Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Wise up to DAP plan, Penang told

Wise up to DAP plan, Penang told PDF Print
Tuesday, 15 January 2008 12:21

(The Star) - Penang voters should wise up to a “scam” by the DAP to trick them into voting for the opposition in the next general election, Gerakan adviser Datuk Seri Dr Lim Keng Yaik said. 

Commenting on the finalised division of seats between the DAP and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) in Penang, Dr Lim said “there is more to it than meets the eye”.  {mosgoogle right}

“They (the DAP) give the impression that everything is in order but I can smell a scam to trick the people,” he said on Sunday after presenting aid for the extension work at SJK (T) Ayer Tawar and to poor students in Beruas constituency at Ayer Tawar, about 80km from here. 

Dr Lim, who is also Beruas MP, predicted that PKR would allow PAS candidates to contest in seats allotted to the party in Penang. 

“If that happens, it means that PKR is just a bridge between DAP and PAS,” added the Energy, Water and Communications Minister. 

He also claimed that DAP leaders only cared for themselves and they were not interested in the people’s welfare. 

On reports that the DAP was eyeing the Beruas, Teluk Intan and Taiping parliamentary seats in the election, Dr Lim told the DAP “to dream on”.  

written by FFT, January 15, 2008 12:24:00
“They (the DAP) give the impression that everything is in order but I can smell a scam to trick the people,” - Lim Keng Yaik

Are you sure you're not just smelling that mist of spittle that orbits around your head?
written by lokenpal, January 15, 2008 12:29:37
>>> Dr Lim, who is also Beruas MP, predicted that PKR would allow PAS candidates to contest in seats allotted to the party in Penang

PAS needs to call Dr Lim statement bordering on racism; against malays; as its their god given duty to seek (not necessarily attain)Islamic state. PAS have many other goals too?
written by WHC2268, January 15, 2008 12:36:59
Dr KY Lim, look at your own party and BN first. Your party did not protest when Umno voiced their extremism towards the Chinese and Indian community. What have Gerakan and MCA do to prevent racist situation upheld by Umno. The answer is none, you just sit there and say nothing !!!

HC
Former Penang Gerakan Youth State Liaison committee member
written by jayenjr, January 15, 2008 12:45:01
On reports that the DAP was eyeing the Beruas, Teluk Intan and Taiping parliamentary seats in the election, Dr Lim told the DAP “to dream on
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Kelapa Sawit doctor..are you aware that a number of good things began with a dream? You know Martin Luther King ah?

Dear Kelapa Sawit doctor, This is what Martin Luther King Jr said - "I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin, but by the content of their character."

So, we will continue to dream on, whilst you enjoy your retirement benefits courtesy of the BN gov...
written by Saint, January 15, 2008 12:47:23
Dr. Lim, why not draw a comparison of scams committed by BN and all the alternate parties put together and let us see whose list is longer. Bloggers would be willing to do it free for you if a request is made.
written by billykbk, January 15, 2008 12:55:58
Penang voters should wise up to a “scam” by the DAP .....
I'm left to wonder how the members and delegates of Gerakan could bear and tolerate you for so many, many years. It really reflects badly on most of them. Every right-thinking member should have banished you to your hometown and stop you from literally "barking" every now and then.
If I'm not wrong, the voters will give your "spineless" party a big, big bashing this coming GE. You just wait, Gila Doctor!!!
written by hiro, January 15, 2008 13:01:54
I think the facts speak for itself. Penang is over congested, there's brain drain to KL and outside Malaysia, the economy is relatively stagnant and Penang Parliamentarians are not taking up issues affecting fairness and justice in the Parliament.

The sad thing is Lim Keng Yaik says "DAP is up to some tricks" and it'll spread out in all major newspapers, while DAP won't be able to defend in any way whatsoever.
written by Zym Zym, January 15, 2008 13:21:32
Hey KY Lim, you're the most un-oratorical minister BN has ever had! You can't even speak with your tongue properly put in place. The second person that fall under your category is none other that Hishamuddin.
written by sampalee, January 15, 2008 13:30:19
What the umno dogs speculate in irrelevant.Dap will deliver to the rakyats of penang the change for the better they have always hope and prayed for.The rest of the rakyat nation wide wants penang to lead as a catalyst for eventual Total change.Penang will be the proofing ground for good over evil.Tuhan is watching.
written by fireduck, January 15, 2008 13:37:00
I am ready to give my vote to PAS if they contest in my area against BN. This General Election is for a better good, so we must make that impact. I used to be leery of Islamic agenda of PAS, but heck, Islam Hadhari has reared its not-so-pretty head. So what's the difference? At least we get PAS people who have more principles, and we hear of less corruption in Kelantan. Maybe they have no money to give as bribes. But hell, I am ready to take a chance on them and on the rest of the opposition, KeAdilan and even Anwar, of whom I am no big fan. ONE OPPOSITION. ONE UNITED OPPOSITION.

So, LKY, no big deal lah, that DAP is working with PAS. In fact we hope they would sincerely work together for the betterment of our nation.
written by jolmy, January 15, 2008 13:41:36
In 2004, total votes won by the 2 opposition candidates in Taiping exceeds votes for BN (M. Kayveas). But BN prevailed due to 3-corner fight (BN - PKR - DAP).

