Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow The Anwar saga: Fear-driven politics?

The Anwar saga: Fear-driven politics? PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 31 August 2008 19:14

Meanwhile the country faces high inflation from soaring oil prices, causing misery to the people and bringing uncertainty to its economy with a possible fall in investor confidence. 

Baladas Ghoshal, The Jakarta Post

Even as Anwar Ibrahim ensures himself a seat in parliament Tuesday and comes closer to realizing his ambition to become prime minister, no one is sure whether he will be allowed to in view of the controversy raging through the country over fresh sodomy charges.

Malaysian politics is getting murkier with every passing day and its characteristic intrigues and scandals are repeating once again. Meanwhile the country faces high inflation from soaring oil prices, causing misery to the people and bringing uncertainty to its economy with a possible fall in investor confidence.

It's deja vu, recalling a similar drama in 1998 when the political battle was fought not on principles but on cliques, conspiracies and sleazy scandals. One decade later it is playing out exactly the same with more or less the same cast of characters. The only difference is, while in 1998 Prime Minister Mahatir initiated and led the assault against Anwar, this time we do not know who is behind the current drama and what role Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is likely to play.

Anwar was charged with sodomy a decade ago, spent a number of years in jail and saw his political career ruined. He is once again in the center of the drama, being charged with sodomy with one of his aides, arrested for a day and then freed on bail. The sword of Damocles still hangs over him. Unlike his sacking and arrest in 1998, which drew tens of thousands onto the streets, there was scant show of public support for Anwar this time around.

Anwar's impatience to be prime minister will probably cost him dearly again as it did in 1998 when he challenged his boss Mahatir. Possibly goaded by his supporters and spin doctors, Anwar is committing the same 1998 mistake by pushing the incumbent prime minister and his team to the wall. We can't but expect them to push back a la Mahatir.

Anwar was the darling of Mahatir who helped him to supersede many other claimants to the position he reached. Given a little patience, he probably would have succeeded his mentor in a few years time as Mahatir was naturally advancing in age.

Like Mahatir in 1998, Badawi now faces the greatest challenge to his leadership and is already under intense pressure to resign because of poor election results and high fuel prices. While the main assault against Badawi was started by Mahatir himself -- long unhappy with the way Badawi had been sidelining Mahatir's camp -- skepticism within the UMNO about Badawi's ability to lead the nation was also growing rapidly.

Emboldened by the spectacular success of his People's Justice Party (PKR) and the Barisan Alternatif ("alternative front"), which he helped to forge to fight the ruling coalition, Barisan Nasional, Anwar might have thought the declining legitimacy of the government and the prime minister presented an opportune moment to mount a challenge.

He was inspired by some defections in the last few months from the government party to the opposition and was confident enough to declare with great fanfare he would dislodge the government from power and replace it with his own by mid-September this year.

But Anwar forgot his past, from which he had never been fully cleared, which his detractors could use against him at any time. More importantly, despite his spectacular success in the March elections, he has yet to remove past stigmas from being too close to the Muslim agenda of the Malaysian state and from never articulating a vision for justice for all Malaysians irrespective of race.

He did begin in earnest in recent months to give the right signal by defending interests of minorities and a secular state, but he needed more time to establish trust with each and every sector of Malaysian citizens and the credibility required to emerge as undisputed leader to challenge a government in power.

Not surprisingly, the sodomy allegations came only weeks after Anwar said he was in a position to launch a challenge to the ruling coalition with the help of government defectors. This was a sure provocation for a government under siege and thus ready to use anything in its arsenal to hit back at Anwar.

Knowing full well Anwar's vulnerability, his detractors calculated such an allegation would not only distract the opposition from its goal of bringing down the current government and confuse the general public about the truth behind the allegations but would also throw the opposition into chaos by removing its most charismatic leader from the political arena.

Even though the government is in disarray, it still holds sway over the police, many media organs and many financial stakeholders.

