Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Why is TM Net blocking access to Malaysia-Today? Answer: On MCMC orders.

Why is TM Net blocking access to Malaysia-Today? Answer: On MCMC orders. PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 28 August 2008 10:17

Tete-A-Tech

A walk down the Yellow Brick Road of Malaysia's Corridor of the future

by Bernice Low, Malaysia

If you've tried to log into Malaysia-Today.net, you will see this.

Malaysiakini.com has the story that ISP TMNet was under orders to block the DNS of Malaysia-Today.net on the basis that

�It is being blocked because we found that some of the comments on the
website were insensitive, bordering on incitement,� - Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) chief operating officer Mohamed Sharil Tarmizi quoted by Malaysiakini.

According to various blog sources, the original malaysia-today.net URL remains accessible only via ISPs Time, Jaring and Maxis (watch for those to go down soon).

Malaysia Today's Administrators have set up a blog on Livejournal to keep Malaysians updated in the event that MToday is hacked or blocked. Its administrator has posted this singular message:

As of 26th August 2008 @ 8.20PM, if you are having trouble accessing Malaysia-Today.net please use:-

http://mt.harapanmalaysia.com/2008

More to be added soon. Help spread the word!

This will be a temporary site. TMNet Streamyx is blocking http://Malaysia-Today.net on their service-level. Please check back
here if you are unable to view MT and in case the alternative site is
inaccessible.

An additional comment at the bottom of the page adds another fix:
Please be informed that TM is blocking access to Malaysia Today
(www.malaysia-today.net) via its DNS servers. To overcome this problem,
you need to define your primary DNS server as 208.67.222.222 and
secondary server 202.188.0.133 208.67.220.220 either on your router or your
PC/notebook. This will beat the blockage.
Updated: You can also type the IP address of Malaysia-Today.com directly into your browser URL - 117.120.1.155. (thanks to reader Pakac Luteb)

Kindly do all Malaysians, living in Malaysia and overseas, a favor, and let them know where to point their browsers.

This is a grim development indeed.

Malaysianinsider.com carries a story that the government is planning to target the blogosphere next.

Is this a sign of things and times to come for Malaysians and the alternative media?

Comments (49)Add Comment
written by IbnAbdHalim, August 28, 2008 10:30:02
The sooner the UMNO/BN corrupt government fall the better.
agree 168
written by joejoe, August 28, 2008 10:30:09
Who has the jurisdiction to make the call on whether the statements in MT are "insensitive, bordering on incitement"? Is this within the power of the MCMC or the Ministry of Information or the Ministry of Home Affairs or by individuals who had their closet skeletons exposed?

Is this the type of reforms that Pak Dollar has promised all Malaysians? Is this the type of transparency that our HP6 gomen holds as ideal?

We are transforming into a communist-racist system of gomen.
agree 124
written by DezMalaysia, August 28, 2008 10:31:05
Trying to cover-up all of their shit-holes and show their wraths over Permatang-Pauh's lost war ?

The truth is the truth, and it will win the favour of god !

Now, our Democratic Malaysia is doing the Communist way ! Kononlah nak hapuskan Komunis Cina di Malaysia, rupa-rupanya negara kita ada Komunis Bangsat Nasional (KBN) !

Hapuskan Komunis BN !
written by froggy, August 28, 2008 10:35:03
Khairy Jamaludin’s CV - Desperately Seeking New Employment

http://thedandelions.wordpress...a-new-job/
written by indianputra, August 28, 2008 10:35:50
Why on earth is TM getting involved in politics?? TM must understand their role in this country. They are just a service provider and morally they do not have a right to block Malaysia Today. If they are pressured by the powers, they can always refuse to listen. The powers have other venues to stop MT. Take MT to court if necessary.
written by onnetline, August 28, 2008 10:39:28
�It is being blocked because we found that some of the comments on the
website were insensitive, bordering on incitement,� - Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC) chief operating officer Mohamed Sharil Tarmizi quoted by Malaysiakini.

What about the Barisan Najis leaders who were going around inciting racial issues during the Permatang Pauh's by election ??

And why no law enforcement or actions from the relevant authorities ??

