Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow An Open Letter to all DAP Leaders and Members:

An Open Letter to all DAP Leaders and Members: PDF Print
Friday, 29 August 2008 17:20

The majority of the Malays support UMNO; and UMNO has plundered and mismanaged the wealth of this country with impunity. Therefore, to change the fate of our nation is to change the mentality of the Malays. This is the ONLY solution!

Without doubt, DAP has struggled and fought fearlessly and tirelessly over the past 4 decades aspiring to build a democratic and progressive Malaysia regardless of race and religion. However, I can only conclude that over the past 4 decades, DAP has completely failed to fight against the UMNO hegemony in the country.

DAP had never prepared itself to be the alternative of BN until 08 March 2008. And we have to acknowledge that DAP had been dragged and manipulated by UMNO to become or at least seen to become a Chinese-Chauvinist political party. The fact is that without PAS or Anwar Ibrahim, DAP will NEVER be able to engage the Malay electorate. The leadership of DAP has long been luxuriating in being recognized as the "Chinese Hero" or "Non-Muslims' Rights Defender".

Since DAP's inception in 1966, the Party has failed to recognize the basic and simple fact that it is the Malays who decide the sort of leaders they want and they have voted UMNO in for 12 consecutive General Elections.

UMNO had always been perceived as the sole defender of Malay supremacy with their special rights and privileges, even if it is at the expense of other ethnic groups. It doesn't require complex political analysis to understand that the MAJORITY of Malays had always been staunch supporters of UMNO.  If they refuse to change their voting preference, the status quo is going to remain. The more we challenge it, the stronger UMNO will be. Thus, for DAP to directly clash with UMNO will further enhance its image as a Chinese-based party and provide UMNO with an opportunity to have more Malay sympathizers.

An example is, if they increase the number of scholarships for non-bumis, UMNO can easily tell the Kampong Malays that they have succumbed to the pressure of MCA, Gerakan and MIC. The Malays will immediately give their strong endorsement to UMNO to defend their rights. DAP, as one of the strongest opposition parties in Malaysia, is still failing to comprehend the racial game played by UMNO.

Instead of directly engaging the Malay electorate, DAP chooses to play the ZERO SUM GAME with MCA and Gerakan. These 3 Chinese-based political parties lack the basic political wisdom to survive independently in our multi-racial country where Malays/Muslims are the majority. At least we know UMNO can easily survive by means of communalism and form the government with smaller political parties.

No matter how hard DAP argues or debates with MCA or Gerakan, it won’t change the fixed mindset or mentality of the Malay electorate. Neither will MCA or Gerakan be forced to change the mindset of the Malays by DAP!

Remember the iron fact that the majority of the Malays support UMNO; and UMNO has plundered and mismanaged the wealth of this country with impunity. Therefore, to change the fate of our nation is to change the mentality of the Malays. This is the ONLY solution!

As our most respected Regent of Perak, Dr. Nazrin Shah put it, "The Malay mindset is a crucial factor in our nation's stability”. Dr. Nazrin further elaborated that, “racial prejudice can be erased if the Malay mindset is stable and comfortable towards forging harmony. It is a pre-condition to our nation's stability".

May I ask Lim Kit Siang, Lim Guan Eng, Karpal Singh, or even the writer Liew Chin Tong, how much has DAP done over the past 40 years to change the mindset of the Malays? How much has DAP done to win the trust of the Malays? How many times has DAP challenged UMNO in open debate on the academic performance of Malay students?

Instead of getting closer and winning the hearts and trust of the Malay electorate, DAP has chosen to fight with MCA and Gerakan to play the role of Chinese Hero.
Worse still, after struggling for more than 40 years in Malaysia’s political history, DAP still doesn't have the slightest inkling of what "political courtship" is all about. Even the MOST STUPID salesman knows how to be courteous to customers and win their trust.

DAP chooses to shun Malay electorate and frighten them by:
  a) Refusing to wear songkok,
 b) Raising the issue of Social Contract,
 c) Immediate abolition of positive discrimination policies

It's made me wonder whether DAP is paid by UMNO to strengthen their grass root supporters! If I were a DAP leader, I would ostentatiously wear the Songkok to pro-actively court and seek Malay support for DAP. I would put aside the issue of the Social Contract and would clearly and carefully pinpoint the weaknesses of the NEP to the Malay masses before revising it.

If the Umnoputras liken the fate of the Malays in Penang to the Malays in Singapore, how is YAB Mr. Lim Guan Eng going to answer this question or "accusation"? What YAB Mr. Lim Guan Eng will do is to imitate his predecessor Dr. Koh by keeping his mouth shut and be speechless. Silence means consent!

DAP should pro-actively and sincerely urge the Malay masses to look beyond the tiny island of Singapore and focus on the plight of Malays in Batam, Bintang, Karimun and even the slum areas in Jakarta. Ask them to compare whether Singapore Malays are better off or Batam Malays are better off.

I can help organize special tours for all the Malays/bumiputras in Malaysia to visit all the Indonesian islands surrounding Singapore to see for themselves how the Malays there are living in abject poverty and sordid conditions. Many young girls in Batam, Bintang and Karimun have to prostitute themselves to feed their family. They are also deprived of the opportunity to receive basic education and training. And we know many of them have to leave their families to become maids in Singapore and Malaysia.

We should challenge UMNO – NOT to protect the Malays in Singapore, but the Malays in Batam, Bintang and Karimun! We are not defending Singapore, but we have to speak the truth to the Malay masses. Enlighten them and so they won't be blinded and misguided by UMNO. Shame on our Education Minister who expressed the need to travel to the UK to save "our" so-called  prodigy Sufiah. He should go to Batam Island to join the UN's efforts to curb child prostitution!

For DAP’s information, Singapore Malays have progressed very well. Over the last 15 years, they have improved significantly in their academic performance. Singapore Malays have the highest percentage of home ownership as compared to the Malays in Malaysia and Indonesia! DAP does not have to defend PAP, but I would encourage YAB Mr. Lim to invite Dr. Mahathir for a telecast debate on the plight of Malays in Singapore.

Dr. Mahathir always reminds the Malays in our country to look at the Malays in Singapore, how “miserable” they are without firm control in politics. For Mahathir's information, the Singapore Parliament Speaker is a Malay and the Finance Minister an Indian Muslim like Mahathir. And so far, I have not heard of Singapore Malays being maids in Malaysia or Indonesia, and neither have I heard of a large number of young Malay girls in Singapore prostituting themselves to feed their family.

As Islam is the official religion of Malaysia, DAP leaders should openly and publicly support the teachings of the Quran in our country. I voted for PAS on 8th March to close down casinos, horse-racing, 4D and TOTO. Non-Muslims have long been paying a second tax to the UMNO government by "gambling-off" their whole family savings and children’s education to win the trust and respect of Malays and Muslims.

DAP should advocate the closure of casinos, 4D, TOTO, and horse-racing as all these vice activities operators are UMNO agents. They take gambling money from non-Muslims and pay it to their UMNO Master. To cut off this source of revenue for UMNO, DAP should explain to the non-Muslim community how this gambling system works in Malaysia – and teach UMNO a lesson as we must expose UMNO’s hypocrisy!

Unfortunately, DAP leaders don't appear to have the intelligence, wit, courage and political will to have the paradigm shift and think out of the box politically. As mentioned earlier, DAP is just a political party helplessly manipulated by UMNO. By just simply advocating the banning of gambling, DAP could win the respect and trust of Malays and Muslims plus save many non-Muslims from bankruptcy and family problems. But most importantly, it cuts off a large chunk of revenue from UMNO. ONE stone killing 3 birds.

Instead of shouting and arguing with ridiculous Umnoputras in Parliament, I urge DAP to instruct each of their members to befriend at least 10 Malays to explain to them the challenge of this ever-changing globalized economy and how we have to work together regardless of race and religion for a better Malaysia. When the Malay mindsets change, Malaysia will change; and vice-versa.

DAP, hear me and hear me well. You may be sincere, but you are sincerely wrong in Malaysian politics. Go and study what made UMNO strong. Do your political analysis. Also, DAP, you must remember that PAS is your true friend, even though they talked with UMNO. They are righteous and godly people that won't succumb to the temptation of money. That is not the case with Keadilan. Except Anwar and a few top leaders, many Keadilan people are still carrying the UMNO-DNA, as we have witnessed with the running dog Ezam and Nalla betraying the party.

DAP, you should acknowledge the fact that the special rights and position of Malays/bumiputras are enshrined in our constitution. You have to respect it. You must have a complete and comprehensive Malay agenda to compete with UMNO. For example, the Penang state government can provide free but compulsory tuition for Penang Malay students at schools. DAP must cultivate and nurture the Malays in Penang to excel in academics and be able to compete on equal footing with others. Penang Malays must be the locomotive change of mindset to the rest of the Malays in our country.  If DAP fails to change the Malay mindset in Penang, DAP will never be qualified to be addressed as a "National" party.

Lastly, DAP, you still have a long way to go and you really have to learn again who's given UMNO power. Go to their power base, seize their power and cut off their power supply! For a progressive and better Malaysia, wearing the songkok is a trivial matter.

If necessary, let Anwar’s new cabinet be full of capable Malays like Dr. Syed Husin Ali, Dr. Azly Rahman, Dr. Bakri Musa, Tuanku Abdul Aziz, etc. to prove to the Malay masses that we, Chinese, are not power hungry; we don't choose to "pegang" so as to destroy their livelihood as UMNO has claimed. We can prove to them that even though there is only 1 Chinese Minister in the Cabinet, it is still okay to us if the highly capable and honest Malay leaders can lead our country to greater heights and serve the rakyat wholeheartedly regardless of race, language and religion!

