Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Dari PP ke Parlimen ke PJ

Dari PP ke Parlimen ke PJ PDF Print
Saturday, 30 August 2008 12:40

If I were asked to write this year’s MCKK Old Boys Association dinner-concert script, it would, again, be a musical. And the musical would of course satire the latest political scenario.

The last time I ever got involved in writing a stage-play script for a MCOBA (Malay College Old Boys Association) dinner-concert was in 1996. That year we did a musical, a satire of the political scenario then. The musical opened with the late Pak Din, who played the role of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, ‘crying’ to the song of ‘It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to’. That was of course the year Mahathir cried during the Umno Assembly.

The musical was about Mahathir crying and lamenting about the rot and money politics in Umno (Money, money, money, it’s a rich man’s world), the stupidity of the Umno leaders (I don’t know much, but I know I love you), Anwar kicking out Ghafar Baba and taking over as Number Two, Tengku Razaleigh falling out with Nik Aziz and returning to Umno (Reunited and it feels so good), Rafidah and Siti Zaharah engaged in a duel, and finally Anwar getting kicked out of Umno.

Some say it was almost like a prediction and a prediction it certainly was. Everything in that musical actually happened.

If I were asked to write this year’s MCKK Old Boys Association dinner-concert script, it would, again, be a musical. And the musical would of course satire the latest political scenario. Lat Shariman would, as usual, play the role of Anwar Ibrahim, as no one can mimic Anwar better than Lat can. Rehman Rashid would probably direct the entire thing, as only he is despotic enough to control the most unruly MCOBA crowd who never turn up for concert practice on time. And who else but Dato’ Salahuddin Hashim should produce the concert.

And this would probably be what the musical would look like.

Anwar Ibrahim comes on stage to the song ‘The long and winding road’.

The long and winding road
That leads to PJ
Will never disappear
I've seen that road before
It always leads me here
Lead me to PJ

The wild and windy night
That the rain washed away
Has left a pool of tears crying for the day
Why leave me standing here
Let me know the way

Many times I've been alone
And many times I've cried
Anyway you've always know
The many ways I've tried

But still they lead me back
To the long and winding road
You left me waiting here
A long, long time ago
Don't leave me standing here
Lead me to PJ
Da, da, da, da

Then Abdullah Ahmad Badawi would make his appearance to the song ‘Yesterday’.

Yesterday
All my troubles seemed so far away
Now it looks as though they’re here to stay
Oh I believe in yesterday

Suddenly
I’m not half the man I used to be
There is Anwar hanging over me
Oh yesterday came suddenly

Why I have to go I don’t know
He wouldn’t say
I said something wrong
Now I long for yesterday

Yesterday
It was such an easy game to play
Now I need a place to hide away
Oh I believe in yesterday

Why I have to go I don't know
He wouldn't say
I said something wrong
Now I long for yesterday

Yesterday
It was such an easy game to play
Now I need a place to hide away
Oh, I believe in yesterday
Mm mm mm mm mm mm mm............

Then Khairy Jamaluddin would come on stage to the song ‘I’m a loser’.

I'm a loser
I'm a loser
And I'm not what I appear to be
Of all the fights I have won or have lost
There is one man I should never have crossed
Anwar’s a man in a million, my friend
I should have known he would win in the end

I'm a loser
And I lost something that's near to me
I'm a loser

Although I laugh and I act like a clown
Beneath this mask I am wearing a frown
My tears are falling like rain from the sky
Is it for him or myself that I cry

I'm a loser
I'm a loser

What have I done to deserve such a fate?
I realise I have left it too late
And so it's true, pride comes before a fall
I'm telling you so that you won't lose all

I'm a loser
I'm a loser

And this will be the song, ‘Get Back’, that will accompany Najib when he comes on stage.

Anwar was a man I thought would be a loser
Never knew it couldn't last
Anwar left his home in PP, Pulau Pinang
Now he’s headed for PJ

Get back, get back
Get back to where you once belonged
Get back, get back
Get back Anwar

Go home
Get back, get back
Back to where you once belonged
Get back, get back
Back to where you once belonged
Get back Nwar

Datin Rosmah Mansor thought she was a woman
But she was another man
All the boys around her say she's got it coming
But she gets it while she can

Get back, get back
Get back Anwar

Ah, get back
Yeah, get back
Yeah get back
Get back, Ooo

And what would a musical be without Mahathir appearing on stage to the song ‘Nowhere man’?

