Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Abdullah and Anwar — flip sides with the same thinking

Abdullah and Anwar — flip sides with the same thinking PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 02 September 2008 09:59

The Bukit Bendera Umno division chief reminded Malaysian Chinese that they are immigrants and assigned them second-class status. He has not apologised for his comments which have upset the MCA and Gerakan, many of whom want him to be suspended or hung out to dry by Abdullah and the Umno leadership.

The Malaysian Insider Commentary

Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim share several similarities. They both call Penang home. They both have managed to get on the wrong side of their former mentor, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

And it seems they both will go the extra mile to protect their own political comrades, sometimes even sacrificing their principles and convictions about Malaysia, and tenets of the Federal Constitution.

No?

Let’s consider the facts. When Parti Keadilan Rakyat’s Zulkifli Nordin led the mob against the Bar Council for organising a forum on conversion to Islam, he was slammed by many from his own party for his thuggish behaviour. Except Anwar.

The Bandar Baru Kulim MP went into hiding after the incident and emerged more than a week later, defiant and unrepentant. He said that he had explained his actions at the forum to Anwar and had been cleared. He then lashed out enemies of Islam and said that he would reprise his role in breaking up the forum if necessary.

The silence from Anwar was deafening. Incidentally, no action has been taken against Zulkifli, despite threatening noises from Dr Syed Husin Ali, Sivarasa Rasiah and Tian Chua who were upset at the force and language used by protestors to disrupt the forum. Among other things, the demonstrators told the Chinese in not so polite terms to return to the land of their ancestors.

On hindsight, it is easy to understand why Anwar did not come out strong against Zukilfi.

He knew that though the MP’s actions were slammed by the chattering class and non-Muslims, they were hugely popular with Muslims who felt that Zulkifli and the protestors were standing up for Islam and its special position in Malaysia. He also had his eye on the Permatang Pauh by-election where ground reports suggested that he had the full backing of Chinese and Indian voters but had yet to win over a significant portion of the Malay vote.

So the best solution: stay clear of the Zulkifli controversy and hope that the controversy goes away.

Political consideration was also pretty much on Abdullah’s mind when he responded meekly to the controversy surrounding Datuk Ahmad Ismail’s comments about the Chinese at a political rally on the eve of the by-election.

The Bukit Bendera Umno division chief reminded Malaysian Chinese that they are immigrants and assigned them second-class status. He has not apologised for his comments which have upset the MCA and Gerakan, many of whom want him to be suspended or hung out to dry by Abdullah and the Umno leadership.

Abdullah has attempted to diffuse the situation by saying that Ahmad did not mean to offend anyone, adding that the he would tell the division chief not to repeat those words. This assurance is akin to applying. minyak angin on an open sore — it just worsened the situation.

On the face of it, it is difficult to understand why Abdullah is going out on a limb for Ahmad. Ahmad was a staunch Anwar soldier in the old days and enjoyed rubbishing the prime minister when he was not elected as one of Umno’s vice-presidents in 1993.

Abdullah’s loyalists still remember Ahmad’s choice words against Abdullah when the PM was a political nobody.

So why is Abdullah not prepared to chastise this man whose arrogant comments only serve to entrench the antipathy that non-Malays feel towards Umno and the Barisan Nasional?

Put it another way. Why is Abdullah prepared to stand by and watch the stature of the MCA and Gerakan sink further among Chinese? Every time an Umno leader makes a stinging comment about non-Malays or their religious practices and it goes unpunished, stronger is the view among Chinese and Indians that the MCA, Gerakan and MIC are political weaklings, and not worth supporting.

Abdullah knows this very well. But the fact is between now and December only one thing matters to him — obtaining the bulk of nominations from 191 Umno divisions and being re-elected as the party president.

Everything else is a distant second. And that includes pushing through legislation for a Judicial Appointment Commission (which incidentally is also unpopular with the Umno crowd). Or disciplining a party warlord, who comments about the status of Chinese just happens to be the majority view in the ruling party.

It is an open secret that many Umno politicians feel “betrayed’’ byChinese and Indian voters and want to punish them for supporting Pakatan Rakyat in Election 2008. They also believe that the non-Malays have become too vocal since March 8 and need to be put in their place.

So Ahmad Ismail’s comments are not isolated thinking. It is the majority view in a party that will not accept that non-Malays also have an ownership stake in the country.