Stop the Double Standards, please !
written by ahmadneil, August 28, 2008 10:45:41
The laws of the jungle are back again.This new ruling are against freedom of speech and humanity.We the viewers of MT protest against this injustice becos only through MT can we get reliable and true information.
written by u chen, August 28, 2008 10:46:07
if u disagree with a view expressed here, you are free to post a response. is that what forums are all about
written by Flex65, August 28, 2008 10:48:57
The government of Malaysia AFRAID of one website. This shows how stupid the Government is. The whole government with so many so call 'smart' guys cannot defend against one little website. It will only take one 'TRUTHFUL' website to topple the government of Malaysia.
written by laksa maner, August 28, 2008 11:01:09
well, my suggestion to RPK, create more mirrors on mt.blogpsot.com, mt.yahoo.com, mt.google.com, mt.msn.com. This mirrors must be forwarded to the real site which its URL is encrypted. We see if they can blocked it?
written by ez24get, August 28, 2008 11:02:00
TMNet is just signing its own death warrant by acquiesing to MCMC in blocking M2D.

Packet One has just launched Wimax which is 20% faster at a cost 20% cheaper than TMNet. As it is, TMNet's services are already bad and their connection speed are no where near to what it is promised for what we pay to them!

It is only unfortunate the wimax service providers are slow to expand at the moment. P1 wimax service is confined to KL at the moment.

In no time TMNet customers will leave in doves and abandon TMNet when wimax services roll out. It's only a matter of time that the public will show a @$#% sign to all the GLCs who were given monopoly businesses but dishing out inferior services at high cost.

TMNet's shareholders doesn't realise that it is losing its business for nothing because it is very easy to circumvent the problem. And the stupid BN Government is going to lose more reputation and billion $ in investment over what could be easily circumvent by a 10 year old child.

What stupidity and arsehole of a government!
written by fireduck, August 28, 2008 11:02:25
Maybe they just do not want the rest of the rakyat to know all the corrupt stuffs that has been going on.

Anyway, it's impossible to block out. Not in this day and age. Unless, they TOTALLY block access to the Internet. ANd then the multinational companies will be the first to pull out of Malaysia!

And is it possible for a class action suit against the MCMC or TMNet? Maybe we should all terminate our subscriptions at one go. Even if just for one month they will be hurting big time.
written by cutejams2004, August 28, 2008 11:10:45
thanks to every1 who provided the alternative routes to view MT..now i f like loads of means to view MT..hehehe, TM te war is against you now..people r more smarter than ur tech ppl there,,all hails to MT..
written by cutejams2004, August 28, 2008 11:15:26
this is another alternative way provided by some other users too..(sorry forgot the username to quote)
1.type freeproxy server in google
2. then select either the first or second url http://www.freeproxyserver.ca
3. type in mt adress and then click browse
4. You can access MT.
written by chiongguo, August 28, 2008 11:16:56
DNS lookup entry removal is a very amateurish way of blocking access. What they will probably do next if they intend to block Malaysia-today is to block at IP level. In order to overcome this we need anonymiser servers overseas. I think many of us are willing to pay a bit to have such a service if RPK can negotiate a deal.

Another dirty trick they could used, which was used in singapore, was to s l o w down everything to a trickle. People will give up out of frustration. They could claim honestly that they did not block.

Anonymiser will prevent this. Of course they could slow down the anonymiser but the anonymiser service provider being a business concern will make a lot of noise due to the violation of the multimedia act.

written by whlau, August 28, 2008 11:17:24
This just goes to show how desperate and paranoia the government is right now. And also, since when did TMNet got involved in politics? Are they starting to hammer nails into their newly acquired coffins?

Maybe they should also learn to know who their real bosses are,
written by densemy, August 28, 2008 11:21:05
Seems that now the boot is on the other foot

BN is now living in fear of the people who own this country
written by superstar232006, August 28, 2008 11:28:14
our great bloody umno who controls the whole goverment started to show their super power by blocking this site..can i know why the fuc* our great bloody umno so afraid of this blog? cant u all leave alternative media alone...at least we get to read the real news and not like some bloody pro goverment papers
written by animal, August 28, 2008 11:28:32
AAB & all the BN chaps are too afraid of MT,
that why they take this coward step,
they knew ****in well MT always tell the truth,
it will help to make them falling sooner,
long live MT
written by myvoice, August 28, 2008 11:40:22
Coward act by Mly gomen! Will not give up till to our last breath!
written by marbl3s, August 28, 2008 11:47:49
Clearly shows that Najib and the government prefers to run this country in pure dictatorship. They lack the sense that it is not just Malaysia Today that is influencing the lack of trust towards the current government but the government's on coward ways of handling issues in this country.

My parents and my friends parents all lost faith towards the ruling party not because they read Malaysia Today. They do not even know that this site exist until i told them. They lost faith because the current government treats them like morons.
written by samesamemam, August 28, 2008 11:58:57
Famous quotes to live by:

Mahatma Mohandas K. Gandhi
·When freedom is in jeopardy, non-co-operation may be a duty and prison may be a palace

Alexander Solzhenitsyn
·The simple step of a courageous individual is not to take part in the lie. One word of truth outweighs the world.

