Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Where secondary access prevailed

Where secondary access prevailed PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 29 August 2008 11:16

By OON YEOH, THE STAR

Access to information comes in many forms and the one in abundance in the by-election was leaflets. It's not as fast as Internet postings but are effective and impactful and can be churned out quite fast.

ONE of the most commonly asked questions I get about New Media is what impact it has on elections. I was asked this question so many times right after the general election in March and again people are asking me that very same question now that the one in Permatang Pauh is over.

Well, I was on hand. I always make it a point to be at an important election three days leading into the polls. Those are the three most exciting days of any campaign period.

And from what I saw, yes, the Internet and New Media did play a very big role – but in an indirect way. Through what is commonly referred to as secondary access.

Primary access refers to direct connection to the Internet – to news sites, to blogs, to YouTube and so on. Secondary access refers to the trickle-down effect of those news items and information found online.

Secondary access can come in many forms. One form that I saw in abundance in Permatang Pauh was leaflets. Some were well-designed and properly printed. Others were hastily put together and photocopied. But they were effective.

I don’t know what the Internet penetration rate in Permatang Pauh is like but it can’t be high. This is a very rural area with lots of small kampongs and padi fields all around. Leaflets are not as fast as Internet postings but they are effective and impactful. And they were churned out quite fast.

When the imam, Ramlang Porigi, decided to reveal that he had been instructed to witness Mohd Saiful Bukhari Azlan’s act of swearing on the Quran, word spread like wildfire through SMS. And of course the news sites and blogs picked it up.

By the next day, copies of his comments were distributed to voters in the area. Anybody who wanted to know what he said could find out, whether they had access to the Internet or not.

But it wasn’t just the pro-Pakatan Rakyat people who used leaflets. The pro-Barisan Nasional side did too. I personally witnessed a case where it was used rather mischievously.

On Sunday night, after a ceramah, I got news that a group masquerading as DAP supporters had been picked up by the police.

So, I headed to the police station and sure enough, there were 11 of them, holding DAP flags, lined up against a wall.

They were carrying with them leaflets which featured a prospective Pakatan Cabinet. It was to be led by Anwar but there would be more DAP ministers than PKR or PAS ones!

Quite incendiary stuff but I do wonder whether that would fool anyone. Do the perpetrators actually think the villagers are that stupid that they would buy such a canard hook, line and sinker?

I think the election results – with Anwar securing an even bigger majority than Wan Azizah did in the general election pretty much confirms that even rural folk are better informed these days.

Maybe they got the Pakatan leaflets. Or perhaps they bought one of the many VCDs on sale at the various ceramah venues.

Many people tend to forget that VCDs are a form of New Media. And which household these days doesn’t have a VCD player?

The range of content available was quite stunning. There were lots of recordings of ceramahs – recent and older ones – and also documentaries and stuff taken off YouTube and so on. And they were sold very cheaply. Each VCD was only RM4 and you could get three for RM10.

Then, there’s good old SMS. Unlike in the general election where SMS jokes abound – especially about Samy Vellu – this time around they were mainly used for coordination purposes. I was informed through SMS where certain ceramah were being held and where this person or that person would be holding a press conference.

Thank goodness for it, otherwise logistics would have been a nightmare. But the real utility of SMS came to light on election day. After the polls closed, I got non-stop messages from friends, from all over the country, asking me what the margin of victory was (everyone knew Anwar would win, the question was by how much).

“Malaysiakini is down, do you know what the majority is?” came one message.

“Oon, tell me the good news,” came another.

“Is 16K official?”

These were the types of messages I got bombarded with all night long. Since Internet access was patchy and I really couldn’t upload the information onto my website, I finally did a mass SMS shot with the unofficial figures which I got from a very reliable source.

Secondary access is still the primary means that people get their information on political news but things are changing. By 2012 or 2013, when the next election comes along, I think I would no longer need to send out info via mass SMS. In fact, I’m pretty sure of it.

Oon Yeoh took lots of pictures in Permatang Pauh. Check them out at www.oonyeoh.com

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 11:34:24
Obviously umno have failed,they have failed on 308,they have failed in Permatang Pauh,they have failed to block MT,they have failed to pass the DNA bill,they have failed the rakyat.We all won.
written by oct, August 29, 2008 11:44:13
The rules of engagement has changed. This means that whichever party is able to adapt to new tactics will have an advantage over his opponents. Looks like BN still relies on MSM to be the main channel for info dissemination. However, PR has many intelligent members who is using IT as a new means to counter them. With this fast moving times, it only takes a few minutes before the latest news and/or rumors to reach the masses.