He's a real nowhere man
Sitting in his nowhere land
Making all his nowhere plans for nobody

Doesn't have a point of view
Knows not where he's going to
Isn't he a bit like you and me?

Nowhere man, please listen
You don't know what you're talking
Nowhere man, the world’s not at your command

He's a blind as he can be
Just sees what he wants to see
Nowhere man can you see me at all?

Nowhere man, don't worry
Take your time, don't hurry
Leave it all till somebody else lends you a hand

Doesn't have a point of view
Knows not where he's going to
Isn't he a bit like you and me?

Nowhere man, please listen
You don't know what you're talking
Nowhere man, the world’s not at your command

He's a real nowhere man
Sitting in his nowhere land

Comments (53)Add Comment
written by alberttan, August 30, 2008 12:55:58
Wah Pete, SURE can cari makan as a song writer, very best but then ah, whether you makan at BSC or Sg Buluh still consider makan, right?

I thot the song DESPERADO will come in somewhere, may Act II?
agree 128
written by shan, August 30, 2008 12:58:00

NEGARAKU,TANAH TUMPAHNYA DARAHKU,RAKYAT HIDUP,BERSATU DAN MAJU
agree 720
written by Loonie, August 30, 2008 13:07:08
Have a great one Pete!
written by Thinker, August 30, 2008 13:11:38
Looks like you are a big fan of the Fab 4.
written by pillars, August 30, 2008 13:12:00
LOL .. So its true there is a lil child inside every man. RPK you always amaze me smilies/smiley.gif
written by malsia1206, August 30, 2008 13:14:22
Take Anwar HOME TO HIS COUNTRY ROAD. And ask him to IMAGINE occupying the present seat opposite his in Parliament. And PKR can round up the session with their choir singing the AULD LANG SYNE to bid them farewell. If only you had been a singer or a songwriter MT would never get blocked.
written by maestromind, August 30, 2008 13:15:41
Hi there Pete.

MCOBA really miss your script. Last year concert was awful. Had the pleasure working with you and all those people u mention above in 1995 MCOBA Concert (I was the pak pacak hehehe). Great bunch of guys. Latt (Dato' now), Rehman and Dato' Salleh must be busy nowadays i guess. The last time all of them was involved with the concert was back in 2005 during MCOBA Royal Gala and Concert. It was fun. Miss those days hanging out with you guys
written by Umno Slayer, August 30, 2008 13:19:31
Rock n Roll will never die keep on rocking RPK keep up the good work

god bless you!
written by justice, August 30, 2008 13:21:02
agree 278
written by ahmadneil, August 30, 2008 13:23:10
Dear Pete,Yesterday was a boring day becos nothing to do when MT was been harassed.Take my wife out for a walk in the park and ponder why this bloody gov't want to block your website.We have many WHYs and found no answers.I think you hit them where it hurt most.Go on RPK!
written by maestromind, August 30, 2008 13:25:25
Maybe KJ can sing Beck's Loser...

Beck - Loser

In the time of chimpanzees I was a monkey
Butane in my veins and Im out to cut the junkie
With the plastic eyeballs, spray-paint the vegetables
Dog food stalls with the beefcake pantyhose
Kill the headlights and put it in neutral
Stock car flamin with a loser and the cruise control
Babys in reno with the vitamin d
Got a couple of couches, sleep on the love-seat
Someone came in sayin Im insane to complain
About a shotgun wedding and a stain on my shirt
Dont believe everything that you breathe
You get a parking violation and a maggot on your sleeve
So shave your face with some mace in the dark
Savin all your food stamps and burnin down the trailer park

Yo. cut it.

Soy un perdedor
Im a loser baby, so why dont you kill me?

Soy un perdedor

Forces of evil on a bozo nightmare
Ban all the music with a phony gas chamber
cuz ones got a weasel and the others got a flag
Ones on the pole, shove the other in a bag
With the rerun shows and the cocaine nose-job
The daytime crap of the folksinger slob
He hung himself with a guitar string
A slab of turkey-neck and its hangin from a pigeon wing
You cant write if you cant relate
Trade the cash for the beef for the body for the hate
And my time is a piece of wax fallin on a termite
Thats chokin on the splinters

Soy un perdedor
(get crazy with the cheese whiz)
Soy un perdedor
(drive-by body-pierce)
(yo bring it on down)
Soooooooyy....

