Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Budget 2009: Bitter Sweet

Budget 2009: Bitter Sweet PDF Print
Friday, 29 August 2008 21:56
By Tony Pua for The Malaysian Insider

The newly announced budget needs to be looked upon from two perspectives – macro and micro. From a micro perspective, the government must at least be given some credit for shifting its emphasis to what concerns rakyat the most today – that is the impact of record levels of inflation on the people's livelihood.

The prime minister spoke of a social safety net, encapsulated by the commendable measure to increase the threshold for welfare eligibility from the current RM400 per household to RM720, which is the poverty line for peninsular Malaysia. This will cost the government RM500 million.

At the same time, he also attempted to address the need for an efficient and convenient public transportation system. In this aspect, the government's effort is lukewarm at best.

Despite an impressive headline figure of RM35 billion allocated for public transportation, it actually only works out to RM5.8 billion a year over the next six years. In fact, if one looks carefully at the budget for the transportation sector, it has declined by RM1 billion to RM11.5 billion.

The education and training sectors are among those which benefited the most, with overall allocation increasing to RM48.8 billion from RM44 billion previously. This makes up a healthy 23.5% of the total budget.

However, while there were quite a few other sweets which were distributed fairly generously in this budget, I'm deeply concerned over certain macro developments on our budget which in the longer term may place our economy in jeopardy.

Firstly, I'm taken aback by the size of the increase in budget expenditure for this year, 2008 as compared to what was actually budgeted last year.

Last year we heard the government announcing a record budget of RM176.9 billion, but based on the latest figures, we will grossly exceed our budget by RM20.3 billion to RM197.2 billion.

This basically means that despite record revenue and a record budget, our government couldn't prudently control its expenditure (well, either that, or they couldn't do a proper budget).

What makes the issue more glaring is the fact that it is the operational expenditure i.e. rental, maintenance, stationery supplies, civil service wages etc, despite being at record levels in the budget announced last year, that busted the original allocation by 17.2%, increasing to RM151 billion.

Next year, the budgeted operational expenditure is another record RM154.2 billion. This figure is both shocking and scary as operational expenditure for the government when Abdullah Badawi first became prime minister in 2004 was only RM80.5 billion.

In just a short period of four to five years, government operational expenditure has increased by 91.5% or RM73.7 billion. This raises the question as to what the government is spending its money on which requires such substantial increase in operational expenses?

Even more worrying is the fact that most of the government's revenue is sourced from the petroleum sector. Last year, the estimated contribution of the sector to our government's coffers was 37%, but for 2009, this is estimated to increase to 46.4%.

Given that the bulk of our revenue is coming from a non-renewal resource, which may last us for only another two to three decades, it would have been better advised for the government to allocate part of this oil "lottery" revenue to future use for coming generations. Or at the very least, these funds should have been placed under development expenditure.

Instead, while development expenditure did increase in this budget, its proportion of the budget continues to drop and from 27.2% in 2008 it will amount to just 25.9% in 2009.

What's more, while the government trumpeted a drop in deficit from 4.8% in 2008 to a budgeted 3.6% in 2009, it fails to state that the initial budget for last year had a target of only 3.1%.

This means that the government has clearly overspent last year and it almost means that the government's budget cannot be relied upon as an accurate measure of government expenditure for the variation was so huge despite the finance ministers having earlier this year defended the target of 3.1%.

Even more importantly, it shows that our government is unable to contain the budget deficit, despite massive inflow of revenue, from RM139.9 billion in 2006 to RM176.2 billion expected in 2009.

Hence, the potent combination of our increasing reliance on oil and gas revenues, together with the government's seeming recklessness in spending it all (and more), I'm very worried about the financial health of the country in the future, especially in the light of greater economic competition coupled with a potential global economic slowdown in the next few years.

