Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Defeat not an emerging trend, says PM

Defeat not an emerging trend, says PM PDF Print
Thursday, 28 August 2008 08:15

By NELSON BENJAMIN, The Star

JOHOR BARU: The loss suffered by the Barisan Nasional in the Permatang Pauh by-election should not be read as an emerging trend for other constituencies.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi stressed that while the loss was something to be concerned about, the situation had not reached a “worrying level” as Barisan Nasional still controlled 140 seats after the March 8 general election.

We can still continue with the government. We are aware of the mandate given to us and we will work hard to deliver,” he said.

Congratulating Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim on his win, Abdullah said the victory was expected by many people, considering that Permatang Pauh has for a long time been regarded as Anwar’s constituency.

And for two terms it was represented by his wife, Datin Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail. So now the constituency returns to him,” he told reporters after attending the12th annual leaders’ consultation between Brunei and Malaysia here yesterday.

Asked whether the Government would be taking the threat of MPs crossing over to the opposition more seriously after Anwar’s win, he replied: “We are well aware of this threat. This is something everyone knows.

People have been talking about it. As far as we are concerned, we will look after our people, we will continue to perform and continue to do what the rakyat are expecting us to do and we do not have to worry beyond that,” he said, adding that he did not expect any Barisan MP to leave the party.

Abdullah also dismissed the assumption that Anwar’s boast that he would become prime minister if he won the seat had swung votes to the PKR adviser.

I don’t think so. I think there are other things which he promised, like reducing the fuel price and racial issues in our country which drew the attention of certain parties,” he said.

written by Liberace, August 28, 2008 08:25:14
How on earth did we put someone as thick as AAB as PM? Btw, why congratulate when you don't mean it? Try saying sorry first.
written by expat70, August 28, 2008 08:31:28
As the saying goes - " The taste of the fruit is in the eating". The next by-election, if ever there is another, will tell if the defeat is indeed an emerging trend.
written by Bigjoe99, August 28, 2008 08:31:49
Its not about a trend!!! Its about what worked and what did not worked. Going as negative as they did in Permatang Pauh was new AND it did not work. The opposition machinery lead by Keadilan proved they can hit back as hard as before, it has never been done before.

Its about assets and abilities and at the moment, it looks like its in PR favour for the future...
written by Loonie, August 28, 2008 08:33:53
Bodowi said:-
“People have been talking about it. As far as we are concerned, we will look after our people..........
blah blah blah! Yes, you will be working even harder in "looking after" your UMNO buddies through more intense corruption. Bribe, bribe, bribe with the people's hard earned money.
written by Loonie, August 28, 2008 08:35:14
There's a saying in Chinese "the dead chicken still tries to kick off the lid of the pot!"
written by Loonie, August 28, 2008 08:36:05
You are toast Bodowi!!!!
written by oknyua, August 28, 2008 08:46:45
The old sleepy self-delusion sleepy head is in denial mode again. Keep on sleeping, sir.
written by avj, August 28, 2008 08:53:28
Carry on dreaming AAB. The world is just passing you by. You are history,and nobody is listening.
written by Engineer, August 28, 2008 09:06:42
Defeat in by election is not an emerging trend bcos it had already emerged and it is a trend now and no longer consider as emerging.
written by ilovepakatan, August 28, 2008 09:15:06
He's right. Defeat not an emerging trend. Because DENIAL is a far more emerging trend.

Speak to the hand and dont waste my time.
written by ahmadneil, August 28, 2008 09:19:27
Go and shake Anwar's hands if you see him in parliament.Let's see it on the front page of all your newspapers.
written by loosecannon, August 28, 2008 09:20:58
If he is so cocksure, why not disslove the government and call for a general election? Maybe it will save his skin too if he wins big.

Incidently RPK, it looks like their effort to block your site failed miserably. Long live MalaysiaToday
written by densemy, August 28, 2008 09:28:09
Oh dear!!!... Just another defeat, a bit worrying that it was more serious than the previous one.

But I'm the chosen leader of UMNO and as such i'm perfect so there is no need to worry too much

I'll just take a nap now. Would you wake me when the next crisis arises
written by DezMalaysia, August 28, 2008 09:41:24
written by DezMalaysia, August 28, 2008 09:46:01
written by Tom n Jerry, August 28, 2008 10:14:58
PM yang pupus masih nak bersuara;menjijika;masuk neraka lah,Badawi! smilies/angry.gif
written by InEffective, August 28, 2008 11:54:35

What is an emerging and growing trend is the culture of filth, evil, racist, oppressive and coercive behavior in governance.

Our dysfunctional self-absorbed administration will do well to understand that the rakyat will NOT put up with their disgusting and revolting methods. They better start delivering real and meaningful contributions to the rakyat.
written by mykantree, August 28, 2008 12:31:59
AAB is correct."Defeat not an emerging trend, says PM". It has been a FACT immediately after the previous GE.With a leadership like his, which other way can it go? Malaysian has been him an opportunity to do good that no other PM has been given before, and yet he squandered it like nobody else.Too much has beeb said about his performance since, so Malaysian should put talk aside and do the necessary to put this nation on its proper track.One that goes forward, not backward or sideways.
written by apanama, August 28, 2008 13:40:08
alamak pookimak. WHY is our beloved country run by a DUMB ASS yang takde hotak.
MASIH TIDUR LAGI KE? tengok muka dia pun aku dah muak nak muntah.

YA TUHAN, INSAFKANLAH INSAN NI. kera-jaan ni mengajar anak bangsa semua yang KAU larang...mencuri, menipu, menganiaya, merompak, memfitnah, membunuh, dan bermacam-macam lagi.
written by Kathy, August 28, 2008 16:25:44
Hmm, Badawi sir, are we living on the same planet?

Quotes of the day:
“Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi stressed that while the loss was something to be concerned about, the situation had not reached a “worrying level” as Barisan Nasional still controlled 140 seats after the March 8 general election.
We can still continue with the government. We are aware of the mandate given to us and we will work hard to deliver,” he said.

Where does this man get his information from? This is rapidly becoming a comical farce. Remember the incident when the American troops were landing in Baghdad airport and the Information Minister, affectionately known as Comical Ali thereafter, said that Baghdad would not be overrun and the Iraqi troops were defending the capital? Well, this reminds me of that incident.
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by rams609, August 28, 2008 16:46:22
THIS IS YOUR PRIME MINISTER FOR YOU! THE BOMB HAS EXPLODED IN FRONT OF HIS FACE AND HE STILL DOESN'T KNOW IT!!! STOP SODOMIZING THE PEOPLE DOLLAH!!!
written by rams609, August 28, 2008 16:47:30
KALAU ANAK KECIL BOLEH DIHAJAR.... KALAU ORANG TUA NAK MAMPUS KITA CAKAP APA PUN DIA INGAT DIA YANG PALING BETUI!!!!
SUPER BODOH PUNYA PEE EM!