Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PM Abdullah issues defiant message on M’sia’s national day

PM Abdullah issues defiant message on M’sia’s national day PDF Print
Monday, 01 September 2008 10:39

Malaysia’s embattled Prime Minister appealed for the nation’s support as the country celebrated 51 years of independence yesterday in the face of economic woes and opposition plans to topple the government within weeks.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, who has faced calls to quit from within his own party after failing to check the rise of the opposition, led by Mr Anwar Ibrahim of the Parti Keadilan Rakyat, urged the country to remain united as it faced high inflation and a global slowdown.

“I am confident and believe that all the trials we are facing today can be overcome if we remain united and work together with firm determination,” Mr Abdullah said in a National Day (Merdeka Day) message yesterday.

“The world ... is impressed with Malaysia because not many countries with a multi-racial population exist with tolerance, peace and harmony.”

Mr Abdullah also referred indirectly to the threat by Mr Anwar’s plans to topple the government with parliamentary defections.

“A united people is a strong national bulwark against any threat, whether from within or outside the country,” he said in his speech.

Mr Abdullah’s Barisan Nasional (BN) Coalition has been in power since independence from Britain 51 years ago.

BN was dealt its worst ever setback in March general elections that handed the opposition five states and a third of parliamentary seats.

In June, a stunned nation heard of an accusation by a young male aide who claimed he was sodomised by Mr Anwar, who was convicted and jailed on the same charge about a decade ago. His conviction was overturned later. Mr Anwar says he was a victim of a political conspiracy both times.

Mr Anwar returned to Parliament last week after winning a by-election, and has said he would oust the BN government by the middle of this month. He has accused the government of corruption and poor management of the economy.

“Now, 51 years after independence, we are once again at a junction. We see ... democracy trampled on and the institution of the state made into a tool for power,” Mr Anwar said in a statement.

“It is time Malaysians made that choice to return the meaning of independence to this country.”

As part of the Merdeka celebrations, a colourful parade with dances by Malaysia’s three main ethnic groups — majority Malays and minority Chinese and Indians — passed through the historic Dataran Merdeka, or Independence Square.

Mr Abdullah last Friday offered tax cuts and perks in a 2009 budget designed to restore support for the beleaguered coalition and spur growth.

On Saturday, a gathering of religious leaders representing various faiths was held on Merdeka Day for the first time, The Star newspaper reported. Mr Abdullah said he wanted such a gathering to be held annually as part of the country’s National Day celebrations.

“This is a historic moment for all of us,” he told the gathering of some 300 religious leaders and representatives of various faith groups.

“We will see if there are opportunities for discussions to be held among the religious leaders.” Agencies

Comments (35)Add Comment
written by sjs, September 01, 2008 10:54:05
Abdullah Ahmad Badawi,

It is very unfortunate that Malaysia has produced two of the most talked about alumni from Oxford University!

Sufiah Yusuf, a Math genius turned hooker, who believes everything in life is sex!
Khairy Jamaludin (Your son-in-law) a corrupted UMNO leader, who believes everything in life, is money and power!

Fortunately Malaysia has also produced the likes of Anwar Ibrahim, whose lecturing career at Oxford University have benefited many students worldwide!
agree 155
written by IbnAbdHalim, September 01, 2008 10:54:13
“The world ... is impressed with Malaysia because not many countries with a multi-racial population exist with tolerance, peace and harmony.”

Masuk bakul sendiri angkatkah? Who's impressed? Who said? I heard only Hang Lah said. Hang Lah dah sakit. Hey, what about Ahmad Ismail? Tolerant? You make people puke.
agree 123
written by prof, September 01, 2008 11:08:49
“I am confident and believe that all the trials we are facing today can be overcome if we remain united and work together with firm determination,” Mr Abdullah said in a National Day (Merdeka Day) message yesterday.

