Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Malaysians reiterate need for change, reforms

Malaysians reiterate need for change, reforms PDF Print
Sunday, 31 August 2008 11:07

Umno division chief Ahmad Ismail spoke at a ceramah and called Chinese pendatang (immigrants) and added that “as the Chinese were only immigrants it was impossible to achieve equal rights amongst races”.

The Malaysian Insider Commentary

The surprising thing about the Permatang Pauh by-election result was this: that some Malaysians were actually stunned and shocked that the Barisan Nasional could be defeated so soundly.

Let’s get real. Nothing much has changed from March 8 2008, that watershed day when Malaysians threw of the yoke of fear and conservatism and voted for the Opposition in great numbers.

Five and a half months on, this is the scenario on the ground. The Chinese and Indians still believe that the Umno-led government treats them as tenants and that the power-sharing concept of the Barisan Nasional does not protect minority interests.

The young voters still believe that Umno politicians are corrupt, arrogant and consumed by power and position.

Non-Muslims still believe that the country is sliding down the slippery slope towards intolerance and narrow-mindedness. Many Malaysians still believe that Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is the Prime Minister of grand sounding rhetoric, but rhetoric none the same.

Here are just a few examples of what has happened since March 8 to confirm that nothing much has changed.

•The Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) is still anti-government despite several overtures by BN officials to a few leaders of the movement. When Abdullah visited the Karu Mariamman temple in Butterworth he was booed by a segment of Hindraf followers. Others upset at the presence of the PM refused to take part in the gathering.

Abdullah, protected by a phalanx of Special Branch and Unit Tindak Khas officials, stay on for a while but there was little doubt that he was an unwelcome guest.

Several Hindraf officials who were informed of the PM’s visit were dismissed as lackeys of the government. The tone of the protest against the PM showed that the movement still has not forgiven the government for jailing P Uthayakumar and others under the Internal Security Act and for addressing the marginalization of Indians seriously.

MIC and IPF members who canvassed for votes in Permatang Pauh conceded that they faced a tough time convincing the 3.300 Indian voters to support BN’s Arif Shah.

In some households, they were simply not welcome, much like during the general election campaign period.

End result: Vast majority of Indians voted for Pakatan Rakyat, just like they did on March 8.

•Christians and other non-Muslims groups. Anecdotal evidence suggest that non-Muslims, upset their religious rights were trampled upon in the years since Abdullah became prime minister, deserted the BN in numbers in March.

They have grown weary of the arrogance of Umno politicians, the impotence of MCA, Gerakan and MIC politicians to stand up for the rights of non-Malays. They have become cynical with Abdullah’s pledge of being the leader of all Malaysians.

Their vote in March was not a protest vote but a vote for change. In their opinion, their best hope for a moren equitable country lies with Anwar Ibrahim. In the run-up to the Permatang Pauh by-election , all they heard Umno politicians talk about was Malay unity and the need to ensure the rights of Malays enshrined in the Constitution was always protected.

Indeed, Malay unity and not Malaysian unity has been the number one concern of Umno since March 8. On August 25, a day before the by-election, Umno division chief Ahmad Ismail spoke at a ceramah and called Chinese pendatang (immigrants) and added that “as the Chinese were only immigrants it was impossible to achieve equal rights amongst races”.

His comments were carried in all the Chinese language newspapers. Predictably, more Chinese voted for the Opposition in Permatang Pauh on Aug 26 than they did on March 8.

Since then, MCA and Gerakan officials have demanded strong action against Ahmad Ismail.

Abdullah has promised to remind Ahmad Ismail to be more careful with his words.

His meek response will only serve to drive home the point that nothing has changed since Election 2008. Umno is arrogant and incapable of change.

•Young voters. There has been no attempt to draw up a plan for Umno/BN to win over young voters.

An analysis of Election 2008 results shows that many newly-registered voters and those in the 21 and 30 age group supported DAP, PAS or PKR candidates.

Their reasons were varied – they viewed BN as corrupt; they believed that the New Economic Policy was only benefitting a select group of Malays; they did not believe that the future of a better Malaysia was dependent on BN running the country.

Since March 8, many BN politicians have been talking about getting closer to young voters. What they don’t realise is that younger Malaysians will only support a political party which shares their aspirations, not one that continues to lecture them.

