Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Anwar's Win Spells Leadership Change

Anwar's Win Spells Leadership Change PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 28 August 2008 10:32

The return to parliament of the man who once was deputy prime minister has shaken the political establishment and brought him one step closer to the stated goal of seizing the top job. 

Analysis by Baradan Kuppusamy, IPS

Despite a nasty campaign against him, opposition icon Anwar Ibrahim has won spectacularly in a landmark by-election in the family stronghold of Permatang Pauh, confirming his stature as possible prime minister with truly national appeal, cutting across race and religion.

Tuesday’s victory by a 15,500-vote majority signals that Anwar has re-arrived politically after suffering a severe setback in 1998, following charges of sodomy that saw him jailed for six years. His opponent Arif Shah Omar Shah managed just 15,524 votes or about half as many votes as polled in favour of Anwar.

The return to parliament of the man who once was deputy prime minister has shaken the political establishment and brought him one step closer to the stated goal of seizing the top job.

‘’The next step is Putra Jaya,’’ Anwar told thousands of cheering supporters outside the counting centre in Bukit Mertajam, a suburb of the Permatang Pauh constituency, referring to the administrative capital that houses the office of Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi.

‘’We won and our victory is decisive and overwhelming,’’ he said. ‘’This is a victory for the people. And it’s great to be back,’’ Anwar said. He described the occasion as a ‘’defining moment for the new Malaysia minus race, fear and discrimination.’’

Anwar, whose opposition People’s Alliance coalition controls 82 seats in the 222-seat parliament, has vowed to topple the government by inducing defections from among ruling party lawmakers, before Malaysia Day on Sep. 16.

‘’The victory signals that Malaysians irrespective of race or religion have rejected the ruling coalition (the Barisan Nasional that is led by the United Malay National Organisation or UMNO). They want change and they believe only Anwar can make the change that the country urgently needs," said Bridget Welsh, an academic from the United States who teaches South-east Asian politics at John Hopkins University.

‘’It is a rejection of 50 years of autocratic and arrogant rule by the authorities,’’ she told IPS. ‘’People want change and they want it now.’’

The by-election was created after Anwar's wife, Wan Azizah Ismail, vacated the constituency to pave the way for him to enter parliament and take charge of the three-party alliance.

Despite a ten-day campaign from Aug. 16 that saw the ruling party using sleaze and race to convince voters, especially majority Muslim-Malays, that Anwar was morally unfit to hold public office, he sailed through. Worst of all, money and government machinery were used to try and convince the 58,000 voters in the constituency that Anwar had sodomised an aide.

Anwar has been formally charged with the crime, punishable with up to 20 years’ imprisonment, in a replay of the 1998 sodomy charge that resulted in him being sent to prison and nearly ended his political career.

His alleged victim, former aide Saiful Bukhari Azlan, 23, stunned the nation on the eve of nomination by swearing on the Quran in a mosque that Anwar had sodomised him.

Unfortunately for the ruling coalition, one of the imams of the mosque, Ramlang Porigi, turned up at Permatang Pauh to publicly defend Anwar, saying that the oath-taking by Azlan was a sham and stage-managed.

Even before Imam Porigi’s dramatic appearance, a survey conducted by well-known pollster Merdeka Centre showed that 59 percent of Muslim-Malays were convinced that the sodomy charges against Anwar were trumped up ones and politically motivated.

What may have been truly damaging for Anwar was the argument that his victory would be detrimental to the interests of the majority Muslim-Malays who are beneficiaries of positive discrimination policies that give them advantages over Malaysia’s ethnic Chinese and Indians, mostly descendants of immigrants brought in during British colonial rule.

The voters, apparently, were in no mood to buy.

Despite government attempts to dampen the victory spirit there is clear jubilation across the country over Anwar’s spectacular win.

But there are many hurdles ahead for Anwar, starting with the sodomy trial which opens on Sep. 10. If convicted, Anwar could lose the seat as happened after he was convicted over earlier charges ten years ago. The charges were overturned in 2004.

The government told parliament, earlier this month, that the prosecutors have a strong case this time, but promised that Anwar would get a fair trial. Sex between males is illegal in Malaysia.

Anwar, who says he was framed, said with corruption widespread within the establishment, a fair trial was impossible. ‘’The political heat would cool off during Ramadan next month but expect big surprises after that,’’ Welsh said.

