Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Nothing but a Red Herring

Nothing but a Red Herring PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 31 August 2008 13:56

What I am doing -- amar maaruf, nahi munkar; which means to uphold truth and oppose evil -- is mandatory in Islam. What I am doing is what Islam stipulates. I am more Islamic than that Arab pretending to be a descendant of the Prophet.

Kolonel Norhayati is not my ADC, explained Deputy Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak’s wife. She just handles my appointments. Well, I suppose this is akin to someone saying she is not my typist. She just types my letters. And now Syed Hamid Albar says that they are not censoring Malaysia Today. They are just blocking access to Malaysia Today.

Would you expect any less from people who argue that Umno is not a racist party? We just think that Malays are the Lords of this land and the non-Malays are all immigrants who can’t be allowed the same rights and privileges as the Lords of this land. But this is not racism. This is the Merdeka ‘social contract’ being honoured.

Yes, Happy Merdeka, Malaysians. And may the Merdeka ‘social contract’ be given the ‘honour’ it deserves and be placed as supreme.

Syed Hamid says they have sent Malaysia Today many warning letters but all these letters have been ignored. That is why Malaysia Today was not censored but the government only blocked access to it. However, Syed Hamid could not offer any details of how many letters were sent, when they were sent, and what were the contents of these letters. And this is because no such letters exist. The government, at no time at all, has ever sent Malaysia Today any warning letters.

Syed Hamid also did not offer any examples to support the allegation that Malaysia Today has insulted either Islam or Prophet Muhammad. Malaysia Today has insulted Prophet Muhammad and Islam, he said. And that is good enough. It is not necessary to explain in what way Islam and Prophet Muhammad were insulted or to support the allegation with examples or specific incidences.

Anwar Ibrahim has been chided for refusing to swear on the Quran that he is innocent of the allegation of sodomy. The government-owned media went to town in the run-up to the Permatang Pauh by-election to run Anwar down on his refusal to swear on the Quran.

Do I take it that if I too swear on the Quran that I have never insulted Islam or Prophet Muhammad then the matter is resolved? Would the government then unblock Malaysia Today since I have proven my innocence by swearing on the Quran? A hint from Syed Hamid, Pusat Islam or the Religious Department would be most welcome.

I will give the Malaysian government one week to come back with a response. I, Raja Petra Bin Raja Kamarudin, am now offering to swear on the Quran that I have never insulted Islam and/or Prophet Muhammad. I, Raja Petra Bin Raja Kamarudin, take up the challenge they have thrown to Anwar Ibrahim and which they chide Anwar Ibrahim for because he has refused to take up the challenge. Come back to me within one week and indicate that you are prepared to witness my oath on the Quran or forever hold your peace and never mention this matter again.

Want to make a small wager, however un-Islamic that may be? I bet they will not be able to offer any examples or evidence of incidences where I have insulted Islam and/or Prophet Muhammad and they will never accept my challenge that I swear on the Quran. The one-week will come and go and nothing will happen. They will ignore my challenge and will not respond. And this is because there are no incidences where I have ever insulted Islam or Prophet Muhammad.

This is nothing but a Red Herring. They are using an excuse that works well with most Muslims. If Muslims think you are insulting Islam or Prophet Muhammad they will go berserk. So what better excuse to offer than you are insulting Islam and Prophet Muhammad. And since it is the government that is saying so, then this must be true, because would the government ever lie to the people?

Yes, they demand that Anwar Ibrahim swear on the Quran that he has never sodomised Saiful. And when Anwar refuses to do so they go to town with the issue and say that this proves Anwar’s guilt. Well, I too challenge them to demand that I swear on the Quran that I have never insulted Islam or Prophet Muhammad. And if they refuse to demand that I do so, then I too will go to town with the issue and declare them guilty of lying just like how they have declared Anwar guilty.

I remember back in April 2001 when the government detained ten of us under the Internal Security Act. Except for Tian Chua and Gobalakrishnan, the rest of us were put through a three-day Islamic rehabilitation program. For three days an ustaz was asked to sit with us from morning till evening to discuss Islam so that we could be ‘guided’ and ‘led back to the right path’ from which we have strayed.

It was a three-day rehabilitation program. But the ustaz did not give me my three days. On the second day he did not turn up. The excuse they gave me was that the ustaz ‘had something to do’. After we were released from detention, I checked with the others and they all confirmed that they had to go through the full three days, even Ustaz Badrulamin, an ex-UIA lecturer, and Saari Sungib, the ex-President of JIM, an Islamic movement.

Why did they ‘abandon’ me after the first day? Why were all the others subjected to the full three days except for me? Did they discover me beyond rehabilitation and thought that it was therefore futile to continue to try to rehabilitate me? Or did they give up on me, not because I was a lost cause, but because I out-debated the ustaz and they felt, instead of the ustaz rehabilitating me, I might end up rehabilitating him?

If they are still not satisfied and still feel I need to be rehabilitated, then I will throw an open challenge to any ustaz in Malaysia to sit down with me and prove that I am wrong or that I am a deviant. Come on, surely there is at least one ustaz, Tok Guru, Mufti, etc., who dares take me on. Come debate with me. Show me I am wrong. Then I will stop writing about Islam for the rest of my life. Surely this offer is too good to refuse.

Allow me to reveal some points of the ten-hour or so non-stop debate that I had with the ustaz during my Internal Security Act detention back in 2001. Ten hours is a long debate so I will certainly not be able to reproduce the entire thing. But some of these points will probably demonstrate why the ustaz ‘abandoned’ me after the first day and never came back the following day.

Pak Engku, today there will be no interrogation. For the next three days this ustaz will sit with you and talk about Islam.

He is supposed to rehabilitate me is it?

No, not rehabilitate. Just to talk to you about Islam so that we can get a better understanding of your thoughts on Islam.

The Special Branch officer walks out of the room and leaves me alone with the ustaz.

Before the ustaz can open his mouth I kick off the debate with my ‘opening speech’.

Ustaz, I am not as well versed in Islam as you are. I went to an English school and do not speak Arabic. I have also not memorised the Quran like you have. So my knowledge on Islam is very shallow. Forgive me, therefore, if what I say might not be right because I am speaking as a jahil (ignorant person) and not as a learned person.