At Permatang Pauh, some 90 per cent of the young voters supported Anwar Ibrahim.

•Malay voters. In July, the Islamic International University polled 1,500 Malays from across the country to find out their political values.

They discovered that 70 per cent of those polled said that even though the government could guarantee strong economic growth and stability, it was necessary to hold elections and ensure that democracy was alive.

Some 90 per cent of them wanted the special rights of the Malays to be maintained but they also wanted other races to be treated fairly. Nearly 70 per cent said that they did not agree with detention without trial.

Taken together, their views seemed to be closer to what Anwar Ibrahim spoke about in the run-up to the by-election than what Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak and other BN leader promised.

Anwar assured the Malays that their rights were protected under the Constitution but added that needy Chinese and Indians also needed help from the government.

He said that the Internal Security Act must be abolished and more must be done to ensure that the political system was not corrupt.

So like Election 2008, he was speaking a language which found resonance on the ground. In contrast, Umno politicians still are stuck in a time warp, believing that appealing to Malay insecurity is the only way to keep political power.

•Abdullah Ahmad Badawi. How can a leader squander an approval rating of 91 per cent in March 2004 and watch it plummet to 43 per cent in July 2008?

By not fulfilling a raft of promises including the pledge to be a leader of all Malaysians; to fight corruption; to bring about reform in the police, judiciary and the political system.

By the time March 8 came around, many Malaysians had become disillusioned with Abdullah, believing that he was indecisive and could not execute policies.

In the days after Election 2008, he came out strong, saying that he had heard the voices of dissent and was committed to repairing the country’s institutions and tackling the rising cost of living.

After the initial burst of enthusiasm, his unwillingness to upset Umno during the party’s election season has seen him go slow on reforming the judiciary.

His Cabinet does not inspire confidence nor does his stewardship of the Malaysian economy. Cynicism and skepticism accompanies every promise and pledge that he makes today.

So really no one should be surprised that Anwar won by a yawning gap over BN’s Arif Shah on August 26.

Malaysians voted for change on March 8. It was not a protest vote, it was a vote for change.

Abdullah, Umno and the BN still don’t get it. So the electorate sent them another message on August 26.

Only this time it was more emphatic.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by Tom n Jerry, August 31, 2008 11:16:51
BN is a sinking vessel;but they dont seem to get the message;how pathetic;perhaps they want a revolution to be oust them,if the cross-overs havent materialize by 16September2008;*betul tak tahu malu;angkapalamuka* smilies/angry.gif
written by budakindia, August 31, 2008 11:26:17
Bottom line is why should we celebrate the National Day and raise the National flag since we are "kaum pendatang" only "menumpang" in this country? smilies/angry.gif You stupid BN & UMNO people should realize only fascism, nazism, apartheid country will make such comments. Syed Hamid, please re coin a new term for that! smilies/angry.gif
written by lobster, August 31, 2008 11:26:31
Correction. The electorate, it appears, no longer interested in sending mesage to BN any more.

They want BN out.
written by IbnAbdHalim, August 31, 2008 11:27:13
Malaysia is in dire need of a change. The faster the better. We don't need UMNO racists harping on racial issues. Neither do we need MCA or MIC racists around. They are the thorns in our flesh. With them around there will be no national integration.

So, Ahmad Ismail is off the track. And if Pak Lah only is to advise him not to repeat what he said that day, it's not enough. He should be reprimanded for his act not only hurt the Chinese, but the entire Malaysian community. Be aware that even a good majority of the 'Malays' are immigrants compared to the Babas in Malacca and Penang. Yes, there are Babas in Penang, too. They were here long before the immigrant Malays. Are not the Javanese, the Banjaris and Bugis immigrants? The true sons of the soil are the Orang Aslis.
written by onnetline, August 31, 2008 11:46:07
Ahmad Ismail,

If the Chinese were ' pendatang ', where did your fore fathers came from ?

Tell and show us the evidence, please.

Also, is Maha Kutty not a ' pendatang ' too ???

Or you like me to give you more names to confirm their origin ??