One immediate consequence of the defeat for the government is mounting calls for Badawi, who has promised earlier to demit office by June 2010, to quit immediately.

Badawi’s rudderless leadership of the UMNO party and the government is being blamed for the defeat. UMNO members that for personal and other reasons Abdullah is unable to stop Anwar.

Ever since the disastrous showing in the Mar. 8 general election in which the opposition won five state governments and 82 seats in parliament, Badawi has been under pressure to step down.

Leading the demand for Badawi to resign is veteran UMNO leader Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah who has called for a "new leadership to unite our people and forge a clear national direction.’’

"He (Badawi) does not have the minimal credibility needed to run the country day by day, let alone to take it in the new directions we need to go in a complex world," he said in a statement.

Razaleigh described the current political situation as "dangerous" and one which cannot continue without consequences for the ruling coalition. "Our leadership is rejected by the people," he said, echoing the general view of many Malaysians following the dramatic reversals wrought by the March general election.

"The by-election results confirm the trend. Either we change or we will be become history," he said.

written by indianputra, August 28, 2008 10:37:52
Hail Anwar.

Anwar, the Rakyat's expectations of you is very high. You have promised and please deliver. We want BN OUT!! We want you to be the next PM.
agree 129
written by ahmadneil, August 28, 2008 10:58:48
Anwar will bring malaysia to greater heights.
written by binarytan, August 28, 2008 10:59:44
DSAI, congratulation to you as opposition leader. I hope you sincerely will remember all the wrong doings in the past while you were the DPM of Malaysia and you must bring back our country.

As Chinese I want to see the immediate change of Malaysia so that we could live peacefully and enjoy being Malaysian, not immigrant like the racist UMNO guy saying. We have supported you so much along with PKR/DAP/PAS and we believe you are able to work for nation more than the useless goon BN.

Please be our next PM very soon and topple the BN gomen.
written by smpadayachi, August 28, 2008 11:02:01
With the glory of honour and suffering he had endured, I hope Mr. Anwar Ibrahim takes his new role very seriously to make sure the forging in Pakatan Rakyat remains the same. Having seen the real proof behind race politics that is slowly slipping away..Mr. Ibrahim must pay careful attention to have the power balance between every Malaysian, so that we're not blindly reverting back to where it was before. On this eve of happiness, I wish Mr. Ibrahim and his family a warm welcome, and we hope to see many more happiness on every Malaysian faces thru Mr. Ibrahim new role.
written by Ali Cordoba, August 28, 2008 11:26:51
Umno has not learned anything from Ppauh:
http://www.worldfutures.info/News/Latest/Umno-claims-democracy-well-in-Malaysia.html
written by MLC, August 28, 2008 11:36:12
Awakening of the Drag-on
written by PAKRAK, August 28, 2008 11:43:15
I am absolutely confident that DSAI with his charisma, calibre and capabilities will revamp Malaysia for all peace loving Malaysians to live happily ever after.
Long live DSAI and Pakatan Rakyat!
written by mkvani, August 28, 2008 12:09:02
I have undivided faith in DSAI and he is ready for the job...
God be with you!For my nation, my country!
For the people of MALAYSIA!
Long live DSAI
written by clarity, August 28, 2008 12:59:06
After the bashing BN received in PPauh despite spending millions and defaming Anwar for two weeks, it would be the honourable thing to do if AAB and Najib both step down. Whether BN likes it or not, the rakyat wants change. They want Anwar as the next PM. So why drag it longer. Those that truly wish to serve the country can stay and the rest can resign. There are a lot of highly qualified and honest individuals that can do a better job. There is no use anymore to make rakyat think that only BN can do the job. Take a look at Selangor and Penang, Even with reduced resources they are doing well.
written by HHKim, August 28, 2008 13:46:15
I am sure that the BN will not change anything in the political management of the nation. It has been deeply embedded in the mindset that they embrace arrogance and superiority over others through the might of power.

However, they must realize that the people have awaken from their usual acceptance that the BN is the government of the day for life. That was how all have shown " above others" behaviors and never treat others seriously.

Now is the time for a total transoformation for the government and the nation by overhauling the entire machinery - PM and DPM's ADMIN, POLICE, JUDICIARY, ACA, EC, AG OFFICE etc etc which have been wrongly used and managed.

