Both Malays and non-Malays victims of the gov't PDF Print
Wednesday, 27 August 2008 11:02

I refer to the letter Understanding the bumiputera's position 2008.

It's sad that after almost 40 years of affirmative policy for the bumiputera population of this country, it seems that the overall progress of the bumis in the areas of education and eradication of poverty is still far from satisfactory. Time and time again we see many Malay leaders and intellectuals express their concern in their various writings and opinions in the mainstream media as well as the Internet.

The writer of the above is but one of many of them. By and large, his view, I believe is consistently shared by many if not the majority of the Malay population. I do not dispute that unless the majority of the population is satisfied with their socio-economic position, the minority who live in relatively better (in the view of the majority) living conditions will find in hard eventually to enjoy the peace and fruit of their labour.

Therein lies the dilemma of a nation which is still in is infant stage of development. How can we make progress as a nation, pulling every one along without sacrificing the needs of the others? Thus far the policy of the present government, as far as I can see is doomed to failure.

The Umno-led Barisan Nasional's government divisive policy is perhaps the mother of all evils. The farcical make-up of a muhibbah government from the various group in the name of Umno, MCA, MIC and the rest is nothing more than hogwash to show the world.

In reality, in its 50 years of rule, Umno has consistently played on the theme of Malay supremacy, instilling fear in the Malay population that unless Umno is supported, Malaysia will fall into the hands of non-Malays and become a second Singapore. This view was shared to me by many of my Malay friends in my schooldays.

This fear alone, I believe, has been enough to keep Umno afloat for the past 50 years. Some one once wrote in a blog, ‘I would rather swing on trees, then see the non-Malays dominate’. It is no wonder that despite scandal after scandal, corruption, murders and all kinds of economic mismanagement, Umno had come out unscathed.

Most Malays were willing to tolerate the failures of their leaders even at the cost of the nation, as long as their needs are provided and as long as the other races are not put in power. They fail to see that after 50 years of managing the country and its economy, the blame should squarely lie with the leaders they have chosen year in year out.

Instead, they are brainwashed into believing that the non-Malays are the main cause of their suffering. They point to the economic pie that is dominated by the non-Malays, they point to the private sector where the perception is the unwillingness of private companies to hire Malays, they point to the private colleges and universities that are dominated by the non-Malays.

They blame everything on other people but fail to see the failure of the leadership they have chosen. Before people like the writer  point their fingers and assume that the non- Malays are selfish and are not sincere in helping the Malays and are keeping them from catching up, let me point out that, Dr Mahathir Mohamad before his retirement had said that almost 90% of the taxes are paid by the non-Malays. These taxes are used to finance everything that is needed for the nation.

The non-Malays really have not much say in the matter of how the funding is allocated. In terms of enjoying the benefits of the taxes they paid, it is not difficult to note that the Malays are the major benefactors.

In the private sector, the competition is stiff for jobs. Companies are driven by efficiencies to produce profits to satisfy their shareholders. Though it is not totally absent, the practise of racial discrimination is rare simply because an employer would want an employee who is qualified and efficient to do the job, not because of his colour. If the argument is that many Malays cannot find job in the private sector, then a genuine survey must be conducted by the universities from which they have graduated from to identify the problems.

Such an assessment must be based on facts and not emotions .In the various companies I have resided as director, we have hired Malays without any problems.

In education, many not well-to-do non-Malay parents work their pants off, selling old newspapers, mee hoon, kway teow, you name it, just to save money to finance their children in private colleges and universities so that their children do not have to slog like them. The private colleges and universities accept fee-paying students regardless of their racial background.

Despite the taxes that they have dutifully paid to their government, the non-Malay students do not enjoy the benefit of enrolling into public universities of their choice, but instead have to fork out thousands to finance their education. Are they not the victims also?

