Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Sabah MPs reject loyalty pledge

Sabah MPs reject loyalty pledge PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 29 August 2008 14:12

(The Star) - Many of the 24 Sabah Barisan Nasional MPs are rejecting a move to get them to sign a loyalty pledge to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

State Barisan Backbenchers Club chairman Datuk Anifah Aman said the move proposed by Culture, Arts and Heritage Minister Datuk Shafie Apdal was an insult to the Sabah MPs. He added that the pledge should instead be signed by all Barisan MPs nationwide.

He said various Sabah MPs including himself had repeatedly voiced their loyalty to the Barisan leadership and pledged that they had no intention of crossing over to join the opposition.

"We did this during the Permatang Pauh campaign, on television and again in Kota Kinabalu. Is the frequency of denial equivalent to our loyalty?" said Anifah, the Kimanis MP and Kimanis Umno chief.

He said many Sabah Barisan backbenchers had called him asking about the pledge and some had said they felt that they were being treated like "cattle."

Anifah questioned Shafie's real intentions for proposing the loyalty pledge and wondered whether it was aimed at scoring "political points" in his bid for the Umno vice-president's post in the party polls.

On Thursday, Shafie had said that Sabah and Sarawak MPs would be submitting a pledge declaring their loyalty to the Prime Minister by Friday or Saturday. He had said the MPs from both states would never quit the coalition despite the various rumours about them.

Kalabakan MP Datuk Abdul Ghapur Salleh said the loyalty pledge seemed to infer that Sabah MPs could not be trusted.

Saying he would not be signing any such pledge, Ghapur, the Kalabakan Umno chief, said the Sabah MPs had been vocal about issues affecting the state as they felt that these problems had to be resolved.

"But this should never be misconstrued as us being disloyal to the leadership," he added.

Karambunai MP Datuk Eric Majimbun, the Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) deputy president, said neither he nor fellow SAPP MP Datuk Dr Chua Soon Bui of Tawau would be signing such a pledge.

"What is the point of such a pledge? This so-called pledge doesn't make sense," he said.

Comments (65)Add Comment
written by Ann Meng Sim, August 29, 2008 14:20:09
Didn't Sleepy say that they are not at all worried about DSAI?

As usual, Sleepy's words and Sleepy's actions do not tally!

agree 158
written by NickChan, August 29, 2008 14:20:22
IN YOUR FACE SHAFIE !
agree 118
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 14:20:28
Those who have sign that pledge are COWARDS and TRAITORS to The land below the wind and The Land of Hornbills.We the people of sabah and sarawak hold them responsible for their irresponsible action.This land don't belong to this few.It's our land which our forefathers hold so dear.
agree 154
written by Rundukon, August 29, 2008 14:22:41
I bet Maximus and his PBS stooges will be the first MP to sign the pledge. Dasar kaki mengampu.
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 14:23:10
SHAME to THOSE BETRAYERS.These Judas must be get rid of.
written by slash n burn, August 29, 2008 14:26:45
People of Sabah..hunt every single UMNO's head on his land and fed them to stray dogs. Najib's to the swines.
written by Lostsoul12, August 29, 2008 14:28:13
All the above only representing them self. Not include more then 10 of us from Sabah and 15 from Sarawak. We going to jump ship during the month of Ramadan as we found that this is the right thing to do during the holy month!!!!!!
written by mountainking, August 29, 2008 14:29:10
don't want to sign means they are ready to cross over. ..... you think the Sabah and Sarawak MPs are stupid?

not only the sabah/sarawak MPs will do so, but many more MPs including those from within BN. they still have conscience and want to break away from the corrupt govt.
written by Tom n Jerry, August 29, 2008 14:33:27
yES CROSS-OVERS COMING SOON! smilies/grin.gif LIGHT AT THE END OF THE TUNNEL;BN will be obsolete soon! smilies/grin.gif
written by antares, August 29, 2008 14:34:56
BeeNd desprerate field tactic, or testing Sabah thermometer? Either way simply cannot be trusted. Tongkang BeeNd sudah bocor, why sink in the shitpot? The People of Sabah Rules the Day!
written by tokioRain, August 29, 2008 14:36:06
alamak Shafie, what now?
written by loosecannon, August 29, 2008 14:37:56
Good on you, Sabah politicians for standing like a man. Don't let them treat you like their lowly servants. I hope Sarawak politicians have balls like you but it's unlikely. Every time Taib sneezes, they will fall on their knees and kiss his ass.
written by YSL, August 29, 2008 14:41:45
This brainless Kampung Sapi Ada is so stupid and what he does was to be a sucker of his Najis Boss.

