Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Saving the MCA from itself

Saving the MCA from itself PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 02 September 2008 10:00

There is a new political culture and scenario. Are we prepared to relook the basic structure of our party? Can we leave the Barisan Nasional? Can we admit non-Chinese?

SHANNON TEOH, THE MALAYSIAN INSIDER

Datuk Theng Book shot to prominence in the MCA this year when he launched the “Save MCA” campaign which, in its initial guise, served as a platform to force president Datuk Seri Ong Ka Ting out of office via an anti-Ong brothers (Ong’s brother Ka Chuan is the secretary-general) movement.

Currently, the vice-chairman of the Puchong division, he was a prime mover in the snoop squad allegations against Ka Ting, Youth chief and Health Minister Datuk Liow Tiong Lai and Deputy Youth and Sports Minister Wee Jeck Seng.

The trio were accused of masterminding the collection of material in order to “assassinate” their rivals within the party. As the MCA party election in October draws near, SHANNON TEOH speaks to Theng on why the party needs to be saved.

What does MCA need to be saved from?

There is too much power in the president's hand. He can appoint up to seven central committee members including the secretary-general and treasurer. So if he controls another 40 per cent of the 24 elected central committee members, he controls the entire central leadership.

He also appoints state liaison chiefs, puts people on the board of The Star, Huaren Management Holdings, the investment arm of the MCA, he can nominate people into Maybank and Tenaga. He can appoint senators. And he's so powerful that he can just appoint all yes-men. So how does the party remain strong?

The problem is that so many rely on politics as their rice bowl. You need to treat it as an obligation and duty rather than a profession so if your principles are compromised, you can just resign. So because of this, many are afraid to lose their rice bowl. Today, our leadership seems to be professional politicians.

We want to make things more democratic and transparent and create a new standard, a norm in the party. If you're no good, you go. I'm not talking about it personally. When you make bad decisions, you take responsibility. This is the culture you need to cultivate.

Why have you targeted Ong Ka Ting specifically?

One of the fundamental reasons is the failure in the March 8 elections. In any political party, if you cannot perform in an election, then the party is finished. From over 90 ADUNs (state assemblymen), we are down to 30-something. From 40 to 15 MPs. It's our worst performance in our history. By whatever standard, European or Eastern, the president has to take responsibility for that.

Ka Ting, instead, looked for excuses, blaming the central committee when the decision for all election candidates was made by him. He treated the general election like a party election to strengthen his position in the party and to build up the Ong dynasty, to bring his brother Ka Chuan in as the next president.

Ka Ting also wanted his cronies to be elected representatives to put the MCA under his absolute control. For example, Ka Chuan lost in the 2004 general election but Ka Ting still appointed him Perak chief and then he gave him a safe seat to run for 2008. He was also appointed, not elected, secretary-general of the MCA.

If he wants his people, he gets his people. What if you had been working in this company for 20 years and the boss doesn't like you and just puts a freshie above you? That's why I always say he treats the MCA like Ong Brothers Sdn Bhd.

His leadership was crucial in our defeat. His style is to negotiate and compromise but in a lot of critical issues he has not performed to the mark considered acceptable by the Chinese community.

This shows he lacks leadership capabilities. I don't want to get personal and hit him below the belt. But this fight is over as he has already declared that he will not be running in the upcoming party polls. Of course he says it's not because of us, but the result is the same. As long as you go, I am okay.

As far as Ka Chuan is concerned, we will let the delegates decide his future. If he wins, he will have to depend on his own capability since his brother is no longer in the picture.

Why have this "Save MCA" campaign? Why not run for party elections and propose these changes through the system?

This is why I am running for a place in the central committee. This will allow me to continue the "Save MCA" campaign until I see the change.

Once elected I will propose amendments to the constitution. If possible, we elect the president from the grassroots, not from the 2,000-over central delegates. This is like Umno, who virtually elect the prime minister based on 2,000-plus delegates. In the MCA, the president can appoint the state liaison chief who will then influence the division chairs who then control the selection of delegates.

So I have proposed that the branches should elect the president. For example, each branch has about 10 committee members. Say you have 4,000 branches, so you will have 40,000 votes for the presidency, so you have to be responsible to a large number of people, like a real presidential election and we should also appoint state liaison chiefs in the same way.

