Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Website block 'is plain stupid'

Website block 'is plain stupid' PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 29 August 2008 11:48

By : Evangeline Majawat, New Straits Times

THE feisty Malaysia Today editor and blogger Raja Petra Kamarudin must be laughing with glee. 

Raja Petra Kamaruddin set up a mirrior website after access to Malaysia Today was blocked
Raja Petra Kamarudin set up a mirrior website after access to Malaysia Today was blocked

Just a few hours after the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) ordered access to Malaysia Today blocked, a mirror website was up and running.

The MCMC had moved in stealthily and quickly, like Special Branch officers on covert missions. The decision to cut off access to the website was made on Wednesday and by late afternoon, orders had been issued to all local Internet service providers (ISP).

But how could the MCMC have overlooked such an obvious loophole?

The blocking of the controversial Malaysia Today site, or any other website for that matter, is almost impossible as there are many ways to circumvent the ban.

"It's like trying to contain water using a sieve. It's plain stupid," said Juvita Wan, a producer with an advertising agency.

Any IT expert or tech-savvy blogger friend will tell you that the MCMC's move is not its wisest. The easiest way to circumvent the ban is to create a mirror website -- which was what Raja Petra did.

It's hassle-free and quick; just a few clicks of the mouse. By 7pm on Wednesay, traffic to Malaysia Today had resumed.

Another method, which is "hot among the bloggers", is the openDNS system (DNS stands for domain name service).

This user-friendly system, which was started only two years ago, allows consumers to use alternative servers to the ones provided by local ISPs.

So even if the local ISPs such as Streamyx and Time.com blocked Raja Petra's website, his supporters and any curious Tom, Dick and Harry could access his materials by doing a search with the highly efficient openDNS system.

The third way is to do a search of Malaysia Today using proxy servers.

"It's completely pointless to block his website. It's cyberspace. How can you control it?," said an exasperated IT manager, who commented under the cloak of anonymity.

MCMC's move, whether politically-motivated or not, is backfiring.

The ban raises questions of censorship and whether it was the right way to curb Raja Petra's "insensitive, bordering incitement" articles.

"We have specific laws against racial incitement. Why wasn't that invoked?" asked the IT manager.

And, of course, bloggers and watchdogs are screaming blue murder over "the impediment of freedom of speech and information".

Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar defended MCMC's actions, saying that it was just exercising its powers as provided under the Communications and Multimedia Act.

"Everyone is subject to the law, even websites and blogs," he told reporters at Parliament yesterday.

He added that the government did not have any intention to curtail freedom of expression.

"But when you publish defamatory contents, it is only natural for action to be taken."

Energy, Water and Communications Minister Datuk Shaziman Abu Mansor, under whose purview MCMC lies, may hold a press conference today.

He was away in Bali when the orders were issued two days ago.

His deputy, Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum, was caught embarrassingly unaware about the debacle.

"MCMC did not brief me, but they might have briefed the minister," he told reporters.

Whatever the reasons, the ministry and MCMC should perhaps look into the matter more thoroughly before hastily banning any more websites.

It not only leaves a bad image and taste among the people but puts the spotlight on the country for all the wrong reasons.
Comments (50)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 11:54:15
They offend me,they rightly offend all Malaysians,and they should be denounced.And that's what I'm doing very clearly and unequivocally here today.
written by sjs, August 29, 2008 11:56:41
Syed Hamid,

