Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow It’s in the arithmetic, stupid

It’s in the arithmetic, stupid PDF Print
Tuesday, 02 September 2008 14:32

This is not just about kicking Barisan Nasional out. This is not just about forming a new Pakatan Rakyat federal government. This is also about maintaining the peace, stability and harmony between the many races and about denying Umno the opportunity to turn this whole thing into a race issue.

Soon after the 8 March 2008 general election, Malaysia Today mooted the possibility that Pakatan Rakyat could form the new federal government if at least 30 Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament crossed over. Another idea that Malaysia Today mooted was the formation of the ‘Unity Government’ and the eventual emergence of a two-party system in Malaysia.

The two-party system was accepted with no problems but the crossovers and Unity Government proposals were whacked to kingdom come. Some even commented that I had ‘changed’ since the election and no longer speak the way I used to. They were beginning to wonder what had happened to me and whether I was suffering from ‘battle fatigue’ and should in fact take a long rest before continuing to write again.

The ‘ailment’ I was suffering from was merely a case of realpolitik or pragmatism. Let’s face it: what can Pakatan Rakyat do with a mere 82 seats in Parliament? It does not even have enough clout to stop the federal government from sabotaging the five states under Pakatan Rakyat control. And this can be done easily enough by squeezing the five states of development money (like how they did to Terengganu in 1999) whereby, come the next election, these states will fall back into Barisan Nasional’s hands (like what happened to Terengganu in 2004).

It’s all about money. If the states get squeezed of money, then the people will re-evaluate the logic of keeping these states under Pakatan Rakyat control. See what the 2009 Budget was all about. It was about pouring money into states like Sabah and Sarawak that may be the source of the crossovers. Umno knew that Sabah and Sarawak were the most possible targets of the crossovers. So they are promising billions to these two states just to ensure that they remain in Barisan Nasional.

Barisan Nasional has 140 seats in Parliament against Pakatan Rakyat’s 82 -- which is 31 for PKR, 28 for DAP and 23 for PAS. But that is for the whole country. In Peninsular Malaysia, Pakatan Rakyat has 80 seats against Barisan Nasional’s 86. Yes, that’s right. In Peninsular Malaysia, Barisan Nasional has only six seats more than Pakatan Rakyat. If just three Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament from Peninsular Malaysia cross over, Pakatan Rakyat would have 83 seats against Barisan Nasional’s 83.

The ‘main players’ in Barisan Nasional are Umno (79 seats), MCA (15 seats), MIC (3 seats) and Gerakan (2 seats). But 13 of Umno’s seats are in Sabah. Therefore, in Peninsular Malaysia, Umno has only 66 seats against MCA’s, MIC’s and Gerakan’s 20 (Total 86 for Barisan Nasional versus Pakatan Rakyat’s 80). 

Sabah and Sarawak are definitely the Kingmakers. And the fact that, by law, 25% of the Parliament seats must come from Sabah and Sarawak means they shall always be the Kingmakers. And this is even more so now since, in Peninsular Malaysia, Barisan Nasional’s and Pakatan Rakyat’s seats are almost split 50:50. In fact, in Peninsular Malaysia, Pakatan Rakyat garnered more votes than Barisan Nasional (51% versus 49%). Only when you add the votes from Sabah and Sarawak are the percentages reversed.

The King of Kings would be PBB, Taib Mahmud’s party in Sarawak, which has 14 seats. This is followed by Umno in Sabah, which has 13 seats. SUPP and PRS, both in Sarawak, have six seats each. UPKO in Sabah and SPDP in Sarawak have four seats each -- followed by PBS in Sabah (3 seats), SAPP in Sabah (2 seats) and PBRS and LDP, both in Sabah, with one seat each.

The bottom line is, there are 56 Parliament seats in Sabah and Sarawak. Umno controls 13 and the opposition (DAP) two. The balance 41 are controlled by the component members of Barisan Nasional East Malaysia. If you regard the 13 Umno Sabah seats as ‘component member’ seats, then the total ‘hostile’ seats in East Malaysia (within Barisan Nasional) would be 54. Add the 20 from MCA, MIC and Gerakan, then Pakatan Rakyat would now have 74 seats to fish from.

And 30 seats are all Pakatan Rakyat needs. So 74 are plenty. And that is assuming the 66 Umno seats in Peninsular Malaysia remain with Barisan Nasional and do not cross over.

But there would be a problem if none of the 79 Umno Members of Parliament cross over. Pakatan Rakyat has 43 Malay Members of Parliament opposed to 39 non-Malays. That is okay because then Umno can’t say that the non-Malays control the opposition. But if 30 non-Malay Members of Parliament cross over to Pakatan Rakyat, and they get to form the new federal government, then it would be 69 non-Malays opposed to only 43 Malays.

Herein lies the problem and that is why there is a delay in Pakatan Rakyat forming the new federal government. Anwar Ibrahim does have his 30. In fact, it is more than 30. But Anwar has to be very careful in maintaining the ‘balance’. He can’t afford to form the new federal government with 69 or more non-Malay Members of Parliament and only 43 Malays. Umno would go to town with this and it will ‘prove’ what Umno has been saying these last many months: that the non-Malays have grabbed political power and the Malays have lost political power.

Yes, this is the song Umno has been singing since the 8 March 2008 general election. Malay political power had eroded, argues Umno. And once the 30 or more non-Malay Members of Parliament cross over and Pakatan Rakyat forms the new federal government, the Malays will lose political power.

In an Umno Johor Convention a couple of months ago, they spoke about how they regret giving citizenship to the immigrants on 31 August 1957. Now that these immigrants have been granted citizenship, they have demonstrated ingratitude by voting for the opposition. These immigrants should never have been given citizenship, argued speaker after speaker. And Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah were guests of honour in this Convention.

You could see Tengku Razaleigh cringe, as if in great pain, on hearing this. He knew that Barisan Nasional suffered its most humiliating performance on 8 March 2008 because of exactly this. Such statements are not going to help. It will just make matters worse.

Umno played the race card to the hilt in the run-up to the recent general election. And it is still doing so until now, as the Umno Bukit Bendera Division Chief has shown. They still refer to Malaysian-born Chinese and Indians as immigrants. They still call the Chinese and Indians ungrateful squatters. They still ask the Chinese and Indians to go back to China and India, though all these people were born in Malaysia and not in any other country.

In a PPP Convention in Melaka, held before the 8 March 2008 general election, the Umno Vice-President and Chief Minister told the 1,000 or so Indians that Umno does not need the non-Malays. They do not even need Sabah and Sarawak, said Ali Rustam. Umno has ruled Malaysia for 50 years without the non-Malays, or the people from Sabah and Sarawak, and they can continue to do so another 50.

Ali Rustam was not asked to apologise. Neither was the Umno Bukit Bendera Umno Chief, who Abdullah Badawi said did not really mean what he said. But if I were to say something like that, the police would be in front of my house the very next day and I would be hauled into court and charged for sedition within 24 hours. That would be how swift the police would act in the event I said even 10% of what the Umno leaders say.

And this will be what will trigger the crossovers. The Barisan Nasional Members of Parliament will join Pakatan Rakyat to form the new federal government because of such talk. Umno has no respect for the non-Malays. Umno thinks all it needs to do is to bribe Sabah and Sarawak with more development funds and they will remain the loyal running dogs of Barisan Nasional. Umno knows that the Parliament seats in Peninsular Malaysia are split almost 50:50. So all they need to do is to bribe Sabah and Sarawak and the 54 seats in East Malaysia will remain in Barisan Nasional and Umno will subsequently remain in power.

Umno also knows that by just getting at least 30 Members of Parliament from Sabah and Sarawak, or even the 20 from MCA, MIC and Gerakan, to cross over is not enough. That would give Pakatan Rakyat a 43-Malay versus 69-non-Malay federal government. This will be exactly what Umno wants. Then they can play up the ‘Malays have lost political power’ race card. And then the May 13 Version 2 would become a reality.

There are many impatient people. They want Anwar to take over and form the new federal government today. They want at least 30 Members of Parliament from Sabah and Sarawak to cross over now. They want Anwar to tell Umno to go to hell. But he can’t do that. He needs Umno. Well, at least he needs some of those from Umno. He needs at least 15 to 20 Umno Members of Parliament to join another 15 to 20 non-Malay Members of Parliament to cross over so that he can form the new federal government with the right racial balance. Then Umno can’t say that the Malays have lost political power. And Umno also can’t use this to fan the sentiments of the Malays and trigger another race riot the likes of what happened on 13 May 1969.

This is not just about kicking Barisan Nasional out. This is not just about forming a new Pakatan Rakyat federal government. This is also about maintaining the peace, stability and harmony between the many races and about denying Umno the opportunity to turn this whole thing into a race issue.

And Anwar, of all people, knows this. And that is why he is taking his time about it and is covering all the bases before making his move. We want Malaysia to move forward into 2009. We do not want to return to 1969. This is the crux of the matter.