Balik Kampung lah Sapi Ada!!!!
written by binarytan, August 29, 2008 14:43:00
Alamak, the shit is really hitting the fan with AAB and najis right in front!!!

written by arazak, August 29, 2008 14:44:12
Datu Anifah Aman said many Sabah Barisan backbenchers had called him asking about the pledge and some had said they felt that they were being treated like "cattle."
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Before, Tengku Adnan @ Tengku Palsu said the Sabah MPs are like "anak" and that UMNO is like the "bapak". The way UMNO treats the Sabah MPs are more like "anak tiri".

Now it is even worse. They are treating the Sabah MP like "lembu" (cattle).

Even MCA and Gerakan are telling UMNO their relationship with UMNO are like "servants" and "masters".

I am still wondering why these MPs in the Barisan component are still sticking with UMNO. Gee. . . ,wouldn't it be better to move to another "house" where all members are treated equally?

smilies/wink.gif
written by alberttan, August 29, 2008 14:44:36
Dear Malaysians;
This entry in wikipedia on Shafie says it all about UMNO and the people in UMNO. They are already famous worldwide, even got into wikipedia.

"Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apedal is currently the minister of National Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage as of March 2008.
He was born in Semporna, Sabah in October 20, 1957. He is married to Datin Seri Shuryani binti Shuaib and has 6 children.
He is a member of UMNO and the Member of Parliament for Semporna, Sabah, although he is half-witted."

Retrieved from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shafie_Apdal
written by DatoSeri, August 29, 2008 14:49:24
The fact is, that the 916 Plan is REAL!

The show had begun, now that DSAI is up, the rest will fall in plan very very SOON.

Rescue Malaysia!
written by Concerned_Citizen, August 29, 2008 15:06:44
Orang taknak sign, dia pakse orang sain. Kalo nak sign jugak, sendiri ler sign! Jangan buat cerita bodoh. Ha karang satu Malaysia tau yang MP-MP yang betul tu taknak sign.
written by Malaysiaku, August 29, 2008 15:08:50
Only you greedy Sabanhans and Sarawakians are stupid enough to still stick to BN when time and time again you have been treated as second class. Richest in resources, last in richness. You buggers deserves each other.
written by SocratesI, August 29, 2008 15:09:24

First, Barisan NAJIS has COMPLETELY LOST TOUCH with the RAKYAT ! Now, the leadershit of Barisan NAJIS has completely lost touch with his MPs !!

There is NO HOPE for Barisan NAJIS ! CROSSOVER B4 the BN ship sinks !! JUMP SHIP, B4 the BN ship cracks open like an egg-shell in the STORM on 916 !!

written by Malaysiaku, August 29, 2008 15:10:18
"Kalabakan MP Datuk Abdul Ghapur Salleh said the loyalty pledge seemed to infer that Sabah MPs could not be trusted".

Ha! I knew you buggers are stupid not to see it!
written by 1st2stay, August 29, 2008 15:11:02
Don't fall for those stories, alas!
The whole matter is the lack of proper recompensation. Probably they were asked to sign for free; and now they make a big fuss to raise the price. And we, rakyat, will pay, as always.
written by raven1958, August 29, 2008 15:12:06
Shafie....THANK YOU!!!!!!!
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 15:16:27
The children of our beautiful land will never forgive these traitors who sold their rights of the children in exchange for greed.These betrayers will find their final resting place in hell.
written by NickChan, August 29, 2008 15:22:37
arazak, they still stick to umno because they have bills to pay smilies/cool.gif

like all of us smilies/wink.gif
written by indianputra, August 29, 2008 15:23:08
The Sabahans and Sarawakians were a total embarassment for Malaysia during the March 8, elections when they voted whole hearedly for the BN. The fools in these two states screwed up the plans to kick out BN and establish an alternate Government. They knew they were treated by cattles and yet they voted BN in handsomely.... and now this guy, Shaffie still want to carry the worthless balls of the BN leaders. WHY??? Have they not learnt a lesson as yet?