I hope Anwar can start reviewing, analyzing and dthen map out strategic action plans to re-build the nation. I am one Malaysian very strongly believe that Malaysia can beat Singapore in terms of economic growth and social stability given time.

Anwar, remember the raayat Malaysia have spoken very vehemently, clearly and decisively that we want change - and that has become your BIGGEST vision in next couple of months.
written by Traveller2020, August 28, 2008 13:49:40
Malaysia's own Nelson Mandela....Putrajaya....this is where it all started.
Hope DSAI will get the 30 cross-over BN component parties.I wonder the BN component parties leaders are aware of the mud-slinging hurled and the subtle presence of the police in some voting areas which are minorities are reminders to these leaders of the shared BN vision on the eve of the 51st. Merdeka celebrations....are you in synch with your communities aspirations?
Nonetheless DSAI has to be careful even among the 30 cross-over BN component parties could be Trojan horses...just like Saiful the coffee boy.Change is imminent ..it is a matter of time and it would be not just Permatang Pauh versus the sacred few holding on to Putrajaya.... there are islands and islands of Permatang Pauh scattered all over Malaysia.
written by Tok Din, August 28, 2008 14:08:27
The end of BN is near at hand. The people have spoken. We have to be thinking about Post BN era. The rakyat are looking for better days - with justice and equality for all, regardless of race, culture, religion, geographical region. Malaysia is a nation richly blessed with natural resources, rich heritage, hard working and intelligent people. Our future leaders should embrace diversity and make our nation proud. We need leaders who inspire us to achieve greatness, not beat us into the ground. We need leaders who encourage and cheer us on. We don't need leeches and suckers who bear down on us and make us poor and miserable.
written by my oumrie, August 28, 2008 14:19:06
Dear BODOWI, you have my permission to spend more time with your bride and sleep during the day with no worries. All you have to do is QUIT!

Dear Nashit, you, too, have my permission to spend more time with Sai...err fatty spouse or with the pink ladies who may be willing (with their eyes closed). All you have to do is QUIT!

Dear Botak chinless wonder from Yemen, the boat is waiting for you at Port Klang!
written by my oumrie, August 28, 2008 14:48:00
Dear BODOWI, you have my permission to spend more time with your bride and sleep during the day with no worries. All you have to do is QUIT!
Dear NASHIT, you have my permission to spend more time with Sai...errr your fatty spouse or any of the pink ladies who's willing (with their eyes closed). That is if you simply DISAPPEAR!
Dear BOTAK CHINLESS WONDER from Yeman, the boat is waiting for you at Port Klang!
written by Loonie, August 28, 2008 14:58:36
God has put Anwar back on His drawing board and made him a great leader capable of leading Malaysia into a new era. When God's hands are in the matter, no one can come near. I thank God for answering all our prayers and look forward to a progressive Malaysia with high productivity, a fair governement and an independent judicial system. God bless Malaysia!!!
written by asguard, August 28, 2008 15:44:40
To all of BN ministers and who ever you are... time to pack your bags...and leave for a very long vacations... that you won't be back again... so to those whom still can think of remained in power..well your time is out already... go to indonesia or Zimbawe...or any corners of the world... your services is not needed anymore... it time for changes to come....51 years....
written by Sean E, August 28, 2008 15:49:27
To all of BN ministers and who ever you are... time to pack your bags...and leave for a very long vacations... that you won't be back again... so to those whom still can think of remained in power..well your time is out already... go to indonesia or Zimbawe...or any corners of the world... your services is not needed anymore...

That is the easy part, retired to a distant shore with all the ill gotten money.

No, they should be try for abuse of power, corruption and shot.
written by educationist, August 28, 2008 20:09:34
Yes, leadership change is the rakyat's cry!
Will Anwar succeed in forming the next federal government in the forseeable future?
Anwar says he's on track and I hope so.
But the immediate possible change is that of the UMNOputras. Will the UMNO divisions continue to back the retirement plan of Badawi? Or will they seize the spirit of the moment and show that they, too, are willing to begin the process of renewal and regeneration.?
Of course, I'm sure Anwar will be a better bet to bring about a more just, fair, civil and democractic Malaysia.
written by Century Patriot, August 28, 2008 20:28:46
Congratulation DSAI. The rakyat have spoken. I believe the majority of the Rakyat are
looking forward to changes for the better under Pakatan Rakyat [ PR ] Gomen.

