Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Syed Hamid tells why Malaysia Today was blocked

Syed Hamid tells why Malaysia Today was blocked PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 29 August 2008 11:10

(The Star) - The controversial Malaysia Today news portal was blocked by the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (SKMM) because its editor ignored many warning letters, Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar said.

“When they publish things that are libellous, slanderous or defamatory, it is natural for the SKMM to act against these websites whenever necessary,” he told a a press conference at Parliament lobby yesterday.

Syed Hamid said SKMM was only exercising its powers.

“We do not intend to curtail people’s freedom or right to express themselves. Everyone is subjected to the law, even websites and blogs,” he added.

On Wednesday, Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamarudin lashed out against the blocking of the online portal, saying it was a breach of the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) charter.

Under the MSC Malaysia 10-Point Bill of Guarantees, the Government promised to “ensure no Internet censorship”.

It was reported that all 21 Internet Service Providers (ISPs) in the country had been ordered by SKMM to block the controversial website.

The notices were sent out on Tuesday in accordance with Section 263 of the Communications and Multimedia Act.

Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum, the Deputy Minister of Energy, Water and Communications, said he was not aware that SKMM had ordered ISPs to block the website.

“I do not read Malaysia Today. Media practitioners must be sensitive to culture and religion,” he said.

Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek declined comment as it was not under his jurisdiction.

SKMM chief operating officer Mohamed Sharil Mohamed Tarmizi, who is overseas, declined to elaborate, saying a press conference would be held to explain why such action was taken.

It is understood that this is not the first time SKMM has ordered a website to be blocked.

Malaysia Today remains accessible through its mirror website.

written by allangan2006, August 29, 2008 11:15:19
Ban the BN, not the website. If Tun Salleh Abbas was still at the helm, the BN and UMNO will be banned indefinately
written by fireduck, August 29, 2008 11:28:52
Who will be responsible for bringing down Abdullah as PM? Maybe Khairy?

I think the person most likely to be THE cause of the fall of AAB, as least the current 'favourite', is none other than Syed Hamid Albar! He is just making statements that beg for rakyat's anger. Incredibly 'smart' politician! If AAB is still sleeping and does nothing to junk this guy, then he will be leaving sooner than 2010.
written by indianputra, August 29, 2008 11:32:12
“When they publish things that are libellous, slanderous or defamatory, it is natural for the SKMM to act against these websites whenever necessary,” he told a a press conference at Parliament lobby yesterday.
======================================================= ======
OK Sir, you are correct. Please advise the Rakyat what to do when the ruling Barisan National Government is doing the following:

1) Demolish temples
2) Asking Indians and Chinese to go back to India and China
3) Stealing corpses to bury
4) Barging into the Bar Council, when they are having a peaceful meeting
5) Creating lies after lies in the case of Anwar Ibrahim's sodomy accusation
6) Not taking action against the PM and DPM when they are accused of corruption
7) Not taking action against JJ who was accused of molest by a woman
8 ) The billions ringit lost by he Rakyat on the Port Klang Free Trade Zone issue
9) Raising the price of fuel and food items which is totally unnecessary
10) Not investigating or taking action against the DPM who is accused of having a hand in the murder of the Mongolian girl

libellous, slanderous and defamatory OR is there some truth in it?
written by KELLYVILLEACE, August 29, 2008 11:34:29
http://www.malaysia-today.net/2008/ - DEAD?

Malaysia Today. - May You R.I.P. ( Rise if Possible)
What?....Already Risen? ... Even Jesus took three days to rise and you managed it overnight?
ALL Hail the SON of MT.

Well. well. well. what can I say
Just do not underestimate the POWER of ONE - ANWAR IBRAHIM
A National Warrior's Agenda : REFORMASI!
Independent Barisan Raakyat's Army Heralding In: MERDEKA!

LIAR=LAWYER=LIAR, So Liar Liar Pants on Fire. What you gonna do when we come for you, Bad Boy Bad Boy?
Looking for sympathy? OxFord Dictionary says it is between SHIT (SAIFUL'S) and SYPHILIS (Thought it was Najib's but DNA proved it was yours)

Soon you will suffer from AIDS (Acquired Income Deficiency since your kids will have your genes) and then it will degenerate into SIDS (Sudden Income Deficiency since your TM income stream is now cut off cause everyone's just cancelled )

Not too sure if I ONE to make Malaysia my FIRST HOME anymore if Faggots like you roam the streets.
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 11:45:58
This irresponsible action by the bald head will resulted in the rakyat's unleashing of another Tsunami on the 13th general election.Just read my lips.
written by The dragonheart, August 29, 2008 11:46:18
The act of blocking the access to websites of the internet by syed hamid, paklah and the rest of the UMNO goons clearly shows their stupidity on the IT knowledge...

Why so stupid they can be??? the world is laughing at what they are doing ... obviously all their political advisers are practically very low class ... what ashamed... a mule engaged a donkey to help in solving problems.. that is why BN/UMNO is falling down and sinking... they try to put out the fire with fuel... how stupid they can be!!

