Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Anwar's in, Pak Lah's out

Anwar's in, Pak Lah's out PDF Print E-mail
Posted by St Low   
Thursday, 28 August 2008 01:58

AUG 27 — Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's stunning win at the Permatang Pauh by-election not only cemented his position as the undisputed leader of the opposition in Malaysia, it prompted senior Umno politicians to begin the countdown to Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's last day in office.

The majority view is that he has to go by the end of the year if Umno and BN are to stand any chance of checking the advance of Pakatan Rakyat and holding onto to power at the next general elections.

Tuesday night was a repeat of March 8 with Pakatan Rakyat giddy with an electoral success and BN politicians dizzy with another rejection by the public.

But the joy was sweeter for the opposition because their icon not only won but did so in style, trouncing BN's Arif Shah by a 15,671 majority, 2,000 more votes than what his wife obtained five months ago.

The pain was more severe for BN because unlike March 8, they were not caught blind-sided. They poured in millions of ringgit into the campaign, brought their heavy hitters, threw every conceivable missile at Anwar but still ended up losing badly.

The consequences of the Permatang Pauh by-election could be far-reaching, with even Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's neatly-packaged two-year transition of power under threat from increasingly disillusioned party members and leaders of coalition partners.

On Tuesday, only two hours after the last box of votes had been counted, senior Umno politicians were in deep discussion over the need for Abdullah to step down, believing that he had lost the ability to check a resurgent opposition.

A check of the voting pattern at 25 polling stations showed that Anwar snared a handy portion of Malays votes and the bulk of non-Malay votes.

Even the Siamese electorate – a traditional bank of BN support – gave their vote to Anwar.

Najib put on a brave face, saying that Anwar's victory proved that democracy was alive in Malaysia. Left unsaid was that the BN defeat showed that not much had changed on the ground since March 8. Despite the raft of promises by Abdullah to reform the system, the public was not moved.

If anything, Permatang Pauh confirmed that Chinese and Indians no longer fear giving their support to the Opposition.

It also confirmed that the umbilical cord between the Malaysian voter and the Barisan Nasional has been severed.

BN politicians have compiled a list of excuses for the heavy defeat, saying that Permatang Pauh has always been Anwar's fortress; that the campaign was pockmarked with allegations and innuendoes and that the electorate was in no mood to support the establishment because of the rising cost of living.

But they all sounded like excuses and could not obscure the fact that BN suffered its heaviest by-election defeat in recent memory.

Never has BN been in a deeper hole. Never has  Abdullah Ahmad Badawi faced such a bleak picture.

- The Malaysian Insider

written by varvoom, August 28, 2008 04:11:56
As I type millions upon millions of ringgits are being funnel away to BN off shore a/c. I just hope that there are some lawmakers who are at present with BN wake up from their deluded self interest and think of the legacy that will haunt them forever.
Votes: +17
written by steve, August 28, 2008 04:12:46
Dear MT readers -it certainly has been a whirlwind of a campaign and a furious contest. UMNO and the BN partners seem to be hard of hearing and really do not have the pulse of the electorate. The idiots did everything they could to LOOSE the election. They have rediscovered that you intimidate the voter at your own peril. Examples - heavy police presence in chinese population areas to intimidate them, refusing to hold the by-election on a weekend just to reduce polling attendance, and the stupidity of playing recordings of saifuls allegations. Najibs swearing about Altantuya was I guess the last nail on the Barisan coffin. If UMNO does not return Malaysia to its democratic origins, then they will well and truly dig a hole to bury themselves - hopefully FOR GOOD. Najiband Badawi need to go. I think they should jump before they are pushed. If Anwar pushes them, then all their skeletons will see the light of day. There is a distinct possibility that they will be scrutinised by a renewed and robust Anticorruption agency.
Votes: +17
written by tenang, August 28, 2008 06:29:51
The Malaysian Insider, the faceless analyst body,

It is obvious you toe the TDM line when you put this right into your second paragraph:

The majority view is that he has to go by the end of the year if Umno and BN are to stand any chance of checking the advance of Pakatan Rakyat and holding onto to power at the next general elections.

I don't think removal of AAB to sustain the BN administration is serving the people any good. The BN should be placed under opporsition for the democracy and the nation future a chance.
Your blame exclusively on AAB, but not the entire machinery of BN/UMNO, is not reflecting the people sentiment shown in Permatang Pauh by-election. I think you have hijacked the voice of the people. Who is the majority that you refer to?

