Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Final results of the Permatang Pauh by-election

Final results of the Permatang Pauh by-election PDF Print
Tuesday, 26 August 2008 20:01

These are the final results of the Permatang Pauh by-election 

PARTI KEADILAN RAKYAT: 31,195

BARISAN NASIONAL: 15,524

MAJORITY:15,671

VOTER TURN-OUT: 81%

CENTRE                    SALURAN    PKR    BN        TOTAL    PERCENTAGE
SIAKAP                             3               411    104    307    515    80%
SIAKAP                             4               369    141    228    510    72%
SIAKAP                             5               356    156    200    512    70%

JDM 6                               1               178    78    100    256    70%
JDM 6                               2               192    80    112    272    71%
JDM 6                               3               179    95    84    274    65%

SEBERANG JAYA                             158    97    61    255    62%
SEBERANG JAYA                             258    7    251    265    97%
SEBERANG JAYA                             335    201    134    536    63%
SEBERANG JAYA                             369    141    228    510    72%
SEBERANG JAYA                             356    156    200    512    70%

TMN TUN HUSSEIN ONN    1          334    131    203    465    72%
TMN TUN HUSSEIN ONN    2          329    106    223    435    76%
TMN TUN HUSSEIN ONN    3          159    100    59    259    61%
TMN TUN HUSSEIN ONN    4          320    156    164    476    67%

P PAUH                                 1                   
P PAUH                                 2          314    95    219    409    77%
P PAUH                                 3          337    60    277    397    85%
P PAUH                                 4                   

KG CROSS                          1           179    29    150    208    86%
KG CROSS                          2            411    49    362    460    89%
KG CROSS                          3            441    34    407    475    93%
KG CROSS                          4            381    66    315    447    85%

TUNA                                   1            163    95    68    258    63%
TUNA                                   2            342    193    149    535    64%
TUNA                                   3             344    116    228    460    75%
TUNA                                   4             325    145    180    470    69%

TOTAL                                              7540    2631    4909    10171    74%

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by lokenpal, August 26, 2008 20:44:53
The earlier post was incorrect and for a moment 'scary'. But all fine now....lol

Good luck DSAI.
written by sjs, August 26, 2008 20:50:07
Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, the people have spoken. You have even lost Seberang Jaya. Please remember you are living on borrowed time! Dont push the arms of judiciary, police, ACA to punish the opposition leaders! You will be punishing the people! Call for a snap poll now or face the defections of your BN members! The people have served justice upon you!
written by arazak, August 26, 2008 20:54:23
BN fate hinged on Sayfoll arsehole. It does not work for the wise Permatang Pauh Voters.

Now BN had been banished into the Indian Ocean.

The first step towards liberating Malaysians and these beloved nation from the tyrant UMNO/BN regime!

MERDEKA!!!
written by sjs, August 26, 2008 20:58:22
Despite changing the capital of Malaysia to Permatang Pauh for 10 days, and the entire leadership of BN congregating in Permatang Pauh, making the parliament as a white elephant, with vicious campaign styles and mud-slinging, the people have spoken and convincingly!
written by mob1900, August 26, 2008 21:01:42
written by cubi76, August 26, 2008 21:03:36
The silence majority has yet again spoken up. The people of Malaysia has yet again sent a strong message.

AAB, Najis, KJ, Hisham, Hamit.... do you see what's coming your way? Still in denial mode? Did KJ went to PP to bury DSAI politcal life? Well... I guess it's the other way round - KJ went to PP to dig his own grave!

SAVE MALAYSIA!
MAKKAL SAKTI!
written by sjs, August 26, 2008 21:06:51
What a loss! With the entire main stream media (broadcast and print) on your side, with the entire BN leadership in Permatang Pauh,you loss with a bigger majority. I am making this posting more painful for you each time, because thats how much pain you and your predecessors have inflicted on a decent man, named Anwar! You have brought tears and sorrow to a mother named Wan Azizah, leaving her to care for her children from young without a father! This is the beginning of a long series of pain we are inflicting on you and your colleagues!
agree 114
written by sjs, August 26, 2008 21:14:25
The greatest insult to the BN government is Anwar not only won with a bigger majority but on a smaller voter-turn out! This is the first country in this planet in modern era, where the current government is no longer a government of the people, by the people and for the people!
written by huanchoomooi, August 26, 2008 21:26:43
KJ hang nak tanam DSAI nampak sekarang hang balik lah kampung sendiri tanam jagung.
written by sjs, August 26, 2008 21:29:49
Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, you are going to clamp down on the blogging community by citing Singapore as an example! We will fight you in unity! Please also note that Singapore only prevents racial and religious slurs on the blogs. If this is the case, you and your colleagues in UMNO must be punished severely for racial and religious abuse! Count how many times all of you have used the word "Ketuanan Melayu!" in this whole year! For your bloody information, no bloggers in this website have ever used this phrase, rather they have chosen to condemn it!
written by apanama, August 26, 2008 21:38:25
to brother anwar"