We can go on and on to argue and about our difference but the ultimate truth is that both the Malays and the non-Malays are in fact the victims of the current government's policies. That is why Anwar Ibrahim has come like a breath of fresh air

Despite his past, he has taken a consistent position in saying he will uplift the economic well- being of the nation, leading us all as Malaysians forward. We need a leader of his calibre to downplay our differences as Malay, Chinese or Indian, but instead unite as
Malaysians and that all will be treated equally and fairly.

The first step to move forward as a nation is acceptance not dominance. Unless people like the writer begin to see the non-Malays as of equal standing and not the pendatang or a ‘threat’ as projected by many zealots, unless they see that there are also many non-Malays (especially the Indians) who desperately need affirmative action to uplift their livelihood, we will remain a nation divided, ruled by the same people who want to see us divided so that they can continue to plunder the nation under our very noses.

- Fairminded

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by ez24get, August 27, 2008 11:20:02
Very well written article and is indeed fairminded as the name of the writer!

Anwar is the personification of what is the opposite of UMNO and the Rakyat's hope for change. It is bigger than a mere person. It is larger than Anwar! It is an idea that the time has come for it to flourish from North to South of Malaysia! No matter what shit or legal actions are being thrown at Anwar, people just don't care anymore! People don't care whether Anwar is a sodomist or a racist previously or a corrupt individual in the past under Mahathir's administration. The by-election in Permatang Pauh has proven this.

UMNO has thrown everything at Anwar including accusation of sodomy, claim that he is Jews, USA, Chinese and Indian agents, police intimidation, ACA investigation, claim that he gave contracts to cronies, claim that he received $60 million from Magnum, sending 6 bus loads of phantom voters, etc, etc. But these did not stick on Anwar. Why?

Because the Rakyat's is sick with UMNO! It has more to do with UMNO and less with Anwar. The Rakyat is very sick and tired of UMNO's arrogance, corruption, wastages, abuse of power, racist policy, causing hardship to its Rakyat, incompetence in running the country and disrupting the harmony of the various races.

The thing is this - people are now looking beyond Anwar! They are looking at the very evil of UMNO and praying for its early demise. Anwar is that thing which represents change! Fairness...hope....ketuanan for the Rakyat!

The harder UMNO resists the Rakyat like using the judiciary, police, ACA, MSM for its own nefarious ends and curtailing the freedom of the Rakyat to rally peacefully and express their opinions will be met with like forces – hastening the death of UMNO!

The time for this idea of change has come! Whosoever stands on its way will be swept away – be it Arif, the nice UMNO guy in Seberang Jaya, the MCA, Gerakan, MIC or any BN component parties. If these component parties in BN and the nice guys in UMNO are so dense and could not realise this, they will be destroyed by this tsunami unwittingly unleashed by them! The only way for them to survive this calamity is for them to repent and deflect from this very root of evil which is UMNO which is causing the Rakyat to hate so much.
agree 138
written by oknyua, August 27, 2008 11:24:04
I am a bumiputera and I don't agree with this letter in Malaysiakini.

When I built up my company,it was literally with much sweats and even tears. No Chinese trusted me with goods because of their experiences with my brothers, the bumiputeras. I had to pay everything in cash - and yet after a year or so, reputation builds up and suppliers started knocking at my doors - all giving terms.

Chinese, Indians, Orang Puteh - all don't owe us a living. We want gov't help all the time, not knowing gov't help is tax money. If Bumiputeras accept "succes is after hard work", no affirmative policy is needed. But if you want "success before hard work," continue be an "Ali-Baba" until kingdom come or start blaming others for what we longed for yet won't work for it. Thank you.
agree 186
written by Bigjoe99, August 27, 2008 11:28:01
If UMNO/BN formula can work, the Communist would still be around and in fact more successful than Western countries.