The ustaz just nods without saying a word and I continue.

Tell me, ustaz, is amar maaruf, nahi munkar compulsory (wajib) or optional (sunat)?

He opens his mouth but before anything can come out of it I quickly continue.

Let me answer that myself. It is wajlb right? Amar maaruf, nahi munkar is as wajib as praying, fasting, performing the Haj and so on. It is an obligation. It is compulsory for all Muslims to perform amar maaruf, nahi munkar. It is not something you can choose whether to do or not. It is something you must do. It is mandatory in Islam.

The ustaz nods but says nothing.

So tell me, ustaz. Tell me I am wrong in performing amar maaruf, nahi munkar. Tell me it is not wajib, just like praying, fasting and so on. Tell me I should not perform amar maaruf, nahi munkar. Then I shall stop performing amar maaruf, nahi munkar.

The ustaz no longer even nods.

I challenge you, ustaz. (I point to the ceiling). Before Allah and with Allah as our Witness, tell me I have erred in performing amar maaruf, nahi munkar. Tell me amar maaruf, nahi munkar is not an obligation and compulsory in Islam. Tell me it is not wajib. Then let us all stop performing amar maaruf, nahi munkar. And let us also stop praying and fasting plus all those other rituals that are equally wajib and as much an obligation just like amar maaruf, nahi munkar.

The ustaz shuffles uncomfortably in his seat but before he can respond I charge in again.

I am doing only what is wajib in Islam. If you can before Allah and with Allah as our Witness tell me that amar maaruf, nahi munkar is wrong and that I should not be performing it, then let us now, before Allah and with Allah as our Witness, also declare all those others which are equally wajib as wrong.

I do not expect any response from the ustaz and do not wait for one.

I am prepared to stop performing amar maaruf, nahi munkar if you, ustaz, before Allah and with Allah as our Witness, declare it wrong. If you dare do that, then I will also stop performing all those others such as praying and fasting, which, therefore, should be declared equally wrong since they share the same wajib status as amar maaruf, nahi munkar.

This time I want him to respond so I stop to force a response out of him.

Yes, you are right, of course it is wajib.

That is all I wanted him to say.

Then what am I doing here, ustaz? Why am I under Internal Security Act detention? If I am only performing what Islam makes mandatory, what crime have I committed? Amar maaruf, nahi munkar is compulsory. All Muslims are obligated to perform it. I am being detained for doing what Islam forces us to do. I am being detained for obeying Allah. If obeying Allah is a crime then should I also be performing my prayers and fast? Are these also crimes in the eyes of the Malaysian government? What difference is praying and fasting compared to amar maaruf, nahi munkar? All are mandatory in Islam. If one is wrong then all should be wrong. If amar maaruf, nahi munkar is a crime then praying and fasting are also crimes. If I must stop performing amar maruf, nahi munkar then I must also stop praying, fasting, and all those others. Tell me, ustaz. Tell me that amar maaruf, nahi munkar is wrong. Tell me what Islam makes mandatory is a crime. Tell me the government is right in detaining me for performing amar maaruf, nahi munkar. Then, today, now, I will stop performing amar maaruf, nahi munkar, plus all those others that Islam makes mandatory as well. And, from today, now, you and I shall stop performing all those other obligations such as praying and fasting which, just like amar maaruf, nahi munkar, should also be classified as wrong.

This debate continues till the end of the day. But it is not really a debate as much as it is a monologue. I barrage the ustaz with him nodding and hardly opening his mouth. The following day he does not turn up, either because he has given up on me and realises he can’t guide me back to the right path, or because the Special Branch is worried that I would instead ‘lead him astray’.

Syeds are supposed to be descendants of the Prophet. I take it that Syed Hamid is, therefore, also a descendant of the Prophet. But he does not exhibit the proper Islamic qualities.

Syed Hamid is a lawyer who also built up a career as a merchant banker. I take it, therefore, that his English is better than the average Malay. Why can’t he then see that I am insulting Muslims? And this does not translate to insulting Islam or the Prophet.

If I were to call someone a pig, does that mean I am insulting that person or am I insulting pigs? Going by Syed Hamid’s logic, by calling someone a pig, I am insulting pigs.

No, Syed Hamid is not stupid. He does not even have a poor command of English. This is all a Red Herring. They want to block, not censor, Malaysia Today. So they are using the insulting Islam issue as the excuse. That is all.

In fact, what I am doing -- amar maaruf, nahi munkar; which means to uphold truth and oppose evil -- is mandatory in Islam. What I am doing is what Islam stipulates. I am more Islamic than that Arab pretending to be a descendant of the Prophet. And it is they, not me, who are insulting Islam. They use Islam as the camouflage to perpetuate racism and persecution. They perpetuate injustice. And they say this is what Islam is all about.

Comments (221)Add Comment
written by Fuminari, August 31, 2008 14:12:21
frankly,many people did not quite agree with anwar's declaration of intent to take over the gorverment the way stipulated for 16-9-2008!now many would hav changed their mind !we hav realised,the rakyat hav realised n all the righteous hav realised........
"the best way of triumph to the devil is those good men sitting there but doing nothing"!!!
disagree 22
agree 415
written by captmarco ramius, August 31, 2008 14:14:49
Dear YM RPK,

A BRILLIANT PIECE INDEED.THANK YOU.
agree 492
written by Horizonline, August 31, 2008 14:24:21
they will not accept your challenges. that is it for sure. those scumbags will not stand for too long now.

merdeka!
agree 250
written by Jit Dharma, August 31, 2008 14:29:21
Contract or Con-tract?
written by fromamovingtrain, August 31, 2008 14:38:09
umno = islam? with people like syed hamid, kj, rafidah aziz, mahathir, nazri aziz, najib ( the milk- bather) and the like, it's a no- brainer.

