Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow M'sian PM appeals for support

M'sian PM appeals for support PDF Print
Sunday, 31 August 2008 14:35
'It is time Malaysians made that choice to return the meaning of independence to this country,' said Mr Badawi (left). -- PHOTO: REUTERS

MALAYSIA'S embattled premier appealed for the nation's support in an independence day message on Sunday, in the face of economic woes and opposition plans to topple the government within weeks.

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, whose Barisan Nasional coalition has ruled since independence from Britain 51 years ago, led the nation in celebrations with a firework display on Saturday night.

Datuk Seri Abdullah, who has faced calls to quit from within his own party after failing to check the rise of the opposition led by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, urged the country to remain united as it faced high inflation and a global slowdown.

'I am confident and believe that all the trials we are facing today can be overcome if we remain united and work together with firm determination,' he said.

'A united people is the country's strongest line of defence in facing any situation both internally and externally.'

'No one citizen is recognised as being of a higher position than another in this nation. This nation belongs to all of us. Whether we rise or fall depends on all of us,' he said.

Mr Abdullah's popular support has crumbled since he came to power in 2003, and the coalition was dealt its worst ever setback in March general elections that handed the opposition five states and a third of parliamentary seats.

Mr Anwar, a former deputy premier who was sacked and jailed a decade ago, returned to parliament last week after winning a by-election in a landslide, and said he would oust the government by mid-September.

He has accused the government of corruption and poor management of the economy, and blamed Mr Abdullah's weak leadership for the steep rise in inflation and falling investment.

Mr Anwar has promised to slash fuel prices if he becomes premier, in a powerful gesture after Mr Abdullah's 41 per cent overnight hike announced in June triggered widespread anger and street protests.

The rise in fuel costs helped inflation spike to a 26-year high in July of 8.5 per cent.

'Now 51 years after independence, we are once again at a junction. We see the constitution being manipulated, democracy trampled on and the institution of the state made into a tool for power,' Mr Anwar said in a statement.

'It is time Malaysians made that choice to return the meaning of independence to this country.'

Thousands gathered in the city centre on Saturday for colourful celebrations, singing rousing patriotic songs and waving the Malaysian flag as they counted down to independence day.

The skies of Kuala Lumpur lit up with fireworks on the stroke of midnight, but the cost was borne by sponsors as the government scaled back its spending in tune with the tighter economic times.

Mr Abdullah last Friday offered tax cuts and perks in a 2009 budget designed to restore support for the beleaguered coalition and spur growth. - THE STRAITS TIMES

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by nangkarajah, August 31, 2008 14:38:29
In fact after the last Malaysian general election of March 8, it was clear that the Coalition in power (Barisan Nasional which is actually UMNO-led) had already lost it's supreme dictatorial power which it had enjoyed for the last 50 years after independence in 1957. In an surprising turn of events, the ruling coalition's elected parliamentarians were exactly in numbers with those in the Opposition. What kept the ruling coalition alive was support of Sabah and Sarawak's TWO billionaire-warlords and their combined richly-rewarded and thus intensely-loyal 50 Members of Parliamentarians. These East Malaysian politicians after realizing that they now hold the balance of power (which hitherto had been in the hands of the overwhelming majority West Malaysians) now want to hold the PM's government in KL at ransom and to dictate to it according to their warlord-billionaire leaders' whim and fancy. For starters, they demanded disproportionately large and excessive government funds. ANWAR IBRAHIM's landslide victory and entry into politics today after 10 years' absence is perhaps the WEST Malaysian citizens way of saying to the East Malaysians . Now we want our birthright (to have a controlling say in Malaysia) back".
written by sjs, August 31, 2008 14:50:50
The flag which the king is holding is so righteous and virtuous, depicting the heart of the ruler and the ruler's concern of the well-being of the rakyat!

The flag which Abdullah is holding is crooked and looks torn, depicting the nature of his heart!
written by cinatmanis, August 31, 2008 15:06:00
Abdulah is the kindergarten standard PM who cannot even give consistent message to the people. One moment defending the right of Malay, one moment contradicting himself with appeal for unity and support.

