Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow How Anwar won the Malay vote

How Anwar won the Malay vote PDF Print
Friday, 29 August 2008 11:55

(Or, how Barisan Nasional lost it)

The Electric New Paper

Analysts told the New Straits Times that the ruling Barsian Nasional's persistent focus on the sodomy allegation, aimed at running down Anwar in the eyes of Muslim voters, had backfired.

SODOMY, refusal to swear on the Quran and accusations of collusion with the US and Israel.

Click to see larger image

In an earlier time in Malaysia, this would have been enough to sink any political hope of power.

Not anymore. Case in point: Permatang Pauh.

It was a given that in the by-election for this constituency the Chinese (about 25 per cent of the population here) and the Indians (about 6 per cent) would back opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim.

The big surprise is that most of the Malays (who make up about 70 per cent of the constituents) voted for him.

Mr Anwar got 31,195 votes, winning by 15,671 votes and surpassing his wife Dr Wan Azizah Ismail's 13,388-vote victory margin in the 8 Mar general election.

Analysts told the New Straits Times that the ruling Barsian Nasional's persistent focus on the sodomy allegation, aimed at running down Anwar in the eyes of Muslim voters, had backfired.

PKR strategist Saifuddin Nasution Ismail told the newspaper: 'The Malays were not influenced by the swearing and sodomy issues that Umno had tried to capitalise on, and they punished BN.'

Political scientist Professor James Chin of Monash University said Malays generally were unhappy with what could be perceived as Umno's misuse of Islam to target an individual.

Click to see larger image
PICTURES: AP

'The Quran-swearing episode by Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan was seen by many Malays as a conspiracy by Umno. Most do not believe in the sodomy allegations.'

Prof Chin's views are actually shared by some BN leaders in private, said the New Straits Times.

The move also backfired badly when doubts were cast on the incident.

The sodomy charges had intially made a huge dent in Mr Anwar's attempt to retain the seat, reported the Edge.

However, Mr Anwar's campaign received a tremendous boost in the last few days when Federal Territories mosque imam Ramlang Porigi admitted in Permatang Pauh to having been directed by 'higher-ups' in what he believed was a political conspiracy, to witness the swearing of Saiful on the Quran.

Mr Ramlang even went to the extent of claiming that the swearing had been initiated by the office of Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

Tide turns

This revelation, Mr Anwar admitted, turned the tide in his favour, especially in the final 48 hours of campaigning.

The arrival of PAS's top leaders in Permatang Pauh also helped shred lingering doubts, especially among the older Malay voters, on the swearing incident on the eve of nomination day. As the days went by, the campaign became more racial. Malays were told that a PKR victory would mean a loss of their 'privileges'.

Again, this did not sit well with the Malay voters.

Former Malaysian prime minister Mahathir Mohammad spoke for most Malays when he said in his blog that affirmative action is not something to be proud of and that it is certainly not to be considered a privilege.

The former premier has his hand on the pulse, said Malaysiakini. No recipient of affirmative action feels proud.

'Umno politicians have to change their style of campaigning. It needs reform,' says Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia political scientist Associate Professor Mohammed Agus Yusoff.

Mindset shift

Speaking in Singapore, Umno vice-president Muhyiddin Yassin said results also showed that the voters' (including the Malay majority's) mindset had shifted and that they now wanted something which 'is fairer, not racial-based (politics) but one that is based on the profile of the multiracial and multi-religious Malaysians'.

Mr Muhyiddin, who is International Trade and Industry minister, is here to attend the Asean Economic Ministers Meeting.

'Although it was just a by-election, it could be an indication of a trend that the voters had already decided that they wanted change even if they didn't know what the changes were, and refused to accept BN's leadership,' he was quoted in Bernama as saying.

Permatang Pauh's racial composition mirrors that of the country.

Malays make up about 70per cent, the Chinese 25 per cent and the Indians 8 per cent of Malaysia's 27 million population.

Dr Koh Tsu Koon, Penang BN chairman and Gerakan acting president also said the by-election might reflect a trend.

'While the by-election results showed the preference of the Permatang Pauh voters, BN must also take serious note that it may well be reflective of the overall perception and feeling of Malaysians elsewhere,' he said

Dr Koh said BN must acknowledge and address the people's dissatisfaction and even disenchantment with the establishment for what was perceived as a lack of commitment, communication and concrete results, especially in the past two years, Malaysiakini reported.

Former prime minister Mahathir as usual put it in his usual blunt style in his blog. He said voters did not want to vote for Mr Anwar but were even less inclined to vote for BN.

This is the dilemma faced by Malaysian voters, he said.

He said: 'The BN candidate was good, but if he won, Abdullah would declare himself the winner and claim that support for BN and himself had returned. He would also claim that BN's support was restored under his leadership.'