Hello, MP's from Sabah and Sarawak.. Listen carefully to this. BN IS A SINKING SHIP and only fools still cling on to the SINKING SHIP. The smart ones will jump off the SINKING SHIP. So, are you FOOLS or SMART ONES???
written by Mr Smith, August 29, 2008 15:27:29
They are being treated like untrustworthy school kids. Even a father will not ask his children to pledge that he will be loyal to their parents in old age.

In any case what is there to stop from crossing over to Paktan even after signing the pledge 100 times?

This proves one thing. That Abdullah, despite calling it bluff, is dead worried that Anwar means business about Sept 16.

But my take is this. As the focus is on Sabah and Sawarak, I think the cross overs will come from right under Abdullah's nose. Yes, UMNO MPs will jumping over like frogs first.

written by NickChan, August 29, 2008 15:30:01
indianputra, don't overract. we have to understand why people voted for BN in borneo

many of the parliamentary seats in borneo has very low population.

votes can be manipulated by postal votes.

opposition is highly unpopular there, not because they don't like opposition.

many in kampungs still don't read alternative media.

TheSun is only published in english.

it is very unfair to call the uninformed 'embarassment'
written by Rundukon, August 29, 2008 15:32:14
Indianputra, please dont insult Sabahans and Sarawakians intelligents. It must be noted that NOT all Sabahans and Sarawakians voted for BN. Its a fact that more than 45% Sabahans and Sarawakians voted for the oppositions.

Whatever, we have abandoned BN ever since the tsunami in Malaya. Our stupid MPs may still be in BN but our souls are allready with Pakatan. Hidup Pakatan Rakyat.
written by kl_wong, August 29, 2008 15:36:05
who know if UMNO MT want Badawi and Najib to be remove as a head and then Badawi, Najib, Khairi and their 30 cronies join PAKATAN. In politics anything can happen.
Signing for a loyalty pledge can be done easily laaa...Lucky they did not ask them to SUMPAH.
written by miwaki, August 29, 2008 15:40:33
Sabah MPs,just sign the loyalty pledge and then cross over on 16 Sept.What can BN do to you all ? Put you in jail ? Oh yes,the first one to pledge his loyalty is Pak Lah and follow by mongolian hero.
written by rayfire, August 29, 2008 15:41:34
I hope and pray these MPs who wanted to seberang are genuine ones who are doing in for the nation and not to fill their pockets.
I think at this point, anyone who has any sense of responsibility towards the nation we all love would have deeply considered to seberang for the sake of the nation's future.
We can't continue being in denial state and be subservient to evil desires of the dominant member of BN.
Please MPs with genuine heart and aspiration to see this nation succeed, please consider this option, perhaps people may brand you as traitor, but eventually they would realise that you have actually made a sacrifice to safeguard this nation from the looters!
I hope 16th September 2008 will be remembered in history as the Re - Independence Day of Malaysia!
written by mmzl, August 29, 2008 15:48:24
Our prime minister said he is not worried.
Why is Shafie Apdal so worried ?
written by cheekhiaw, August 29, 2008 15:50:51
PLEDGING ALLEGIANCE TO IDIOTS

The ones that cannot even fulfil their own solemn parliamentary pledge to serve the country are asking others to pledge allegiance to themselves!

What a bunch of idiots!

written by Sam W, August 29, 2008 15:59:00
Well they can bully sportsmen and coaches, small time actors and actresses and two bit singers to promote their cause, so why not get MPs to sign a pledge?
written by fairnessforall, August 29, 2008 16:01:13
These Sabah and Sarawak MPs are really dumb. What the hell they are talking about being loyal to the Party. Their duty is to be loyal to the rakyat and not the party. They should do whats best for the rakyat and not whats best for the party. Are they that stupid, they cant understand this simple thing. It was the rakyat who voted for them, so if they are not able to give the best service to the rakyak being under BN, then should join a party which will allow them to ensure the rakyat is well taken care of. As of now the only party who can do that is PR. You sabah and sarawak MPs, if you really care about the rakyat and want to give them the best, then do whats right. To hell with the corrupted BN, you should jump ship for the rakyats sake. Why stay on a sinking ship and get drowned. Dont forget, if you do not support the rakyat now by joining PR, eventually in the next election you will be thrown out, so you better do whats right now itself, so by the time the next election comes, the rakyat will know that you are there for them.