(Im a driver, Im a winner; things are gonna change I can feel it)

Soy un perdedor
(I cant believe you)
Soy un perdedor
(schprechen sie deutches, baby)
Soy un perdedor
(know what Im sayin? )
written by Jit Dharma, August 30, 2008 13:26:03
Got to admit it's getting better, it's getting better all the time,
( can't get no worse)!!!
written by froggy, August 30, 2008 13:30:22
funniest post ever! RPK, you should write a rock-opera like Andrew Llyod Webber la. Sure hit one.

http://thedandelions.*********.com
written by sjs, August 30, 2008 13:35:58
Raja Petra Kamaruddin, I am indeed honoured to post my comment under your first article in MT Harapan Malaysia! As a result of clamping down of Malaysia Today, your name and fame have spread across the globe! Malaysians have not noticed it yet! But Mahathir did! And his quick comment admonishing the act of the government! I am pleased to note you have not taken in by Mahathir's defence of you! That is Raja Petra! Always a one-man army!

As the famous Indian actor, Rajni, whose film Sivaji which Anwar always quote,
said once in one his famous film:

"The crowd that follows me came by themselves, not bought over by any illegitimate means!
written by CKLee123, August 30, 2008 13:58:40
So, here are the salient points:

Anwar: The long and winding road that leads to PJ will never disappear.

Bodohwi: I’m not half the man I used to be; why I have to go I don’t know.

KJ: I'm a loser, I lost something that's near to me. I should have known Anwar would win in the end.

Najis: Anwar left his home in PP, Pulau Pinang. Now he’s headed for PJ.

Mahathir: I don't have a point of view; I know not where I'm going to.
written by captmarco ramius, August 30, 2008 14:15:12
Dear YM RPK,

It sure feels good to have you back.
written by Avis, August 30, 2008 14:16:33
Reaaly got piss off, when cannot view MT. Lucky can find the new address in Lim Kit Siang blog.

Anyway very nice song RPK.........
written by GeoGeo, August 30, 2008 14:32:09
Bro Pete,

Why so humle...must it be @ MCOBA.

You should have this Musical @ RADIO CITY, NYC

Keep 'em coming.

Cheers

written by longjaafar, August 30, 2008 14:36:46
Won't Najib be also in the play? Better still Rosmah too.
written by Kerajaan Rakyat, August 30, 2008 14:44:52
Wahai RAKYAT, aku susun sepuluh jari
Perjuangan murni ini jangan kita cemari

Ayuh !! bangkit kita bentuk Kerajaan Rakyat
Kita berjuang sehingga UMNO menjadi mayat

PAKATAN RAKYAT bakal tegak berdiri
Memerdekakan rakyat di negara sendiri

http://www.kerajaanrakyat.com/
written by SocratesI, August 30, 2008 15:54:31
Ha ha ha ! RPK the songwriter now ! That was really good ! How's this ?? I was thinking of the RAKYAT having been served a diet of Barisan NAJIS "Food" for over 50 years, the last 23 of which comes with a menu like this:-

Abdullah "Batman" Bodohwi Had-hari Ribs (better than Tony Romas)
C4 NAJIS & ROSMAH Burger
M16 Maha-Shithead M*M*K ayam
K.J. the Pork (Boy) Wonder (sidekick of Bodohwi batman)
Moose Has-sand By-pass Chop Suey
Gunnysack Pat-tail Hot Air Bags
Shaftee Abdullah Lamb Shank (you know what to do with the bone after eating!!)
Nasty Aziz No-S(a)u(c)e ACA soup

This menu served to the RAKYAT for 23 years giving the RAKYAT constant & severe CIRIT-BIRIT, food poisoning, vomitting, blood poisoning in bad cases, and it is time the RAKYAT said NO, THIS IS ENOUGH !
written by nesen, August 30, 2008 16:26:22
and dear RPK
If you ever go away
to do the Jailhouse Rock
singing I Want To Be Free
we will all be in Heartbreak Hotel
singing O Lonesome Me
Drinking Rum & Coco-Cola...

written by zandi, August 30, 2008 17:31:43
Gosh, RPK, Malaysia's most popular blogger now songwriter....whatlah you...now, you have me singing (sumbangly!)to the tunes of yesteryear...Having great fun, though... Yesterday, all my troubles seem so far away....
written by BennyG, August 30, 2008 17:33:17
It's just amazing what one can learn from MT & RPK; religion, laws, cyber warfare, comedy & now stage fright (to UMNO). smilies/smiley.gif
written by krising1, August 30, 2008 17:47:09
Ma-mak Mahathir once said that PM's residence in Putrajaya was built by Anwar for himself. So the road to PJ will not disappear!
written by pengembara, August 30, 2008 17:53:00
Pete

