Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Budget of no significance to many

Budget of no significance to many PDF Print
Monday, 01 September 2008 10:42

For Lucy Lau, 22, a hardware store owner, she felt that the incentives announced was not going to benefit her business. Instead, it could lead to poorer business in her shop.

By Yu Ji & Vijaya Menon, BORNEO POST

No matter who you talk to, the general consensus is that the Budget 2009 would be of no significance if it does not solve the people’s bread and butter issues.

It’s also not wrong to say that most people did not tune in to watch the Prime Minister table the budget on Friday.

They only skimmed newspapers and glimpsed the nightly news, looking out for new measures to curb rising cost of living.

Those who thesundaypost spoke to yesterday, including restaurant managers, shopkeepers and especially those from the lower income group, all agreed that the economy was slowing down and they were unsure whether the budget could help improve situation.

Andrew Chan, a restaurateur, said incentives such as the reduction of import duties for consumer durables was not going to bring much difference to those in the food business.

“We only buy these items once. What is more important is to look into ways to reduce the cost of daily essentials such as petrol, gas, and cooking oil,” he said.

He said since the fuel price hike, his business had reduced by half of what it used to be due to poorer spending power and increase in price of raw materials.

Chan felt that the incentives highlighted were not going to help him much and he believed that they would also not narrow the gap between the rich and the poor people in the state.

Suzy, on the other hand was not aware of the budget.

However she hoped that the budget would include ways to control the price of essential items.

The 21 year-old lass from Padawan said her salary as a shop assistant was below RM1,000 and she had to take care of six siblings without any aid from the government.

For Lucy Lau, 22, a hardware store owner, she felt that the incentives announced was not going to benefit her business. Instead, it could lead to poorer business in her shop.

“We do sell cigarettes here and we make a few hundred ringgit from them every month. With the increased price of cigarettes now, I feel that we will be making less profit this time,” she said, adding that the fuel price hike was already affecting her business.

Sim Poh Kiaw, 25, meanwhile felt that the budget should place more emphasis on improving infrastructure rather than welfare.

“Welfare assistance will only benefit a limited group of people, while improved infrastructure will benefit more people as we all depend on such facilities in our daily lives,” she said.

She felt that Sarawak was not getting enough attention in as far as public facilities were concerned, such as public transportation, “which is way behind that in Peninsular Malaysia”.

She however said there was nothing much Sarawak could do about it as Peninsular Malaysia had always received more for the purpose.

Abdul Rauf, 25, and Irwan Mosli, 30, said they disappointed because there was nothing said about a higher minimum wage.

“We work in a shop for up to 10 hours a day for a salary of RM700 a month. What can we do with that sort of money,” Rauf lamented.

He said that petrol alone had gone up to RM300 a month, and the balance for payment of bills.

“There is nothing left.”

Irwan on the other hand was hoping for more goodies, in the form of subsidies, rather than infrastructure development.

“This way many people will benefit rather than a certain group of people.”

Comments (44)Add Comment
written by indianputra, September 01, 2008 10:58:31
Budget 2009 is a whole lot of hot air. Why

1) The billions ear marked for the improvement of Public Transportation.. WILL IT EVER TAKE ROOT? or are these just words like the super corridors? Who in Malaysia can lead this team which require know how and expertise

2) Will the price of fuel, rice, coffee, cooking oil, vegetables, bread, salt, fish and other essentials COME DOWN because of Budget 2009? I think, the prices will GO UP!

3) Increasing sin tax like in cigarettes will allow more contrabad cigarettes to flourish in Malaysia

4) Did the PM and his financial geniuses think about the hard core poor, the poor and the middle class? NO!! With the economy sluggish, corruption at it's zenith, Civil service employees having a tidak apa attitude, Ringgit getting weaker everday, Stock Market plummeting... is there any redemption for the poor in Malaysia?

AHHHHHHHHHHH!! Never mind lah. We will wait for Septemer 16th!
agree 170
written by Umm Adzka, September 01, 2008 11:20:55
I don't have any business, thus, the budget has no effect to me...