Bottom line is state power is limited and its best for everyone especially the govt to appreciate it. It is the liberty of individuals and common persons, their liberal economics and minds that create and build wealth, prosperity and society in the end..
written by rockli, August 27, 2008 11:30:12
Well said,
Mahathir has done more harm than good for this nation.
Foe 22 years he and his adm. harped on Malay supremacy, enhanced racial polarisation.
NEP means nothing to most Malays as they are not given anything in it, esp. the poor folks who need the most help.
Only the already rich bumis benefit from the NEP, and keep benefitting mostly they are Umno members.
Rural poor are ignored, omly once in a while some are 'blessed' with goodies - that also is very highlighted in the news media.
Whats the point of the NEP, when the really deserving needy are not benefiting?
written by bumiputeri, August 27, 2008 11:37:36
I agree completely with this writer above. Malays are personally very tolerant and nice people. But, it was the UMNO govenment that actually was deviding, brainwashing and misleading the whole nation, especially the Malays, that the non-Malays are not patriotic and will defeat the Malays and kick them out of this country.

For one moment, I urge all the Malays to think, if other countries in this world treat the minorities like the UMNO government does, how will it be??? Imagine Malays in Singapore being discriminated like the Chinese and Indians here in Malaysia, 12 As in SPM, 4As or 5As in STPM, still can't get into a local university to do medicine or law etc....

If the majority of the community (65%) fears the minority 35% after 50 years of special privileges!
written by salsabarney, August 27, 2008 11:42:39
A very good piece of analysis by fairminded that summarises the things which are not right in Malaysia.Indeed, by pitting the bumis with the non-bumis they are able to retain political power for the last 50 years.
At the same time, political party like MCA also did its part by making statements with racial overtones in the guise of helping the welfare and fighting for the rights of the Chinese.

I remembered receiving one SMS before the March 8 General Elections , it went something like " Chinese must be united so that we can enjoy the prosperity in the country, we have no choice because UMNO is always the big brother. Support MCA because MCA is the only one who fights for Chinese rights"

I was thinking..is this what BN is for???..Malays fight for their rights under UMNO , Chinese fight for their rights under MIC.. This.. by itself is racially divisive. Ketuanan this and that...there will be endless..What about Malaysians fighting against the world??

Anwar gave us something we longed..unite as Malaysians an fight as one country one nation, regardless of race, religion and creed. The hope is what we need in these turbulent times. We should be audacious enough to hope for a new Malaysia..Just like what Barack Obama mentioned in his book 'Audacity of Hope'

yeah....Anwar won decisively in Permatang Pauh!!! BN- time for you to go on Sept 16!
written by miwaki, August 27, 2008 11:44:38
It all boils down to competency and integrity.If UMNO-led BN government is competent,malay and non- malay as a whole will benefit from their policies.No affirnative actions are required as our country is rich in natural resources and there is something for everyone regardless of color and creed.

When you have corrupted and incompetent government,though the government is made up of malay,they can't even take care of malay because there is not enough to distribute after plundering the nation's wealth among themselves.Don't forget,UMNO has to give a portion to MCA,MIC and also a little bit to Gerakan.

After all this ,they still talk about Vision 2020 ! The year Malaysia becomes third world country.
written by onnetline, August 27, 2008 12:01:05
BN-Umnoputras, please get lost !

The rakyat wants the space to move forward.
written by shan, August 27, 2008 12:02:54
ASK NOT WHAT THE COUNTRY CAN DO FOR YOU,BUT WHAT YOU CAN DO FOR YOUR COUNTRYI am a non-malay and I have done my share to contribute to the growth of the country,unfortunately my country did not reward me for my contribution.,.
I am not being selfish by saying reward me,but I do expect that for the amount of money I am taxed on,the least my children should get is a decend education in the local universities so that they have a fair chance to compete in their time.
The bloody BN has robbed my children of this oppurtunity,A normal nonmalay parent has to fork out at least 2000 ringgit a child,for the extra tuition and this doesn't end here.The foreign Universities cost a bomb in terms of forex.