Mr Abdullah Badawi only a sleeping PM like you believes in your own silly and impossible dreams. Malaysians are not easily convinced by your false talks and empty promises. You call yourself a religious scholar but you don't even understand what are the dos and donts which a Muslim leader should allow to happen in his adminstration and jursidiction. Go back to your pondok and sleep your whole life!

written by arazak, September 01, 2008 11:13:28
The rakyaat have given you mendate since 2004. You fail miserably. In fact you slept too much in your line of duty.

So . . ., we gave you an ultimatum; "Shape up or Ship out". Still you are not up to the mark (example, corruption amongst your UMNO/BN regime are still rampant).

Time to pack your bag and leave . . . , please leave!!!
written by non conformist, September 01, 2008 11:13:48
"On Saturday, a gathering of religious leaders representing various faiths was held on Merdeka Day for the first time, The Star newspaper reported. Mr Abdullah said he wanted such a gathering to be held annually as part of the country’s National Day celebrations."

The gathering is just a vain show to impress blind fools like himself. There is no real recognition and respect for the God-given right and liberty and freedom to embrace any religion of one's own conviction.

The racist UMNO is oppressive and repressive and intolerant against the freedom of others to embrace and exercise other religions without harassment and deprivation.
written by non conformist, September 01, 2008 11:15:26

One wonder whether the author of these words has become so misguided or so senile that he doesn't have any sense of what's going on!
written by indianputra, September 01, 2008 11:16:46
My dear PM,

Expectations from you, by the Rakyat was very high when you took over the premiership. We thought, with your docile attitude and high integrity, Malaysia will flourish further. But my dear PM, what happened?

UNDER YOUR ADMINISTRATION FROM 2004

1) Malaysia has become a laughing stock of the developed world
2) The corruption is at it's zenith
3) There is absolutely no governance in Malaysia
4) For the first time, the former PM and your UMNO leaders are asking you to step down
5) While you are flying around in a 200 million private jet, the Rakyat are suffering because of the high food prices
6) The stock market has plummetted
7) You are still unable to fix the judiciary crisis
smilies/cool.gif You hunted down and send 5 Indians to ISA while all they were trying to do was to highlight to you the deplorable conditions of Indians in Malaysia
9) The attitude of some of your Ministers are obnoxious and everytime they open their mouths they are angering the Rakyat

Pak lah, enough lah, enough is enough. Just quit NOW or call for a General Election. Do that as a favor for the Rakyat
written by Umm Adzka, September 01, 2008 11:18:10
kesian pak lah.. tapi siapa suruh buat perangai camtu

what goes around comes around

http://umm.adzka.com/
written by Mangan, September 01, 2008 11:19:24
Unity?! What unity are you talking about Mr. Inspektor Sa’ab, if there’s still inequality in this country?
written by wartank, September 01, 2008 11:19:53
Being a fence-sitter for the best part of my 20 voting years, I've seen enough to know what have been transpiring throughout the years.

The thing about being a fence sitter, you not only can see both sides of the fence, you can also see clearer and further.
As evident in recent events, we know where I, like many fence sitters decided to climb down from the fence to. smilies/wink.gif
written by InEffective, September 01, 2008 11:30:46
Under the pretense of governing, these politicians have divided the nation into 2 classes - extorters and the extortees. Only malaysian politicians can devour their own kind with a unity of multi-cultural flavor - with the politicians preying over the rakyat.
written by Dhan, September 01, 2008 11:32:21
Has Jean not hinted already of the snubs, sneers, snickers and whispers behind her back?

We dare you to do your best Badawi, try and impose an emergency to sustain your collapsing regime! You'll be snubbed by the Agong and chased out of the palace.