Comments (100)Add Comment
written by malsia1206, September 02, 2008 14:44:01
It's definitely a race issue. A squatters' issue. It's also religious-related issues. And corruption issues. But this Government pretends these issues never exist. Or if they do know they exist, they have no wish to address and tackle them. Pray what sort of a Government is that? Let the cancerous cells consume the whole body and await a painful death for the country and the whole rakyat?
agree 294
written by Horizonline, September 02, 2008 14:46:33
Brilliant article Pete. PKR can never let those UMNO goons to play the racial cards on them. PKR need to be wise and not too hasty, I don't want the 1969 incident to happen again.
agree 423
written by Susanna, September 02, 2008 14:46:36
Right on, spot on... exactly why we don't understand why MCA, Gerakan, and even Pairin Kitingan's party which of all parties understood the dirty games, played... should all the more take the chance now to work towards forming a new gomen rid of all those BN hang ups!
agree 159
written by cubi76, September 02, 2008 14:50:31
This is the future we want... progressive, modern, peaceful, tolerant, cultural diversity.... for generations to come...
disagree 21
agree 402
written by oknyua, September 02, 2008 14:53:28
Just thinking alound, RPK. Can Anwar take over and then dissolve parliament and call for fresh election? That would solve the "Malay-non Malay" issue as I think PKR would get more of the Malay MPs and support. Expensive, no doubt, but that's the only option left.
agree 138
written by rayfire, September 02, 2008 14:54:09
I just hope the balance is maintained for the benefit of all Malaysians alike and the transition is done without major disruption to peace in the country. We want a definite change for better Malaysia for all and not just per se. IT has to be something lasting and committed to provide a better future for all Malaysians alike. No more race based politics the only race should be the Malaysian race!
Racist exist in all races, and all of them must go! To hell with racist and racism!
written by ilovepakatan, September 02, 2008 14:54:16
I am really mystified by UMNO's inability to compete with Pakatan Rakyat. I mean, all they need to do is reinvent themselves, abandon racial policy, try to unite all the component parties into one regardless of race, work in the interest of the people and they will not lose so badly.

Are they really that dumb or we've been really so blind to believe those Goons who are no smarter than a 5th grader to be our leader for so long?
agree 142
written by CheGUvera, September 02, 2008 14:55:43
How sad that we are in 2008 and yet this race quota still prevail. So, if we have a huge majority of bright non-malay"sian" to bring the country forward, BUT a certain amount cannot use their brightness for the good of the country. How will we reach this 2020 with only less then 12 yrs left, maybe "he" meant 3020 just said it wrongly. There are so many bright stars among the non-malay"sian" not allowed to shine.
In Sweden, a country with immigrants from all over the world, all are given the same school,same jobs opp. and many are involved in politics contributing to the goodness of the country. Is it so hard to follow them??
written by Anti Jihadist, September 02, 2008 14:55:59
I don't care who's from what race in Parliament, as long as they are competent and not corrupt. I hope someday, most Malaysians can agree with that idea.
agree 310
written by islandjoe, September 02, 2008 14:57:31
I'd just like to thank BODOWI for helping us unite the races. I personally think it's a selfless act by this genious. Because of him, we are all united in HATING him and his BN morons. It's also because of BN that I support this person DSAI. See? He's no longer malay, chinese, indian, or whatever to me. He's a person!! Thank you Bodowi and co. for helping me through my apparent prejudices.
agree 123
written by Democrats, September 02, 2008 14:59:48
It shouldn't be too hard to tempt the backbenchers and Deputer Ministers overs to Pakatan. And those of MCA and MIC. And those of Sarawak and Sabah.

I guess many would face the fact that they are no longer going to be around in 4 years time at this. UMNO is losing the plot with its stupid statements and actions that are pissing everyone else. WIth UMNO internal party polls, many are letting loose their opinions showing how they have no directions. And as usual, Najib and Pak Lah seems dumbfounded in how to control them. The grassroots and lower level division heads are totally showing no repsect to them.

I hope anwar take more than just 30 over. Make it over 60 to obtain the 2/3 to change the unfair constitutional laws and repeal the laws of ISA, OSA, etc and bring back independence to the judiciary and the police forces, ACA.

written by teo siew chin, September 02, 2008 15:01:43
"....15 to 20 Umno Members of Parliament ..."
---------------------

so.... it looks like it's gonna be these 15 to 20 Umno MPs who'll make or break this marathon!
last call for the heroes of the day!!! smilies/wink.gif
written by ilovepakatan, September 02, 2008 15:03:29
Absolutely spot on, Anti Jihadist. Brilliant comment. Agree with your view. Why do I care which race is leading as long as the one who lead are the talented and competent people and not some son-in-law wannabes or some hotshot who cares about flirting with women, banning concerts and so forth.

Let's move on to first world mentality.
written by cheekhiaw, September 02, 2008 15:04:40
Some may not agree with the base arithmatics but should accept that pseudo-mathematics is still better than wild guesses as the first step towards equality...

written by SocratesI, September 02, 2008 15:05:13

Spot On, RPK ! But, getting the UMNO MPs to leave UMNO is not easy, surely ?? However, the trend of fisticuffs and chair throwing in the recent UMNO branch & division meetings have given me hope that this may not be as difficult as it sounds !!

If DSAI can get 20 UMNO & 20 other MPs to crossover, that will make 122, and that should put paid to the DNA piece-of-trash to-be legislation, and clear the way for DSAI to become PM.

Next we work on a 2/3 majority and start repealing the ISA, OSA, PPPA, etc. and erect back our Independent JUDICIARY, and then we are home free, more or less !

Let us take this 1 step at a time, and in a pragmatic way, as you rightly suggested and not get too impatient !!

written by karenleehs, September 02, 2008 15:07:22

Here's how i see 916, components of BN members from Sabah and Sarawak will cross over....., to balance the malay seats, Ku Li's team will cross over, Ku Li will share power with Anwar with Anwar the PM Ku Li the DPM.......

PAS, DAP, sorry for this, but they will have to play secondary roles at this moment, Only with current Umno Businessmen and Anwar's Business friends, can and will Malaysia be back on her feet again......

Meanwhile, PAS and DAP, will horn their skills governing the existing states they are leading, at the same time, both sides learning to be moderate and accept multi races into their parties.

MIC, MCA Gerakan Umno etc..... will however try to sabotage as much as they can but common sense will prevail.... Already we are seen in the eyes of the world as a country not much better than Zimbabwe, If the leaders of these parties fail to see it, they will be history in ten years time......

IT's so STUPID to be fighting among ourselves when the foreign enemies are already at our door.........
Hope by 916, that will be the day fellow Malaysians open their eyes and see the world for what it is, VULTURES circling above Malaysia.
written by RBJ, September 02, 2008 15:11:15
You said it loud and clear RPK! Cheers!
A NEW MALAYSIA is in the formation and UMNO will throw everthing to stop this.
END OF DAY------> Peace,Harmony & goodness need to prevail in our beloved nation..!!!
written by DezMalaysia, September 02, 2008 15:11:58
As predicted, PR will not seize power on 916. Just being realistic. But I believe, PR will seize power in the coming next 13th. GE. I was told by a PKR MP that PR will only take the federal government with a proper way. Sounds like the 13th GE will be coming earlier than expected. Anyway, it's sio good to have DSAI back !

Let's trash those Baruah Nasionals !
written by YSL, September 02, 2008 15:14:03
Raja,

to me all politicians in Malaysia are still scared of Non-Malays dominating the political scene in Malaysia that will be for better Malaysia!!

I do not and i cannot and i wll not understand why Malay in unit must be first or more or larger in any institution???????

I wrote recently that Singapore can be so well organized, developed, maintained , successful and progressed so far that have the recognition of the world not just Asea without Malay issues being raised!!

Let me ask you all a very tough question, if Malaysia would have been managed by Indian or Chinese, will Malaysia over the past 45 years counted from 16.09.1965 be better, richer, deveoped than it was 51 years under UMNO Malay????

Please answer me politely!!!!!!!

We are in the 21st century now!!!! why someone is still scare of losing a stupid place instead of competitiveness, time and season of cycle of economic where so much could have been achieved if this stupid race issue that this particular race must be above all other was never there to be debated.

So come Bangsa Malaysia, we could not trade the name of one supreme race for 51 years causing poor development, corrupted police, poor security, corrupted judicial, poor housing for the poor and needy, poor hospital treatment, poor return from EPF, poor mentality, poor achievement over the tin, rubber, cocoa, coffee, crude petroleum, timber and now crde palm oil.

We all need to wake up!!!

Malaysia was far behind Singapore, Korea, Thailand, Taiwan, Japan, China because these countries that i mentioned do not live with race or races problem!!!! In Malaysia, we have so many races and some many problems that created by stupid bastard politicians for personal gain!!!

I wish those politicians to rot in hell and their children will become mentally retarded because of what their father or mother did by stealing Bangsa Malaysia duit for their personal glories!!!!
disagree 16
agree 164
written by tzarina, September 02, 2008 15:15:21
Funny. I thought if 30 Member of Parliament from Sabah and Sarawak cross over, UMNO should still be happy. After all, it would then be Bumiputera holding the power in the country. Since when the deal is for MALAY power, UMNO?

This is racist hypocrisy in the highest order; hiding behind the word Bumiputera, whenever it is convenient, and using Sabah and Sarawak natives as examples for pro NEP. But when talking to Peninsular Malays, they scream Ketuanan Melayu, and to hell with Iban, Kadazan, Dayak, Bajau, etc.