If you really care, do the right thing. And the same goes to all the other BN MPs, its only a matter of time, if not now, the next election. If your intention is really to serve the rakyat fairly and justly, then join PR and kick BN our for the rakyats sake
written by PAKRAK, August 29, 2008 16:01:29
Shafie Apdal was directed to round up all the BN MPs in Sabah and Sarawak to put their thumb print as a pledge of loyalty to PM. It was hurriedly thrown out of Petronas Twin Tower by none other than the brother of Sabah CM. Anifah Aman suggested that the pledge should also be signed by all BN MPs nationwide.
Good idea!
The federal Territory Mosque can accomodate all 140 BN MPs to congregate and SWEAR simultaneously on the Quran. It will look more authentic and impressive. Shitful has done it there. Show the world BN is a party to be reckoned with and that 138 of you will only listen to the PM and DPM.
written by fireduck, August 29, 2008 16:31:16
Dear Sabah and Sarawak MPs,

All of you display blind devotion. It's like an abused wife situation where you get smacked and abused, and yet you refused to file for divorce. Why? Is it because your upkeep can only be provided by this govt? Have you sought advice and counselling? The advisers and counsellors are all back at your constituency. You may want to go back and check with them. I know, lately you have been in KL and specifically, Putrajaya, for too long. You may be afraid to face your counsellors and show them all the blue-black marks all over your abused body. But let them advise you. They already know of your abusive husband. They do read back home, and they do read Malaysia-Today Harapan!

Once again, I want to know WHYis it so difficult to divorce that husband of yours who treats you like dirt.
written by SamYap, August 29, 2008 16:47:03
Calling on all MPs in Barisan Nasional who wish to further their political career and work with their constituents for a better future, a united and prosperous Malaysia.

There is no need to leap-frog or jump or crossover.

Just make sure that you either abstain or vote for a motion of no confidence, which is imminent, against the current UMNO-led government. Remember, an abstention is enough. Example: 30 or more Barisan MPs abstain, that will give an overwhelming YES vote of no-confidence from the Pakatan 82 MPs.

AAB will not have a choice but resign together with his cabinet.

The ball will be in the Agong's court. Push for a snap election. When that happens, make sure you leave BN and team up with Pakatan.

When the rakyat votes in Pakatan, your political tenure is legitimized and endorsed by the rakyat. No more wiffling and waffling by Barisan.

BTW, I wish to suggest to Datuk Sharir and Datuk Rais Yatim who used to be in Team B with Tengku Razaleigh, please for goodness sakes don't join Pakatan. We don't need people like you. We would welcome Razaleigh as a Deputy Prime Minister. It'd be a plus point for Datuk Zaid to join Pakatan as well.

Thank You and with God's Blessings, we'll march towards a better future.

written by ChrisLim, August 29, 2008 16:50:16
So I guess this is the latest advise BERUK's gave to his Father in law. BERUK must be very worry his dream to become PM will be all over. I challenge BERUK to join Pakatan Rakyat and Anwar may consider you his coffee boy!
written by raven1958, August 29, 2008 16:52:54
What an irony.....Sabah and Sarawak hold the key to a new Malaysia......
written by sukinong, August 29, 2008 17:02:42
He said many Sabah Barisan backbenchers had called him asking about the pledge and some had said they felt that they were being treated like "cattle."