Nobody cares for you, umno, the police or threats and pleas. No more moral authority. No more legitimacy. An election was stolen from us. Just get lost!
written by nowinnofee, September 01, 2008 11:35:47
my reply to this.....really tell that to the fat man who sings!!!!...come on now Pak Lah...go and look at the UITM banner in Shah Alam which in huge capital words stated UITM hak exclusive untuk orang Melayu.....
Take a leaf from our MB of Selangor who is advocating unity in education.
written by Tom n Jerry, September 01, 2008 11:51:39
Correct sjs!Sex.money;power;thats all there is to UMNO ;nothing else matters;one stupid boy*s arsehole can keep the whole UMNO busy with false allegations;one funny vagina can keep the whole UMNO occupied with her career(hooker);anus & vagina very important in UMNO;but mouth not important;thats why Ahmad can talk like this*chinese squatting in Malaysia*For chinese there is a saying*you can simply eat rice whatever way you want,but you simply cannot talk anyway you like*Watch out your mouth,Bangsa *babi hutan* smilies/angry.gif
written by Sitora, September 01, 2008 12:01:38
This man Abdullah Badawi is a Pak Pandir. His actions may bring destruction to the nation. Not only members of the oppositions, but also UMNO would like him to step down.
written by ahmadneil, September 01, 2008 12:25:26
We are not impress at all with his speech.
written by cinatmanis, September 01, 2008 12:34:49
Abdulah is living in his dream world where everyone is ‘impress’ with Malaysia, and he is confident in his dream that Malaysia will be united.

In the real world while he is sleeping, Umno and BN is visibly faltering.

This nut brain PM is insulting himself but not even knowing it. Wonder who help him to come up with the ‘reading’ script.

written by my oumrie, September 01, 2008 12:51:26
What Bodowi means by multi racial living in harmony is each race live in their own racial enclave side by side with other racial enclaves. The Malays attend Kebangsaan school, the Chinese attend (C) schools & Indians attend (H) school etc. They only come together during Merdeka, but sticking in their various racial groups and never mingling with one another. The Malay children brought up in homes where parents told them they shouldn't mix with other races especially chinese cos "depa makan babi" thus unclean. Pity Malays don't teach their children to beware of corruption, since its rife amongst the Malays. Pity too they don't teach their children that its morally & religiously wrong to cheat non-Malays. My English practising Muslim husband is always being cheated by Malay vendors cos they think he's non Muslim! Then we get the adverts on t.v. showing the 3 main races playing together - all bluff cos they're actors and paid to act! Hey Bodowi - read this and weep! PORRAH!
written by jjireh99, September 01, 2008 12:57:13
you all will be shocked to know that I have finally register to vote 2 days ago! After 50 years (that's how old I am), I've decided to vote! Yes, I have been a fence sitter like some of you said. Know why? I just don't want to vote for BN all my eligible life. See, NOW i WANT TO VOTE. KNOW WHY? I WANT TO VOTE FOR PR!!!! THAT IS WHY!!!!! SO, MY TIMING IS JUST PERFECT! 50 YEARS i HAVE BEEN A FENCE SITTER AND i AM GLAD i DID NOT GET A CHANCE TO VOTE. THE ONLY REGRET I HAVE NOW IS EVEN IF I COULD VOTE, I SHOULD HAVE VOTED FOR DAP, NEEDLESS TO SAY!
written by Ulan Benson, September 01, 2008 12:59:38

"Alamak...you forgot to add this..."the world is also very impressed with saifool's ass, how we use C4 on a mongolia model, how we plundered billion of Raykat $$$$...and

"“This is a historic moment for all of us,” he told the gathering of some 300 religious leaders and representatives of various faith groups. "

Malaysia's historic moment is...when you,Nashit, SemiValue, Pariahnavel, OKT,OKChuan,kHairy...etc all go to jail!
written by mali, September 01, 2008 13:56:01
to all tax payer (myself included)
stop harbouring the dream of less tax!!
where else they can get money to feed the gomen staff (i dont agree with term civil servants bcos majority are not civil)
private sector dont make profit, no bonus! but msia gomen?? Najib says can appeal for COLA (he means can "bargain")
those whom are not rich enuf to migrate, only one thing we can do. i.e. have a stronger alternative party (i dont agree with term opposition bcos thry dont oppose goodness)
monoply is EVEIL - Puspakom & TM are good examples!
written by Tok Din, September 01, 2008 13:58:43
The 51 years of Independence has brought great progress as a nation. We cannot deny that the multi-racial Alliance and BN Governments had made significant contributions to the country. But tide and tide wait for no man. We are now living in a different era of intensified global competition. We need a government which can prepare every citizen, regardless of race, religion or cultural differences to compete successful and win for the country.