It will do good for the natives of Sabah and Sarawak, which are the original Bumiputeras to stand their ground, and stick out their middle fingers at the phony UMNO Malays.
agree 135
written by A MI, September 02, 2008 15:20:11
Hope 916 will be as good as the gold the number represents.

Malaysians like me who want the change in the government maintaining the peace, stability and harmony between the many races, have to thank RPK and others who have braved to let the people see all the corrupt and criminal activities that has been going on.

Each and everyone of us here who is a Malaysian residing here right now also has a role to play. Keep your eyes and ears open. Do what we can by way of "slow-talk" to keep grassroots informed of the truth which the main stream media endeavors to not only cover up but undermine PR.

My only concern is if 916 does not materialise, people like KJ, Botak and even Bastarlewi will be shouting insults and that might spook the ones wanting to cross over.

May Almighty protect DSAI, RPK all in PR and Malaysia. Ameen
written by BOB007, September 02, 2008 15:20:24
hai pete gd comments....

yup... UMNO racith plan maker cost of 13 may 69 rioting among race... so if 69 vers 43 hapen... conform UMNO wil play back same tectic to create rioting among race.... and do new low to fach back goverment with consep malay rule..... so to all gerakan, MCA,MIC and sabah sarawak partiy politic just cross over to PR goverment and let see what this ****er UMNO party can do......and to all malay MB if u love this country hormonis just cross over to PR.... and work together with non-malay as malasian......

JUST KICK OFF UMNO RACITH PARTI....
written by uxzee, September 02, 2008 15:26:10
Yes, people are impatient which is expecetd. As much as we really want change, the people also want a peaceful, workable and positive change. The people also expect the BN / UMNO to start their mischief.

Anwar should be given all the encouragement that the people are with him. And more important he should be given reasonable time and space. September 16th can be a slightly moving target.
written by Rundukon, September 02, 2008 15:33:50
I beg to differ. We from Sabah and Sarawak may not be Malays but we are Bumiputeras. IF we jump ship, the composition of the new Pakatan Rakyat govt will not be 60% non-Malays and 40% Malays BUT 40% Malays, 25% Bumiputeras, 35% non-Malay/Bumiputeras.
written by Counterpointer, September 02, 2008 15:34:23
written by sjs, September 02, 2008 15:35:46
Raja Petra Kamarudin, while I agree with you completely, I offer my suggestion. This is to ensure that any delay in Malays MPs joining the Pakatan which will be sabotaged by UMNO, and the ever vindictive nature of BN politics of throwing leaders of the opposition into jail before the cross-overs take place!

Anwar can form the government first even if he does not have sufficient Malay MPs. He can provide more ministries to Malays based upon the small pool. Later he can bring in more Malay MPs into the fold. I personally think, they will come in by themselves later on once the government is changed. They will come by themselves when they begin to realise the corrupt nature of UMNO! Those who come at that time will be the better lot, who are determined to serve the people rather than fattening their pockets!
written by residentsniper, September 02, 2008 15:35:50
UMNO have always been racist. Their very core struggles are based on race supremacy. How can we expect them to change their mindset when that is all that they know, nothing more?

So the only way is to kick them out. Race-based politics have no place in 21st century politics.

DSAI, you have the people behind you. You fight for the truth, justice and equality. Those that fight for the rights of the people need not fear anything.

Just whack them to kingdom come.
written by Rhan, September 02, 2008 15:36:56
I agree with RPK perception on political reason and this is why I never support the decision for MCA / Gerakan to quit BN, if this do happen, it is very obvious that the two-party system would then become a two-race system and all the PAS and PKR Malay would be deemed as traitors to the Malay community, they will have not much choice but to re-start all kind of muzakarah.

But if we look at this crossover issue at a different angle and the arithmetic justification, it seem to me that whether the crossover did realize or not, Anwar will never get wrong for whatever result, simply because his major concern is still peace, stability and harmony for all race, right? Wow, what a great man.

To me, if Anwar has the number, please do the necessary and if no, let move forward and target the next election, but this is not the case. Anwar keep on talking about it day and night and create lots of confusion and uncertainty, which I think is no good to the progress of Malaysia development.
written by malgal, September 02, 2008 15:46:36
the onus now is on those mp's who can make the pie balanced. it seems to still be race-based despite the rhetorics of impartiality and meritoracy. still, we are hopeful that in order to avoid may 13, anwar can get his math equation going with malay majority. hopefully we can come of age when the fractious fractions wont count. arithmetic can be quite vexatious.
written by aryn, September 02, 2008 15:51:16
So, this is all about race.

Then what difference does PR and BN makes? Especially with more Umno MPs in PR?!!

To hell then the PR federal government. We don't need another government which emphasises on so-called right racial combination and not good governance or credibility. As if the non Malays MPs are 'lesser people'.
written by takbolehtahan, September 02, 2008 15:57:04
YSL, your very tough hypothetical question is irrelevant. It doesn’t matter what the answer is. What is important is that Malays, generally, are not comfortable with non-Malays in power. They only have the experience of knowing ‘Malay power’. And based on this, they believe that if non-Malays came into power, they will be on the other side of the equation, very much like where the non-Malays are in terms of privileges.

Many of the Malays who are not really against the NEP, but are superficially against the NEP simply because have not benefitted from it. Ask any Malay who buy a house at 10% discount, are they willing to give that up? Ask any Malay if their children have the opportunity to get free education or a scholarship, will he/she give that up? Ask any Malay who has the opportunity to be given 30% share in non-Malay companies without working for it, will he/she give this up? Ask any Malay, if he/she has the opportunity to be ‘pampered’ by the government without having to work so damn hard like a non-Malay, will he/she give it up? I can bet you, the answers to all these will be ‘No’.

This is not meant to be racialistic, but this is reality. By understanding this, you will begin to see why Umno uses the racial argument for their campaign to win the hearts of the Malays. They live in fear thinking that if PR came into power without a large Malay representation, they will be on the wrong side of the equation. It’s not easy to change a mindset that has been brainwashed for 50 years. It’s going to take a long, long time and we, non-Malays, must be patient and not scream about equal opportunity for all overnight.
written by takbolehtahan, September 02, 2008 16:03:53
Correction: Many of the Malays are not really against the NEP, but are superficially against the NEP simplay because they have not benefitted from it.
written by DontPlayGod, September 02, 2008 16:07:43
I have no doubt UMNO will play the race card to the hilt, if they lose control of the Federal Government. Didn't their leaders keep on reminding us that the next May 13 incident will be more dahsyat? UMNO will let lose another May 13 incident, maybe even using RELA, the PDRM, and the armed forces to wreak havoc and mayhem on the non-Malays.

And I have always reminded readers that it is only a matter of time when, with the Malays exceeding 80% of the population, the non-Malays will no longer have any say in the running of the Government. 15 to 20 years time is a real possibility. For those non-Malays(especially the Chinese), it is a losing game they are playing. Thanks, but no thanks, to the Tun. This is his brainchild. But the Tun also forgot that with the Malays exceeding 80% in the population make-up, the possibility of Malaysia becoming a full-fledge Islamic state is also very real, and a definite possibility(in the mold of Pakistan, Iran, and Saudi Arabia).

Call me a pessimist if you like, but I am basing my judgement on the present attitude of the Muslim Malays of the present generation.
written by K W Waran, September 02, 2008 16:12:22

Dearest YM RPK,

Thanks for this article, Bro'.

Amongst the BN and in particular, UMNO, there are some down-to-earth MPs' who are true Muslims and God-Loving and hence, I'm sure, many are having the feeling of having been caught between the proverbial Rock and a Hard Place.

More so after the dirtiest of a by-election, that we all stood witness to, albeit, in Total Shock. What wrong could this Insan called Anwar Bin Ibrahim have committed that he and only he be subjected to the entire machinery government working against him to the tune of millions of RM's. The next person to be subjected to these nonsense, is none other than our beloved YM RPK. Well, therein lies the answer too. PURE FEAR!!!

Well, the People of Permatang Pauh, OUR HEROS, decided that these dirty rascals can go to hell and decided to send their Prodigal Son to Parliament FOR US, Anak Anak Bangsa Malaysia.

As, YM RPK, aptly and succintly put it, YB DSAI is in dire need of those UMNO MP's to balance the equation just to save this Nation from going back to that sad and painful era of May 13, 1969.

Hence, let's not add on to the pressure though I'm sure, many of us wish that he had assumed power like last month, for instance. He is our designated PM, come what may. And, he is fully qualified for it.

As a true blue Strategist with a Brain and FULL Faith in ILLAHI to match, Insyallah, HE WILL PREVAIL.

To my Muslim Bro's & Sisters, Selamat Berpuasa dan Berbuka Puasa. Semoga Illahi Meredai, Merestui dan Memakbulkan Segala Niat, Nazar dan Hasrat Sdra & Sdri sekelian dalam Bulan Ramadan yang cukup Suci ini. Harap Maaf, sekiranya, saya terlanjur.

written by netmiser88, September 02, 2008 16:18:02
People!!!.....please do not be impatient.

DSAI knows what he is doing and when to do it! Please give him more credit.

Calm down on your call to him to take over the gov immediately.

I believe in him to let him decide on the pace he may need for a danger free take over.

