Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Ku Li: PP defeat shows UMNO must change

Ku Li: PP defeat shows UMNO must change PDF Print
Wednesday, 27 August 2008 13:53

Statement on the Result of the Permatang Pauh By-Election

26 August 26, 2008
YBM Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah
Member of Parliament, Gua Musang
31 Jalan Langgak Golf
55000 Kuala Lumpur

Today, five months after we met with the biggest General Election loss in our history, UMNO has suffered a landslide loss at Permatang Pauh. This despite the mobilization of the entire leadership and resources of a party that has held the machinery of government without pause for fifty years. This despite a campaign that embarrassed and divided the nation with its ugliness. It is time to face the music: it is we who have been buried:

- Our leadership is rejected by the rakyat and, moreover, is rejected by our own members. BN’s vote count was less than the number of UMNO members in the constituency.

- Within and among our component parties we ran a poorly coordinated and listless campaign against a motivated Opposition.

- What scraps of credibility the Prime Minister and his Deputy had left after March 8 are gone.

Today’s report card, delivered to a Prime Minister who is accountable also as Liaison Chief of UMNO Penang and Chairman of BN, is impossible to hide: he does not have the minimal credibility needed to run the country day by day, let alone to take it in the new directions we need to go in a complex world. He may not have the credibility needed to keep the country together. This dangerous situation cannot continue, and it will not.

I appeal to the members of UMNO and of BN’s component parties to stand by UMNO in our hour of crisis, and to take a sober historical perspective. The people of Malaysia and along with them, Umno’s ordinary members, have found their democratic voice. They demand leadership that can be trusted to unite our people, to restore confidence in our institutions, and forge a clear national direction. Today is proof that this wave cannot be held back. UMNO must change. We must begin by renewing our Party leadership. I am confident that by December, we shall.

Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah

ROCKY'S BRU2

Comments (39)Add Comment
written by lakshy, August 27, 2008 14:05:19
Tengku, you are right that UMNO needs a change in leadership. Sadly, I dont think the rakyat finds anyone in umno that has the calibre or the ability.

You might be a better choice than AAB or Najib, but it would still not be good enough. It may be a little too little and too late! Umno is totally out of touch with reality, simply because the umnoputras are in it for themselves and not for the rakyat. Get back to the basics if you want to move forward.

written by kc respect, August 27, 2008 14:07:03
Well come back, Tengku. LONG TIME NO SEE, OR HEAR!!!! Have not heard from you for the past few weeks despite your dream of becoming UMNO chief & PM. Probably, you were cut off or shut up by your own people, I mean, UMNO's media & leaders.
Do you think you still belong to this group of people???? You left UMNO for a good reason, but you joined back for the wrong reasons.
written by Lostsoul12, August 27, 2008 14:07:05
This despite the mobilization of the entire leadership and resources of a party that has held the machinery of government without pause for fifty years

You know what, Arif might lost by much smaller margin if not because of all the big shits there (Thanks for their help)
written by ahmadneil, August 27, 2008 14:07:37
Yes,umno's report card are in red.It's too late Ku Li.Time is ripe for you all to step down and let Anwar do the job.He knows what is plus and minus,whereas umno now only knows nothing.If you umno cannot save yourself then how can you all save others.Adios Amigo umno.
written by venna, August 27, 2008 14:07:38
PORAH Razaleigh. This has nothing to do with AAB. This has everything to do with all you self-serving politicians in BN who are dragging this country to the dogs. Stop using this defeat by BN to your advantage so that you can take over AAB's job and continue to destroy this nation. The Rakyat knows this and we know that you are no different from the rest of the racist BN/UMNO goons. First repeat what Anwar has the guts to say that there is no room for racism in Malaysia and all rakyat be it Kadazan, Iban, Malay, Chinese, Indian and other decendendts are Bangsa Malaysia. Come out clean otherwise you akin to the Pot calling the Kettle black.
written by SamSan, August 27, 2008 14:15:46
Unless MCA,MIC,Gerakan and the Sabah and Sarawak Parties and their leaders are treated as equal partners and wiht due respect by UMNO, I can see UMNO facing doomsday. The problem with UMNO after Mahathir left is that each and every lower level or little napolean in UMNO want to assert their authority and if need be step all over the top leaders of the BN component parties. I still recall the idiot Melaka Mentri Besar(office boy mentality), who is in fact only a lower level napolean in the UMNO hierarch talking down the president of a smaller component party and put that BN component party leader to shame. In Mahathir's time, this type of behaviour of lower level napoleans taking over the President of UMNO's role will be met with a very sharp rebuke. Now with Bodowi running the show, nobody knows who is the real leader in UMNO.
written by DezMalaysia, August 27, 2008 14:19:23
Ku Li, You're stupid or another muddle head ?