Nelson Mandela
·In my country we go to prison first and then become President.

Anwar Ibrahim
Anak Melayu, anak kita, anak Cina anak kita, anak India, pun anak kita. Mengapa harus kita bezakan?
written by asguard, August 28, 2008 12:02:26
Hurting their ears ..too much that why they prefer to blocked it...
written by arazak, August 28, 2008 12:07:46
Bodoh punya BN! Tutup satu lubang, kita boleh masuk 10 lubang lain. Buat kerja mengarut dan membazir masa saja!
written by FFT, August 28, 2008 12:09:58
Keep in mind, this is the work of Najib's camp.

MT withstood many exposes on Khairy (the chronicles), various badawi scandals and lies (oil-for-food; wedding) and several other newsworthy items....

But the moment the sights were trained on Najib, you get Gestapo tactics utilized.

Najib is the Prince of Darkness. He should be locked up in a dark damp cell.
written by Ashleigh, August 28, 2008 12:10:53
I was racist before to be frank... pardon me for I am a product of our crooked educational system that preach about "Ketuanan Malayu" and under the oppression of the "pendatang" I consider myself a second class citizen, thinking that all malays are anti-chinese, anti-Indian etc... But the day after the March 8 election, I felt a jubilance about myself, that everyone around me seem to be friendlier, and more welcoming... even the air smell fresher... I felt a new hope for my root, finally! I started to pay daily pilgrimage to MT and it actually made me much more respectful for the other races, that there are indeed a large portion of them that are just like me... want a more just, democratic and harmonious place to live in.

If it is because of racist and seditious content that MT is being blocked.. then please also block all access to the MSM as they are the real culprit spreading UMNO's propaganda of "Ketuanan Melayu" which disgust all peace-loving Malaysians!

I pray that we will see true independence come this 16 Sept!!
written by Navigator, August 28, 2008 12:10:59
Let's move out of TM. Use any other service.
written by Mark C, August 28, 2008 12:27:53
en bloc canceling of TMnet's services is a brilliant idea. hurt them where it hurts the most, which is their pockets. smilies/grin.gif

but having said that, we need an alternative ISP.
written by andywongkch, August 28, 2008 12:54:48
I am able to access this website from the States without any problem. However, for those who are unable to login using TMnet to RPK's site, you can try the following software which will replace your actual ip (tmnet) with something else to make it accessible.

1. Easy-hide-ip 1.6

Easy-Hide-IP - Secures and Anonymizes all your internet connections and allows you to: Surf any Web Sites, Instant Messenger and Chat services, Web-based Email services, Newsgroups, Web Blogs and Forums. Your Identity is Secure, Protected, and Anonymized.

Easy-Hide-IP protects your identity by replacing your real IP address with a different one. You will appear to access the internet from a different location, not your own. Your real location is never revealed.

Home:
CODE
www.easy-hide-ip.com

Download:
CODE
http://rapidshare.com/files/107436047/easy-hide-ip.rar
written by laksa maner, August 28, 2008 12:57:50
MT-TEAM,

Pls keep this Link on the top of MT website.
Website banned ? Try the encrypted url

written by andywongkch, August 28, 2008 13:00:25
2. use TOR which is a freeware.

http://www.torproject.org/download.html.en
written by ChanRaj, August 28, 2008 13:13:17
Shit BN Government!! The more they do this the more discontent they create with the Rakyat. Shove the Multimedia Super Corridor up Mohamed Sharil Tarmizi's arse. Wonder what Bill Gates, Larry Ellison and Alvin Toffler have to say about this? BN is shit scared of MT and RPK and resort to all extreme dirty tricks to deny the Rakyat the truths. If MT is posting false reports, sue them. They (BN) can't coz its more work bribing the judges and lawyers so they use dickhead and running dogs like Tarmizi and the likes to do it. One BIG LOAD OF SHIT! BN can keep fooling itself and it cannot fool the people.
written by Angela Ooi, August 28, 2008 13:14:20
I am outraged and disgusted with this latest move to block M2day. I want to punish TM for forgetting we are the clients. Please advise on the best way to go about this. All should band in unison and show our outrage!!!
written by laksa maner, August 28, 2008 13:16:26

eval(unescape('document.write('Malaysia Today')'))

How Malaysia-Today URL encrypted using DesignerWiz URL Encryptorhttp://www.designerwiz.com/URLencryptor.htm

Just embed this code to website esp. the redirect URL will be hidden.
written by laksa maner, August 28, 2008 13:19:05
"
"

Sample ONLY. To use it, pls remove the
written by laksa maner, August 28, 2008 13:28:26
MT-Team,

Pls have a look at this website:

How to Obscure Any URL:
How Spammers And Scammers Hide and Confuse

I think this is another the best method for improving the MT websites. Let's hackers vs hackers.

written by vathi, August 28, 2008 13:42:08
Really fed up with BN gomen. Bring them down ASAP!
written by PAKRAK, August 28, 2008 13:58:12
All this is due to the loss in PP. UMNO/BN is venting their anger and frustration by retaliating this way.
written by JC Tan, August 28, 2008 13:58:43
By pass TMNet's DNS server.