The trends in Malaysian politics since the March elections were moving fully in his favor. Anwar's opposition alliance made stunning gains in those elections, winning a third of the parliamentary seats and gaining control in five states. These results have redrawn Malaysia's political landscape.

With a little patience, hard work at the grassroots level and trust building by articulating a vision of justice for all in the coming years, Anwar could appeal to Malay voters to change the rules of the game in Malaysian politics and finally emerge as a renascent and true reformer. But we are unsure today which way the drama will unfold.

The writer is a senior fellow at the Centre for Policy 9Research, New Delhi. He once lived in Malaysia.

written by ibabonma, August 31, 2008 19:52:16
DIFFICULT TO POST YOU ARE COMMENTS? My suggestion is;

Before posting your comments, check the MEMBERS AREA box-column reserved for USERNAME and PASSWORD. If it's blank, just fill in your details and LOGIN (of course, you have to register first) and move on to the comment box. Type your comments and ENTER. But, if you fail;

Firstly, COPY to save what you have commented.

Secondly, go to the box-column again, LOGOUT to erase your USERNAME/PASSWORD (even if it shows that you are already logged-in!)

Thirdly, re-type your USERNAME and PASSWORD and LOGIN, yet again.

Fourthly, type your comments (or PASTE the one you had save earlier) and ENTRE. (Continue repeating this process if you fail.)

…...and we’ll see thousands of us moving-in-and-out at will …. And let those bastards have sleepless night.
written by ibabonma, August 31, 2008 19:54:06
You are = your (typo)
written by Tom n Jerry, August 31, 2008 20:46:54
DSAI is busy with the cross-overs in Kuching-we hope he is successful in his pursuit of these people because we are united on the PR banner;may all potential*cross-over angels* be well & happy!Sadhu3 smilies/smiley.gif
written by Engineer, August 31, 2008 21:34:49
ANWAR is not impatient; the scenario is different now.

During Old Man Maha Tail time he was in BN.

Now he is out side BN.

ANWAR is not fight for his cause now but the Rakyat cause and we should not wait.

written by Badrol, August 31, 2008 21:52:33
It is unlike 1998 this time. The ones that are pushed to the wall are Dollah, Najib, and all the umnoputras. And yes, Anwar has to be impatient because those mentioned are fast ruining the country.
written by Margeemar, August 31, 2008 22:13:57
Anwar sure has the numbers and the support. That's why the BN/Umno regime wants to stop him by using and abusing institutions like the Police and Judiciary. They want to stop Anwar before his PR Alliance throws BN/Umno out.

Anwar is right here about public support for him and his Pakatan Rakyat Alliance. This confidence is backed by a survey conducted by the Merdeka Center, an independent pollster that carried out an opinion poll confirmed what many Malaysians already know: after the 12th General Election, the people think the country is going in the wrong direction and are concerned about economic issues...More http://margeemar.blogspot.com/...of-no.html
written by temanmu, August 31, 2008 22:19:32
AAB is not Mahathir.

And Anwar is not in BN.

And the rakyat is fed up now!
written by KM Wong, August 31, 2008 22:29:35
Mr Gishal,
Tell us something that we don't know. Summarising all the events that happened recently does not consitute writing an article. And where do you get your info? If you are not living in Malaysia now, you cannot feel the political vibes. But you write as if you know everything.
Tell us "What should Anwar do?". Or else don't waste space.
written by ahmadneil, August 31, 2008 22:32:17
Once beaten twice clever.Anwar will succeed this time.The ground support is massive.The discontent rakyat is determine to go for change.
written by nangkarajah, August 31, 2008 22:53:16
Taib implicated in Indonesian timber scam