MALAYSIANS HAVE HAD ENOUGH CR@APS FROM THIS BN GOMENT:
SO, ENOUGH SAID. JUST DO IT.
GO KICK ASS.
written by apanama, August 26, 2008 21:41:23
PUKIMAK BN. PAKLAH BODOH
written by Vasily, August 26, 2008 21:53:59
Congrat Bro. Anwar, congrat PR, TQ PP voters...
We want new Reform Gov.
Enough is enough... smilies/grin.gif
written by Tan Tan, August 26, 2008 22:12:53
Congratulation DSAI,

Double the votes of BN. Really impressive!!!

Well, hope to see u as our new PM soon.

For Penang ppls, you are always truly Malaysians when come to politic. You know who you should choose. Bravo!!!
written by superstar232006, August 26, 2008 22:17:15
hahaha..apa mcm BN/UMNO...now u all puas hati kah ??

now what the FUC* will lour great bloody racist UTUSAN MALAYSIA will give as headline in tomorrow's paper.....??? how bout NST ??? hahahah...juz search in ******-- NST has come up with NATIONAL FATWA message regarding that bloody stupid SAIFUL's sumpah in masjid..now they are dare to say that the sumpah is not acccoring to ISLAM...

these bloody idiots will use religion for their OWN benefit..

anyway MSIA has really HOPE to be a great NATION now...BN bye bye
written by HJ Angus, August 26, 2008 22:35:07
But the House Speaker wants to delay the swearing-in as much as possible.
What a shame!
http://malaysiawatch3.********...-pauh.html
I did suggest that Anwar would win...
http://malaysiawatch3.********...ge-on.html
written by sjs, August 26, 2008 22:46:59
Mr. Rais Yatim,

DO YOU CALL THIS A WIN-WIN SITUATION? But we do.
Win a seat and take the whole government!

written by antares, August 26, 2008 22:58:19
Good show, congratulations to warga P044 and BR supporters! and good ridden BeeNd!
Merdeka, Merdeka! Merdeka!
Let get the show going! 16 Sept.
Ready or not the BR train is on gear to Putrajaya!
written by Jit Dharma, August 26, 2008 22:59:02
God bless Borther Anwar and Brother RPK. You are real Malay and Malaysian
heroes.
written by ganbing, August 26, 2008 23:01:40
Ariff Shah isn't satisfied. He says based on his prediction he should win. He demands a re-count!!
written by TWOG, August 26, 2008 23:06:07
Well, the campaign speech by Anwar Ibrahim ended with Elvis Presley’s “Its Now Or Never.”

Without a doubt, Anwar will win, and win big. But whether he will be allowed to take office is another question.

But knowing UMNO’s dirty tricks and underhand tactics, I am willing to bet that Anwar will end up either in “Heartbreak Hotel”, or doing his “Jailhouse Rock” soon.

“There Goes My Everything”…

It maybe too early to celebrate. Desperate people will do desperate things. Let's see how UMNO will try their best to prevent Anwar from entering parliament.

smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Sunnysoul5, August 26, 2008 23:27:01
The people of Permatang Pauh have spoken through the power of the ballot paper.

Heartiest congratulations to DSAI for the ability to stay cool and withstand the onslaught of the BN machinery. DSAI is our hope for a better future.

The battle for DSAI may not be over yet, but with the landslide victory, it should give him enough strength to fight on. The support from his wife is the testimony of love can conquer all.

Truth prevails!
written by Dhan, August 26, 2008 23:34:28
Isnt it time for us to do a Khmer Rouge on the BN supporters???

It is. But all in due time. There is no need for any rush. (rush is what others call vindictive).

It would be laughable to suggest that all those involved with the Mahathir and Badawi regime and their cronies are just going to walk free, under a 'forgive and forget policy'!

None of us are laughing! It would be an enormous mistake to misjudge the anger of the incensed malaysian rakyat.

Does anyone really think that Mohd2, Thamby Chik, Fairuz, Lingam, Shafee, Liong Sik, etc., are just going to walk away, needs to have their heads examined.