Use open dns servers, spread the words:

http://www.online-tech-tips.com/cool-websites/free-dns-server/

Regards
-JC Tan
written by optimusprime, August 28, 2008 14:07:26
The Government might as well command all the ISPs to shut down all internet services, instead of blocking here and there. There will no longer be any internet services in Malaysia, no email, not chats etc. All mails will have to be delivered via POS Malaysia. As far as the Bill of Guarantee?? No matter, Cyberjaya is MSC is no big success, so no worries.

Anyone found with a wifi device at home will be charged in court. Next, they should also ban SMS and handphone usage. All calls must be made via fixed lines....... While we are at that, we might as well start wearing BELL bottoms and go back to the 70s.
written by Tom n Jerry, August 28, 2008 14:17:22
this BN government must be exterminated very soon;it is cancerous & needs a lethal injection of morphine to relieve its pain;send to eternal HELL smilies/angry.gif
written by jason, August 28, 2008 15:09:10
They can block the DNS but they cannot block the IP number.
So everybody just type MT IP numbers (4 numbers). Anyone will do.
written by RickyW, August 28, 2008 17:47:14
I'm surprised to know that Mt website was blocked. I thought in order to repair the damages from the March 8th and August 26th political Tsunami, they are more sensitive in carrying out more positive things.

Don't they know the law of attraction? Positive actions attract positive results, Negative actions attract negative results?

In making the access easier, I've came out with the following link to get into Mt:

myprofitbiz.info/mt

Copy and paste the above link to your browser and you'll be on yor way to the MT website.
written by Mag M, August 28, 2008 21:56:13
Can't have freedom of speech anywhere it seems where Malaysia is concerned. Slow to take action against real criminals but quick to take action on those who speak against them. Hope that RPK will post new URL on facebook if temporary site is down or whatever. I've also posted this new url on my facebook for all to see. We love you RPK.
written by durianbesar, August 28, 2008 23:02:02
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
All de arseholes in Barisan Nasional have to be flushed down the toilet.

Ahmad Bastardwi must be ****ed in his arse now.. (oops no rupture...) and his sidekick Najis too..and his mattress Rosmah..... the evil one...

Also the arshole info minister Taik Muhamad Taik.. and the mother of all the arse holes to speak like a shit hole... the fake Syed Hamid AlPecak... who is the biggest bigot and hyporcryte too... (oops.. he makan saja ! during Puasa.. most of the time... and also gets women to entertain him when he goes overseas... like... Cambodia, Laos,.. Thailand , Indonesia and Dubai..).......

Let's get rid of them all and throw them under the bus lah...

Long live Malaysia Today the world's number 1 best kept secret....
That the BN arsholes (they screw each other daily).... have no brains... anymore and are bankrupt of ideas...
written by durianbesar, August 28, 2008 23:06:00
Any body there can fix the way in which any BN shitholes websites.. Let someone create a fix to redirect TM websites to some monkey sites.. if everyone were to go and do DOS on TM and UMNO and GOMEN site .. now it will be fun to see these mf..u...c..k...e...r...s..go to hell
written by cllim123, August 29, 2008 00:34:52
Telekom Malaysia and MCMC are all BN gormen runnig dogs, Syed 'HAM'id being the biggest one. All the corrupt Umno and BN "leaders" (thieves, robbers and murderers) must go. RPK we support you, democracy and free press.
written by Ben, August 29, 2008 01:06:44
I am seriously disappointed when business such as TM becomes tools of the gomen to oppress. I protest and want to cancel my business with them, including my telephony and corporate soho. Anyone can advise alternatives service provider who will not be tools of oppression? Please help. Let's see how they perform without support from Malaysians.
written by Rozlan, August 31, 2008 08:58:33
MCMC culd block any website temporarily but not permanent.Internet was made in such a a way it cannot be blocked easily...Even CIA cant shut Al Qaeda website despite all sophisticated gadget..I dont think MCMC is any better unless Malaysia decided to abndoned the cyberworld and go back to the old pre internet era