Keep Cool People!!! smilies/cool.gif
written by JohnQ, September 02, 2008 16:21:13
Mudyidin, Kj, Rais,,etc are at the political crossroad, I bet 2 out of 3 of these bunch will jump ship to PR ! Before 916 !
written by apa jadi, September 02, 2008 16:21:18
well argued logic to the whole idea of racial composition. However, it is really a sad thing that even RPK and Anwar still have to consider race as a balancing factor to a "truly peaceful and harmonious" Malaysia. It is a sad fact, people have still not been liberated from the typeset Ketuanan mentality. Well, hope that Sept 16 takeover will slowly change people's perception with improving national economy.
written by cwy, September 02, 2008 16:28:41
After Anwar, I don't see anything wrong to have a non-Malay to be our future PM.
written by ahmadneil, September 02, 2008 16:48:28
Calm down,Anwar has just arrive in KK sabah this morning.Tonite they are having discussion with the said MPs.Anwar definately have the numbers but the composition must be right and also the timing of the announcement.Let give Anwar time and he will surely come out with a new government of the people,for the people and by the people.
written by Kopi37, September 02, 2008 16:48:42
Thanks to RPK for his narration of the simple arithmetic equation which should be clear to the point to help tame the impatient vox-pop, skeptics who are questioning DSAI's capability to make 916 change of the sky a possible dream!

When we are talking about a change of Government, it's a revolutionary process and definitely it's not a matter of hey presto, by a touch of finger, we can make it happen like a magician's touch! The racial balance is undeniably the crux of the matter to ensure stability and harmony in a pluralism entity like our Nation! The spirit of 'Ketuanan Rakyat' is not again meant to be the prerogative of a single race be it Chinese or Malay but more of a well blended mix of the racial ingredients where the majority quantum should still be reflected as the major portion of the larger component, add the important function and performance of the whole compound to pacify the wants of good taste, good governance! Definitely, it's not going to be an ad hoc cannibalized vehicle which we expect it to carry us long distance, durable for long term performance as well !

In the course of siege, DSAI must act with great prudence and with his utmost due diligence falling short, will only cause him and the whole PR into the land mines planted by UMNO ready to blow and burn him to frazzles! We who demand CHANGE the good cause must always stay as rigid shield to support Anwar in the move!
written by Hockchew, September 02, 2008 16:52:01
RPK you are wrong, UMNO people knew the plan. Matter of fact, a Division Chairman told me that's the reason why Umno is scared. UMNO just refused to acknowledged it and try to fool the rakyat. They dont wanna believed it.

Sabah & Sarawak MPs need not join PR but their support on the vote of no confidence on AAB is crucial. They can also nominate DSAI as the new PM. No need to switch party, just support as the third force. Meanwhile, DSAI can entice some upright UMNO MPs to jump ship.
End of story. Sept 16, 2008 is the new dawn.

Allahyarham Tuanku Abdul Rahman called August 31 as "Hari Kebangsaan" and we can have Hari Kebangsaan 2008 with celebration from August 31 to Sept 16. No need for an extra day or holiday for Malaysia day. Sabah n Sarawak people can accept it if we call it Hari Kebangsaan and not Merdeka 51. BN is bodoh not to follow what Bapa Malaysia had done.

What Onn Jaafar have failed in uniting the people, DSAI will complete it. Allahyarham TUanku Abdul Rahman must be smiling in Syurga. Ketuanan Rakyat Malaysia

written by Hockchew, September 02, 2008 16:54:53
DSAI have many supporters among the younger UMNO MPs. TO have PKR with malay majority is no issue.
written by kksam, September 02, 2008 16:55:22
we are waiting. we have wait for years, so what's months. Did Anwar offer Ku li? He should join PR for him to contribute more to the nation, the BN lords regards him as a threat, therefore his role is limited.
On the budget, **** him la, it's all numbers without any real value, remember the funding to Penang, even if BN still have the state, funds are limited. Cash is short.
written by lampard, September 02, 2008 17:05:13
If not this month, than next election! Daruk Seri Anwar Ibrahim will be the next PM, all rakyat think so...

To all UMNO and Bumiputras who claims dan lain-lain bangsa "squatters", well.....
The Chinese people are never vocal. Look at them in every countries. They stick to their ways, China Town, etc... they do not like to be outspoken or bother other people, they are just discpline meeting end meets. But quiet people does not mean stupid, coward or lame. QUIET BUT ANGRY people are very dangerous people. Just like when we witness a dog, the noisy barkers are usually not aggressive, it is only those quiet ones that you watch them out. Come next election, you UMNO and BN people, you will see. Malays are split into 2, Chinese and indians are united, so, free ticket for PR, Datuk Seri Anwar. To DSAI I guarantee you, you will be next PM if not 16 Sept, it will be the next election. Just take care of your health. And to all Bumiputras who manage to read my post, tell your ketua-ketua, "jangan lagi buli bangsa Cina Malaysia, kami bukan perjuang fisikal tapi kami pejuang ekonomi, jangan sangka kami lemah, di sukan Olimpik, China menang pingat emas terbanyak dan menampilkan kuase fisikal yang begitu mantang, satu pingat yang Malaysia menang di olimpik Beijing pun bangsa squatter juga..." Apa bikin huh? Jangan ingat Cina lemah...buku lima kami bukan di tangan, di otak...siol!!!

CLANGAN
written by Hockchew, September 02, 2008 17:49:53
Way forward for Malaysia is to have Sabah & Sarawak as the third force and RPK have rightly said, the king-maker. Sabah and Sarawak must break away from BN NOW.

In this way, Malaysia will always be run by a Malay muslim PM such as DSAI.

With this 3 parties arrangement, Malaysia will prosper because nobody can afford to be racist.

Malay, Chinese, Indian, Iban and Kadazan all shared the same destiny. We need the global market, we need FDI. We dont need Jaguh kampong, or Ketuanan Melayu. We live and die as one.
written by non conformist, September 02, 2008 18:02:37
Sir RPK,

I think the basis of your whole argument is misplaced.

Whether those MALAY MPs remain with the BN or join PR, they remain MALAY MPs STILL, therefore the MALAYS do not loss any political power. They are still represented by so many MALAY MPs, whether on the BN side or the PR side.

Please explain this fact to the MALAYS... their interests are well and adequately represented in the Parliament, whether those MALAY MPs are with BN or PR. In addition, the CHINESE MPs from the DAP will most certainly take care of the interest of the Malays too, since the DAP fight for the rights of all Malaysians, therefore the MALAYS' interests too.

written by Chuan, September 02, 2008 18:03:38
If this (race politics) is what Malaysia has achieved in the 51 years, let's start a fresh from the days of Parameswara!
written by ssathia, September 02, 2008 18:06:05
But does the country real need 222 MPs? If gerrymandering the electoral boundaries led to present state of affairs, how about putting the matter right for once and all? Also, Sabah and Sarawk seem to have disproportionately high number of representatives in Parliament. The problem need to be solved at source by relooking at people's need for representatives.
written by Angel, September 02, 2008 18:11:45
It is so sad that after 51 years we are still so insecure and conscious of race. We should be trained to think as us being Malaysians and not by ethnic race. I think this is what most developed countries are striving for such that we have a potential BLACK President for USA.

I personally do not mind having a Parliament of only one race, whether Malays or Ibans or Kadazans as long as moral values are upkept and there is no corruption and injustice in Malaysia. A true Malaysia for all. I was born and bred here and have nowhere to 'balik' to. This is my country as well. So why the discrimination? Let us live in peace and harmony as one united Malaysian nation.
written by banzai, September 02, 2008 18:18:58
RUSTAM name sound more like Indon.
He thought that by issuing IC to the
illegal immgrants, they can support
UMNO or BN. BIG MISTAKE. Better
hide inside KETAM hole.
written by fireduck, September 02, 2008 18:22:23
Good points, Pete. I can support that.

However, there must be significant and 'visible' progress to further convince certain UMNO MPs to cross over. DSAI being elected into Parliament is the first important step. Acceptance and accomodation of not-so-diehard UMNO members must also be 'displayed' or 'vocalised' by the component parties of PR. And provisions, options or whatever you call it must be 'suggested' for those comtemplating crossing over, so that they can be comfortably eased into the Pakatan. Some may not be comfortable coming under the leadership of Guan Eng or Tok Guru, or even Anwar, but they may not mind teaming up. What are the options available to them?

I would suggest, however, that eventually Pakatan Rakyat be evolved into one big bloc, and not just an alliance of component parties. Something similar to the western concept of the 2-political parties system, eg. the Republican and the Democrats of US.

That way, common goals and aspirations will be the unifying forces. Retaining component parties, each with its own ideologies, will only cause future misunderstanding and frictions. And being borned out in the wilderness of the Opposition, these political parties are naturally moulded with and by strong personalities. And such personalities carry big egos. The will to accommodate and adapt may not be their strong point.

I would suggest too, that the one main criterion for anyone contemplating joining or crossing over to the Pakatan, must be the pledge and the resolve to fight against all racial policies, and to be able to see each and every one of our fellow rakyat as a Malaysian first. Of course, this will take time for the mindset to be changed, but it is possible if we instill more positive values, instead of constantly propagating racist thinking ala UMNO style.