Please learn, understand and even master the UMNO's Art of War in Politics.

"Know your enemies and know yourself, hundred battles hundred victories" –  "Sun Tzu’s Art of War". 

FOR A BETTER MALAYSIA

Hidup Malaysia...
Mr. Loi Bih Siang Benjamin
Political Scientist

Comments (86)Add Comment
written by Mark C, August 29, 2008 17:26:54
? political scientist?
disagree 17
written by raven1958, August 29, 2008 17:33:19
DAP....you guys need to heal yourselves.....why no Malay educated top guns in your set up......put a Malay for a change in some of the constituencies......loose ...never mind....but keep at it....till you win all hearts ....not just Chinese and Indian......otherwise Pakatan is going to end up another racist BN component party...
disagree 40
written by myvoice, August 29, 2008 17:45:49

Yes, DAP open your eyes, as RPK said before, without the Malay support it will be impossible for DAP to progress. You ought to be fair to all, not for the Chinese/Indian only but for rakyat Malaysia regardless of skin colour. Bear in mind, the colour of our blood is the same regardless we are Malay, Chinese, Indian, Kadazan, Mat Salleh, Mamak etc! You should fight for all and not fight for personal agenda alone!
disagree 36
agree 121
written by NickChan, August 29, 2008 17:47:34
I disagree with his assumption that majority of malays support umno

the truth is, majority of malays support PAS and PKR.

When Khairy appeared, it contributed to the dwindling support for umno.
written by StoneRiver, August 29, 2008 17:48:41
The writer know where the problem's is?
He is absolutely right that DAP should know where the power supply of UMNO is.
No doubt if DAP championing to ban all the license gambling activity in Malaysia,believe me they are not short of MALAY's supporter's in their party and voters.

DAP pls listen and be fast learner.
disagree 36
written by Mark C, August 29, 2008 17:49:32
It is difficult to log into MT and the first post was a "test".

my response to the political scientist is that DAP is not a Chinese based party although it has been alleged to be. Their views are too liberal for the average Malays and as such the Malays has been hoodwinked by UMNO by their propaganda machinery to portray it as one.

There are only 3 major race based political party, which is UMNO, MCA, MIC..and smaller ones in Sabah and Sarawak. Most of the component parties in BN are race based.

My point, the new VP of DAP is Tunku Abdul Aziz? If I am not mistaken TAA is not chinese right? ...
written by NickChan, August 29, 2008 17:49:52
there is no official policy on discriminating the non-bumiputeras in kelantanese government, and the malays have no problems with that.

better education is very much needed, academic and religion
written by SamYap, August 29, 2008 17:53:38
Mr Loi,

I quite agree with your views. The only problem is whether DAP can change?

I have been quite surprised that until now, DAP has not made any progress in promoting itself to more people, to get them as members; especially the young Malaysians. Getting Tunku Aziz to join DAP is fine. Its makes for good public relations and possibly to ameliorate the Malay's view that DAP is Chinese based.

But thats not good enough. Whats really important is for DAP is to have a large grassroots membership base. In politics, numbers is what counts. In addition to that, DAP needs a good mix of races in its membership roll.

So, what has been DAP doing about membership drive all these while since March 8th? I don't really know. I have been in touch with some grassroots members and a couple of senior DAP people, but no one could tell me what they are doing about membership drive.

What about a proper setup of a propaganda unit in DAP? As far as I know it is ad hoc and no one seems to be doing a serious study of whats happening on the ground. What is a political party without a good propaganda machine? Sheesh!

I suppose we'll just have to assume that DAP is still basking in the glory of the March 8th triumph and busy courting VIP personalities to join them.

DAP should not forget that the so-called "victory" on March 8th was not by their own merit. DAP with its Pakatan partners "won" the election because the rakyat were simply fed up with the arrogance and bad governance by the BN.

So now its time for DAP to actually work hard on the back of this "triumph" to win more people to their side and rely on BN to make more mistakes, because BN is already scrapping the bottom of the barrel. We want to see more astute political moves by DAP and less photo sessions!
disagree 34
written by ez24get, August 29, 2008 17:53:41
Although this article is critical to DAP but it is constructively critical. This is the type of article that DAP should pay attention to and not those articles that glorify and praise the struggle of DAP.

Although DAP's struggle to where it is today is nothing short of praise worthy and a tremendous achievement, this article should spur DAP to improve its approach in politics further and think out of the box.
disagree 29
written by NickChan, August 29, 2008 17:57:44
don't claim to be a political scientist. you don't write like one.
disagree 52
written by RickK, August 29, 2008 18:04:14
Fully agreed,especially be as vehement as PAS in fighting to demolish that mountain gambling den that does no one any good.

Be considerate in not bulldozing with policies that frighten our Malay compatriots and allow Umno to say,'I told you so'.Never,never,never give an inch to them in your enthusiasm to see change.
Recognize you cannot undo 50 years of mismanagement and change mindsets in a single year.Let them see your forbearance,wisdom, ability and skill.Respect is earned.Let's not be the stereotyped Chinese who think that right is might and step all over others in the name of rationality and logic.

We desperately want to see you guys and the others in the PR succeed. Patience and circumspection,please.
disagree 28
written by tzarina, August 29, 2008 18:10:17
I am a supporter of DAP in general. But I must say that I agree with the author of this article.

DAP needs to be softer towards the Malays, by engaging in debates, and by enlightening the Malay electorate in kampungs that their interest also matters. VICE VERSA for PKR and PAS. Only when the major parties of the Pakatan is able to respect every race and religion of the electorate, and hold each other's race and religious rights to heart, will Malaysians move away from their xenophobia.

All decisions should always be made on behalf of Malaysia, and not for the interest of one type of people.

Make clear that DAP is NOT a Chinese majority party, but a Malaysian party. Perhaps the membership form should remove the word RACE, if it exists.
disagree 29
written by SocratesI, August 29, 2008 18:19:17

On the whole, Benjamin Loi is right and maybe not so accurate in a detail or 2. It is exactly this strategy that DSAI has used to appeal to the young Malay electorate to support PKR. PAS has been consistently Islamic and Malay based, but even they are accepting friends of PAS who are non-Malays and non-Muslims, slowly opening up the Party to new interaction with new electorate that they are not originally familiar with.

DAP needs to re-think its identity and purpose and whose party is it ?? If race politics is at the end of its tether, then DAP can not, nay, MUST NOT portray itself as a Chinese party ! That would be political suicide !

DAP MUST RE-INVENT ITSELF !! There is no other way, and become a TRUE Malaysian MULTI-RACIAL PARTY !!

disagree 31
written by samesamemam, August 29, 2008 18:21:39
I think the main point you are making to the DAP leadership is valid (as I understand it, work with PKR as a team on this...this is a very simplified version)...but some of your arguments and recommendations may need some re-thinking. Let me point to but a few.

First, I don't think the DAP are, as you suggested "...become or at least seen to become a Chinese-Chauvinist political party"...Look at its leadership, look at its membership and look at the issues they take up...

Second, the situation of the Singapore Malays are not as rosy as you paint it. Officials statistics from Singapore show the Malays seriously lagging behind in many socio-economic indicators compared to the Chinese and Indian communities there (you are a political scientist, I`m sure you can research the data). There is an ongoing debate in Singapore, in mainstream forums as well as blogs, on the need, as you yourself suggested, 'changing the 'mentality or mindset' of the Malays to get their support and ensure their progress. Which brings me to that particular recommendation, which I find very condescending. No offence intended.

And what is this:
"DAP, hear me and hear me well. You may be sincere, but you are sincerely wrong in Malaysian politics. Go and study what made UMNO strong. Do your political analysis. Also, DAP, you must remember that PAS is your true friend, even though they talked with UMNO. They are righteous and godly people that won't succumb to the temptation of money. That is not the case with Keadilan. Except Anwar and a few top leaders, many Keadilan people are still carrying the UMNO-DNA, as we have witnessed with the running dog Ezam and Nalla betraying the party."

Not only are you pontificating that DAP to do their political analysis but your own analysis is so screwed up. And, on top of that, you signed off as a "political scientist"...and you came up with this argument...you sure you did not get your degree from Edison University of Technology?

But what baffles me most are your last two lines:
Please learn, understand and even master the UMNO's Art of War in Politics.
"Know your enemies and know yourself, hundred battles hundred victories" – "Sun Tzu’s Art of War". Have you read Sun Tzu's work? Have you understood it.

But anyways, you may disagree with me and my views. But please don't pontificate on changing anyone's mindset or mentality. I`m not a Muslim nor a Malay but I find your suggestions terribly offensive.

disagree 21
written by SamSan, August 29, 2008 18:42:19
Hi Benjamin Loi Bih Siang,

I totally agree with your well intended advice. I notice all the qualities you mentioned in our Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng. In fact all malays are proud to have a prodigal son of Malaysia (Ketuanan Malaysia) who served sentence in jail for valiantly fighting a then giant of UMNO politics for the protection of the rights of an underaged malay girl who was raped by none other than one of the top UMNO leaders of the country.
disagree 32
written by mikewang, August 29, 2008 18:53:00
Without the Malays, UMNO is finished.
Without the non-Malays, DAP is also finished.
That is the present reality of Malaysian politics.

I think it is better that DAP merge with PKR after PKR comes of age.
Right now, except a few top leaders, many PKR Malay leaders are UMNO-like in behaviour, having previously only learnt UMNO ways. They are the weakest link. An internal "reformasi" is not out of place.