RPK, you didn't even have to explain and folks, don't waste time looking for justifications.

umno OUT!
agree 263
written by HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH, August 31, 2008 14:39:56
All humans are descendents of monkeys, except the Arabs, who are descendents of pigs. Shit-hamit is a low-class breed of pig, with retarded brain.
disagree 581
agree 183
written by Super Admin, August 31, 2008 14:42:23
HARIMAU BIN ABDULLAH @ Yeo Kee Liang, it is postings like these that get Malaysia Today in trouble. You are now banned.
disagree 55
agree 883
written by sjs, August 31, 2008 14:43:17
Raja Petra Kamarudin, firstly, this "looks like me. sounds like me and it's not me" syndrome runs through the entire leadership of BN component parties!

Secondly, I truly appreciate your consistent stand on the innocence of Anwar and fully supporting the cause of Anwar and his colleagues! I am also pleased that you have remained so faithful to one cause, ie, the people's cause for justice and freedom!

Finally, I would appreciate it very much, if you can take a stronger stand on Mahathir as you have taken on Najib, on framing false sodomy charges against Anwar! The reason, it was Mahathir who initiated the earlier sodomy accusations and influenced the entire cabinet members then, that the false charges were true! I am surrpised that stronger stand is not taken by our blogging fraternities, even though Anwar has forgiven him! RPK, Please keep the ball rolling on this issue!
agree 229
written by Kuku Burung, August 31, 2008 14:49:05
Wonder what happens to the poor ustaz. Kena a piece from RPK is no joke. May be he is now enlightened - he might decide to do what he preaches.
agree 143
written by Lim Lim, August 31, 2008 14:53:15
so MT bloggers,calling syed hamid a pig is actually insulting pigs!!
agree 214
written by Windchime, August 31, 2008 14:57:34
"Or did they give up on me, not because I was a lost cause, but because I out-debated the ustaz and they felt, instead of the ustaz rehabilitating me, I might end up rehabilitating him?"

YM RPK,

This is q classic quote! I just cannot help butu laughed my head off, put it back on and laugh again! Hahahaha! I can just imagine the rehab-ustaz peeing in his pants talking to you!

Good on you, RPK!
agree 119
written by Celestial, August 31, 2008 14:59:19
Bravo Pete

Again, logical reasoning and argument wins the day.

Congratulations on your ban on Harimau Bin Abdullah. These type of people do not realise that your blogs are read internationally and his behaviour is a total disgrace. I am now more inclined to believe he is a plant by the BN polical machinery to cause problems.

If any one want to challenge my right to judge these type of people is more than welcomed. Freedom of speech applies to everyone. I judge based on my own value system and as far as I am concerned, there is absolutely no excuse to behave in that manner so my congratulations again. This is my opinion and I am entitled to it. If anyone wishes to continue, I can't stop them, but I will continue to treat him/her with the same contempt and disgust as I have for Harimau and Pete can have the pleasure of exercising the "ban".

It is my right to exercise "amar maaruf, nahi munkar" even though I am not a muslim but I think it is a beautiful teaching to observe and practise.
agree 219
written by teo siew chin, August 31, 2008 15:01:58
"AMAR MAARUF, NAHI MUNKAR! UPHOLD TRUTH, OPPOSE EVIL!"
---------------------

this has always been the battle-cry of YM RPK from day one.
how can such a call be censored?
how can such a call be banned?
how can such a call be blocked?
so RAKYAT - CAN OR NOT??
agree 115
written by doggone, August 31, 2008 15:06:14
I can visualize Syed 'Ustaz' Hamid gathering all his Korans for the weekend so he can brush up on the true meaning of 'amar maaruf, nahi munkar'.

He might disagree with you and say that 'amar maaruf, nahi munkar' is sunat because Islam Hadhari say so. He's got a living sleeping 'prophet' to prove it.

Pete, just in case you have to take the oath, please remember you are required to swear using the Hadhari verse of...

Wahmauzzz, Wahbilazzz, Wahsudahzzz!
written by K W Waran, August 31, 2008 15:08:47

Dearest YM RPK,

It is nothing but just a Bloody RED Herring indeed.

In fact, my good Sir, you should not even waste your precious time talking about that FOOL, who, just because of his status as Home Minister thinks that he has a good golden opportunity to be a Hero and thus daringly comment on every issues that crops up under the Malaysian Sun and Moon.

Wait till YB DSAI helms Putrajaya, and then see how this fool runs, looking for a lubang cacing. Has anyone seen that fler(borrowing from Sdra Patrick Teoh of the Niamah!!! Fame) walking, may it be, in the Parliament or elsewhere?

I, (thousands of apologies for I am getting a bit personal here), always thought he has two HUGE scrotums that makes him difficult to walk, hence, he walk like that one. HE should know and may be, that's precisely why, he is bravely tokkok here, there and everywhere. Imagine that FLER running.

Dearest Bro Labisman, Super Admin et al, please remove this posting if its goes beyond acceptable decency, I won't mind at all.

written by arazak, August 31, 2008 15:17:47
For UMNO . . .,lying to the rakyaat, stealing the rakyaats' money, racism, oppression and repressions of ordinary rakyaats are "Wajib". They cannot survive without doing these "Wajib" things!!!

We . . ., yes WE, the rakyaat are sick of what UMNO are doing in the past, now and, in the future ("dulu, kini dan, selamanya").
written by pkrgulf, August 31, 2008 15:19:34
Great Job Super Admin..let us promote healthy discussion and intelligent debate rather than name-calling and rampant cursing. It will go a long way to elevating the status of MT as a respectable website which is truly consistent with amar maaruf nahi mungkar..

The ban on harimau Abdullah is therefore justified and overdue.

Keep up the good work.

ganutulin
agree 145
written by fergie, August 31, 2008 15:28:11
Selamat berpuasa, RPK and family .. also to all Muslim brothers and sisters.
written by teo siew chin, August 31, 2008 15:37:52
oh ya, dah lupa!

Selamat berpuasa to YM RPK & family and all our Muslim friends on MT!
written by nylong, August 31, 2008 15:44:16
As Usual you are....
SHARP & SCINTILLATING
Bravo.....
written by akhairiz, August 31, 2008 15:44:30
Salam YM RPK & family,

InsyaAllah diharap di bulan Ramadhan yang mulia ini, kita sama2 mengerjakan ibadat puasa. Amar maaruf, nahi munkar is compulsory. All Muslims are obligated to perform it!