By Tony Thien

malaysiakini.com

2008-08-23 | Indonesian logs are being illegally imported into Sarawak and re-exported as local timber to other countries, including China, Taiwan and Japan, according to an Indonesian newspaper report.....
written by ahmadneil, August 31, 2008 22:58:18
Latest....Anwar is still with those said MPs in Kuching secret location.Reporters are madly searching for him but failed.PKR ,Mr Ng when asked refuse to disclose anything.All he said Anwar have the numbers and will hold a press conference in due time.'we can't give any tips now' says Mr Ng. So stay tune!
written by StoneRiver, August 31, 2008 23:20:47
Hopefully Sarawak and Sabah MP, will put money where their mouth is .
written by PAKRAK, August 31, 2008 23:39:15
Now I can sleep well knowing DSAI is in Sarawak and Sabah to tighten some loose ends. If the numbers are enough for PR to form a new government, I suggest BN be gentlemen to hand over the keys to PR to march to Putrajaya.
Onward to Victory!
written by Highway16, September 01, 2008 00:10:10
"there was scant show of public support for Anwar this time around."

67% support in PP.....considered "scant show of support"?
written by marbl3s, September 01, 2008 01:09:41
I must admit that when Anwar was the DPM, he has screwed up badly. The reason why i do not mind supporting him now is because i can see through his expressions (i may be wrong) that he has learned his lesson. Now he knows who are his friends and who are his enemies.

If he goes back to his old ways, then not will he lose his position, but all the effort he put in will go down the drain as fast as he tried to establish the new government.

He is getting support just because he emphasize that he wants unity and equality among everyone.
written by onnetline, September 01, 2008 04:01:26
DSAI,

We are waiting for you to cleanse this country of racist BN-UMNO corrupted ways !!!

But tread cautiously, please.

They have previously approve the use C4 to remove obstacles if need be.

written by A MI, September 01, 2008 06:22:15
Anwar with PKR is our only hope to stop all this squandering, pilfering, siphoning by the UMNO politicians and their goons.
May Almighty protect DSAI, give him strength, wisong righteousness in the heart ( borrowing from His Excellency APJ Abdul Kalam) to save this beloved country Ameen.
[center]
"Righteousness in the heart brings beauty in the face
Beauty in the face brings happiness in the family
Happiness in the family brings order in the country
Order in the country brings peace to the world.
[/center]"
written by AsamLaksa, September 01, 2008 07:10:38
Attn: Ibabonma,

My method is to log in, type in the write comment box, then try to add the comment.

If it says that I have to log in to comment, I select any other article on the right with a right click to open in new tab or new window then log in in the new tab or new window (as you would be automatically logged out after a few minutes of logging in that's why you can't post your comments if you take your sweet time in typing).

Once the login is successful, go back to the original tab (your writing should still be there) and just click add comment. Nevertheless I still copy my long comments (Ctrl-A followed by CTRL-C) just to be on the safe side.
written by indianputra, September 01, 2008 09:11:18
September 16 is 15 days away. Let us all really pray hard that Anwar succeeds in his action plans to move over enough BN parlimentarians to form the next Government. All level thinking Malaysians are just waiting for this to happen.
written by chiongguo, September 01, 2008 09:15:29
marbl3s wrote :

I must admit that when Anwar was the DPM, he has screwed up badly.

I do not quite agree with that statement. To my mind one of the most significant changes he added to the process of budget preparation was to have dialogues with NGOs, with interested parties etc. He took the time and trouble to "feel the pulse" of the nation before deciding how the budget is to be formed and shaped.

He understood good governance even when he had to work under very oppressive regimentation from his boss.