If you don't know your politics, please shut your mouth and not embarrass yourself with stupid remarks, okay ??
written by talk2stop, August 31, 2008 11:50:18
I am so glad that I was treated as a "pendatang" if not for that I may not be calling Australia home. Here I am like an Australian enjoying clean air, 4 seasons, good people and vote but I got to say I miss durians.
written by InEffective, August 31, 2008 11:58:16

Looks like the structurally dysfunctional constitution is coming to its end.
And the immunity of the BN politicians is up - now they will have to pay for their deeds.

Looks like the CM from malacca should get a headstart on applying to PR in Indonesia.
written by Ulan Benson, August 31, 2008 12:00:29
Ignore what this idiot, Ahmad had said about the Chinese. Forget about MCA, MIC...In the first place, there is no Chinese, no Malay, no Indian...in Malaysia. There is only one race after 08.03.2008...that is...A Malaysian race.

As long as there is UM=No, MIC, MCA etc, there will no peace in Malaysia. These parties "pretend" to champion the rights of their respective community. In reality...they are using this method to rob "their own community". UM=No only benefits UM=Noputras, MIC (SemiValue, Pariahnavel, Nallapariah etc becomes billionaires while the Indian almost wiped out) MCA (*******s like OKT, OKChuan, Liow etc selling the Chinese rights for $$$).

After years of bullshits by these crooks, do Malaysia needs all these craps? Besides, racist party only breeds hatred amongst other races. To globalise, live as one race...the Malaysian race. No more UM=NO, MIC, MCA...please dissolve all these parties and join PKR smilies/grin.gif for a better future.
written by lamakawan, August 31, 2008 12:10:52
I like to ask Ahmad Ismail what race he belongs to. When did his forefathers come to Malaya, not malaysia. If he cannot trace who his forefathers were, please ask him to shit his gap and not to perpetrate racial slursw further. he must be condemned in our society as uncivilised malaysian today.
written by disgruntled, August 31, 2008 12:14:58
If BN cannot ask Ahmad ismail to shut up, that means very clearly UMNO is continuong its breakup of BN. Sabah people and Sarawak people cannot tolerate further of this arrogant and domineering racial attitude of UMNO people. We have to vote for no confidence in BN. Reason for not signing allegiance declaration as suggested by UMNO people.
written by cinatmanis, August 31, 2008 12:41:41
Abdulah is the kindergarten standard PM who treat his ministers and the people like kids, because that is his caliber.

Worse, He has this blind spot of seeing he embarrassing himself and inflicting pain to the people.
written by HL5, August 31, 2008 12:43:13
Hey, Ahmad Ismail, you bodoh ke?

The Chinese in Malacca were there since the late 1300's. Even before the Portuguese. You know how long that is?

"Pendatang"? Sh*t! Maybe you should check your family history.
written by HL5, August 31, 2008 12:57:39
I am Malaccan Chinese Malaysian with roots going way back to Princess Hang Li Po's time, and this ars*-h*le Ahmad Ismail calls me a "pendatang"! I don't care if you are fishing for votes. I could also lower my standards and cll you a "sakai"! See how you like it. My excuse, i am only fishing for votes for BN.
written by Taikohtai, August 31, 2008 12:59:31
Politicians are voted in to serve the rakyat. Such is the case in all democractic countries. But in Malaysia, the rakyat has been duped into voting for BN for too long. Been in power for so long, BN conveniently forget about why they are in Parliament in the first place.
Now that PR is reiterating that they are there to serve the rakyat and ensure fair distribution of the country's wealth, the hoi polloi is flocking back to them.
PR is now a most viable 'opposition' party at Federal level and better state government in the 5 states they controlled.
Whether BN wants to reform itself is no longer an issue with most Malaysians. BN can go to hell for all they care.
After all, DSAI and PR is there for them now.
written by Msian 2, August 31, 2008 13:06:34
With likes of Botak,Bodowi,C4,Semi Velliu -- we not only need reforms but desperately. Things are just getting out of control be it freedom, rule of law, national unity etc. Even if we have an inexperience alternative govt that is determine to do the right things is better than the corrupt govt we now have.
written by ez24get, August 31, 2008 13:28:31
No, no ..... you people are wrong! We need more heroes like Ahmad Ismail!

We are in dire need for such heroes to fight for and unite the non-malays in order to topple BN.