Since BN has lost its vision and its way forward, it is the only honorable thing for someone else to assume that position. Malaysians are grateful and honorable people and we expect our leaders to do the honorable thing as well. Please heed our appeals.
written by mutafaca, September 01, 2008 14:46:00
YES, we are united againts you and your people.. smilies/cheesy.gif
and we are confident with you out of the office, Malaysia would be a better place.
written by PAKRAK, September 01, 2008 15:10:09
The rakyat is ever ready for the opposition to form a new government. Why should we, the rakyat, support you and be united when you can treat us like servants and slaves. Now you are begging us! GO TO HELL!!!
written by rams609, September 01, 2008 15:40:44
I HATE TO SEE THE FACE. I HATE TO HEAR THE VOICE. I HEARD NOTHING! GIMME A BREAK. GIMME A PISSPOT I WANNA PUKE.
written by sambal muncha, September 01, 2008 15:41:09
With due respect, just open your heart and listen to your own voice, AAB. Now can you honestly say that all is a OK in Malaysia?

written by shangrilapeace, September 01, 2008 17:05:17
This is the worst Merdeka day I have come across. No flags on cars, elderly religious people standing under the sun parading, days old budget benefiting the govt servants only and RM2000 small 'fish' publicity!
Anwar, God speed!
written by qwerty, September 01, 2008 17:12:45
Sambal muncha,

That fella where got heart one!!
written by ibabonma, September 01, 2008 17:25:28
Bodohwi, tipu dalam election boleh, lompat party tak boleh? Bangak plus bingung = bodoh.
written by razzwill, September 01, 2008 20:07:42
written by sjs, September 01, 2008 | 10:54:05
Abdullah Ahmad Badawi,

It is very unfortunate that Malaysia has produced two of the most talked about alumni from Oxford University!

Sufiah Yusuf, a Math genius turned hooker, who believes everything in life is sex!
Khairy Jamaludin (Your son-in-law) a corrupted UMNO leader, who believes everything in life, is money and power!

SJS, I beg to differ! At least Sufiah is honest and upfront about her ambitions and works hard to achieve her dreams, causing as little hurt as possible to people around her.

You can't say the same about some of our politicians!
written by omarkhayyam, September 01, 2008 22:53:54
i am as impressed as saya-fool is impressed of his arse

written by Rohani Hitam, September 02, 2008 00:47:17
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hmmmm.....no, not right. I have many discussions with our neighbours and some western nations and we are well known instead for corruption, discrimination, brain drain, abuse of foreign labourers, poor English, weak government and beholden judiciary.
written by Rohani Hitam, September 02, 2008 00:51:47
We are supposed to be more wealthier than Singapore. But due to many leakages, we remain poor. But UMNO and their boot lickers escape poverty because they are part of a big net that filter the leakages.
written by Rohani Hitam, September 02, 2008 01:00:56
Be like the Japs or the Koreans,

Once the country failed to tackle corruption and scandals within the judiciary, the PM steps down. With skin as thick as the Airbus fuselage, what hope do we have?
written by Casphere, September 02, 2008 02:55:13
I gotta say this : PM, DPM, their like-minded henchmen and wenches, are all infected with the SYOK SENDIRI SYNDROME/VIRUS. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif

All living in their little bubble world where they're assuming we think the worold of them when we'd just LOVE to give them their dues in hell!