Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Politics cloud M'sia's National Day

Politics cloud M'sia's National Day PDF Print
Sunday, 31 August 2008 14:37

MALAYSIA celebrated 51 years of independence on Sunday, wracked by economic woes and political uncertainty over fears that a resurgent opposition could topple a government that has ruled since 1957 when British colonial rule ended.

Spectacular fireworks lit the skies at midnight. A colourful parade with dances by Malaysia's three main ethnic groups - majority Malays and minority Chinese and Indians - passed through the historic Dataran Merdeka, or Independence Square.

'The world ... is impressed with Malaysia because not many countries with a multiracial population exist with tolerance, peace and harmony,' Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said in a speech, which also touched on his government's efforts to fight inflation that has reached a record 8.5 per cent.

Abdullah also referred indirectly to the threat by opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim's plans to topple the government with parliamentary defections.

'A united people is a strong national bulwark against any threat, whether from within or outside the country,' Datuk Seri Abdullah said.

While a slowing economy, dwindling investments, spiraling inflation and a lackluster stock market are major concerns for the country, the nation's attention has been riveted this year by the political fireworks surrounding the 61-year-old Anwar.

In June, a stunned nation heard of an accusation by a young male aide who claimed he was sodomised by Datuk Seri Anwar, a former deputy prime minister who was convicted and jailed on the same charge about a decade ago. His conviction was overturned later.

Mr Anwar says he was a victim of a political conspiracy both times.

Sodomy, even between consenting adults, is a crime in Malaysia, punishable by up to 20 years in prison.

Mr Anwar's humiliation came as he mounted a serious challenge to the government, accusing it of corruption and subverting the civil service, the judiciary and the police. He also says minorities are treated unfairly while the majority Malays are given special privileges. The government denies it is doing anything wrong.

'We see the constitution being weakened, democracy trampled on and national institution turned into tools of the ruling power,' Mr Anwar said in a statement. 'It is time for Malaysians to rediscover the real meaning of freedom in the country.'

His three-party coalition made spectacular gains in the March 8 general elections, increasing its strength from 19 to 82 seats in the 222-member Parliament. Abdullah's National Front returned to power with a simple majority of 140 seats, down from its traditional two-thirds majority.

Mr Anwar says he is now close to getting at least 30 National Front lawmakers to defect so that he can form a new government, and become the next prime minister.

It is not clear if Mr Anwar can carry out the threat by his self-imposed deadline of Sept 16. But it has evidently unnerved the government.

In an unprecedented step, Mr Abdullah injected politics into his economic speech to unveil the annual budget on Friday.

After announcing that the economy is expected to expand by 5.7 per cent in 2008, slowing from 6.3 per cent growth in 2007, Mr Abdullah warned against anyone destabilizing his National Front coalition.

'Efforts by certain parties to destabilize the country by attempting to seize power through illegitimate means, and without the mandate of the people, must be rejected,' he said.

'We cannot allow uncertainties to continue, as this will adversely affect foreign investment, economic sentiment and the capital markets. I will not allow these disturbances to continue,' he said.

The National Front is a coalition of 13 parties led by Mr Abdullah's United Malays National Organisation, which claims to represent the majority Malays. It shares power with parties claiming to represent ethnic Chinese and Indians.

But their credibility has eroded over the years as Umno's grip on power has hardened, and Mr Anwar's promises have struck a chord with many Malaysians who say they are ready for change.

'Our leaders have let us down by indulging in too much politicking and polarization in our multiracial and multi-religious society,' said former Finance Minister Ramon Navaratnam, the president of Transparency International Malaysia.

'No group should feel marginalised in Malaysia, where God has provided for everybody's basic needs but not for anybody's greed,' he said. -- THE STRAITS TIMES

written by ahmadneil, August 31, 2008 14:52:18
Latest....Anwar is in Kuching becos some MPs here want to see him personally.They are all in a secret location.When met at the arrival, the smiling Anwar refuse to disclose anything.All he said was,'some thing positive will emerge'.Some 20 cars with heavy tinted glass are heading to the outskirt of the city.
written by Ali Cordoba, August 31, 2008 14:53:31
Yet many groups are marginalized and the PM is not in a position to change anything...alas! Even Khairy is asking for change!
http://www.worldfutures.info/News/Latest/Khairy-Jamaludin-Adopt-change-or-fall-in-oblivion.html
written by joejoe, August 31, 2008 15:14:22
Pak Dollar. Unfortunately, everything you say does not matter anymore, because you have no credibility left.

1. You say the world is impressed by our multiracial tolerance, yet you allow idiots like the Bukit Bendera UMNO chief to call the Chinese "squatters" or your Youth Chief to wave his keris, threatening to bathe in Chinese-blood. Either you don't mean what you say or your dots are not connecting.

2. You say you are 100% committed to fight corruption, yet you allow your SIL to win contracts and get approvals for all kinds of projects that are way over-inflated in prices. Either you don't mean what you say or you are being hoodwinked by your over-trusting emotions towards the man who married your flesh-and-blood.

3. You say you will win the March 8 election with greater majority, and quash the opposition to zero seats in some states, yet you led BN to lose 5 states, and practically made Gerakan and MIC irrelevant. You also said BN would beat Anwar in Permatang Pauh. Either you don't mean it, or you sincerely thought the Rakyat are happy with BN, because someone told you they are, or you look around and think your SIL's lifestyle represents the Rakyat's lifestyle.

4. You told us the day before you announced the fuel price hikes that there will not be any hikes until later, and yet you announced it the next day, with no regard on the impact to the Rakyat's lifelihoods. Either you didn't mean it, or you forgot that someone had already made you sign the approval to raise fuel prices the day after, and you pretended like you knew about it all along.