In comparison, DAP and PAS grassroot leaders are better principled.
written by Zapper, August 29, 2008 18:57:57
I agree with the writer to a certain extent. DAP should engage the Malays rather than challenging them and seeing them as pro-UMNO. I have many malays friend who are suffering as a result of UMNO doings. However, the Malays on the other hand should not treat the non-malays as pendatang. Afterall, we are from the same country. The malays should not fear the non-malays. Times have change and we as Malaysians should change and embrace the changes rather than dreaming in the past.

Malaysia should move forward.
disagree 28
written by cruzeiro, August 29, 2008 19:10:40
Also, DAP, you must remember that PAS is your true friend, even though they talked with UMNO. They are righteous and godly people that won't succumb to the temptation of money. That is not the case with Keadilan. Except Anwar and a few top leaders, many Keadilan people are still carrying the UMNO-DNA,
==================================================

Dear Mr. "political scientist",
Where thell did you get that idea from?
You're into "DNA" as well?
Do you actually believe that gambling is the sole source of evil & money for Umno?

I'd rather tell PAS that DAP is their true friend, whom they should engage, and that they shouldn't be talking to Umno who are opportunists!
I'd also advise the PAS leadership to stop looking up skirts and consider pluralism as an asset!
What - PAS cannot be tempted with money?
Since when did you qualify to say that?
Or is it that they just don't understand the concept of money?
Should that be the case, it's about time they take some lessons ....
PKR is definitely filled with disillusioned former Umno-ites. However, they are there because they wish to make changes in this plural society.
Please be aware that PAS was once part of Umno, and they too have a long way to go in ressuring a vast majority of Non-Muslims/Malays.

Having said that, I do agree that DAP needs to be able to articulate its ideas better so as to appeal to the Malay electorate. Yes- much of DAP's ideas, although valid aren't presented well, and caters to the "Race/Religion" politics of Umno.
With the PKR providing the middle ground, I'm sure things will change, as they learn to relate to Malay sentiments.

PKR is the tie that Binds!
They are the true friends of all Malaysians, DAP & PAS!

What you have written is a lot of hogwash, with some sense interspersed- that's all!
Where did you qualify from anyway? Umno College of Spin?
written by clarity, August 29, 2008 19:21:03
Mr.STLow, I am truly surprised by your views. It sounds a lot like the running dogs MCA. A lot of us dont't have any problems with the Malays. Our working class and their working class get on well together. Why? Because we all share the burden of making ends meet and caring for our families. That's why we ubderstand each other. Traditions and cultures are transcended in this manner. We also share the same dislike for the rich UMNOputras and non malays that rob the country. With their hubdreds of millions it is still not enough. These are the ones we should try to change.
written by takbolehtahan, August 29, 2008 19:23:37
I am a little confused with SamYap’s suggestion that “DAP needs a good mix of races in its membership roll”. Why? Is DAP getting out of PR? What is important is that DAP’s principles and ideologies should be made known more clearly to the Malays, what they stand for and why, and why these ideologies would not be a threat to the Malays. My problem is, if I were a Malay, which party then should I join? PKR, DAP or PAS? Why do I have to make a choice here? Why can’t it just be PR? Otherwise, this is just going to be another BN under a different name! Can not PR be PR without the labels of PKR, DAP & PAS? PR started this way (just like BN) and over time, all parties should share a common set of ideologies, bringing all parties together so that finally it becomes just PR, faceless in terms of race. Shouldn’t we all aim for this?
written by Kathy, August 29, 2008 20:19:58
Mr Loi, what is the role now of MCA and Gerakan? Surely, with DAP and Keadilan going from strength to strength the two Chinese-based parties are all but dead and buried? If I were a member of one of these parties, I would resign and join one of the opposition parties because I see signs of the demise of race-based parties. Malaysians are too savvy for this sort of politics; times have changed and it's time to move on. smilies/grin.gif
written by SeriousLy, August 29, 2008 20:37:47
Information for all: IF EVER ANY WEBSITE IS BLOCK BY GOVERNMENT, JUST FIND A PROXY SERVER TO TEMPORARY ACCESS TO THE BLOCKED WEBSITE! LIKE [url=WWW.BROWSER9.COM]WWW.BROWSER9.COM
written by AsamLaksa, August 29, 2008 20:44:23
DAP to change Malay mindset? Wow. Since when is it DAP's responsibility to change the Malay mindset? DAP for better or worse have always stood on the social justice platform. It is no big secret why they became the Chinese hero in the 70s and 80s. It was because DAP wasn't strong to begin with (taking up where PAP left) and that the Chinese felt under threat thus they flocked to DAP. DAP alone has consistently stood outside the BN. But the trouble started when they started spouting out so much pro-Chinese agenda that they became a Chinese party. No other party stood up against BN for the Chinese cause.

It was also BN's strategy to paint DAP as a Sino-centric party to further sideline the Malays.

If you look at what DAP has been standing up against and what they have said in parliament, you will find that most of what they stand for goes beyond the Chinese agenda. The new generation of DAP leaders, many having tertiary education have a more multiracial agenda.

How can DAP realistically attract more Malays into their fold? They can't suddenly adopt a pro-Malay agenda like the NEP as it would go against their principles. It's easy to say that DAP should change but what changes?

It is right for DAP to bring up the abolition of NEP and the social contract as it would be against what they stand for by not doing it. The message that DAP has been trying to say in bringing these up is not one of anti-Malay agenda but of equality for all Msians. Should DAP compromise on their stand just to appease the Malays? Should DAP compromise their stand to maintain policies that not only disadvantaged the non-Malays but also the Malays not aligned with UMNO?

So there's the songkok story. The non-Malays also ridiculed them for this. The power is in the voters and if they screw up again, the voters would punish them. Wait and see.

Many has mentioned the need to change the Malay mindset be it TDM, RPK or the Perak Regent. It does not rest on any one political party to change the mindset of the Malays. It takes something more to make them aware. Blame DAP for sidelining the Malays is easy noting that DAP has agreed to ally themselves with PAS, S46 and now in PR showing that they would accept working with parties that give no truck on any pro-Chinese agenda.

What more do you want DAP to do and how much you want them to bend their principles? Carrying out PR stunts like having token Malays in the party, having all of them wearing baju Melayu, or getting all of them fluent in BM won't win them Malays. As far as the Malays who support UMNO are concerned, they want the advantages from Ketuanan Melayu for themselves to continue regardless of the injustice it breeds.
written by laksa maner, August 29, 2008 21:12:31
well, as proposed, MT-Team must do proper action that the gomen (MCMC) and TM IT team unable to avoid. Pls find my posting on the following link:
***** Here
written by jason, August 29, 2008 22:22:01
Mr political scientist, the DAP has not been a chinese party from day one. All along
it has been championing a Malaysian Malaysia.There were malay leaders in DAP, most notable was Ahmad Nor. Now Tunku Abdul Aziz.Tunku even said DAP is the most democratic in theory and in practise.That is why he join DAP.I believe the DAP of now have changed alot since LGE became the secretary gen.Look at Perak, DAP won the most seats but yet compromise for a PAS MB.Is that not good enough to convince or erase any doubt about any malicious intent towards the malay.
Funny thought though why you choose to write about DAP and not MCA,MIC,Gerakan.
written by AsamLaksa, August 29, 2008 22:54:50
Jason, thanks for mentioning Ahmad Nor. I have forgotten his name. But yeah he used to run for parliament in Penang Bayan Lepas. Think he was a leader for the airport workers or something.
written by Mark C, August 29, 2008 23:24:49
seems to me there are many that agree that this "political analyst" has contributed something significant, for me, his arguments have reasonable points interspersed with unreasonable ones.

I am of the opinion that DAP and PKR is two of the more unracial based political party in Malaysia. The very fact that DAP is percepted to be a Chinese based party is probably due to the father and son team of LKS/LGE. Don't forget that LGE spend a year in jail to fight for the honor and justice of a malay girl. This is as selfless and "un"racial a person and a party he stand by; can get.

Many would conveniently forget the other father and son team, Karpal and Gobind. are they chinese? I don't think so, they fought for every malaysian irrespective of color, remember the case of the muslim female worker that was being sexually harrased by Jais?

And now there is tungku Abdul Aziz. He has been elevated to be the VP of DAP although one might argue that he was "appointed" based on his ethnicity but I suspect that his long term association with Transparency Int has played a major role in it, so this is "definitely" merit based.

So in conclusion, I reckon the major problem is that the perception that has been propagated by UMNO regarding DAP being a chinese based political platform is unfounded which goes to say how dirty and unethical UMNO is.
written by yy88, August 29, 2008 23:29:49
I beleive it is not DAP that doesn't want to engage the malays at large, it is the biased UMNO controlled media that will spin any well intentions into threats to Malay supremacy.
With the incessant threats of May 13, brandishing of the kris, call of balik Cina, Babi, Operasi lalang, etc,etc, isn't it, the most sensible thing to do would be to avoid a collision by sensitive to our brothers' feeling. DAP's call for Bangsa Malaysia is the right direction for a better Malaysia.
written by Mark C, August 29, 2008 23:32:41
written by clarity, August 29, 2008 | 19:21:03
Mr.STLow, I am truly surprised by your views. It sounds a lot like the running dogs MCA. A lot of us dont't have any problems with the Malays. Our working class and their working class get on well together. Why? Because we all share the burden of making ends meet and caring for our families. That's why we ubderstand each other. Traditions and cultures are transcended in this manner. We also share the same dislike for the rich UMNOputras and non malays that rob the country. With their hubdreds of millions it is still not enough. These are the ones we should try to change.