Well you Sabahan MPs then stop "MOO"ing over the matter. Go for the greener pasture on the other side of the fence. Your current pasture is already badly contaminated. Do it now!
written by clarity, August 29, 2008 17:30:26
I think Datuk Anisah has got it wrong. That's not their culture. He should ask the Sabah and Sarawak MPs to swear on the good book to show their allegiance.
written by ToeJam, August 29, 2008 17:51:47

written by miwaki, August 29, 2008 | 15:40:33

Sabah MPs,just sign the loyalty pledge and then cross over on 16 Sept.What can BN do to you all ? Put you in jail ? Oh yes,the first one to pledge his loyalty is Pak Lah

Dear Sabah MPs, just follow our dear leader's example.... first he pledged no marriage for him, then a short while later he got married. Then he pledged no election for the nation, then he dissolved parliment. Then he pledged no fuel increase for the people, then you-know-what happened.

Since he had done it thrice, you are entitled to follow his example even if it's just once.

By all means pledge your loyalty to him(and whatever else he wants) and later you-know-what-to-do.

Problem settled. Everyone is happy because you have followed the leader's footsteps!
written by ez24get, August 29, 2008 18:02:15
Budget 2009 today just approved a lot of goodies to Sabah and Sarawak. A lot of development and projects given to Sabah and Sarawak means a lot of goodies for these MPs.

Do you think these MPs will abandon BN and join PR where there are not as much goodies for them?

The ideals propounded by PR is good for the country and the rakyat but there is not as much in store for them if they were to jump from BN to PR.

These MPs only care selfishly for their pockets.
written by onnetline, August 29, 2008 19:06:13
Shafie Apdal,

Well, what happened ?

Your fellow collegues didn't like your face ?

smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Gerald, August 29, 2008 19:26:20
Shafie Apdal,

No wonder you've been demoted to a lower ministry ie from Ministry of Trade to Ministry of Culture, Arts & Heritage because the leaders could see that you've shallow-thinking brain. Dont try to put silly words into the other leaders mouth!
written by Kathy, August 29, 2008 20:23:26
If Sleepy was not worried as he claimed, why then did he send this Adpal feller to Sabah and Sarawak to get written pledges from the MPs there? I would like to be proved wrong, but I think the Sabah MPs have more guts than the Sarawak lawmakers. Come on, Sarawak MPs, prove me wrong and don't let me be ashamed to be Sarawakian. Don't let your people down. smilies/angry.gif
written by gorshan, August 29, 2008 20:52:33
aiyaa why you all worry one..when time is right they will jump one. BN ah to stop them all simple one only. they vely cheap one. offer RM1 million to each MPs in Sabah Sarawak they mother also they give free one ma.

this is what i am overhearing in coffee shop talks. true or not? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by jonwon, August 29, 2008 21:31:26
>Our prime minister said he is not worried.
>Why is Shafie Apdal so worried ?

This is because PM has plundered enough to last for generations of his off springs including his son in law and step daughters.

And Shafie hasnt made his million yet.
written by chrisckv, August 29, 2008 21:49:54
Somebody above thread commented "...Their duty is to be loyal to the rakyat and not the party. They should do whats best for the rakyat and not whats best for the party..."

Do you know that although the Rakyat vote them in , it's the BN that provide them royalties $$$$$$!

Do you know how many MPs in this states will end up in jail should they fall into DSAI hand for siphoning the rakyat monies?
written by best4rakyat, August 29, 2008 21:51:09
"
Convention on Sabah Issues
"
-----------------------------------------------
Convention on "Sabah Issues" will be held on 30th August, 2008 from 12:30 noon to 4:30 pm at the Putera Ballroom Theatre, Bukit Padang, Luyang, Kota Kinabalu.

All are invited and many issues for Sabah will be talked by ,Dato'Harris.
Much better if Tun Dr.Mahathir too will voice through Video Conferencing!
Remember "swim & sink" of old day and definitely have much to touch about PBS too.
May be DSAI can send someone from PKR.
written by best4rakyat, August 29, 2008 21:55:03
"Convention on Sabah Issues"

-----------------------------------------------
Convention on "Sabah Issues" will be held on 30th August, 2008 from 12:30 noon to 4:30 pm at the Putera Ballroom Theatre, Bukit Padang, Luyang, Kota Kinabalu.