Selamat berpuasa!
written by macaufan, August 31, 2008 15:57:14
Shit Hamid,
u r being checkmate by RPK again !
written by IbnAbdHalim, August 31, 2008 16:05:19
Salam Pete,

You're wasting your time on him. He has thick skin. To him and the likes, insulting an ustaz means attacking Islam itself. If you're critical of these guys you're branded as anti-Islam and anti-Prophet. Yes, they can't differentiate that. This applies both to UMNO and PAS, or for the matter to the whole Malaysian muslim communities, with an exception though. They'll jump if you say they're jahil but you know they really are. Generally Malays are followers of As-Syafie. That's the norm here, but do the Malays really adhere to the teachings of As-Syafie? Similarly they claimed to be adhering to the teachings of Islam as brought by the Holy Prophet. Are they? You know the answer and that makes you anti-Islam and anti-Prophet. Forget amar ma'ruf and nahi munkar for in Malaysia it's the other way round. You know what I mean?

Btw Pete carry on with your JIHAD. We're with you.
Selamat menyambut Ramadhan al-Mubarak.
written by pokokmangga, August 31, 2008 16:07:36
Super Amin,

Thank God.
written by pokokmangga, August 31, 2008 16:08:57
Lim Lim,

I concur. Pigs are one of the most inteligent mamals of the animal kingdom.
written by FFT, August 31, 2008 16:09:12
Good thing the SB didn't subject you "turning over".

You might have "brainwashed" half of Bukit Aman. smilies/grin.gif

Happy Merdeka to all!

written by YSL, August 31, 2008 16:19:09
Ustaz Raja Petra Kamarudin,

I say this again, you are truly a Muslim that can convince a non-muslim like me to believe that Islam is absolutely for good!!!!!!!!

It is so clear that Islam teaches us Non-muslim that we, together with Islam, must fight evil known as Tuan ISA, Datuk Seditionact, TanSri Officialact, and Devil Datuk C4 AND Devilumno.

I am a 69 years old free thinker! the above was the first time i read and i strongly believed in Islam and i have indeed been made to believe all UMNO Muslims are useless because they never dare to speak the truth about Islam because they themselves are Devil And Evil of Islam!!!!

Ustaz Raja Petra Kamarudin, by pledging the above influential fundementals of Islam, Malaysia is truly a better Islamic Country with "amar maaruf And nahi munkar" teaching!!!!

I love you Malaysia because of Ustaz Raja Petra Kamarudin.

agree 150
written by PRman, August 31, 2008 16:23:01
Thumbs up! This irresponsible people is making a mockery of Malaysia.
written by HHKim, August 31, 2008 16:26:58

Well said!!! I am 500% sure THERE IS NO ONE FROM UMNO / BN dare to take up this challenge from you at all!! For this, the whole BN is a joke.

We also admire your steadfast believe in continuous fight for jusitce.

Cheers RPK! May you win in the final outcome!!
written by HHKim, August 31, 2008 16:30:25
I am damn sad and disappointed to look at the photo of Abdullah in the Merdeka celebration. He looked downtrodden as if there is no life in him!!! Then how can he represent Malaysians in leading the nation!!!!!!!!!!!

Come on, the raayat expect our PM to look tall and behave tall, not half-dead standing there like a corpse!!
written by Wudan, August 31, 2008 16:31:01
...then I will throw an open challenge to any ustaz in Malaysia to sit down with me and prove that I am wrong or that I am a deviant. Come on, surely there is at least one ustaz, Tok Guru, Mufti, etc., who dares take me on. Come debate with me. Show me I am wrong. Then I will stop writing about Islam for the rest of my life. Surely this offer is too good to refuse
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Agendadaily,

Would you like to organize another debate between RPK and an Ustaz, Tok Guru or Mufti. I can guarantee you that it will hit more than 1.7 million viewer ship. Your October schedule should be a good date.
written by SamSan, August 31, 2008 16:31:40
I think RPK just like all of us don't really understand Islam Hadhari as enunciated by Bodowi. The government needs to educate the rakyat on the intricacies of UMNO Islam Hadhari and how it applies to all aspects of our life.
disagree 37
written by KM Wong, August 31, 2008 16:39:50
RPK sez" And now Syed Hamid Albar says that they are not censoring Malaysia Today. They are just blocking access to Malaysia Today."
And I say "Syed Hamid Albar's mother is a virgin".
written by talk2stop, August 31, 2008 16:39:54
RPK I think you upset too many Muslims. Your articles on Islam is refreshing. I think many Muslims just can't see the wood among the trees.
written by mikewang, August 31, 2008 16:48:49
Oh no ... shit.
Pete, you were the manchurian candidate.
written by Alice, August 31, 2008 16:55:40
As a practising Catholic i feel that Raja Petra Kamaruddin is a TRUE MUSLIM and I really wonder why the MUSLIMS do not feel that way??

He has the capacity to convince a non muslim about the true teachings of Islam however he is unable to convince the UMNO people . STRANGE ISN'T IT??? smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by temanmu, August 31, 2008 17:16:17
Wow!!!

This is a masterpiece ... hope it gets translated accurately into Malay!
written by kanokporn, August 31, 2008 17:18:52
dear pete what is wrong with you man? i just went for a short nap and came back and then you have his wonderful revelation and article for me. 4 years ago i decided to stop buying the newspapers and also decided that there is nothing that could change the way malaysia is being run but now i dont'know what i would do without mt. thank you and i am with you on turning this country of ours into a beautiful land that has been snatched right under our noses. i just dont turn my computer off anymore and thats the truth. oh god you never fail to amaze me. happy holidays to you and family
written by ez24get, August 31, 2008 17:20:37
That is the problem that malays are facing in Malaysia. Unwitting, this problem is self created by the malays themselves.

The problem is that malays (I must say not all malays)let UMNO gets away with unfair treatment of the other races economically as well as religiously.