I hope the more reasonable people of BN, whether UMNO, MCA, MIC or Gerakan, will see this new reality and will do something about it. Personally, I think that the 3 main component parties of the BN has to be disbanded, but if the members wish to carry on with themselves as a meaningful entity, they can re-form as another or as many others, BUT not based on race! Race-based political parties are no longer acceptable. I see the memberships of MCA and MIC dwindling down as the new generations grow older. Soon, the very charter of their (the political parties) existence will be looked upon with disgust and disbelief by this young people. Take note of that.
written by OMARZ, September 02, 2008 18:25:23
True independence and freedom can only exist in doing what's right.
When in the Course of human events, it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another, and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature's God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation. We hold these Truths to be self-evident, that all Men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness--That to secure these Rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just Powers from the Consent of the Governed, that whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive to these Ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such Principles and organizing its Powers in such Form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness. . . .

written by Motherchell, September 02, 2008 18:43:47
Pete , there is one important theorem left out in this equation. With watchful prudence , shouldn't our Beloved Agong be aware as Protector of the Constitution of this Nation . His majesty surely would have been briefed about the political dichotomy and its warning signs . ----

Emergency Rule will still be subjected to his approval !!, and if Umno starts another cataclysmic show like the one from 1969--- Im sure we are all more matured in today's Malaysia . But how can we seek his intervention in a spot like that?? I truly look forward to His Majesty's Wisdom!!

The Devil has over eaten, and has been out too long and is executing very evil moves! I hope we will get justice from our Beloved Agong if a situation arises.
and this my friends is all we need ...........

"""""We want Malaysia to move forward into 2009. We do not want to return to 1969. This is the crux of the matter.---This is also about maintaining the peace, stability and harmony between the many races and about denying Umno the opportunity to turn this whole thing into a race issue.
"""
written by Australian Malaysian, September 02, 2008 19:00:00
What a brilliant article RPK! This give us a better insight into the numbers game. I was just trying to work it out myself & have come to a very good conclusion to another solution.

This is it...."To the people in the present Malaysian government who are in doubt about your future & for the future of ALL MALAYSIANS, pluck up the courage, be bold & let your conscience rule in your decision to make this transition work, happen & eventuate in the most easiest, calmest & democratic way. All you have to do is look deeper into the truth which is obviously clear...infact, you don't even have to look far, just look around you, ask your friends, family & neighbours & you will hear it too. Your decision will matter for ALL MALAYSIANS.

To help you further, look at America at the moment. The American people have had enough & they want change. Barack Obama is not a caucasion & he wants to see change. He is the first black nominee for the seat of the President of the USA. 25 years ago this would never ever happen as there was racism on all levels. If he wins this election(which is more than likely), he will be working for all the people of his "HOME" country!

Come on, you can do it & make a difference NOW. You will be sleeping a lot better, your conscience will be clear & you will be feeling "real bangga to be Malysian". Don't listen to the negative, divisive, manupulative, sinister, mischievious & devious people around you as they will have a lot to pay & answer for. If they get away now, you can rest assured that it will only be a matter of time before they get caught & if they die, then they will face the ultimate judgement which I suspect will be eternally painful.

If you are a believer of God, then let God be your witness & your judge. You don't have to swear on anything, just produce a pure heart & do the right thing. If you are not a believer, then just follow what's in your heart to do the right thing. We were all not born with evil inside us as it was something that was introduced into our lives by the circumstances surrounding our upbringing be it poor, rich or in between.

Lastly, YOU & ALL MALAYSIANS will have a lot to gain & nothing to lose. Just sit back, take 5 & look at your life & what you can do with what you have in your hands right now!

BE ENCOURAGED THAT YOU ARE ABLE TO DO SOMETHING RIGHT NOW & MAKE A DIFFERENCE!!!
written by dassky2000, September 02, 2008 19:46:08
Well said YSL. Yes we all want a fair and balance MALAYSIA. All MALAYSIAN must be treated the same. And just like Singapore, we should be able to say that we are MALAYSIAN and not malaysian Indian, Malaysian Chinese etc etc.

Exactly what do the malays have that the oWell said ther races don't? Ketuanan? The Indians and the chinese toiled this earth and sweated their balls to the progress of this country.

We want a new government that is equel to everyone, irespective race religion and colour.
written by truthbespoken, September 02, 2008 19:50:29

But the CRUZ OF THE MATTER is also that UMNO would likely move on DSAI first through the Courts even before DSAI's actions can come to fruition.

Does this mean there is a great likelihood that there will be no change of government under DSAI's leadership?

Timing in this case does not seem to be in DSAI's favour.... May a good miracle happen.
written by mikewang, September 02, 2008 19:52:31
YM Pete,

I fully agree with your article.
DSAI must not give any opportunity to UMNO to turn this country upside down when his coalition takes over power.
Not before a reformed ACA and court put all those corrupt party leaders behind bars so that they can no longer fan sentiments for their own gains at the detriment of the nation.
written by educationist, September 02, 2008 20:05:50
The arguments are very convincing.
The problem arise if the UMNOputras play dirty.
What if they pull out all stops in the legal pursuit of Anwar to put him behind bars?
Or throw the ISA at him?
I have no answers but I hope Anwar and his strategists have !
In the meantime I can only pray that Anwar's path to form the next federal government soon will be smmoth and successful.
written by nana tanjung, September 02, 2008 20:15:43
My source was telling me that the delicate balance is not the only hurdle. Anwar would have to pass another two major hurdles - the Army and the Rulers.

One specific request is - there must be only one DPM; the DPM must be Malay, and preferably Haji Hadi.

For the sake of new Malaysia, I hope a consensus between the three component can be achieved.
written by Frankfurtguy, September 02, 2008 20:53:09
to me:

we have 2 choices:
1. BN survive beyond 916, and our country continue to rot for next 5-10 years
2. DSAI and Pakatan walk into Putrajaya, and a 4-5 years chance of better future

Maths is one thing
But
choices is simple, only TWO!!
written by omarkhayyam, September 02, 2008 22:00:37
Pete my man i jus wanna have ma beer and dunhill when PR takes over .....man we hitting half a century and i still see faces like what Lat draws of semi-vellu... C4Jib.... silly-ping lah ....in ma nightmare

as an ordinary rakyat i am not affiliated to any PR or BN parties but then again jus wanna do a little bit of campaign for the underdogs to give them a fighting chance

lets rock like we did in Permatang Pauh and hit all da way to Putrajaya to wake up our dear Dollah and give him a farewell party

written by bexe, September 02, 2008 22:07:16
ilovepakatan
There are people within UMNO who have just one agenda; to preserve the status quo so that they can continue to rape and milk this country which they have successfully done and don't want to give it up. It's like when you give a child a lollipop. Very hard to take it away without them fighting, biting, screaming, crying, etc. To keep their lollipop, they have embarked on ethic cleansing and a ultra right wing agenda of racial supremacists and religious fundamentalism. Both extremely powerful sways and equally dangerous. They are fanning the xenophobic sentiments of the lesser savy Malays, playing on their religion and their race as ways to protect themselves.

It takes this process that we are painfully going through to cleanse ourselves of these evil doers. So it is not that they are so stupid that they can't see. They want to keep their lollipop.
written by awakeningvoice, September 02, 2008 22:41:39
Thanks to RPK for his excellent evaluation of the coming political development. As we can see lately the BN government is trying their level best to deliver more caring packages to the people as compare to the period prior to 18 Mar 20008. Therefore losing of 2/3 majority to BN is a good for the nation. Problem is those bunch of BN politicians who have all these years living on the receiving ends at the expanse of the nation, can they change their recalcitrant mentality of umno/malay/islam superiority and reserve the birth rights to gain without needing to work.

I generally agreed with some of the inputs here that mentioned umno's lost politically if the 916 become a reality may be turned into may 13 version 2 and RPK foresight on the imbalance of racial compositions in the new Pakatan government may be destabilized. Frankly speaking our malay bothers/sisters are still not ready for the non racial/religious base political system such as the one existed in the developed countries. For 51 years the government of the day has systematically divided the citizens into muslim bumiputra, bumiputra, non-bumiputra and also umno muslim bumiputra (except this is not stated in the IC).

So we can see clearly the divide and rule policy has been working very well for their benefits all the times and can they accept a situation of equal status base on meritocracy and hardwork? As for the non bumiputra surely there will be a lot of pluses but for muslim bumiputra it will be a loss of privileges. For example an elephant that has been well fed all its life under the care of his master, if the master dies and the elephant is release back to the wild, it will find adapting to the new lifestyle of looking for its own food a hard time. It is sad that the government who undertook NEP programs to upgrade the income level of the bumiputra failed miserably to let them work the road of life clutch free one day but rather demanding more clutches.

These are all the challenges the new government under DSAI need to think about. In order to live ones life to the fullest as a good citizen, ethically and religiously speaking,god would surely open the door the heaven to people who honestly acquired wealth through ones merits in fair and just dealings even if one is less religious rather than to those who are religiously right but acquired wealth through unfair backdoors and graft.
AwakeningVoice
written by justme bc, September 02, 2008 22:56:41
Why are we still divided by malays and non malays? Aren't we all bangsa malaysia irrespective of race! This

will solve the problem of the composition in the PR gomen.

Cheers bangsa malaysia, hidup bangsa malaysia!
written by Taiping60, September 02, 2008 23:08:27
The fact that many of us are still thinking that it is only possible to form a government provided there are majority malay MPs goes to show we are far from being a developed country. We are still thinking and practicing racialism.