You have betrayed the people's cry for free media and speech. You have abused the people's right to free speech and media by manipulating the main stream Medias to your own party's advantage! You have not only disseminated one-sided biased news but also manipulated all news and storylines to condemn individuals who oppose your government. You cripple them morally, mentally and physically! Now you have further engaged in dirty tactics by clamping down upon the only "voice of the people"! If you and your party members feel that you have been slandered or defamed don’t tell us you don’t have the means to defend all those accusations in your BN controlled Medias! No online portals have denied you and your government members from defending your views! You can’t defend your views! Because they are true! Let me put to you straight: Millions of people have accused you and your government million times, of being corrupt! Why can’t you defend this mother-of all accusation! You can’t! Because it is true!
I am accusing you now. Syed Hamid, you are a racist! Want to defend it! Please do! You can’t! It is true! Your anger and vengeance mostly relate to your inability to defend what is true! Hence your 18th century solutions!
agree 139
written by The dragonheart, August 29, 2008 11:58:58
The act of blocking the access to websites of the internet by syed hamid, paklah and the rest of the UMNO goons clearly shows their stupidity on the IT knowledge...

Why so stupid they can be??? the world is laughing at what they are doing ... obviously all their political advisers are practically very low class ... what ashamed... a mule engaged a donkey to help in solving problems.. that is why BN/UMNO is falling down and sinking... they try to put out the fire with fuel... how stupid they can be!!

UNMO's problem is still using grassroots like the "Koranic swearer Shitfull", Bohjan, Bohsia and Mat rempits ... until the cow come home UMNO will be full of stupid people...

I am so ashame with UMNO... cuba menegak kan benang basah... kalau tahu basah keringkanlah dulu... kalau dah tahu salah betulkan lah dulu...

Bila dah jadi orang baik baru tegur orang lain yang tak baik...kalau punngung selepat tahi jangan marah orang kentut busuk...
written by RumahPanjai, August 29, 2008 12:01:37
Looks like a bunch of clowns and the ministers were only too eager to exercise their IT knowledge. RPK had the last laugh. That bunch of morons had their brains enbedded between the cheeks of Saiful's backside!
written by SocratesI, August 29, 2008 12:04:18

Failed political party using FAILED tactics to try to control free speech is doomed to FAILURE once more !

Barisan NAJIS should just give up and go away ! What a bunch of UTTER MORONS !!

written by Harpoon, August 29, 2008 12:04:43
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif It is after all Barisan Nasional's IT experts we talking about here! Blocking cyberspace.... LMFAO! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by kl_wong, August 29, 2008 12:08:54
Dear Admin, RPK

Is it possible to inform all the MT supporters via emails incase the MCMC block MTHarapan Malaysia again? Then we will not have problems at all. smilies/grin.gif
written by Kacang Tanah, August 29, 2008 12:08:57
It is simply because the BN goons employ graduates from UiTM. Ha..Ha...Ha.

To all "Anak Tiri" BN who have to study oversea and earn your living outside Malaysia due to the unfairness of BN, it is time to give your support to MT and show it to BN that it is thier big mistake for rejecting you.
written by GeoGeo, August 29, 2008 12:12:39
That Syed Hamid guy must be dammed bloody stupid alright.

How did he get his Law Degree..Fake one ???
written by Counterpointer, August 29, 2008 12:17:12
But how could the MCMC have overlooked such an obvious loophole?

I wouldn't discount the fact that these idiots are totally ignorant of this fact.
written by utuhganal, August 29, 2008 12:17:35
Look closely at the faces of DPM and HM...do you ever notice any semblance of intelligence??? To any observant eyes, those faces look more like robotic creatures bestowed with human-like features. Pity the voters who voted them to be their MPs and pity to PM who unwittingly appointed them to be ECHO SOUNDER MINISTERS.
written by deunan, August 29, 2008 12:22:22
Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar defended MCMC's actions, saying that it was just exercising its powers as provided under the Communications and Multimedia Act.

Exercising, exercise. Bullshit!

Perut ko tu, still boroi jugak! Perut aku pon boroi, taklah seboroi engko!

