Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Barisan leaders’ talk of pullout from coalition worries Muhyiddin

Barisan leaders’ talk of pullout from coalition worries Muhyiddin PDF Print E-mail
Posted by Super Admin   
Friday, 29 August 2008 11:04

(The Star) - Some Barisan Nasional component party leaders' comments about the possibility of their parties leaving Barisan has Umno vice-president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin concerned.

“The is a new trend we have not seen in the past and this time around it is being done openly. I am concerned about that,” Muhyiddin told reporters, referring to remarks made by MCA and Gerakan leaders recently.

“Are these remarks brought up because of sheer disappointment? They have to explain,” he said, adding that any random survey would show that there was a mindset shift among the rakyat and not merely in Permatang Pauh.

Muhyiddin said Barisan should not underestimate the changes that are taking place.

“We can have a dialogue with the component parties but what else can we do? That is what we should be asking ourselves.

“The format in Umno and BN is not right and change should not just be in the form but also in the content,” Muhyiddin said.

“Umno also cannot stand alone. There are weaknesses within Umno but weaknesses also exist within the component parties,” he added.

Meanwhile, in Kuala Lumpur, Jerlun MP Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir said the outcome of the Permatang Pauh by-election was a wake-up call for Barisan, especially Umno, that much had to be done to regain the public's support.

Mukhriz said one of the major factors that impacted the by-election was the announcement by the country’s top two leaders that there would be a power transfer only in 2010.

“This means business as usual for another two years. For the rakyat, they feel it is too much to swallow,” he said.

“On the Umno side and Barisan, we also feel very exasperated because it is as if we have not started moving towards re-engineering and re-inventing Umno and Barisan.”

written by hw3883, August 29, 2008 11:12:06
It's time to have a 2-party systems.
Votes: +28
written by skc, August 29, 2008 11:19:15
Dear Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir,
A little too little and a little too late, should have gone after them 2 years ago. Now, even I would not support you, two years ago, I would. This is a simple people do not like changes, but current situation is getting way too much already, there is a limit on everything and I think Umno/BN has just pass it. No more turning back, I suggest you people get out and form a new party.
Votes: +29
written by ahmadneil, August 29, 2008 12:03:07
We don't need them anymore since we have Anwar now.Anyone who speak our language deserve our votes.
Votes: +23
written by salsabarney, August 29, 2008 12:07:04
Before this, any challenge to BN-UMNO 'power-sharing' formula will be deemed as a challenge to the Ketuanan Melayu. When non-Malays component parties voiced out their grievances, you don't want to listen, UMNO Youth brandished your keris, you said you offend the sensitivities..blalaa..now you have lost the rakyat's votes.. you asked why..
Why? Because you never listen to the voice.No point trying to cry out..why why why. Just don't blame others, blame yourself.
Votes: +18
written by Jan, August 29, 2008 12:09:38
Muhyidin, be honest to yourself, have you changed! Come off it lah UMNO will never change. Look at how you guys behaved after 308, you people behaved worse than before if Permatang Pauh is any indication. Look at all the slanders and racist remarks. It's time all the component parties like MCA, MIC and Gerakan take a good look at themselves and ask if UMNO is the party you still want to cling to.
Votes: +17
written by Abajawi, August 29, 2008 12:35:08
Meanwhile, in Kuala Lumpur, Jerlun MP Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir said the outcome of the Permatang Pauh by-election was a wake-up call for Barisan, especially Umno, that much had to be done to regain the public's support.

======================
Yes there may be a wake-up calll to BN but if BN switch on the alarm to "SNOOZE", the BN is not going to wake up at all, just like its own President, who is found to doze off at the slightest opportunity. There are already several wake-up calls in fact, but each time it happens, BN put the alrm to snooze...so one day they'll be missing the train!!
Votes: +7
written by Ben Nordin, August 29, 2008 12:39:27

Didn't he say that the March tsunami was a wake up call for BN? How many wake up calls do they need?
Votes: +10
written by Abajawi, August 29, 2008 12:41:06
Common lah MCA, MIC and Gerakan -- DISSOLVE yourselves and reform into a NEW multiracial party and then apply to join the nearest branch of Pakatan Rakyat. There is nothing to be grateful to UMNO for your existence as BN component parties. There is nothing to gain now by remaining in BN. The time is now, make that change, which doesn't come everyday--maybe once in 50 years. Decide now and join the Pakatan govt and see the new dawn for MALAYSIA COME TRU ON 16/9/08!!!
Votes: +9
written by Concerned_Citizen, August 29, 2008 12:48:28
How many wake up call that they need?