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by SocratesI, August 29, 2008 12:08:14

DSAI dealt with national issues and the betterment of Malaysia and the RAKYAT's lot, while the Barisan NAJIS used NAJIS tactics on character assassination !! That is why DSAI WON and BN LOST BIG !!

DSAI IS THE LEADER Malaysians have waited for a long time, while BN has shown time & again how CLUELESS they are in leading OUR NATION !!

agree 138
written by LILIN, August 29, 2008 12:16:32
Anwar rocks scene with walkout from Parliament
http://www.worldfutures.info/News/Latest/Anwar-walk-out-from-Parliament-rocks-the-news.html
written by Jan, August 29, 2008 12:19:44
So what's going to happen to Ramlang Porigi? He rightly or wrongly could be the cause of BN losing big.
So will young Saiful still get the scholarship from the DPM?
written by PASOK, August 29, 2008 12:19:47

The increasing rejection of UMNO by the Malays shows that their self confidence is growing. Malays are no longer worried that they will be marginalised. They have sufficient self belief in their own strengths to start embracing progressive ideas such as true democracy and equality.
written by Yacob, August 29, 2008 12:22:34
Mahathir comment is absolutely malignant !
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 12:26:30
The malays in Permatang have grown up.They knows all the lies that umno throw at Anwar are meant to discredit him.These are new malays who knows how to chart their own future.
written by Rasputin, August 29, 2008 12:27:54
Che Det, Your hatred towards DSAI has no sense of fairness and decorum of so called "elder stateman", when people of PP do not want to vote for DSAI they will pile up the undi rosak more than arif shah and AKIM's total vote count total. Dah nyanyok tambah merepek la pulak mahavader of the dark force ni!
written by justiceforallorg, August 29, 2008 12:29:33
As the saying goes, "we cannot teach old dogs new tricks". So, BN will forever stick to their racial based politics which is absolutely obsolete. That augurs well for PKR. The nation favours a fair and just administration, so well done DSAI. NO single race shall be marginalised as long as they need assistance, so there is no need to be afraid. Bravo to the citizens of Permatang Pauh.
written by The dragonheart, August 29, 2008 12:36:34
Prof Chin's views are actually shared by some BN leaders in private, said the New Straits Times.

If his views are shared, then why UMNO still do the low class campaigning style?

UMNO never learn ... No need Prof Chin's views... I can give a better view..

Damage have been done... either UMNO want to be another Titanic or sink to the bottom for good.. this is the question they have to answer.

If they think they still wants to look like a Titanic..go ahead then ..and you will sink becoz the PR iceberg have really hit them hard...

But if they want to survive, go on to the life boats available and be humble and be good... let go of all the unwanted elements that can make you sink.. you be alive and be saved... insyallah

If someone slapped you and you slapped him back ... that someone will obviously punched you.. and if you punched him back he will obviously kicked you hard.. and if you kicked him back he will eventually gather all his might even to kill you... in the end somebody gonna die... obviously if the majority is against you.. you will die...

BUT, if someone slap you, you dont slapped him back but pat on his back and talk politely back to him and asked him what is wrong, and even if he slapped you again, you keep your cool and not fighting back, he even the greatest devil will turn white and grow a pair of beautiful white wings...

In other words, UMNO must clean not only its backyard but also its kitchen and the deep area of its toilet bowl. CHANGE! and be good... EVEN if you have to become an OPPOSITION this coming 16 September... be a good opposition... ALLAH HAVE PUNISHED YOU... please accept it! Allah have given you (52 X 365 X 24 X 60 X 60 seconds) of times to change but you ignored Allah Blessings...

Now if you care.. ROW, ROW your Boat Gently down the sea... merrily, merrily you will see how great it could be...
written by BOB007, August 29, 2008 12:55:31
yala...stupid BN-UMNO every time talk about only malay race how like....evene the malay olso hate that....if u want develope this contry u must see hw singapore devolop the nation....its realy create full....if u are clever not pase on ur race u can becam a leader...in any goverment deparment....but here u must be a malay if even u not clever...can be come a leader in any goverment department..... as gd leader must talk about all malaysian with consep of BANSA MALAYSIA not talk and develop one race... HIDUP DSAI......

PR GOVRMENT = BANGSA MALAYSIA
written by panca, August 29, 2008 13:06:34
The Rakyat's interest should be of national interest, the Nation's interest is the Rakyat interest. Not party, politician self interest!

Only those leaders' whose are of the Rakyat at heart at all time can remain the government of the day. Change is Imperative. The Rakyat has a choice of A New Government that WILL progress the Nation.

BN and umno will never change for the Rakyat and keeps taking from the Rakyat. It's really really enough after 50 years. We have to move on with a government that is with the Rakyat, that listens to the Rakyat and go to all length protecting the rights of all Malaysian.