Malays let UMNO get away with the supremacy of Islam over other religions practiced by the non-malays in as much ways possible; you let religious fanatics storm into inter-faith forums; you allow them to place syriah laws above the Federal Constitution; you allow them to demand other races not to question Islam even in cases where corruption and wrong teaching of Islam are perpetuated by them.

Now UMNO comes back to misuse Islam back on to the malays themselves - using religion and prophet Mohammad in coercing malays not to question Islam. They are using religion now on a righteous and a true muslim which is Raja Petra. They are doing this now because previously they are able to get away with it with the non-muslims.

The same goes for the NEP. Malays (again, not all malays) allow them to discriminate the other races and demand the other races not to questions malay rights.

What happens? UMNO comes back to steal what are meant for the ordinary malays for themselves and their cronies under the guise of NEP! They ask you now not to question them because previously they are able to get away from the non-malays.

This is the law of nature - do not do unto others what you don't want them to do unto you!

God has blessed Malaysia with enough resources for everybody. There is no need to discriminate other people in terms of race or religion in order to enjoy the fruits and abundance that nature has provided us.

If you do, nature has a funny way of biting back at us!
written by cinapek, August 31, 2008 17:23:21
pokokmangga said :

I concur. Pigs are one of the most inteligent mamals of the animal kingdom

----------------------------------------------------

I don't know about that, but they are surely tasty cooked with kicap.
SuperAdmin, thanks for taking the lead to keep our community focussed on the issues and NOT getting RPK into more trouble.
written by roylim, August 31, 2008 17:27:30
I really feel sad that we resort to name callings.

Why can't we have more constructive responses ?
Instead of just posting comments which downgrade fellow human beings,
we should try to post comments which touch at the topic in particular,
with facts that either support or oppose the topic.

This way it will promote a healthy debate which i hope the present government or any government in future will read and realise the numerous mistakes they have done.
Please do not post any comments that will not improve our current lives.
When we post any comment we just want the government to read and evaluate the current issue at hand. So name callings and curses won't help. If we continue doing this, aren't we no different from the person we label as animals.
We have to be more matured and indulge more in a healthy environment.
Please remember that students are also reading all this articles and comments, therefore we should show a good example to them the future generation of our nation.

RPK, do continue your articles if you think that whatever you are doing is the truth. You only have GOD and your own conscience to answer to.

PS : I am sorry if i offended anyone by this comment.
written by oknyua, August 31, 2008 17:34:57
YM RPK, each word you wrote would force them to look inside themselves. I hardly look at their blocking of MT as a religious or Islam issue - it is just plain hypocrisy. Unable to substantiate their actions, they drag in religion, the usual excuse UMNO men employed for sometimes already.

Back in the 70's and 80's, anything PAS did was accused of by UMNO as religious extremism. PAS's "extremism," if they were extremism, did not have any other strings attached, it was purely Islamic. UMNO's use of Islam is always for political end. Talk about people using religion for politics - that is only UMNO. Do we need to quote examples?
written by budakindia, August 31, 2008 17:39:49
Selamat berpuasa to Pete & family, to all my Muslim friends! smilies/grin.gif Just ignore Syed Hamid & the gang, they gave Islam a bad name! They also gave us Malaysians bad name too. So just ignore them. They are nothing but boneless, spineless politicians that will jump on any opportunity to make a quick buck.
written by BOB007, August 31, 2008 17:41:57
hai thr happy merdeka to all MT reader.....

MERDEKA MERDEKA MERDEKA......we all will get real MERDEKA after 13 sep if DSAI take over the goverment...... all malaysian pray to god hope DSAI wil take over the goverment from BN_UMNO racish goverment and work as malasians goverment.....

OUR FUTURE GOVERMENT IS PR GOVERMEN..........
written by Motherchell, August 31, 2008 17:52:25
No, Syed Hamid is not stupid. He does not even have a poor command of English. This is all a Red Herring. They want to block, not censor, Malaysia Today. So they are using the insulting Islam issue as the excuse. That is all.

He also knows how the poor docile guys , they can manipulate to go berserk . Its not just a Red herring -- its bloodied RED.

My Dear Pete, we are together in it and your wisdom will illuminate!!! Thank you for being there for us all .
INSHALLAH!
written by onnetline, August 31, 2008 18:07:05
Not censoring MToday but just blocking access to MToday is akin to saying that this Said Elbar is a ' racist moron ' by any legal standards !!!!
written by densemy, August 31, 2008 18:26:31
Saving face... the reason that Asia will always remain ordinary achievers.

Men with nothing but ego to support them will lie, cheat and do anything underhand or illegal simply to save them from accepting that they are inadequate.
written by bakas, August 31, 2008 18:59:54
They praise God on their lips, but made a mockery of His command by not observing the true command to do good and oppose evil. They fast and pray, but their fasting and prayer is not sincere, because those who pray and fast for Allah will shut out all evil thoughts and will try their best to do good unto others.

Funny how they observe the rituals, but do not try to understand what is the real essence behind it. Funny and sad how these people even persecute their brothers and sisters in Islam, who practice good values and observe the teachings of Islam, and the rest of people who do not subscribe to their brand of Islam, including the non-Muslim.

RPK does not need to even bet whether they will accept his offer to swear. We all know they will not. Because from the very beginning, what came out from them were lies. Truth will only expose lies, so they will be stupid to take this challenge. Let's see whether they will be consistent enough to follow what they teach, or like so many other times in the past, they will come up with 20 excuses on why RPK is not 'eligible' to swear...

To all my Muslim brothers, selamat menyambut bulan Ramadhan al-Mubarak.

To all my fellow Malaysians, happy independence day..keep up the good fight for freedom and justice.

To RPK, thank you...

Peace to all smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by roggon, August 31, 2008 19:01:37
not because I was a lost cause, but because I out-debated the ustaz and they felt, instead of the ustaz rehabilitating me, I might end up rehabilitating him?

YM RPK...you are one mean dude...I love you man!!!!!! keep it up....kick these morons
written by cahaya, August 31, 2008 19:10:00
Of course, nothing but a red herring. The bald-headed minister had to say something, so he made up silly excuses: Malaysia Today had ignored many warning letters. (what letters? how many?) Malaysia Today has insulted either Islam or Prophet Muhammad. (oh really? when? how?)