Personally, I do not care which race or combination of races run the government. What I am interested is those we put them in power are responsible and acted on the wishes of the people. We the people of Malaysia wish all elected MPs be responsible to make Malaysia prosper, safer and most important thing of all a better place to live in. In order to achieve that, there is no place for corrupted MPs. It does not matter your race, if you are currupted, you are disgrace to the country and the people.

So wait up Malaysians. If we are united, we can CHANGE thing for the better. We want Malaysia to have Malaysians and not Malay, Chinese or Indians. We are proud Malaysians and we are prepare to change the government through ballot boxes if the government did not do what they were elected to do.
written by cruzeiro, September 02, 2008 23:41:02

This is also about maintaining the peace, stability and harmony between the many races and about denying Umno the opportunity to turn this whole thing into a race issue.

And Anwar, of all people, knows this. And that is why he is taking his time about it and is covering all the bases before making his move. We want Malaysia to move forward into 2009. We do not want to return to 1969. This is the crux of the matter.
===================================

Very Nice, Pete.
I can almost smell the “teh tarik mahamak” you had ....
If peace is all you want, so be it.
I donno about you, but some people don't forget what happened to the allies of the “unity Govt” post 5.13 on March 8.
And some people swore to defend the best regardless of race, “over my dead body”..... and today, it is called realpolitik – that's so cool, Pete!!
Bottomline is as you say- it's actually about “RACE” and fear mongering, instead of trust.
Go ahead and cut deals with the devil ..... you'll only come out wiser.
But it's okay ... I know – it's about “peace” with the pirates you fear .... all that talk about democracy and equal rights for all citizens, is hogwash – it's “realpolitik”.

=====================================
written by cruzeiro, September 02, 2008 23:42:23
But sadly, fear mongering, stifling dissent, inquiry & debate seems to be the the order of the day. It is the only way they seem to know how to respond to ideas- with the primitive "flight or fight" reaction, using threats of "instability" as an excuse.

There's this story about a conversation between a man and a young lady ....
The man propositioned to this attractive young lady for a million dollars.
The woman was shocked, and remained silent.
After some time, the young lady asked the man, "A million dollars ......?"
The man said "Yes", and was silent for a moment before he continued, "Excuse me Dear - I really don't have a million ..... but would settle for ten bucks?"
The young lady, in a huff, replied, "What do you think I am!!?"
And the man promptly replied, "I think we have established that - now, we are simply haggling over the price ...."

It remains to be seen, if we be that woman who is seduced by a million bucks and ends up being short-changed, or the proverbial "Stalin's chicken" that hobbles to his tormentor for warmth and food .....
And all these, while unblushing racist megalomaniacs speak of the fears of retribution- as "gratefulness", and brag about their "achievements" in building phallic monstrosities, and pseudo-entrepreneurs via "affirmative action" (for the rich mainly), and leaving "chicken feed" for the people .....

Faced with powerful "subversive elements", the ultimate price we pay for justice may well be the "Peace" as we know it.
Could this be the price of Justice and Democracy?
======================================================= ==

NEP : Trading Rights for "Peace and Prosperity"
http://cruzinthots.********.co...e-and.html
written by cruzeiro, September 02, 2008 23:43:48
"Change these stones to bread, and they'll follow you ...."
- The Devil

The depravity of man is at once the most empirically verifiable reality, and at the same time, the most intellectually resistant fact.
- Malcolm Muggeridge
written by jeevy, September 02, 2008 23:48:02
Like i hv said earlier UNMO has become irrelevant after 9/11....its not reinventing itself to suit d changing times...Ketuanan Melayu served a purpose pre...9/11...post 9/11...no more...so it shd reinvent itself and stay relevant with d changing times but it looks like its not....it got a wake-up call come March 8 and a reminder on d 26th of August....if it heeds all this 'warnings' it would stay relevant and could lead d nation forward otherwise d powers dat be will make sure UMNO dies a natural death...Amen....
written by cruzeiro, September 02, 2008 23:50:14

The whole event, was a drama of designed distraction, which was engineered to divert focus of the people - the events that are unfolding in the corridors of power, don't augur well for the nation.
Malaysia is currently at a "virtual standstill".
Nothing is moving despite all the political rhetoric that's being thrown everywhere.

For all practical purpose, there is technically, "political chaos".
Neither the Ruling coalition nor the opposition have any decent political leadership to speak of.
On one side, we have an impending internal implosion
-and on the other a "trojan horse party", intent on asserting their role in "opposition politics", for their contribution to the success of PR.

These "trojans" (I had written about them long ago - asking them to ask themselves if they are "trojans" whenever they thump their chest), is the "Achilles Heel" of the "menage-a-trois" pact between the unlikely parties.
They'd never ( not in a hundred years) accept another person who might have a different idea of statecraft, despite being totally clueless themselves.

Little do they realize, that they are being "played" by the spin-masters and political pirates who hold the nation at "ransom" - like our "good friend" Mr. Mugabe is doing in Zimbabwe. He'd only agree to "lose", if he can "share power"!
The principles of Nelson Mandela, in not being enslaved by political power doesn't figure in the equation.
Mandela did not hold the Nation at ransom, after having given birth to it unlike some others .....

Malaysia is today a nation "abducted", and held at ransom.
Who the perpetrators or victims are, don't seem to matter any more. Neither do public opinion, justice or truth.
What matters today is - who weilds the power - and the "law" as that that power sees fit, will deal with irresponsible elements who "disturb the peace".
Might is Right, in Malaysia - it is the law of the jungle.

The only difference is, nobody is dying (as yet, at least) - cos it's only the monkeys who are restless, and are making the most noise as yet. They are throwing the fruits at their perceived enemies ....
The vultures are already flying overhead and the Hyenas are encircling their prey - the people.
Although the dogs (who are clueless themselves) are yet to be unleashed by the monkeys, they are however definitely on standby.
The tiger is slowly awakening out of his slumber .....
The "trojan" Horses are meanwhile busy trying to cut deals with the pigs, so as to get a piece of the pie (although they'll only end up with the slop).
And the birds have begun taking flight, although the tension on the ground wouldn't hurt them so badly.

But of course the show must go on, so we had a "debate" - and much was spoken about Money.
The bottomline in it all was about "Money"
- yes, "It's the Money, Stupid" .....
That reminded me of the best parts of Atlas Shrugged.......
written by cruzeiro, September 02, 2008 23:52:43

"When you accept money in payment for your effort, you do so only on the conviction that you will exchange it for the product of the effort of others.
It is not the moochers or the looters who give value to money.
Not an ocean of tears nor all the guns in the world can transform those pieces of paper in your wallet into the bread you will need to survive tomorrow.
Those pieces of paper, which should have been gold, are a token of honor - your claim upon the energy of the men who produce."

"But money demands of you the highest virtues, if you wish to make it or to keep it.
Men who have no courage, pride or self-esteem, men who have no moral sense of their right to their money and are not willing to defend it as they defend their life, men who apologize for being rich
- will not remain rich for long."

"They are the natural bait of the swarms of looters that stay under rocks for centuries, but come crawling out at the first smell of a man who begs to be forgiven for the guilt of owning wealth.
They will hasten to relieve him of the guilt
- and of his life, as he deserves."

"Then you will see the rise of the men of the double standard
- the men who live by force, yet count on those who live by trade to create the value of their looted money
- the men who are the hitchhikers of virtue."

"In a moral society, these are the criminals, and the statutes are written to protect you against them."

"But when a society establishes criminals-by-right and looters-by-law
- men who use force to seize the wealth of disarmed victims
- then money becomes its creators' avenger.
Such looters believe it safe to rob defenseless men, once they've passed a law to disarm them."

"But their loot becomes the magnet for other looters, who get it from them as they got it.
Then the race goes, not to the ablest at production, but to those most ruthless at brutality.
When force is the standard, the murderer wins over the pickpocket.
And then that society vanishes, in a spread of ruins and slaughter."

"Do you wish to know whether that day is coming? Watch money."

"Money is the barometer of a society's virtue.
When you see that trading is done, not by consent, but by compulsion - when you see that in order to produce, you need to obtain permission from men who produce nothing
- when you see that money is flowing to those who deal, not in goods, but in favors
- when you see that men get richer by graft and by pull than by work,
and your laws don't protect you against them,
but protect them against you
- when you see corruption being rewarded and honesty becoming a self-sacrifice
- you may know that your society is doomed."

"Money is so noble a medium that it does not compete with guns and it does not make terms with brutality.
It will not permit a country to survive as half-property, half-loot."

"Let me give you a tip on a clue to men's characters:
the man who damns money has obtained it dishonorably;
the man who respects it has earned it."

So long as men live together on earth and need means to deal with one another
- their only substitute, if they abandon money, is the muzzle of a gun."
- Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged
===================================

A "State of Abduction and Ransom"?
http://cruzinthots.********.co...ansom.html
written by Fart Fart Wah, September 03, 2008 01:03:41
If there are any ONN JAFAARS OUT THERE IN UMNO......PLEASE MAKE THE DECISION...

IF YOUR CONSCIENCE SAYS YES! MALAYSIA IS FOR EVERYBODY...CROSS OVER

YOU WILL MAKE A DIFFERENCE TO MALAYSIA IN THE EYES OF THE WORLD...