(Tony Pua is the MP for PJ Utara and DAP publicity secretary and former CEO of an IT company)

written by allangan2006, August 29, 2008 22:31:29
The whole content of the budget presented today was nothing but an act of "copy and paste" from the ideas initiated by the Pakatan Rakyat. Knowing that the BN is fast losing grip, the anouncement was seen by many as the last resort to regaining the popularity. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Kathy, August 29, 2008 22:43:38
Cynic that I am, I look on this budget as nothing more and nothing less than a knee-jerk reaction to the rakyat's disapproval of the govt. Is this the way for a responsible government to address its ills? Meanwhile, what about addressing matters pertaining to the judiciary? It is obvious that it is not a well thought out budget but rather something put together hastily to deflect the Sept. 16 threat from Anwar. The rakyat must not be hoodwinked into thinking the govt. has mended its ways for the better; okay, take the benefits it is giving out but don't be complacent; carry on thinking and probing the govt.'s ulterior motives. smilies/angry.gif
written by pulaiman, August 29, 2008 23:09:04
WHY CAN T WE JUST HAVE A CHINESE FINANCE MINISTER ... THEN WE WILL KNOW WHERE ALL THE MONEY GOES.....MALAYSIA WILL BE A RICH NATION I TELL YOU.. NO NEED TO RAISE PETROL PRICES ANYMORE...WHY NOT HAVE AN INDEPENDENT FINANCE MINISTER.
written by PAKRAK, August 29, 2008 23:29:01
Y.B. Tony Pua is an economic adviser to DAP and Y.B. Lim Guan Eng. He has even done a full budget report for DAP in case Pakatan takes over. BN could have copied and adapted most of it thinking it is compatible with the rakyat.
Y.B. Tony Pua's "audit" of the BN's budget is amazing. Not only BN could'nt control the expenditure but the budget was simply inflated in many areas and done haphazardly. They just pulled astronomical figures from the air to deceive the rakyat. The money will then be siphoned to overseas bank accounts.
written by ez24get, August 29, 2008 23:34:53
In a word, this 2009 Budget is not so much for the Rakyat but more for BN MPs!

In a net oil exporting and resources rich (palm oil, rubber, manufactured products, abundance from the sea, etc) country we could easily afford to have a good expansionary like this 2009 Budget (a record of RM208 billion) year after year if not for the leakages and wastages. It is an irony that only when UMNO is fighting for its political survival and in its death bed, will we ever see such goodies like this!

If you look at the gist of the budget, two things stick out as a sore thumb –

1.a colossal, record busting amount of RM154.2 billion allocated for government operational expenditure i.e. for rental, maintenance, stationery supplies, civil service wages etc. In just a short period of four to five years, government operational expenditure has increased by 91.5% or RM73.7 billion. Mind you, this is just for operation expenses consumed in 2009 alone with no further spin-offs and enduring benefits unlike expenditure incurred on infrastructure or building where the benefits are enduring for the life of the assets.

This raises the question as to whether the Federal BN Government will be allocating these monies for its ministers and MPs to spend thereby providing a means for kick-backs to them. Year in year out, we have heard horror stories from the Auditor General Report that a screw driver costs over $500, a notebook costs over $7,000, filming a tourism advertisement costs over $300,000, maintaining and repairing a Perdana car costs more than the car itself of over $130,000 inspite that it is still under the warranty period, etc.

Now we know how the Government operating expenditure could increase by 91.5% over 4-5 short years and why an UMNOputra leader could afford to bust RM28 million in gambling debt in a luxurious London casino!

2.Another mind bogging RM53.7 billion was allocated for development the major part of it is in the BN controlled states like Iskandar Development Corridor in Johore and in Sabah and Sarawak. Too bad for the guys in Selangor, Penang, Perak, Kedah and Kelantan! Whether, the Federal BN Government actually has that amount of money to spend is another question. Again, this raises the suspicion as to whether this BN Government will be allocating these huge sums of monies for its MPs to spend and providing a means for kick-backs to them.

We all know that is the unwritten reward and perks for being a BN MP. We all know about leakages and swiss bank accounts, properties in overseas prime area and lavish overseas spending!

