Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow SKMM censured for blocking news portal

SKMM censured for blocking news portal PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 29 August 2008 11:07

(The Star) - The blocking of access to online news portal Malaysia Today by the Communication and Multimedia Commission (SKMM) has generated a flurry of responses, with most saying it goes against the Government’s promise not to censor the Internet.

In his blog, MCA vice-president Datuk Ong Tee Keat said he hoped that SKMM would reconsider its decision and that he was a “little surprised and disturbed” about what had happened.

“Under the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) Bill of Guarantees, the Government promised there would be no censorship of the Internet. I do not understand why the SKMM is resorting to this.”

Ong said Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamarudin was already facing several charges in court.

“We should let the court decide his fate,” Ong said, adding that forcibly blocking access to the website only lent more credence to his writings. In fact, it is foolish to think that online censorship works. There are still many other ways for surfers to access the portal.”

National Alliance of Bloggers interim president Ahirudin Attan said it was the first time that the commission had decided to go against the spirit of the promise the Government had made and stressed that it would “rattle investors’ confidence in the country.”

“Google is planning to invest here by building a multi-billion ringgit data centre here. If this is the way the commission behaves, it is as good as telling Google to please go away.”

Jelutong MP and blogger Jeff Ooi blogged that SKMM ought to be “hanged” for stifling the Internet. “Malaysians who are online are mature enough to discern between what is good and what is bad.”

The Centre for Independent Journalism (CIJ) condemned the blocking of the site, saying the action went against national commitments spelt out under the Bill of Guarantees of the MSC.

“The commission and the Government should acknowledge that the problem is the failure of the mainstream media to fulfil its duties in reporting information adequately, truthfully and fairly,” CIJ executive director V. Gayathry said in a statement.

Meanwhile, Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamarudin confirmed that http://mt.harapanmalaysia.com has replaced the now defunct http://www.malaysia-today.net.

written by mikeyboy, August 29, 2008 11:15:34
Wow even the NST was somewhat scathing about the blocking of MT.
As they rightly point out it is totally futile besides the old MT weblink now simply resolves to the new site anyway lol
written by PAKRAK, August 29, 2008 11:16:25
As expected it is another LIE by the BN government.
written by PASOK, August 29, 2008 11:17:07

Death to UMNO
written by Tom n Jerry, August 29, 2008 11:18:52
I am beginning to realize we are no more living in a democratic country;when the world*s super powers like USA elect president openly without prejudice,we are still locked in Ketuanan Melayu!Race politics is obsolete and should be deleted from our vocabulary,or if wanna choose to return to Stone AGe,perhaps its OK! smilies/smiley.gif
written by cahaya, August 29, 2008 11:19:34
“Under the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) Bill of Guarantees, the Government promised there would be no censorship of the Internet. I do not understand why the SKMM is resorting to this.”

Ong said Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamarudin was already facing several charges in court. “We should let the court decide his fate,” Ong said, adding that forcibly blocking access to the website only lent more credence to his writings. In fact, it is foolish to think that online censorship works. There are still many other ways for surfers to access the portal.”

Difficult to censor a website.
Malay peribahasa "Air dicincang tidak putus".
(you may slash water but you can't sever it)
written by Highway16, August 29, 2008 11:45:19
This proof that the present Government is a LIAR!
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 11:56:41
They all owe RPK a open apology.
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 12:30:32
Where is the stand of our Communication Minister?
written by ibabonma, August 29, 2008 13:15:30
Hey bingung, when I say botak bodoh ....who is botak? There are millions of botak in the world. May be there is only one Botak bodoh! You know who la.

When we say najis.....who is najis? Gumok punya laki? But who is gumok or taik anjing? So why must SKMM take action against Malaysia Today. How not to call the whole lot of you ... bodoh?
written by asguard, August 29, 2008 13:26:45
They always that they are more smarter that people ...in fact much more dumber and insane.... that is what we have here... now...
written by ibabonma, August 29, 2008 16:23:46
Ong, for once I salute you.
written by penangboi, August 29, 2008 21:25:40
This evening I tried accessing MT but was greeted with the message that it is blocked by the F**king gomen.

I went on to Susan Loone's and saw this posting by a good samaritan. Tried it and it works. Just remember to reboot computer first after changing the DNS settings :

mbc (08:19:2 :

I just would like to inform everyone who is using Streamyx, to change your DNS setting from using TM 202.188.0.133/202.188.1.5 to OpenDNS server setting, 208.67.222.222/208.67.220.220. If you still can’t get through, you’ll need to run the following command at your command prompt, “ipconfig /flushdns”.

After you done that, You’ll not be blocked from assessing Malaysia-Today, and perhaps any other site that the “outgoing-government” decided to block.

Please spread the message to all netizens. We shall not be cowed by these cowards !!!!!!

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009