Dear clarity, I think St low is one of the few admins here and has posted this piece by the political Analyst Benjamin ......

it might not be the view of St Low....
written by Sabahfan, August 29, 2008 23:55:48

so long as the majority of malays support the rascist UMNO, we could not have the real spirit of Merdeka, since we long for freedom from UMNOs rascist and dictatorial policies... so the flag continues to fly upside down
written by Thinker, August 30, 2008 00:12:07
Wrote a whole long comment but the browser crashed when trying to submit.

Anyway, to summarise:
1. I don't agree with DAP's stand on songkoks.

2. Vernacular schools should be made available based on the freedom of choice but DAP's Malaysian Malaysia idealogy should focus on merging the schools. It's not the fault of DAP that people are choosing vernacular schools, though. UMNO's education ministers have screwed up Malaysia's education system for the last 30 years (Anwar included).

3. The DAP's stand on the social contract should be applauded. If they give up on the most basic of truths and accept UMNO's version, whither the platform they will stand on in the future? They might as well just dissolve the party and join one of the BN components. You can't give up the truth in your search for power.

4. The DAP has always advocated social justice. Poverty and social inequality cuts across all racial lines. NEP is totally incompatible with this view. Therefore, DAP's stand is the right as it's an honest and principled stand based on the party's ideals. They want to uplift the status of all Malaysians, regardless of race and they shouldn't have to lie or change their tune to do it.

5. The DAP may or may not come into power with their ideals but I would much rather a party that comes into power based on the people's acceptance of their principles and ideals compared to a party that wins based on lies and deceit. They may not be good politicians but they are principled and honest ones (well, as honest as a politician maybe). To me, any party that changes its tunes to get into power is not worth supporting. Maybe I'm naive and too idealistic but I think there are many Malaysians who feel the same.
written by AsamLaksa, August 30, 2008 00:19:29
Note: Earlier post done in a hurry because have appointment to go to thus replying in a general manner. This post will attempt to discuss the points raised in the article.

PAKRAK, I agree that Mr. Loh have some points but there is more rhetoric than substance, and where what appeared to be substance are really not significant enough. I am no DAP fan but out of the political parties in Msia they are one of the parties where you know what they stand for (the other one being PAS). DAP has generally shown consistency in their left-wing stand.

For LGE's silence in regards to accusations of mistreatment of Malays in Penang, why should he reply to a baseless accusation? If your opponent have this fixed mindset of looking at you negatively, it doesn't matter what you say or how many press conferences you make it won't change a thing. LGE has shown some backbone in not getting taunted to get into mud slinging politics. In fact keeping quiet is good to let the allegation fade away because of no response. The Malays can see for themselves. Those who bring up the allegations over and over, they have their agendas and whatever LGE does it makes no difference. We need to stop this culture of baseless allegations followed by pointless replies that does nothing to sort out the allegations but simply keep it alive in the eyes of the public.

Loh's suggestion that DAP openly support teachings of Islam. Sure sounds nice but what "support" are you looking for? DAP runs on a secular platform. They do not place one faith over another. Would showing support for one faith mean that Islam should be treated higher than other faiths? Again nice rhetoric but what is the substance? DAP is not anti-Islam and have never interfered in the practice of Islam. What they are against is Islamic agenda that would shift the balance much more in favour of Islam such as they are against an Islamic state.

DAP should support banning of gambling to gain Malay support? You must be joking. Most West Coast Malays and in East Malaysia where DAP generally stand for election do not care whether gambling is banned or not. If DAP have that on their election platform and it makes little difference as it's a minor issue which would be easily overshadowed by other more immediate concerns such as increasing cost of living. Notice that PAS themselves do not bring up banning of gambling in the West Coast.

I can agree that PAS is a friend or at worst an enemy that you know of because you know where they stand. It's their principles that gain them respect among their non-supporters. I do not always agree with what PAS does but I believe that they are guided by principles. I have high regards for Tok Guru Nik Aziz. Saying this, PAS is not a perfect party, where DAP has their anti-songkok camp, PAS has their anti-"western" culture camp. I cannot say one is better than the other.

I can understand that Loh is trying to suggest that DAP pander more towards the Malay agenda more so for political gains but I must warn that the risk of pandering to any one race will bring DAP back to square one where it was a Chinese chauvinist party. DAP should remain firm in carrying out their plan to eradicate racial politics. They should not soften their stand for small gains in Malay voters at the cost of losing respectability among their current supporters.

The 10 Malay friends idea again... I have more than 10 Malay friends and acquaintances, speak fluent BM, know how to eat meals with fingers Malay style, support BM as first language in Msia, worn a songkok, yet in the eyes of the Malays I am not on their side. Saying this, I have only 2 close Malay friends so far not because I am pro-Malay but because they do not care what's my colour or faith (Credits to them).

I however note that Malay politics is very different than what DAP normally target. DAP appeals most to the middle class urbanites. I'm not surprised that DAP do not have much Malay grassroot support but where is the fault, is it DAP or the Malays themselves?

Whatever spews out of DAP's mouth, UMNO can easily turn it around and paint it all Chinese. You need Malay leaders who the Malays respect to educate them. TDM is trying to do such (rightly or wrongly) but as you can note that AAB's administration is trying to shut him up thus leading TDM to venture into blogs. PAS leaders do not appeal to the more liberal Malays thus leaving DSAI to lead in this aspect at the moment.

cont.
written by AsamLaksa, August 30, 2008 00:20:28
cont.

If there is one hope to change the Malay mindset it's with DSAI at the moment. I personally don't trust PKR as I fear the party lacks firm principles and may act in a too populist a manner leaving principles aside, but DSAI love him or hate him has the ears of the Malays. Thus DAP is making use of him to show that DAP can be friends with Malays. Best for DAP to let DSAI, PKR or even PAS to take the lead into the minds of the Malays. DAP should sit tight, get on with business.

Understanding UMNO's political strategy is one thing and to counter it is another thing. I agree on the first part but on the second part I do not think Loh has really addressed it well.

Another point... What Loh fail to clearly tell us is what is the pro-UMNO Malay mindset. I would be very interested to hear his view on this. Know enough about your enemy? I do not care if you are a political scientist or a trishaw pedlar, an opinion is an opinion and let's see the merits of them for ourselves. I hope other readers do not take his qualifications against him and strictly post comments in relation to the topic.
written by Rhan, August 30, 2008 00:47:26
This Bendjamin wrote a piece of rubbish. His reasoning is very dog and not base on sound values but trying to bend straight into crook. A typical BN style of philosophy and most suitable for a master and slave environment. This Bendjamin is a MCA graduate.

Thinker and Asam Laksa comments make sense except the Songkok part. DAP didn’t force their member to wear or not to ware the songkok and I think this is a sensible decision.

I would only wear the songkok if I am not force to, but no point to explain this to people who already fix their mind.

written by Fuminari, August 30, 2008 00:50:36
who should qualify who as political scientist??anybody??or any oneself??does that mean any one who hav done courses in political science would be bestowed as political scientist??what does a political scientist do??
written by fireduck, August 30, 2008 02:01:44
The DAP was not, is not, a Chinese political party. That is a perception played up by the BN. Of course, DAP wouldn't reject the support of the Chinese since that was their only survival base over the years. The late Encik Ahmad Nor (remember him?) was a long serving member of the party. The problem was that the BN via MCA and later, Gerakan (they lost their principles along the way) had the money to spend on the Chinese voters, and in return the Chinese community rode along on the MCA/BN wagon. The biggest chauvinist Chinese party is MCA. Period.

And Benjamin, it is not as easy as you make it out to be. What? Just call up UMNO for a debate? And with big-ego Mahathir helming UMNO then? Look at your statement here : How many times has DAP challenged UMNO in open debate on the academic performance of Malay students? Where did you get that? Anwar and Shabery Chik's debate was THE first open debate! Even Shabery acknowledged that. And that too was instigated by the March 8th tsunami.

Come on, you have a lot of good points but some of it is very unfair to DAP. They had to struggle against all odds, against the mighty machine of the BN and the racist game played by UMNO, and abetted by MCA, Gerakan and MIC. There were times back then when reading a copy of the Rocket was like a schoolboy reading pornographic magazine. We felt threatened by the authorities. So, DAP's message effectively did not get through to the masses. Now, with the Internet, and thanks to people like Petra, etc., things are different.

But, be aware of this one fact: Kit Siang has been very consistent in his struggle over the decades. Of course, Mahathir and BN folks like to highlight his stranglehold on the powerful Sec-Gen position, but I think any lesser man may have succumb to the tremendous pressure and may have closed shop by now. It must be said too, that Kit Siang was well and ably supported by a bunch of loyal men and women. Some of the old horses, like Tan Seng Giaw, Karpal, (and I may add, Ahmad Nor) have been steadfastly with DAP over the difficult years.

It is not totally correct to say that the Malay mindset has not changed. There are a lot of wonderful Malay folks who believe that UMNO and BN are not looking after their interests. And they can see the injustice and the discriminatory policies of the govt, but without all the right ingredients coming together, such people and parties are just pieces of jigsaw puzzles that cannot be made to fit together, by design of the UMNO overlords.

Imagine, Tunku Abdul Aziz said he had been targeting D A P (!) for 20 years, and even DAP didn't know about it. Timing was just not right until now. I say 'Bravo' to the man. But I hope he can help bring in more of the more open-minded Malay to join as members. I believe that DAP can be an effective political party if only people can go past the perception of a 'Chinese-based'party.

