Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Hindraf chiefs to go on hunger strike if not freed

Hindraf chiefs to go on hunger strike if not freed PDF Print
Tuesday, 15 January 2008 08:44

KL govt's dilemma: Risk continued Indian anger or lose Malay votes

(The Straits Times) - THE five Hindraf leaders arrested under a tough security law are planning to go on a week-long hunger strike beginning next Monday to protest against their detention.

The hunger strike will start at 7.30am on Jan 21. During that time, they will not eat any food and will only drink water, said their lawyer. {mosgoogle right}

'They are doing it to protest against their detention and to garner support for their cause,' said lawyer Ram Karpal Singh.

The plan follows an appeal for release from the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) chiefs, who have been jailed under the Internal Security Act (ISA), which allows for indefinite detention without trial.

The five - P. Uthayakumar, R. Kenghadharan, M. Manoharan, V. Ganapathy Rao and T. Vasanthakumar - are being held at the Kamunting detention centre in Perak.

They were arrested on Dec 13 following a mass anti-government rally last November organised by their group.

The rights group is accused of having links to Sri Lanka's Tamil Tigers terrorist group, a charge that it denies.

The high-profile Hindraf case has attracted international attention and has highlighted the balancing act the government must perform, with a general election expected to be called in the next few months.

Observers say the government risks continued Indian anger if the Hindraf chiefs are not freed, but it could lose Malay votes for being soft on street 'troublemakers' if they are.

'What the government needs to do is to allow for the rule of law and give them a fair trial. If they cannot pinpoint a particular offence, they should be released,' said political analyst Khoo Kay Peng.

Hindraf is seen negatively by Malays because it pushes for equal rights.

'The government has to be mindful that the Indian community is angered by (recent developments). If the government thinks the Indian votes are not important and that the Malay votes are sufficient, then it might not consider the release,' political analyst P. Ramasamy told The Straits Times.

The alleged terrorism charges against the five will be heard by the ISA advisory board on Feb 12 in Kamunting, after a scheduled hearing yesterday was postponed.

The board will hear appeals for release from the five, who are currently to be detained for two years.

The final outcome could depend on Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi. He is also the Internal Security Minister, who ultimately decides on ISA cases.

written by indianputra, January 15, 2008 08:53:38
This action by the HINDRAF leaders cannot be stopped by the police using tear gas and water cannons...

Will some NGO's please organize a PAN MALAYSIAN HUNGER STRIKE beginning 7.30AM on January 21st. This need not be at one place, but all over Malaysia - may be in temples, churches, homes and even road sides. We need a good organizers for this.
written by Farmer, January 15, 2008 09:01:04
This matters is not soft or hard on voters. If they at fault, bring them to court of justice.
written by edrose91, January 15, 2008 09:05:54
Dear Pak Lah and Umno regime, Listen to us... the voice of the people. The street belong to us, not you people. You guys are our appointed servants. Drop this draconian law. What era are you living now? The world has left you far behind. Look at India, China and even Vietnam and Cambodia. They are moving at an unbelievable speed. Here we are, steadily and speedily regressing into stone age. Charge the Hindraf members.... if they are wrong. We are not a country without law. Discard ISA. Remember this we Malaysian are educated people, not Neanderthals like you. What bullshit are you giving to the people in Spain? - bragging to them on how you've managed this country so well with multi racial/religious people. You are simple unbelievable!!
written by sampalee, January 15, 2008 09:08:47
Remove the root of the ISA devil.Eliminate umno-bn and we can dismantle this ungodly law that serve only to protect umnop.
written by campuras, January 15, 2008 10:04:32
Good luck to you guys and all the best. I don't see Uncle Samy doing it for the Indian cause
written by malaysianohope, January 15, 2008 10:16:58
Looks like this is the only option available to the five to highlight the injustice meted out.