Just wondering if this budget will benefit his son in law or not smilies/grin.gif

http://umm.adzka.com/
written by joejoe, September 01, 2008 11:30:01
This budget will affect everyone. Read the articles in Bloomberg and Reuters and other financial dailies, and you will see the dark prospect Budget 2009 has in store for us.

Bottom line : the Budget 2009 will cause a further strain on our deficit which will impact our Ringgit, and will cause more hardship for everyone. If the projected growth does not happen, and with the proven track record of over-spending, we are in for a tough year(s) ahead.

So, as our PEE-brained-M said, "Change your lifestyle". The only way for us to change our lifestyle is when we change the Government.
written by marsyal, September 01, 2008 11:34:45
Malaysian pay more tax than Singaporean and yet our public transportation is no way near compared to Singapore.

Middle income group in Malaysia paying excessively high income tax compared to Singapore. for income of 150k pa, we pay at the bracket of 27%, singapore only 14%

compare personal income tax for Singapore (A) against Malaysia (B)

Singapore (A)
Chargeable Income Rate (%) Gross Tax Payable ($)
First $20,000 0 0
Next $10,000 3.5 350
First $30,000 - 350
Next $10,000 5.5 550
First $40,000 - 900
Next $40,000 8.5 3400
First $80,000 - 4300
Next $80,000 14 11200
First $160,000 - 15500
Next $160,000 17 27200
First $320,000 - 42700
Above $320,000 20

Malaysia (B) (from LHDN as of pre budget 2009)

Chargeable Income RM Rate Tax (RM)

On the first 2,500 0% 0
On the next 2,500 1% 25

On the first 5,000 - 25
On the next 15,000 3% 450

On the first 20,000 - 475
On the next 15,000 7% 1,050

On the first 35,000 - 1,525
On the next 15,000 13% 1,950

On the first 50,000 - 3,475
On the next 20,000 19% 3,800

On the first 70,000 - 7,275
On the next 30,000 24% 7,200

On the first 100,000 - 14,475
On the next 50,000 27% 13,500

On the first 150,000 - 27,975
Exceeding 250,000 28%

In Budget 2009, the 28% is now reduced to 27%. But those earning 150k per year still pay same percentage as those earning RM1 mil per year (like the TNB big shot)
written by Zeroean, September 01, 2008 11:41:36
the gomen confirmed that the allocated budget for public transport will materialize. we the gomen will buy buses/coaches .. etc at inflated prices (for better %%%-lah).
dear all citizen, you see, we the gomen can DO IT!!!! want to know more?
later we will put all the purchased item in the yard/ warehouse..... oops we do not have enough place to store our purchases, then we will sign a lease agreement for warehouse/land...etc to store our purchases (again at much higher market rate)!!!!!
what next? we will reap the new and original parts and sell it and replace them with 2nd hand and old parts. (anyhow puspakom can help to pass us-ma).
after all, malaysian life is soooooo cheap and who cares if anything goes wrong with the public transport!!!!
written by Biztrack, September 01, 2008 11:45:58

Since when the BN budget is to solve the ordinary Joe's and Jane's bread and butter issues? It is to solve BN's political issues. Allow me to highlight another one of the many many COINCIDENCES that seems to be cropping up in Malaysia lately. The day before Malaysia Insider had this headline, "Heritage to get RM50 million boost" (or something like that), Shafie Apdal led a group of Sabahan MPs to pledge loyalty to BN. What is the coincidence?? Well ... the minister in-charge of Heritage is none other than dear old Shafie Apdal.

Another coincidence???

written by megahyper, September 01, 2008 11:46:40
Does he have any economist in his advisory board?

We havent had a good budget since this TAK-APA-LAH become PM.

We now have the biggest budget ever that is used to mainly to buy loyalty, pay contractor, pay maintainence. Check out the auditor-general report and that a perdana that cost more than a benz.