UMNO IS DYING...IT IS STILL IN A STATE OF DENIAL...

written by Enforcer, September 03, 2008 01:20:13
Here we go again!
Why must RACE be the ISSUE?
Aren't the RAKYAT saying, MALAYSIA for MALAYSIANS - IRRESPECTIVE OF RACE OR RELIGION!
Let's have a scenario here:-
Umno is left alone. All other component parties leave (cos' the GOONS harp on RACE ISSUE) and join PR.
Then it would be :-
Predominantly Malay Multi-racial Predominantly Chinese Predominantly Indian
UMNO PKR MCA MIC
PAS DAP
Gerakan
SUPP
PRS
UPKO
SPDP
PBS
SAPP
LDP
PBRS

If this scenario happens in GE13, will hell break loose then? (less Malays then non Malays)
The RAKYAT should not let RACE be the defining factor. (or is it constituitionally required? If so,too bad)
The country should be run by the BEST BRAINS instead of BRAWNS for HER and the RAKYAT's best interests!
written by Dominic Kok, September 03, 2008 01:23:24
To Rudukon and all other East Malaysians,
It should not come as a surprise to you that UMNO does not view you guys as Bumiputera of the same stature as the Malays of the Peninsula, even malays from Sabah/Sarawak for that matter. So even if all the bumiputera (malays or not) of Sabah and Sarawak joins the Pakatan rakyat in forming the new government, you're still considered as non-malay bumiputera. Imagine if the Orang Asli in the Peninsula is constantly treated like dirt by the current government, even though they precede the malays as original bumiputera, what more of the malay bumiputera of Sabah/Sarawak, not to mention the other bumi ethnic groups.
written by Enforcer, September 03, 2008 01:24:42
Sorry for the mess up:-
Predominantly Malay - UMNO, PAS
Predominantly Chinese - MCA
Predominantly Indian - MIC
Multi racial - PKR, DAP, GERAKAN, SUPP, PRS, UPKO, SPDP, PBS, SAPP, LDP, PBRS.
written by johntyc, September 03, 2008 01:30:38
Just be patient for the time being.

The coordination for the crossover to PR must be PERFECT.

Anwar and PR will become PM and Government respectively when least expected.

and regarding the race factor, this is my opinion:

We gain our independence on 1957.

USA gain theirs on 1776, and yet Barack Obama is the first African American nominee for the office of President of the United States in the 2008 general election.

It took the Caucasian (white) more than 230 years to accept an African American (black) as their possible next President.

So, once again, be patient for the time being. We might head that way one day, but right now, lets play it safe.
written by lokenpal, September 03, 2008 02:30:09
Sunday, August 31, 2008
2 Party in Malaysia?
Pakatan Rakyat should refuse MCA & Gerakan as members of a coalition. UMNO would be standing alone, perhaps with MIC (lol). It is not politically sustainable for growth of a strong 2 party system.

UMNO/MCA/MIC should be rebranding themselves as a coalition of cultural organization of the polity. An interracial tolerant social group gone astray since Tunku, well maybe a while later...

OK I am someone who believes BN can reform - REFORMASI...lol...2 Party in Malaysia?
written by Surind Raj, September 03, 2008 04:22:37
My comments are here:
http://surind.********.com/200...metic.html

written by susu, September 03, 2008 07:31:08
In the realpolitik, race will always play an important part. Believing otherwise is foolish.

Now, the question is where we can go from here, within the contraints of race politics?

I totally agree with RPK. It is all about arithmetic. DSAI has to be extremely careful. DSAI has to make sure that number of Malay MPs in PR is always greater than the number non-Malay MPs.

I'd say magic numbers are
the number of Bumiputera (Malay NonMalay) = 55%-60%
the number of non-Bumiputera = 40%-45%

This roughly represent the population compositions. This will help to ensure that Bumiputera (regardless if they support BN or PR) still hold political power.
written by c53k, September 03, 2008 09:19:56
Before independence, the population ratio of the Malay to Chinese was about 42%/44%, with the Others (Indian/DLLS) made up the remaining 4% in Malaya. So then the Malay was actually a minority.

Even when one included the E M'sian, after the formation of M'sia (excluding S'pore) the ratio was just about revert in Bumi(43%)/Chinese(42%)/Others(5%). The category of Bumi includes Malay, Pen & E M'sia natives).

Over the yrs, the non-Bumi has been concentrating in quality off-springs, by lower number of baby production but better growing up surroundings. While the Malay, being indoctrinated by umno, remained a baby factory even when the growth-up environment was not conducive for the well-being of their children.

Its has always been the game plan of umno - majority is might, irregardless of the average quality of the majority. Thus we have the present day Malay M'sian.

A dilemma with bad karma, built up by the umno bigots for the sorrow stages of their race.

Quote;

"... people in our society at least unconsciously hold the conviction that someone else's success limits their own, makes them lesser, and puts a permanent lid on their own chances. The world believes in finite resources and in everybody's guilt. As long as we adhere to these pernicious beliefs, we will not only fail to let others shine, but we will never be able to allow ourselves to shine fully either."

-- Marianne Williamson

This is the stage that majority of the Malay M'sian is facing now. Let Others be damned if the Malay cannot be Tuan of the land, even if the Tuan has NO qualities fitted to be a Tuan! There is THE fear of non-Malay WILL NOT take care of Malay, period!

Now RPK or for that matter DSAI - Is the question of Number of Malay in the PR govt really that important? Or is it deep down YOU too share the same fear that I've described above? Where is the enlightenment? Where is the TRUE Malay intelligentsia?

U want to say this is the REAL M'sia politics? Race matter?

Can the non-Malay really cannot look after the Malay?

For MALAYSIA to progress, we need brain power irrespective of race. M'sia has them BUT let them go for the fear that I mentioned!

The competitive world is very unforgiving. Too bad, if U cannot compete based on abilities and knowledge. The world is NOT a cocoon too. No country can close themselves to the outside world. Mynmmar & N Korea non-withstanding! And see the current stages of their development & the sufferings of the populace at large!

So go ahead & formed the new govt, even if the number of Malay M'sia MPs is less than the number of Non-Malay MPs. That's if U have the numbers. Then forms a new cabinet with MAJORITY Malay M'sian intellects. There r personnel like RPK, Bakri. The non-Malay will not be objecting if there r true capable Malay intellects who can out-think to encompass ALL MALAYSIANS.
written by batsman, September 03, 2008 09:48:03
I agree entirely with RPK, but there are 2 issues I wish to talk about. Some people's hatred of UMNO has gone beyond bounds. Also some people take the view that they don't care who is in power as long as they are not corrupt.

UMNo of 50 years ago is not the same as UMNO today - similarly the CPC 50 years ago is not the same CPC today nor their old foes the Koumintang. So it may be assumed that UMNO in the future will probably not be the same as UMNO today. In Malaysia, the most powerful groups are those who support the ministers/bureaucrats and those who support the foreign MNCs/western culture. Neither of these 2 appeal to me. I therefore support a 2 party system with each party watching the other like hawks. This way, the civil servants such as police, ACA and judges cannot afford to take sides - the next election may see them kicked out. This way, there is hope for professionalism in this country. UMNO can form one of these parties as long as they reform just a little bit more.

As for those who think they don;t care who is in power as long as they are not corrupt - this is too wishy-washy. Who is to ensure this? If the rakayat are the boos, they must take the lead. They must build the opposition to the strength where the opposition alternates between BN in forming the govt. This way, we have a healthy 2 party system. That is all, TQ
written by lamakawan, September 03, 2008 10:10:18
You are absolutly right, Peter, a correct racial mix in Parliament. UMNO has to change its conceited attitude and arrogance nature. Tolerance is the key to peace and prosperity. No more bulldozing of draconian laws through Parliament. We muust prevent Murphys Law from taking root in Malaysia. Murphys Law states, " Whatever can go wrong will go wrong."
written by HJ Angus, September 03, 2008 10:59:54
I think the end is near for the BN rule and soon they will be in opposition as it is not really impossible to reinvent racist parties and hope to seduce the population - simply been too many scandals that even the Malays are drifting away.
http://malaysiawatch3.********...najib.html
written by TwilightYears, September 03, 2008 11:19:18
an enlightening article for an unenlightened being as ME. Thanks Pete. PAS need not be a predominantly Malay party. Any Islamic based party should be universal in nature. There are quite a substantial number of Non Malay Muslims that PAS has not tapped or learn to tap it. DAP is learning fast with the appointment of a prominant Malay person recently.

Though It may take a while, the first step towards national integration is there. Pray to Allah that the way to Putraya Jaya for Anwar will not bring about violence. UMNO is just waiting around the corner to incite racial hatred again. So is MCA, MIC ....
written by jdoe, September 03, 2008 13:23:36
Don't care whether it is a black cat or white cat.. so long as it catches the mouse, it is a good cat.
written by jdoe, September 03, 2008 13:26:51
remove the conversion requirement and encourage interracial marriage.. to create a truly bangsa malaysia.
written by Berean, September 03, 2008 23:47:23
If this country is to remove the conversion requirement (as suggested earlier in a comment) to encouraging marriages between Mulims and non Muslims, what then happens to the helpless Children? Will they be bound by chains like those born in identical circumstances today, and hence denied the freedom to choose their path in life and forced fed Islam all the way through their lives under the watchful eyes of the "holy" RELA and JAKIM cohorts???