There is no prize for guessing that the purpose for the huge, record breaking budget deficit of 4.8% is to provide funds for the BN MPs for their political purposes and to secure the allegiance of these BN MPs and preventing them from hopping to the opposition.

All these should be alright except that the money that they use for their own selfish purpose is from and belongs to the Rakyat jelata!

And what does the Rakyat get? A miserable RM20 electricity exemption and even then you will only qualify if your house is barren of any electrical appliances and only if you switch on no more than 3 or 4 lights at night in the house!

So this 2009 Budget is more a budget for the BN MPs!
written by Bentoh, August 29, 2008 23:41:38
It's good we have people who actually look into the numbers and make sense out of it... from the budget... smilies/smiley.gif
written by myvoice, August 29, 2008 23:57:45
FREE ELECTRICITY FOR MONTHLY USAGE LESS THAN RM20@!@#$3@

Not long, this stupid idiot sleepy flip flop pee am expected us to ride bicycle to work and now expect rakyat Malaysia to use candles at home, no tv, no fan, no fridge, no washing machine, no ironing of shirt ... totally no brain and senseless....back to zaman batu.
written by Mark C, August 30, 2008 00:02:19
Tony pua is very good, basically this budget is one that is an utter disgrace. It's apparent that operation costs that went up is designed to buy off MPs from jumping into PR. It's corruption, just to simply put it.

Fuel prices went up by 78 cents to hit 2.70 per litre and due to DSAI's continous pressure and Permatang Pauh, Bodowi reduce it by a mere 15 cents. Any and everyone knows that the uncurbed inflation of 8.2% in a month is due primarily to this uncompassionate increment. And in this budget, this is NOT being address.

The biggest joke is the waived electricity tariff for one month is less than 20rm. This is a f*cking joke. who uses 20rm or less of electricity a month? Unless u use only one bulb a for 3 hours aday!

What's with reduction of road tax for buses and taxis? the reduction of toll rates for these companies? It's apparent that all this companies are crony linked, so isn't that tantamount to a bailout?

So toll is not reduced, petrol is 2.55rm per litre, road tax is not reduced but people who uses diesel powered cars/ trucks are required to pay on par road tax with petrol uses, would it be any different since diesel is similar to petrol price per litre?

I find this budget disgusting and lewd. The poor will be made poorer.
written by raven1958, August 30, 2008 00:23:08
This is a Nor Mohd Yaacob budget, carry your balls master, budget.......the bugger cant count .which is why Bank Negara almost went bankrupt....Mun Loong actually did...and now ...looking at this budget...Malaysia definitely will....you need the PR, as in Penang and Selangor,....to come in to save the country from financial ruin......doling out money to the likes of Taib in Sarwak, Musa in Sabah with KJ entrenched on the 4th floor.......will kill this country.

This is a national emergency....you have to get the BN out before they bury Malaysia in debt.....we need MT, PR and Anwar more then ever...
written by Lim Lim, August 30, 2008 00:36:28
"The prime minister spoke of a social safety net, encapsulated by the commendable measure to increase the threshold for welfare eligibility from the current RM400 per household to RM720, which is the poverty line for peninsular Malaysia. This will cost the government RM500 million."

question is,how many million would really reach those who are genuine in need of this aids ?? on the present umno-control context!!

written by MLC, August 30, 2008 01:18:03
written by Kopi37, August 30, 2008 01:32:04
Nothing much laudatory for this budget with flying figures! Being the layman to economics, what most we are concerned is tomorrow when we wake up, when we go the regular coffee shop, we will find out, other than the cigarettes, Dunhill, Marboro all will increase in prices, the char kuai teow, the prawn mee, wan tan mee, jawa mee, pan mee etc. will reduce 30-cents each bowl; the kopi-O, barley ice, teh tarik, air suam etc. will all reduce minimum 20-cents each glass; then we will be damned happy like hell! At least we don't have to tighten another two scales down from the last 3 scales that we have tighten immediately after the fuel hike to RM2.70! The damages had been done, even they cooked up the best piece of budget and served in the golden plate, it won't serve any good purpose of lightening the already burdened shoulders of the average wage earners! What more we can earn extra income from the impact of this budget which gives us the impression that it's based on their concept of - 'To rob Peter for Paul'?!