Here's a couple more -

- Send in the Clowns
- I can't tell the bottom from the top
- Climb Every Mountain - for PR

Anyway, i got a couple of exquisidos with your name on it. Drop me a line and I will deliver it to you

peace
written by Motherchell, August 30, 2008 18:14:48
Pete !!! truly great piece! -- it reminds me of the porter's scene in Macbeth , a total relief .
Albar was last heard humming "Imagine"(Lennon} in his bath and the echo in his bath was ---- I'll be right here waiting for you . (Marx)--This startled him!!

With the business as usual with us here -- he felt Tragedy(BGees).
He must be pulling the last strands on his cutis and that Deputy Minister for CommUNICATIONS was left in the Dark singing STRANGERS IN THE NIGHT .

GOD BLESS YOU PETE always!
written by durianbesar, August 30, 2008 18:35:46
http://s403.photobucket.com/al...alikindia/
written by durianbesar, August 30, 2008 19:30:10
written by cruzeiro, August 30, 2008 20:12:35
ROFLOL!
How about the fat lady or the hubby (in fact any one of "them")
singing "it wasn't me....."

But she caught me on the counter (It wasn't me)
Saw me bangin' on the sofa (It wasn't me)
I even had her in the shower (It wasn't me)
She even caught me on camera (It wasn't me)

She saw the marks on my shoulder (It wasn't me)
Heard the words that I told her (It wasn't me)
Heard the scream get louder (It wasn't me)
She stayed until it was over

Maybe you can organize something like this as entertainment at the next blogger's gathering?
written by cheekhiaw, August 30, 2008 20:26:19
Music to the ears indeed.

written by SotPlug, August 30, 2008 22:00:55
Good one, good one!

Can non-MCOBA members attend? Please?!
written by Jeffrey, August 30, 2008 22:28:16
Pete, you really make my day!!!!
written by Richy, August 30, 2008 22:59:53
Oh my my! I did not know you are good at musical too, Pete. A good piece. I think you should do more musical nowadays as it could provide both information and entertainment to readers. Like to refresh your memory with the promise made by the son of Malaysia Today, MT Harapan that he would be kicking hard and revenging those responsible for his father's death.

Hope our musicians could pick your piece to make musical albums as the intended information could travel beyond internet.

what say you Pete?
written by malgal, August 30, 2008 23:17:52
wah rpk, all my favourite beatles one ah.
how about rocky raccoon if that hamid albar manages to hobble over.

AND NOW FOR OUR DEAREST RPK HIMSELF - ALL ACROSS THE UNIVERSE with special emphasis on this verse ...`nothing's gonna change my site, nothing's gonna change my site ...sai guru theva ommmmm!
written by fromamovingtrain, August 31, 2008 00:39:29
Then 25 people could go on stage as umno's supreme council members, to the tune of the bee gees' 'Tragedy'.
written by trublumalaysian, August 31, 2008 01:04:56
Thanx Pete, for the wonderful musical journey for, it re-awakened a stirring in my musical loins. The Beatles existed for a good reason in an era where, as the youngest; watched my older siblings & their friends hippin' it up with our fellow malaysians of all racial origins, with lecturer's (local & foreign) in the then Uni's, attending concerts by the Bee Gee's (with orchestration by the then RTM Orchestra, Santana, and yes... listening to multitudes of Beatles songs with their natural vocal harmonies & MANY MANY more foreign concert acts, etc; and these folks are doing fine as, they benefitted from an era where individual excellence (irrespective of race, creed or religion) was recieved with open hearts and minds by the THEN government.

But, the landscape has been changed somewhat nowadays and perhaps, this following lyrics (as on ode to our political masters) could also be included in the musical (for some dramatics lah ..) to depict the current status of the country and how we, the rakyat can move to make positive changes. MAY GOD BLESS MALAYSIA FOR ALL MALAYSIANS.