What do we do,?.,.Those of us who can afford,will "BUY PR" in foreign countries and uproot the families,so that the childrens future is secured.
In the Orange county,CA,USA,,.,.The amount of tax you pay determines the quality of life,immaterial of color or creed.,.We are talking about merits,,DUDE.
oknyua,you don't agree with the writer,that's your right,I agree with him,You get gomen contracts,I don't.,Your children can go to their chosen Universities built with my money,my don't and you get 10%discount on purchases of houses,I don't.Talk about bank loans,easy payments,npl writeoffs,and all the creams that you enjoy.,.,.Temples we built are our own money, mosques are built using our money,.,.Did we at any time complain,NO,NEVER.....
You say no chinese trusted you initially,,.,.,.No man in his right sense of mind will trust another without the other proving himself,.,Conmen, there are many,Indian,Chinese,Malay,Japanese,Vietnamese, and the list can go on,.,.,.but its the onus of the giver to ensure that he is not taken for a ride,.,.
I have in my lifetime seen,many cronies taking bank loans for bussiness,and the money is use to buy cars and renovate the homes first and then only they sit down to do bussiness,by which time the funds are exhausted and GLC like maybank,tru Khazanah will foot his NPL,and again we pay for it.
I HAVE DONE MY PART FOR MALAYSIA,NOW WHAT IS THE CURRENT GOMEN GOING TO DO FOR ME,? smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif Whatever you do will make no difference to me as I have my foot in two different countries,and to tell you the truth,the other country treats me better eventhough I am aPENDATANG//ALIEN smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by shan, August 27, 2008 12:12:10
all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. — That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, — That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness. Prudence, indeed, will dictate that Governments long established should not be changed for light and transient causes; and accordingly all experience hath shewn that mankind are more disposed to suffer, while evils are sufferable than to right themselves by abolishing the forms to which they are accustomed. But when a long train of abuses and usurpations, pursuing invariably the same Object evinces a design to reduce them under absolute Despotism, it is their right, it is their duty, to throw off such Government, and to provide new Guards for their future security
WILL WE BE ABLE TO SEE A BETTER TOMORROW smilies/kiss.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by Rasputin, August 27, 2008 12:33:26
Mr shan you got it wrong on oknyua take. He was refering to the article written published in Malaysiakini not this MT article which was wrote by fairminded. Everyone here agreed that fairminded observation encompassed the peoples' aspiration and desire for a true progressive Malaysia for all citizens.
written by albertan98, August 27, 2008 12:47:24
Shan, I think oknua did not agree with the letter in Malaysia Kini that was mentioned in this article, not with this article per se.

As for myself, I think there is so much sense being written in the comments that I cannot understand why the politicians in UMNO, MCA, MIC, and Gerakan cannot comprehend the situation they are in.

The only reason I can think of is that they merely want to preserve their position in power, and possibly for some, not all, the opportunity to accumulate more wealth for themselves. They are not thinking for the good of the nation.

I believe the understanding ones in the BN parties are even now contemplating the consequences of trying to defend an indefensible position. Anwar represents an idea whose time has come and nothing will stop it . . unless it is by resorting to dictatorial tactics like Emergency Rule etc.

The top leaders of the BN parties have too much to lose to accede to the winds of change. After all, if they do, they are themselves swept away from power. So their only hope is to prevent the change of Government and give themselves time to change "slowly" . . at their pace.

I think that the political situation in Malaysia is dicey. Because of the compliant police and judiciary (I don't know about the army), there is a real danger of BN resorting strong arm tactics in getting rid of Anwar (imprisonment on trumped up charges) with the hope that the intervening years before the next GE, the BN may make have time to make some changes to their racial politics and present themselves as an alternative to the Pakatan. Time is what they badly need and time is what they do not have.

So I suggest to those politicians who can read the signs of the time . . . make your decision now and come on the side of what is right and moral. Assume the moral high ground before it is too late and you are tarnished forever. Join the Pakatan and make a difference to how Malaysia can become, if not for yourself, at least for the next generation.