Den.
written by fromamovingtrain, August 29, 2008 12:22:51
Must have been instructions from muhamad muhamad taib! no speaka englis, no use computer, no brain.
written by avj, August 29, 2008 12:31:50
What do you expect from a plain stupid, stone age government?
written by CKLee123, August 29, 2008 12:32:28
I wish someone can provide a list of some of the methods complete with step-by-step procedures for reaching a blocked site so that we can save it as an insurance to be used in case “the son of Malaysia Today”, mt.harapanmalaysia.com, is blocked again one way or another by them goons.
written by BORN FREE, August 29, 2008 12:34:29
The more the Gomen attacks on the current M2day bloggers, it is also drawing
the attentions of other bloggers that has never been a M2day reader before.
Thus free publicity for M2day ! Thanks alot, Dumbo !
written by oknyua, August 29, 2008 12:35:01
Eh..., Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum can't use the internet lah. He needed his chilren to log in for him.

Hei Joe, how are you getting on? Long time no see, man. How's your investment in Dubai?
written by Concerned_Citizen, August 29, 2008 12:41:53
Why don't just cut off the internet???

The rakyat is not living in the jungle and much more savvy now. Block it and yet it could be access via many alternate ways! Try it and you fail once more!
written by skay, August 29, 2008 12:42:31
This will again become another laughing story for the world.
And this again show how RETARD our cabinet minister and theirs' beloved leader.
"areef shar" go for bogus university, just give another check on this "shit ham-meat" law degree, probably "shit ham-meat" is the one recommend "areef shar".
written by SotPlug, August 29, 2008 12:42:33
No no RPK. If TMNet is 'upgrading' all lines in whole Malaysia, then Malaysia-Today is blocked. Hell, even Google is blocked. Cos no more Internet access. Just wait, see how TMNet 'upgrade' every few weeks.
written by panca, August 29, 2008 13:24:41
There are mirrors in your own home, look yourselves in them!

The neighbour is cooking some stewedpig in the kitchen....what a stew.

Yeah don't forget to look in the mirror in the morning, in the night and every other opportunity you have in public toilet. Take a good look who is that person, that person is corrupt and a power abuse, a liar who hates truth to be told.

Shame on you, the man in the mirror. MT is the many perfect mirrors that you see and reflective in the mirrors you see in your home everyday you brush your teeth...or you don't!
written by foresight, August 29, 2008 13:42:44
What do you expect of a government who even confiscated the scanner, hoping to find some 'useful' files in there.
written by ScuZziE, August 29, 2008 14:13:53
Might as well BN hunt down Vinton Gray Cerf, the founder of Internet or often called 'The Father of Internet'. He should be blamed and put under ISA for causing the so-called "nation instability" (or BN instability?) as a result from ARPANET (Advanced Research Projects Agency Network) developed by the United States Department of Defense, the predecessor of the global Internet!!!

BTW, Vint Cerf is from Lisbon, Portugal. I dare BN to mess with Portugal and USA for this issue! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by HawaiiBlues, August 29, 2008 14:16:23
I'm still laughing at this stupid move of blocking 'offending' websites. Guys, I told you majority of those who enforce such laws are E-DIOTS!!!! heheheheh Wonder what Bill Gates will say .... oh boy, now Malaysia has also become a laughing stock in cyberspace!!!!
written by Zapper, August 29, 2008 14:55:35
Hello all fair minded thinking Malaysians.....who says that the BN goons are clever. They survive on the YES BOSS.
written by YSL, August 29, 2008 15:06:25
This Shit Hamlin is brainless! Normally Botaks are very smart and capable persons with sharp mind and fast move!!!
Why our Shit Hamlin is so different beacause of waht i also don't know!!!
written by carribeanking7, August 29, 2008 15:20:19
Quote~
"We have specific laws against racial incitement. Why wasn't that invoked?" asked the IT manager.

Yes of course, the seditions act says :-

3(1)(d) - to raise discontent or disaffection amongst the subjects of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong or of the Ruler of any State or amongst the inhabitants of Malaysia or of any State;
3(1)(e) - to promote feelings of ill-will and hostility between different races or classes of the population of Malaysia;

This means Najib and others I have mentioned in the link below have potentially run foul of the act....

http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?uid=6778953884&topic=4733

I also want to say that this is typical of NST "rubbish pile" journalism if it can be called journalism at all.

