Home arrow The Blogs arrow Face To Face arrow FACE TO FACE: Hannah Yeoh

FACE TO FACE: Hannah Yeoh PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 30 August 2008 08:31

The point is the Rakyat liked what they saw in the DAP and its candidates. We have a clean record, professionally and personally. Our win, had nothing to do with the disaffection with Pak Lah.

Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob is a trained lawyer and Malaysian political commentator. He writes for numerous international newspapers and online journals as well as hosts Face to Face, an interview segment of Malaysian/regional issues and personalities hosted on Malaysia Today. He also serves as Foreign Correspondent for foreign news organisations.

Hannah Yeoh, newly elected State Assemblywoman (ADUN) for Subang Jaya. Face to Face talks to this newbie of Malaysian politics about her political struggle and ideals as the nation heralds ‘’Merdeka’’. Armed with a sincerity of purpose and likeability among all races, can she succeed in bringing change? Face to Face has the exclusive interview.

Hannah Yeoh

Hannah Yeoh and Nurul Izzah Anwar (image by http://picasaweb.google.com/bobkee/KelanaJayaCampaign#5172894919612767074)

1.    Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Tell us what it’s like for a newly elected State Assemblywoman. Was it all what you had expected?

Hannah Yeoh: It’s tough. My routines have had to change considerably. My only purpose is to make things right for my constituents. We must push through the necessary changes that can benefit the Rakyat. I have great difficulty with people who just want to play politics.    

2.    Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Share with us some of the developments that you have introduced in Subang Jaya.

Hannah Yeoh: Welfare development. People were surprised when I brought to light the fact that there is poverty in Subang Jaya. People just couldn’t believe it. I have been making my rounds and doing whatever is within my power to get people engaged and extending a helping hand to the poor here. We’ve managed to rope in the Rukun Tetangga to assist in making the lives of these poor people better. We are appealing to anyone or group that thinks they have something to offer our fellow citizen.

3.    Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: You chose this quote for your blog.

"All this will not be finished in the first 100 days. Nor will it be finished in the first 1,000 days, nor in the life of this Administration, nor even perhaps in our lifetime on this planet. But let us begin." ~John F. Kennedy~

Is this the right message for the Rakyat considering Pakatan Rakyat seems to be splitting apart and many election promises have been left unfulfilled.Comment?

Hannah Yeoh: Well.. let’s be realistic. Effective change takes time. It’s not fair to say that Pakatan Rakyat hasn’t delivered any of its promises. We pledged to give free water and we have done just that. Other issues will take time to resolve. One must remember that we are battling corruption and the slow process of change in attitudes. The terrible traffic jams for example that plague Subang Jaya residents will require the cooperation of developers and the relevant regulatory bodies.. Efforts to ease the traffic will take time in creating a sense of urgency, planning and the final execution. Whatever it takes, we are certainly fighting for the Rakyat..

4.    Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Pundits are of the view that the widespread disaffection for Pak Lah’s leadership was the determining factor as to why alternative or relatively obscure candidates won. With regards to yourself what would you say in reply and do you think that this issue is passé in that you have already proven yourself to your constituents?

Hannah Yeoh: I beg to differ. The point is the Rakyat liked what they saw in the DAP and its candidates. We have a clean record, professionally and personally. Our win, had nothing to do with the disaffection with Pak Lah.

5.    Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: The DAP has been accused of being a chauvinistic Chinese party yet again with recent sensational statements against the affirmative action policies for Malays and a number of other political gaffes i. e. the songkok issue, Malay Rulers, Islam etc… As a young party official, do you subscribe to all party notions that are perhaps hitherto largely set by the elder generation of party members?

Hannah Yeoh: A lot of the issues were intentionally sensationalized and manipulated by opposing interests. All blown out of proportion. However I do admit that many of the issues were also not explained at the people to people level well enough. The songkok issue for example.. If the Chinese community knew or was made known to them that the adorning of the songkok at official functions was customary-based on culture and tradition and not purely religion I’m sure they would have looked at it differently. I personally feel that most DAP members have no issues with wearing the songkok.

6.    Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: In the same vein, you’ve been nominated to the central executive committee (CEC) of the DAP. Firstly, will the old guard willingly give way and what changes to the DAP are you prepared to make?

Hannah Yeoh: Both Tony Pua and Gobind Singh Deo are in the CEC. This proves that the grassroots are willing to accept new faces. They party stalwarts have been rather supportive of us younger members and I’m sure that’s going to remain the same sentiment as far as DAP is concerned.

On my end, I will contribute whatever I can to the cause of the DAP. You know, I work will all races in my constituency. I am all for multiculturalism. I wear the traditional clothes of all our races, the baju kurung cheongsam, traditional sarees etc..I firmly believe that we are all agents of ‘’reconciliation’’ and I will keep doing my part to foster better relations with all races.

7.    Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Let’s talk about nepotism in the DAP. The father son teams of Lim Kit Siang and Lim Guan Eng, Karpal Singh and Gobind Singh Deo to name but just a few. What’s your view?

Hannah Yeoh: Nepotism does not exist within the DAP. It is not fair for to hurl such accusations against the DAP. I say this because all our candidates whom have won decisively did so in their own right. Lim Guan Eng and his wife for example were both duly elected by different constituent’s altogether. They proved themselves to the Rakyat and they won!

8.    Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Who should assume the post of Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister assuming Pakatan Rakyat manages to make its threat real?

Hannah Yeoh: Well. Certainly the leader of Pakatan Rakyat or Opposition leader will be PM. But as far as the DPM is concerned.. I have no idea about that at the moment.

9.    Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Do you subscribe to the government’s ‘’rosy’’ picture of FDIs into the country and its handling of the economy? Will the proposed reduction in oil prices bring down inflation and boost the economy?