Those were not the real reasons for the block. Perhaps blocking MT was to prevent MT from drawing attention to the DNA Identification Bill, which was being discussed and rushed to be passed in Parliament?

Some people are asking: Why the haste in passing the DNA identification bill? Someone suggested that perhaps it could be to bring a conclusion to that year-long murder trial. DNA analysis could conclusively confirm how many people (and exactly who they were) had been present at the murder scene.
written by johntyc, August 31, 2008 19:12:37
If all Syeds are really descendants of the Prophet, then the Prophet must be particularly disappointed with Syed Hamid. smilies/sad.gif
written by Australian Malaysian, August 31, 2008 19:18:53
I have been so disillusioned with Islam in the past due to the atrocities & admission of blame for damage & carnage done by so called Islamists. These people have a lot to answer for for the denigration of this peaceful religion in Malysia & abroad.

I remember fondly as a kid how we used to get along with our friends, play games, visit each other at our respective homes, respect each other's beliefs & never see the difference between ourselves as we kept our friends in high esteem & valued them beyond diamonds. Our friends were mainly comprised of Malays, Indians, Chinese & Eurasians. We hung out a lot & looked forward to each other's religious celebrations be it Hari Raya, Deepavali, Chinese New Year & Christmas as it gave us the opportunity to share a meal & to celebrate together. Sad to say, "Those were the days" as we reminisce of them today.

What I want to say is "Thank You" to RPK, DSAI & The TRUE Rakyat of Malaysia who have voiced their hope & opinions through MT. You have started a great restoration of the faith in me as you have clearly demonstrated through the MT site. There are a lot of true followers of Islam out there & you have been faithful & strong for the cause & you believe in reconcillation for the better of all Malysians. My faith in Islam has started to be healed especially reading of RPK's detention through the ISA. RPK, you should be become an ambassador for advocating the true values of Islam as you have learly demonstrated so. Hopefully others will follow your example especially certain people in this present government!

"Amar maaruf, nahi munkar; which means to uphold truth and oppose evil"
May God continue to Bless, Protect & Prosper You & Your Family
smilies/wink.gif
written by anakmalaysia777, August 31, 2008 19:19:45
I am neither a Muslim nor an authority on any religion. However, anyone with simple common sense and some basic knowledge in world religions, will certainly agree that "amar ma'ruf and nahi munkar' are the very foundations on which all religions stand.

Certainly we have not read any excerpts in your columns that had condemned Islam or for that matter any other religion. Yes, you are right, in asking the government and Syed Hamid to more specific when they accuse others of not being faithful to their religion.

What you have exposed time and again in the spirit of "amar ma'ruf and nahi munkar' are those culprits whose deeds would clearly violate any religion, let alone Islam.

If these people felt offended enough by any of the statements made in the blogs, they have all the opportunity to correct those errors. And each one of them have numerous very highly paid secretaries and aides to assist them.

They should know that the Internet is not going to go away. It has become the main medium of communications. If they want lead Malaysia into this new age of technology, then they should show that they can use it effectively. If they cannot, then they are not fit to be leaders.

These leaders simply can no longer expect the Rakyat to accept ‘tak betul’ and ‘tak sesuai’ as sufficient argumentation against any view or opinion. I have to justify to my grandson why he should not or cannot do certain things. NO is simply no longer an answer. The same holds true for the Rakyat.

Since everyone in UMNO is so gung-ho about swearing on the Holy Koran, would Najib and Syed Hamid swear in the national mosque upon the Holy Koran that they were neither party to nor were aware of any incident in the PP elections where cash, belonging to the government, individuals or the party were distributed purely to induce people to vote for BN.

We the Rakyat of Malaysia on this memorable Merdeka day, support "amar ma'ruf and nahi munkar' and all those spirits, including of course YM Raja Petra, who promote these simple values that are critical for this beloved country of ours to survive in peace.

MERDEKA
written by longjaafar, August 31, 2008 19:35:45
"Syed Hamid is not stupid and his command of English is not bad either".......
I beg to differ a bit. He is not stupid, I agree but he is not smart either. So many times he gives ridiculous statements, that should not come out from a minister.
written by Eskay Lim, August 31, 2008 19:36:12
Well, Shit Head,
Anwar did it with Shabby Chik.
Lm Eng Guan did it with Dr.Koh.
Now, Ustaz Raja Petra has thrown a challenge,
Why don't you pick up the challenge since you talk so much?
Failing to do so would reflect badly on yourself....and kindly disappear.
written by cruzeiro, August 31, 2008 20:09:33

written by longjaafar, August 31, 2008 | 19:35:45
"Syed Hamid is not stupid and his command of English is not bad either".......
I beg to differ a bit. He is not stupid, I agree but he is not smart either.
===========================================

Longjaafar,
I concur.
In certain political parties, it's wajib that you at least make yourself look stupid, even if you aren't - on all matters of statecraft.
It's however wajib to follow the creed of pirates, and resort to spin and fool the people using anything at their disposal.

It has been the name of the game, ever since the time of one Malabari has been .....
written by apa jadi, August 31, 2008 20:18:25
There is a chinese saying: there is no shortage of excuses if you want to incriminate someone. Whatever excuse these power-that-be give, it is still excuse. It only shows their stupidity when cornered.
written by Taikohtai, August 31, 2008 20:26:47
End of the day, it all boils down to selective interpretation, I guess.
Imagine even TDM joining in the chorus to get DSAI to swear his innocence on Conspiracy Sodomy II. Luckily, the final word from the Syariah council confirms that DSAI was following the correct Islamic way.
In the past, the majority of the Malaysian muslims would have been deceived. But today, most realise that there exist different interpretations. Having seen the past record of BN's double talk and hypocritical ways, they come to understand that it is time for a change. Time for the gomen to walk the talk, otherwise it's Asta La Vista!
written by BennyG, August 31, 2008 20:37:23
RPK, good rebuttal on the warning letters coz' it just struck my mind, did MT has a corresponding address? smilies/cheesy.gif (at Botak (this nickname will insults botak especially since I'm also folicle challenged. Could someone suggest a better one? smilies/smiley.gif )

Anyway, amar maaruf, nahi munkar will always be stuck in my mind. Does this mean that there is no true muslims in the gov't since so much corruptions but so few were punished? Ooops, sorry except for those who share info with RPK.

