Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Government should keep promise to MSC

Government should keep promise to MSC PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 29 August 2008 11:33

Parti Keadilan Rakyat deplores the instruction given by the MCMC to all Malaysian Internet Service Providers to block access to the website Malaysia Today.

This decision is tantamount to internet censorship and is the latest onslaught on the civil liberties that are the right of all Malaysians. It is also a desperate act by the Barisan Nasional government that is still reeling from its repeated defeats and refusing to listen to the clear signals demonstrated by the rakyat time and again via the ballot box.

The grounds given that Malaysia Today is a seditious website are completely baseless and unfounded in any principle of law, given that there are ample laws which govern such activities and there has yet to be a single court in all of Malaysia that has found the website to contain seditious content.

Once again, the government has shown complete contempt for the principle of being innocent until proven guilty.

As we have seen throughout the world, "pre-emptive strikes" such as these are weak and pathetic attempts to hide a desperation borne of absolute moral bankruptcy.

We also view with seriousness the possibility that this is merely the first step in a comprehensive and reprehensible attempt to curb the access of conscientious Malaysians to the Internet, which in the past few years has been the bastion of freedom for all seeking any views alternative to the propaganda of the BN dominated mainstream media.

KeADILan calls upon the MCMC and the government to keep its promise to the MSC and to immediately revoke this order, and resist any temptation to arrogantly show callous disregard for the right of Malaysians to access alternative information.

DATO SALAHUDDIN HASHIM
Secretary General
Parti Keadilan Rakyat

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by DXB2008, August 29, 2008 11:45:50
While we are celebrating MERDEKA, our gomen made another coward action againts the rakyat who is on the verge of celebrating the new dawn of Malaysia after last election and P44 by-election.
This is a stupid action from desperate and stupid leaders who have everything to lose
http://1426.blogspot.com/2008/...rdeka.html
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 11:49:34
We are being confronted with an unfathomable crime.
written by Liberace, August 29, 2008 11:51:26
The Barisan government has zero conscience, period. The people's view is like water on a ducks back to them.
written by PRman, August 29, 2008 11:56:55
The angers among the netizens are growing bigger. The longer they keep this ban, the louder our voices will become.
written by sjs, August 29, 2008 12:00:40
The fact that some of the ministers are away overseas, and some say it is not under their jurisdiction, is a clear indication that this move is plain stupid!
written by Democrats, August 29, 2008 12:05:21
To expect BN to keeps its promise is like trying to squeeze a square peg through a round hole. It's impossible.

written by utuhganal, August 29, 2008 12:05:22
Celeberating merdeka??? The last time we Malaysians celeberated REAL MERDEKA was in 1981. Thereafter, the only bunch of people who celeberated merdeka were those who were in the good books of MAHATHIR MOHAMAD and currently ABDULLAH BADAWI. If we are really independent, why all these stupid censorship???
written by sjs, August 29, 2008 12:05:46
Syed Hamid's anger and vengeance mostly relate to his inability to defend what is true! Hence his 18th century solutions!
written by Celestial, August 29, 2008 12:27:04
To describe the Malaysian Government as Morally Bankrupt is an understatement. Bankrupt means you have nothing left. This Government is worst than bankrupt as it has sunk to the depths of moral abyss where it can never recover. The sad fact is that they don't even realise it or if they did, they did not possess any moral convictions to repent.

They are a joke, in fact beyond a joke. It is a sad statement of fact that such imbeciles should not continue to govern. A Rakyat revolution (albeit through peaceful means) should now begin, perhaps through the tactics used by Gandhi. Perhaps then it might get through to their thick skulls that the Rakyats have had enough.

I suggest a class action against the body responsible for denying the Rakyat's rights to free speech as it is enshrined in the Constitution and under the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) Bill of Guarantees, where the Government promised there would be no censorship of the Internet. I say it is time for the Rakyat to voice its dissatisfaction!!!!!!!!!

If RPK can't do anything then the Rakyat should respond. I will be the first to contribute financially to such an undertaking.
written by penangboi, August 29, 2008 21:32:09
This evening I tried accessing MT but was greeted with the message that it is blocked by the F**king gomen.

I went on to Susan Loone's and saw this posting by a good samaritan. Tried it and it works. Just remember to reboot computer first after changing the DNS settings :

mbc (08:19:2 :

I just would like to inform everyone who is using Streamyx, to change your DNS setting from using TM 202.188.0.133/202.188.1.5 to OpenDNS server setting, 208.67.222.222/208.67.220.220. If you still can’t get through, you’ll need to run the following command at your command prompt, “ipconfig /flushdns”.

After you done that, You’ll not be blocked from assessing Malaysia-Today, and perhaps any other site that the “outgoing-government” decided to block.

Please spread the message to all netizens. We shall not be cowed by these cowards !!!!!!
written by Susanna, August 29, 2008 22:38:12
lagi-lagi acts of oppression. When will they ever learn? How to celebrate Merdeka when the gomen leaders tak boleh dipercayai.. buka mulut saja sudah pasti ada muslihat. tapi sori la... semua aksi2 gomen boomberang

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009