Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow PKR may disappoint PAS in General Election - Mahdzir

PKR may disappoint PAS in General Election - Mahdzir PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 15 January 2008 10:08

(Bernama) -- PAS will be at the losing end if it banks on Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) to help deliver a victory for the Opposition parties in Kedah in the coming general election, said Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid.

Describing PKR as a seasonal party which resurfaces during the election, he said its pact with PAS would not pose a threat to the Kedah Barisan Nasional (BN) in facing the general election.

"PKR is only active during the election and until today it had not shown its resolve in helping to raise the economy of the people... Its support has eroded as it failed to provide service to the people," he told reporters after launching the Pasir Salak BN election machinery, here today.

Mahdzir, who is also the Kedah BN chairman, said PKR's existence was merely aimed at denting the voters confidence in BN by blowing up issues out of proportion.

He said Kedah BN which was ready to face the general election would field 30 per cent newcomers.

BN had many candidates of high calibre and character to serve the people, he added.

Present were Pasir Salak Umno Division head Datuk Tajuddin Abdul Rahman, who is also Kampung Gajah assemblyman.

written by mountainking, January 15, 2008 10:35:37
PKR is only active during the election and until today it had not shown its resolve in helping to raise the economy of the people... Its support has eroded as it failed to provide service to the people," he told reporters after launching the Pasir Salak BN election machinery, here today
******************************************************* ****************************

Hi No brain Mahdzir

hellooooo?? are you nuts?? who is the govt? you BN is the govt and you are telling us that PKR has not helped the people's economic condition. what a joke man? they aren't the govt and they don't have the funds to do so. that's why this round, we are giving them our votes (does not which race are we) so that they could be the govt to carry the duty that you have not done at all. trying to poke at others, why not have a look at Kedah, your baby. Is it doing well? No, you should be stepping down instead. i really pity the Kedahans for entrusting you to be their leader to help improve their economic conditions. try to talk about economics and wealth....hellloooo....which uni did you graduate from and what stream?
written by fireduck, January 15, 2008 10:46:51
Yes, I agree with mountainking. Why should PKR do the work that you in the govt are supposed to and paid to do? If the 'economy of the people' were not raised for the past 4 or 5 years, whose fault is it? Jeez, you couldn't have spun it worse! It just shows how shallow your thinking is, and you're just trying to pull the wool over the rakyat's eyes for the shortcomings of your govt.

And if you REALLY think PKR will disappoint PAS in the GE, then help PAS lah. Better still, put your money where your mouth is, and join PAS. Then when PAS form the next govt in Kedah, you may still be offered a gaji buta position.
written by kksam, January 15, 2008 11:03:24
Mahdzir please don't fart at us la. wei you are the government, when you failed to deliver you accused the opposition. when you repeatedly the same lies, eventual people will know and it all point back at you LIAR MAHDZIR!!!!!
written by ugikmto, January 15, 2008 11:09:22
Hey Mahadzir, you BN people always talk nonsense, don't laaa, once people get angry they won't call you Mahadzir anymore but maha pembazir (masa dan wang rakyat)
written by asguard, January 15, 2008 11:56:06
I am rather amaze by comments given by chief minister of Penang,Sabah, Menteri Besars of Sealngor, Kedah, Terengganu and few other states.. They seems to be hinting at opposition parties by say they win more seats and lack of co-operation among them.. Well, look at our respective states management - there are scores of cover-up corruption rampant, contracts given out without approval to bulit this and whatsoever fits them.. not benefiting the people of respective states... Always like to talk big but in end deliver nothing at... more misery than normal.. scores of scandals, string ...cover-up contracts..all this in name of deveploment.... hey the people are already tired to listen to your stupid and useless daily comments.. its time for change...
written by billykbk, January 15, 2008 11:56:15
BN had many candidates of high calibre and character to serve the people, he added....

Hoi Mentri Besar Mahdzir, candidates of high calibre and character????

Yes, they are ppl of high calibre and insatiable greed to incessantly hoodwink and swindle the Rakyat. As for character, majority of your BN leaders have loose morals la. Don't bullshit!!!
written by DontPlayGod, January 15, 2008 12:03:23
We often hear of UMNO/BN politicians telling us what has the opposition done for us. Such idiocy! What can you expect the opposition parties to do when they are not in power, or in the seat of Government?

We can been electing such idiots for the past 50 years.
written by hiro, January 15, 2008 13:09:55
Well, he is the incumbent, and not expected to say anythings else. But the sad thing is this - PKR won't get to respond to his statement at the same press medium. Now, that's unfair, and BN should be rejected on that ground. It's like there's a Toyota/Honda/Benz/BMW out there, and you're being fed with the myth that Proton is the best car in the world- the "monopoly of truth". Half truths, omissions, are all lies.

If the government through Securities Commission can impose RM3 million fine and 10 years imprisonment against companies and directors for not telling the truth when the company submits application for approval of certain corporate exercises, why can't the government hold itself to the same standards that it has imposed on the private sector? In fact, the government should hold itself at an even higher standard because the role of the government is to LEAD.

A government not committed to diseminate truth (or is serious in stating the truth) or allow others to diseminate fair comment is guilty of lying, and should be rejected fully by the people.
written by joeawk, January 15, 2008 14:48:06
If that is the case, Mahazir should not be concerned at all. Why is he then, I ask. He must be a worried man.
written by Saint, January 15, 2008 17:47:43
Let the people decide the outcome of a PAS - PKR cooperation.
This is BN tactic to win voters.

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009