5. You now say you will not allow the opposition to take over the Government through undemocratic means. Either you don't mean it, or you are too detached from reality to realize that if there were no vote riggings, fake postal votes and gerrymandering, you would have already lost the March 8th elections to the Opposition. If you only knew what real democracy meant, you would now be the Opposition. The Raykat have spoken, and have demonstrated their votes on March 8, and repeated it loud and clear in Permatang Pauh. The only people that are in denial that the Rakyat have decided they want BN out are you and your cronies.

If democracy means banning access to MT, that shows you may really not mean what you say after all. At first I thought you were just dumb, senile, detached or blurr. After so many broken/empty promises, I have finally concluded that you are nothing but a blatant liar.

You seem to lie about everything - from the private plane purchase and your SIL's unfair advantage in winning all those lucrative Govt deals to your affair with your wife's brother-in-law's wife and yes, all those promises to the Rakyat. You really don't mean it , do you? You are just a liar.
written by Hakim Joe, August 31, 2008 15:27:21
And a RACIST as well.
written by StoneRiver, August 31, 2008 16:20:58
Hello Ali Cordoba ! (up there)

Pls dont buy with KJ action lately.Dont get decieve by him.
That fellow know what will happen to him if DSAI take over Malaysia.
He is in deep shit.

Dont entertain person with low moral.
written by ez24get, August 31, 2008 16:21:10
Badawi and UMNO always have 2 faces to show to the world!

One face shows to the outside world that how lucky and a blessing it is for Malaysia to have a multi-racial society and diversity of cultures. How beneficial it is to have inter-faith dialogue and tolerance for each other sensitivities, etc, etc.

This face is usually shown in world conferences and at/around the time of Merdeka or election.

As soon as Merdeka and elections are over and the world conferences ended, they go back to their routine and show the 2nd true face!

They will:
- draw the kris and threaten the other races,
- utter sensitivities that other kaums are pendatangs,
- storm inter-faith conferences without regard to other races religion and give death threats,
- oppress other minority races with masters over slaves,
- demolish temples,
- demand a closed university with 100% of one ethnic race.

The non-malays of Malaysia are already wise to the hypocrisy that is UMNO and have since March 8, 2008 severed the umbilical cord with UMNO! There is no returning back to UMNO.

Only when you are struggling for survival that you appeal to malaysians to unite and give you support! Even in your death bed, you have not repented and changed your hypocrisy ways but to continue to divide the peace-loving Malaysians for your own selfish agenda!

We say, you UMNO, can go to hell and we are not going to weep a single tear for you on your death! Any tear that we weep will be a tear of joy!!!
written by PAKRAK, August 31, 2008 17:10:39
Bodohwi and Najis C4 - your days are numbered. GET LOST!

joejoe...would you like to be my speech writer when I am in the PR TEAM?
written by jjireh99, August 31, 2008 17:11:54
you are spot on joejoe! You took the exact words I wanted to say right out of my mouth! I've said many, many times before, AAB is a perpetual LIAR and a compulsive one, too. He has got no more ideas, dirty schemes, etc... he thinks he is so religious but we all know better than that. I have given up hope of trusting this pm anymore. Please DSAI/people of malaysia, make sept 16 HAPPEN!!! Lastly, we have to give DSAI more than 5 years to make things right.
written by wannabepatriotic, August 31, 2008 19:30:02
My prayers and wishes for all Malaysian that Sept16 will emerge as our NEW INDEPENDENT MALAYSIA holiday!! Hope we'll get an extra 1 holiday next year to celebrate 31/08 - a memory of the past & 16/9 - the dawn of a new malaysia
written by mob1900, August 31, 2008 20:26:45
written by asguard, August 31, 2008 21:06:40
Well...what did PM says is no longer important... because they have been mismanage the economy for a very long time... whether in good or bad times...
written by Engineer, August 31, 2008 21:54:16
The world is impressed by our multiracial tolerance, because they are amazed how the chinese and indians tolerate the racist malay umno.

written by islandjoe, September 01, 2008 01:50:58
Every part of Bodowi's speech is the exact OPPOSITE of reality. I guess he gets his news from his own controlled media, so can't blame his stupidity. Maybe Borders should put the NST, Berita Harian, etc. in the FICTION section. Luckily they mark those areas off otherwise our PM may think Popeye the Sailor or the Smurfs are real as well.

A bit rich hearing a guy who's cronies are the very reason the nation is not unified, telling us to unite. We are uniting.....to get rid of you!! Everything you attribute a problem to is your doing so stop talking it's just pathetic.

Another thing: get over yourself. People do not sit around the world and marvel at our country. They actually laugh at the stupidity of the government - YOU are a national embarrassment. This includes:

1) We're now renowned for the world's first sodomy specialist - Malaysia Boleh!
2) Boosting tourism with having Najis, Lesbo, and Bodowi photos on their billboards. Much better than movie stars. If I wanted to holiday somewhere, I'd be tempted by posters of the politicians of the place I'm going to visit. Especially world renown leaders like er.....who are they again?? Not quite the same as having Mandela invite you to South Africa is it?
3) Politicians managing the national football team. England should get Gordon Brown to manage the national team. Khairy you are amazing - you can do anything. If we could all be you....
4) Government paid space tourist - you dreams really CAN come true (with taxpayer money)
5) A hero's welcome for an olympic medalist....er......AND HIS COACH???? I like Misbun, but WTF???

And it goes on...and on.....