Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Lawyer wants Loh cited for contempt

Lawyer wants Loh cited for contempt PDF Print
Tuesday, 15 January 2008 12:11

(The Star) - Datuk V.K. Lingam’s lawyer wants the father of the person who made the video-clip cited for contempt for disrespecting the Royal Commission of Inquiry by going to the press first. 

Counsel R. Thayalan complained that businessman Loh Mui Fah, 57, had chosen “to give evidence to the media first” before going to the commission.  {mosgoogle right}

“He gave a press statement at his counsel’s apartment knowing very well it will be published one day before the hearing. It is an act calculated to prejudice the fair hearing of this inquiry,” he said. 

While stating his confidence that the commission would not be prejudiced, Thayalan criticised Loh’s conduct, adding that his act and that of his lawyer showed blatant disrespect for the panel. 

“It amounts to contempt,” he said. 

When commissioner Datuk Mahadev Shankar pointed out that Loh might just have wanted to inform the public about him coming forward to give evidence before the panel, Thayalan said the businessman had not confined his interview to just that. 

The panel did not make any ruling on the application.  

Loh had reportedly said on Saturday that his son was the person who had made the clip.  

Loh is due to testify before the commission today. 

written by shamadz72, January 15, 2008 12:21:39
He probably did it to preempt himself into been another Altantuya. I believed that is a brilliant move
written by ben932, January 15, 2008 12:24:38
I read and I am not totally convinced what Loh has said
written by jayenjr, January 15, 2008 12:35:35
Aiyo-yo Thayalan, maybe you should disqualify yourself la....your name is also mentioned in the tape...ena-lah ??
written by temenggong, January 15, 2008 12:35:56
The commission must investigate Thayalan's links with Lingam.
written by stephenp, January 15, 2008 12:36:31
What a joke. Thayalan, the lawyer representing V.K. Lingam, and infact an employee of V.K. Lingam was mentioned by V.K. Lingam himself to be the person who informed him of certain judges to have said certain things about the then the last CJ's rise to power. The irony is that Thayalan himself now wants the father (Mr. Loh) of the person who made the video-clip cited for contempt for disrespecting the Royal Commission of Inquiry by going to the press first. What a load of bull? Thayalan should first of all discharge himself from representing V.K. Lingam before he is qualified to even bring up the issue of citing anyone for contempt. These are human species that live in constant denial.
written by Malaysiaputra, January 15, 2008 12:44:12
Agree wth Shamadz72, Better than making a police report. The whole country knows. If anything happens to him, the world will know why he is being done away with. Unlike the case of Altantuya and the immigration record, this record cannot be erased from the public.
written by liquidvol, January 15, 2008 12:56:33
First of all, this does not tantamount to anything close of being disrespectfull to the Royal Commission. Secondly, the people in the RC should be happy to know that the rakyat will be as informed as them and so they must be overjoyed to know that what they do or decide will be scrutinized and that their every move will be watched. Also, who cares about respect when all you want is the truth. To hell with respect. In fact, I don't even know what that word means in this context. Haidar, you've got SELLOUT writen all over your unbotoxed face man... Damn! Stick your tongue out of that hole bro.
written by gotterdammerung, January 15, 2008 13:29:04
Loh is in cahoots with the Badawi government. Their main target is Dr Mahathir. Since he still has influence within UMNO, they want to ensure that he is discredited & will not influence the masses to vote against them in the coming elections. What does Loh have to gain? For that info, you will have to refer to comments I made in the articles refering to this issue. For those of you who do not know, this Loh chap is not a nice guy. He even managed to backstab his own lawyer!
You also have to understand that since nothing gets to our local government controlled media without the government's implicit consent why all this made headline news in the past few days. They definitely want to influence the royal commission. Ask yourself if this news would have been published if it could have been detrimental to the current Badawi government.
written by Counterpointer, January 15, 2008 13:29:45
Yeah Lingam, do cite the ACA for contempt too for leaking news to the press that the voice check in Spain confirms 100% is you. I think your third CORRECT nailed you. You are going down that's for sure in this power play and the only thing that everyone's waiting to see is only how bad that would be.

Quote of the day:
"Life, if go confidentally wrong is very dangerous - VKLingam"
written by Sutha, January 15, 2008 13:50:18
Korek Korek Korek. Lingam sauce wants to bodek the Royal.Com, with the hope that he would go scotfree. Korek Korek Korek. So he will say this fella doesn't respect, that fella didn't respect, you fella won't respect... and on and on..... for the nation's well being.

Dai Lin Gam Sos, we know you too well since the eighties, da!

Korek Korek Korek
written by Sutha, January 15, 2008 13:52:19
Earlier it was a still with Eusoff Chin, Now a movie. Wonder what's next.

He will write a book about life behind bars!
written by wongnoball, January 15, 2008 14:24:36
Dear Thayalan,

Respect MUST be earned, not demand ..... people already don't have much faith in our judicial system lah ...... smilies/angry.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by joeawk, January 15, 2008 14:40:58
gotterdammerung must be a Mahatir asskisser. Loh is a good malaysian and what he is doing is only right. Who cares about mahatir vs abdullah. Both can go to hell and I would not cry.