written by *****stail, September 01, 2008 09:58:04
After 50 long years , our country need changes… Throughout history, everywhere in the world…the governments need to be changed or replaced from time to time just like our PC or laptop computer…. If we stick to our old outdated version of software program ‘i.e. policies’ we’ll be left behind. Simple analogy….
written by jjireh99, September 01, 2008 10:12:36
i beg to differ from the writer's comments. Back in 1998 is different. DSAI is different. The support are mainly from malays then. NOW IT IS CHINESE, INDIANS AND MALAYS. WE ARE REALLY, REALLY, REALLY, REALLY FED UP WITH UMNO/BN! ESPECIALLY WITH PM/DPM/SIL/EZAM/M2M/TOYOL/ALI RUSTAM/ALBAR/RAIS YATIM/AHMAD SAID/TAJOL/ETC... WE WANT TO GET RID OF THEM NOW AND FOREVER! ALL OF YOU NOW DO NOT, I REPEAT DO NOT HAVE THE MANDATE FROM THE RAKYAT TO RULE ON BEHALF OF US. SO, AWAY WITH YOUR RHETORICS, MR PM!!!!! ACTUALLY, I'M A PERSON WITH 2ND CHANCES BUT THIS IS TOO MUCH. YOU TAKE US FOR A RIDE TOO OFTEN TO OUR LIKING!! AS FOR TDM AND FAMILY, THEY ARE HISTORY AS FAR AS I AM CONCERNED!!!!
written by Nyghtsky, September 01, 2008 15:51:01
Guys, guys...

I am privy to back then, when DSAI was not better than those he opposed today but I sincerely believe it was God's Will that he got booted out of UMNO/ BN and spend 6 years of his life behind bars to experience how it feels like to be oppressed! This experience has humbled him and made him into the leader we, the Rakyat need!

Today, he has my vote;
written by nangkarajah, September 01, 2008 22:22:18
Memang DSAI serious nak tubuh kerajaan pusat baru di Putrajaya. Ini tak dapat di-nafikan. Sedar ka tak Tuan DSAI (yang saya tulus sokong dan hormati) dalam hal penting ini iaitu tarik sokongan dari MPs dari BN kamu hanya boleh harap dengan LOMPAT dari MPs Semananjung sahaja? Sebabnya adalah amat ketara. The East Malaysian MPs (except for very very few)-----no matter how convincing they may be to your ears or eyes-----only BERSANDIWARA to destroy you and to put you to shame at the same time. Saudara Anwar, who are those advisors of yours who can convince you that East Malaysian MPs will LOMPAT in droves? Who are those advisors of yours who can convince you that these East Malaysian MPs will back-stab their TWO billionaire war-lord political leaders who are calling the shots, even dictating to the PM and BN Gov't on life-support provided by East Malaysian BN politicians? Have those advisors of yours ever mentioned that East Malaysian MPs (from BN naturally) are each millionaires already owing to rich rewards bestowed on them. You think so easy to wrest their support away from their BILLIONAIRE warlord political leaders. Are you are billionaire? Are you in a position to reward your supporters with the loot readily available in hand when a leader has supreme power like those in BN? People support you not because they want money but because of the PRINCIPALS they hold dear and are willing to defend these principals with their dear lives even. East Malaysian MPs only live for and by money.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------by tak suka melanau control sarawak - Aug 26, 2008 21:37
In fact after the last Malaysian general election of March 8, it was clear that the Coalition in power (Barisan Nasional which is actually UMNO-led) had already lost it's UNCHALLENGEABLE supreme dictatorial power which it had enjoyed for the last 50 years after independence in 1957. In an surprising turn of events, the ruling coalition's elected parliamentarians FROM MAINLAND WEST MALAYSIA were exactly AT PAR in numbers with those in the Opposition. What kept the ruling coalition alive was support from EAST MALAYSIA's States of Sabah and Sarawak's TWO billionaire-warlords and their combined richly-rewarded and thus intensely-loyal 50 Members of Parliamentarians. These East Malaysian politicians after realizing that they now hold the balance of power (which hitherto had been in the hands of the overwhelming majority West Malaysians) now want to hold the PM's government in KL at ransom and to dictate to it according to their warlord-billionaire leaders' whim and fancy. For starters, they demanded disproportionately large and excessive government funds. ANWAR IBRAHIM's landslide victory and entry into politics today after 10 years' absence is perhaps the WEST Malaysian citizens way of saying to the East Malaysians "ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. Now we want our birthright (to have a controlling say in Malaysia) back".

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009