The other benefit you get is that people have formed branches and put their family members as chairmen and the rest of the members are there by name only and there are no real active members. Indirectly, with this system, you are compelling people to be active in their branches and avoid phantom members.

This system will be more democratic because there is no way for one person to control the majority of the 40,000 voters. Of course, you can't ask for over a million members to elect the president because it's too costly but the fact is now your performance will have to count.

So 40,000 grassroots leaders will represent the 1.2 million membership which is more democratic compared to just 2,500 delegates where you only need to control about 1,300 delegates.

What is at stake at this MCA elections?

This will determine the future of the party and which direction we are headed. The new leadership will need to reformulate a new masterplan based on the principle where you have to take a stand. You can't keep to the old pattern of simply following orders.

There is a new political culture and scenario. Are we prepared to relook the basic structure of our party? Can we leave the Barisan Nasional? Can we admit non-Chinese?

We can't just be stubborn but open it for discussion. For example, Selangor MB Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim mooted the idea of opening up UiTM to non-Bumis. I think you must be brave enough to at least discuss it. If the proposal is beneficial to everyone, why not?

We need to open things to discussion in good faith without hard feelings. If we think the MCA leaving the BN is a good choice, okay, then let's do that. Who knows, one day Umno might say, you're not doing a good job and kick the MCA out. So we should not be afraid to discuss anything for the good of the party.

Are race-based parties still relevant?

I was just telling members in my Puchong division, if any MCA leader goes around talking about unity of Chinese, they are obviously outdated. Today, it's about the unity of rakyat Malaysia.

So the new leadership will have to discuss this in view of the political situation. No doubt the MCA is a race-based party but all this while, I don't know about others, my approach has been multiracial. I'm head legal advisor of the public services and complaints bureau. I serve everyone. Indian, Malay or Chinese I serve. So long as you are Malaysian I will help you.

Historically, our name is the Malaysian Chinese Association but times have changed. You can have a company named ntv7 forever and carry the name but the content and structure can change. The name doesn't matter but the culture has to change.

I'm not saying we should or shouldn't allow non-Chinese into the party but we can open this up for discussion.

The young generation now wants something that is fair and just. They have been exposed to globalisation and know their rights. They are not interested in colour or religion. What they want is if they have capabilities, a platform to perform. If you are good, you should be given opportunities.

Of course, we will still help the poor and less fortunate. We can offer them education opportunities but we can't help them forever. We can help them with regards to urgency but not just blanket help.

The world is increasingly globalised and protectionism is dying. We cannot hold on to our tongkat culture.

The panel of inquiry said the snoop squad does not exist.

No, we have sufficent evidence that it exists. After all the investigation, we understand that they have compiled a 100-plus-page report but only revealed to the public a seven-page report. So it is a summary report which does not tally with the full evidence. Can a judge sentence you to death without giving you the reason and showing all the evidence?

So nobody knows what is in those 100 pages. We were told even the presidential council committee does not have a copy.

They say Ong Ka Ting is not directly involved. Fair enough but which developer when building a house will lay the bricks himself? He will engage contractors. But can you answer for Liow Tiong Lai, Wee Jeck Seng and Tee An Chuan? He has no answer for them.

He is trying to disassociate himself from it and say the rest is not my problem and I don't have to answer for it. Immediately after the panel found Ka Ting was not involved, instructions went out to all the Chinese newspapers to tell them to stop reporting on it. We revealed more evidence, Tee An Chuan's working report, but they didn't want to report on it.

For the current presidential race, are you for Datuk Ong Tee Keat?

I'm not. I cannot see his track record. I don't want to talk badly about him but there is no proof that he is capable. I'm for Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek. He has proven himself as Health Minister, where he did very well, and he is an outspoken leader.

More importantly, when things happen to him personally, he dares to admit it and accept responsibility which is rare today. So this is what "Save MCA" wants, because in future, if he makes a mistake he will take responsibility for it. This is the kind of leader we need at this juncture.

For example, you teach your son, if you make someone pregnant you must admit it. Then when he does, you slap him and chase him out. That's not the way. You have to encourage him to take responsibility.