All are invited and many issues for Sabah will be talked by ,Dato'Harris.
Much better if Tun Dr.Mahathir too will voice through Video Conferencing!
Remember "swim & sink" of old day and definitely have much to touch about PBS too.
May be DSAI can send someone from PKR.
written by best4rakyat, August 29, 2008 21:56:27
Go to:
http://sapphq.blogspot.com/
written by ganbing, August 29, 2008 22:56:02
Take your loyalty pledge and shaft it up your, Shafie. Do you think anybody who signs cannot go back on his signature?
written by yy88, August 29, 2008 23:49:07
Hi all Sabah and Sarawak MPs, to clear your mind and help you all think right, just think of the 20% oil royalties that you will receive if PR takes over the federal government, and consumed more bull frog legs to strengthened your legs, before the lompat katak race.
The best feng shui date to lompat would be Sept 16 2008. Keep practicing before the date arrive.
written by Sabahfan, August 30, 2008 00:02:15

To all NON-umno Sabah MP.... Leave the sinking ship now...your ship is in distress like the flag above...

UMNO sabah cm Musa pushtuni got a new name... Mr busstop....

even works contract to build bus stop also he has to give to cronies in order to get the 10percent kickback...

sabah gonna die, it is in distress now...
written by Bigdawg, August 30, 2008 00:53:53
Oi Sabah Sarawak MPs! If you sign that stupid pledge of loyalty to Bodowi, you are real traitors to your own kinsmen!

Look at how your mamas and grandmamas picking wild midin in the sun-blazed noon day sun, and trekking miles to the nearest roadside to sell at 3pm and eating belated lunch of rice sprinkled with salt!!

How dare you call yourselve representatives of your people!
written by Bigdawg, August 30, 2008 01:08:17
Why are all titles in Sarawak "datuk so disc, tan sili dead, tooku disc and toondead?

Not so far back, we once had a Temonggong Jugah; we called him Apai, and he was a beloved representaive and leader for so many!

Why not Temonggong Chabu, Temonggong Mersing.....all have forgotten their roots and pride!
written by Bigdawg, August 30, 2008 01:39:21
Sabah Sarawak MPs, if you sign that pledge, you will be devalued from lembu to kambing!

Maaeek! I tell you the truth ! Maaeek!
written by Bigdawg, August 30, 2008 01:53:56
Attention, all Tuai Rumahs in Sarawak!

There will be a grand council of Tuai Rumahs of all longhouses; every longhouse should send a delegate to this council to elect the first Paramount Chief of all Dayaks :

Temonggong Ketuai to represent all natives of Sarawak, in defense of ever diminishing NCR lands and our forests to towkays besai!
written by Rainbowseahorse, August 30, 2008 10:27:37
In all reality, that Shafie, House Speaker, Borneo Bigfoot, and a few more MPs are legalized Sabah Bumiputra migrants and so would defend UMNO like fuk! In fact, scratch their skin and you would most probably find that the majority of UMNO Sabah’s MPs are legalized migrants who are elected by their large community of legalized migrants in their respective constituencies. For any doubting Peninsular Malaysians, go to these MPs constituencies and you will think you are in the Philippines or Indonesia.

When that ******* Nazri denied that project “Mahathir” existed (free issuances of MyKad to Philippinoes & Indonesian migrants in Sabah to increase UMNO supporters & to take away People’s Power there), I see ALL the *******s Sabah MPs keeping very quiet and in essence agreeing with that mother fuker Nazri. The whole of Sabah knows of that MyKad were indeed given to migrants, but BN MPs seem to be in the dark.

Really time to change out the ******* government…take back all those 2 million MyKads and give back People’s Power to Sabahans.
written by InEffective, August 30, 2008 13:04:40

Sit Up, Stand Up, Rollover - good doggy, good boy....
written by Ngui, August 31, 2008 08:39:02
This is a bajau guy from Semporna. Will not be suprised if a nationalized one. If that guy from Bukit Bendera want to send anybody home, he should look at this people. This are now malays lah. All these Sabah MPs have no backbone. They are easily managed. They have forgotten their Sabahan blood. Hope they will all be kick out at the next election.
written by Cyber DNA, August 31, 2008 14:03:03
Apdal, I have always said you did not get past standard 2!

Someone creamed on your face again!.......who was it?.....najis?

In a short while you will be political history in Malaysia.....(the dark era....where BN ruled!)