The article is the same run of the mill statement by clueless ministers.

Other than interviewing IT experts , where are the interviews of experts on the Federal Constitution ? Experts on the law ? RPK's opinion on the issue ?

WHAT ABOUT PRO GOVERNMENT SITES LIKE KPMU WHO CARRY SEDITIOUS STATEMENTS ?

Instead we get IT challenged ministers issuing orders to block sites, a clueless communications minister, an information minister who declines comment and an IT manager talking about racial incitement laws.

The only thing they got right is about the part about Pete chuckling.

What the sulking Najib and gang do not know is that the site itself does not have as many direct readers as they think, but those who copy paste and send articles to their personal mailing list in email forwards--that spreads the message exponentially.

By doing this they are giving more popularity to MT.....just like when they banned Salman Rushdie's books, they were selling like hotcakes on the blackmarket, so much so that people who normally would not read his books were rushing to get their hands on it.

written by CSum, August 29, 2008 15:39:40
I wonder how the outside world look at Malaysians now. The leaders might have thought that this is a brilliant move. They probably had opened up a champagne after the plug is pulled. Joke of the day.
written by arazak, August 29, 2008 15:43:47
Bloggers and internet users are surfing the cyberspace while Syed Hamid is still wondering aimlessly in the Arabian Desert looking for his lost camel!!! smilies/grin.gif
written by miwaki, August 29, 2008 15:58:57
Instead of blocking MT,why don't Abdullah request his people to be careful in their future explorations.When you people do not expose your evil deeds,there is no way RPK can write anything bad about the government.You are responsible for your actions,don't blame RPK ! We love RPK's reports,what can you government do ?
written by SocratesI, August 29, 2008 15:59:24

Probably, his camel liwat dia, until pea brain also dropped out of his ear, this S*it Hammered All-Bare !! That is why he is behaving this totally illogical way !!

written by jowkg, August 29, 2008 15:59:31
PPL SAY SHORT AND BOTAK ARE CUNNING,
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 16:13:15
Where is the blocking,we are all still here.
written by fireduck, August 29, 2008 16:18:52
Next, this govt and especially that Syed Hamid will say that they control the whole Internet, so they can do whatever they want.
And half the world's population died ........ from laughing too hard!
written by BennyG, August 29, 2008 17:50:21
All the MSM are promoting the new website by giving the mirror site address. I never thought I would ever say this but credit must be given.

THANK MSM FOR MAKING RPK CONNECTED AGAIN!

IN CYBERSPACE, RPK RULES!!!!
written by Ninja, August 29, 2008 18:03:24
Why don't the stupid UMNO goons confiscate all computers belonging to the Rakyat?
Why don't they just terminate all internet service providers?
Why don't they make access to the internet as illegal?
Why should they deny the Rakyat from reading alternate news and be their own judge to determine the truth or lies? By making attempts to deny the Rakyat from having access to MTD confirms that whatever that has or had been written in MTD is the whole truth and nothing but the truth.
Are the UMNO goons trying to make the Rakyat blind or deaf? Just face the truth and repent and if information is false, defend. Why take it on the Rakyat when it is the doing of the author?
Maybe if you see me, I could help to enlarge your pea-sized brain.
written by Windchime, August 29, 2008 18:26:51
Ahhh... the beauty of technology! 'Mirror sites', 'OpenDNS' - huh! These are the things that the stupid idiotic government does not understand. They think they are able to do what they have done all these years - deprive us of information! And to think these pea brain government are running the admin to govern us! Just goes to show the level of intelligence (if any) that they have! Well done YM RPK! You have survived all the shit they have thrown at you and they will continue to do so. Both stupid bald head and saliva leaking minister. Well, continue to enjoy your limited time there. Remember, you are put there by the people - you can also be removed!
written by penangboi, August 29, 2008 21:35:48
This evening I tried accessing MT but was greeted with the message that it is blocked by the F**king gomen.