After all, his wife has no complaints so who the hell are we to complain? If your wife says you can take another woman, who the hell are we to say cannot? Only the wife is in a position to complain.

The other argument is the video itself. If I send someone to your house and plant the device, is that your fault? No, it's the person who planted the device. When Tee Keat hit him for it, it was like hailing the filmmaker as the hero.

Is MCA still a towkay party?

No, not anymore, that image is no longer relevant. Now the MCA is reverse. The big businessmen don't want to come in already. Previously, only those with good financial backgrounds come in to help the MCA and hold positions. You must remember, 30 years ago, the Chinese were fighting to make a living, so poor people had no time for politics. So it appeared that the MCA was full of towkays.

Today, any wage-earner can come in. Maybe Ka Ting is the towkay in a sense but he should be called the taiko, the big boss.

When you look at the history of MCA presidents, there has never been one with a moustache. So do both Tee Keat and Soi Lek have a chance?

Yes, our presidents have never had moustaches. So both Tee Keat and Soi Lek have a chance but those with moustaches can only run for deputy like Tan Sri Chan Kong Choy and Datuk Chua Jui Meng. But in any case, Chua Jui Meng has no base support with or without his moustache. I think he has been concentrating more on church work.

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by allangan2006, September 02, 2008 10:06:13
It is too late for MCA to win back the voters. The only option left is to dissolve MCA and encourage members to join PR. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by indianputra, September 02, 2008 10:20:02
Just forget about SAVING MCA. It is a real waste of time, energy and money. MCA is finished. Kaput. The March 8 elections showed that the NEW RAKYAT voted in Chinese from DAP and demolished candidates from MCA.

The only solution for MCA to regain their popularity is for them to leave BN and stay independent or join Pakatan Rakyat. If they do that, the Chinese who are a part of the NEW RAKYAT will rejoin them and support them.

However if they still cling on to the sinking BN, they will drown!
written by harryo, September 02, 2008 10:36:29
Gerakan close your chapter and join MCA for the real strength and bid for your claims. If not join hands with PR for much stronger hands. MIC, you have no more roles. MIC, PPP and other mosquito parties also close your chapters and join hands with PR or PKR or DAP. All in one and unity is strength. Political philosophy of this unity party can be easily worked out for betterment of all.
written by Lembing, September 02, 2008 10:42:19
ATTENTION ATTENTION !!!!
LEADERS OF MCA and GERAKAN
AT LEAST You admit that you are now fighting for your political survival.
TYPICALLY, you lot will continue to jostle for the leadership positions by using dirty tricks amongst yourself.
BUT PLEASE do not INSULT our intelligence. STOP BEHAVING as if you care for the RAKYAT.
GET INTO your THICK SKULL, to UMNO you are nothing but JUST OFFICE BOYS who behave like COWARDS and are only good for running errands for them.
ALL these years, you just accept all the SHIITS thrown at you by your UMNO MASTERS…behaving like a dog with its tail between its legs. WHY do you act as cowards and become the office boys of UMNO……because you were rewarded with millions and millions of easy ILL GOTTEN dollars from your UMNO MASTERS.
In the past all of you have NOT contributed any single effort to enhance the well being of RAKYAT. Do you think that just by making a few comments that appears to stand up to your UMNO MASTERS that we are going to change our opinion about you lot.
So STOP INSULTING OUR INTELLIGENCE….just stick to your NORMAL behaviour…which is to fight amongst yourselves, verbally abuse yourselves, take secret video shots of your sexual activities with your mistress, use all kinds of dirty schemes to bring about the downfall of your leaders. YOU GUYS are the BEST in these activities BUT nothing else.
written by damarwulan, September 02, 2008 10:43:38
Any body can help? How do members of MCA resign from being a member? Will a letter suffice and to whom should it be address to, any fax number to deliver the letter? I think members should start initiating this move, MCA has since long ago forgets about the Malaysian Chinese. It is better for the members to leave the party enblock and let the Kapitan-Kapitan China be scared.
written by KM Wong, September 02, 2008 10:46:28
Euthanasia is the best prescription for MCA. Let a new party rise from its death with brand new leaders. Not yellow running dogs who have taken over MCA. They will not even say a word if their BN masters rape and pillage their kind.
written by ahmadneil, September 02, 2008 10:57:55
MCA is ripe for demolition.This termite filled party is not habitable anymore.
written by krising1, September 02, 2008 11:00:41
MCA you will be only good for the lion dance and drum beats at UMNOputra functions that is if they want you. The rakyat will reject you completely in the next election. Nothing you do can save you from your self destruct mode. Good bye
written by SocratesI, September 02, 2008 11:01:58

The BEST WAY to save MCA is for it to join PAKATAN RAKYAT and open up its membership to non-Chinese.