Selamat berpuasa.
written by wangchung, August 31, 2008 20:37:36
Pete! Just love your way. Man you are COOL. Keep on stepping on their tails and make them painful but unable to open mouth. smilies/grin.gif
written by Engineer, August 31, 2008 20:43:01
The most sinful hypocrite in Islam is Old Man Maha Tail.
written by educationist, August 31, 2008 20:57:36
Please excuse my ignorance, I know gambling is forbidden in Islam but cannot a friendly wager of a cup of coffee be allowed.
If it is, for the sake of a chance to sip coffee with you I'll take you up on the wager you threw at the government, even though I'm as sure as you are that there will no response.
Thank you for letting us know that ' to uphold truth and oppose evil -- is mandatory in Islam'.
Need I comment further if I use this as a yardstick against what the UMNOputras are doing?
written by Anti Jihadist, August 31, 2008 21:12:39
I like to call the Bumis/Malays/Whatever, for all their avowed supremacy and privileges, as the 'Master Race' or the 'Herrenvolk'. That usually elicits nervous laughter, from those who understand the historical reference. The point is, as RPK has stated so lucidly, is that racialism/racism/whatever, even if carried out in the name of the noblest intentions, is an irredeemable evil that must be fought and resisted.

On a quite different topic...is anyone else having problems going to or viewing Malaysiakini tonight? Perhaps the Block/Black Hats of UMNO are setting their sites on that site now.
written by Anti Jihadist, August 31, 2008 21:13:11
setting their sights, i mean smilies/grin.gif
written by Richy, August 31, 2008 21:17:27
Former president of India Hon. Abdul Kalam is in Malaysia now. He is a righteous man who is a loyal Muslim, read almost all religious books of different faiths. Ask any Indians, all of them will be full of praises for him.

Indians regardless of their nationality and race and religion have so much respect and love for this man. The truth is he never professes and talks about Islam in public. It’s not necessary I believe as his life style itself reflects Islam. And I guarantee he has helped Islam to be seen as religion with big heart in the eyes of different religion and every other person who comes across him would only speak highly of this religion. This is how one should speak of his religion

How many leaders in Malaysia do that? They talk Islam; they claim they are more Muslim than RPK, others and possibly even Abdul Kalam. But the fact is they are not, Syed Albar too portrays himself as Muslim but do we see any quality of true Muslim in him?

Sorry to say this. It's mere hypocrisy without value.
written by panca, August 31, 2008 21:31:04
From a direct and clear teaching, it has been and continue to be manipulated by power crazy politicians to cast confusion among the followers. They see the weakness and make them go berserk, it is dangerous minds at work to exploit hazy masses of unsuspecting followers.

From a direct and clear thinking, Pete points and help(if there are hazy ones still)those who hear but not listen to see for themselves and unknot years of multiple layers of confusion.

Finally, the substance instead of form where the ustaz gets the awakening from Pete whereby Pete lead the mind, mindfulness and clarity that rightful actions are manifested.

Yes, we are seeing double....double standard of these power crazy politicians of their practices!
written by Gargamel, August 31, 2008 22:10:19
Wow, Pete. This is the most beautiful teaching of Islam I have ever read. Thank you. I have a new respect for Islam now.

Those of you who like Pete's "debates", read his book, From Prince to Prisoner. Then you'll see why the SB dare not 'brainwash' him! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by johnT, August 31, 2008 22:12:10
If RPK insult Islam the goverment shall bring him to the syariah court so that he can defend himself to proff that he is following the quran command and did not insult Islam. From what i see he only slam the muslim people atitude that doest not following the Islam teaching and always make use of Islam for thier own interest. Or I could say that RPK is insult the munafik people.He make sure Islam in the right path. correct me if I am wrong
written by Lim Lim, August 31, 2008 23:08:36
makkal sakthi !
amar maaruf,nahi munkar!
jia yu ,anwar n pakatan!
long live ketuanan rakyat!
mampus umno.
written by Sabahfan, August 31, 2008 23:47:27

Pete, U not the first to out-debate an ustaz especially those appointed by UMNO.

My friend does that quite often.

in fact some of us even outdebate our priest and bishops..

That means there is really something wrong with malaysia now.

it is in distress
written by Fuminari, August 31, 2008 23:53:58
by the way,to RPK n family plus all concerned out there,selamat berpuasa!!
written by trublumalaysian, August 31, 2008 23:59:50
A government entity which should be purged of it's damaging agendas. BTN. A body which espouses malays to view MALAYSIANS OF ALL RACES with jaundiced eyes.

They are the purveyors of untruths, spewing venom by politicians to create the the divide for us Malaysians. Time has come to hark back to the drawing boards, fine-tune and move on.

I have every faith that all these BTN sods need, is a marathon non-stop session with RPK. (sheesh, 24 hours should do really)

The positive effects will unfold itself. God bless Malaysia for ALL Malaysians.

To all fellow Malaysian muslims, near and afar ... Selamat Berpuasa.
written by Frankfurtguy, September 01, 2008 00:02:31

Stand strong
Stand firm
You are the major factor to form the 2-party system in Malaysia
I used to be noninterested or "numb" in politic
BUT
you have waken me up
Thank you
written by Msian 2, September 01, 2008 00:06:47
Pete -- Appreciate what U & family is doing to keep us inform on govt abuses. I understand its all done in the name of goodness for the country & its people. Thanks for being the fall guy, special appreciation to your family members on what they have to endure when U take a strong stand on correctness.
written by cheekhiaw, September 01, 2008 00:08:00
Tiger Antics

The antics from one harimau bin abdullah and the way super admin stripped him of his belang really made me laugh.