I went on to Susan Loone's and saw this posting by a good samaritan. Tried it and it works. Just remember to reboot computer first after changing the DNS settings :

mbc (08:19:2 :

I just would like to inform everyone who is using Streamyx, to change your DNS setting from using TM 202.188.0.133/202.188.1.5 to OpenDNS server setting, 208.67.222.222/208.67.220.220. If you still can’t get through, you’ll need to run the following command at your command prompt, “ipconfig /flushdns”.

After you done that, You’ll not be blocked from assessing Malaysia-Today, and perhaps any other site that the “outgoing-government” decided to block.

Please spread the message to all netizens. We shall not be cowed by these cowards !!!!!!
written by Angela Ooi, August 29, 2008 22:14:38
They cannot refute the truth revealed in M2day even with their mighty MSM cos they are all guilty, flithy and will surely rot in hell when they go to their maker.
written by tuanlokong, August 29, 2008 22:37:46
if all blogs/web are blocked many server provider will loose their bussiness in Malaysia. smilies/angry.gif
written by AsamLaksa, August 29, 2008 22:58:15
You know MT is the no.1 Malaysian political website when the government treats it like this.
written by netaddict1, August 29, 2008 23:00:24
Are the so called MCMC IT specialists graduated from UITM?
written by sarawakian, August 29, 2008 23:08:23
before this ban, i had already imagined it would be a matter of time when BN would implement this nation-wide ban on MT by filtering at the DNS level.

however, any good IT user will know how to use a different DNS server to get around that. next thing TMnet needs to do is to filter out any international outgoing traffic on port 53 to block the use of openDNS. then i'm sure IT users would find another way around it, like running our own DNS servers to point to MT.

is this the level of IT intelligence in Malaysian government?

is this the "intelligence" we want to show to all the corporations we are trying to entice into MSC?

does anyone in MCMC understand the word "router" and how it serves a purpose in the internet infrastructure? or didn't anyone teach the goons at MCMC about "service reliability" and "failover systems" ??

you can filter at the DNS (name to IP translation) level but can you block individual IPs? what so difficult to switch to another IP?

MCMC and BN really need to realise this is a hopeless cat-and-mouse game which they cannot possibly win. hasn't BN heard of the word "backfired" ??
written by Sabahfan, August 30, 2008 00:25:59

Even the cyberspace is in distress now..

flag will fly this way in cyber until UMNO is sunk into the deep sea.
written by dinsmann, August 30, 2008 02:47:32
How can you block a fishing net with millions of knots, and every knot represents a PC. They really don't know what INTERNET is.

Unfortunately, I missed the article too. Skodeng rules should done away with. Indonesia with 95% muslim does not have it including the 'JAISes' and 'MAISes.
written by temanmu, August 30, 2008 04:39:17
The forbidden fruit... wow...sedapnya!!

Now more will search for MT!

Bodoh punya BN?

Tak de akal!
written by ScuZziE, August 30, 2008 04:59:08
written by gundohing, August 30, 2008 07:11:11
Truly daft and ill-informed UMNO leaders we have. Few days ago before the announcement, the moment I realised I could not access MT, I suspected it must be blocked. So I just put on a smile and use a proxy server. Presto there it was.. MT was accessible.. Ha.. ha.. to you Syed Hamid BODOH!
written by Limang, August 30, 2008 18:05:34
hahahahahahahahaha, bodoh Botok...hahahahahahahahaha bodoh Bodowi. .. . . . hahahahahaha. . . bodoh UMNO. . . . . .I can't help laughing. . . .help me. . . .someone. . . . .hahahahahahaha. . . hohohohohohoho. . . .
written by Limang, August 30, 2008 18:06:08
Bodoh Botak, I mean. . . .hahahahahaha. . . .