Rather than remain as a voice in the Barisan NAJIS wilderness, be one of the VOICES of the RAKYAT in PAKATAN RAKYAT !! The ONLY WAY !!

written by takbolehtahan, September 02, 2008 11:05:42
MCA and all those still fighting for its survival have been brainwashed by Umno … they not only behave like Umno, they think like Umno under the guise of MCA. MCA, you are all becoming so stupid. You have never been able to fight for the rights of the Chinese for 50 years, never had the balls to speak up, all you ever did was to follow exactly what you’ve been told to do by Umno, what makes you think the ordinary Chinese want you? If you can read English, read this, “We don’t want you, MCA.”
written by Alarka, September 02, 2008 11:05:54

The term "ugly Chinamen" is synonymous with MCA. The race sellouts. Will whore wife, daughter and mother for the extra ringgit.

MCA = Melayu's Cina Anjing.

PTUI...!!!
written by Alarka, September 02, 2008 11:06:53
written by Alarka, September 02, 2008 11:10:28

And what's up with that blue shirt the MCA Spotted dog is wearing? Some boy scout fetish I gather.
written by chiongguo, September 02, 2008 11:12:35
The rakyat had rejected MCA not because of their race-based constituency but because of the corruption endemic within the BN in which MCA had been a silent partner for many years. Gerakan is not race-based and yet it was soundly rejected.

I understand also that MCA has a very strange rule that only graduates could ascend to certain party post. Isn't this rather stupid to begin with ? If a university degree is the ultimate measure of one's capability then who are those people who are generating all the wealth in the country ? How many really had a degree ? Such a policy undermines the resilience and dynamism of the organisation.

MCA does not need saving. It needs to die a natural death for the rot had set in for far too long. I could give examples but that would be stating the obvious.
written by wartank, September 02, 2008 11:18:10
Right, MCA stands for 'Malaysian Chinese Association'. We're so used to the name that we failed to realise it sounded like a community organisation, much like YMCA.
Perhaps it is, together with MIC and others to serve the only political party that is UMNO.

Do we then, put our efforts to save a certain organisation or do we fight for the people irrespective of age, race, sex or background.?
I'd rather go for the latter. smilies/wink.gif
written by joeawk, September 02, 2008 11:49:51
Sorry la. I hv never felt being represented by MCA. Worse are those clan association which are for oldies who are ego maniacs, reserving positions for themselves and feeling good about it, being made chairman and committee members.

Tell me about their achievement. It is more like nothing except for a lot of bullshit every now and then to boost their egos. Yes la. every year pay out token amount to chinese student. Is that what the tongs and the association represent?

Close shop and use the money to invest for the future of the chinese. With so many drop outs, what about technical education to prepare the dropouts for the job market?

Students with good results but poor, need funds to further education and student with poor results need more help to join the job market or to go into business and I have not heard about any job placement function of any tongs or association.

Farts like them, what do they know about the needs and aspirations of the chinese, in particular the young Chinese, the future of our nation call MALAYSIA.

For all my years, I have never heard of any survey conducted to find out about my aspiration. Has anyone heard or encountered any such survey, any where in Malaysia?
written by Taiping60, September 02, 2008 12:08:19
Frankly, I do not care what happen to MCA, what they are doing and what they intend to do.

The party is run by a bunch of hypocrite whose primary interest is themselves. This country need multi racial party. We do not need party that preach and fight for one race. That goes to UMNO and MIC as well. As for Gerakan, although they are multi racial they are too soft and often seen as representing one race. That why they are dead now. Forget about reviving the party is dead. MCA, UMNO and MIC will be next if they ignore the sentiment of the general public.

