a PR takeover now would be for the best and hope that they can eradicate the cancer that they absorb before it spreads.
written by Umno Slayer, September 03, 2008 15:10:12
She must be a bitch!one of them and surely dumb as well! fancy words!lol...****ing malaysian UMNO/BN style
written by Lembing, September 03, 2008 15:13:33
OF COURSE everyone is entitled to their own opinions. In the IDEAL world, freedom to express oneself should be mandatory. However, this freedom of speech comes with RESPONSIBILITY. That's why we have defamation law.
Freedom of speech does not mean that anyone can just spew out lies.
As far as I am concern, this KOH LAY CHIN has not revealed the true state of affairs in Malaysia and her article smells like BN propaganda. SURELY, in your ideal free speech world, I am allowed to point out the discrepencies in her article.
written by aiyomanaboleh, September 03, 2008 15:43:39
"Some people will disbelieve and trounce everything the ruling government says and hold every word of anti-establishment cyber warriors as gold, but is that fair? In our quest to become "better", have we substituted one brand of elitism for another?"

Your reputation and trust had to be earned. In this present context, the BN govt. has acquired so much trash and ill will lately that it was easy for the rakyat to exercise its right to throw them out. No brainer. They were given a job to do but did not do it well, so out they go. There is really no need to explain the rationale behind the rakyat's move or "substituted one brand of elitism for another?" as the author puts it.

I don't need a degree in journalism or social science to feel the pulse of the nation.
written by teo siew chin, September 03, 2008 17:00:21
hahahaha Koh Lay Chin, welcome to MT where the commenters take no prisoners!

Watch & learn girl, watch & learn! The commenters in MT have been round the block. Many times even smilies/grin.gif
Best you be on their good side - they are actually a great bunch!
written by carribeanking7, September 03, 2008 17:07:37
To: Saudari Koh Lay Chin
In an article entitled "Was this election made on the internet ? dated Mar 12 2008 published in the NST" you quoted
"Ironically, the best gift that the government has given to our civil society, it would seem, is the 1998 Communications and Multimedia Bill, in which the government committed to ensuring there would be no Internet censorship."
http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/opinions/comments/was_this_the_election_made_on_the_internet_.html

We all now know what happened to that- not only did they censor but they did it in the most cavalier manner.

In your recent "love letter" you quoted
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Serious questions still need to be asked. Do we really believe in "toppling" a democratically elected government? What would we do in the event of a reversal of new-earned liberties? Some people will harp on endlessly about our country now being down in the dumps, but is it really the gloom and doom people make it out to be?'

"Some people will disbelieve and trounce everything the ruling government says and hold every word of anti-establishment cyber warriors as gold, but is that fair? In our quest to become "better", have we substituted one brand of elitism for another?"
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The BN lost that moral high ground, when they deliberately sabotaged funds to states captured by the opposition states ,
tried to topple the Perak state govt by defections, tried to get PAS who were already in the Pakatan coalition to achieve their ends.
As for the gloom and doom statement, it just shows how detached you are from the situation on the ground.

The cynics that you mention, do exist, thanks to BN manipulating the MSM, so the golden cyber warriors that you mention
are the voice of 3.8million malaysians who voted against the BN, which is roughly half the electorate.

Now I want you to do a little exercise, ****** your name-how many of your articles are carried by independent blogs ? other than NST.
Now ****** my name, how many would you find on Star or NST ? Zilch, but vice versa on independent blogs.Why do you suppose that is ?

Another piece of advice Dear Girl - when you write a love letter, it must come from the heart and be written with minimal obfuscation,
drawing paralells from abstract concepts, trying to fit square pegs into round holes by trying to quote other revolutions and quoting
Kahlil Gibran out of context just doesnt work

written by densemy, September 03, 2008 17:14:48
More wishy washy apologist rubbish.
written by Lembing, September 03, 2008 20:12:02
VIJAY KUMAR MURUGAVELL

EXCELLENT!!! Excellent comments.

Now I know who you are. It will be my pleasure to remember your name.
written by YARRACUDA, September 03, 2008 21:26:19
Vijay Kumar Muragavel.......VEL MURUGA!!!! God Bless ur mindset...classy....
written by jonath66my, September 03, 2008 23:06:01
ok tried reading it three times and sorry my brains ain't as intellectual like this ala female version of the Oxfool guy.. hey why pontificate in good old london if you are a child of BolehLand... be with the commoners to experience the harsh realities of life than to view your motherland over a cup of earl grey and muffins. I shall desist from being verbose as all her intellectual vomit stinks to seven heaven... come home and smell the reality of racism, corruption, nepotism that probably have funded your PhD is it. I say gal i saw the era of arthur sargill n the thacther era and lived through those years without needing to intellectualise on how to solve the country's woes by quoting your academic readings... hope you don't plagarise quotes just to impress us... thinking we may not be as educated at you... so stuff your academic learning and leave it in ole england we here are coping with the realities of life and interesting times over teh tarik and roti canai! www.jonathan66my.********.com