One moment slap the people with 41% fuel hike, one moment gives out ‘little sweets’ to gain popularity.

You are a kindergarten PM, but we are no kids.
agree 122
written by penangboi, August 31, 2008 15:15:55
We, the Rakyat, will only give you support if you promise to REALLY CHANGE.

But I fear your plea will fall on deaf ears. Why?

Because you can't even see where you have gone wrong. How can you repent and make good of all the 'crimes' and wrongs you have committed ??
written by chc, August 31, 2008 15:30:32
this will be the last time u (or anyone from UMNO) lead our merdeka celebrations....BYE BYE
written by K W Waran, August 31, 2008 15:35:00

Folks!!!, Just look at the Glum Look on DYMM His Majesty's Face. I, humbly think, that that would also be the look on his Brother Rulers in their respective ruling states in the current state of Malaysia dalam Merdeka yang Ke 51 tahun.

Yet, His Majesty, without an iota of doubt remains looking Regal. For he knows that his current Sleepy Head, Foolish but supposedly Clean PM's days are counted and all his rhetorics about UNITY after trying to tear apart the People Of Permatang Pauh recently is but a Stupid Idiotic Hogwash.

His Majesty KNOWS EACH AND EVERYTHING THAT IS TAKING PLACE IN MALAYSIA because he is a TRULY CARING KING and does not hesitate to mencemar DULI and turun padang bersama rakyat jelata.

Ampun Tuanku, Beribu-ribu Ampun, Sembah Patik Harap Di Ampun. DAULAT TUANKU X3.

As for my bros' & sisters, who have aptly commented above about that PEE M, YES, he is nothing but just a PEE M budak-budakan(read Kindergarten here). Sedihnya!!!!!.

written by SCM, August 31, 2008 15:36:05
Pssst, you still sleeping Mr. PM? Wake up, wake up. people are commenting about you. You often say good things but unfortunately, it is meant for the wrong people. You are right that "No one citizen is recognised as being of a higher position than another in this nation. This nation belongs to all of us. Whether we rise or fall depends on all of us,' If you believe in this, you have to sack your entire cabinet because they all think they are superior beings. Fatty Rafidah gives out APs to her cronies like as though they are sweets. Najis threatens us with OUR oil resources. Kerismudin....well, you know what he did. Your SIL-ly twit is a racist of the highest order. Hameeeed always talks nonsence. Bung Mokhtar is a clown in disguise. The list is endless. They all behave like racist animals and rape us of all our wealth because they all think they are superior beings. They know that in the rare event someone can actually take them to court, just place Augustine Paul to preside over the case and promote him after that. Case closed.

You idiot, wake up and stop making stupid statements. Okay, you can go back to sleep now.
written by Hakim Joe, August 31, 2008 15:39:22
Hey Bodowi, make like Arif! Pay me and I will support you.
written by avj, August 31, 2008 15:48:08
AAB dont't waste time anymore nobody is listening,because the people have already made up their minds. Remember they have minds and can think.
written by Dhan, August 31, 2008 15:52:53
No, Paklah. Sorry, you have to go! There is nothing to discuss.

Go quietly and we guarantee you and your wife safe passage.
written by ez24get, August 31, 2008 16:10:42
Badawi and UMNO always have 2 faces to show to the world!

One face shows to the outside world that how lucky and a blessing it is for Malaysia to have a multi-racial society and diversity of cultures. How beneficial it is to have inter-faith dialogue and tolerance for each other sensitivities.

This face is usually shown in world conferences and at/around the time of Merdeka or election.

As soon as Merdeka and elections are over and the world conferences ended, they will show the 2nd true face!

They will:
- draw the kris and threaten the other races,
- utter sensitivities that other kaums are pendatangs,
- storm inter-faith conferences without regard to other races religion and give death threats,
- oppress other minority races with masters over slaves,
- demolish temples,
- demand a closed university with 100% of one ethnic race.

The non-malays of Malaysia are already wise to the hypocrisy that is UMNO and have since March 8, 2008 severed the umbilical cord with UMNO! There is no returning back to UMNO.

