Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow KL Gerakan in indefinite 'lock-down'

KL Gerakan in indefinite 'lock-down' PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 01 September 2008 10:03

(NST) - Federal Territory Kuala Lumpur Gerakan has been placed in an indefinite state of "lock-down".

Unlike the states, there will be no elections for Kuala Lumpur Gerakan on Sunday.

The existing organisation and leadership have been "frozen" under orders from the party's central working committee.

Acting party president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon, who leads the CWC, has been made caretaker chairman of Kuala Lumpur Gerakan, replacing Datuk Dr Tan Kee Kwong who was suspended when he accepted an offer from the Selangor Pakatan Rakyat government to head a task force on land matters.

The decision was made known to the Kuala Lumpur Gerakan leadership via a letter signed by secretary-general Datuk Seri Chia Kwang Chye in July, about two months after Tan's suspension.

Sources said the letter cited "restructuring and reorganisation" as the reason for the lock-down.

While the main Kuala Lumpur Gerakan committee has been barred from holding elections, its Youth and Wanita wings can proceed with theirs but only on Sept 28.

It was also revealed that the "restructuring and reorganisation" in question was in reality the CWC's plan to "parachute" in national leaders who lost in the last general election. The goal: make Kuala Lumpur the Gerakan's new permanent power base to mount a political comeback.

"Our party put all our eggs in one basket. The basket that was Penang fell, so now the leaders are looking at the Federal Territory as the new basket," said an insider.

Despite Gerakan losing the three parliamentary seats it last held in the Federal Territory (Kepong, Batu and Segambut) and the Barisan Nasional all but one of 11 Kuala Lumpur seats in the last elections, the CWC's reasoning is that because no one can claim ownership over Kuala Lumpur, the party will never have to face the embarrassment of being run out of its own state, like what happened after March 8.

However, such reasoning also seems to suggest that the CWC is not confident in regaining Penang -- Gerakan's traditional stronghold -- from the DAP.

Incidentally, its headquarters, Menara Parti Gerakan Rakyat Malaysia, is in Cheras.

The move to make national leaders the de facto committee for Kuala Lumpur Gerakan is expected to be announced at the party's national delegates conference.

While resistance is expected from the current Kuala Lumpur Gerakan leadership, the move, it is learned, will be sold to the national delegates as a necessary decision for the greater good and survival of the party.

However, some believe there is another motive for the lock-down.

"They (CWC) know that the majority of the Kuala Lumpur Gerakan leaders are Dr Tan's (Kee Kwong) loyalists. They sympathise with his decision to take up Pakatan Rakyat's offer and many of them even object to his suspension," the source said.

"Many of the leaders are also 'jealous' that Pakatan seems to be achieving many of Gerakan's goals in a short time. They are beginning to see that Gerakan may be better off with the opposition than BN. As a result, the CWC is worried of this and has decided to 'cold storage' them," said a CWC member.

A Kuala Lumpur Gerakan leader agreed with this assessment.

"We believe in Gerakan, its ideology and its history. Our hope is that the top leadership will consider moving out of BN. We hope to convince them at the national delegates conference in October.

"If not, more of us might join Dr Tan, Datuk Dr Toh Kin Woon and Datuk Lee Kah Choon in quitting the party."

Lee, formerly deputy secretary-general, was forced to resign from all party posts in April after taking up DAP's offer of a post with the Penang Development Corporation and as director of investPenang.

Dr Toh, a former CWC member, resigned on Aug 18 after his endorsement of opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as Permatang Pauh's member of parliament drew flak from the party leadership.
written by macanhitam, September 01, 2008 10:05:26
whoa, this is serious shit man!
written by 1351, September 01, 2008 10:33:39
To all CWC and lay idiots of Gerakan,

Your parents didn't give birth to you to bring dishonour to the family name so choose your 'friends' with care - lest you are guilty by association.

Guilty of what you might ponder ?!?! Well, here is a clue ..... your master is a racist entity, biggest thieving thug in the history of M'sia and lets not forget - got blood on their hands !!!!

If that Koh fella' or senior mentor that Yik son of a gun wants to forsake his children's future by playing possum - let 'em be 'cos their names already so 'suay'. The rest of you better start finding better friends and a new ship if your intention is to remain in politics in service of the public.