BTW, I do know all articles from The Malaysian Insider are not keeping the interest of people in mind; The Malaysian Insider is a spin doctor, riding on sentiment, but it actually serves some masters other than the common people.

I predict if we keep poke on The Malaysian Insider until it loses its ability to act as spin doctor, it will mutate into other names (such as The Malaysian Outsider smilies/cheesy.gif)
Votes: +12
written by omarkhayyam, August 28, 2008 06:59:29
DSAI,

can we have a nice Merdeka 51 thn by u taking over the PM seat by 30th July

Votes: +3
written by Naha, August 28, 2008 07:13:18
Mahathir, your hypocrisy just makes me want to stock up on barf bags. So convenient, blaming Dolah Badawi, when every rot plaguing the party you konon-kononnya disowned, was your own doing. Maybe a good idea to pack your bags to head off for sunny Zimbabwe for exile? Then again, I hope a Pakatan government will not pander to "forgive and forget" sentiments, confiscate your passport and make you face a free court, the Lingam case for starters, and many other cases. This country needs to see you being punished in order for it to heal.
Votes: +13
written by bexe, August 28, 2008 07:22:29
To me this victory is a victory for the people of Malaysia. Finally we have stamped our demands clearly. We want a clean, efficient, capable, visionary Government. We want Justice, meritocracy and all the tools necessary to compete in the new world.
We do not want feudalism, xenophobia, religious extremism, authoritarianism, racial supremacist, cronyism,& corruption
If the incumbents cannot hear this they should go because the public will crush you.
Votes: +13
written by ROBERTNGTG, August 28, 2008 07:41:13
, it prompted senior Umno politicians to begin the countdown to Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi's last day in office.
Never has BN been in a deeper hole. Never has Abdullah Ahmad Badawi faced such a bleak picture.

LIKE THE SONG GOES, "ITS THE FINAL COUNTDOWN"
WITH ALL THE SHIT BY SO MANY SHIT THROWERS, NOW BN IS IN DEEP SHIT
Votes: +4
written by OilMan, August 28, 2008 07:45:52
If the election was conducted during the weekend, the majority would easily surpass the 2000 plus number of majority votes. It would have been much, much, much higher. Therefore BN should now be VERY AFRAID !!!
Votes: +5
written by OilMan, August 28, 2008 07:57:58
Would it be possible for the rakyat of Malaysia believe any promises made by AAB? The answer is NO because he has lost his credibilty by making too many flip-flop decisions. Today no fuel pice hike, tomorrow price of fuel went up, today crooked bridge, tomorrow no crooked bridge (then few days later SCOMI was listed in the Singapore stock exchange), today price of oil will be brought down at the end of the month, tomorrow price of oil went down before PP election day.

How can we trust what the PM says???? I won't, will you?
Votes: +11
written by Bigjoe99, August 28, 2008 08:27:51
I don't agree its a referendum on Pak Lah. Sure he was not leading and that itself is reason to fault him but if people are asked to resign for what Permatang Pauh represent, it would have to the top leadership of UMNO - the supreme council including UMNO Youth. Najib who led the campaign did not make all the decision himself - its not his style. He always hedge his bets by making others make the decisions for him and hence its really a verdict on the top leadership of supreme council which sets the tone for the entire machinery.

The problems started with Dr. M and how the supreme council look now. The supreme council was suppose to be a checked on Dr. M and it was them that allowed Dr. M to come in and rule for 22 years and wreck UMNO ways under Tunku and Onn Bin Jaffar.

The supreme council should have stopped Dr. M when he got rid of Anwar but they did not and this is payback for that mistake and mistakes since. They should have backed Badawi original promise of reform but instead they opposed it.