May GOD be your witness.
written by antiilluminati, January 15, 2008 10:32:47
What is important is to reduce the majority of 2/3rd during the election. Sometimes i wonder why my brother malay community are so inferior of their rights take away by any current issues by other parties. No one is threathening the rights, what the ppl wants is to see the beloved nation to progress, Do not fall by the stupid government tricks anymore..fellow malaysian. Indian communities needs to be relook. Look at what their Beloved SAMY Velu done for them. Absolute nothing !..right.
I urge all Malaysians to come together to deny the 2/3 majority. I am no supporter of opposition either..Opposition are as tricky as the ruling party as well. They are evn worse, can't even form an opposition front. Can't they ever learn?. It takes a thief to catch a thief. thus it takes a Front to confront another front.
And to the ruling party, i hope it is time to leave your dirty corrupted politic and go forward to real nation building. This is the 20th century Globalisation time. Look at the developed prospering nations around you, dun look at Pakistan, or Bangladesh..Unless you chose to be like them !.
written by Hockchew, January 15, 2008 11:14:14
We should all support Hindraf to show we care for them.
They are Malaysian. Today Hindraf, tomorrow Christian, day after tomorrow buddhist and taoist. Finally PAS and KPR

The BN is manifesting itself to be the Devil now!
written by magen, January 15, 2008 13:00:19
Let All Indian specially Tamils go on Fasting with them, we no need permit 4 that.
Please do it for our Childrens Future. Lets fast with them. May God Bless
written by temenggong, January 15, 2008 13:08:32
This coincides with Thaipusam on Jan 23. In deference of the incarcerated and fasting Hindraf 5, most Hindus would not (I hope) patronise Batu Caves for this year only.
written by Sutha, January 15, 2008 14:26:03
No! no! Can somebody tell the Hindraf5 not to go on hunder strike....and that we need them as they are.

The score with the government can be settled later through General Election and further exposure to the world of the attrocities in this countries.

We should ensure the world prays for the government leaders officials to go to hell!
written by joeawk, January 15, 2008 14:57:35
They will free you if they can be sure that by doing so, the Indians will vote for the BN. Would you want the Indians to vote for the opposition or BN?
written by antiilluminati, January 15, 2008 14:58:43
This was meant as a joke ( pertaining HINDRAF ) on the SMS i received sometime ago to counter those of ruling party's SMS tricks. LOL.

Nie berita penting, due to the presence of HINDRAF on national security, PDRM uncovered plots that MARAH ( malays action rights against Hindus ),CHIBAI ( Chinese and Bumis Against Indians ) and PUKI ( People's United to knock Indians may be formed. So we may fall into the trap of MARAH CHIBAI PUKI MAK and tis threatened our SEXurities..

This really made my day on that day. looks like theRAKYAT cannot be fooled now !.
written by magen, January 15, 2008 14:59:43
Malay Ultraman, please stay away from our struggle you wont understand
the plight of our own, dont put salt on the wound. your comments are not welcome.
written by shawnmorgan, January 15, 2008 16:01:00
Karumathi for Samy Vellu
The people have spoken
They are saying that Samy Vellu has been dead since he has not made the real move he is supposed to make if he is THE true representative of the downtrodden, marginalized Indian community.
He is dead!
We, the minority, marginalized people are following our culture. We gave him a funeral. It is only respect for the dead! Was it a mistake?
HE IS ALIVE?
Datuk Seri Samy Vellu, if you are alive do something as our representative:
Peaceful assembly is not allowed.
Leaders of the peaceful assembly have been arrested without due process.
Counsel for these same people have also been arrested
This is a democratic country and these moves are those of a police state regime.

written by Anti Relon, January 15, 2008 17:09:45
More Indians die in prisons and police lock-ups! Police say it is suicide, health problems and any other reason. Are Indians suicidal or alway in poor health?
written by Bunda, January 15, 2008 18:45:42
Malaysia is the only country in the world where the majority view equal rights negatively.

Wah, what luck to be born here!

smilies/smiley.gif

written by temenggong, January 15, 2008 23:47:54
The boycott of Batu Caves during this Thaipusam is ON! I just saw color printed flyers being distributed. Apparently most are going to Penang and Maran for the festival.
written by Shiva, January 16, 2008 00:47:30
1. boycott batucaves is yes, but not lord murugan,
2. boycott batucaves is yes, thus collectively put all the monies invloved on this special day to charity or schools
3. pray and generate the positive energy for positive aspects in life
written by Sutha, January 16, 2008 03:17:51

Hindus including kavadi bearers and Hindraf supporters should turn up at major thaipusam festival sites like Penang waterfall temple, wearing the standard yellow T-Shirts boldly bearing the words "HINDU RIGHTS" in red! The Lord is everywhere including inside oneself.
written by Anak Desa, January 16, 2008 03:50:13
Boycott Thaipusam festival at Batu cAves and will any one feel to go for prayers,please go to other temples in Penang,Sg Petani,KUala Selangor ,Ipoh,Seremban,Malacca,Johore BAru,
Support your HINDRAF brothers in Kamunting.