I suggest that some of the bloggers here, including Haris, Dr Azly, Bakri, etc., call up Guan Eng or Tunku Abdul Aziz and have a chat with them. I believe there will be positive outcome, and if the feelings good, why not just join as members?
written by temanmu, August 30, 2008 02:50:37
Singapore's Finance Minister an Indian Muslim like Mahathir.....

I think not!

"Tharman Shanmugaratnam" does not sound like an Indian Muslim name!

Malaysia's 2nd Finance Minister is a mamak!
written by SUV, August 30, 2008 04:24:57
We can all write article to criticize, articulate what can be done, how to.

Firstly we need to ask where were you when DAP fought against ISA, OSA, Sedition act? Who are you actually??

You failed to understand the environment DAP had to operate to reach the malays.

Today with technology the dissemination of information is different.

Secondly, I presume you are those that support the Lina Joy verdict. To such humans it becomes pointless to engage with meaningful dialog.

Lastly you also must be those who belief born malay = islam, muslim, so songkok = malay = muslim. There is no shame in not wearing the songkok as we are neither malay nor muslim. If you feel so proud with the attire, go and wear it yourself everyday, but don’t suggest others to wear in the name of engaging the malays. Pathetic!

We who have the dignity and freedom will choose the CHOICE that we are comfortable with.

Lastly have you ever considered the truth that Orang Asli are the true Malaysia Bumiputera. Perhaps DAP needs more Orang Asli in their team is better. One can criticize DAP if they only want scholar, degree holder, law, doctors. What about those who have none of these degree? Can these none degree holder hold a position in DAP? That I will criticize DAP!

In conclusion, while there is no freedom of press in Malaysia…..it is STUPID to try to do too much for a better Malaysia via spreading one resources thin. The paradigm shift also needs to happen to malays. After all, if we want a better Malaysian, all needs to play a part and the media freedom must be broken Quickly to undo 51 years of RACISM Bigotory Religious Cult!!…..Focus on Racism!! The religion that support these Racist ideology is EVIL and all associated with it!
written by Proarte, August 30, 2008 04:39:02
The real problem is the demonisation of DAP by the media and BN against DAP's 'chauvinist' and 'anti-Malay' agenda. It is the Malays who will have to disabuse themselves from their prejudice of DAP.

DAP stands for equality, justice and upholding the secular constitution.It utterly rejects the idea of 'Ketuanan Melayu or Ketuanan Islam' because it is against basic democratic and civilised values.

The idea that DAP is dancing to the tune of UMNO is utterly ridiculous. Banning gambling is simply a cosmetic gesture which will drive the activity underground. Also, it is a fundamental affront to the concept of freedom of choice. There are millions who see no moral problem with gambling. What the government needs to to is to regulate gambling activites so that it is not abused. Let us not forget that a significant proportion of gamblers in Malaysia are Malays. The idea of DAP banning gambling wholesale might actually alienate many Malays!

Another outrageous comment by our redoubtable 'political scientist' Ben is that "for DAP to directly clash with UMNO will further enhance its image as a Chinese-based party and provide UMNO with an opportunity to have more Malay sympathizers". DAP clashes with UMNO because it is utterly corrupt, racist and self serving. The Permatang Pauh election showed us that the Malays in Penang have overwhelmingly rejected UMNO and not only the Chinese!

His comment "As Islam is the official religion of Malaysia, DAP leaders should openly and publicly support the teachings of the Quran in our country" is further proof of his utter disrespect for the religious sensitivities of other races and religions in this country. How can u expect Bhuddists, Christians and Hindus in the party to convert to Islam? Hey, Ben the constitution says Islam is the official religion but there is freedom of worship and that other religions may be practised freely and in peace. Ben then goes on to reassure the DAP "that PAS is your true friend, even though they talked with UMNO". Yes a friend indeed, which talks to the enemy behind your back in secret talks to share power!

This character Ben stikes me as being a fraud who is articulating the views of renegade elements in PAS who want more cooperation with UMNO. His piece is riddled with 'Ketuanan Melayu, Ketuanan Islam' and preys on Malay insecurity and psychological dependence on UMNO.
written by Loonie, August 30, 2008 05:00:12
Benjamin Loh,
Well intended letter but note this, with the opposition alliance, I can see that the three main parties are already softening their approach in their individual party ideology and moving forward with the common goal of achieving a fair and just Malaysia for all. As with the "support" of Islamic values, I think the word "tolerance" would be more appropriate as DAP is a secular platform for all faiths.
One major point I agree will be that DAP needs to ENCOURAGE and SUPPORT the Malays in the academic aspect by providing after school REMEDIAL classes for those who need them. In Canada where I work , we have homework clubs where students get together after school hours to catch up with school work in a classroom under the supervision of a couple of teachers. We encourage peer tuition and there is zero tolerance towards any racial slurs or discriminatory remarks. Students are also taught peer mediation whenever there is a dispute among themselves. The Malaysian education system needs to look at how to promote group learning where students are encouraged to work in teams for their assignments. This involves a lot of social interaction in data gathering, sitting down together to discuss how the project/assignment should be presented in class. Both my kids are blessed to have the opportunity of learning to be great team players right from elementary school years. I remember one time a group of grade 8 (Caucasian) students made an awesome presentation of the Malaysian Twin Towers. Yet another group presented their assignment on religious and cultural diversity. The students inspire each other to do their part and there is always a lot of fun. For instance in Malaysia, the class could look at working on assignments targeting the understanding of Islam. A class of 40 students can form 8 groups of 5 each to come up with individual theme to present to the class. That way, they learn from each other and won’t have to duplicate work. Our multiracial composition in class can foster a better relationship through such interaction. Also, students learn through each other’s strength and weaknesses. My daughter is good at art work and public speaking and therefore she gets elected by her team for that role whereas my son would rather die than speak publicly, so he gets to do all the research work. Canada is a land of immigrants and everyone understands that “Rights” come with “Responsibility”. Tolerance towards each other is a biggie here. I think Malaysians are an intelligent lot and instead of focussing on being competitive with each other in class, why not focus on being great team players through cooperative learning? What is the point of scoring top A1s but fail to build character to face the real world? Point in case :- PM’s sil Khairy?
Through proper education in the elementary years, the mindset of the Malays can be shifted in the most positive way.
written by CKLee123, August 30, 2008 06:51:18
Balls to you, Mr. Loi. What are you farking talking about?

You a political scientist? More like an armchair trainer who urges a boxer to get in there to fight because it won’t hurt… him.

What’s your real agenda? Which is the buttered side of your bread?
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, August 30, 2008 10:18:33
Dear ALL:
Thanks for your comments, but I realized one thing that many of you don't really understand the topic of discussion here, i have never doubted DAP's struggle to build a democratic and fair society in Malaysia and they've fought the battle fearlessly and tirelessly that resulted in some of the DAP national leaders being incarcerated in the 60s,70s,80s and 90s, but many of us do not realize the fact that many DAP people are too preoccupied with winning the Chinese vote, if Dr. Mahathir didn't fire Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim in 1998, you think our YAB Mr. Lim Guan Eng can become the Chief Minister of Penang??...think again, without Anwar Ibrahim's appeal to Malay electorate, can DAP do it on their own?? and you guys can go and ask PKR Vice-President Dr. Syed Husin Ali about DAP's arrogance in 1995 general election when some of the Klang valley DAP leaders even mocked the Parti Rakyat Malaysia (PRM) as mosquito party and refused to yield a parliamentary seat to Dr. Syed Husin Ali. In Malaysia, I would rather want to have good Malay leaders to fight for equality and justice for us as minority in the country, we are talking about "political efficiency" so as to achieve our goal to build a democratic and fair society, we can work together regardless of race and religion for a better Malaysia...
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, August 30, 2008 10:34:23
THE FACT: several weeks ago, one of our Cabinet Minister Mohamed Nazri was debating with Lim Kit Siang in parliament on Social Contract, Nazri was hoping DAP would table bill in Parliament to remove Article 153 from our Constitution...He entices and wants DAP to fall into the Umno pitfall, Umno knows it too well that if DAP really does it, Umno will immediately be celebrating for a new revival, all the kampung and urban Malays will travel down to Parliament house in suport of Umno...
written by shamadz72, August 30, 2008 11:10:06
A well written article Mr Low.

I also share the same view as the writer. But since I am a Malay, I bet many non-Malays won't take my advice if I wrote the same thing as what Mr. Low has written here.

I believed for us to progress into multi-racial society we must tread along this fine line carefully and not rock the boat too much. In the even the PR take over the rakyat, I believed DAP shouldnt put too much pressure for Anwar to elect Chinese for say a DPM post etc. Respect the monarcy and most important is to let the status-quo remains for the time being as long. There is nothing wrong if we remains the status-quo as long as the Malays who is holding that post is someone with a credibility and capability to bring Malaysia progressive to a greater high.

Remember it takes US more than 150 years after President Lincoln set free the US black for them to start to accept a non-white as a candidate for US President post. God willing, we will reach that stage one day once the Malay majority started to accept and embrace their other brothers from different races. Don't give UMNO ammunition to bring down PR government. For you guys information, in term of parliamentary constituent breakdown based on the racial, we can see that if all the Malays decided to vote for any 1 particular party (such as UMNO) they can practically rule this country on their own without the need to cooperate with the other races. Don't believe me, go and do the study yourself. So if you guys straight away demand for a sudden change, I am willing to bet that PR will only be able to rule 1 term and after that UMNO will be back with the Malays solidly behind them. So the choice is up to us whether we want this or not.

written by Mark C, August 30, 2008 11:28:29
seriously mr political analyst, your arguments are bordering on being "too personal" and not looking at the whole picture. You come across, at least to me as being way too defensive about your views. No doubt there are some points that can be lauded but come on, not every single argument that you put forth has merits. To put it bluntly, it doesn't make sense.