Abdullah is not prepared to challenge this view and risk upsetting the support of party warlords like Ahmad Ismail. His survival comes before anything else. Between now and December, political consideration trumps everything else.

So maybe Abdullah and Anwar have got more in common than they wish to acknowledge. They both are prepared to leave their ideals of a Malaysia for all by the wayside if it means keeping the support of their home constituency.

Sad but true.

written by Rainbowseahorse, September 02, 2008 10:10:24
Pak Lah should consider solving problematic UMNO dissidents the Najib way. Then viola! No more *******s to please anymore..just bits & pieces to get rid of.
written by Bigjoe99, September 02, 2008 10:23:08
This is a good piece. Its very true. The difference between Anwar and Badawi is that Anwar is PUBLICLY already committed to end NEP. Badawi is not. In reality, Badawi is trying to moves things behind the scene and Anwar is allowing things to slide behind the scene.

BUT this is what we want. Only by moving things publicly and behind the scene will eventually the goal be achieved no matter who is in power. THE RAKYAT WINS. Slowly but surely such competition will bring us there..

But why support Anwar then? Because it should have began with a public. Once the policy is publicly accepted. Driving it into the pockets of resistance is matter of time whereas, not doing so leads to no certainty...
written by lamakawan, September 02, 2008 10:46:23
We must know whether Ahmad ismail is rallying to get support to be elected to a significant post in UMNO. If he aint going to be elected to be somebody in UMNO, then we can safely say he is a no body. Ignore anything that he says. he will die a natural death if no one responds to his comments. No need to get excited over what he has said he may shout until the sky comes down, we need not listen to him.
written by takbolehtahan, September 02, 2008 10:58:18
Well, if Anwar is claiming that Malaysia belongs to all Malaysians, and if he ascribes himself to be a future PM for all Malaysians, then he must also speak up against racism when it happens to non-Malays. Silence will only mean that, like AAB, he is a hypocrite. So I hope, Anwar Ibrahim, you will use your new found "power" wisely.
written by SocratesI, September 02, 2008 10:59:29

The difference with DSAI & Bodohwi is that DSAI is biding his time to get the bigger picture in place first with the new manifesto intact, that of a Ketuanan RAKYAT, before dealing with, and getting rid of rubbish like Zulkifli.

Bodohwi wants to remian in power AT ALL COSTS. That is the difference. I can wait for Zul to get his spank, after the bigger picture is in place.

written by ahmadneil, September 02, 2008 11:04:45
So that means RAHMAN theory with the last second letter 'A' have to be shared by this two men,Abdullah and Anwar.
written by SUV, September 02, 2008 11:07:58
bankrupting popular profile,n causing misery to over 500 workers...dis ***** fella is a lalang who always creates kontreversi..oi kepla dugong malaysian insider!!bar council actions were right aah?!!zul had to do what he had to do!!understnd sh!t head?!!till today we do not know why ambiga belah to london..so malaysian insider.u can shove ur stpid intelektuality in2 ur f*kin kiasu arse!!!
disagree 18
written by SUV, September 02, 2008 11:11:04
dis ***** ahmad was responsible for bankrupting popular profile,n causing misery to over 500 workers...dis ***** fella is a lalang who always creates kontreversi..oi kepla dugong malaysian insider!!pulti kacang bar council actions were right aah?!!zul had to do what he had to do!!understnd sh!t head?!!till today we do not know why ambiga belah to london..so malaysian insider.u can shove ur stupid intelektuality in2 ur f*kin kiasu arse!!!
written by cahaya, September 02, 2008 11:34:33
This commentary is misleading.

Anwar is correct to take no action on Zulkifli, because he did nothing wrong. The media (including Malaysian Insider) reported Zulkifli had led the mob against the Bar Council for organising a forum on conversion to Islam. But did he? Zulkifli was invited to bring an end to a heated exchange of words. He was representing an NGO at the time, not a political party.

Zulkifli took exception to media reports that he had stormed the Bar Council forum. He said he was invited in by the council's secretary, Lim Chee Wee, and another staff member to verify that the forum had ended. "I went in to defuse the situation and to confirm that the forum had stopped. I was invited up, otherwise how did I get in? I didn't kick the door and barge in, but the picture painted now is as if I barged in and that is a total lie."

Zulkifli, a practising lawyer, said there was a heated exchange of words between three representatives from Muslim NGOs that accompanied him and a few forum participants, but the situation was shortly brought under control. "When I was inside, I did not say a word. I did not do anything. I was just asked to verify that the forum had ended. I was just disappointed when some participants of the forum started using rough language on the others (NGO representatives) with me."