Only when you are struggling for survival and in your death bed that you appeal to the non-malays.

We say you can go to hell and we are not going to weep a single tear for you on your death bed! Any tear that we weep will be a tear of joy!!!
written by non conformist, August 31, 2008 16:31:30
--- 'No one citizen is recognised as being of a higher position than another in this nation. This nation belongs to all of us. Whether we rise or fall depends on all of us,' he said. ---

How can the leader of a party that consciously champions KETUANAN MELAYU utter such inconsistent and blatant lies! People are not so stupid or gullible as the self-deceived PM would like to think!

Wake up lah PakLah from your sleep. Time is up...

This statement conclusively shows that the embattled PM is not only STUPID but a BIG STUPID LIAR - lying through his teeth, nose, ears and arse!
written by Umno Slayer, August 31, 2008 16:33:01
'It is time Malaysians made that choice to return the meaning of independence to this country,' said Mr Badawi (left). -- PHOTO: REUTERS
KEPALA HOTAK HANG LAH bodohwe !You and your CRIMINALS gang are ripping off the right of Malaysian who dont want you and your stupid vicious party to rule this ciuntry no more!Is it clear ! You must be the most stupid PM Malaysia will ever had!To HELL with the the KERA son in law of your as well!
written by FFT, August 31, 2008 16:42:35
What kind of flippin' moron goes to the country's National Day parade, stands next to the Agong, and waves the flag...all while wearing a damn TRUCKER'S HAT?????

The Agong looks regal and befitting of a Head of State.

Badawi looks like he just paid for a trick from a lot lizard at a truck stop in New Orleans.
written by T Square, August 31, 2008 16:42:59
To be the Prime Minister is hard, for there are obvious hurdles.
But to be a successful Prime Minister is even harder and takes a very special breed of people.

Badawi clearly does not have the qualification and does not have what it takes to be an effective Prime Minister and this job is out of his depth totally. He has ran out of ideas, those around him are useless and are only capable to say what he wants to hear. Lack of meritocrasy in all forms of institution has created a generation of useless leaders.

Clearly we've reach an impasse and looking at the body language of Badawi, he look depressed, and I don't think he wants to be in this job any longer.

The 2nd in command is not much better either and I would prefer the incumbent to stay on until PR have the numbers and are in a position to form the next government.
written by EDLYK, August 31, 2008 16:53:38
Please lah aab, looking at the photo above the King eyes very alert but your eyes sleepy. Hari Merdeka pun tidur. You make us very sad lah.
written by PAKRAK, August 31, 2008 16:55:15
Bodohwi's speech writer tries to paint a different picture making him look good. PM has called out for UNITY in anticipation of opposition plans to topple the government. No way man... re-instate MT first then we'll reconsider.
written by Klebsiella, August 31, 2008 17:01:52
Pergi Ti-DOLLAH!!
Let PKR take over. The sooner the better for the rakyat!
written by mikewang, August 31, 2008 17:22:00
'No one citizen is recognised as being of a higher position than another in this nation. This nation belongs to all of us. Whether we rise or fall depends on all of us,' he said.

---------------------

You bloody liar.
Most people would agree to that so they voted the opposition.
If "Ketuanan Melayu" expounded by your party UMNO is not pitting one race higher than all others, explain to me then the meaning of "ketuanan."
written by Fuminari, August 31, 2008 17:42:58
mahathir screwed us up bad during his 22 years reign,in 2004,many thought that bodowi was going to fix it right;that's why the overwhelming support in 11th GE,but u n umno are screwing us up worse now!!enough is enough,n the rakayt hav spoken thro' the 12th n permatang pauhs!!
ethnic diversity should hav been our strength;but u at the helm with the racist umno/BN are screwing up n messing it up 'big' into a possibly detrimental weakness both for malaysia n malaysian!!!
written by tokioRain, August 31, 2008 18:22:33
Yup, the guy in the silly cap standing next to the King sure looked like he's wishing he's somewhere else. Just look at his mug, what a depressing sight.
written by ganbing, August 31, 2008 19:02:09
Don't talk about unity if you're unable to discipline someone like Ahmad ISmail who has uttered racial slurs against another race. Not even an apology demanded. What kind of leader allows this grave transgression to pass and then talk about national unity?
written by oct, August 31, 2008 19:13:36
As long as our PM allows the loose cannons to shoot without thinking, there is no unity. As long as PM doesn't reprimand and set good examples, how do he expect his goons to follow? He has no control over his goons. Just look at the remarks from the Penang Ahmad and his reply. It is just a slap on the wrist. That's all.