****s like gotterdammerung can join them. What a srewball like him would condone what has happened to our judiciary.
written by joeawk, January 15, 2008 14:43:03
It is about performing a national duty and self preservation (protection). Great work, Loh.
written by kksam, January 15, 2008 14:54:17
aiya gotterdammerung, this news came out because he choose to go to Malaysiakini, if not how can it be publish. Before the mainstream media get to know it, people already read it online, how to hide. and i believe he is really under pressured from the BN, if not he won't choose to came out, it's better to revealed his own identity than making headlines "Bussinessman gunned down because of rivally". Now anything happens to him, people will know it's assosiated with the Lingam tape and the BN. just a way to defend himself.
written by charcoy feng, January 15, 2008 14:58:21
Let the ugly ones fight among themselves. We'll just observe. Just make sure people are not fooled by the verdict. It is matter of PR building for His Royal Sleepiness....
written by Beezee_Beezee, January 15, 2008 15:30:44
How the hell can this be a contempt....when the VC was aleady in the galaxy....alo...VL..this is a known stories...above details are fantastic.. Keep up the hard-words...gud...gud..so things goes around cameback around brother......This LOH just want public assurance...GOD Bless you and your son LOH...
written by gotterdammerung, January 15, 2008 15:56:25
Nobody is condoning what has happened to our judiciary. All this is simply UMNO politics to divert attention from the REAL issues. If idiots like joeawk swallow the line thrown by the local press, then he deserves to be gutted & fried by the very government who is laying this bait for idiots to bite on while they get re-elected. For idiots who have not read my earlier post on who Loh Mui Fah is, here is a summary:
He is the son of former timber tycoon Loh Kim Fong (Founder & former owner of SEAL - South East Asia Lumber). He kidnapped his father & forced him to change his will to list him as the sole inheritor of his assets. Legal proceedings were undertaken by the other members of the Loh family and the judge had ruled that all of Loh Kim Fong's assets would be frozen pending a court decision. So, to all you nutheads that believe in the altruism of this Loh Mui Fah, start using your puny brains. Why would a businessman suddenly make this revelation unless he has something to gain. He made a deal so that in return for his evidence, he will have the legal decision for his father's assets ruled in his favor. Also, the funny thing about it is that his father Loh Kim Fong is not even dead and is still being held by his son. So, to all you people who think he is such a nice guy, get all the facts before you make a complete fool of yourself!
written by gotterdammerung, January 15, 2008 16:10:24
Nobody really gives a shit about Mahathir except that he was a crook. However, Badawi & his cronies (who are just as big a crooks as Mahathir, maybe even bigger) are trying to further their agenda & get re-elected by ensuring that Malay voters do not listen to the voice that they may still respect. It puzzles me why they would still respect him but some still do. So this is simply a way to make Mahathir's influence on the Malay voters less. Anyway looking at the posts & stupidos here, MALAISEsia really deserves the government it gets! Trust the local press, Trust the government! Let's hope they continue to screw you forever!
written by casper, January 15, 2008 16:33:55
Certainly Loh Jr has all to gain if the inevitable gets 'sticky' - nothing like having friends at the right places - such is the state of our judiciary where judgement can be procured. That said, where the line of questioning, what is cogent when all is revealed from this Royal Commission, would leave a few choice characters sweating in the Artic.

It is now a full blown inquiry when it could have been nip in the butt the very first instance the tape surfaced. I'm certain the PM and all tentacles of power didn't know how to react from the off. It needn't have been a cover up to contain the damage by eliminating just one key principle in the form of Lingam himself. If they had done that, there would be less headache to content with - and the Tun and Vincent could both have more pleasant sleep (the day after the tape surfaced, Tun did a 'Suharto' and checked into IJN).

There is enough cause to detain Lingam on many counts which the authourities have failed to do and even at this point, isolating Lingam from the rest of the cast would be a wiser option while the inquest proceeds.

Who knows, after all the false starts, they might just do that upon consideration.
written by Hairy Potter, January 15, 2008 16:45:05
Gotterdammerung - stop ridiculing and bashing people from being thankful that Loh came of the hiding just because you have an insider tales to tell and you have the access to it because you are related to him, as claimed, without proof. Who he was and what he did to his father is irrelevent here, get it?

Whats important is that he is brave enough to come out and testify. What ever UMNO promised him for doing so is not important. That was his advantage for having a bargaining tool. Its purely business.

Salam
written by gotterdammerung, January 15, 2008 17:02:00
That's right Hairy Potter, it's purely business & the rakyat are being manipulated by the local press just as you are. Just ask yourself one & only one simple question. Will the press make such a fuss about this story unless it benefits the government in some way. What UMNO promised Loh is important because it shows how they can distort justice in order to stay in power Schweinhund! Anyway, time will tell & you will then see how UMNO will benefit from this fiasco to the detriment of the rakyat.
written by Dogboy, January 15, 2008 17:41:20
This is the start of crucifying the messenger. Later, the son will be jailed for daring to film this indispicable act by the corrupt judiciary
written by DontPlayGod, January 15, 2008 18:15:05
You f**kers, get on with the job of the Commission. Forget about this contempt things. Get to bottom of this judiciary fixing matter. Aren't you fellars more concerned with the investigations into the judiciary scandal? Don't let yourselves be easily sidetracked.
written by archie, January 16, 2008 00:31:32
We'll know more about this Mr. Loh if and when it's known how this video clip fell into Anwar's hands.
written by Anak Desa, January 16, 2008 03:31:55
Loh has to go public as ACA has been trailing his movements and receiving threats. So he has pre-empted any moves against him.At least the Shanker Mahadevan is right in saying that the report was written by journalists.