Cant they let the Rakyat be relieved for once? really hope that PR takes over the govt and present us an alternative budget after 5 boring years.
written by alberttan, September 01, 2008 11:48:41
written by Umm Adzka, September 01, 2008 | 11:20:55
Just wondering if this budget will benefit his son in law or not

Dear Umm Adzka;
Good question, just check 'who' the infrastructure projects are awarded to.
written by Sudahlah tu, September 01, 2008 11:50:29
Orang yang bergaji tinngi . bayar cukai pendapatan yang tinggi, tidak ada galakan daripada kerajaan seperti kebajikan hospital dan perubatan ... mereka yang berkhidmat di GLC berbagai raja .. mereka menerima segala kebajikan pencen , perubatan , elaun dan berbagai lagi ...
written by Sudahlah tu, September 01, 2008 11:52:52
kerajaan tidak tahu apa itu ..sumber manusia .. hasil intelektual yang tidak ada batasan nilai ... cuma tahu makan rasuah sahaja ...
pagi tadi , saya nampak kegiatan mencari 'lubuk' masih bermaharajalela di kawasan saya oleh kereta peronda XXXXXX .... sudah 51 tahun merdeka .. masih mengulangi tabiat buruk ini ...
written by menggatal, September 01, 2008 12:07:06
Budget good for the very rich or the poorest of the poor.

In total the whole budget is of no significance. PM also can't see that. No wonder the Government and the country is going down.... DOWN DOWN DOWN
written by ahmadneil, September 01, 2008 12:23:14
These crooks are rushing to open anonymous account ready to bank in all this allocations.
written by RitchieLow, September 01, 2008 12:24:06
I often ask myself, how qualified are the ministers who are entrusted with portfolios that can either uplift or weigh down on the countries citizens by the decisions they make. What sort of advisers do they have if they themselves are not in the least qualified as in the above case.

Gauging by what does on in parliament, I think we are all (citizens that is, some like to call us squatters) are in deep deep smelly mud.
written by alberttan, September 01, 2008 12:25:48
I should add that if patriotic MPs allow DSAI to be PM, Malaysia will save AT LEAST RM60BILLION of the RM200 B given the typical 30% agent commission. Budget 2009 to me is an exit strategy for FIL and SIL and the lucky few at the top of UMNO, I am waiting for UMNO members to realise this.
written by latihanQ, September 01, 2008 13:51:42
Nobody tuned in because nobody believes this hypocrite and useless crooked PM will ever have anything useful to offer. Bloody idiot!
This is a budget which benefits nobody.
It is yet another conduit for the crooks in the UMNO/BN cabinet to siphon funds
written by doggone, September 01, 2008 13:52:02

Dear Sleepy,

Is your favorite item, Viagra, tax free this year?
written by Umno Slayer, September 01, 2008 14:10:36
Appalling situation for Malaysian,When a bunch of goons and criminals are running the country with the supports of vicious and corrupt MP's of Umno and its BN.,The Budgets SUCKS and it only open upways for them to pocket it themselve ,like they normally does.....We must UP the TEMPO...lets kick them out ASAP from Putrajaya! smilies/shocked.gif
written by unomalaysia, September 01, 2008 14:13:13
Does anyone here know that Scomi manufactures and refurbursh buses and recently they introduced a monorail train..... smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
So there you go... More moolahs for the son, the father and son-in-law..
Merdeka, semuanya more OK for Scomi. Selamat berpuasa.
written by ez24get, September 01, 2008 14:59:21
In a net oil exporting and resources rich (palm oil, rubber, manufactured products, abundance from the sea, etc) country we could easily afford to have a good expansionary budget, like this 2009 Budget (a record of RM208 billion), year after year if not for the leakages and wastages. It is an irony that only when UMNO is fighting for its political survival and in its death bed, will we ever see such goodies like this!