So long as UMNO don't accept that we are Malaysians and still continue to think about Ketuanan Melayu, there will never be any unity. It is sad to see that when you are born and breed in this country for over 50 years, you have been constantly reminded that you need to go back to your homeland. What sort of attitude is this?

My suggestion to PM is that he should issue a 'fire' order to the next member of UMNO who utter such nonsense and make it happen. Then we can expect unity. Will he dare do such things? Has he got b**ls? No affirmative action means his words are just for show only.

Don't ask the Rakyat for unity. Just ask your own UMNO members to set good examples. If you can't do one such simple task, you are not fit for a PM. Retire and take care of your new wife. It is much less stressful. Let Anwar shows you how to be a good PM!!!!
written by bexe, August 31, 2008 19:40:33
"...can be overcome if we remain united and work together with firm determination." correct, correct, correct
So we have to be determined and work together to get rid of you and UMNO.
Only then can we overcome all that ails this nation.
written by InEffective, August 31, 2008 20:06:40

Time to overcome our septic politicians and their filthy evil minds.

Your children will forever be grateful and rewarded by your actions as they will realize the promise of a better life.
written by cllim123, August 31, 2008 20:34:07

PM says all are equal and the nation belongs to all of us but how come some people are immune to the law and the ACA only prosecute some and not others. How come RPK got chraged under Sedition Act and not that stupid racist Ahmad Ismail who called the chinese "pendatangs"?
written by educationist, August 31, 2008 21:07:16
'It is time Malaysians made that choice to return the meaning of independence to this country.'
What is the PM talking about? Does he not know or is he choosing to ignore the fact that on March 8th, almost 50% of the voters have made such a choice?
written by Engineer, August 31, 2008 21:43:09
I will support if you charge Ahmad under Sedition Act and abolish the draconian ISA and abolish the NEP.
written by Alice, August 31, 2008 22:08:03
'It is time Malaysians made that choice to return the meaning of independence to this country,' said Mr Badawi

I COULDN'T AGREE MORE WITH OUR PM smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
lETS MAKE THAT CHOICE AND PKR WILL BE THE BEST CHOICE smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by AntiBN, August 31, 2008 22:41:20
WTF, this moron raised the fuel prices so high and now he asked the nation's to face the economic woes.

Read my lips : You started the problem, now you solve it. Don't ask us for any support. And if you can solve or handle it, please make yourself disappear and let other more capable leader like DSAI to govern the economy and the country.
written by Dhan, August 31, 2008 22:44:27
MALAYSIA'S embattled premier appealed for the nation's support.

Aww.. he's breakin' my heart!

The rakyat is in no mood for reconciliation. And this subject must never be brought up again! Heads must roll. We made that clear to Anwar. Else his head is on the line!

For god's sake go Badawi!

I hear Mauritius is a great place.
written by OMARZ, August 31, 2008 22:45:21
Sorrylah Bodowi.....i tak NAK...,selagi you tak ubah kepimpinan dan menghapuskan diskriminasi kaum, agama selagi tulah i tak sokong...
written by denkoh, August 31, 2008 23:22:08
It's funny, i don't get it.
There is nobody on earth who is so willing and dying to serve people..no one!
the PM post is to serve... and badawi and najib and khairy is dying to be PM.. funny.. i have not seen someone dying to serve so much... perhaps there are other motives???
PM = serve rakyat

badawi = he doesn't know the duty of a PM because he is stupid and sleepy

najib = he doesn't know the duty of a PM because he is stupid and he comes from a rich family...how will he understand the poor rakyat

khairy = he doesn't know what a PM is. he is a mat rempit. if he ever be a PM, the rakyat must have turned into baboons... look at his face.. goodness...i will be really embarrassed if khairy is a PM
written by denkoh, August 31, 2008 23:27:00
Independence day...
what independence?
it's merely a transfer of power from the British to umno

merdeka my foot...i never celebrate it
written by Sabahfan, August 31, 2008 23:27:16

What does bodohwi means by "the meaning of independence"?