And stop fooling yourselves that your present master operates on that(service to the people) notion.

Regards
written by krising1, September 01, 2008 10:42:56
Gerakan members, tell Koh Tsu Koon to keep the branch locked down. You all can join the PKR today. Do this in National interest. Koh Tsu Koon will come to his senses and join you all when it really sinks in that BN and Gerakan will disappear from the face of this earth.
written by ganbing, September 01, 2008 10:43:20
Gerakan has no future under Koh Tsu Koon who is totally subservient to Umno. Koh will turn Gerakan into another PPP in BN.
written by PenangHokkienKia, September 01, 2008 10:56:25
They should lock-down Gerakan as a whole. Tutup kedai saje-lah with that kind of leadership and mentality.
written by Engineer, September 01, 2008 11:14:47
Gerakan is in a big dilemma,

Many had already made their choice, but some still could not decide as the reward of corruption is high.

Choose Righteousness or Corruption.

written by FFT, September 01, 2008 11:32:25
Dear Gerakan,

Nazism is so last century.

Make the right choice and stop being the running dog of UMNO. There is really no point in continuing to play the role of Miklós Horthy to the Hitlers in UMNO and the other Axis parties of BN.
written by wi5hb0ne, September 01, 2008 12:03:35
I agree with Engineer. From my perspective, I think Gerakan leaders could not jump ship as most of them are being tied up by the Umno goons. Once they jump, they will be slapped with corruption and other offences as we all already know. See wat happened to SAPP.
written by asguard, September 01, 2008 12:07:56
Gerakan will remained a servant if it decides to remained within BN .. there is no future within the sinking ship.... there is no other option... but to set itself free.... once again...
written by alberttan, September 01, 2008 12:15:12
KTK is a eunuch of the worst kind and running dog-bitch to his UMNO masters. After being run out of Penang, KTK is trying to make HIMSELF relevant in his usual bent-over style by 'tricking' Gerakan members with unnatural UMNO-style politics. Gerakan members will do better to vote him out, collars and all, and join Pakatan.
No, I would not call KTK a Nazi as he is clueless, I just think he loved being sodomised repeatedly by his UMNO masters, and prostituting his Gerakan members at the same time. Let us see what Gerakan members will do.
written by cheekhiaw, September 01, 2008 13:16:01
Koh Tsu Goon thinks he can lock people's minds and hopes down?

written by gctham, September 01, 2008 13:50:29
"We believe in Gerakan, its ideology and its history. Our hope is that the top leadership will consider moving out of BN. We hope to convince them at the national delegates conference in October.

"If not, more of us might join Dr Tan, Datuk Dr Toh Kin Woon and Datuk Lee Kah Choon in quitting the party."

Yes this is exactly what Gerakan should do, if you can not have equal say in BN there is no meaning. And it is definitely no future of Gerakan staying with BN, the only way out is pull out or simply resolve the party.
written by kclim2, September 01, 2008 14:03:57
Gerakan should disband itself and its members join PKR for a better future for all malaysians!
written by Lim Lim, September 01, 2008 16:05:27
they couldn't even kowtim that AhMad fart from bukit bendera;what can u anticipate then from these gerakans??nothing! as a matter of facts.
written by shangrilapeace, September 01, 2008 16:27:33
Koh Tsu Goon had display his 'brain' in the Lim Guan Eng debate and if Gerakan leaders failed to grasp his poor performances, God bless them.
He failed to miserably to retain Penang, their stronghold. It's a lost fight & to gain KL? Ha.. ha.. Fat hope!
Follow Dr Tan, Dr Toh Kin Woon and Lee Kah Choon & don't waste even your breath under a sleeping regime. A Lock Down is a blessing in disguise!
Go, go and go quickly! God speed!
written by shangrilapeace, September 01, 2008 16:45:04
Lim Keng Yaik, the only word you can say and be 100% humble is 'SORRY'
Forget what you think, what you advice and plan. It didn't worked last time & even so now. You are Gerakan and to be blamed for dashing our hopes especially the Penang people.
You are numb all the time. I blamed you 50% and MCA 50% for being a 'dog'
Just can't reisted writing this.
written by SocratesI, September 01, 2008 17:08:54

New basket ?? Kuala Lumpur ??