Majority Malaysians want UMNO/BN buried for good ! Corrupt & Racist trash scums ! We want clean & transparency government and not BN filthy hands abusing our nation's coffer ! A new UMNO / BN leader means another new tactic for corruptions ! Buzz off stupid old dude ! !
written by alberttan, August 27, 2008 14:19:45
UMNO Baru has been cursed by the legacy of TDM Bapa Hypocrisy, Korupsi dan Sodomi, who is now preparing to migrate to Zimbabwe (no other country want this racist fascist, good riddance to bad rubbish!!!) Cannot wait for what che det has to say about his migrating, I hope he bungkus his sons with him.

The UMNO name is a curse to most Malaysians today, it will be easier for Tengku to revive Semangat 46 than turn UMNO around. It is an insult to Malays the way UMNO had betrayed them and Malaysia, enriching only the corrupt UMNOPuteras and thinking the Malays are still so stupid and easily fooled. Their sons and daughters have seen what UMNO had done to their parents
written by cinapekk, August 27, 2008 14:21:00
" What scraps of credibility the Prime Minister and his Deputy had left after March 8 are gone."

hmmm...how about itu Vote Of No Confident " ???
written by tarantula, August 27, 2008 14:22:38
If DSAI can make a change by September, why u still wait until Dec. I guest kiss good bye for all UMNO & BN. Good luck Ku Li, please dont work hard ...work smart!
written by NSTPravda, August 27, 2008 14:23:40
Ku Li: PP defeat shows UMNO must change?
In questioning UMNO's perfection he must be deranged
If UMNO has suffered this alleged landslide loss
How come we are still the country’s money boss?

To say that “it is time to face the music”
Shows that you are totally Unislamic
We UMNO matyrs rather die than say sorry
UMNO youths are on stand by to die for Najib's glory

Of course, Hishamuddin is too precious to die
We need him to raise the keris and he is a nice guy
Then KhairyJ is also very valuable and smart
We have to preserve him right from the start

But we can always rely on our UMNO mat rempits
We can always use them as we do dimwits
That includes our favourite turncoat Ezam
He will make such a tasty sacrificial lamb

We have heaps of people like Saiful
With enough dollars, he will swear on a Qu’ran or two
We have Najib who can simultaneously lie and pray
All in all, we think UMNO is absolutely semua-nya OK!
written by AuntyG, August 27, 2008 14:24:32
Kuli dear,
Its too late babe, its too late for you guys to change.
The old fart leaders are not willing to stop the rot bcos all of them are only taking care of your own gravy train, at Raykat's expense. Kuli, the only way you can make changes is to throw the overweight baggage (overweight from plunder and daylight robbery) off the sinking ship, then maybe the Titanic can still stay afloat in the maritime museum.
written by bitterzone, August 27, 2008 14:34:20
People, the fight is not over yet, it has only just begun. Yes, we have won an important battle, but a bloody war lies ahead.
written by pillars, August 27, 2008 14:34:59
Ku Li why still onboard of the sinking ship. Jump out. Joint PKR or build yr own ship like Wan Azizah did last time.
written by Hakim Joe, August 27, 2008 14:38:40
"They demand leadership that can be trusted to unite our people, to restore confidence in our institutions, and forge a clear national direction."