Wake up merge into one multi racial party or we will say good bye to you in the next ELECTION.
written by Taiping60, September 02, 2008 12:14:10
By the way, don't make a hero out of Datuk Theng Book.

Regardless of what he did, MCA is finish. So I do not see the need to making a hero out of Datuk Theng Book. So friend, it is too late to save MCA. In fact, there is nothing left to be save.

If you want to do something good, make sure those corrupted go to JAIL. Get rid of them. Chua Soi Lek..forget about running. Dont get the impression that just because you son won the last election, you are still popular. If you don't believe, ask you son to resign and you go for a by election. Se whether you will get one third votes or not.

What MCA, UMNO, MIC and Gerakan need to do is to accept reality. Accept that racial politic is something in the past. Merge or be part of the Malaysian history.
written by ez24get, September 02, 2008 12:19:24
MCA is facing the same problem with Gerakan, MIC and other BN component parties. Only the top leaders of the parties are beholden to UMNO but not the grass root members. Why?

Because these top party leaders are courted by UMNO and they are being given or enticed with minister, deputy minister posts and senatorships. These posts are actually "bribes" given out to them with a sole purpose of keeping their mouth shut on any misdeeds of UMNO as well as maintaining their loyalty to the master. Once given such posts, it is their passport to joining the smaller gravvy train. UMNO of course drives the biggest gravvy train!

Because these top party leaders have tremendous personal gains to be the servant of UMNO, they are beholden to this party even though they realise it is sinking fast! They are harbouring hopes that UMNO can recover or be rescued by Badawi's successor.

These top party leaders choose not to see the reality that, with or without Badawi, UMNO top leaders will continue to promote the racial supremacy agenda of ketuanan Melayu. Whether it is Badawi’s deputy Najib or vice-president Muhyiddin, or even an outside challenger such as Tengku Razaleigh is the one to lead Umno, the problem remains the same.

From the top to the bottom of the UMNO hierarchy, the cry of reform simply means to get rid of Badawi and to strengthen the Ketuanan Melayu agenda. No one in UMNO is really serious about removing "corruption, abuses of the NEP, the erosion of the judiciary and injustices done to the other races economically and religiously" which is what the Rakyat wants!

UMNO leaders are not concerned with its BN component parties and neither are they interested with the rest of the country over the issue of reforms in Malaysia. It just cares about its own survival and the continuation of the supply of the gravy train. Every time UMNO sneezes, the other BN component parties catch the flu. And UMNO is in the habit of sneezing where ever, when ever and frequently as it likes without consideration to anybody!

In short UMNO is not interested in helping MCA, Gerakan or MIC or other BN component parties in solving their own internal credibility issues with their members and electorates. Instead of helping, UMNO piles up even more problems for them in its quest to sway the malay voters by playing on racial sentiments.

So the grass root members of the BN component parties should wise up! It is the top leaders who are leading you astray because they have their own agendas and personal gains to be servants of UMNO.

But you and your family members have to deal with the ridicules, curses and rejections on a daily basis from the Rakyat! You have your democratic right to reject UMNO and cast your votes to deflect from UMNO before the sinking Titanic brings you under with it!

Do it before September 16!
written by Bandit, September 02, 2008 13:04:37
Save MCA from what???? UMNO rascals spit right into your face and right in front of the public and in front of your UMNO Master's No 2 and he did nothing about it. YOU rascals let your race down and you want to be saved? Who want to save you?
written by DontPlayGod, September 02, 2008 13:06:21
As far as I am concerned, it is too late to save the MCA. The Chinese have already lost any confidence they might still have, after March 8. One of the options MCA can consider is to turn itself into a pressure group, and withdraw from politics. Maybe as a pressure group, they can exert more pressure from outside of BN. As a member of BN, they are duty bound to tow UMNO's line.

MCA has been UMNO's lapdog and lackey these past 30 years. There is no way to win back the support of the Chinese. We can see UMNO politicians and their leaders lambasting and insulting the Chinese, and even MCA leaders, and MCA just meekly accepts it without saying a word in response.

