Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow A gloomy not-too-distant future for Umno

A gloomy not-too-distant future for Umno PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 28 August 2008 09:37

The Malaysian Insider Commentary

It's the second time in six months Barisan Nasional, in particular Umno, suffered a humiliating electoral defeat. Strong voices within Umno have begun to sound the alarm bell - heads must roll.

As it was in the aftermath of the March 8 political tsunami, the target is once again Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Umno branches and divisions are watching closely as yet a new drama unfolds.

The fiercest criticism came from veteran leader Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah who threw it to the Umno president's face that his leadership was rejected by the people, "and, moreover, is rejected by our own members" after a disastrous defeat in the Permatang Pauh by-election yesterday.

"Today's report card, delivered to a prime minister who is accountable also as liaison chief of Penang Umno and chairman of BN, is impossible to hide - he does not have the minimal credibility needed to run the country day by day, let alone to take it in the new directions we need to go in a complex world.

"He may not have the credibility needed to keep the country together. This dangerous situation cannot continue, and it will not.

"Today is proof that this wave cannot be held back. Umno must change. We must begin by renewing our party leadership. I am confident that by December, we shall," said the Kelantan prince in a statement.

Basically he is asking Abdullah to quit.

A similar view was expressed by Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad's son Datuk Mukhriz who is also Umno Youth exco member, repeating his earlier call.

Tengku Razaleigh has offered himself to be nominated for the post of Umno president.

Party divisions will meet this October to nominate their choices for the party leadership. Umno branches began their annual meeting as well as grassroots level polls since July 17.

Due to the Permatang Pauh by-election, the meetings were postponed last week and will commence again this Saturday until Sept 14.

Umno branches, which are not supposed to nominate candidates for the top posts, have defied the rules to name leaders other than incumbents Abdullah and his deputy Datuk Seri Najib Abdul Razak.

Among those "nominated" for the number one post, besides Tengku Razaleigh, were Najib and Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, both of whom had declined the offer. Although about a hundred branches took the initiative, they only constituted less than half per cent of some 20,000 party branches nationwide.

Yet it was a signal that something is wrong in the party. Parti Keadilan Rakyat de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's victory is supposed to be another wake up call for Abdullah and Umno.

Almost six months ago, BN lost its traditional two-thirds parliamentary majority as well as five states to the opposition Pakatan Rakyat comprising PKR, DAP and Pas.

Already on the ground Umno members are whispering to one another, it's time for a muhasabah (evaluation).

This could mean that when the branches resume their meeting, although still without the mandate to nominate top leaders, they might just voice out their dissatisfaction with the top leadership.

They know for a fact that many of their comrades in Permatang Pauh had voted for political enemy Anwar.

As Tengku Razaleigh said it, "BN's vote count was less than the number of Umno members in the constituency".

Next week is the holy month of Ramadan, and Muslims by tradition are supposed to refrain from quarrelling and backbiting.

But the first half of the fasting month has been allocated for the remaining Umno branch meetings.

Besides having to decide whether they want a top leadership change, the branches too are bogged down with allegations of political bribes, intimidation and other misdemeanours.

With Hari Raya to be celebrated in the first week of October, and all the 191 Umno divisions will hold their meetings a week later, the clock is ticking for Abdullah.

Divisional campaigns, despite some form of prohibition, is known for its fierce fight as well as free flow of ringgit.

For the whole month of Syawal - until the end of divisional meetings on Nov 9 - Hari Raya open houses will be the bases for candidates to promote themselves as well as to campaign for their number one choice.

Even for Najib, who has failed miserably in preventing Anwar's political comeback, will be under a lot of pressure from the increasingly demanding party members who want to see a real change - for better or worse when.