Hannah Yeoh: Perhaps I could touch on the sore issue of the staggering hike in oil prices.. It has created high inflation in Malaysia and this severely hurts the people on the streets worst, the common man. Now they talk about reducing oil prices. But let me ask you this…If oil prices come down at the pump does that mean prices of other essential goods will also come down similarly? Will prices across the board at least return to normal prices as before? What we need is to match this so-called reduction in oil prices with that of a ‘price control mechanism’ if you like that can stabilise prices of all our essential goods. That’s what they should be doing.

10.    Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob:  Would you write off UMNO and BN for the next elections?

Hannah Yeoh : I cant say I would write them off. Anything can happen. For if in Selangor the opposition does make the required changes they could very well win back the state. This is politics.. Who knows..?

11.    Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: What’s your impression of the government’s ban on ‘Malaysia Today’ news portal?

Hannah Yeoh: Well.. just goes to show you that the government doesn’t practice what it preaches. They are attempting to curb our freedom of speech. It’s undemocratic.

12.    Imran Imtiaz Shah Yacob: Any message for the Rakyat?

Hannah Yeoh. Yes. I would like to reaffirm that Pakatan Rakyat is indeed strong and we are not splitting up. I would also like to tell the Rakyat to please not get disheartened with the daily occurrences that we read in the newspapers. There are changes being made. There is progress. Most of all is that we have greater democracy now and that’s a solid start. Think of it this way, it’s as if our house is under renovation. It’s uncomfortable to live in for a while, but when the house is ready… It will be wonderful.

Face to Face interviews are conducted by way of telephone unless otherwise stated.

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by PAKRAK, August 30, 2008 10:41:22
A petite young lady who speaks like a 'cili-api'. Well spoken, knows her job and is hard working. Hannah Yeoh has a bright political future ahead of her.
Keep the Pakatan Rakyat flag flying.
agree 166
written by mikewang, August 30, 2008 10:56:41
"Think of it this way, it’s as if our house is under renovation. It’s uncomfortable to live in for a while, but when the house is ready… It will be wonderful."

Well said, Hanna.
We are looking forward to move into that house after the renovation.
agree 123
written by Garend, August 30, 2008 11:07:57
Dear Hannah,

While i full-heartly support "most" if nor "nearly-all" of what you said.. I beg to differ on this sentence:

Hannah Yeoh: I beg to differ. The point is the Rakyat liked what they saw in the DAP and its candidates. We have a clean record, professionally and personally. Our win, had nothing to do with the disaffection with Pak Lah.

While it is true that DAP's candidate do have a "cleaner record" and stuff like that.. I do personnaly feel that the victory of the DAP is partially due to the disaffection with our current Ruling Party. Had the current government being ruling fairly.. and nicely.. most of my friends will continue to support them.

It is because they have done a "BAD" job that is why we are choosing the alternative. In my humble opinion, it is not good for any Opposition party to forget that. Should the opposition party perform badly in delivering, we "The Rakyat" would not hesitate to bring them down. Please do not be too full or think too highly of yourself. However, currently, I am rather satisfied with the progress PR is making.. continue the good job.. and we will make sure you stay up there.

In my humble opinion,
disagree 23
written by Uncorruptible, August 30, 2008 12:47:37
With well intentioned and hardworking people like Hannah Yeah in charge, I sleep easy because I KNOW Malaysia is in safe hands. But until we destroy umno completely, evil is still around. People like Hannah Yeoh helps destroy evil.
Hidup DAP! Hidup Pakatan Rahyat! Hidup Rakyat Malaysia!
Hapuskan umno/mca/mic/gerakan !!!!!!!!
disagree 17
written by ahmadneil, August 30, 2008 14:05:28
Hannah,I like this words very much...'doesn't practice what it preaches'.Yes, I sincerely hope all can understand this international phrase.
agree 130
written by onnyap, August 30, 2008 15:56:12
"The point is the Rakyat liked what they saw in the DAP and its candidates. We have a clean record, professionally and personally. Our win, had nothing to do with the disaffection with Pak Lah."

She is just making a self-satisfying statement. I voted for DAP because of our Master UMNO and servants policies.
Till today these two DAP idiots (state & parliment) haven't make their presence felt in Balakong and Serdang!!
disagree 61
written by Rhan, August 31, 2008 00:13:45
Girl,

Maybe DAP is not dirty and arrogant YET, but don't act over confidence.

Talk to the people on the street, many believe that there is no difference between BN and PR, meaning you have to do more to prove we are wrong.

Onnyap, DAP MP is not idiot, the boy and girl are just too fresh, DAP never realise that even a dog who become a opposition candidate in 308 could win that election.
disagree 44
written by Compassion_Seeker, August 31, 2008 01:17:51
Even though I'm very much older than her in term of age but I do agree and share her aspiration politically.Way to go the "Cili Padi" in making. Hopefully your aspiration will achieve for the betterment of my children.
written by gx27, August 31, 2008 13:26:09
hmmm. something new and fresh.
at least she doesnt say ' my hands are tight ot tied ' remember this statement? smilies/grin.gif
so to Lee Hwa Beng or the BN candidate for sj, let someone else do the job since your hands are tied!!!
written by SocratesI, September 02, 2008 08:51:05

My heartfelt congratulations to Hannah for expressing her feelings and thoughts so well ! Pro-active hardworking and highly wired mentally, with good guiding principles ... a very rare politician indeed !

She should do very well if she keeps her principles intact and not get blase like some politicians of the older genre !!

written by jewels, September 08, 2008 18:58:53
word of wisdom to this young lady... keep your arrogance, continue to demonstrate humulity at all times, you will go far!

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009