You are basically adding 1 1 to be come 3. Perhaps that makes sense to you but it doesn't to me. Although some might agree but please have the decency to "agree to disagree". Keep all manner of crticism with an open mind.

before running out of topic, it's apparent that UMNO has only "race based" politics in their arsenal. Heck, it's their only trump card. They will not hesitate to use it all the time to maintain an animosity between all the races in Malaysia, just to stay and remain in power. UMNO or United Malays National Organisation (why a malay ketuanan party is still retaining an ENGLISH name is beyound my comprehension) is not the only legacy left by the British, but the oftly used "Divide to Conquer" tactic. This has been generously used by them.

One needs to understand that political party survives and thrives on support. Be it from a racial lines, or fighting a "cause". In here; idealism and platforms of each political party differs. MCA on the chinese platform, UMNO on malays and the list goes on. But to claim that DAP is preoccupied to win Chinese vote is superflous. They are build on the platform of a " Malaysian's Malaysia", although they have been eyeing Penang since time immemorial. Penang incidently is a Chinese Majority place.

As for the little issue regarding sacking of DSAI and LGE winning to become the CM of Penang. Does it mean to say that after a span of 10 years, the Malay electorate suddenly develop and epiphany and voted LGE in? How silly is that? I don't dispute the timing of the boost DSAI gave when he selflessly campaign for the DAP and PKR and PAS, but the major problem of the electorate is because of the inept government of Bodowi and the widespread abuse of power, corruption and police brutality condone by Bodowi and KTK. This is what makes the paradigm shift. For one moment if Bodowi did a damn good job after this 91 % mandate in 2004, do you honestly think DAP's appeal to the malays would be any different?
written by KotaDamansara73, August 30, 2008 11:43:24
I agree with the approach that DAP should take. But I don't agree with the ban on gambling. No country in this world has succesfully ban gambling, prostitution and alcohol.

The history has prove that by banning these 3 vices, the activity will go underground and gangster will fluorish. During the 60s, when USA ban alcohol, Al Capone and many big time gangster fluorish. Corruption fluorish as well. And no matter what kind of check and balance you put in, the money and gangster will over run it. So, now I know why you are a political scientist. You have no understand how real world works.
written by KotaDamansara73, August 30, 2008 11:44:29
Dear Mr. Loi Bi Sing,

Even though there is legal 4D, Toto and Genting, the illegal gambling in Malaysia is still very big. Don't tell me you don't know that.
written by KotaDamansara73, August 30, 2008 11:45:38
Dear Mr. Loi Bi Sing,

If any of your relative gambles, it is not your fault. It is their weakness in character.
written by KotaDamansara73, August 30, 2008 11:53:59
Mr. Loi Bi Sing,

When I was in school, I always gather behind the class and gamble with my friends who happen to be all Malay. I am the only chinese hanging out with them. So are you sure by banning gambling, it will help the country?

Today, I am a successful entreprenuer. AND I AM NO ****ING GAMBLING ADDICT. I gamble to make friends with them.

Mr. Loi, I think you are a Singaporean freak. Who is obsess with absoulute perfection of law and order.

By the way, Lee Hsien Long and Lee family controls Temasek. If that is not nepotism, then what do you call it.
written by KotaDamansara73, August 30, 2008 12:01:27
Mr. Loi Bi Sing,

A lot of people gamble in business and lose their life savings. So should the goverment ban business as well and resort back to socialism and communism?

You are one arm chair political scientist sitting in an air cond room who don't understand how the real world works.
written by KotaDamansara73, August 30, 2008 12:06:01
Mr. Loi Bi Sing

The goverment increases the cigarette tax and alcohol tax every year and every year, the smuggling and gangsterism increases. Because the money is so big that people are willing to the risk and goes into the business. The smart one, will cooperate with IGP to run this business.

DO you understand Mr. Loi Bi Sing. Banning vices such as alcohol, gamblings and prostitution will not solve the society problems. Progressive society like Holland and AUstralia legalise it.

Only not abnormal society ban it. Abnormal society like Iran, Saudi Arabia and most islamic society bans it. And do you see any of this society being progressive?
written by KotaDamansara73, August 30, 2008 12:06:46
Only abnormal society bans it. Abnormal society like Iran, Saudi Arabia and most islamic society bans it. And do you see any of this society being progressive?
written by KotaDamansara73, August 30, 2008 12:09:44
Mr. Loi Bi Sing,

Do you know that in USA, there are some people from very strong academic background gambles in Las Vegas and make a career out of it. These people are now ban from going into casino, because there are so successful.

Are you smart enough to beat the casinos? Only 1% made it. And only 1% of the world population are successful entreprenuer.
written by InEffective, August 30, 2008 12:12:08

DAP should not concern itself with chinese or malay - push forward based on universal common human values and merit, and push forward regardless of race or religion.

Those who choose to see the world through the 'lens of race' or 'lens of religion' - good luck to them.

If people care about their children's futures, and the environment they leave for their families and children, will find your path appealing. So don't waste your precious time on those whose mind has been controlled and managed.

life is too short - enjoy it and live it well.
(malaysian will either choose to struggle, or they will choose to progress)
written by KotaDamansara73, August 30, 2008 12:12:16
Mr. Loi Bi Sing,

Do you know that more than half of the most successful entreprenuers who provides job for 80% of the world populations are B class students or drop outs. Do you know why?

Because they are not book oriented but people oriented. So you political scientist, can continue to read Sun Tzu or Romance of the 3 kingdom and all sorts of books, but you don't make the world turn round.
written by cubi76, August 30, 2008 13:42:52
Dear Mr Loi and friends,

I agree with Mr Loi in the argument that it's important for DAP to build a stronger Malay base. But how? On that I hope everyone of us can contribute a bit by bringing up suggestion.

The main point that I would like to point out is, why see the Malay and hence UMNO as the only deciding factor in Malaysia politic. I guess DAP, many friends here, and even Benjamin yourself, have neglected or shall i say failed to see Malaysia at a bigger picture. Think out of the box - as Benjamin yourself suggested. I would elaborate my point here (a quick and rough one without statistic).

Yes, Malay is the majority in this country. I agree with that. But by suggesting Malay as the only deciding factor, this I dont agree much. Benjamin argues that UMNO, with strong support from Malay, can dominate Malaysia politic. I also dont agree with this point.

As indicated from the last election result, UMNO as a party on its own, without support from other parties especially Sabah and Sarawak, will fail to dominate the country politic or in worse case fail to set up federal government. Benjamin pointed out that UMNO, with strong support from Malays, will dominate the political scene. I would see that this point will only be valid and true if the political scene is only about politic in Peninsular Malaysia. Many of you have missed out the point that a very very important element in 'Malaysia' politics - Sabah & Sarawak factor.

UMNO recognised this. So did Anwar Ibrahim. That's why we saw the Project IC, and also many of the UMNO politicians are in fact not from 'Malay heartland' but from Sabah and Sarawak. Too, Anwar flew to S&S right after the election because he knew where the deciding factor is. In fact, the real battle right now between Anwar and UMNO is in getting the support from S&S politicians. Who has the support, who rules federal government. UMNO set up operation in Sabah long time ago. So did PKR. Without the support base from S&S, do you think that UMNO can be considered as national party? I dont think so.

I think besides fighting with UMNO for stronger Malay base (which by all means I still agree it's important), there are other ways to make DAP as national party with strong support and bargaining power -- by getting support from Sabah and Sarawak people. And I see this as viable and easier option, given the fact that Sabah and Sarawak are actually non-Malay based. I say it is easier way as UMNO's support among Malay is deep-rooted and UMNO can always manipulate Malays' racial sentiment. This is not the case with S&S people. And I urge DAP leadership to consider this strategic move ASAP to diversify your support base.

We should not see the Malaysia politic as only about Malay, or Chinese. We should widen our view and see it as bigger picture. In fact Sabah and Sarawak factor is the one that UMNO has neglected and this nearly cost them to lose the power to federal government.... almost.

"Know your enemies and know yourself, hundred battles hundred victories" – "Sun Tzu’s Art of War".

'Why attack enemy's strongest base? Attack the enemy's weakest point' - cubi's art of war.

Humbly,
Non-political scientist
written by Raizzen, August 30, 2008 14:09:48
Its simple math. Like so many other articles, there are still a few rough edges to the article, but thats normal, no ?

The point here is, there you go, those are the problems that engulf the Malays to have their full 'trusts' in DAP. Its either you take them, accept them and learn or.. =)
written by Raizzen, August 30, 2008 14:11:30
.. or be sounding downright negative or defensive abt it.
written by cheekhiaw, August 30, 2008 19:49:58
Ooi Bising fella,

Why didn't you go setup a party to do what you are preaching to DAP?
You would have been basking in glory by now.