Budget 2009

Expenditure:
Operating Expenditure: RM154.17 billion
Development Expenditure: RM53.73 billion
Total RM207.9 billion

Revenue: RM176.2 billion
Borrowings RM 31.7 billion
Total RM 207.9 billion

Revenue Sources
Non oil RM 101.16 billion
Oil: RM75.04 billion
Total RM 176.2 billion

From the above it can be seen that oil revenue contributes to 42% of our budget and operating expenditure is 152% of our non-oil revenue! Our BN Government is surely leading our country to bankruptcy. On top of this, if you look at the gist of the budget, two things stick out like a sore thumb –

1.a colossal, record busting amount of RM154.2 billion allocated for government operational expenditure i.e. for rental, maintenance, stationery supplies, civil service wages etc. In just a short period of four to five years, government operational expenditure has increased by 91.5% or RM73.7 billion. Mind you, this is just for operation expenses consumed in 2009 alone with no further spin-offs and enduring benefits unlike expenditure incurred on infrastructure or building where the benefits are enduring for the life of the assets.

This raises the question as to whether the Federal BN Government will be allocating these monies for its ministers and MPs to spend thereby providing a means for kick-backs to them. Year in year out, we have heard horror stories from the Auditor General Report that a screw driver costs over $500, a notebook costs over $7,000, filming a 3 minute tourism advertisement costs over $300,000, maintaining and repairing a Perdana car costs more than the car itself of over $130,000 inspite that it is still under the warranty period, paying RM3.19 millions for 9 male cows, etc.

Now we know how the Government operating expenditure could increase by 91.5% over 4-5 short years and why an UMNOputra leader could afford to bust RM28 million in gambling debt in a luxurious London casino!

2.Another mind bogging RM53.7 billion was allocated for development, the major part of it is in the BN controlled states like Iskandar Development Corridor in Johore and in Sabah and Sarawak. (Too bad for the guys in Selangor, Penang, Perak, Kedah and Kelantan!). Whether, the Federal BN Government actually has that amount of money to spend is another question.

Again, this raises the suspicion as to whether this BN Government will be allocating these huge sums of monies for its MPs to spend and providing a means for kick-backs to them. We all know that it is the unwritten reward and perks for being a BN MP. We all know about leakages and Swiss bank accounts, properties in overseas prime area and lavish overseas spending!

There is no prize for guessing that the purpose for the huge, record breaking budget deficit of 4.8% is to provide funds for the BN MPs for their political purposes and to secure the allegiance of these BN MPs and preventing them from hopping to the opposition. They may have realized this may be their last term in power and their last chance to hit a large jackpot!

All these should be alright except that the money they use for their own selfish purpose is from and belongs to the Rakyat jelata! So much about UMNO using their own money to bribe the MPs to stay in BN - this mode of financing of bribery is even more ingenious!

And what does the Rakyat get? A meager sweetener here and there but the high inflation rate (8.7%) which we are facing today coupled with the huge increase in petrol prices (41%) will negate any benefits we get. And of course there’s another miserable RM20 electricity exemption! You will qualify only if your house is barren of any electrical appliances and only if you switch on no more than 3 or 4 lights at night in the house! And if you use RM21 of electricity for that month – sorry, you are out! At least the Selangor PR government’s free water for the first 20 m3 water makes more sense!

It is accepted that this 2009 Budget, the Rakyat are given some goodies. But for sure, the BN MPs will get a more than disproportionate goodies than the Rakyat!

written by Steven Tan, September 01, 2008 15:01:48
Hi Marsyal,

Sorry, you have to understand this....In Singapore, the Government main focus is the provide the best service, so whenever or whatever they do, they just put the priority to give the best service. Whether it's involving transportation, education and other public services, you will get the best BUT.........

Here in Malaysia, the "government" main focus is the priority of their cronies and they themselves. They will study the benefit and profit that their cronies will get first from the budget and then only they will consider about you and me and the rest of the Malaysian. That's why the budget will never benefit us much.

I believe I already clear your doubt smilies/cheesy.gif Take care
written by PAKRAK, September 01, 2008 15:05:06
Definitely the rakyat is taken for a joy ride. The figures supposedly for development are inflated to suit and siphon into UMNO/BN foreign bank accounts.
written by Steven Tan, September 01, 2008 15:10:35
Marsyal,
I forgot to add one more thing..... It's regarding the RM20 electricity exemption. It's a gimmick. I think you will agree that it's almost impossible for any of us to have electricity bill below RM20 monthly. So this benefit is more to eye wash only smilies/wink.gif
written by marsyal, September 01, 2008 15:19:25
Steven, it becomes more obvious in this budget. It's the budget for cronies.

