Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Merdeka Candlelight Vigil at Fisherman’s Wharf

Merdeka Candlelight Vigil at Fisherman’s Wharf PDF Print
Monday, 01 September 2008 09:37

Candlelight

A Merdeka Candlelight Vigil was held at Fisherman’s Wharf in Taman Desa on Merdeka Day, 31 August 2008, in remembrance of those many detainees who are not yet merdeka and are still under Internal Security Act (ISA) detention in the Kamunting Detention Centre

written by wartank, September 01, 2008 10:13:31
Are we truly free if we're not even accorded the rights of our voice?
What are we actually free from then?

That's why the Rakyat opted for a change.
Let's then take some time to stand up for those who fight and had fought for our rights.
written by InEffective, September 01, 2008 10:49:45

Disgusting evil politicians coercing and pressurizing citizens.

And we have rulers pontificating about constitution, laws, and merdeka - we sure have the supreme 'developed' minds in malaysia.

No understanding of what defines leadership.

This nation has been shortchanged by incapable governance and the undeveloped mind.
(we undoubtedly would have been better off under british administration)
written by cheekhiaw, September 01, 2008 12:34:12
RE-DEFINING MOMENT

What we have is not governance.

Littered with so many thieves, liars and murderers in positions of power, what we have is goonvernance.

written by FFT, September 01, 2008 12:51:21
Just keep this in mind....if September 16th materializes, the Pakatan government will need the ISA to maintain short-term peace, order and stability, by detaining hundreds of UMNO members, supporters and sympathizers, including their trouble causing lackeys from other BN parties.

Also included in this net should be high ranking civil servants from the police force, judiciary, and other key institutions who can foment immediate instability.

Other than the above, the first act of the Pakatan government should be the corralling of Mahathir and a few of his core supporters to prevent any possibility of a May 13th type race riot exploding in the face of a new Malaysia.

The civil society movements have good intentions, but unfortunately UMNO and their ilk don't share your civilized ways. They are wild animals and should be treated as such.
written by A MI, September 01, 2008 13:56:29
Does anyone here know the etymology for the word MERDEKA. I know the Malay language has many borrowed words from English, Sankrit, Portuguese, Dutch, Indonesian and indigenous languages of Sabah and Sarawak. So where is MERDEKA from?
written by A MI, September 01, 2008 14:00:12
written by FFT, September 01, 2008 | 12:51:21
Just keep this in mind....if September 16th materializes, the Pakatan government will need the ISA to maintain short-term peace, order and stability, by detaining hundreds of UMNO members, supporters and sympathizers, including their trouble causing lackeys from other BN parties.

Agreed 100% I meant to post this too.
written by ctm999, September 01, 2008 14:26:12
If 916 is possible, pakatan must never use ISA against anyone even if it is for a short while. If we do then we are no different from those that we disposed of. This is the dilemma Batman face, this is the same dilemma all good guy face. I'm sure YB Kit would agree.
written by Nyghtsky, September 01, 2008 14:34:04
Forget ISA. Because of recent development, it's become a toothless tiger.

Mark my words... its ACA that is now being used as the corrupt "Gomen" tool against the opposition and its just getting started!

written by PAKRAK, September 01, 2008 15:16:33
God bless all those who fought for our rights but were unlawfully detained by the government without a fair trial. We hope they will be released soon to rejoin their long awaited families when Pakatan Rakyat forms a new government.
PM appealed for nation's support and loyalty in the face of economic woes and recession. Rakyat did not create all these problems. It is the whole damn fault of the UMNO/BN goons. Filthy arrogant and treat the rakyat like servants/slaves but when they want votes and support they come for help. GO TO HELL!!!
written by SocratesI, September 01, 2008 16:32:38

Merdeka ?? That is a laugh ! When the Japanese oppressors took off, and the British colonials went back to Britain, we were free from foreign rule and were independent, yes, but ever since the new UMNO was formed with Maha-Shithead ta the reins of power, we have been ENSLAVED by this despotic DICTATOR, who robbed us of our independent Judiciary, then, used ISA for his own political ends, and the same for OSA, PPPA, and making illegal public assembly to MUZZLE the RAKYAT, while spewing state propaganda and separatist policies and practising racial politics to divide & rule the people of Malaysia.

After 23 plus years of being shackled by Maha-Shithead and now Bodohwi's regimes, how can we "celebrate" Merdeka ?!! We should fly our Jalur Gemilang at HALF MAST to mourn the DEATH of DEMOCRACY in Malaysia !!

written by Uncorruptible, September 01, 2008 16:48:39
I will NEVER celebrate Merdeka until we are finally free from the latest colonialists who took over from the British -umno, the evil, corrupted and murderous !!!
written by OilMan, September 01, 2008 17:38:06
The citizens of Malaysia must be reminded continuously that the evil government especially Syed Hamid Albar has people in cages for wanting equlity as Malaysians. Shame on the BN people........ again I say the BN people are bas00rds
written by Sabahfan, September 01, 2008 23:46:57

MEREDEKA OR MATIKAH?

ALL MEANINGLESS WHILE peoples freedom and human rights are abused by the Ketuanan Melayu?

So all malaysians wake up... the only way we can get the real Merdeka is to BURY UMNO for good. Burn them and send them to hell
written by FFT, September 02, 2008 03:43:27
written by ctm999, September 01, 2008 | 14:26:12
If 916 is possible, pakatan must never use ISA against anyone even if it is for a short while. If we do then we are no different from those that we disposed of. This is the dilemma Batman face, this is the same dilemma all good guy face. I'm sure YB Kit would agree.

Your assumption is that by playing by the rules, you will succeed. The Pakatan government will probably be the most short lived government in world history if it doesn't take care of certain elements from UMNO and their ilk.

Do you think Nazis like UMNO Bukit Bendera's Ahmad Ismail ("Cina menumpang" fame) will go quietly into the night? These are the kind of pond scum who will burn the country down before they cede any power.

Funny....you quote the dilemma faced by the Batman character in The Dark Knight. Perhaps you forgot the part where he utilized Draconian police state tactics to spy on the entire city via the cellular network in order to find the Joker.

You can't make an omelet without breaking some eggs. Pakatan needs to be prepared to break some BN and UMNO eggs as soon as they take over the government.
written by KUMON, September 03, 2008 23:41:58
Is that you William Arul! smilies/grin.gif