We feel we have things to teach the failed Khmer Rouge! And as a record for posterity!
written by my oumrie, August 27, 2008 00:02:37
I think its small of the national teevee stations not to broadcast the by election results in a proper manner. Most of them ignored it or announced it on their ticker tape - what cowards! Nevertheless, TAHNIAH DSAI! I'm so happy I shouted "Hidup Anwar" & "Reformasi" three times each from the balcony of my condo! Next, I'll be flying the Jalur Gemilang cos we have started "Reformasi" on Malaysia!!! BEE END GOONS - BE CAREFUL...BE VERY CAREFUL NOW!
written by MLC, August 27, 2008 00:53:26
written by takbolehtahan, August 27, 2008 01:03:33
Heartiest congratulations to DSAI & family for his great win. And thank you people of PP for giving Malaysia a new hope.

The hard work is only beginning and it is going to get tougher. So please, bloggers, please be civic minded and don't behave like monkeys.
written by Baronshah, August 27, 2008 03:45:54
What "Ketuanan Melayu" may I ask...?????????
The people of PP esp the Malays have had the last say in this issue as they have in fact upheld DSAI's by election manifesto that is "MALAYSIA FOR ALL" without touching on the Malay rights. Thank you people of PP for telling BN that they are out of touch with the reality on the ground.

regards
GOD bless all.
written by chuckmoore, August 27, 2008 06:03:45
Tahniah kepada DS Anwar Ibrahim!

Hooray!

This proves that the hysterical lies in the pro-BN lie sheets (a.k.a newspapers, TV & radio) have been concretely exposed.

A bit to hard to use as toilet paper though.
written by Rasputin, August 27, 2008 06:35:33
DSAI PKR/PR theme song for PP44 by election campaign starts with Scorpion's Wind of Change as the theme song follows by the landslide win on 0826 with Queen's We Will Rock You and when DSAI enter the august House of Parliament, the theme song shall be Queen's We Are The Champion of RAKYAT
written by anakwatanKL, August 27, 2008 06:36:45
The real work begins from now on.

Bengali kunday, I pray in time, Malaysians will come to realise about the 2 suggestions. That way, all Malaysian youngsters get taught using the same method. Mother tongue can be maintained @ home and have lessons at home or the tuition centres.
written by HHKim, August 27, 2008 06:38:38
Dear Anwar,

Now that you have won the PP election - meaning the raayat have spoken loud and clear on behalf of all Malaysians, then your next strategy is to start thinking and working on the RE-building the nation. First of all, galvanize your Think-Tank Team in place and have very good Brainstorming with all the bright leaders you have to consolidate the strength of Pakatan.

Malaysians thank all the voters in Permatang Pauh for making this very important and yet meaningful election. Wonderful people of Permatang Pauh and I think you all deserve a round of applause from raayat Malaysia for being cool, steady and wise.

I am celebrating myself though away from nation. But the heart is always with the people who advocate sincerity, fairness, peace loving and above all, truly love the nation.

Cheers Anwar - now is your time to move ahead!!
written by Rasputin, August 27, 2008 07:22:50
Agreed with anakwatanKL,

In time is the focus point for usage of common language for Malaysian schools. Promoting mother tongue of major races in Malaysia as a second language for the curriculum subject comprising social studies and language proficiency need to be thread carefully. The time is not ripe as of now since whoever in the ruling govt need to inculcate acceptance, open mindedness and eliminate racial supremacy mindset of the majority masses for a real Malaysia for all Malaysians without encroaching into the special right enshrined in the Constitution.
written by *********, August 27, 2008 08:23:50
The magnitude of the loss raises further questions about Abdullah Badawi and whether there will be more political instability. UMNO nominations start next month. Given questions over Badawi's leadership, the rising prices of energy and food have contributed to the souring of voter opinion on the Barisan...More http:/*********.********.com
written by Susanna, August 27, 2008 11:16:42
Yipeeeee! Thank God..Thank Allah!! One big hurdle down. Next one to go!!
written by tino_chan1988, August 27, 2008 11:51:14
Congratulation to the voters of Permatang Pauh for their courage and clear vision to vote for a chance for changes in Malaysia, and to DSAI for being elected as Permatang Pauh people's representative.

It is without any doubts that the people of PP have given their clearest mandate to the present government about their dissatisfaction on their political practices and governance.

However, the real fight will begin NOW for DSAI and the opposition-led coalition - we might have won the battle but the war has just begun. It is time for all to work together diligently to build a better and racist-less Malaysia. government.
written by justiceforallorg, August 27, 2008 12:36:18
With the resounding victory of DSAI, there is a glimmer of hope for the country. It's beginning of the struggle for justice and freedom for the nation. Long live DSAI. My heartiest CONGRATULATIONS!!!
written by justiceforallorg, August 27, 2008 12:37:31
The nation will be forever grateful for all your sacrifice. Thank you DSAI.
written by Ruby, August 27, 2008 13:03:30
Congrat to DSAI, you won big and we are so happy we even pray that you must win big this time, but I agree with TWOG that BN dirty tricks will never end, they will soon come out with something again, to make sure DSAI goes to jail... I'm very afraid.. guess i have to pray hard.. real hard this time that he be the leader of our country... long life & good luck all the way to DSAI.. we all love you smilies/grin.gif
written by Malaysiaku, August 27, 2008 15:45:46
A Big 'Thank You' to the people of Permatang Pauh. You have made history and saved Malaysia from certain death and humiliation. True democracy has just began on 26th August 2008.
written by sonofman0, August 27, 2008 15:48:35
Plan A, the burial plan, has failed. Humility triumphed over arrogance.