In mixed religious marriages, there should be freedom of choice for the children. Islam cannot be the only path! The Almighty God Christ Jesus gave us all the "right of choice", ie to believe or not believe, even Adam and Eve in the Garden of Eden as to whether they would eat of the fruit or not. Following Jesus Christ is a free choice and cannot be forced upon anyone (neither one's offsprings). Here is where Biblical Christianity differs from Catholisicm, Islam, Judaism etc.
written by Berean, September 03, 2008 23:49:46

In Malaysia the fight is not only between Malays and Non-Malays but also between Mumslims and Non-Muslims. It's a sad event.

So what if the Government is made up of more non Malays and non Muslims?? That could possibly be better for the country. We ought to give it a try. Everyone, especially the Malays will benefit most from this.

Example, in Singapore, the Malays are smarter, faster thinkers, and nicer people to deal with in general. I sense there is greater racial integration in the Lion City than in our so called "harmonious country".
written by raybeam, September 04, 2008 08:43:48
It is most distressing to note that there are 2 sets of laws in Malaysia, 1 for the members of the ruling clique and its supporters, while the other for the common man and members of the opposition parties. This is certainly a most disturbing trend and it looks like selective prosecutions have been practiced throughout the years. A very good example is how Anwar was recently arrested and humiliated even before he was charged, not to mention the fact that he was made to stay 1 night in prison, and the ordeal that he had to go through. We now hear that a member of the ruling party has had 5 reports made against him for sedition, and he has now made himself scarce in spite of the fact that he has been summoned by the police to have his statements recorded at the police station. Why was not Ahmad Ismail given the same treatment as Anwar? In my opinion, it is very glaring that the police is practicing double standards when it comes to dealing with people who are accused of breaking the law. If this trend is to continue, then we citizens of Malaysia have every cause to worry and fear as it is most certain that we have to bear the injustices being practiced by the police force. I recall that numerous police reports have been made against people in high places within the government, but alas, no action seems to have been taken, and these people have continued with their misdeeds as they know that they are untouchable where the law is concerned.

Finally, I am very excited to hear the announcement made by PKR that they can convince 40 members of the ruling administration to cross over thus making it possible for Pakatan Rakyat to form the next government. However, being the skeptic that I am, I fear that this is near impossible as the Barisan government will fight tooth and nail just to stay in power. I would even go so far as to say that top leaders of the opposition parties might be arrested and detained under the draconian ISA and that our freedoms will be further curtailed . We are certainly living in exciting times, but let us hope and pray that Anwar's plans will materialize so that all Malaysians can have a better deal, otherwise, our country is doomed. In conclusion, I wish to remind the Pakatan Rakyat that should it manage to arrest power from the current government, to prosecute Barisan government officials and their cronies if they are found to be involved in corruption and may the full force of the law be brought to bear upon them
written by JaguhKampung, September 04, 2008 09:09:26
Herein lies the problem and that is why there is a delay in Pakatan Rakyat forming the new federal government. Anwar Ibrahim does have his 30. In fact, it is more than 30. But Anwar has to be very careful in maintaining the ‘balance’. He can’t afford to form the new federal government with 69 or more non-Malay Members of Parliament and only 43 Malays. Umno would go to town with this and it will ‘prove’ what Umno has been saying these last many months: that the non-Malays have grabbed political power and the Malays have lost political power.

Herein lies the problem and the dream of a new dawn for Malaysia may remain just as a dream. The dream of a Malaysian Malaysia. Colourless (although I prefer to call it colourful) Malaysia. Whatever it is, most Malaysians are realistic, we can never run away from this race equation, can we?

So it looked like even Anwar can't handle this, so you can't blame the BN guys can you?

Nevertheless, a two party system is still a better system compared to the past where we only have BN. At least we have a choice and are able to choose between the lesser of the two evils.
written by chaimah, September 04, 2008 11:30:24
Assuming Anwar has the numbers and it is very likely that he has, if he wishes to form the new government, his major concern is the ethnic composition of his party

Malays Chinese Others

Current Parliamentary MP Compostion 79 (55%)17 (20%)44 (25%)

Current PKR MP Compostion 43 (52%)28 (34%)11 (13%)

This is my suggestion of what Anwar needs to do to form government and appeasing Malay dominance within Pakatan Rakyat

For Simple Majority

The crossover required would be :

All MPs from Sabah to crossover, 11 from UMNO and 11 of the others

Pakatan Rakyat New Ethnic Composition Would Then Be:

Malay MPs65 (51%)
Chinese MPs28 (22%)
Other MPs35 (27%)

Total Pakatan Rakyat128
Barisan MPs 94

For 2/3 majority

The crossover required would be :

All MPs from Sabah to crossover ( 11 from UMNO and 11 of the others ), 3 UMNO MPs from Peninsular Malaysia, all MCA MPs, 3 MIC MPs

Pakatan Rakyat New Ethnic Composition Would Then Be:

Malay MPs75 (50%)
Chinese MPs36 (24%)
Other MPs38 (26%)

Total Pakatan MPs149
Barisan MPs94

Both options are relatively fair in terms of Ethnic composition and can always be fined tuned later. My suggestion is that he goes straight to 2/3 majority option as the degree of difficulty to achieve 2/3 majority is not that much greater than going for a simple majority considering the instability within UMNO.

A 2/3 majority will allow him to carry out the reforms much faster and earlier, time is not something that the Malaysian economy has now if it is to be revived.

Swift Action For Swift Result
written by renoir, September 04, 2008 22:10:00
Hmmm!....So far I've never commented on the 9/16 thing partly because I believe Anwar has only some hazy ideas about it. And partly because I thought it was just a way of getting PR to maintain unity - focussing on a common goal could give some cohesiveness at a time when the new coalition was undergoing teething problems. There's also, of course, the bonus of keep the Badawi government under pressure.

About having more non-Malay MPs: it's actually an opportunity for non-Malays to show their sincerity by voting for a Malay-majority Cabinet. I believe the majority of non-Malays care more about the quality of governance, and not which ethnic group is in charge. Because of this, I believe the non-Malay majority would even reserve the most important ministrys, such as defense and education, for the Malays. So I don't think having more non-Malay MPS is a problem - I really don't think even if UMNO pointed out this "inbalance" the Malays would care either. My opinion is that this essay is (sorry, RPK) just to provide an excuse for not taking over the government on September 16. And I don't think such an excuse is necessary. The people will continue to support PR because they want a two-party system to bring accountability to whoever's in charge.
written by Downunder, September 05, 2008 04:07:33
i think this article got it wrong. it is not the number of malays and non-malays in the pakatan rakyat MPs that matter. A truly democratic government will look after all its rakyat inspite of whether they are proportionally represented in the parliament or not.

what matters is the cabinet & government administration. PR can always appoint member from the Senate to make up the shortfall in the cabinet as the BN have been doing so for upteen years.
So it is not the number it is the heart. it is whether the government has the will to do the right thing or not.

written by mamakstail, September 06, 2008 01:29:32
For the past many elections all races vote by 'arithmetic' feel. e.g. the Malay will vote for the Malay candidate regardless which party he represent thinking that he will represent the rights of his own race. But during this General Election it is the other way round. we vote for the party not the race. The people are fed-up with BN's mis-management of this country! Simple! Stupid!!!
written by Berean, September 06, 2008 03:55:17
Looks like the non malay BUMI PUTERAs in this racial equation are somehow regarded as SECOND CLASS CITIZENS in their own country!!
written by Rainbowseahorse, September 07, 2008 14:33:15
I suspect DSAI plans to be PM for a week or less before dissolving parliament for new general election. He is banking on a very dissatisfied Malaysians to get a bigger mandate to form a stronger government.
It puzzles me why UMNO members are openly or deliberately making statements to fuel strong resentments from the non Malay communities. UMNO must know that this will not go down well with MPs from Sabah & Sarawak, but still these racist remarks and statements are being made. And just where does Mamakthir, with his very racist attitude, fit into all this? Is he playing the racial card just because he is who he is or is he doing it on purpose to split the BN?

Sarawak MPs are basically controlled by the super rich Chinese (that Taib included) and with these stark racial remarks being hurled around by UMNO MPs, there is a very good chance that DSAI has come to an agreement with them to form an alliance with the PKR in the next general election. Sabah’s MPs is a different kettle of fish altogether as most UMNO MPs are highly suspected migrant Bumiputras, either from the Philippines or Indonesia, who were made “Malaysian Bumiputras” by free IC issues by previous government. Their loyalty is to UMNO Peninsular and will sink or swim with them. The hope for the PKR lies with the other Sabah BN component parties such as LDP, PBS, PBRS, SAPP, UPKO, and just a few (3 or 4) from UMNO Sabah.

Well, as the saying goes, “What will be, will be!” and we Malaysians will just have to sit it out and see what unfold come 16/Sep/2008.
written by Tom n Jerry, September 11, 2008 09:50:56
Old dinosaur trying to create racial tension;found a scape goat;and giving Badawi & DSAI the hardest time ahead!Its now or never;PR must take over soonest possible!
written by opisboi, September 12, 2008 11:27:24
tun madey for PM, samy for minister, tun liong sik for minister