Honestly, do you see a future for your children under the policies of the present BN Government . . whether you are Malay, Chinese or Indian?
written by Loonie, August 27, 2008 13:12:27
Another great article. This is exactly the reason non-malays have to immigrate for the sake of quality education and life for the next generation. It is not that they are non patriotic, they just feel unwanted, unappreciated and bullied. Honestly, many will return to their land of birth when DSAI becomes PM of Malaysia and it is not an unachievable path. God bless Malaysia!
written by oknyua, August 27, 2008 13:30:38
Ha Shan., Ilove you brother - no I am not gay, but read my posting again. By the way I sent my 3 children overseas without gov't money. And I graduated from local Uni wihout a single sen from gov't too. So, are you going to read my posting again, or lost in your anger?
written by Diz, August 27, 2008 13:42:03
I agree it's a very fair-minded argument. Also agree with your posters that it's mystifying why the ruling elite can't seem to understand why people are so pissed off. But let's be clear that the NEP was a socio-political necessity and it has largely achieved its aims - 74% Malay poverty in 1960 versus 7% Malay poverty in 2005 (UNDP). Despite the undeniable successes, the distortions created have had a very negative impact on the chances of the Malays competing in the ever-changing national and global environment. Clearly it has to go but the vested interests run too deep even though the end losers are the majority of the Malays.

It seems to me that the key challenges for the Malays are no longer political or even economic. They are cultural. A culture of sycophancy and subservience to power, of 'do as I say not do as I do' has been damaging. It's difficult to see any decent role models for young Malays to follow - hence they jump on the UMNO bandwagon for security, allow a rigid version of religion to dominate their lives, or scoot around on motorbikes looking for their next spliff.

Religiosity and conformism promoted through the education system is arguably the most damaging of all since it promotes a mentality of 'cannot, cannot'. Education. Education. Education...
written by nylong, August 27, 2008 14:16:37
I will make a comparison here, Malaysia & Australia:

Both countries have about the same population,
Both countries have abundant natural resources,
Both countries start about the same time in history (assumption)

Very different results now!
One First World nation.
One Going into Third World nation (soon, if nothing is done).

Why?? System of Governance!!
That's why!
written by Rainbowseahorse, August 27, 2008 15:50:52
Do you really know what's wrong with us Bumiputras...well, my brethren & sisters Bumiputras?
They do not have self confidence to do better than the other races in business which, traditionally, have been the domain of these other races. When, with the help from our government (well, to some of us anywhere), they find themselves vested with money & power, they just cannot or do not know how to handle these wealth & power resulting in extremism. They either grossly abuse their wealth and power, or they start be overtly protective of what they have thinking that everyone is out to steal from them.

Sorry, I cannot quite put my thoughts into proper words as I am in a hurry now.
written by Ann Meng Sim, August 27, 2008 15:50:58
And after all that has been said and done, we still get silly comments like that posted by that 2121 person above.

No hope. Truly no hope.

written by tino_chan1988, August 27, 2008 16:32:48
I can't put in words how dismay and worried I am for the future of my children and also to all Malaysian on what the future holds for us in Malaysia.

50 years ago, Malaysian - regardless of race, religion or skin color has but one major concern, to provide daily food and shelter for their families. Government under the leadership of our beloved Tunku Abduk Rahman emphasized that the multi-racial rakyat needs to compromise and work together for the success of country. There were of course hiccups along the way but the rakyat did compromised and Malaysia did fairly well in the early years of independence.

50 years later, based on the political structure and policies brainchilded by our leaders, Malaysia has taken a big step backwards rather than to a fair and successful multi-racial country. Just how far have we degenerated? Well, let's see:

How many 40s-year old Malay woman or even man would share a room with a non-Muslim say, on a official corporate trip nowaday?

Does the majority Malay citizen still join their non-bumi friends for a gathering at a 'Chinese' kopitiam?

A charade of protests on issue of a one-race/religion university and the condemnation of those who dare to address or suggest anything oppose to it. I have always thought that those only for 'white' only occur in South African during the Aparthied era.

Leaders who speak of Ketuanan Melayu in times when the country needs to be more patriotic in a continuously competitive world.

Continual and openly practice of cronysm and racial priorities policies, etc for the benefits of the selected few only.

Just to name a few.