More budget to enhance the hardware for the public transport system tantamount to buying more buses for RapidKL and RapidPG, meaning more public funds will be ploughed in for the procurements of the buses and who are behind the beneficiary Company nominated to do the lucrative job it goes without saying! This is only one example where the money of Peter will be transferred to Paul! A camouflaged looting in disguised!...........................
written by temanmu, August 30, 2008 02:30:24
The BN govt needs to take care of all those unemployed full time politicians who lost their seats and are restless ... and are shouting ...

NO MONEY NO HONEY !!!

The corrupt BN govt has to pay an increasing higher price to buy support as its credibility deteriorates!

There are many whose god is MONEY !!!

written by binarytan, August 30, 2008 08:01:37
the electricity is not going to help too many people, just a small group.

there is nothing for businessman incentive.

overall, it is big spending without much benefit to grow our country, may be some people will take advantage for big projects only, especially the SIL.

Kayalah dia, Rapid got more buses to buy.

written by Rainbowseahorse, August 30, 2008 10:33:43
"The education and training sectors are among those which benefited the most, with overall allocation increasing to RM48.8 billion from RM44 billion previously.."

Most probably, that increased budget will be used to support UiTM and sending more Malay Students for religious studies where they can be further fanaticized!
written by PRman, August 30, 2008 11:17:14
Pathetic income tax reduction rates! Malaysians pay one of the highest income tax in the region. Put more money back to the public pocket, the extra disposable income will be used by public instantly, that can help to spur the local economy as well. Its win-win! Some more, it can help to attract foreign skilled ppl to Malaysia too with the lower tax bracket.
written by New Frontier, August 30, 2008 11:44:28
Pathetic idiot Dollah, the bullshit budget. Waste of Rakyat money and time for the tabling session.
written by overseaMas, August 30, 2008 11:44:59
Latest trend of UMNO to corrupt Malaysian money through operational expenditure cost. I believe the ideal from sleepy PM son in law. Watch out this smart but too bad ugly and greedy young man.
written by chiongguo, August 30, 2008 11:50:08
The education and training sectors are among those which benefited the most, with overall allocation increasing to RM48.8 billion from RM44 billion previously. This makes up a healthy 23.5% of the total budget.

How much money allocated for a particular sector is less important than how those money will be used. When the education ministry has no inkling as to what is meant by education it will be like, what one civil service officer(retired) said - "kita ada wang you mau kereta baru-ah, you nak beli high speed computer tak ". In the face of abundance many of them just don't know what to do with the money allocated.

What does it take for the badawi to realise that the civil service is leaking (or more correctly bleeding) all over.

Good analysis Tony.

written by Michael Pg, August 30, 2008 12:09:40
why the government make a short term goal. or call panadol to rakyat. it should bought over the utility : TM telekom, TNB, Water, Malaysia highway toll. it will become rakyat orientated company rather then profit orientated company.

what is the point of giving subsidis for bus for toll 50% if you could bought over the toll company? you are using rakyat money to pay for profit orientated company. it is the same as wastage.

why giving RM 200 ringgit if you could abolish the middlemen of buying the fish from the fisherman.

why improve the local transport if you could plan properly before implement, don't tell me the local transport could not plan for next 10 years down the road. or have to wait for the PM to take LRT. does that mean Transport minister also sleeping loh. And don't wait for Penang congested then only improve. please plan for Penanng future.

when you bought over the utility company, you actually no need to worry about the future budget of reduce electric bil lah or what ever subsidy and etc..
written by teohpg, August 30, 2008 13:20:12
To be precise...its a budget to fish sabah & sarawak MP

all that big allocation is meant for them to 'eat' as much as they can and feed their cronies....thats it!
written by Raizzen, August 30, 2008 13:50:55
Again & again, Rakyat-friendly Budget whatsoever rhetoric that you've got in store, but what have you delivered, promises after promises ago ?