So it doesn't matter now who helms MCA.
written by banzai, September 02, 2008 13:50:40
Malaysian Criminal Association (MCA).
That Theng Buku & Michael Chong can get lost.
Save my arse. They are trying to save themself
from Sugai Buloh prison or Kamunting Camp.
written by CPY, September 02, 2008 15:21:33
MCA represent the chinese to be UMNO bootlicker, MCA is just like the corrupted Communist Party In other both communist & ex-communist states.
written by bananachinese, September 02, 2008 15:21:42
This Theng Bok fella is a suspicious character, I was told. He misrepresent himself as Michael Chong's Legal Advisor. Actually, this Theng Bok is only a part of a team of volunteers who come in whenever they are free to help.

My char kuey teow man said better get Ong Tee Keat quick into the President seat and let OTK clean up MCA, like what he is doing with Puspakom now.
written by chanatak, September 02, 2008 16:05:47

I'm for Datuk Seri Dr Chua Soi Lek. He has proven himself as Health Minister,

In this statement, we all see the end of MCA - an MCA that has no standards of morality, an MCA that supports a leader who shows no remorse over the fact that he had been caught with his pants down.

MCA is dead. Thong's ability to judge is in question. Who knows, Chua Soi Lek is surely behind ( I mean literally ) this Thong character and all he is doing.

With Ong Ka Ting, MCA is dead. With Ong Tee Keat, MCA is dead. With Chua Soi Lek, MCA demise will even be sooner.

written by DontPlayGod, September 02, 2008 16:29:12
All these decades, the only reason why MCA is facing so many leadership crisis is because with the Ministerial and Assist. ministerial positions, comes perks, and money. But these are crumbs thrown at them by UMNO. Still these MCA leaders would not hesitate to fight for these crumbs.
written by skc, September 02, 2008 16:56:26
a bit too little too late.
Should have done things 30 years ago, now we are all product of the NEP, live by the sword die by the sword.
written by TwilightYears, September 02, 2008 17:02:03
What type of leader are you to support a porn actor and one who has done so much harm to the family, the Chinese race and the community. If you want to keep Ng Yen Yen company, fine. But get out of the MCA and do not dirty its name. Your knowledge and understanding of the ex Minister of Health and the porn actor was so shallow. Please check on his relationship with some of the Turnkey Projects for building and upgrading hospitals - Alor Star, Kluang, and Penang. There are so much rumours going on with the porn actor and the main contractors.
Please lah, keep up with the times. Do not be blinded by Chua Soi Lek's rhetorics. You are a jerk and a joke to the Chinese race.
written by mikewang, September 02, 2008 19:46:49
MCA is not a Towkay party.
It's a lot worse than that.
It's a lick UMNO ass lappy dog party.
written by ROBERTNGTG, September 02, 2008 21:12:30
Are race-based parties still relevant?
I was just telling members in my Puchong division, if any MCA leader goes around talking about unity of Chinese, they are obviously outdated. Today, it's about the unity of rakyat Malaysia.

SO MCA = MALAYSIAN COMMUNITY ALLIANCE??? BETTER STILL, JOIN DAP/PKR
WHERE YOU CAN HV A BETTER VOICE.
written by edmundkang, September 02, 2008 21:28:22
to save MCA depend on your ability to get UMNO punish Ahmad Ismail on his racist comments. Get your president to talk to UMNO president! I am hurt by the comment. All Malaysian should be equally respected.
written by binkah1, September 02, 2008 21:51:37
After all these years it is best MCA close shop. There is nothing to salvage, obselutely nothing!
written by onnetline, September 02, 2008 23:35:17
MCA leaders knows how to make money for themselves by behaving as ' beggars ', that's all !

Like BN-UMNO, they are also a bunch of shitheads from Barisan Najis.
written by bananachinese, September 03, 2008 01:57:59
chanatak,

My favorite char kuey teow seller, who is a stauch MCA man agree with you.