In a nutshell, all these issues and racial tension are created and instilled by our past and present leaders in UMNO today. Yes, UMNO was probably essential 50 years ago in the formation of Malaysia, with a clear vision of establishing a ONE Malaysia race, religion, language and culture. But over the last few decades, these noble visions have somewhat been distorted and misused by our present leaders for their personal gains.

As a Malaysian Chinese, I do not resent the bumiputras or their religion and cultural practices. (in fact most of my friends are Malays)but if the government's continual practices and trends of instilling racial disharmony among the younger generation of bumiputras by suggesting that Malaysian will fall to the non-Malays if they fail to support UMNO, I do worry for a possibility of rising racial tension and worse to follow.
written by KotaDamansara73, August 27, 2008 17:40:55
oknyua,

We need more malays like you to be the example for all human race to move forward. Therefore, I hope you can spread your message around to more malays who aspired to be entreprenuer like you.

I think you need to tell PKR about that. Otherwise, the majority of the Malays are still lost and have very low self esteem.
written by Hello Keithy, August 27, 2008 18:32:09
By the look of it, the Malays suffer more than the non-Malays. Otherwise, UMNO has no agenda for their sandiwara. Actually the non-Malays are so used to the unbiased ruling that they are able to survive until now. If only the Malays realise it now, it's still not too late for them to catch up with the rest of the world ..... i.e. if they want to. For they are so used to the good life the govt. is providing them with.
written by rainmanpj, August 27, 2008 18:32:51
Does the majority Malay citizen still join their non-bumi friends for a gathering at a 'Chinese' kopitiam?

I have a malay chap working under me only when I needed.I would say we are close professionally.
Once when working in JB , for almost 2 weeks I had malay lunch with him and of course tea break.
There was a instance when during tea break ,we walk across the road to have coffee.Exactly opposite the road is a chinese coffeeshop so its natural that I walk towards the shop.He signals to me to go to a mamak shop about 10 shops away. I joined him and we just have teacoffee.
After that incident , we went separate way for lunch ( of course I find excuse so as not to offend him ).
He is a very hardworking and competent malay chap.And I don't mind him doing prayer in our hotel room ( we share room even though I could get another one with my position )at 5:30 am.

Each race would like to have their own food ,but look like toleration is not in the malay's vocabulary ( sorry I might offend others).
written by nocrid, August 27, 2008 19:56:37
Each race would like to have their own food ,but look like toleration is not in the malay's vocabulary ( sorry I might offend others).

That's why I always tell my friend in the Pendidkan Moral, Sifat toleransi is really is temporary. Tolerate means "bertahan" and until it come to a situation when you cannot tahan, you will blow(I mean when you have to go you have to go).

Understanding should be the new word replacing "Toleransi". Religion wise, I learn that our muslim pray to direction of the Holy Land which you refered to as kiblat and not "dinding". Vice versa, the buddha statue is not a berhala thingy because it's just a representation and nothing more. This can be seen when the Taliban blew up The Bahemian Buddha statue and the most angry party is the historian and archeologist. smilies/grin.gif

Alangkah baiknya bila kita boleh mengambil inisiatif untuk bertanya perkara yang kita kurang faham atau yang bertentangan dengan ideologi kita dan memahaminya.

Bila sedar yang ibu harimau membunuh kerana ada orang yang menganggu keluarganya dan dia sekadar melindunginya...apakah alasan anda untuk memburu harimau tersebut?
written by Malaysiaputra, August 28, 2008 09:00:48
Individual relevance - a formula to help the bumiputera help themselves;
===

The above was among what the writer of "Understanding the bumiputera's position 2008." has written.

Isn't what the govt have in place since 1970 been doing just that ? But sad to say, this "tongkat" has been hijcaked by Mahathir and the Umnoputras to enrich themselves and their cronies.

Whole new generations of Malays have emerge , including the "newly" branded Malays (those declared as Malays as per Mahathir's definition) but the persistent call to help the Malays is forever echoing in the background.

The reality is the poorer ones of all races of Malaysian need help not only the Malays.

Would it be that this call to help the Malays will only come to an end the day all Malays become rich ?.