Friendly this, friendly that. Anybody can sound holy on a piece of paper. Esp. text speech's piece.
written by Dhan, August 30, 2008 14:12:03
The impending bankruptcy of Malaysia can be seen below.

Expenditure:
Operating Expenditure: RM154.17 billion
Development Expenditure: RM53.73 billion
Total RM207.9 billion

Revenue: RM176.2 billion
Borrowings RM 31.7 billion
Total RM 207.9 billion

Revenue Sources
Non oil RM 101.16 billion
Oil: RM75.04 billion
Total RM 176.2 billion

From the above it can be seen that oil revenue contributes to 42% of our budget.

If not for oil revenue, not only there is zero funds for development, but also operating expenditure has to slashed by RM 22 billion. This mean govt staff must be retrenched, whole departments closed and programmes terminated as there is no money to pay salaries or pensions. Malays and crony companies depending on govt contracts better wake up.

The impending bankruptcy will become imminent in 2012 as oil revenue runs out. At this stage the cumulated deficits, which are borrowings will eat into the budget further.

Ideally non oil revenue sources should cover all operating and development expenditure. We crossed that stage in the early 90s with overspending. Oil has now become a resource curse to this country!

Bankruptcy means we come under the guidance of IMF, ringgit weakens to say RM 6.00 to the dollar, and whatever companies operating or listed now will become foreign owned. The economy passes into foreign hands. Well done umno!
written by OMARZ, August 30, 2008 14:33:49
Another gula-gula given by Bodowi to rakyat...short term planning just to counter back to pujuk rakyat yang dah lama merajuk dengan penindasan kepimpinan Bodowi......
written by Limau, August 30, 2008 14:39:21
There goes the public funds in the drain, all ruling MPs and Pengarahs are going to have very fat bank balance. I am thinking about my Benson and my cigar, looks like I have to cut down smoking.
written by overseaMas, August 30, 2008 22:13:31
2012 when oil revenue runs out, Malaysia is no more merdeka but back to history major company will be controlled by foreigner as well as the country policy. This is the final end product of UMNO after 50 years.... Early merdeka start by you but ending also due to you. Sad to UMNO and you all are true traitor of Malaysia. Your true face mask finally reveal ... thanks to this oil inflation crisis to let the ground people know you are doing nothing good to people for the past 5 decade.
written by marsyal, August 31, 2008 13:35:23
Middle income grroup in Malaysia paying excessively high income tax compared to Singapore. for income of 150k pa, we pay at the bracket of 27%, singapore only 14%

compare personal income tax for Singapore (A) against Malaysia (B)

Singapore (A)
Chargeable Income Rate (%) Gross Tax Payable ($)
First $20,000 0 0
Next $10,000 3.5 350
First $30,000 - 350
Next $10,000 5.5 550
First $40,000 - 900
Next $40,000 8.5 3400
First $80,000 - 4300
Next $80,000 14 11200
First $160,000 - 15500
Next $160,000 17 27200
First $320,000 - 42700
Above $320,000 20

Malaysia (B) (from LHDN as of pre budget 2009)

Chargeable Income RM Rate Tax (RM)

On the first 2,500 0% 0
On the next 2,500 1% 25

On the first 5,000 - 25
On the next 15,000 3% 450

On the first 20,000 - 475
On the next 15,000 7% 1,050

On the first 35,000 - 1,525
On the next 15,000 13% 1,950

On the first 50,000 - 3,475
On the next 20,000 19% 3,800

On the first 70,000 - 7,275
On the next 30,000 24% 7,200

On the first 100,000 - 14,475
On the next 50,000 27% 13,500

On the first 150,000 - 27,975
Exceeding 250,000 28%
written by marsyal, August 31, 2008 13:43:30
singaporean will only pay maximum income tax when income is 320k pa @ 20%, whereas Malaysian at salary of 151k has to fork out 28% of the salary to govt.

Thanks to 2009 budget, now it 1% less but the same % with those earning 50k a month.