Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Plans for action against Malaysian Bloggers

Plans for action against Malaysian Bloggers PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 28 August 2008 01:34

Despite jubilation over the Opposition’s win in the 26th August by-elections, political bloggers in Malaysia face the sobering prospect of the government taking tougher action against blog and website owners.

Online news has reported that the government is serious in countering online allegations against them by taking alleged wrongdoers to court for defamation and sedition. This decision was said to have been reached during a meeting last week involving several Cabinet ministers and senior government officials, including Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak.

The government now realises that online news is the preferred information source over mainstream media for Malaysians. It was reported that the government understands the significance of leaving online allegations unchecked, especially after their failing to secure two-thirds majority in the lower Parliamentary house during the March 8th elections, as well as the recent landslide victory of Opposition icon, Anwar Ibrahim, during yesterday’s by-elections in Permatang Pauh.

RPK in the lock-upAfter decades of managing information through legislation regulating mainstream media, the government faces frustration with the availability of online information. Malaysia’s Communications & Multimedia Act 1998 disallows censorship of the Internet, leaving the government only three legal alternatives: on a national level, sedition and the provisions under Internal Security Act 1960 (which allows for detention without trial); and on a private level, defamation law suits (see also Jeff Ooi on defamation).

This year has seen the government dealing with blogger Raja Petra Kamaruddin (or RPK) for sedition, while there are ongoing investigations against blogger Sheih, also for sedition. Blogger Bakaq was taken in recently for questioning,  also for alleged sedition. Aside from this, RPK faces a defamation action. As such, the stance of the government against bloggers appears quite clear. Critics have called for less focus on alternative news, but rather greater accountability and transparency. They have also called for the abolition of the legal shackles on the mainstream media.

On a possibly related issue, bloggers have reported that RPK’s news portal, Malaysia Today, might have been blocked by authorities. Apparently, the news portal cannot be accessed through any TM connections. TM is run by Telekom Malaysia, Malaysia’s largest Internet service provider. Online news site Malaysiakini has confirmed in its report that RPK’s Malaysia Today has been blocked by the order of Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC).

Malaysia Today can be accessed through its mirror site here.

- Global Voices Advocacy

written by Semut Jantan, August 28, 2008 01:49:45
One door closes, two opens up.

I am thinking of starting one overseas, someone please show me how by contacting me at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by HawaiiBlues, August 28, 2008 01:50:09
BN: Yeah, yeah, yeah, you're right, blame your defeats on the bloggers. Blocked by TM, no problem ... all fellow M'sians, just unsubscribe to TM and get yourselves another service provider. Looks like TM does not need your business. Get your blogs hosted overseas, etc. and get your international blogger pals to publish on their blogs. I'm sure you guys know what to do.

Better train your brainy undergrads and all those umemployed grads to be super bloggers and see if they could help resurrect BN's image??? With brilliant students like Saiful, I'm sure it can be done!

Go bloggers go .... your blogs are a joy to read. Keep up the good work smilies/grin.gif
written by aplus, August 28, 2008 01:58:05
They still don't get it, do they? In that you can't fight against the rakyat's resolve in seeking the truth.
written by Areyaar, August 28, 2008 03:25:39
They are completely aware that all it takes to get people not to visit the websites as often is to allow the local media more freedom. When people feel they can trust the local media to give them the full picture, they will rely less on the internet. They know this and yet....
written by arazak, August 28, 2008 04:50:31
This regime never learns.

The more they intimidate, suppress, and oppress . . ., the more the Rakyaat will retaliate!!!

This is the problem when we have a regime who thought the world revolves around them. And that the people have to adapt to their whims and fancies!
written by Daryl, August 28, 2008 05:29:23
BN look like you just confirmed our suspicious that you are a cornered dog. Bark, bite and scramble all over the place.... face it if you are no good you will always stay that way. If you style of politic is 200 years old... is time to go get a newer model... banning web site in a free country is useless.... All these technology today you can block all you want it can be overcome...

PLEASE SPEND OUR MONEY WISELY AND ALSO OUR PDRM MANPOWER AS WELL....
written by mikewang, August 28, 2008 07:06:33
"Malaysia’s Communications & Multimedia Act 1998 disallows censorship of the Internet.."

Fortunately for Malaysia, the BN government will not be able to amend this act because of the lack of a 2/3 majority !
written by mikewang, August 28, 2008 07:09:35
"Online news site Malaysiakini has confirmed in its report that RPK’s Malaysia Today has been blocked by the order of Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC)."

Perhaps someone from Pakatan should file a legal suit to challenge TM and the government for the infringement of the Communications & Multimedia Act 1998.
written by Dhan, August 28, 2008 07:50:36
TMnet is making rpk rich. He should sue them and MCMC for RM 20 million. That is on top of another RM 20 million form Shafee.

Someone these guys at tmnet are not bright. They do not seem to understand that they are a 'service provider', they simply rent out the telephone wires only lah!!

Under the new Pakatan govt, TMnet will lose its ISP license.
written by avj, August 28, 2008 08:30:41
People are saying you are taking us to fourth world status. I disagree, you are taking Malaysia to the stone age. Remember Flintstone.
written by Taikohtai, August 28, 2008 08:42:14
The BN gomen has found out too late that the taste of its own medicine is too bitter!
What's been shafted down the throats of unsuspecting rakyat in the past no longer works and the hoi polloi has turn to new media and internet for more relevant and up-to-date news.
There is simply no way BN can stem the turning tide because BN claims to be democratic although it is actually more dictatorial.
How about dishing out TRUTH, nothing but the TRUTH for a change, BN? That's what the rakyat had always wanted to know.
Najis can start with the real happenings with Altantuya for a start, instead of hiding behind his holy book and mumbling Wallahi, Wabillahi, Watallahi to only sycophants. Crikey! If he ever writes a book on it, bet it will outsell even the Harry Potter series and make J. K. Rowling looks like a pauper!
written by PenangChap, August 28, 2008 09:30:28
The more you suppress the more Rakyats will come out braver. We are living in IT world now. Please dont insult our intelligence. Only the truth will prevail.
"Berani kerana benar", "Honesty is the best policy"..learn BN learn!!
written by qwerty, August 28, 2008 09:38:27
Scene: Government man shoots masked blogger. Bam! Bam! Bam!

Government man to Masked Bloggers: "Die! Die! Why you won't die?!"

Masked Blogger: "Behind this mask is an idea... and ideas are bullet proof!!"

Scene: Masked Blogger breaks gmen's neck with bare hands.

~Malaysians adaptation of "V" for Vendetta.
written by Rainbowseahorse, August 28, 2008 10:03:39
Forbidden fruits are the sweetest!
Does our imbecile government realise that they are actually HELPING to publicise RPK Malaysia Today blog?? I am quite sure more Malaysians and foreigners will make a beeline to this blog.

Congratulation RPK, you will soon be able to stock list your blog, and thanks to our stupid government! smilies/grin.gif
written by Ali Cordoba, August 28, 2008 10:19:34
Cant access MT from Celcom net service. This is an illegal act. People do not pay celcom or TM to have limited access to internet websites. The result of this will be that many people will drop TM and Celcom. The telco company will surely beg for ppl to buy their services then!

World Futures  Afghanistan is where Nato and the US are killing civilians indiscriminately. Is there a need to protest against such killings? Are YOU not concerned and don't you think you might be next?

Terenganu by-Election 2009