Trust, Unity and Confidence. These three words quoted by Ku Li are non-existent.
Do we TRUST BN? NO.
Does BN promote UNITY? NO.
Do we have CONFIDENCE in BN? NO.
That is the reason why BN lost and lost badly at it.
written by sjs, August 27, 2008 14:40:17
Tengku Razaleigh, I hope you will understand why UMNO cannot change its believe on Malay Supremacy! A phrase coined by them to remain in power. Today unfortunately, they need to play with this same racial sentiment to amass their wealth! Each time their position (which is needed for the accumulation of wealth) is threatened, they call for their favourite phrase! They have chosen this path, and it is impossible now to follow the path of multiracialism. Unfortunately again, this syndrome has permeated into their component parties! Please accept the fact that Malaysia needs Anwar at this most critical juncture and turning point in its history! You are an experienced statesman, I strongly advice you to join forces with the PR!
written by prof, August 27, 2008 14:48:09
Tengku, for once you are damned bloody right on your assessment of what is wrong with the BN leadership. As a member of the royal family you should have the moral courage to tell several top UMNO leaders (some of whom are descendants of pirates or boogeyman) that this is not Malaya or Malaysia before the coming of the British where the feudal chiefs could do anything they wish to do. This is the 21st century and Malaysians young and old are very highly educated and knowledgeable about everything. UMNO can fool some people sometime but not the whole lot of Malaysian people all the time.
written by jimfish, August 27, 2008 15:00:21
Even the, Musharraf of Pakistan which labelled as a prominent dictator resign. What does he waiting for?
written by Dreamlander, August 27, 2008 15:04:42

You are right when you said "The people of Malaysia and along with them, UMNO’s ordinary members, have found their democratic voice. They demand leadership that can be trusted to unite our people, to restore confidence in our institutions, and forge a clear national direction. Today is proof that this wave cannot be held back. UMNO must change. We must begin by renewing our Party leadership."

Can you find such people within the current corps of UMNO leaders who are:
(1)Leaders that can be TRUSTED by Malaysians ???
(2)Leaders that have proven ability to unite ALL MALAYSIANS ???
(3)Leaders who can restore CONFIDENCE in our INSTITUTIONS ???
(4)Leaders with foresight to guide MALAYSIA to prosper in the 21st century ???
Sadly, there may not be that many as we need shiploads of them to bring Malaysia back from it slumber.
Why not gather these capable UMNO members to join PR in its endeavor to CHANGE & FORGE a DYNAMIC & UNITED MALAYSIA.
written by Rainbowseahorse, August 27, 2008 15:12:16
Helloooo Tunku! Yes, yesssss you are very right in everything you wrote of UMNO, and more!
Problem is, Tunku, we don’t belief you are criticizing UMNO leadership because you genuinely despise their gross corruption, inefficiencies, cronyism, arrogance, etc2. but because the whole of Malaysia know your ‘hidden’ agenda of becoming PM.
So, how are you ever going to get our support? Perhaps if you join PKR and fight for a one Malaysia for Malaysians with all your heart & soul, you just might…I said just might, yah!…get to become DPM of Malaysia. But then again, you have to be 100% genuine, yah! We shall give you your report cards after…hmmmm..how about 2020??
written by khongja, August 27, 2008 15:18:47
At last umno is dead! It was dying a very slow death after TDM's era.Well do you think this umno scums of this country can do another trick again? We have never seen or heard of this generation liking this scum party.
It payback time for them and we also shouldnt forget those scum lap dogs component parties.
Cheers to Anwar!
written by Rainbowseahorse, August 27, 2008 15:19:47
Opphhs! Tunku, I forgot to ask you about your Dec.2008 dateline to change out UMNO leadership.
Are you still going to pull that...ahhh..not so cleaver stunt back in 1994 where you managed to persuade that ******* Sabah CM of ours (Pairi) to leave the BN at the eleven hour of election and then you all failed miserably?
Bit of advice: Don't try that again yah, because that Pairin is now a toothless old fat dog (along with all the other PBS *******s) being lead on a very short leash by UMNO Sabah.
written by Sam W, August 27, 2008 15:20:49
When BN is strong, UMNO never thinks to give face or credit to the other component parties. When UMNO is rejected, it asks the component parties to stand by UMNO. Well, this time round, the people reject UMNO AND ALL the component parties of BN, so it's useless to ask for their support. What can they do? They can't even help themselves. Yes,BN, we reject the whole lot of you, for you dance while the people suffer (and you open satay shop in a foreign country, while thousands are displaced by floods). And Tun Mahatir, no point for you to return to UMNO to rebuild it. You will only enhance peoples' disenchantment with the party, for we know what you have done for the 23 years you were calling the shots. And for Tengku Razaleigh, too litle, too late. Stay away and keep your image clean.
written by Celestial, August 27, 2008 15:26:49

The only salvation for the ruling party is to change the leadership and beg the Rakyat for forgiveness for the years of abusing their power and corruption. Until a leader of conscience can be found among those who are in UMNO, I see very little chance of the current Government surviving.

