Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow After Anwar’s win, is real change probable?

After Anwar’s win, is real change probable? PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 28 August 2008 09:44

THE STRAITS TIMES

Opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's impressive showing in a Penang by-election carries deep significance, which politicians raised in a culture of patronage and race segmentation ought to ponder.

The win was by a margin bigger than his wife's in the March general election. It came on top of misgivings induced by a sexual allegation against Anwar, dramatised by his accuser, a young man, swearing his truthfulness.

Leaders of the ruling Barisan Nasional, especially in Umno, will make of the poll atmospherics what they will. They could rationalise that Permatang Pauh was a family seat, that Anwar was an artful campaigner rolling on a momentum. They would be remiss in thinking only in those terms. What they will find hard to wave away is re-confirmation in the result that a tidal shift in Malaysia, in favour of an inclusive Malaysian nation, is well under way.

Urbanites, including more and more disaffected Malays, signalled their discontent powerfully in the March parliamentary elections, although Malays in the rural hinterland largely still hew to the race line.

This is the last, enormous divide to be breached. It will determine whether Malaysia becomes progressive-modern or backsliding-part modern. The field is wide open to contenders with the nerve and the ideas to make the races believe in one another. All political parties, not just Umno and its BN partners but also the race-based constituents of Anwar's Pakatan Rakyat, have work to do to undo the decades of indifference towards the concept of Malaysian-ness.

Anwar claims he can persuade enough BN MPs to cross the floor for Pakatan to unseat the BN government. Now that he is ready to take his seat in the Dewan Rakyat, scheduled for this morning, his credibility will be tested on the record. The defectors, if they eventuate, can just as easily be lured back to BN; such is the elasticity of Malaysian political allegiance.

Anwar is setting the ideological agenda by pledging to build a more equal nation. In Penang, he spoke of the people wanting change for freedom and justice. “They are saying they don't want to be taken for granted any longer,” he scolded. Umno as the linchpin of BN has also been grappling with the issue since it got shaken out of its slumber in March. Its difficulty has been how to protect Malay interests without making non-Malays feel like guests in their land of birth. It has to do a better job of it.

But Malay racial sentiment in the rural swathe is resurgent again after the electoral drubbing. The Islamic Pas, a member of Pakatan, has not been above playing up race. The bloc that can draw these divisive energies towards the political pulse centre will win the day. It is anybody's contest. — The Malaysian Insider

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by Tom n Jerry, August 28, 2008 09:53:32
BN must be demolished & buried for PR to take over smoothly;peoples power smilies/smiley.gif
written by hiro, August 28, 2008 11:06:05
PAS should think of the big picture - be a partner in a coalition where at least you wield some influence to push forward fair and just Islamic morality into secular law (and secular is NOT a dirty word)... or forever stay in the opposition. The choice could not be clearer than black and white, day or night.
written by Hakim Joe, August 28, 2008 11:19:36
BN must not only be demolished but their leaders must be held accountable for all the corruption and all the seditious actions they have incited in order to stay in power. Burying them is not enough. The country will need these monetary resources that have been stolen for the rebuilding of a true democratic nation. To cleanse us from this BN stench, we need to obliterate the source. No amnesty. No forgiveness. No royal pardons.

BTW MT, it is getting very hard to post comments. Sometimes after logging in, the comments column is missing. Sometimes when we click the "Add Comment" button, a pop up asking about of intentions to spam appears. I have allowed more than 2 minutes before clicking again but to no avail. Logging out and re-logging in does not help either. Even clearing the cache is useless.....
written by asguard, August 28, 2008 11:54:17
Let Anwar do one things at the time... let us not rushed him... there is so many things yet to settle....
written by The dragonheart, August 28, 2008 16:49:11
If the BN did not cheat, corrupt and misused government machinery , DSAI winning would be even bigger... and the message would be even clearer...
written by Century Patriot, August 28, 2008 20:09:34
Congratulation DSAI. The rakyat have spoken. I believe the majority of the Rakyat are
looking forward to changes for the better under Pakatan Rakyat [ PR ] Gomen.

I presume PR needs at least another 30 seats to exceed the BN by TWO SEATS.

Assuming PR does get to form the New Gomen with the extra TWO SEATS, I am afraid PR will be treading on very precarious and dicey ground bcos it needs just TWO Unscrupulous and greedy guys to jump ship and the status quo is upset. The reasons for such action by these two guys could be many especially when they are politicians!!

In this context, I wonder whether the PR leadership have decided the course of actions ie to give-in or otherwise!! If give-in is the decision then the question is when will it stop?

I hope DSAI and other leaderships would consider the above scenario for the purpose to strengthen and strategise their position before getting themselves drawn into dicey ground.

My three cents. Good luck and Malaysian Malaysia.
written by Tom n Jerry, September 01, 2008 09:50:14
Hakim Joe!I am seconder to your comments;I face similar problem as you;thats why I write very brief comments;dont waste time just in case it doesnt show up;thanks for elaborating on my comments! smilies/grin.gif

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009