Don't forget that in the 1997 by-election, DAP grabbed Teluk Intan from BN, which is considered a safe seat for BN.
written by Jebat2020, January 15, 2008 13:55:43
"but I can smell a scam to trick the people"

Keng Yeik, I think what you've smelt is your own dirty air liur came out everytime you speak-up. Very dirty old stupid man!
written by Maggie, January 15, 2008 13:59:20
If LKY said there is no need to worry about DAP, then why don't he promote fair fight among his other politicians in BN and slug it out in the election? If the Opposition can make ground into Penang, it will gives more hope to the rest of Msia. We know we can't beat BN this time but if we can reduce the majority to less than two third, it will be an an achievement. Next election, go for the kill.....but all winners must also perform as the reakyat will only support able and clean candidates and not just any kucing kurap candidates! Penang battleground represents a hope for a better Malaysia instead of the current sloppy, sleepy and slippery PM.
written by kksam, January 15, 2008 14:24:40
ooh and i smells LKY's fart, wah like shits!!! this old man only speaks up against BN last 1 or 2 years because he knew he will retired, but previously was like the others BN component members, like dog. never had the guts to stand up or speak out. Now LKY have to pay for their incompetence.
written by joeawk, January 15, 2008 14:25:55
I am Chinese Malaysian and I feel sad that DAP and PAS had not cooperate over the years and I dearly hope that they can cooperate with each other and PKR this time and take over many states and also form the next govt.

Chinese CM in Penang? What a puppet show. Everyone knows that UMNO makes decision about Penang and the CM makes the announcements. Look at Penang today. Isn't it pathetic. I studied and worked on the Island for many years and each time when I was back on the island, I will always look for inspiration, but no, I couldnt find any.

That much for a Chinese CM.

To all Penangites, particuarly the non malays, forget about a puppet Chinese CM. We don't need him. Let us change government.

I will be voting for PAS in Kepala Batas and Bertam. I shall be waiting for whoever represents BN on their rounds to ask the electorate to vote BN. I have only 3 questions to ask. I will be waiting.
written by charcoy feng, January 15, 2008 14:32:39
Hello Minister of Spit, what happened in Penang during 1999 GE? Why suddenly 2 of your men abondened your party to join MCA? Best of all one them were Lim Chong Eu's son. Made Ah Koon look like more useless than he is. It also made UMNO very very powerful in penang. Heck, UMNO even wanted the CM's post. Just that wanted to refresh your rusted brain... I'm sure you know who wanted Dr. Sak to be made the CM replacing Ah Koon but you kept your spit shooting mouth shut. Might as well blame it on Ah Koon for the coming failure and enjoy your very well planed retirement. Ptuih!!!
written by Mr Smith, January 15, 2008 15:02:15
Even Hishammuddin can tell Koh what he should do to Paranjothi. Khairy can accuse Gerkan for marginalizing Malays and the party gets frightened.
Isn't Gerakan a proxy for UMNO in Penang. Who dictates terms to whom?
The fact that Gerakan is commenting on the DAP-PKR pact indicates it is real scared.
written by miwaki, January 15, 2008 15:26:25
Keng Yaik can't speak proper English and definitely not a word of Mandarin.His Bahasa is lousy and nothing is good about him.He is old and therefore he is useless in Gerakan as well as BN.

DAP can put Gerakan and Keng Yaik inside its pocket this coming general election.We Penangites endorse the cooperation among DAP,PKR and PAS. We do not need your approval!
written by Toyolbuster, January 15, 2008 15:40:17
Enough la KY, you have dirtied Penang with your stinking saliva all these years and we are fed-up. We need some fresh air and Gerakan have poisoned our environment.
written by Anak Kampung, January 15, 2008 16:43:32
Ah, the man known as Sa Sa Yi Shen (silly doctor) in his own constituency has opened his mouth again, leading to much amusement for the rakyat. Lately, rumours say, his 'replacement' has been inviting himself as VIP to functions...an interesting tactic. Maybe it's a scam... smilies/tongue.gif

Non-rhetorical question: how clean is LKY's record wrt corruption?
written by mikewang, January 15, 2008 21:33:17
So what if PAS contests in Penang ?
The people are going to vote for an opposition bloc, just like during Gerakan formative years in Penang in the '69 election.

Just ensure that it's a one to one fight and the people will do the rest.
written by Anak Desa, January 16, 2008 03:28:18
Lim Keng Yaik 's statement is becoming irrelevant as KOh himself thinks diiferently than him on asking Koh to stay put in Penang. Who will ever forget"apa dia buat belakang pokok, saya tak tahu".He is a racist himself who jumps from MCA to Gerakan.During his tenure, there is no Malay and Indian Malaysians as MP or ADUN except Pius Martin who was Bukit Lanjan ADUN ( got a candidate due to Datuk Soong ).
written by asguard, January 16, 2008 08:45:26
With your comments on DAP... are you being paid with gold and diamond by UMNO... for continued attacking DAP... the answer is no... nothing will be given after all you just another servant for UMNO. UMNO is one that calling all shots entire almost everywhere. You learned how is serve your master... and nothing else most important... and at end of the day you don't benefit its UMNO the one gets the benefit from your stupid actions...