Malaysians Embracing Unity, Justice, Fairness and Progression For Malaysia. That can only say we are Merdeka, There is no more British, Britain is a civilised friend and Nation.
written by takbolehtahan, August 29, 2008 13:07:07
"Malays were told that a PKR victory would mean a loss of their 'privileges'." means a loss of UMNOPUTRAS' privileges. This the biggest fear for them. Has nothing to do with the Malays in PP losing their privileges ... they don't have any privilege to begin.
written by renoir, August 29, 2008 13:20:34
Pasok wrote:
>The increasing rejection of UMNO by the Malays shows that their self confidence is growing. Malays are no longer worried that they will be marginalised. They have sufficient self belief in their own strengths to start embracing progressive ideas such as true democracy and equality. ]]

Yes, the Malays are having a sense of nationhood, something I felt would happen sooner or later. I'm glad it's sooner. As I revealed here some years ago in M-T, I used to write to Malaysiakini under the name "Ivanhoe" and that name was not chosen haphazardly. Walter Scott was writing at a time when ethnic relations were tense in England. We learned how the Normans emphasized difference linguistically: pig became swine and in turn became "pork" when cooked and served to the Norman overlords. And ox became "beef." As unquestioned rulers since William took over the country, the Normans were in no mood to accept the Saxons until the French, under Joan of Arc, drove the English out of Normandy. Defeated on the continent, the nobility began to accept the Anglo-Saxon and his language in various levels of government. In turn, fertilized by the more cultured French as well as Church Latin, the AngloSaxon-based language became extremely versatile. Chaucer thrived on it, and Shakespeare enobled it. A few centuries later, it would become the dominant language of the world. And Britain the first truly global empire.

Who knows, under the right leadership, what Malaysia might become? The greatest of the great?

written by asguard, August 29, 2008 13:33:39
Let Anwar formed the government first then only tackle all the mess left behind by bodowi and najis...
written by bluesky, August 29, 2008 14:31:50
Mahatir idiotic and childish comment truly reflects the person he is and what UMNO stands for..They are full of BULLSHIT of the highest order..right from their parents who were also stupid members of UMNO...
written by sdcsrcc, August 29, 2008 14:48:59
Malays do not see Anwar n Pakatan Rakyat s end to racial politics as a threat. They view it as an opportunity to cherish and excel at.

Only UmnoPutras view it as a threat. Mind you, Malays are muslims and need not be UmnoPutra.UmnoPutra are so called "muslims" who are corrupt to the core and lewd in action.

Thus, Malays who have voted for Anwar are not UmnoPutras, who despise the crocked ways of BN.

Malaysia Hidup
BN Mati
written by Tom n Jerry, August 29, 2008 14:58:34
Malays are gradually becoming more sporting & tolerant;they may think its no good to indulge in sodomy but then it is avery private matter between two consenting adults;so whats the big deal when Bn keep promoting its sodomy allegations;isnt it one way of making love in this loveless world! smilies/grin.gif
written by YSL, August 29, 2008 14:59:47
Voters called Bangsa Malaysia have waken up!!!

BN/UMNO are still in their deep sleep with heavy wet dream!!!!!

The more you provoke Anwar, you are provoking Voters' intelligent!!

So BN/UMNO Pullkeymark, stop doing that!!!
written by dassky2000, August 29, 2008 15:48:02
BN UMNO is still in a daze as to what hit them, and in a delima as t what happened and how will who should cough first. Hehehehehehehehehehe lucu lucu lucu tabiat BN UMNO.
written by nangkarajah, August 29, 2008 18:24:03
This is what I read from the Bangkok Post a few
Posted by days ago sent by some body whom I don't know on August 29, 2008 at 03:07:43:

by tak suka melanau control sarawak - Aug 26, 2008 21:37
In fact after the last Malaysian general election of March 8, it was clear that the Coalition in power (Barisan Nasional which is actually UMNO-led) had already lost it's UNCHALLENGEABLE supreme dictatorial power which it had enjoyed for the last 50 years after independence in 1957. In an surprising turn of events, the ruling coalition's elected parliamentarians FROM MAINLAND WEST MALAYSIA were exactly AT PAR in numbers with those in the Opposition. What kept the ruling coalition alive was support from EAST MALAYSIA's States of Sabah and Sarawak's TWO billionaire-warlords and their combined richly-rewarded and thus intensely-loyal 50 Members of Parliamentarians. These East Malaysian politicians after realizing that they now hold the balance of power (which hitherto had been in the hands of the overwhelming majority West Malaysians) now want to hold the PM's government in KL at ransom and to dictate to it according to their warlord-billionaire leaders' whim and fancy. For starters, they demanded disproportionately large and excessive government funds. ANWAR IBRAHIM's landslide victory and entry into politics today after 10 years' absence is perhaps the WEST Malaysian citizens way of saying to the East Malaysians "ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. Now we want our birthright (to have a controlling say in Malaysia) back".
written by miwaki, August 29, 2008 18:46:39
The malays in Permatang Pauh are smarter and more awake than mahathir so it is better Mahathgir stop insulting their intelligent.Not only the people of Permatang Pauh are sick and tired of UMNO,even people of Kubang Pasu are equally sick of this party.Museum is a better place for Mahathir to comment,not contemporary political situation of our country.
written by nana tanjung, August 29, 2008 19:32:35
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 | 12:26:30