Now for Plan B, the coincidental plan: DNA SODOMY A NEW ROUND OF OATH-TAKING.

Should Plan B fail too, there is a Plan C! It has a RM60 million tag!
written by marbl3s, August 27, 2008 16:09:44
Oh yeah, i remembered Khairy said he wanted to BURY Anwar in this by-election.

I wonder who got buried instead. hmmmm....
written by Australian Malaysian, August 27, 2008 17:14:08
To The Winner, YAB Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim,

“CONGRATULATIONS” on behalf of the Malaysian people in Australia.
May God continue to Bless, Protect & Prosper you in all your undertakings for the Country of Malaysia. We believe in you & also know without a shadow of doubt that you & the people you choose will lead well & take Malaysia to another level of Harmony, Prosperity, Power & International Significance.

To The Loser, namely BN,

GET OVER IT & FACE THE TRUTH THAT YOU HAVE BEEN DEFEATED “NATIONALLY”. DON’T BE A SORE LOSER!!!

Quote: In this age of “credit”, if you do wrong, rob, steal, rape, kill, make false accusations & tell lies, you may get away now but when you get caught later(which you will), you will pay dearly with interest & you will lose everything including your soul!
written by Australian Malaysian, August 27, 2008 17:49:56
To dear Mahashite, you said you would migrate if Anwar won, I need to ask you a few questions...
Q1: Where you wanna go now? A: Dig a hole in Putra Jaya
Q2: Which country want to take you? A: A BIG No from "Recalcitrant" Australia, No from USA, No from UK, No from Singapore, Germany, France, Israel, Canada, Belgium, Switzerland(except to come for you ill-gotten $$$), Mexico, Spain, Pakistan, Afganistan, Iran, Iraq, China, Burma, Indonesia, New Zealand, etc. etc. etc.
Q3: Who likes you? A: Your pet dogs
Q4: How much ill-gotten wealth do you have? A: Lots of it mainly from Malaysian Rakyat tax payers.

That'll do for now. No more Q & A as there are too many!
written by Angela Ooi, August 27, 2008 19:19:37
Well, Mahakutty could go Zimbabwe and he can also kindly take Bodowi along. I am positive the rakyat would not miss him. No need to take KJ big-mouth monkey cos he was buried in PP
written by Australian Malaysian, August 27, 2008 20:00:40
Hi Angela, please don't suggest Zimbabwe as that country is so deep in all sorts of problems & I feel very sad when I think about the level of opression the people have to endure daily. Can you imagine how worse it could get for all those innocent people living there if Mahashite & Badawa were to make it their home? I think there would be lots of mass suicides!

Hey Mahashite, please don't go to Mongolia as they'll probably torture you for what your mate Najis did to one of their girls!
written by raybeam, August 27, 2008 22:02:33
Once again, the people of Permatang Pauh have spoken on behalf of all right thinking Malaysians who desperately want change, and that is what happened last night when Anwar Ibrahim regained his parliamentary seat. I wish here to convey my heartiest congratulations to Anwar for his resounding victory against the Barisan Nasional candidate. While we celebrate Anwar's huge success,let us not forget the many people who were behind the scenes to make this election victory possible for him. I am quite certain that many PKR members and supporters would have worked tirelessly to ensure Anwar's victory. We must not also forget to acknowledge our thanks to people such as Rajah Petra and the leaders of the Pakatan Rakyat parties for their kind assistance in helping make Anwar's win in the much talked about bi elections possible. With a dynamic person such as Anwar returning back to parliament to head the opposition, I have no doubt whatsoever that the Barisan government will try all ways possible to deprive Anwar of his sweet victory by continually putting obstacles in his path to prevent him from toppling the ruling administration. The impending court case against Anwar for sexual crimes is just 1 good example. The Barisan Nasional crooks will stop at nothing to prevent Anwar from forming the new government just so that they can continue to plunder the nation with impunity. As I have said many a time, all right thinking Malaysians are desperately crying out for change and Anwar is just the right person who can help us effect change in this respect by forming the next government.
written by Tom n Jerry, August 28, 2008 08:18:04
Alhamdulilah PR will soon materialize to be the federal government;down & out with BN(Barisan najis) smilies/smiley.gif