If you analyse the situation carefully, only just one Ahmad Ismail could accomplish with one sentence what thousands of MCA, Gerakan and MIC leaders cannot accomplish in a decade and with thousands of hours of meaningless rhetoric in uniting the non-malays! He is much, much more effective than all MCA, Gerakan and MIC combined.

We must give our hats off to DAP who has hatched an ingenious plan to infiltrate Ahmad Ismail into UMNO like the Greek mythology trojan horse. The plan is for him to mingle with the more extremist UMNO members to make racial rhetoric and slur on the other racial communities into discrediting UMNO and bringing disunity among the BN component parties.

The plan was so subtle that even Badawi doesn't realise Ahmad Ismail is a trojan horse; not only did he forgive hime but let him off with just a light bemusing warning which of course hinting to Ahmad Ismail that he could do it anytime again.

And DAP doesn't only have one trojan horse in the likes of Ahmad Ismail up in its sleeves. In fact thousands of DAP trojan horses have already infiltrated into UMNO. They look like UMNO members, talk like UMNO members but they are not fighting the cause for UMNO.

Their disguises are so perfect that you couldn't tell them apart from the ordinary UMNO members! It's only a matter of time their work will cause so much disunity that will cause the BN component parties to severe their ties with UMNO and the once mighty UMNO to implode!

One of their leaders who has been so successful so far is, of course, the one with the wide smile in disguise and carrying the secret code in the form of a kris!

So, people, we must not critise Ahmad Ismail but to thank him for his sacrifice to unite the non-malays!

We need more heroes like him! The country truly need people like him to succeed in reuniting its citizens even though it may mean taking a step backward now in order to move forward 3 or 4 steps in future!
written by PAKRAK, August 31, 2008 13:28:52
Ahmad Ismail is not fit to be a Malaysian. Strip off his title, expel him from UMNO and charge him under the Sedition Act if UMNO/BN wants to reform.
written by nangkarajah, August 31, 2008 13:44:33
In fact after the last Malaysian general election of March 8, it was clear that the Coalition in power (Barisan Nasional which is actually UMNO-led) had already lost it's UNCHALLENGEABLE supreme dictatorial power which it had enjoyed for the last 50 years after independence in 1957. In an surprising turn of events, the ruling coalition's elected parliamentarians FROM MAINLAND WEST MALAYSIA were exactly AT PAR in numbers with those in the Opposition. What kept the ruling coalition alive was support from EAST MALAYSIA's States of Sabah and Sarawak's TWO billionaire-warlords and their combined richly-rewarded and thus intensely-loyal 50 Members of Parliamentarians. These East Malaysian politicians after realizing that they now hold the balance of power (which hitherto had been in the hands of the overwhelming majority West Malaysians) now want to hold the PM's government in KL at ransom and to dictate to it according to their warlord-billionaire leaders' whim and fancy. For starters, they demanded disproportionately large and excessive government funds. ANWAR IBRAHIM's landslide victory and entry into politics today after 10 years' absence is perhaps the WEST Malaysian citizens way of saying to the East Malaysians "ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. Now we want our birthright (to have a controlling say in Malaysia) back".
written by Lim Lim, August 31, 2008 14:00:02
"the best way of triumph to the devil is those good men sitting there but doing nothing"!!!
written by wood, August 31, 2008 14:01:06
People who calls us pendatang are just plain IDIOTS , not fit to be leaders , not fit to be just anywhere !!!!!!!!!!!

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by krising1, August 31, 2008 14:07:58
It is true we need idiotic UMNOputras like Ahmad Ismail and Ali Rustum to turn people including Malays off. I must say idiots like you are doing a great service to make this country great. Looks like the UMNOputras did not even heed the polls from the Islamic university. From the Malays! From the Muslims. The UMNOputras even ignored their wishes. How damn stupid.?
And Muhiyiddin says that he needs the support of all races
written by Tokomitsu, August 31, 2008 14:27:18
In todays mainline newspapers, PM said that Ahmad Ismail did not mean what he said. I say it is hogwash. What is in ones heart eventually will be transmitted to words and actions. UMNOPutras have outlived their welcome as leaders of the country. They are nothing but racist. The next GE let us all bury them (BN) to the wastebins of history just as KJ wishfully wanted to bury DSAI politically.
written by penangboi, August 31, 2008 14:27:58
BN is beyond salvation. They were given numerous chances but not only have they not taken them but they have completely ignored the messages sent by the rakyat.