He said he will immediately resign his life membership if Chua Soi Lek becomes President. It's something Confucian - I think he called it 'Li' 'Yi' 'Lien' 'Zhue'

He said its fine if not caught in the act with mistress. But if caught in the act even though its filmed without his knowing it's same like 'catching yellow feet chicken' (Chuk wong keok kai- in cantonese)

He said big shame - how can MCA be dignified if the President is an unwitting porn star? Everytime if Chua Soi Lek wants to voice out for Chinese or Malaysians, BN or PR simply has to remind him of the tape or worse distribute it to undermine MCA's image. Worse than running dog condition.
written by Alarka, September 03, 2008 04:17:45
Chua Soi Lek of not, the fact that MCA's origin was wrought with gangsterism and Kuo Ming Tang agent infiltrations, and the subsequent selling out of own culture and race that it swore to represent, what is there to save or salvage.? In fact in this day and age, racialism and racial-centric politics are not relevant anymore in light of ever increasing global competition and growing cost of living.

What is sad is the aftermath of the whole thing. Should Anwar and the rest of the PR mavericks inherit this they are faced with insurmountable obstacles. The whole governmental, judicial, educational and economic infrastructures are in taters. What were handed over by the leaving colonialists with good intention, intact systems of nation building apparatus, with a healthy treasury and financial reserve to boot, now faced with zero credibility public services and with half of the productive citizens chased away to foreign shores. On top of that, the educational system that is supposed to educate new generations of Malaysian to push forward the growth is not non-functional and is just a tool for the warlords to brainwash new generations of non-thinking racial reactionaries.

Good Luck Malaysia.
written by Alarka, September 03, 2008 04:19:27
Correction on the last sentence: (fat fingers typo)

On top of that, the educational system that is supposed to educate new generations of Malaysian to push forward the growth is NOW non-functional and is just a tool for the warlords to brainwash new generations of non-thinking racial reactionaries.
written by Angela Ooi, September 03, 2008 05:10:56
MCA? Naah, just go away. At this point, whatever you do or don't do, Chinese don't bloody care.
written by allmenarebrothers, September 03, 2008 16:24:26
Theng Book, MCA is not worth saving as it is a den of slaves slaving for the UMNO Putra goons. You all need to be amancipated by the Rakyat of Malaysia who are all of William Wilberforce calibre. You have enslaved many Malaysians for more than 50 years & all Malaysians need to be freed, liberated & enjoy rights of equality, fair-treated & righteousness. You don't need to go far for a second opinion. Just ask Ling Voon Yoon your leagl partner. he sure will agree with me.
written by kclim2, September 03, 2008 22:40:32
These MCA loonies are just a bunch of useless buggers! Its better for them to dissolve. why? they are supposed to protect the chinese interest instead they are selling aways our rights! Look at the way those UMNO bullies slap them they dare not even utter aword? what a shame for us chinese!
written by Siapabohong, September 04, 2008 00:14:40
There were suggestions for MCA and GERAKAN to quit BN and join PR. I think better don't because in PR we have DAP who can perform much better than the two 'kikikukiki' corrupted parties. I guess DAP won't be happy to admit the two parties because these parties will create problems to the coorperation and solidarity of PR. These parties will bring their rotten habit and culture into PR because they have been so use to such culture example like 'serve thy self' rather serve the people. Better for MCA, GERAKAN even MIC, and worst still PPP, to close shop or stick to BN and be AMMO permanent slaves. Those power crazy and self glorify MCA and GERAKAN leaders should be barred from joining any of the PR parties. They won't bring any benefit to PR but liability. PKR, DAP and PAS can represent the people of this country much sincere and people-oriented rather those proven corrupted, self glorify, self interest and greedy BN parties. Don't admit these parties but rather their members who subscribe to the principles of the PR. These corrupted parties have betrayed the trust of all of us. They should have served us since we put them on the corridor of power but instead unknowingly we were put to serve them, serve their egos, hailed, adored them as VVIP who in return never gave us back but 'janji kosong'. Damm with them. The modus of operandi of these parties to entice us to hear them or to glorify and adore them was to organised 'paid' more than thousand people dinner. We were made like stupid fools listened to their useless talk and watched their behaviour of clamouring among themselves, tossed liquor from table to table to boast their abilty to drink and to be drunken and saw them giving away contribution to schools or Chinese associations from money made to look like from them but actually from our hard earned money. These are their common indulgent to fool all of us for the past 50 years. I think we enough of them, so please let them rot and damm them.