Since umno putera is in hybrid business, more tax exemptions given to hybrid cars, Honda has been asking for this years ago but nothing is done, under the cronies is in the picture.

If the govt really care, increase the income range in each bracket and no income tax for those earning 3 or 4k a year.
written by marsyal, September 01, 2008 15:20:11
Typo,

3-4k a month smilies/wink.gif
written by alberttan, September 01, 2008 15:24:24
written by ez24get, September 01, 2008 | 14:59:21

Dear ez24get;
Thanks for the good work.

While the challenge for Malaysians are to rid ourselves from UMNO/BN, the success of Malaysia Inc hinges on a transformation of our Civil Service and GLCs. These bodies are sucking Malaysia dry after the UMNO leadership have got their 30% of course. It just makes no sense to have 1.2million civil servants in a country of 25million, I hope someone can do a comparison analysis with US, Singapore and Britain.
written by sambal muncha, September 01, 2008 15:58:01
Can any reader shed some light on the health policy and educational policy (including vocational training) in this budget?

written by jjireh99, September 01, 2008 16:10:37
yeah, buy some more buses and coaches to enrich his son's company, don't you think? Just look at the way they maintain those buses and the way they are being discarded in some junk yard!!!! I tak boleh tahan lagi-yoh!! Can the king please do something about this pm!!!!!
written by cwy, September 01, 2008 16:11:07
This budget doesn't help govt pensioner with monthly pension between RM720 to RM1500 too!
The stupid BN govt will lose the support of this category of ex-government servants and many others!
BN government has to go to hell!
written by myvoice, September 01, 2008 16:20:47
RM20.00 electricity bill...what a gimmick. Pak Tidur now ask us to use candle at home or one more option, pay to those electrical expert to alter the meter for you that control the monthly usage less than RM20 monthly.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, September 01, 2008 16:25:32
Hello Abdullah Badawi,

Ini namanya budget ulat bulu
Pemimpin main daging, rakyat main bulu
Ini budget menipu, sama macam dulu.

http://www.kerajaanrakyat.com/

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Eskay Lim, September 01, 2008 16:30:08
Budget 2009 doesn't concern nor bother me because I am not an Umnoputra.
L am a pensioner drawing a thousand ringgit with neither EPF savings nor a house & car repament.
Utility bills for water, electric, astro, telephone & broadband takes away 500 hundred. Two meals (packets) of economy rice for two sets me back for another 400 hundred, leaving a couple of hundred for petrol and lain..lain..lain.
So, this Budget doesn't concern except to change my lifestyle and further tighten our belts.Happy Merdeka 51st.
written by Malaysiaputra, September 01, 2008 16:44:16
A white wash budget to fools the rakyat. How many kampung people today who has an electric bill of rm 20 ?.

all the talk of allocation of billion of this and that to help the SMI's are just like flatus, got smell but no substance.

How many SMI's can really get their hand on the allocation ?.
written by OilMan, September 01, 2008 16:50:15
I waited in much anticipation for a people friendly budget announcement but the overall budget was rubbish. Many people that I have met saya that there is nothing to be proud of with the budget. If Badawi thin ks that his budget is fantastic then he must be crazy. There is NOTHING in the budget that we can be proud of. The budget clearly indicates that the rich will continue to become richer and the masses will suffer.
written by OilMan, September 01, 2008 16:53:12
Tax reduction during this hard times would help but......... Bodoh-Wee just doesn't give a damn about the rakyat. All UMNO,MCA, MIC, Gerakan, PBS, UPKO and other BN component parties members are........ BASTARDS and should be condemned to HELL.
written by Jack Sparrow, September 01, 2008 16:59:56
Should I laugh??? I think I will ..... Hahaha!!