Time for change. There is no turning back now.
written by nangkarajah, August 31, 2008 14:30:06
Memang kamu serious nak tubuh kerajaan pusta baru. Sedar ka tak, dalam perkara ini kamu hanya boleh harap dengan LOMPAT dari MPs Semananjung sahaja. The East Malaysian MPs (except for very very few)-----no matter how convincing to your ears or eyes may be-----only BERSANDIWARA to destroy you and to put you to shame at the same time. Saudara Anwar, who are those advisors of yours who can convince you that East Malaysian MPs will LOMPAT in droves? Who are those advisors of yours who can convince you that these East Malaysian MPs will back-stab their TWO billionaire war-lord political leaders who are calling the shots, even dictating to the PM and BN Gov't on life-support provided by East Malaysian BN politicians? Have those advisors of yours ever mentioned that East Malaysian MPs (from BN naturally) are each millionaires already owing to rich rewards bestowed on them. You think so easy to wrest their support away from their BILLIONAIRE warlord political leaders. Are you are billionaire? Are you in a position to reward your supporters with the loot readily available in hand when a leader has supreme power like those in BN? People support you not because they want money but because of the PRINCIPALS they hold dear and are willing to defend these principals with their dear lives even. East Malaysian MPs only live for and by money.
written by Eskay Lim, August 31, 2008 14:31:49
Dear PM Badawi,
Malaysians have urged, nudged and protested that you try put your Umno goons and warlords in line for the sake of peace & prosperity of the country.
You still have 2 years to put right all those promises that you personally promised regarding corruption & corrupt practices in the many Govt. depts., the Judiciary and thePolice.
Failing which, your descendants will learn from the rewritten history-books about you as the "Prime Minister" with the most number of negative attributes.
written by PRman, August 31, 2008 14:58:00
BN is panic, and not able to cope with the pressure from Rakyat and PR. Its BN's own fault of time and time to reject people wishes, and used the scared tactics to confront the people. They will lose to the people power soon!
written by The dragonheart, August 31, 2008 15:00:10
UMNO must abolish the ISA... if not the very same Act will be use against them and the senior government and PDRM officials if the opposition manage to take over...
written by shamsul siahaan, August 31, 2008 15:40:29
Where is Hamid Albar? Is he deaf or "dumb"? Isn't what was said tantamount to sedition? Or maybe the law for UMNO members are different from what is being applied to the rest of us.
written by ganbing, August 31, 2008 19:10:14
BN's star is descending. If they can't win in a Malay majority area in a by-election where they can concentrate their resources how will they do in a General Election? BN will certainly be wiped out. No question about it.
written by Commonsenses, August 31, 2008 19:50:36
This article is among many that spoke on the denial syndrome affecting the BN or UMNO in particular. The reality is that to reform UMNO or BN is impossible. I believe certain events in the past have pointed to the negativity. The Lingam video, the culture of land grabbing by BN component parties from Perak to Selangor for profit through abused of power in local council and state land departments, the planting of evidence on PR politician and the corruption reports during the current UMNO divisional election are manifestation of severe symptoms of administrative ills on the part of the ruling party and its various arms of the government. All the above ills are money and power related. Again all these are for self serving motivation. Therefore the ruling party elders are corrupted to the core. Nothing can be done so long as they are in power, as money are being used to sustain their power base. It remain to be seen whether Anwar can persuade tham to crossover if money can be use to persuade not ot move before 16 sept.
written by HL5, August 31, 2008 20:40:09
Correct, correct.

Ars*-h&le Ahmad Ismail just broke the law on sedition. So Mr Syed Hamid, are you going to charge him and produce him before the magistrate? Are you going to instruct the police to investigate and then the AG to prosecute mr Ahmad Ismail?

I respect you as a Minister. I am sure you will act with no fear or favour. I am sure you have no double standards.

Do not disappont me, my Minister.
written by Jit Dharma, August 31, 2008 22:39:53
Power drunkards of UMNO, I appeal to you to mend your wayward lives and
embrace the true Malaysian spirit of generosity and brotherhood.