The proverbial asking for for it.

written by lord, September 01, 2008 00:14:05
This is nothing but a Red Herring. They are using an excuse that works well with most Muslims. If Muslims think you are insulting Islam or Prophet Muhammad they will go berserk. So what better excuse to offer than you are insulting Islam and Prophet Muhammad.

remind me of when you give analogy about PAS-UMNO muzakarah as khalwat. you know it's nothing like khalwat (man woman_close proximity) but you know it's more effective to damage PAS if you use an Islamic term as an analogy. It seem like you also use the same tactic that works well with Muslim. That comment of mine was deleted despite no vulgarity at all just a bit menongkah arus. how is that not censorship like that they're doing to your site now? but it may not be your doing could be the other moderator in here. I'm tempted to say the pot calling the kettle black.
written by Lim Lim, September 01, 2008 00:19:40
to all muslim n of course RPK n Family,selamat berpuasa n hav a great time out there!oyasuminasai.
written by Kopi37, September 01, 2008 00:47:10
A perfect discourse for rehabilitation to the naive and gullible souls who continue to believe and support the evilly UMNO hypocrites, the pathological liars with Hamid, Najis and the sleepy goat top the list !........
written by GeoGeo, September 01, 2008 01:51:37
Bro Pete,

Let's do a 'Tit for Tat' on the Fake Lawyer.

Dig deep into his corrupted, dark exortic, racist secrets and expose them .

The Imam can then rehabitat him.

Do It.
written by Siapabohong, September 01, 2008 02:11:25
They think Islam only belongs to them, not others. That's the problem why Islam is not accepted by others and not truely propagated because they are giving wrong teaching about the religion and made the religion solely theirs. These people have a lot answers to give when they meet God because they have failed to propagate the religion which can lead others to embrace it but instead make them angry and confuse with the teaching of the religion. If Islam is propagated properly and do not make it to look like it solely belongs to the Malay, then I believe many would have embraced the religion. So to those leaders who have deviated the teaching or used the religion to cover their political motives, you all better prepare answers for anticipated questions from God when you all meet Him soon which possibly about 'why in a multiracial and religious country like this country you all can't convince them to embrace to my religion? Don't blame the non-Muslim for having negative attitude towards the religion but the Muslim leaders of this country that deviated it and give wrong teaching and perception about the religion.
written by PASOK, September 01, 2008 05:03:42
Super Admin

I appeal for you to lift the ban on Harimau. Even though his post is offensive I dont think we should start banning people for comments they make. Probably he just had a fit of anger like what many people have from time to time. Please let us maintain freedom of speech on MT. Once we start banning people it will have a chilling effect and so far the beauty of MT is that people have no fear to say what they want to say.

Please reconsider
disagree 41
written by talk2stop, September 01, 2008 08:13:39
Pasok
I can’t agree more. The minute you start banning you are putting a restriction. I am sure some rather not say anything for fear he/she will be ban. Just like blocking your site. Who is right and who is wrong is not for me to decide. It is like ISA one strike you are out.
We must educate them not punishing them. Punishing only make things worse. I rather someone respond to a distasteful comment or a warning with a given reason. Most of us a reasonable people.
disagree 37
written by readmylips, September 01, 2008 08:17:14
I am torn between Super Admin's banning of Harimau which I agree as we should try be civilised in what we write and PASOK's input which in a way is true. My two cents is that if you about to take out your anger by writing offensive material, first shout out what your about to write and if no one around you makes any comment, then go ahead and write away. If someone does then think again.......Cheers!
written by SocratesI, September 01, 2008 09:04:22

Your interpretation of Islam is brilliant, Pete, but you made one mistake above. You are not insulting Muslims at all, either, as those who do not practise what is mandatory as Muslims to practise, such as amar maaruf, nahi munkar compulsory (wajib), THEN, HOW CAN THEY BE MUSLIMS in the first place ??

You were only scolding deviants who call themselves Muslims, but do not practise Islam ... Syed Hamid is just making excuses for banning Malaysia Today, which in itself is already a MORONIC act ! He is but a LIAR who keeps on lying to justify his DICTATORIAL actions. A TRUE DESPOT !!

written by cinapek, September 01, 2008 09:07:17
Pasok said : I appeal for you to lift the ban on Harimau. Even though his post is offensive I dont think we should start banning people for comments they make. Probably he just had a fit of anger like what many people have from time to time. Please let us maintain freedom of speech on MT.

----------------------------

Freedom of speech does not mean you should be allowed to stand on a soap box in the middle of KL and shout obscenities, then ask to be forgiven because you were in a fit of anger. Then where do we draw the line? Are we to let someone commit murder and forgive him because he did it in a fit of anger?

I dare say more than half of the folks here are angry with something or other. Otherwise we would not be here. I did NOT vote for Pakatan because I like them. I voted for them because I was (still am) ANGRY with BN. I didn't walk up to the BN MP and shout vulgarities at her and ask to be forgiven because I was angry. I did it in the civil manner that was allowed to me - with my ballot.

If your child has a fit of anger and starts shouting obsceneties at passers by, do you close your eyes and accept that it was just a fit of anger?

An un-policed MT community will attract hooligans who simply enjoy that they can come and shit all over the place with vulgar comments and images. Don't think that they are BN supporters or not. Just drive down the road. You see idiots who just WANT to make life difficult for other law abiding drivers because to them, it's fun. Do you think they even care about you?

Similarly, isn't it at all possible that a fraction of commenters here (like Harimau perhaps) are just leaving vulgar comments because it's fun? That they know they won't be cautioned? It looks like they don't give a damn about what MT is all about and what RPK is trying to do. They just want to be allowed to spit their filth on other people. NO rules means chaos.

Please don't lose sight of the forest for the trees. Don't lose sight of the big picture. Even now, as we deliberate about this, the world is looking and perhaps thinking "Well there are voices of reason in the MT community and the people in charge of MT ARE trying to be responsible".

I accept any decision by SuperAdmin and the MT team. I may not be happy with the outcome, but I will abide by the decision. Sure it's easy to sit in our comfy homes and "encourage" RPK while he's in the lockup because we didn't consider the repercussions of our comments. Let's not take for granted RPK's pricipled stand of not disclosing the identity of his community by spitting on other people's faces with vulgar comments.

Remember the big picture. We can help paint a beautiful picture or destroy it. A nation