I presume PR needs at least another 30 seats to exceed the BN by TWO SEATS.

Assuming PR does get to form the New Gomen with the extra TWO SEATS, I am afraid
PR will be treading on very precarious and dicey ground bcos it needs just TWO
Unscrupulous and greedy guys to jump ship and the status quo is upset. The reasons for such action by these two guys could be many especially when they are politicians!!

In this context, I wonder whether the PR leadership have decided the course of actions ie to give-in or otherwise!! If give-in is the decision then the question is when will it stop?

I hope DSAI and other leaderships would consider the above scenario for the purpose to strengthen and strategise their position before getting themselves drawn into dicey ground.

My three cents. Good luck and Malaysian Malaysia.
written by PAKRAK, August 28, 2008 21:53:09
BREAKING NEWS:
SHAFIE APDAL HAS BEEN DIRECTED BY THE TOP LEADERSHIP TO OBTAIN ALL BN MPs IN SABAH AND SARAWAK TO SIGN PLEDGES OF SUPPORT FOR BN LEADERSHIP TO BE SUBMITTED TO PM TOMORROW (FRIDAY 29/smilies/cool.gif.

Any pledge or MOU can be broken.
To be consistent with BN's practice all BN MPs should congregate in one mosque and swear on the Quran to pledge support and loyalty to BN.
written by nangkarajah, August 29, 2008 18:26:01
This is what I read from the Bangkok Post a few
Posted by days ago sent by some body whom I don't know on August 29, 2008 at 03:07:43:

by tak suka melanau control sarawak - Aug 26, 2008 21:37
In fact after the last Malaysian general election of March 8, it was clear that the Coalition in power (Barisan Nasional which is actually UMNO-led) had already lost it's UNCHALLENGEABLE supreme dictatorial power which it had enjoyed for the last 50 years after independence in 1957. In an surprising turn of events, the ruling coalition's elected parliamentarians FROM MAINLAND WEST MALAYSIA were exactly AT PAR in numbers with those in the Opposition. What kept the ruling coalition alive was support from EAST MALAYSIA's States of Sabah and Sarawak's TWO billionaire-warlords and their combined richly-rewarded and thus intensely-loyal 50 Members of Parliamentarians. These East Malaysian politicians after realizing that they now hold the balance of power (which hitherto had been in the hands of the overwhelming majority West Malaysians) now want to hold the PM's government in KL at ransom and to dictate to it according to their warlord-billionaire leaders' whim and fancy. For starters, they demanded disproportionately large and excessive government funds. ANWAR IBRAHIM's landslide victory and entry into politics today after 10 years' absence is perhaps the WEST Malaysian citizens way of saying to the East Malaysians "ENOUGH IS ENOUGH. Now we want our birthright (to have a controlling say in Malaysia) back".
written by nangkarajah, August 31, 2008 14:35:03
Memang kamu serious nak tubuh kerajaan pusta baru. Sedar ka tak, dalam perkara ini kamu hanya boleh harap dengan LOMPAT dari MPs Semananjung sahaja. The East Malaysian MPs (except for very very few)-----no matter how convincing to your ears or eyes may be-----only BERSANDIWARA to destroy you and to put you to shame at the same time. Saudara Anwar, who are those advisors of yours who can convince you that East Malaysian MPs will LOMPAT in droves? Who are those advisors of yours who can convince you that these East Malaysian MPs will back-stab their TWO billionaire war-lord political leaders who are calling the shots, even dictating to the PM and BN Gov't on life-support provided by East Malaysian BN politicians? Have those advisors of yours ever mentioned that East Malaysian MPs (from BN naturally) are each millionaires already owing to rich rewards bestowed on them. You think so easy to wrest their support away from their BILLIONAIRE warlord political leaders. Are you are billionaire? Are you in a position to reward your supporters with the loot readily available in hand when a leader has supreme power like those in BN? People support you not because they want money but because of the PRINCIPALS they hold dear and are willing to defend these principals with their dear lives even. East Malaysian MPs only live for and by money.
written by Tom n Jerry, September 01, 2008 09:10:04
There are many ways to skin a *binatang*;if plan A doesnt work then come up with plan B;insyah Allah everything will work out as planned;Selamat berpuasa DSAI:Alhamdulilah!

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009