It is OBVIOUS GERAKAN is a basket-case !! Why not disband and divide the assets out, or better still, jettison your useless spineless leader, KTK, and join PAKATAN RAKYAT ?!! We have 3 parties for you to choose from, or else move the whole of Gerakan to Pakatan and form a 4th party under Pakatan RAKYAT ... at least you will have the PEOPLE'S MANDATE, then.

Otherwise, Gerakan is a basket-case that is NOT going to survive !

written by ultraman, September 01, 2008 17:56:35
However, such reasoning also seems to suggest that the CWC is not confident in regaining Penang -- Gerakan's traditional stronghold -- from the DAP

How to win Pg again?
1. Land scandals plenty left behind for LIM Guan Eng to clean up.
2. After defeat, the excos cabut together with all the dubious files and I heard from some, some state owned computers pun sudah habis removed.
3. The Tanjung Fund, instead of giving awaty to the poor in pg, was channeled to Bakti. So much for the Gerakan love for Penang! Ha!Ha!

My advice: Gerakan be dissolved!!!!
written by ez24get, September 01, 2008 18:19:21
Gerakan should realise that the reality is, with or without Abdullah, UMNO top leaders will continue to promote the racial supremacy agenda of ketuanan Melayu. Whether it is Badawi’s deputy Najib Abdul Razak or vice-president Muhyiddin Yassin, or even an outside challenger such as Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah is the one to lead Umno, the problem remains the same.

It started with Hishammuddin’s brandishing his keris at the Youth wing’s assembly, demolishing of temples, detention of the HINDRAF 5, Islam conversion issues and many more insensitive actions which angered the non-Malays. One may excuse UMNO for the short sightedness and arrogance displayed before the tsunami on March 8, 2008 due to ignorance of the strong resentments felt by the non-malays towards UMNO.

But after the big message sent by the Rakyat on March 8, UMNO has not, a wee bit remorseful or repented but instead step up racial politics to even greater heights by dividing the peace loving Malaysians and uttering racial slurs. UMNO’s bad attitude hasn’t changed at all!

In post March 8, we saw the following but nothing concrete is being done to resolve the issues:

- Perak UMNO state assemblywoman Hamidah Osman made a racist remark against the Indian community
-UMNO division chief, Ahmad Ismail, calling the Chinese “squatters” and “as the Chinese were only immigrants it was impossible to achieve equal rights amongst races” at a ceramah during the Permatang Pauh by-election. The fact that Ahmad has refused to apologise when facing the wrath of the Chinese community showed how recalcitrant, arrogant and insensitive UMNO is to a multiracial society
-Storming of the Bar Council forum discussing problematic issues on Islam conversion.
-Objecting to inter-faith conferences
-Holding of discussion UMNO leaders with PAS on Malay power sharing without consulting and side lining the other BN component parties.

UMNO leaders are not concerned with its BN component parties and neither are they interested with the rest of the country over the issue of reforms in Malaysia. It just cares about its own survival and the continuation of the supply of the gravy train.

From the top to the bottom of the UMNO hierarchy, the cry of reform simply means to get rid of Badawi and to strengthen the Ketuanan Melayu agenda. No one in UMNO is really serious about removing "corruption, abuses of the NEP, the erosion of the judiciary and injustices done to the other races economically and religiously" which is what the Rakyat wants!

Why should Gerakan, MCA and MIC remain in BN and help UMNO in its quest for ketuanan Melayu and tolerate UMNO’s blatant display of arrogance that it is the master and the rest are slaves? UMNO is now rudderless and sinking like the titanic and it will bring the BN component parties down with it if they do not repent and deflect from the sinking ship.

When Gerakan associate itself with a "bad" party like UMNO, it will also be rotten by that bad apple. Just look at Koh Tsu Koon! At one time he is considered as one of the better good guys among the BN component party. What is his standing now in the eyes of Malaysian now? People will spit when they hear his name. Why? Because he slept in the same bed as UMNO! If this could happen to KTK, don't you think Malaysians would be angrier with the rest of the BN component parties who sold their sold to UMNO?

The faster Gerakan disassociates itself with UMNO, the better your chances of redeeming yourself in the eyes of all Malaysians!

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009