UNMO's problem is still using grassroots like the "Koranic swearer Shitfull", Bohjan, Bohsia and Mat rempits ... until the cow come home UMNO will be full of stupid people...

I am so ashame with UMNO... cuba menegak kan benang basah... kalau tahu basah keringkanlah dulu... kalau dah tahu salah betulkan lah dulu...
written by sjs, August 29, 2008 11:52:34
Syed Hamid,

You have betrayed the people's cry for free media and speech. You have abused the people's right to free speech and media by manipulating the main stream Medias to your own party's advantage! You have not only disseminated one-sided biased news but also manipulated all news and storylines to condemn individuals who oppose your government. You cripple them morally, mentally and physically! Now you have further engaged in dirty tactics by clamping down upon the only "voice of the people"! If you and your party members feel that you have been slandered or defamed don’t tell us you don’t have the means to defend all those accusations in your BN controlled Medias! No online portals have denied you and your government members from defending your views! You can’t defend your views! Because they are true! Let me put to you straight: Millions of people have accused you and your government million times, of being corrupt! Why can’t you defend this mother-of all accusation! You can’t! Because it is true!
I am accusing you now. Syed Hamid, you are a racist! Want to defend it! Please do! You can’t! It is true! Your anger and vengeance mostly relate to your inability to defend what is true! Hence your 18th century solutions!
written by K W Waran, August 29, 2008 11:53:03

This idiot Syed should just shut up instead of making his idiotic STATEMENs. The way he pouts his mouth to "explain" everything in his Inglish, I'm sure, it makes many of our skin crawl.

That Deputy Minister portrays that he never reads anything. This blockbuster news is splashed everywhere. Yet does not seem to know. Well,(long sigh), He must be busy with his Kilang Gandum(pun intended).

Anyway, that cheeky guy may think he is smart by having avoided the Tons of Brickbats, awaiting anyone for that matter, who dare comment supporting this blockade. Though, I humbly think that anything to do with ANY flow of information in this country, becomes the bloody jurisdiction of the Info Minister.

Well, that the trouble of having too many ministers with overlapping jurisdiction running around or flying around, I should never fail to also say, this country and beyond. That ends up with none of those idiots doing anything. Dang! And We are the ones who are being forced to paying through our noses for their luxurious life and lifestyle. This bloody utter nonsense has to STOP!!!

written by cheekhiaw, August 29, 2008 11:59:54
TELLING THE SHIT FROM THE SYED

You think people that make immigration records disappear into thin air, blow people to pieces using government resources, create crimes like sodomy cases out of thin air, periodically call for people's blood to bathe their cultural crooked knives, steal even from the very people they claim to fight for, and think that swearing over some books is the way to reveal truths are really interested in justice and the truth?

Only idiots would believe that.

written by oct, August 29, 2008 12:04:48
Hei Botak. Who are you to say the news are libellous, slanderous or defamatory? You are acting judge and jury. If they are libellous, slanderous or defamatory, why the person concerned dare not sue? Why must you be so kai poh (busybody)?

Hei Botak. You should identify which part of MT is libellous, slanderous or defamatory and let the Rakyat decide whether they are true or not. As a minister, you should support your case with facts and not simply say things without going through your brain. Pardon me, you do have a brain, have you?

There are no other countries in the world that does such a silly thing. Bolehland is the only one. Perhaps Bolehland can get a gold medal for this and also a place in the Guinness World of Records. This really shows the idiotic character of our ministers.
Why are MIC/MCA/Gerakan not making noise over this? On one hand they said they are fighting for freedom of speech. Yet today they are speechless!!!! Still running dogs of UMNO. No bloody balls!!!!
written by avj, August 29, 2008 12:29:24
Syed Hamid you don't have to explain why, we know why. Better luck next time Syed, if at all there will be one.
written by ibabonma, August 29, 2008 13:06:09
“When they publish things that are libellous, slanderous or defamatory, it is natural for the SKMM to act against these websites whenever necessary,” he told a press conference at Parliament lobby yesterday.
................................................................................

Dey, Loyar Botak! who decides SKMM or the Court? You punya general law degree..ori atau celup!
written by smpadayachi, August 29, 2008 13:09:09
An African gentleman by the name of Barak Hussein Obama is on his way to make history on this planet earth, and you Syed Hamid Albar in Malaysia is the descendant of Yemenese origin is trying to do anything to make sure a man by the name Anwar Ibrahim does not becomes the next prime minister. You should listen to Mr. Obama's speech to see when he wants to do, and take the American people in terms of the United States well being and the world, and here you're in Malaysia trying your level best to squash whatever ways to Anwar Ibrahm and Pete Kamaruddin are trying to do. You know very well Mr. Albar you're nothing but a sore loser, and you've no way to get your anger out, except to find cheap and shoddy ways to get where you want to go. The Yemenese people will absolutely spit on your face for the stupid behaviour you're imposing on plain Malaysians. Wake Mr. Albar..but it's way too late.
written by tenang, August 29, 2008 13:17:55
Syed Hamid,

Freedom of expression is sacrosanct to this nation and is enshrined in the constitution. You have violated the people civil right and trashed the sanctity of the constitution when you attempted to remove the voice of the people. I do not see your act as exercising your responsibility because we the people have not assigned you such a responsibility for regulating what we want to say and hear. Instead, I think your act is treasonous.