BN is strong and powerful but slow to adopt the new channels of info. They are slow to start their own blogs. They live in the early 60s or 70s where they think MSM can control the news and only allows those that favors themselves to be read by the Rakyat. They fail to adapt fast enough. Now there are in a catch up stage. Yet some of them are not accepting the new paradigm shift. In the end BN has to blame themselves and no one.
You can't use old tricks over and over again to fool the Rakyat all the time. If they can't win, BN is adopting unlawful restriction like blocking MT instead of getting someone to create a blog to challenge it. This is not a way to win. You end up losing. The Rakyat will hate you more for doing uncivilised act. Let's see how long can they survive. All over the world, countries are moving forward. Bolehland is moving backwards and becoming protective.

Lets hope the new govt can come in fast to save us!!!
written by nocrid, August 29, 2008 12:09:16
By 2012 or 2013, when the next election comes along, I think I would no longer need to send out info via mass SMS. In fact, I’m pretty sure of it.

By that do you mean that, the ruling bastards might do whatever it takes including crippling the whole national communication machinery so that the rakyat will not be able to communicate with each other to know how dirty they are.

I tell you what. If this were to happen we will apply what the ancient Chinese do to fight of Mongol(Heard that, Najis?). We stuff our secondary info access into moon cake and distributed it to all our people. We make sure it's halal. smilies/grin.gif
written by Tom n Jerry, August 29, 2008 13:59:08
STuffing secret information is the best way come September;its mooncake festival & the message will go to every chinese household;can plan big & ambitious plans to derail BN once & for all and put her in side the coffin! smilies/angry.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by AsamLaksa, August 29, 2008 20:19:24
Secondary access? What it really is about is people. That is your secondary access. The moment I heard that there are people not belonging to any political party attending ceramahs, making photocopies of the leaflets (without anyone telling them to), talking to their friends and relatives, etc. I know that a big change will come. In past General Elections there is always a mood of apathy from the majority who would vote the same party over and over without care of the issues at stake. But this year, 2008, the people have mobilised. This is your secondary access, people getting involved like never before using whatever methods to pass on the message.

And this is what BN is blind towards. Charge some people in court, ban their sites, throw them behind bars and yet it doesn't really matter to the awaken if you throw all their leaders behind bars because they now have access to their conscience. There is no way to stop the tide unless BN throw all the voters who voted for PR in jail and that is 49% of the population. Read all the mainstream news you can find and you will find, like this article, that they skirt around the issue (ignorant or simply lost touch with reality?) blaming blogs, internet, ceramahs, etc. when the real power is the people. The people are the true winners of the PP by-election, not DSAI.
written by penangboi, August 29, 2008 21:26:41
This evening I tried accessing MT but was greeted with the message that it is blocked by the F**king gomen.

I went on to Susan Loone's and saw this posting by a good samaritan. Tried it and it works. Just remember to reboot computer first after changing the DNS settings :

mbc (08:19:2 :

I just would like to inform everyone who is using Streamyx, to change your DNS setting from using TM 202.188.0.133/202.188.1.5 to OpenDNS server setting, 208.67.222.222/208.67.220.220. If you still can’t get through, you’ll need to run the following command at your command prompt, “ipconfig /flushdns”.

After you done that, You’ll not be blocked from assessing Malaysia-Today, and perhaps any other site that the “outgoing-government” decided to block.

Please spread the message to all netizens. We shall not be cowed by these cowards !!!!!!
written by cahaya, August 30, 2008 07:41:47
Yes, I agree with Assam Laksa. In PP, secondary access was through the Rakyat, "people power" as they call it elsewhere in SE Asia. Everyone in the towns and villages heard that Anwar had "balik kampung" for this by-election. They were eager to meet Anwar, their "favorite son", and to hear first-hand from him at the ceramahs. Those who attended the ceramahs were so inspired and excited that they told their neighbours at the markets, coffee-shops, etc. mostly through word of mouth. In time, it did not matter what the newspapers or RTM said about Anwar, they knew who had a more credible message.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009