No the problem does not begin with Badawi, he is just the a player in the middle of the storm.
Votes: +6
written by Beezee_Beezee, August 28, 2008 08:29:42
This is where our YAB DSAI the critical figure to conquere the wrong doing by the BN goons. I remember reading one article back in the nineties when a so call business man Halim Saad had shiponed something like RM800Mil from the IOFC labuan. I am sure the BN goons knows when YAB DSAI back to business he will start to investigate this as one of the scam through TDM administration. Hidup DSAI Hidup RPK.
Votes: +2
written by coolmint308, August 28, 2008 09:28:28
It is not AAB to be honest. His incompetence failed him. He should have used the high mandate given to him in 2004 to sweep clean the attrocious legacy left behind by TDM. He didn't, and he missed it. That showed his incompetence in many ways, including having the wrong adviser in SIL and perhaps others. That's politics. He may be a nice man in many ways, which people supported him for being straight and telling the electorate what he is going to do, indirectly redressing what TDM had done during his campaign in 2004 GE. But he didn't deliver what he said. It just as simple as that! People gave him a chance to repent on behalf of umno/ bn, but he blew it. Through his imcompetence, he made things worse, didn't reign in the over ambitious and self-serving supporters, thus made a mockery of himself in the eyes of the highly educated and internet savvy Malaysians of the present days (compared to 2004, we have come a long way to be a highly educated and world-class internet savvy people!!). So, I beg to differ from the Malaysian Insider, and I believe many Malaysian will, that the old legacy of TDM and the umno cronies, plus the bn component cronies, as a coalition party has not changed, and any change of leadership will not make a difference! The pot cannot called a kettle black so they say. The temptations to make easy money through patronization, and race based politicking to stay in power to enrich oneself, etc will remain with the leadership, as they grew up from there, and very difficult humanly to reject as such! The only way is to inject in new blood, or have those people who have gone through “hell” to take the helm and to be transformed from top down, and rule by example. The current one, and only one who fits the bill and could possibly do that is YB Anwar. He went through “hell” in the past 10 years, and still remain non-maligned, gracious to his enemies, intelligent, fortitudinous, and has the charisma and respect to hold the PR together, and to possibly groom more people on the way, including LGE, HM and others, to make Malaysia a truly Asia country, as widely advertised to the world in the “Visit Malaysia “ campaign. If we say so to the world, we must do so to let the world see, so that they can come, invest and we be connected to the global economy for the benefit of our citizen. We can’t be a hypocrite, say one thing and mean another! People are intelligent enough to notice. Internet is just a modern day communication tools to make news and things happened faster, and we cannot escape from that. Create an environment, conducive for the multi-talented Malaysians of multi-ethnic multi-religious background to rise up in their talents and work together for the good of the nation. We, as a family, has to take care of our self. The world will not, to face reality. The multinational will not. If they see we, as a nation, is not competitive and conducive for their business they will pull out and go elsewhere. We need to be able to create wealth for the country to share. If Singapore, as a small country can do that. If America can vote in an Afro-American to be the potential next president. Why can’t Malaysia do as well, if not better, by learning from them, and enhancing our Malaysian talents, and be liberated from the legacy of the bn/ umno self-enriching party. Those countries are multi-ethnic and multi-religious. So are we. To take a leaf out of them is no loss of face but humility. Our Malay brothers and sisters need not feel intimidated in this world of globalization. I hope Islam will make you a true worshipper and you have nothing to fear. People who are God fearing, has nothing to fear. Honestly if God can’t save us, we can’t save ourselves anyway. We can only do as good as our fellow Malaysians say we are, in majority of us who live with integrity and justice. The time has truly come for a structural change as well as in our mind. So repent and be transformed while the time is now! May God bless all Malaysians and Malaysia!
Votes: +11
written by miwaki, August 28, 2008 09:33:29
I will celebrate Merdeka this year !
written by Ben Nordin, August 28, 2008 09:36:40
....senior Umno politicians were in deep discussion over the need for Abdullah to step down, believing that he had lost the ability to check a resurgent opposition.

Wow. He has ability?
written by kupas, August 29, 2008 00:25:03
i fully agree to has been said. two wake up calls has been made, but barisan choose to sleep. the pains and sufferings of the lay man has been taken in passing. no real measures and no hard hitting actions taken to address the root problems faced by ordinary people. the peoples rep in barisan who should be fighting for the interest of the people they represent but they chose to represent the government to oppress the people by increasing petrol prices, allowing hikes in transport fares, rising food cost, unemployment, and so on and so on. why would the care because all their expenses are paid from public funds from the oppress people. in simple terms there are the vampires while the people are the victims. so the tide of change has started and will culminate in the change the way the government going to behave. with new leadership there will emerge a government that will be people friendly, transparent, caring and humble. what we have today is a government that is errogent, selfish, self centered, greedy, cruel, and worst of all they think they are gods themselves. remember remember the 8 of march and 26 of august 2008, more will come and more will go...
Votes: +1

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Wellness Industry Is Booming!  Learn how you too can own a low capital home-based business to generate extra supplemental stream of income by using internet for these challenging economic times. You may earn RM1K up to RM10K a month working only 5-10hrs/week. Full system provided.

Home Based Business  Earn extra income $5000-$10,000 monthly, 24 hours a day. Just working part/full time from the comfort of your home. Legitimate business, have a most powerful product in the world. Register for FREE first to save your position in this powerful system.