Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Shafee Told To Appoint Lawyer In Inter Partes Injunction Hearing Against Raja Petra

Shafee Told To Appoint Lawyer In Inter Partes Injunction Hearing Against Raja Petra PDF Print
Wednesday, 03 September 2008 00:53

(Bernama) -- The High Court Tuesday ordered lawyer Datuk Muhammad Shafee Abdullah to appoint a counsel to represent him in the inter partes injunction application hearing against blogger Raja Petra Raja Kamarudin on Oct 8.

Justice Datuk Tee Ah Sing made the order in chambers after hearing preliminary objections from Raja Petra's counsel, Manjeet Singh Dhillon, who submitted that an advocate and solicitor shall not appear in any matter in which he is directly pecuniarily interested.

Manjeet Singh told reporters that the Legal Profession (Practice & Etiquette) Rules 1978 clearly stated that an advocate and solicitor shall not appear in court in any case which he has reason to believe he will be a witness in the hearing.

Shafee said he would appoint a counsel to represent him and added that said the ex-parte injunction he obtained against Raja Petra Raja on Aug 13 to remove three articles posted on the latter's "Malaysia Today" weblog expired today.

He had also obtained an injunction to prohibit the blogger from publishing similar articles that are defamatory to him in the weblog.

Shafee had obtained a wide range of orders including one to compel Raja Petra to reveal the source of the information in the three articles posted on Aug 6, 7 and 11.

Shafee is suing Raja Petra for defamation, claiming that the blogger had been making up stories and running a political propaganda to mislead the public over political issues.

Raja Petra was also represented by counsel J. Chandra and Amarjit Singh Sidhu.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by raven1958, September 03, 2008 01:16:47
This is one fight Shafee wished he hadnt entered......because by the time it is over.....Anwar will be in power........and hell hath no fury like a politician who has been fixed.......
written by banzai, September 03, 2008 01:17:22
Muhammad Shafee Melayu Celop.
Not even a Mamak.
written by mykantree, September 03, 2008 01:31:12
Maybe the Penang UMNO would like this pendatang to balik to his original kampong.He's sure a nuisance here.
written by manny_california_usa, September 03, 2008 02:01:59
Jungle Law in Kangaroos's court to hear Mr.Goat Shafee's case.
Don't worry RPK, Here is my verdict.

YOU'RE NOT GUILTY !!!

There is no any other greater power than the power of Rakyat and God.
May god bless you and your family, my friend.

written by SocratesI, September 03, 2008 02:07:42

Shaftee Abdullah should have known this as an experienced lawyer, instead of being told what to do every step of his way !!

Must have been shafted too many times by Shaftor Bodohwi !!

written by Umm Adzka, September 03, 2008 03:25:37
hmmm..... hmmm... hmmm... (I let my comments stay in my mind.. do not wish to curse and write anything about a person who does not even want to acknowledge his origin on this sacred site to evade further trouble to the dearest RPK)...
hmmm..... hmmm.... hmmm... (and all things that Shafee will not wish to hear continues in my brain) smilies/grin.gif umm.adzka.com
written by omarkhayyam, September 03, 2008 03:34:55
" Raja Petra's counsel, Manjeet Singh Dhillon, who submitted that an advocate and solicitor shall not appear in any matter in which he is directly pecuniarily interested."

this shaft-for-a-fee didn't know that?
and he is suing who ?
can someone from the Bar council check his credentials please probably that Permatang Pauh Ariff yang tak Sah fella?

written by Angela Ooi, September 03, 2008 05:46:33
Shaft-for-a-fee, haha a real good one! Well, this Shaft-for-a-fee very berani cos he knows he has the tainted judiciary behind him.
written by Agahdemo, September 03, 2008 07:25:52
Shafee = mamak with HP6 mentality and loyar berok for UMNO...... smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by ahmadneil, September 03, 2008 08:22:54
Case dismissed with cost.This mak mak think that with umno support he is above law.Dreamer, wake up!
written by Ken Liew, September 03, 2008 08:34:22
WHAT?? you chicken??? come out here and face RPK like a MAN....

oops, didnt notice he is GAY~!!
written by Cyber DNA, September 03, 2008 08:50:47
Shafee,
Yo are a disgrace to the legal profession!
written by Engineer, September 03, 2008 08:57:30
Shaft It,

One day the people you defended will called you a pendatang.
written by ahmadneil, September 03, 2008 09:11:44
Latest... Anwar is seen in Tanjong Aru Hotel.With him is a group of MPs from PRS .Right now as I write they are in checking out from the hotel.The smiling Anwar can be seen waving to a crowd of supporters.
written by K W Waran, September 03, 2008 09:13:49

By the time all this is over, that fella would have been put out to dry by YM RPK's Legal Team.

Well, let it be a lesson to all scumbags dan slimeballs, once and for all, that you don't Mess About with OUR YM RPK and dream of getting off scot free.

And thanks Raven 1958, I could not agree with you more.

written by Alice, September 03, 2008 09:14:30
Dunno what to say and dare not say what's on my mind coz have great respect for RPK and don't want to create more headache for him!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by lamakawan, September 03, 2008 09:29:49
Who do you think you are, Shafee?
written by lamakawan, September 03, 2008 09:36:00
You want to be legislator, regulator, law enforcer, judge? etc etc. This is democratic Malaysia. In a democracy you have to follow the rules and regulations as approved by Parliament. Not to do what you like just because you are a lawyer buruk.
written by SCM, September 03, 2008 09:45:57
Hmmm, it's good to know that Malaysia is occasionally a multi-racial society where race has no boundaries. Well done Shafee. You proved to us that all races will sell out the rakyat for money and power. Korek korek korek Lingam and Porukee Nalla are in good company.
written by temenggong, September 03, 2008 10:34:57
Look like this ma.mak does not knows the basics of court rules and tries to defend himself, serves affidavits in court himself by dropping it on the floor, etc. Either that or he is trying to delay his case by appearing to be a bumbling fool. Won't work. rpk will chew his ass. So far its 2-0 in rpk's favour.

The fool still does not know about the internet inspite of our hints and recommendations, hence his applies for injunctions. The foolish ma.mak should hire an IT Consultancy firm to assist his lawyers.

Shaft-for-a-Fee should get a good lawyer like VK Lingam.
written by YSL, September 03, 2008 13:34:56
Sapi Tidak Ada Otak,

Tak malu kah??? Bodoh punya Lawyer buruk!!!! Tak tahu you punya kedudukan kah bodoh!!!!

Macam mana you boleh jadi lawyer sendiri untuk berlawan dengan Abag Raja!!

Bodoh punya Sapi ini!!