Dogs of war and men of hate
with no cause, we don't discriminate
discovery is to be disowned
our currency is flesh and bone
hell opened up and put on sale
gather round and haggle
for hard cash, we will lie and deceive
even our masters don't know the webs we heave

one world, it's a battleground
one world, and we will smash it down
one world...one world

Invisible transfers, long distance calls
hollow laughter in marble halls
steps have been taken, a silent uproar
has unleashed the dogs of war
you can't stop what has begun
signed, sealed, they deliver oblivion
we all have a dark side, to say the least
and dealing in death is the nature of the beast
one world...one world

The dogs of war don't negotiate
the dogs of war won't capitulate
they will take and you will give
and you must die so that they may live
you can knock at any door
but wherever you go, you know they've been there before
well winners can lose and things can get strained
but whatever you change, you know the dogs remain

one world...one world
written by teohchye, August 31, 2008 06:06:03
You are the greatest RPK! Steady as a rock, that's what you are (that's what Petra means, isn't it?). You always make my day. You are the only person who can make serious business so much fun.
Who let the dogs out? Woof, woof, woof, woof, woof............
written by Chong, August 31, 2008 06:22:35
i think anwar looked more like TERMINATOR now...hahaha...
written by Angel, August 31, 2008 09:08:23
Pete, I enjoyed the musical so much and could visualise the happenings in my head. Would be a great production if it sees the light of day!

Am glad that amidst all this mess you can see some light and respond to that funny bone in your body. You are really a 'rock', very true to your name. St Peter was the no. 1 apostle Jesus chose to lead the church. He needed a strong rock to finish his work on earth. You also are our rock to lead us through our Malaysian mess!

Thanks once again for the humour. At least you won't be blocked for this and just as effective. The message still gets through.

God bless you and your good work!
written by teo siew chin, August 31, 2008 12:15:38
hahahaha there is really no end to this dude's talents smilies/grin.gif.
i can just 'imagine' YM RPK rock & rolling to the beatle's tunes
MT's our own 'yellow submarine' woooo hoooo smilies/cheesy.gif
hmmm wonder what he rolls in his cigar... smilies/cool.gif
written by sambal muncha, August 31, 2008 14:58:10
“Get back...get back...”

This freakin’ melody, the guitar riff and Sir McCartney’s voice is now stuck in my head, repeating itself mindlessly, chorus after chorus and there ain’t nothin’ I can do about it. And I’ve got a meeting to go to!

Naughty RPK. I’m going to have a Willem II cigar after, and no RPK, you can’t have one of mine.

“get back...get back...”

We still luvs you!

written by Hakim Joe, August 31, 2008 16:23:40
Other songs in Act II include:

1) "I Swear" (a duet by Najis & Saifool)
2) "Shut up and Drive" (solo by Arif's wife)
3) "Money, Money, Money" (solo by Rosmah-kahai)
4) "Take a chance on me" (solo by DSAI)
5) "Don't you want me" (solo by Bodowi)
6) "True Colors" (group rendition by UMNO)
7) "Against all Odds" (group rendition by PR)
written by zam3886, August 31, 2008 17:19:59
Ah...Pete, you are Malaysia's answer to Bob Dylan.
written by zam3886, August 31, 2008 17:29:51
...come gather round people wherever you roam...
written by Eskay Lim, August 31, 2008 18:48:10
Oo waa Pete,
Thought all along you only had writing talent,
but what a surprise,
You are everything.
Hope Pakatan appoint you a senator....thence the Info.Minister.
written by dassky2000, August 31, 2008 19:26:40
kakakakakakokokokokkhahahahahahha, boleh tahan, lucu betui lah
written by Vasily, September 01, 2008 05:21:10
And this song for all of UMNOs:-

"Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water"

written by cheekhiaw, September 01, 2008 14:22:34
May be also add Michael Jackson's Beat It?

written by kawoix, September 01, 2008 22:22:07
yeahhh...one step closer!!!!

vote for our next PM
http://kawoix.********.com/200...ajaya.html
written by Windchime, September 02, 2008 00:54:11
YM RPK,

Dude, those modified lyrics are so cool! Wonder how long it took for you to whip it up? I guess with your talent, not that long huh? Well, I had a good time singing to myself just now! And had a good laugh at the same time! Hahaha! Thank you for the entertainment and the message of course!

Cheers!
written by megabigblur, September 02, 2008 22:06:30
How about Rosmah Mansor singing "Material Girl"?
They can beg and they can plead
But they can't see the light, that's right
cause the boy with the cold hard cash
Is always mister right, cause we are

Living in a material world
And I am a material girl
You know that we are living in a material world
And I am a material girl