I think they don't need a wake up call, they are conscious of what they are doing, staying in power and getting rich.

Can the MP from Jerlun stop talking for a while? His father has really done a lot of talking so far even after retiring? BTW, dear UM-No people, pls be realized that the tsunami is not only caused by DSAI and MT, the Jerlun's father contribute to it too. For a better good, do something with him, then only continue with your fight against the right and justice party.
Votes: +4
written by Cikgu Bedah, August 29, 2008 13:13:55
The botak jerlun fella is as deluded as his dad, Fak Lah and Kera Jadian.
The Aug 26 tsunami wasnt just about the 2010 power transfer.
It goes way back to the 22 years of tyranny when his dad was PM la.
DUHHH!!!!
Votes: +5
written by asguard, August 29, 2008 13:23:05
A leopard will never changes it spot for another... thing....
Votes: +2
written by alberttan, August 29, 2008 13:29:07
"Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apedal is currently the minister of National Unity, Culture, Arts and Heritage as of March 2008.
He was born in Semporna, Sabah in October 20, 1957. He is married to Datin Seri Shuryani binti Shuaib and has 6 children.
He is a member of UMNO and the Member of Parliament for Semporna, Sabah, although he is half-witted."

Retrieved from "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shafie_Apdal"

Shafie Apdal was on TV and MSM lambasting DSAI and announcing that ALL Sabah/Sarawak MPs will have to sign a pledge of allegiance. Whoever wrote his entry in wikipedia deserve a special mention, I could not have agreed more.

Well, the "fame" of UMNO stooges are spreading far and wide!!!
written by Lim Lim, August 29, 2008 13:34:05
simple,malaysia would not be able to go forward living in ' whereby it is a monopoly political realm'!absolute power breeds total ignorance n unchecked corruption!
malaysia is already 51 years old,n she is not 'young' anymore;malaysian should deserve much more better than what we are having now!!
Votes: +0
written by Malaysiaputra, August 29, 2008 13:34:58
Yes, Umno has to be worried because the old ruse of using May 13 issue to frighten the non Malays and the ruse of Chinese controlling the economy does not hold water anymore with the majority of the rakyat .

The rakyat knows that by using these ruse to continue their grip of power, Umnoputras have been enriching themselves at the expense of the rakyat.
Votes: +2
written by binarytan, August 29, 2008 13:50:09
UMNO will never learn till one day they are dumped out of politics and become opposition.

Only then they will start to learn to serve the rakyat.

Right now, even the idiot PM is still wondering the way to enrich his family more and also the suspect killer DPM for more girls serving him.

But who really cares for UMNO? May be only those small group of evil cronies.

written by Rundukon, August 29, 2008 14:28:30
'Jerlun MP Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir said the outcome of the Permatang Pauh by-election was a wake-up call for Barisan, especially Umno, that much had to be done to regain the public's support'.

Wake up call? Even if you place an nuclear bomb beside the pathetic PM, he will never wake up.
Votes: +1
written by YSL, August 29, 2008 15:13:56
Tan Sri Muhidin,
First, you must sack Najis, Hisapmudin, Rais Anak Yatim, Shit Hamlin, Kurang Jantan and all those useless MPs and Aduns!!!!

When you look around there is no one left in BN/UMNO! Do you know why? Because not only one or few but all BN/UMNO Aduns and MPs must go including you!!!!
smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif
Votes: +3
written by Angela Ooi, August 29, 2008 21:42:03
UMNO is all BN, the other bees (B's)in the end (N) are invisible, voiceless pariahs and therefore useless and redundant. UMNO IS TOXIC and best left on its own to die a natural death.
Votes: +0
written by Vasily, August 30, 2008 07:09:05
Dear YSL,
Muhidin can't do that b'coz you know what?...their relation just like swinger couple laa..."I **** your wife, you **** my mom,you **** my daughter,I **** your granny, I butting your father,you butting my but".....they just are a bunch of ****er who knows each other dirty secrets...never ending story laa...
We the rakyat need to kick them all...
Votes: +1

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.