The malays in Permatang have grown up.They knows all the lies that umno throw at Anwar are meant to discredit him.These are new malays who knows how to chart their own future.
---------------------------------

oohh please!!! that is an insult to me personally as a voter of permatang pauh....i have been voting Keadilan since 1999; and when Anwar was in UMNO before that, I was voting the PAS candidate. In 2004, DSWA nearly lost, not because the Permatang Pauh malays, but due to the fact that the non-Malays of Permatang Pauh was gullible enough to be easily deceived to trust the newly elected so-called Mr Clean. DSWA lost in almost all Chinese and Indian areas.

We, the malays in Permatang Pauh have grown up many many years. You might have just grown up, and think others are also like you. Plerase do not insult us.
written by Tompios, August 29, 2008 20:18:22
The only civilization that UMNO brought to Sabah is racism doctrine. Nothing more nothing less that this. Racist is the main agenda in UMNO triad! In UMNO government we are divided by three categories: 1)Bumiputera Islam, 2) Bumiputera Non Islam, 3) Non Bumiputera!! Opps! please don't forget for those Non Bumis who are converted themselves in Islam automatic become Malay but poor no spaces for categorize them! Because the real Malay-Islam will never accept them in the whole heart.
written by bexe, August 29, 2008 21:27:33
Who the Malays are and what they want has always been the same since I remember. They are decent human beings and they care for their neighbors, no matter what race they may be. For example, I remember stories of Malay families harboring Chinese & Indians from the racists during May 13. There are also many such stories during the war and during the Emergency.
Like May 13, all this racial division is planned ethic cleansing by politicians.
It is these politicians that need to mend their ways or be thrown out. Our society must show them that we have no tolerance for their like. If ever anyone pulls out their Kris again, we should use it on them. We need to rid ourselves of these sadists.
Let's see if PKR can bring some of these racists to book? It will be a step in the right direction to end racial polarization and insecurity.
written by Sabahfan, August 30, 2008 00:18:41

The Malay die hard supporters of UMNO have no shame...

UMNO has bulshitted so much on this sodomy thing that even if I see Anwar in sodom position with my own eyes.... I STILL DO NOT BELIEVE WHATEVER UMNO SAYS;;;

WE are a nation in distress
written by Angel, August 30, 2008 08:02:29
The writings on the wall are so clear and despite all the closed door brain storm sessions by each component party, they never seem to learn.

Malaysians are dissatisfied with the current state of affairs after 51 years independence. It is now time for meritocracy and not skin colour. It is therefore inevitible that things had to be done differently to get different results. If the same things were done we would get the same results, today and 50 years down the road.

A huge paradign shift is necessary. This is however difficult to do as it requires change and nobody likes to change set habits.
written by Jack Sparrow, August 30, 2008 13:30:06
That old farter tends to claim credit whenever there is a win and hides in shadows whenever there is a problem........ It is indeed a sinking ship.
written by born2reign, August 30, 2008 16:42:47
'Umno politicians have to change their style of campaigning. It needs reform,' says Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia political scientist Associate Professor Mohammed Agus Yusoff.

Puleeeease! UMNO totally has NO STYLE when campaigning, shooting empty bullets only. UMNO=buy votes, kenduri, empty promises, sodomy experts (able to diagnose sodomy cases without any doctor reports). UMNO needs to be buried 666 feet underground!!
written by tigersara, August 31, 2008 11:55:34
word on the street. UMNO?.....uuuummmmmmmm NO!
written by rams609, August 31, 2008 16:00:38
Talking about the Malay votes that Anwar won, one thing they all forgot:

The Malays DO NOT like to talk about GAYS,SODOMY and THE BLAME GAME in the open.
Unless they have real proof! DSAI got his support based by the way he was attacked by campaigners like Ezam, Khairy, and Najib. The more they stabbed him in the back the more we would care for him.
written by Tom n Jerry, September 01, 2008 08:59:58
Ustaz Ramlan even confirmed that the swearing by Saiful was initiated by Najib;how ironic & pathetic;when you want to run down the opposition is that the way to do it?Najib!how about your Sodomy issue with Rosmah & Altantuya?Remember people living in glass houses should not throw stones;and Confucius said*dont do to others what you dont want to be done to you!When PR comes to power,Najib wil be charged for sodomy with Altantuya & also murdering her! smilies/angry.gif