Umno holds its polls in December.

written by Democrats, August 28, 2008 09:57:12
UMNO presidency this DECEMBER - chance to be the OPPOSITION leader in Malaysia. Any takers???
written by rayfire, August 28, 2008 10:09:24
Dear UMNO members, for as long as you don't see the need to expand your views and treat all Malaysians as equal and treat all BN components as equal partners I don't see a point in change of leadership ,as it will still remain unwelcomed by the new generation of young leaders and people of Malaysia who wants to see past race and religion and would like to be united as one for our beloved nation.
So please, the mind set have to change. You need visionary people who can speak for all Malaysians, someone who does not believe Ketuanan Melayu is the priority instead of Kegemilangan Rakyat!
People like Tengku Razaleigh are old school.
You need people like Zaid Ibrahim ,Shahrir Samad and the like to turn the fate of your party around!
I don't see that happening anytime soon, so unless that happens, be prepared to disappear into oblivion.
And be prepared to welcome the New Dawn on Malaysia!
With God's grace, Malaysia will be heading for a brighter future!
smilies/cool.gif
written by Susanna, August 28, 2008 10:49:19
Why just blame PM when the DPM is the director of the whole show at Permatang?
written by hiro, August 28, 2008 11:10:42
I don't see how UMNO division leaders upwards will want to give up their gravy and vote Razaleigh into power, unless he promises not to touch their corrupt ways.

The only hope for a thorough cleansing is to replace the federal government. No ifs, certainly no buts.
written by Hakim Joe, August 28, 2008 11:49:31
What future?????
Ooh...you mean the time between now and Sept the 16th, right?
written by DontPlayGod, August 28, 2008 11:59:44
So what, Ku Li, you will still need to play the race card to be President, just like all the others before you, just like Najis and Kerismuddin. Or else how can you take over? Racism has been instilled deeply into the minds of UMNO members by your ultras and your BTN has done an excellent job in this respect. The irony is that BTN is a Government department under the PM's department and funded by the rakyat(mainly the Chinese). Will you remove this BTN? If not, what difference will you make to us?
written by superstar232006, August 28, 2008 14:10:55
i hope Anwar become prime minister and if he fails then i would prefer Ku Li and pls DO NOT LET our great bloody DPM Najib to become PM...and when the day arrives our country will be moving backward and our NAJIB will continue with his bloody statement like " UBAH GAYA HIDUP"
written by budakindia, August 28, 2008 18:16:56
We need to bring down all the parties that practices Nazi, Apartheid, Fascists policies period! smilies/grin.gif Down to Nazism, Fascism, Apartheid. Maybe after that we should trial them like the Nuremberg Trial! smilies/wink.gif
written by Sabahfan, August 28, 2008 18:44:35
NOW it is UMNO who should be charged with SODOMY, for sodomising the rakyat for the last 50 years.... enough enough.... please go burnt in hiell...
written by shamadz72, August 28, 2008 22:48:09
Nasihat aku Kepada UMNO. Selamat bermesyuarat untuk memilih pemimpin pembangkang untuk persidangan parliment yang akan datang dari kalangan kamu smilies/smiley.gif

written by joeawk, August 29, 2008 00:54:36
UMNO members who love their party must force the leadership accountable for bringing disrepute to the party. UMNO members are being used as tools or rather fools to enable their leaders to enrich themselves.

UMNO members must wake up to their senses that Ketuanan Melayu is against Islamic Teaching and if UMNO members or PAS members for that matter, continue to promote Ketunan Melayu, blame not people who deride and pour scorn on Islam but blame yourselves because you as muslims have by your own conduct brought disrepute to your religion.

To the PKR guy by the name of Zulkifli. Pick up your Quran and read it 50 times and you will have a better understanding of the Quran. If you cannot find solution for the victims, do not demonstrate against the Bar Councli who were seeking solution. We have not forgotten you, not so soon at least until you repent, if bloke like you ever can.
written by bunian, August 29, 2008 02:09:25
With all due respect, Ku Li, it doesn't matter who becomes the next UMNO President. It's just time for a change and UMNO has to go. We all have had to endure all these years of kena Saiful that it is just time for a change. Period.
written by Milo, August 29, 2008 14:38:12
Next week is the holy month of Ramadan, and Muslims by tradition are supposed to refrain from quarrelling and backbiting.
--------------------------------

Only partly correct! The holy month of Ramadan is a training ground for Muslims to be an upright person - and not just during that month, but to be an upright person permanently so!
written by Angela Ooi, August 29, 2008 22:24:39
UMNO with its Ketuanan Melayu is passe. It has no way to go but OUT.
written by Tom n Jerry, September 01, 2008 09:53:05
UMNO still got future???Maybe in the underworld HELL!ThaTS THEIR FINAL DESTINATION! smilies/angry.gif

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009