Zulkifli said he attended the rally under the banner of the Muslim Organisations in Defence of Islam, and not Parti Keadilan Rakyat.

http://www.malaysianbar.org.my...kifli.html
written by cahaya, September 02, 2008 11:36:14
Badawi should take any action on Datuk Ahmad Ismail’s comments about the Chinese at a political rally on the eve of the by-election. Ahmad was representing UMNO as Bukit Bendera Umno division chief when he reminded Malaysian Chinese that they are immigrants and assigned them second-class status.

Pressure is mounting on the Barisan Nasional leadership and the government to act against Umno Bukit Bendera division chief Datuk Ahmad Ismail for the alleged racist remarks he made last month during the Permatang Pauh by-election campaign.

Today, the DAP joined grassroot leaders from MCA and Gerakan in lodging police reports, urging that investigations be carried out under the Sedition Act, and that Ahmad be made to withdraw his statement and to apologise to the Chinese community for the hurtful remark. In Port Klang, MCA vice-president Datuk Ong Tee Keat said he advocated penalty under the Sedition Act for members of BN component parties who make racially sensitive remarks. He said such action was necessary to ensure that the remarks by the individuals were not reflective of the stand of the parties they belonged to.

http://www.malaysianbar.org.my...ision.html
written by mali, September 02, 2008 11:51:52
to the non-muslims (cant say non-malays bcos eventually muslims will become Malay & be part of UMNO, u can see it in their dressings & culture; but this is a different piece of writing)
despite the above piece to "demote" DSAI, we have to choose the "lesser evil" & end MONOPOLY (like Puspakom & TM); let's vote for 2-party system!

written by oknyua, September 02, 2008 12:23:01
After reading twice, I am still confused:
1. Did Abdullah meet with Ahmad before he made his statement of defence? (Was the statement given before or after he met Ahmad?)

2. Dato' Anwar's statement was issued before or after he met Zulkifli?

Then, how on earth Abdullah knew that Ahmad "did not meant it to be like that?"

written by takbolehtahan, September 02, 2008 13:10:09
cahaya, thank you for the clarification on Zulkifli.
written by CPY, September 02, 2008 15:16:59
This Zulkifli, I thought he is better than the person who say 'Burn SCAH' but, ai :0=o
written by Rashid, September 02, 2008 16:30:53
The commentary is a concoction of Kalimullah. There is nothing far from the truth.

1. Zul didn't call non-Muslims names but demanded the stoppage of a meeting.
2. Zul didn't call the Chinese squatters and immigrants unlike Ahmad.
3. Zul didn't represent his party but his Lawyers' Association unlike Ahmad who represented the campaigns of his party.
4. Zul didn't didn't engage in racism but a religious argument that doesn't have any relation with the "immigrant" hysterical diatribe of Ahmad.
5. Anwar is not a PM but Abdullah is one and the buck stops at his door.
6. Anwar was categorical in his answer but Dollah is not.
7. Anwar didn't defend Zul but Dollah defended Ahmad.
8. Anwar's party wholeheartedly condemned Zul but Ahmad's party warned Gerekan against demonising Ahmad.
9. Anwar's party demanded an explanation from Zul but UMNO didn't.
10. Zul stated that his case was related to the Muslim Lawyers Ass. and had nothing to do with PKR or PR. Ahmad on other hand represented UMNO.
11. Anwar as a person condemned Zul's action and said the BC meeting should have been allowed but Dollah never said something of the sort.
12. Dollah lashes at others (read opposition) for being seditious but doesn't take action against seditious AMNO people.

Boy, the two cases have no relation whatsoever and don't try to lull Dollah by this bogus commentary. You are a big joke and don't forget to state your name unless you are a quack. Sheesh!
written by lampard, September 02, 2008 18:02:45
Lets make Abdullah Badawi swear on Quran that he does not HATE M'sian Chinese, Indian, Kadasan Dusun, Dayak, Iban, Senoi, Negrito in Malaysia...

Lets make Ahmad swear on Quran he is a native of malaysia which belongs to the orang asli group, otherwise, pak cik, you pun squatter jugak, siol!!!

Lets make Anwar Ibrahim swear on Quran he cares for other races other than malays.

Lets make Mahathir swear on Quran he really loves malays.

It will be a mass swearing by all....

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009