What can anyone with a right mind expect from an incompetent buffon and his bontot ministers. A budget?? ..... It is more like a joke to mask the siphoning of the people's money. Usually citizens will look forward to the presentation of the National Budget with interest to see what is in store for a progressive Nation. In this case, Hah!, we all know that we will be wasting our time and it would be better to watch the "Cartoon Network" than to listen to the Budget announcement. JOKE ......
written by Steven Tan, September 01, 2008 17:03:28
Hi Marsyal,

You're absolutely rite, the budget is big BUT "their" greedyness is much much more bigger than the budget. So it doesn't matter whether the budget is RM209 Billion or RM309 Billion, the result still will be the same as long they're incharge to distribute the budget.... get what I mean?

Probably HONDA, didn't know the "ACTUAL TECHNIQUE" to ask the Tax Exemptions from them. Let say Honda offered certain percentage to "them", probably long ago they already got it.

All of us know that the government can do much much more better with such big amount of money but "they" won't do that because:- Personally they're not going to gain ($$$) anything. But with the current method "they" earn in Millions.

See, when we send our kids to local schools they're sending their kids to overseas to study. When we drive ordinary car they're driving imported luxury cars and in many cases they no need to pay for their utilities bills.

Marsyal, please observe the info shown below and then please answer this question.

After going through that info, do you still think that "they" care what kind of problems that you, me and all of our Malaysian brothers and sisters are facing??? Your answer will be the answer for your question regarding the budget
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

KUALA LUMPUR, 5 Dis (Hrkh). Slip Pendapatan Bulanan bagi Menteri Penuh Malaysia termasuk Ketua-KetuaMenteri:

1. Gaji Pokok RM18,000
2. Elaun Keraian RM10,500.00
3. Elaun Perumahan RM10,800.00
4. Elaun Wakil Rakyat RM10,650.00
5. Elaun parking RM 5,700.00
Jumlah pendapatan bulanan RM55,650.00 yang wajib diterima sama ada sakit atau tidak bekerja:- Lain-lain kemudahan

1. Bercuti keluar negara sekali setahun terutama selepas persidanganDewan Negara- semua perbelanjaan ditanggung oleh kerajaan termasuk tiketpenerbangan, hotel, duit poket sebanyak RM50,000.00. Kalau tidak bercutikeluar negara seorang menteri boleh menuntut sebanyak RM50,000.00 tanparesit.

2. Bil letrik percuma ditanggung oleh kerajaan Malaysia

3. Bil Air percuma ditanggung oleh kerajaan Malaysia

4. Bil telefon percuma ditanggung oleh kerajaan Malaysia

5. Peruntukan perkakasan dapor/perhiasan rumah dll boleh dituntutsetahun sekali sebanyak RM40,000.00

6. Sebuah kereta Mercedes S320, di lengkapi dgn telefon bimbit,satupemandu,minyak percuma.Kalau guna khidmat pemandu kementerian, dapatlahduit percuma.

7. Semua pemberian derma seperti kepada perkahwinan, kematian,ataupemberian kepada badan kebajikan kebajikan boleh dituntut.

8. Boleh mengadakan rumah terbuka setiap hari raya, segala perbelanjaanditanggung oleh kerajaan. Kebiasaan Menteri menuntut sebanyakRM400,000.00

9. Setiap menteri biasanya tuntutan mereka sebanyak RM45,000.00 semuaelaun perbelanjaan tidak termasuk elaun-elaun dalam slip pendapatanbulanan.