I would suggest that if you truly believe in the kind of Malaysia that is for all Anak Anak Bangsa Malaysia, then you should seriously consider resigning from UMNO and join Anwar in his quest for a Malaysia that we all have dreamt of.
written by Ulan Benson, August 27, 2008 15:39:34
No need to change lah...just dissolve the party. All racial based parties are no longer relevant as of 08.03.2008

No matter what you change, re-brand or packaged beautifully, the shit still smell the same as every race is fighting for "their own rights" thus breeding hatred among other races. Dissolve all these racist parties...it is no longer relevant.

Since 08-03-2008, there is only 1 true race...that is..Malaysian.
written by onnetline, August 27, 2008 15:44:36
Coolie,

You seem very desperate to get elected to be an opposition party leader in Pakatan Rakyat government.

Why is that so ???
written by EYFF, August 27, 2008 17:01:44
Tungku please think and ponder before opening your mouth. You lost the whole of Kelantan except for two seats! In December you want to be elected to lead UMNO? The PR will be very happy if you prevail! Because all the BN seats would be lost except for 2 per State?
written by Sean E, August 27, 2008 17:19:29
"despite the mobilization of the entire leadership and resources of a party that has ABUSE the machinery of government without pause/fail for fifty years".

Well said, Tengku. Sadly, like minded people like Tengku are a minority in UMNO, a party that has forgotten about its roots and history. A party that has grown arrogant and greedy.

BN, the beginning of the end, has started. Grassroot members of UMNO must act brave to rid the party of its number 1 & 2 members before it is too late.
written by Navigator, August 27, 2008 18:35:56
So, Ku Li, you want to become PM? Sorry, too late. Anwar is going to be PM
written by Saint, August 27, 2008 19:01:25
YBM Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah,

If you really have the people in mind what difference does it make if the party is UNMO, BN, Semangat 46 or PR. It is the heart and the mind that counts. The people are with PR. So join in with PR and do service for the Rakyat - not for the corrupt.
written by Fuminari, August 27, 2008 19:43:57
malaysia need leaders that speak n talk logic n sensible reasoning who fear to fail the nation n the rakyat!!definitely not people like KJ,Hishammudin,toyo......who yell nonsenses n racist rhetorics...
jus take a look at KJ n Hishamudin thro' out the campaining at permatang pauh this time,KJ n hisham basically yelling all the time the minute each of them stepped onto the stage!KJ esp. jus doesn't know how to speak n talk facts in a proper manner!!hav u ever seen obama,putin,hu ching tao,wen jia bao,lee hsieng loong,susila,fukuda etc etc yells????as a matter of fact,KJ,Hisham n the gang are exposing the barbaric instint deep within themselves...n this is umno.
written by latihanQ, August 27, 2008 19:47:50
Everyone already knows Mr. Badawi is an EVIL HYPOCRITE, so what have you blokes in UMNO been doing this 5years. Sleeping with the devil?
written by binarytan, August 27, 2008 20:13:32
UMNO does not need to change, just remain the useless idiot leader then only we have chance to topple them soon and return justice to the nation.

Malaysia has lost its direction under the useless PM. He will turn it into police state.

written by flls, August 27, 2008 20:20:58
UMNO can never change. they don't think there is anything wrong with them. instead they think its the rakyat who are self centered, not appreciative, cerewet, brain washed by anwar, etc etc. what they should do is to freaking get out of this country. none of us want to see their ugly faces anymore!!
written by born2reign, August 27, 2008 20:50:41
UMNO must change. We must begin by renewing our Party leadership. I am confident that by December, we shall.

UMNO must change. BUT UMNO will not change. No UMNO leadership, wants to change, after feasting on the rakyat's blood and sweat for the past 50 years. Like a robber/prostitute who has no other skills other than to rob/sell their inheritance, UMNO leaders are unable to earn respect and create unity. UMNO means black magic, fool the bumis, fatten the sons & in laws, disunity and oppression.

By December, UMNO is history.
written by Vasily, August 27, 2008 23:30:32
Ku Li, perhaps you should change your name to Pu Ki.....then it sound more presentable....
written by froggy, August 27, 2008 23:37:17
Khairy Jamaludin's CV - Desperately Seeking New Employment

http://thedandelions.*********...a-new-job/
written by Susanna, August 28, 2008 13:13:36
Pak Lah had the same ideals when he first became PM. What happened? It's UMNO that needs to change. Anyone else will also be sucked into the corrupted system