Claiming the MT as libellous, slanderous or defamatory is a no case. Here in Malaysia, the government should be of the people, from the people, and for the people. It is the people that should keep the government from erring, not the government trying to keep people from erring. We the people make the judgement of what we read and write, not you and the government.

It is outrageous to even think of you dare to challenge the people.

written by asguard, August 29, 2008 13:28:15
BN is always full of wayang kulit and sandiwaras drama... constantly playing one after another.. don't know where is the full stop!
written by carribeanking7, August 29, 2008 13:58:43
Quote~
Information Minister Datuk Ahmad Shabery Cheek declined comment as it was not under his jurisdiction.

Ahhh I am dissapointed, he always has hilarious things to say.

He reminds me of Iraqi MISinformationminister Syed al sahaf who denied that Americans were in baghdad and continued to deny it even as CNN broadcasted the images.......

Vijay Kumar Murugavell.

written by dassky2000, August 29, 2008 14:18:38
======================================================= ======
OK Sir, you are correct. Please advise the Rakyat what to do when the ruling Barisan National Government is doing the following:

1) Demolish temples
2) Asking Indians and Chinese to go back to India and China
3) Stealing corpses to bury
4) Barging into the Bar Council, when they are having a peaceful meeting
5) Creating lies after lies in the case of Anwar Ibrahim's sodomy accusation
6) Not taking action against the PM and DPM when they are accused of corruption
7) Not taking action against JJ who was accused of molest by a woman
8 ) The billions ringit lost by he Rakyat on the Port Klang Free Trade Zone issue
9) Raising the price of fuel and food items which is totally unnecessary
10) Not investigating or taking action against the DPM who is accused of having a hand in the murder of the Mongolian girl

libellous, slanderous and defamatory OR is there some truth in it?

Hehehehehehe hahahaha hoooooooohahahahhehehe, Indianputra, what some, all is a truth..... smilies/grin.gif
written by miwaki, August 29, 2008 15:46:00
They themselves are involved in arson but forbid the people from lighting a candle.No wonder they lost the Permatang Pauh parliamentary seat so easily.
written by Kathy, August 29, 2008 17:25:00
Mr Home Minister, stop pontificating. You talk as though the government has not done anything wrong. Look at the list above (in Dassky's comments). If the mainstream media reports news without bias we would not have to resort to electronic news, and RPK would not be editing MT. You have driven us underground. smilies/angry.gif
written by kingelvis, August 29, 2008 18:03:34
Tepung Gandum only taking care of himself lah. Screw his own people and supports ARMNO. ..while his own people suffer. Since he will not read this then I can safely call him a bastard. First of all can he read or not? smilies/grin.gif
written by Angela Ooi, August 29, 2008 20:36:22
Weren't we promised that BN/UMNO govt WILL engage us? This is how they do it?
Again, lies after lies after lies. UMNO lost in PP cos UMNO IS LOST.
Daily, I pray that whatever bad intent they send out to curtail truth and justice, will booomerang back to them with a vengence.
written by penangboi, August 29, 2008 21:31:04
This evening I tried accessing MT but was greeted with the message that it is blocked by the F**king gomen.

I went on to Susan Loone's and saw this posting by a good samaritan. Tried it and it works. Just remember to reboot computer first after changing the DNS settings :

mbc (08:19:2 :

I just would like to inform everyone who is using Streamyx, to change your DNS setting from using TM 202.188.0.133/202.188.1.5 to OpenDNS server setting, 208.67.222.222/208.67.220.220. If you still can’t get through, you’ll need to run the following command at your command prompt, “ipconfig /flushdns”.

After you done that, You’ll not be blocked from assessing Malaysia-Today, and perhaps any other site that the “outgoing-government” decided to block.

Please spread the message to all netizens. We shall not be cowed by these cowards !!!!!!
written by tuanlokong, August 29, 2008 22:01:34
Disagree though and makes me more mad with current system... If the governemt do not agree with what is written why not catch the owner.... smilies/angry.gif

No good to block left and right, later still people can cut and paste and e-mail them, is the government going to block all e-mails too? smilies/tongue.gif
written by Sabahfan, August 30, 2008 00:35:14

This stupid minister is one of the many reason i did not fly the flag on my car this year.....
written by gorshan, August 30, 2008 00:48:06
did Home Minister Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar just declared the malaysian judiciary "eunuch" ? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by gundohing, August 30, 2008 07:17:52
Whether it is libellous, slanderous or defamatory, it is not for Syed Hamid Albar to determine. It must be proven in court! Is this Syed Hamid fella aspire to be a junta despot leader?

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009