Slip Pendapatan Bulanan Bagi Timbalan Menteri ialah:-
1. Gaji Pokok RM15,000
2. Elaun Keraian RM9,500.00
3. Elaun Perumahan RM9,800.00
4. Elaun Wakil Rakyat RM10,650.00
5. Elaun parking RM 5,700.00 Jumlah pendapatan bulanan RM50,650.00 yang wajib terima samada sakitatau tidak hadir bertugas. Dan Menteri:-

1. Pengerusi syarikat/lembaga jabatan kerajaan
2. Pengerusi syarikat swasta yg dilantik
3. Pedapatan dari syarikat persendirian seperti kontrak dan lain-lain
4. Pendapatan dari kroni-kroni peribadi
5. Saham yang diberi khas oleh kerajaan sebanyak 300,000 unit setiapmasa.
6. Tidak termasuk dari pendapatan luar negara
7. Lain-lain sumber

Kata pemberi maklumat (penghantar emel tersebut) diatas adalahberdasarkan tangga gaji seorang menteri pada tahun 1999 dan padapendapatnya terdapat sedikit sebanyak perubahan sehingga sekarang.
written by OilMan, September 01, 2008 17:17:16
This is exactly what is being mentioned by Robert Kiysaki in his his. The Rat Race, and BN is making the Rakyat RATS.
written by marsyal, September 01, 2008 18:53:21
Dear Stephen,

Elaun parking RM5,700?? where on earth do they park their cars?

Here we are trying to make our ends meet, come April still have to korek, korek for some extra $$ to pay income tax and these goons simply splurge our hard earn income tax away.

I remembered last time TDM complained about his salary is so much below compared to the heads of GLCs, but their allowances is 10x more than salary plus all other expenses are claimable.

Off course, all those are nothing compared to the current Budget 2009 they allocated for themselves.
written by Steven Tan, September 01, 2008 20:11:30
Hi Marsyal,

It's not that where they park their car or whether purchase a car but the entire idea is for them to earn (directly or indirectly).....ultimately end of the day it's their personal benefit and how much wealth that they're making.

So now tell me, do you think they need to worry about the increase of the electricity, water bill and phone bill when they're getting it for free?

Tell me, do you think they need to worry about the increase of the fuel price, when they're getting it for free?

Tell me, do you think they need to worry when the price of food and everything increasing when they're getting $400,000 for their open house function yearly, furniture allowance $40,000 yearly, $50,000 holiday allowance yearly, other allowance $45,000 yearly and sooooo many other benefits.

Well, this is what has being going on for the past 51 years and that's why badly they don't want to give up and finds all the ways to sustain in power, otherwise how to channeled the $$$ to their cronies and family members. And that's the reason why the end result of the budget is like that. Get what I mean Marsyal smilies/grin.gif
written by megabigblur, September 01, 2008 23:04:22
"For Lucy Lau, 22, a hardware store owner, she felt that the incentives announced was not going to benefit her business. Instead, it could lead to poorer business in her shop."

Sorry for her and other small business owners, but the decrease in profit they will make will be offset by the benefits of fewer people being hospitalized and dying of LUNG CANCER. Hopefully she can find something else to sell.
written by Sabahfan, September 01, 2008 23:52:54

For 50 years, all the budget announced by the UMNO govt had never even give me any benefits

All I know is I pay 4 months salary in taxes and get nothing in return

Protection by police? fat chance, I made a total of 10 police report on muy housed being burgled, not one was ever solved by the police. They cant even protoect me from the illegal bugis polipins.

I got no education assistance even though i am a sabah bumiputra, unsliced lancau.

Instead I am a victim of NEP, worse than the chinese or indians. so what is it for me to sing about BN budget? NOTHING

All i am waiting for now is dying peacefully, maybe i get better life in the nedst world.
written by bbmars, September 01, 2008 23:55:45
Frankly, I find the ta issue here doesn't benefit most of the locals. Simple reason, it was reported in 2006 SG business time last year, the no. of Malaysians paying tax were
written by HJ Angus, September 02, 2008 00:40:27
Apart from the Budget that becomes more a vehicle to increase government spending by rewarding the excess civil servants, we should take a closer look at the Auditor-General's Annual Report of Horrors.

http://malaysiawatch3.********...nting.html
written by Vasily, September 02, 2008 00:58:48
ini bukan pembebtangan baget, yg di bentangkan oleh makluk-makhluk laknat tu ialah berapa banyak duit negara yg boleh masuk kocek diorang, anak menantu & kroni2 diaorg secara sah....tak haram, tak berdosa...