Independence so he can sleep on the job while his sil acts like a fascist>

What independence are we enjoying?

From Sabah, I prefer we had independence from Malaysia's rascist policy, so we can have independence from Ketuanan, and real freedom of religion with no one particular being force down our throat via radio, tv, in school etc
written by denkoh, August 31, 2008 23:38:10
umno,
why so thick face? the people doesn't want you..just step down lo..
written by teohpg, August 31, 2008 23:40:56
pegang bendera semangat sikit pak lah oiii....
written by angkasawan bocor, August 31, 2008 23:53:49
The Titanic is sinking. Last call to the MPs to abandon ship for your survival.
written by Msian 2, August 31, 2008 23:53:53
Support U so that U & company can keep on stealing from the country. Go away, go and retire in western Australia with your new wife. We won't miss U.
written by cheekhiaw, September 01, 2008 00:15:29
We support, we support.
We support getting rid of you and your goons...

written by islandjoe, September 01, 2008 01:22:07
Dream on Bodowi. You are either completely stupid, or just retarded. Every single word from your speech is utter crap. Every sentence is just drivel and waffle. No substance. How can this idiot be so thick skinned as to even talk about unity when BN is deliberately dividing the races?? We ALL see through it, so shut your mouth Bodowi.
written by onnetline, September 01, 2008 04:23:44
Mr Flip Flop PM,

Do not ask for the impossible, please.

Suggest that you take a good assessment of yourself.

Maybe, you should try asking our ex-PM, the carTUN fella.

Heard he's giving support to anyone who can reinstate him into UMNO !!

written by A MI, September 01, 2008 07:04:48

anyone watched the Merdeka celebrations on TV. Towards the end Duli Yang Maha Mulia Agong hurried went "unaccompanied" to shake the hads of all minsters EXCEPT PM and DPM. It looked like a nice slap on the face to me.

So what else is brewing bros? smilies/grin.gif
written by menggatal, September 01, 2008 08:41:53
The only way Pak Lah can get a bit of confidence from public is to sack Najib, then throw Khairy out followed by removing his idiots!!! Not necessarily in that order.... In other words, get all your cronies and yourself out of here!!!
written by chiongguo, September 01, 2008 09:36:00
Datuk Seri Abdullah, who has faced calls to quit from within his own party after failing to check the rise of the opposition led by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, urged the country to remain united as it faced high inflation and a global slowdown.

'I am confident and believe that all the trials we are facing today can be overcome if we remain united and work together with firm determination,' he said.

The more than 8% inflation rate was brought on by a government who could not see any other way out of its own excesses and overspending. In trying to relieve its own angst it passed it on to the rakyat. Don't blame global rise in fuel and food prices. It was self-inflicted. Our country is so blessed that we could easily weather through these global events.

After 51 years of "divide and rule" strategy by UMNO you want us now to believe that your call for unity is sincere ?

UMNO and the other component parties are the problem that the nation is facing now. In this the nation is united - to bring down the BN so that the country could at least have a chance of a new Malaysia.
written by mamakstail, September 01, 2008 10:18:57
Abdullah is falling asleep while standing....and doestn't look good and well....I hope he is not 'kena Bomoh' or poisoned.... I know in ancient China.. emperors are been poisoned slowly to death by his closest aides... I hope our PM is not.
written by shissun, September 01, 2008 14:08:52
hahahaha, pak lah main satu malam with Jeanne during Merdeka eve, that's why he looked sleepy while our King looked stern and full of enthusiasm to celebrate our country Independence Day. Our King is a true patriot while our PM is a sleepy scumbag. Pak Lah, undur-lah, hang buat malu je kita.