Instead, now bising only...

written by alberttan, August 30, 2008 22:24:55
Mr. Loi Bih Siang Benjamin
Political Scientist

1. For a Malay political analysis couched as an advise to DAP, what are your facts, numbers or science? What I read are just your condescending views and your simplistic conclusions, without any science at all.
2. Your views of populist Malay 'gestures' is very demeaning to the Malays, what makes you think the Malays are less educated (or less smart) than you or other Malaysians are? Associating Malays with the prostitutes of Bintan, Batam and Karimum, how much more insulting can you get? You gonna teach China how to progress by asking the Chinese politburo to tour the China doll hotels in Brickfields? Or are you implying that Malays will disgress backwards as prostitutes if there is no DAP leadership?
3. "DAP, hear me and hear me well", what makes you SURE your views on Malays are WORTH hearing? Personally, I think your views are the outdated style of 'gimmicks' politics practiced by TDM and UMNO, younger and educated Malays are really going to be insulted by such gimmicks.
4. Accusing "DAP leaders don't appear to have the intelligence, wit, courage and political will to have the paradigm shift and think out of the box politically" is also very strange when you are asking them to "Hear me and hear me well".

In conclusion, your 'advise' is nothing more than the ramblings of a self serving individual in the mold of Matthias Chang. I believe that PKR, DAP and PAS have their own 'think tanks' trying to figure out how to progress Malaysia forward together from the incompetence, greed and corruption in government today.

I doubt your ability to be a political scientist trying to influence change for the better when you are clearly insulting both the parties you are trying to bridge without even realising it. You may have the qualification and knowledge but sorely lacking in attracting your audience by your egoistical and parochial writings.
written by alberttan, August 30, 2008 22:32:49
Apologies, it should read patronising writings and not parochial writings as entered.
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, August 31, 2008 00:09:10
Dear Albert Tan:
Thanks for your comment!
1. I have never associated Malays with prostitution, i am just informing the readers that prostitution is rampant in Batam, Bintang and Karimun where children as young as 12 years old have been forced into prostitution and i sincerely urge the Malay supremacists not to politicize the dilemma of Malay in Singapore and liken them to the Malay in Penang, instead they should look at the Indonesian islands surrounding Singapore and ponder why the Malay are living in abject poverty and sordid conditions. Malay have long been frightened by Umno that if they lose political power in Malaysia, they life will be "miserable" as that of the Malay in Singapore, haven't heard of the slogan chanted by racist malay: "kaum asing pegang, melayu mati"?? But how come in Batam, Bintang and Karimun, Indonesian "pegang" themselves and yet their young girls have to be forced into prostitution?? Please read my points against!

2. One of the DAP Aduns in the State of Johor purposely chose not to wear Songkok and everybody in his constituency knows he is a media maniac, for the sake of drawing attention and provoke the Malay and even the Sultan, this Adun is politically stupid and retarded! Being seen as a Chinese hero won't benefit DAP much in its struggle to play a more dominant role in Malaysia politics!

benjaminloi.********.com
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, August 31, 2008 00:26:55
Dear All:
Yes, DAP is a multi-racial political party, and yet after the 08 March political tsunami, out of its 28 MPs and 70 over Aduns, DAP has ZERO Malay MP/Adun.
What i would like to emphasize here is DAP ought to re-invent itself and fight the political battle more tactfully by
1. simply urging their Aduns and MPs to wear Songkok as a respect the custom of the country.
2. threaten to close down gambling (casino, 4D, TOTO, etc) to expose Umno hypocrisy. (don't worry Mr. Tan and Mr.Lim are Umno agents, Umno loves them so deeply that it is impossible to stop legal gambling in Malaysia).
3. promote the positive aspect and universal value of Quran.
4. DAP has found a perch in Penang, therefore, it is imperative for the state government to analyse the simmering discontents of the malay electorate in the state and find a comprehensive solution to deal with it.

Also, in the opening line of my letter, i cleary state that DAP has fought fearlessly and tirelessly for a better Malaysia, which apparently include the fight against ISA, social injustices, etc!

My argument here is DAP should do something to win the heart and trust of Malay so as to achieve "political efficiency"! Degrading and demonising DAP is NOT the objective of my article!!

Thanks

benjaminloi.********.com
written by alberttan, August 31, 2008 01:25:32
Dear Benjamin;
1. Why on earth would any Malay tour Bintan, Batam or Karimum as backward examples when they have Dubai, Qatar and Abu Dhabi to visit as better examples?
2. As for songkok or no songkok, that is not politics but culture, very much like wearing a wig in court. As for the Johor ADUN, he was elected and there is no written rule for wearing a songkok. He made his stand so let him pay the price. I think the open threat from the Johor Sultan is unbecoming for a Royal.
3. The Zero PAS Malay MP/ADUN is a fact altho Ahmad Ton is still around and may be in deference to PKR/PAS. However, DAP has been liberal in terms of Malay councillors in Penang, PAS leadership in Perak and PKR in Selangor.

The issue is not you degrading or demonising DAP, but whether your 'advise' will lead to the destruction of DAP and erode Malay trust TOTALLY in Chinese politicians. If DAP follow your advise, UMNO will have plenty of 'atomic bombs' to destroy DAP credibility with Malays and other BN parties will have 'atomic bombs' to destroy DAP credibility with Non Malays. You are advising based on no longer acceptable 'race' politics, not from a Malaysian Agenda.
written by Steven Tan, August 31, 2008 03:31:40
Dear Mr. Loi Bi Sing,

It's very interesting to read your article BUT practically I feel that you're not able to see the actual picture. May be you're rite when you say that DAP should attract more Malays into the party as they're the majority.

But that doesn't mean it will solve the 4 decades problem as how discribed by you. The reason I'm saying this is because:-

a)PAS is a party that wants all the Islamic value to be practiced and ban all the elements against the religion in the country. So, do they able to get all the 15 million Malays registered as PAS member? I think you know the answer well...

b)PKR is a very moderate party that claim they will take care the welfare of all the Malaysian regardless of ther race and religion. So, do they able to get all the 15 million Malays support besides the support from Chinese and Indian? I think you know the ansser well.....

c)UMNO is a party that claim they're the only party that can take care of the Malays welfare. If this is true then why their members is more or less 3 million only, why not 5 million or 10 million or 15 million?

So if these 3 parties which already have big and direct influence in Malay sentiment couldn't fully attract all the Malays to become their party members then how you expect DAP to successfully achieve it???

As a Political Scientist, I believe that you know what is the function of that 2 powerful magic word (RACE and RELIGION) and how these 2 words been used by the UMNO Politician to survive politically and to sustain their power.

In that 3 million UMNO members, only a small group is "dreaming" that UMNO is a genuinely protecting them but majority of them become UMNO and BN members because of financial and business purpose. They know ONLY by being UMNO(BN) member they can live luxuriously as cronies and so on.

So Benjamin, as I mentioned earlier your article is very interesting to read but not really practical and to be honest DAP couldn't do much. They only can loosen their policy a bit here and there.

What you've mentioned will become reality only when the country and its politician purely using good policies as their political agenda, NOT RACE and RELIGION and at the same time the mentality of its citizen also have to be open minded and should not fanatically bound by RACE and RELIGION. I believe you can understand exactly what I'm trying to say.

Thanks and take care.
written by Loi Bih Siang Benjamin, August 31, 2008 06:13:49
Dear Albert Tan:
Please read Dr. Mahathir's "The Malay Dilemma" and other Umnoputras racist statement from 60s until 2008 how they have used Singapore as an easy target to frighten and intimidate Malay that if "kaum asing pegang, melayu akan hilang di tanah sendiri" and this sort political rhetoric is not uncommon and has repeatedly employed by Umno even in the State of Penang. How is DAP going to counter this accusation? So we have to look at the target they mentioned - Singapore, do you know Singapore is a country known as "out of Nothing, they create something", and for Indonesia islands of Batam and Bintang, they are only about 30 nautical miles away from Singapore, and if you go there, what you can see is a pure reflection of 3rd world country. Your statement is totally irrelevant when u mention the visit of Dubai, Qatar and Abu Dhabi, the success of these cities are largely attributable to their willingness to flow with globalization, please read again how Dubai's developed from and out a land of wilderness into a cosmopolitan city...

2. If DAP claims to be truly multi-racial, their Aduns should be more receptive towards the idea of wearing Songkok and their leaders should have no qualm about receiving Datukships.

3. If DAP wants to play bigger role in the history of Malaysia politics, they must engage the Malay electorate.

Unless you can prove otherwise...

benjaminloi.********.com
written by AsamLaksa, August 31, 2008 07:57:22
Loh, still not convinced.

I agree DAP should do more to attract Malay support but I do not agree that they should bend their principles just to attract Malay support. Thus your theme I support but the suggestions you propose I think not.

1. Some DAP members acted like a new kids on the block suddenly having lots of seats and sure they screwed up on the songkok issue but no point bringing it up over and over as you can't turn back time and thus what your point here is pointing out the past incident. You think they have not learnt this lesson yet? They have even less excuse in a repeat performance. I would see the Johor ADUN incident as an individual event though BN would like to paint it wider. After all there are more than 1 DAP Johor ADUN.

2. Threaten to ban gambling in my opinion matters little in gaining Malay support. It's nothing more than a shoot themselves in the foot public relations exercise if it's ever carried out. DAP does not stand in seats that want to see gambling banned. Heck, even PAS does not seek to ban gambling in the same states. Why bring this up?

3. Positive aspect of universal values of Islam? Sounds nice but DAP stand on a secular platform and they have spout enough positive values without bringing in the name of Islam. You suggestion is really nothing more than a public relations exercise which will bring more trouble when DAP will be easily accused of not fully understanding that you have to take Islam as a whole, not pick and choose the 'positive' only, and that it would make them blatant hypocrites with their strong anti Islamic state stand. Best to appeal to universal values leaving any religion out of it, especially Islam since DAP is not a Muslim majority party. Imagine how the Malays would react with non-Muslims telling Malays good things about Islam which the Malays have overlooked themselves. Wow, just wow. Insulting enough? STAY AWAY FROM THIS MINEFIELD.

4. There is nothing to suggest that DAP in Penang are not taking the opportunity to analyse the Malay sentiments in Penang. LGE's stand against NEP policies in Penang as far as Penangites are concerned is not a big deal even if there were protests by the mamaks. There was still overwhelming support for DSAI in the PP by-election even with the presence of DAP leaders.

How will your suggestions really help DAP?

It's true DAP need to engage the Malays if they want more seats or even go solo but I think they are fine on their own in regards to the role they play. DAP has always been the conscience of Malaysia, pointing up wrongs where others prefer to simply keep mum. They have always appealed to people who put the issues before form.

As far as the Malays who care more about form than substance what DAP really need to fully engage the them is to get majority Malays in their leadership or even turn it into a Malay chauvanist party. They do not care if the best person for the job is a non-Malay as long as the form is preserved which is Malays will only be led by Malays.

As far as DAP is concerned, no one is above the law and constitution including the royals. We have enough parties that would toe the line, all niceties but hypocritical. Any sound teaching will tell you that if there is an obvious wrong, then stand up and point it out but in Malaysia politicians and public alike are more concerned about the 'right' and 'wrong' ways which ended up overshadowing the real issue. Haven't you got enough of this? If you want an inspirational person for this, look no further than RPK who do things the 'wrong' ways over and over (in his No Holds Barred articles).

I think better leave DAP as they are within Pakatan Rakyat. PAS is there to keep them in check as they are the check for PAS. The longer they work in harmony together, the more their leaders will understand each other and this will make it's way down to the public. If UMNO can't work with PAS where DAP could, that's as much as DAP can hope for in showing that they are not an anti-Malay party. Wait till the Malays wake up to flock to DAP, not DAP come down to their level as this will may give them theoretical immediate support but on the long run they will compromise all they stand for and risk ending up like Gerakan... unless you have a better idea than you have in this article.

Look, Loh, I get your sentiments but please think deeper in what you are suggesting.
written by renoir, August 31, 2008 09:59:52
A lot of generalizations here. For example, not every DAP adun rejects the songkok. The reason some don't like wearing it has little to do with the Malays per se - it has more to do with putting a show of defiance at UMNO's neo-nazi ketuanan Melayu ideology. As for datukships, many other people besides DAP (for example, myself) see the connection with cronyism and corruption. There're of course exceptions - some truly deserve the title - but on the whole the datukship business is now regarded by many Malaysians of all races as a money-making exercise. That's why even the sultans themselves are now trying to limit the award.

As a multiracial party, DAP - despite UMNO's propaganda - is loathed to target memberships on the basis of race. True, in this country race and religion count more than in, say, the established democracies of the West. But like the democratic parties in the West, DAP often tries to attract members only on the basis of ideology, on those who believe in a Malaysian Malaysia. Since a Malaysian Malaysia implies equality among the races, those brought up on the ketuanan ideology is unlikely to accept it. If that's the case, should DAP then say, it's ok, we can accept that idea of racial superiority, the same idea that once inspired Hitler? No dignified Malaysian would, least of all a party that struggles on the basis of principles, of right and wrong and not on the basis of expediency.

DAP does recognize that gambling and alcohol aren't really conducive to a good society. However, the way to fight those habits is through education, not legislation as that would, as a reader stated above, merely drive the practice underground. People should also weigh other aspects of the problems: studies have shown that a little alcohol could be good for health. And as someone said, business too is a form of gambling. Moreover, just as there're social smoking, there're also social gambling, such as playing poker with stakes no higher than a dollar. So yes, we might've to tackle the problems of gambling and alcohol sometime in the future, but let us do it with clear guidelines regarding the definitions of each "vice," and with patient education.

To be continued
written by renoir, August 31, 2008 10:00:47
Continued

Education is important not merely because it's the best way to get people to supervise themselves (intrinsic motivation) - it has the additional virtue of not fostering the perception that non-Muslims are being forced to follow Islamic edicts. Harmful activities described as social vices and without any religious connotations are thus more likely to gain general acceptance. We're of course assuming that the people behind all this are sincere, that they truly want to reduce social vices, and not merely trying to show off their Islamic credentials (there ARE such pretenders even in PAS, people who on the one hand attack UMNO and on the other indulge in a secret, political form of carnal petting which, when revealed, was termed not an apa apa but - hubba hubba! - a muqabalah).

This last possibility is another reason why DAP has to be careful not to pander to the dictates of any religious-based party. For when one party thinks they could get more votes by assuming a holier-than-thou posture, the other religious-based party would surely up the ante. The result is what we've been seeing the last few years. You want hudud, we will body-snatch. You protest against pig-rearing, we'll protest against interfaith talks, and so on and so forth.

It's thus obvious that those who ask DAP to give up or even modify its principles are either naive or unscrupulous. DAP must indeed reach out to all the communities - this is something I'd advocated for many, many years. But it must still stick to certain non-negotiable principles. About eight years ago, I used the Chinese expression of "being round outside and square inside." The party must be flexible on questions of form, but firm on questions of substance. Since the fight is for ALL Malaysians, it cannot be wrong. In short, it's for Malaysians of all ethnic groups to adjust to DAP, and not the other way around. That takes time, but nothing worthwhile is achieved in a hurry.

What I worry today isn't that DAP wouldn't compromise on form - it apparent does on nearly all fronts - but that it might be tempted to tinker with the substance as well. Attracting new members from all ethnic groups is a good thing, but each member must believe in a Malaysian Malaysia AND DEMOCRATIC SOCIALISM. Equality for all ethnic groups means nothing if the poor of all groups are equally exploited. We must not only have a Malaysian Malaysia, but also a Malaysia which provides for the poor in the farms, plantations, and urban slums. So seek not merely Malay members, or that of any other ethnic group, but members who also believe in democratic socialism.

P/S: regarding the belittling of the popular Syed Husin Ali - nothing was worse than PAS's refusal to endorse his candidacy (in 2004) as MP at Kota Bahru on the grounds that socialism = communism. What the (expletive deleted).
written by Rhan, August 31, 2008 10:50:42
Proarte already present a good statement on what need to be changed, the cease of the two Tuan mentalities, otherwise no matter how we bend, we still go back to square one.

But I doubt if the Malay is ready for this.

The first Tuan seem to fade away not because of what the politician did, rather, it was the huge change of racial proportion lead to the belief that power of Malay is here to stay. The only concern or threatening factor is we never know the thought of Sabahan and Sarawakian.

As for the second Tuan, a good education that include moral come with strong economy performance could make our society progressive enough to understand that religion is a personal thing. Another solution is something similar to cultural revolution.

DAP is now governing Penang and should have very good opportunity to demonstrate that good governance has nothing to do with race and religion, and the best asset they have is Gerakan who provide the magic mirror and history as guidance and reference. Don’t worry too much, Penangites mind is clear than most of us.
written by alberttan, August 31, 2008 11:29:09
Dear Benjamin;
1. Is it not proof enough that your analysis is rooted on writings of a fascist from the 1960s? Is it not prove enough that you are implying that the Malays are not flowing with 'globalisation? Do you KNOW how many Malays are working in the Emirates? Is it not proof enough that your rantings are nothing short of Chinese Supremacy ramblings when you stick to a point of argument that suit your views ignoring all others? What is your point of Bintan, Batam and Karimum, is that the ONLY Malaysia you see if DAP (implying Chinese per your current analysis) is NOT in charge?
2. As to engaging the Malays, DAP is way way way ahead of your outdated and Malay bashing 'advise'. You have wilfully IGNORED the appointment of Tunku Abdul Aziz, an international Malay of integrity and learning, as a VP of the DAP.

Your advise is proven to have suffered from FACTS OMISSION and Worst Case examples to suit your stated purpose to progress DAP. Do you understand that when a worst case scenario is drawn up, chance are the worst case scenario is the likely result? Your righteous replies simply tells me that you are NOT interested in progressing DAP but in sticking to your patronising views. You sir are no longer worth my time of day, UMNO/BN will be most happy if the DAP has an 'adviser' like you.
written by Angel, August 31, 2008 19:28:01
What every Malaysian want is a pool of good leaders with integrity who can uphold universal values for the good of the whole, irrespective of their colour, race or creed. Should they all be Malays, so be it. As long as we know that they are not selfishly protecting their own interests.

As for a paradign shift for the Malays, it is the responsibility of all the parties to do so and not DAP only. Raja Petra is doing a good job through his articles in helping the Malays see the light and understanding the truths about their religion. Maybe there is more credibility in this way.
written by cheekhiaw, August 31, 2008 23:50:26
Ooi Bi Sing fella,

Can give UMNO some open advice?

written by educationist, September 01, 2008 12:45:28
Though I agree with the general sentiments, I feel the writer has been to harsh on the DAP.
Until Anwar rewrote the political equation, the DAP had nothing to offer the Malays[which is why I admire Tunku ABdul Aziz for joining the DAP]
When the UMNOputras were supreme and invincible what can the DAP offer the Malays? -contracts, scholarships, savings bonds and what have you?
And so the fact that the DAP has survived the last 40 years is testament that it has struck a chord among a segment of the voters.
But, yes, I do agree it is time for change but not only in the DAP but PAS and PKR as well. MP's like the Zulkifli fella is a disgrace and it is sad the no action has been taken against him to date.
written by cheekhiaw, September 03, 2008 12:02:43
BI SING BUT BOH SIA

Something is amiss when a smart alec tries to teach the ones he claims are irrelevant but does nothing to teach the ones most relevant to the well-being of the country...